Mummies staying at Clementi / Dover / Commonwealth

Mummies: As for our better halves... my HB is a yo-yo... under his mum's wings, he does NOTHING! So much so, he'd just change his clothes & throw it down the stairs into the living room! Either his mum, sisters or dog will pick up his dirty clothes & dump into the laundry for washing! & at times, dinner is served to him, in his room... because he was stuck on the computer!

When we first got married, we shared our household chores... quite abt equal split... or we dun really care la... basically, I do what I like & he does the rest....

Then when I became pregnant with #1, I was so tired & couldn't lift a finger... he ended up doing most of the chores at home... even washing & ironing...

After delivery and my ML, I went back to work & was super bz.... at that time, HB was doing his full time master... so he ended up caring for baby, studying & doing most of the household chores anyway...

Subsequently, life has been pretty much that way... with HB doing the bulk of the housework.. while I tend to my gal's needs...

When I was preg with #2, we decided to get a maid... & since then, HB is the one 'enjoying' life... he's so hands-off, he just instruct maid & leave her to do everything (that he used to have to do!)...

Since then, I'm stuck with training, monitoring & managing maids... we've had (I think) 6 changes of maids over the last 1.5yrs... and each time, I have had to brief, train & guide each one... HB happily, leaves things in my charge... what's a better deal for him, now that his parents have moved in with us, he doesn't even spend as much time with kids as before! He'd still play with them now & then... then go back to his TV or computer!

I tell him, he has the best deal since having a 2nd child, engaging a maid & having his parents move in... he's a totally free man.... he just play with kids when he feels like it... then wash the car (with maid's help) once a week... the rest of the time, he can still go jogging, gym, etc... only thing he constantly complains about is the higher expenses these days... I told him, that's not my problem... hahaha..

Well, poor me, am dependent on maid. We had a super good one... during that time, I was very free cos she was a superb housekeeper, took care of every single thing at home, she informs me when we need to replenish supplies at home, she gets the kids' stuffs ready & I never have to check them... she'll look into every detail, sometimes even reminding me of things I missed out... she's real auto, she even packs the things I need for work on Sun nights & Mon mornings, I just take & go... at super short notice, she can pack kids' stuff & get both gals prettily dressed for going out... all we need to do was tell her we want to go out, then return to our room to get change & get ready... by the time we get out, the things are ready, the gals are ready! Amazing maid... a pity she missed her daughter and decided to go home...

My current maid is not as dynamic... still very raw at 2mths... eventhough this is a graduate and my other one was only high school, this one is not as 'bright' as the previous girl...

I constantly need to remind her, check her work, teach & re-teach... even stuffs for going out, I need to check now & then... there have been days when we get to #1's art class & realised her art material are NOT in the bag! & maid says she packed the bag! I faint... then when probed further, she says she checked that bag was at the bay window for going out, but did not look inside to check the things... I wonder what checking means to her... also, despite repeated reminders, she frequently forgets to pack my stuffs for work... #1's stuffs for school, etc... she'll bring #1's cathecism bag out, after I told her there's no cathecism class that week! That's how blur she can be... I dun understand... sigh... & she asked if I was on dean's list in the Uni... I just felt like telling her that perhaps universities in Singapore and those in Phil are different... hee hee...

CSI: my boy also loves calculators.. can hang on to it.. remote control also.. cause all e buttons.. ahha

genice: live wif it.. hah

i am e type of person who dun mind doing everything while my hb slps. whether i work (in the past) or am a SAHM (now). no difference. home is kept by wife.

choose clothes
my son also chooses his clothes. most of the time (which i usually dun have), i'll heck care him and force the clothes in. once i'm done wearing, he'll stop being grumpy. cause he can't remove it. but he'll keep picking at it for awhile though.

feeding solids
my son is now 8.5mths, he's still on TBF & 2 meals of cereals per day.
brown rice porridge is entirely depending on my mood. haha
if i have time, i'll make. if no time then cereal n puree 4 my DS.
i store quite a variety of puree in my freezer.

i am e type of mother who advocates no outside food b4 he can eat from the same table as us. which is abt 2-3yrs...
but i do bend my rule once in a while if i see my DS yearning for it. eg, outside porridge or grains of plain rice.. tat's abt the limit to my rule bending..
reason - i did not have rules in the past. i ate anything i can get my hands on. personally i do not have self control on sweet stuffs. so i do not want my son to start so early...

juz a qn
how do u gals train brushing? spitting out the paste? rinsing mouth?

