Mummies staying at Clementi / Dover / Commonwealth

Luanee: Welcome to this community!

There's Chia Baby & Children's Clinic, Blk 431A along Clementi Ave 3. Same side as the temp interchange and the curving block after Clementi Pri Sch. Can try her out but note that we stopped bringing our girl (21MO now) after like 3 visits. We didn't like her "bedside" manners -- not very helpful to us 1st time parents. BUT she's open Sun AM so if really desperate, we may go back to her... but hasn't for 1yr now.

luanee
similar to kidz, we didn't quite like her bedside manners. some more she was scolding her recep (who was quite nice to us) when we were there standing at the recep!
dorothy ong's recep is quite ah lian but very nice, even on the phone she's super nice, haha.

kidz
the stage 2 toothbrushes are ALL pooh! heh. here are the combinations:
yellow/green with eeyore or pooh on handle
red/purple with pooh
blue/green pooh or eeyore
yellow/red pooh
let me know

Iso: I'll look up the design on Oral B website 1st and let you know. Likely collect one lunchtime next week. Wanna meet for lunch then?

Any other mommies from this thread working @ RP, wanna meet for lunch, bring photos to share, etc...

Iso,
I usually get to work at 730am. Sometimes when I'm late, it's 8am. haha. I'll take train from Dover. Before 730am, it's not too bad. SMRT will "inject" new trains (empty trains) after JE before Clementi...so I must catch the 7.20am train (at Dover) and I'll get seats. haha. so rare horh. But when I'm late, and hb drives me to Dover...the Sunset way stretch all the way down is heavy traffic. Ok, now not so bad coz school hols. hehs.

Luane,
Hi! Welcome!
Erm, I brought my gal to Dr Yvonne See once. But hb dun like her recep. He felt they were rude. I heard Dr Dorothy Ong is good....but she may not be ard during sch hols. Coz she goes for holidays with her family I guess...

kidz,
you likely coming to RP next week? Okie! I'm on for lunch...except Friday. coz me on leave that day (5 Dec). Heehee...

Oh btw, mummies who have brought their kids to SSO's Baby's Prom before...

Any idea if we can bring pram? I mean, put where? Was wondering if I should bring my pram along...

what industry is that? banking?
i'm in a marketing agency, things are getting quite slow now, hence the many frequent posts, lol.

Abt Drs, if you don't mind GP who's very experienced i.e. a bit older, then I got two good ones to recommend for Clementi central (posted on this early on in this thread too).

1) Dr. Lau Waun Kee (may be misspelling his name a bit)
Raffles Medical. Knew him from when he volunteered at St Andrew's Community Hospital - 1st plc I wked at. He's PT tho so gotta call and ask them when he's on duty. But extremely fatherly.

2) Dr Margaret Ng
Central Clinic & Surgery (24hrs) -- facing MRT line, next to DBS bank. She's very motherly and also PT hours only.

Both Drs are like in their late 50s to early 60s so has many, many years of experience seeing adults and children. I like them for their good bedside manners, giving of extra advice e.g. drink peppermint tea to clear sinus on top of medicating, etc.

Lunch next week -- what time do you two prefer? Pls pick a place too. I'm flexi coz I'll very likely take leave for the day. I'm only clockign 5hrs/day but due to all the wkend events, end up clearing off in lieu instead of taking leave. So now my HR wants me to clear as much as I can. Think I got >65hrs left...

Thanks CSI and kidz for ur recommendations.

U ppl good ah, can meet for lunch at town area. Me live in west, work in west, haha...

Iso: Can I get the following Oral B Stage 2 from you: 1) Yellow/green Pooh 2) Yellow/red Pooh

Y'day we went to Taka's Toy Fair. My girl was hugging the giant Pooh Bear like mad but we didn't buy for her ($60). In the end, she was hanging on to a cuddle-size Lumpy ($9.90) and won't even let go of it @ the cashier. Ended up hugging Lumpy all the way. This AM, woke up only went to hug Lumpy and then lie on daddy's chest (with Lumpy in tow).

Luanee: Heehee, it's one of the cast members of the Disney Channel animation show "My Friends, Tigger & Pooh". The purple elephant character. I've been coaching my girl on the sounds that animals make and she's particularly taken with that of elephants so that's probably why she took to Lumpy immediately

Iso,
yeah...i'm in the finance industry. Now, in dangerous position...hahaha. going by all the news abt job cuts etc...haiz.

Hi to all pretty mummies...