But one thing tho ladies... I've learnt very early on that if we want our HBs to do the work, perhaps we also need to close our eyes & leave them to do things their way...

I remember initially when HB started helping out at home, I'd be complaining about how slip shod his work was or that he wasn't mopping the floor properly, etc... and that clothes should be hung inside out, thick bends on the outer side, nearer the sun, must use clothes pegs, etc...

He gets grouchy... & sometimes boycott... tell me to do it instead if I'm so fussy... subsequently, I've learnt to let go...

Cos we do not hang our clothes outside (in case it rains when we are at work, or that there are inconsiderate neighbours above, etc)... so, actually, no diff whether thick bends are nearer the sun or even if he bothers to use clothes pegs! I notice that even men have their efficient way of doing housework. My HB is quite tall & when we were staying in HDB, he'd drap the clothes on the bamboo without the clothe pegs... then when they are dry, he just pulls them off the bamboo in a jiffy... was quite amuse when I watch him do it, quick & efficient... then I realised there's no need for me to be such a fuss pot... since we dun hang the clothes out, even if they fall, they are still in the house... which amazingly in the 7 years we were there, there's probably less than 7 occassions when they fell off... so less than once a year is really quite acceptable la... hee hee...

And I've noticed HB is so carefree cos once he relinquished his 'duties' to the maid, he's happy to leave her to do it her way, he does not bother to check, so long as the work gets done... (of course if things are not done, he'd reprimand maid)...

& perhaps it's becos I cannot let go enough, I find myself checking on maid's job... and worrying about whether she'd miss out certain things that the kids might need... which adds 'extra' stress to me...

So ladies, perhaps, its time for us to learn to let go more... hahaha...

Pet: Good question on brushing... I've no idea... which is why #1 isn't too diligent at it... sigh.. I left it to the cc to 'train' her... now, I wonder when I should start training #2???

As for food cravings... I really wonder if it's individual. I never restricted my kids... but #1 automatically rejects sweet stuffs... she just does not enjoy them. She's a savoury person and would prefer savoury items over sweet items any time... eventhough she likes chocolate, she doesn't take it everytime she's offered one... She rejected carbonated drinks when young, will spit out the coke or sprit we offer her... now she still does not like them... but will take occasionally... she prefers juice & plain water any time.

#2 is very different - she loves food (but eats little at a time)... she'll eat anything she sees you eating... she'd even bring you to the fridge, asking for chocolates, apples, biscuits, etc... but she has her own limits. She'll take some & once satiate, will reject whatever else we give her...

yes, i agree wif EMQ. it's usually the wives tat nag too much so hubbies stop doing chores for us.
i dun like the way my hb do mopping and packing or clothes hanging. so i rather do it myself.

i enjoy doing it more than nagging at how things are being done wrongly.

EmQ
my fav story about my husband's "magic elves" is that he'll go play soccer, come home, throw his bag on the floor near the door, and "miraculously" his bag will be unpacked, dirty stuff washed, and everything put nicely back into the closet when washed. those elves are of course, his parents. some men are so lucky right?? i was quite amused that your hubby has also his dog trained, hahaha...

my hubby doesn't need to do ANY housework, so the least he could do is to help ME with the baby sometimes, esp now that i'm FTWM. at least now he understands that he isn't going to have as much time to himself to do the things that he used to (especially after i complained several times that if i wanted to speak to him if i should post it up on soccernet.com instead so that he'd actually pay attention??) and will help mind the baby while i pack or get ready to go out. last time it was i do EVERYTHING and he just wait at the door to carry baby out, macham the President like that.

pet: i let E "brush" on his own already, actually he's more like just biting the toothbrush, but we'll always praise him for brushing them, haha. they don't need toothpaste until they're older.

Iso: Yes! magic elves is so ept! Exactly! I couldn't understand why parents should indulge in sons like this lor... hahaha... well, I do not have brothers nor sons... so I wouldn't know...

I like what you said abt posting... hahaha... maybe lor...

Actually hor, come to think of it, when we were dating, emails & smses were full of sweet nothings... these days, they are used to communicate appointments, work commitments, schedules etc... is that boon or bane?

Jeannie mummy...
there is no fairness in this world. Let's face it! THE TRUTH HURTS... I am not making you feel bad here - but in some instances, men does help out. Old thought = old school: mothers pamper sons & husband - so women (in pinyin: WO MEN) works.

So we have old school men who dont help out and some helps - then later with help - free from chores.

I am fortunated with new age men - who helps and lessen my load. So in return, I do my share too.
My hubby vaccum and I mop. At times, I pay for groceries and I buy him good dinners. Make him feel important and great too.

Who cares how he vaccums or mop or does the laundry! As long as it is done and clean. These are small small things we need to let go - Let them do in their own way.

At the end of the day, it's communications.
A 2-way communications between wifey & HB.
Tell him how you feel and suggest solutions together. so that you will not feel unbalanced...
otherwise, everyday you will feel 'what the *#5$@... is not healthy in relationship.

After we have babies or busy with kids, have we forgotten our hubby who stand by us quietly all the time? We demand their attention & cooperation.

When it comes to baby bag - we talked - who does what - me does the packing & he does the bathing & dressing up little bb. Or vice versa.

WO MEN - Perservance - Jia You! Please dont give up. Lifestyle changes and people changes.

hmm... its really so unfair hor...

pet.. i am not the type of person that can tahan doing everything while he sleeps leh.. but i agree w u and emq that normally our expectations are quite high so grumble grumble abt their standard until they cant be bothered to help.

i think my hubby does help out such as changing diapers, bathe baby make milk for baby but somehow all these are done only when i tell him to help out.. so that we can save time b4 we go out.. or stuffs like that.. somehow.. ther dun have much initiative..

can we train initiative..?? even when floor so dirty and after i clean the floor and show him the magic clean thingy.. then i told him very dirty hor.. then he said 'yar lor..sometimes even worse'.... thats it.. in the past he will help to vacuum the floor when i was preg.. but now his response like that....

isobellies... i think u must have a hard time 'training' ur hubby.. hehe.. but at least ur hubby responds to u. My hubby actually thinks that i should iron his clothes for him.. he got a lot of shirts but he seldom wear them and wore polo tees to work ( co. allows) then sometimes.. i also blur blur so i asked him.,.. y u never wear ur shirts.. he say nobody iron for him...I think deep down he really feel that i never fulfill the qualities of a wife..so wife must really iron and do hh chores har..??

but i must admit.. with the baby coming along.. she's is my no 1 now.. i really dun shower as much attention to my hubby... sigh.. dunno y i feel this way... and i do get a bit pisseed w the fact that he expects me to do my duties as a wife plus his lack of initiative.. blah blah...

Sigh.. just ranting and grumbling here...

iso.. e can hold the tooth brush??

how many times u all brush their teeth and gums.. i super lazy.. bought a first teeth.. open since she is 3rd monyh.. but now still haven finish.. hehe... jia lat so we brush only at night??

jeannie
hmm he can hold but more like he just wants to bite it. so i will brush brush the 2 small teeth and then let him play with it for a while. i sometimes also lazy to "brush" lah, but will try at least once a day.

but i totally agree w u on how things have changed since bb came! sometimes even though we love E a lot i'm q sian at how things have changed, apart from being happy w bb, seems like other things i'm always not happy with. i wonder if it's because we just need more time to get used to everything?

have you considered a PT cleaner to help with the chores? it could really ease your load! but i think at the end of the day it might probably be more about initiative and appreciation than the actual chore itself...

CSI & Iso: Sorry, will have to postpone lunch to the week after this coming one i.e. after Hari Raya Haji. I got medical appt this wk so already taking leave for that reason. Gotta spread out my leave as not enough people around office now

jeannie, my hb also need his shirts ironed.. otherwise he'll resort to wearing short sleeves shirts tat are crease free type. hehe
it's pride to wear ironed shirts to work. it kinda shows the prim n proper side of the worker. so it's actually quite paiseh to wear non-ironed shirts to work..
i used to bring shirts to laundry shop for ironing once a wk. but since the birth of our son, i stopped doing tat as i feel tat it's a waste of $$ and tat i shld iron on my own to save $.
but i'm so tired from taking care of DS tat i totally forgot abt hb's needs.

it was through pure communication tat we thrashed things out. so we're gg back to pre-birth style.
shared cleaning & packing, both work, shirts sent to laundry 4 ironing, etc...
perhaps u wanna work things out wif him.

bag packing wise, my hb also dun pack. reason being, i m a better packer. i noe our son's needs better. whether wat cereal to bring out, which bottle, how many hankies, nappies, diapers, etc..
most impt, which bag goes well with the outfit & occasion..

when DS was a NB, very easy.. so hb packs. standard bag, standard items. now it's more varied. so he gave up trying as i'll repack if it's not pleasing to me.

if both income allows, pls hire a PT cleaner tat comes in once or twice a wk. not too exp. worth it if it gives both of u quality time.

kidz
no worries! was just going to check with you gals to confirm again today, cos one of my colleagues is leaving on friday so might have a farewell lunch with her..

kidz,
no worries!

Next week is fine...but I'll be on leave on the 9th. heehee...clearing leave lah. So give myself super long weekend. hahaha.

This Thread will be moved to Temp Holding Place soon.
Please keep a look out there if you don't see it here.

Hiiiii! We've been moved!

Okay, quick update:

1) B1 kena HFMD (fr CC) on Mon evening - lotsa little red bumps on arms, hands, legs, feet and I think some on her butt. No fever (max 37.2 so PD say "no") and thank God, no uclers. Thus she's had gd appetite and is her usual happy self playing everyday at home + terrorising our poor cat who's lost another life at least

2) Around 8+pm last nite (Fri) I felt a pain on left index finger and found one red bump. Within 2hrs kena 4 and another 3 on right hand. Think can see two under skin of left foot... Praying that I don't get fever or uclers either. Also already down with flu since Sun...

3) Saw gynae on Wed and found out result of amnio I did is NORMAL! Hv already bought boy's clothings -- helping our economy

Anyway will stl hv to make trip to GP 2mr to confirm diagnosis then next wk sit at home and do this...
1954644.jpg

(scratch butt...)

Hi Angel,

Yup yup...thanks for your wishes!

Today was day 1 of her party (for hb side...family too big lah). I think L (now no more "baby L") enjoyed herself lots. Mummy here enjoyed the cake though. hahaha...but tiring. Tmrw, day 2 (for my side. Family size, double that of hb's. How come I have such a huge extended family, I wonder. But it's fun...) Thank God, monday is a holiday. can rest and recuperate...

Kidz,
oh dear...(the pic is funny...hahaha). Take care..hope everything will be ok and not HFMD...

My fren's son (10 mths old) kena HFMD. All because, his parents decided to put him in half day cc, to see how he'll adapt. First day of putting him in there (on a friday), over the weekend, developed fever. At first doc says viral fever, then it's HFMD. Haiz, my fren is so heart pain. If she hadn't decided to put him in the half day cc to "try", he probably wouldn't get it...

CSI: I think there's an incubation period for HFMD... so it depends on when symptoms began... maybe your fren's son caught HFMD somewhere else... it's the hols & kids are everywhere... then again, that would be very scary... I'd better just keep my kids at home...

Kidz: Do take care... hopefully it's not HFMD for you... do check with gynae whether there's any implication on pregnancy... how many weeks are you... do take extra care...

Hi mommies -- The rashes on my hands are drying up into tiny little red pimples. The ones on my soles are stl big tho but less painful when I flex my toes or hv to walk i.e. apply pressure. At the initial stage, even the ones on my fingers were painful when I held spoon, cup, etc. My MC's til 2mr so I'll see how if I nd to see GP again then or Thu. My girl's rashes hv dried up too and turning into scabs. PD says this stage is stl contagious so after she's clear, wl bring her back to him for an "all clear" ltr.

Tho we're both suspected cases (since absence of fever and ulcers) it's veri likely confirmed HFMD as her classmate was the source. Incubation is btn 3-7 days. No cure, no vac, no med (except to take for fever and painful ulcers). Problem here is there are many strains so after we recover, we may get it if it's a different one to this we hv now. It's passed through nasal and oral secretion, contact with infected person's faeces (clearing diaper must be careful), secretion fr broken blister rash... Adults hv stronger immunity and better hygiene practice so less prone. My prob is I was already battling flu since last Mon, when my girl came down with HFMD -- so I became prime target.

Am very thankful to God that neither of us kena fever or mouth ulcers coz that affects appetite. One mommy had to admit her son for dehydration as the ulcers meant he couldn't eat properly.

EmQ,
oh I checked with my fren. It was a Monday that she put him in cc. hee...then was disappointed with the programme there, that she pulled him out the next day. Then never go anywhere else. So...shd be from there bah...

Kidz,
well, at least the rashes are drying up. And yup, lucky thing no fever or mouth ulcers. Continue to rest well...

Good proper hygiene is very very impt. I dunno how much more I can stress that to my maid. She just doesn't seem to get it. haiz.

CSI: Oh dear... that is real bummer... hope your friend's baby recovers well...

Kidz: Do take care & rest well. Hopefully HFMD does have any implication on the pregnancy. I was very cautious when my gal's cc went thru a stage of HFMD earlier this year... I told her to be extra careful & to avoid the younger kids (cos the outbreak was more in the nursery & toddler classes)... thankfully she didn't catch it... I can't imagine if she pass it to her lil sis or to me... hee hee..

Yes, CSI, show maid pics of the disease & let her read abt it... stress to her to observe super hygiene standard such as washing hands, etc... tell her if the children catch it, she'll have to look after them 24/7, cannot sleep! hahaha...

kidz
oh dear!! lucky you're alright.. i think HFMD is so scary cos there are less "visible" signs than say having a flu, like you can avoid someone who's coughing or sneezing, but HFMD.. hard hor.

I need to let off some steam...

hb is now on holidays at home. And each time he's at home, he'll spot some mistakes the maid makes. So he'll remind and reprimand her lah.

Basically, he's not happy that she doesn't follow the routine/schedule for my gal. Such that, her routine now is all over the place. When it's time for nap, instead of winding down, she'll play and stimulate baby. Then dd wun settle down for her nap. And end up, every night, she's overtired, coz not enough nap during the day. We've explained to her many times, that if dd has enough rest, it'll be good for her (the maid) too, coz she gets to do other things etc. But she'll always forget.

Then today, she told hb that she can't do the work here (huh...is there a problem with us and our expectations or what?), that dd bites her (what can we expect from a 1 y.o. who's teething?) and scratches her.

Haiz, feel so pek chek. hb told me to sit down and have a talk with her. I dunno how to start or what to say leh. hahaha.

CSI: i think occasionally overtired in the nite is ok bah. better than she dun slp in the nite due to too much napping in the day?
last nite, DS refused to slp no matter what I did. so end up ard 11pm i put him on high chair n eat rusks while i eat biscuits and we both watch tv.
btw, hb was working late.. so only 2 of us in the room.

if ur gal is tired, she'll nap no matter how stimulated she is bah.. tat's the way for my son. if he's super tired, he wun entertain me in the day. he'll slp while bfing.

maybe ur maid feel tat u both too lor soh.. (keke
) so perhaps she think it's better if u find another maid.

CSI
your maid got too much energy, if it's me I'd be more than eager to have her sleep!! :D
can your hubby "take control" of the schedule and show her how it's done?

pet,
no leh. if she's overtired, she'll cry non-stop. when I'm home, I just latch her on, then its not so bad. But it's not very fair to me lah. Coz maid doesn't do it well, then when I get home from work, I cannot rest properly and cannot do my work (yeah, I got extra work to bring home sometimes). So end up, I suffer leh. But if I'm not home yet, and she's overtired, she gets super cranky, she'll cry till she gets the shivers or little fits, and that can be like, after crying non-stop for 1hr. Coz nobody else has the human pacifier that she needs. So for L, it has to be at the right timing. At the right timing, she dun even need me to KO. The bottle of EBM will be good enough. Tough ah...

Iso,
yeah...he's been "taking control" everytime he's at home. So it seems like he's the one nit-picking lorh. But I guess he's just trying to show her how it's done. And he's been repeating himself like a broken record. hahaha.

This maid has been with me for 2 mths liaoz. Ever since week 2 when she's with L at my parents' home, she has never been able to put L to bed at the right timing. (ok, that may be due to insufficient training coz only 1 week with me then I went back to work). And when L has the short awakenings, she has never been able to help her go back to sleep. So end up, L has always never had a proper nap. Sometimes, the short awakenings is just a short awakening. The baby still wants to go back to zzzz...but this maid will pick her up, shake ard or start to bring out the toys. hahaha. Show her so many times liaoz. But she just never gets it. Ok lah, so now L's nap times are all over the place lorh. But I'm ok with it. as long as got enough nap...maybe 3 short naps a day, instead of 2 long naps, kinda thing. And she can tell me that "she's ashamed of herself, that it's an insult to herself", that she cannot put DD to bed. (sounds damn funny...to hear it like that. sound fake too?)

Anyway, now hb is on hols till next year, so everyday is training day for her. hahaha. But probably coz it's been 8 weeks of insufficient training, now suddenly got to undergo training again, which may seem like a lot more, she may not feel comfy. Does that indicate anything? hmmm...

CSI: I'm just wondering if your HB is a teacher... well, I guess some maids (esp experienced Fil ones) are so used to working independently, that when the employer is at home (to give orders), they cannot take it. If HB is a teacher, maybe he has some ways to 'teach' or 'train' maid... just treat her like lil kid & train from scratch lor...

My maids also like that... I usually get max of 3 days (long weekends) with them when they are new... sometimes only 1 full day of training, then they have to do the job liao... I can never get longer periods to train them... but as and when we r free, we teach them something new... or we get them to do what we've taught first, then slowly teach more things when we r free...

2 mths is quite short... so perhaps can talk to her nicely lor... I try to explain the reason for certain things to them... I think once they understand the reason, they seem to accept it better. I also tell them that in order to have a more pleasant working condition, they also need to syn themselves to the family they work for... I mean if they dun understand why we need certain things done certain ways or cannot accept the way we insist on getting things done, they are free to go... rather than be unhappy being 'forced' to do things our way...

Most cases, the maids are accomodating....

Now I'm taking a long break before my EDD in Jan... will return to work for a few days in Jan before I go for my c-sect... initially, I find myself getting irritated & keep scolding maid the first few days of my break... then I sat her down & told her to be attentive & do things properly... I also ask her to bare with me... as when I'm at work, I dun care how she gets things done, as long as things are done when I get home... but now that I'm home to witness how she works, I can understand why she's inefficient, slow, or does not do a proper job.... so I take time to show her each single step... maybe because they come from diff culture and pace of life, they are very slow and does not know how to multi-task... or cannot even use our equipments effectively... so have to teach, teach, teach....

Which I did, with my big tum, I went on all fours & taught her how to mop the floor properly, iron the clothes properly, etc... how to plan her job so that she can complete more task in shorter time, where she can take short cuts by making use of equipments in the home, etc...

She has improved some bits... also seem happier... cos when she completes her task efficiently or well, I'd praise... I guess it feels good...

We are lucky in the sense that our current maid is fresh from Fil, & hasn't picked up vice yet... not sure how long this can stay.... but for now, we are quite satisfied... she's definitely slow & sometimes 'stupid'... but we try to bare with her too... not that she's really 'stupid' just very very slow in picking things up... we say, no antena, cannot pick up senses... hahaha...

But generally, as long as the girl is willing to work, I think we can prep talk them to do a good job la...

When the gals give problems or slack, I always ask them, 'are you interested to work? If not, you are free to go, I can call up the agent now.' I always stress to them that I am NOT threatening them... just that if they are sincere to work, I can teach & guide but I expect them to be attentive & learn fast cos I'm a FTWM & dun have all the time in the world to sit around to watch them...

I also tell them that as a FTWM, I dun stay in the kitchen or even at home... hence, they being the professional domestic worker, should be in better control of the home then people like me! I stress that if I can do a better job than them, I will not need their service...

So my maids know they are expected to do a better job or at least match my standards at home. Schedule wise, if they are not too far off, I leave them to function on their own pace... cos sometimes they also have their preferences... but of course if baby is not put to rest well, they play too much with the kids, etc, I also make them bare the consequences... as long as kids do not sleep, they do NOT sleep... that's my house rule... hee hee..

Even if I'm the one tending to the whining child at night, they have to stay awake to accompany me... yet get up at their usual time to do their tasks the next day... then they know how tiring it can get... & start to keep to my way of doing things..

Thankfully, such things do not happen often... most maids do comply... and for those that consistently refuse, we do not wish to anger ourselves further, we rather pack them off & retrain a new one... than to face a reluctant or rebellion worker for 2 years... hee hee...

All the best my dear, have a good talk with maid... hopefully things work out... remember, there's no perfect maid in this world... as long as they do a reasonable standard, they are still human being la... give & take some.... as long as within our acceptable standards... can give in, give in lor... harmony breds a happy family...

All the best...

EMQ, Thanks for sharing...

heehee...yap. he's a teacher (and part time property agent...hehs. So I can also imagine how tiring it can be for him also lah...). He has taught at primary school, and now teaches at a polytechnic. Sometimes, he says she's worse than the pri sch kids and the rebellious teenagers. Hahaha. he says the kids can understand and react better than she does. He's trying to train her from scratch now lorh...and I think that's why she feels she cannot tahan.

Plus I think it's christmas time, she also probably feels homesick.

I thot of implementing the same house rule as you...if bb does not sleep, maid does not sleep too. But this maid is so blur, I scared if she not enough sleep, the next day, more prob may arise when she look after bb, like accidents etc. She has already accidentally cut my gal's finger once, and she didn't tell us abt it. We only found out coz we saw this wound (there was a tiny depression in her finger, and blood clot ard it) and asked the maid abt it. So can't help but also wonder if there were any other accidents that she didn't tell us about. And it happened even when there were other family members (my grandma, bro and father's maid) at home. So...very scared to have that house rule leh. hahaha.

I like the way you put it...they are the professional domestic worker...true.

Thanks gal.

CSI: I'd be very angry if maid cut's baby! Won't give her peace if she did not inform me before I find out man... I always stress that if something is broken, damaged or lost... or some one is hurt (even minor), maids have to inform us as soon as reasonably possible... cos we'd be very angry if we find out before they tell us...

Sometimes really dunno what they think la...

Dun fret la.... try talking to them lor... think ours the same... came abt 2 mths liao... 1st mth, it's survival... they are adapting & adjusting so no time to think abt home... after a mth, they've more or less settled to routine... so start to be home sick... worst this is the Christmas season... which is a very BIG thing for Catholic Filos...

I let my maid write home... so she's very happy...

EmQ
wow, you are such an expert at handling maids! i'm coming to you if i ever have problems next time, heh.
you mean there are some employers who don't let their maids write back??

CSI
i've been thinking about this nap thing, cos E also is a little difficult sometimes when it comes to naps. if he fall asleeps easily it definitely makes me feel good, like a sense of achievement, so i can understand where your maid is coming from although i wouldn't say that i'd be ashamed of myself if i couldn't do it!! haha.

but what i realise is that babies are smart, they have different styles with different people - these days my mum has a pretty easy time putting him to sleep and he can sleep for 1-2 hours straight, instead of the usual 30minute nap as before.

so maybe baby L isn't so used to the maid yet?

EMQ,
hehs...yah, true. Christmas season is a big thing for catholic filos...

We let our maid write back and call home too. All her paper and postage stamps, we pay, coz only 2 mths, she don't have much money mah. Her first phone card to call home, also we buy, coz she dun have money yet mah. Still haven't finish using the first card yet. hahaha. Coz she limits herself also lah. So...dunno lorh. *headache*

but yah, agree with Iso, you are expert at handling maids...hehs.

Iso,
That's what my MIL says too. my MIL was saying, who in the right mind, will say that she's ashamed of herself that she dunno how to put a baby to bed? coz at the end of the day, what's to be ashamed of? afterall, we're also not her family leh. So MIL feels she's a bit fake and trying to make us feel sorry for her, kinda thing. hahaha.

I thot of it, maybe L is not used to the maid...think L is the type, got lots of energy, must expend the energy then can zzzzz...but this maid have no idea. Give her ideas, she dun use them. chey. so end up, L is super bored with the maid.

Never heard of it before. Why would vit c make his nose yellow? Unless it contains pigments/beta-carotene. But why only nose?

i know! it sounds a bit bizarre...and extremely unscientific. E hasn't been ODing on too much carrots/pumpkin (unless she's been stuffing him with it)...

Iso: Never heard of such things... maybe you observe E for awhile... if you feel his nose is extra yellowish, may want to get dr to take a look lor... just to play safe... or did he play with some yellow paints?

EmQ: haha that's funny. I check with my PD friend who only had this to say - sometimes with ILs, you just have to say "orh". haha.
if it's beta carotene overload, then likely his skin will be yellower in general, not just the nose...

so cute, only the nose? hehs...

sigh,
L is down with fever again. this time, there's vomitting and diarrhoea. good thing I happened to be on leave these days, and hb is also on hols. Dunno where she caught the virus from. but, it's the process of building up her immunity...but she's so weak now...lay her down on the sofa, she just "nuah" there and stares into space. She hasn't eaten anything yesterday, except for BM (thank God I still have BM...haha). Whatever solids I tried to feed her (porridge / cheerios), she will either merlion them out or they get passed out through the butt. And it's like, almost immediately. I've lost count, the number of diapers I've changed today. but I do know that at one point, it was 4 or 5 diapers in 1 hour.

I'm tired.....and I'm not done with christmas shopping...(that's what I took leave for! hahaha).

CSI Fan: Oh dear, hope Baby L recovers soon. Sounds like stomach flu. 4-5 diapers in an hour! Must really keep her hydrated. Will pray she has a speedy recovery.

Coz of HFMD I ended up going online to do my Christmas shopping -- ordering things from my usual local internet sites. Harder to shop online for guys tho so I ended up buying 2009 calendars from AWARE (@ Blk 5 Dover) to giveaway -- hubby helped me picked them up
. But I didn't wrap a thing -- don't want people to worry I infect them thru the Christmas presents!
Thus this wkend is like wrapping central. Just hope Baby SA will give me 3hrs to finish wrapping everything!

Mommies: Anyone been or going to this? I went y'day with colleague -- lotsa selections for girls.

Gimmill - manufacturer of Carters, Oshkosh, The Childrens Place, Kmart, Walmart, Sears, etc..
Date: 19 dec - 21 dec
Operating hour: 9.00am - 8.00pm
Cash Only
Price range from $1.50 - $10/pc. 3 rompers for $10, etc.

They also hv tees/tank tops, shorts, long sweat pants, hooded jackets for men and women also available. I went y'day and grabbed quite a lot of clothes. Mostly rompers for B2 (3 for $10) and sleepsuits for B1 (think 2 for $10). Queue was abt 20mins long -- lotsa women parked their hubbies and crying tods in the queues while they shopped. There was an express queue for 5 items or less.

csi: baby L is sick again? it's happening abit too frequently hor? maybe u wanna emphasise on the hygiene at ur parent's place?
if the maids go market or go out, make sure they bath immed upon return. and change out of their outing clothes too...
i always insist my family members to do so. otherwise cannot handle my baby.
outside too many viruses and germs spreading ard..

home cleaniness also very impt. perhaps becoz bb L is cruising, so her hands n feet r dirtier than usual. ask the maid to watch out for bb L's hygiene too.

hope bb L recovers soon..