I hv introduced solids to my baby and I am cooking porridge over the weekends for him.

Can anyone give me some advice or recipes for baby foods? My little one is now 8 months.

I have been giving him pumpkin, carrot, potato, fish, tofu, apple & pear.

I got problem of making fish porridge - kinda of fishy smell - after I put in 2 slices of ginger.
Should I put the ginger before the fish?

Angela: Fish fishy smelly because it's freshwater ones? Try other types of fish. I used to cut just the flower (really loose bits) from a head of broccoli and mix into the porride.

Mommies: Can boil stems from cauliflower/broccoli till a bit soft but still firm and give to babies to chew on. This only good if baby has more teeth and able to hold the stem themselves. Can give carrot sticks too. These make healthy yet effective teethers

<font size="+1"><font color="0000ff">JOHNSON &amp; JOHNSON CHRISTMAS SALE
Up to 70% Off. Free gifts for Early Birds (while stocks last)</font></font>

Date: 2nd Dec 2008 to 4th Dec 2008
Venue: The Atrium #01-10, International Business Park (Jurong East)
Time: 10am - 7pm
Payment: Cash

Btw any mummies here sending ur kids for ballet classes? I am trying to find one near Clementi to switch my daughter to. So far found at Attitude (Bt Timah Plaza) and Clementi CC but the timings not so good. Any other recommendations? Thks!!

Angela,
I also give sweet potato, broccoli, cauliflower, peas, papaya, banana. Agree with kidz. the stems of the cauliflower / broccoli make good teethers... hehs.

Other times, I give oat / millet porridge instead of brown rice / rice porridge.

I get some ideas from this website: http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com

Today is baby L's 1st lunar birthday. heehee...later going to play the "pick-up-things-game" with her. Dunno what's it called lah...hahaha.

i have a problem with porridge too.. how do i tell my MIL it's ok to put in more than 1 vege with the fish?? hahaha... she's been feeding him the same stuff since 6 months (now 8.5), one slice of fish, one veg (peas, cai xim or pumpkin).
luckily he gets more variety at my mum's place, or he might be malnutritioned by now

limangela - i like to put celery with other veges into porridge/cereal too, but that one must blend. i love it so i think it gives a sweet taste. i tried brussel sprouts and french beans but these seem to have a more "raw" vegetable taste, so not so nice unless mixed with something stronger like pumpkin.

CSI: Happy Birthday to Baby L! Don't forget the red eggs... =D

Iso: I suppose we eat the same things all the time too... hee hee... but good to introduce a variety of food to baby when young, so that they are used to them.. I give my kids everything, anything... as long as they are above 1yo... but of course in moderation. I even give them food I do not eat myself... there are certain food my parents have never given to me and over time, I've not learn to eat them... however, whenever these are available, I offer them to my kids... =D

I mean it's a global world... they will travel one day... also with food shortage, it's good to let them get used to a wider variety... My sis baulk at the idea of giving her 2+ yo son 'outside' food... I'm like, get real, they are going to have to depend on 'outside' food one day... won't be so lucky to have home cooked all meals, all day, all their lives...

So I'm fine if #2 (17mths) wants a sip of coke, some fries (without salt though), or even nuggets...

#1 does not have a sweet tooth, so she usually rejects anything too sweet.... that's very good cos... despite the fact that she's not very diligent in brushing her teeth, she does not have any cavity at 6yo... quite an achievement... hee hee...

I told HB to be prepared to send #2 to dentist for fillings... hee hee.. this little one loves food... though not a big eater, she's adventurous... will try anything that she sees us eating.... to the extend sometimes she prefers our food...

As for porridge, we put in anything...

Iso, I'm quite the opposite from you. MIL dumps all sorts of stuffs into baby's porridge &amp; I used to get paronoid about it... cos when we first start out, it's better to introduce 1 new food at time... this is to rule out any possibility of food alergies... if baby reacts to a particular food upon introduction, it's good to observe the same food for a few days then take necessary action.

#1 was introduced to porride in the same way. She is alergic to some food, but the problem is we do NOT know what till now... so once in a while, she breaks out into angry rashes. We know it's food alergy but have not been able to identify which... this is the problem when many food were introduced at the same time.

The only way to find out now is to send her for a very expensive and painful skin prick test... or live with the alergy... dr says as it's not too serious, we can try isolating and identifying it ourselves... but really difficult the bigger they get... cos they eat all sorts of stuffs.... &amp; we dunno what exactly goes in the biscuits or snacks she eats in school, given by friends, etc...

Good thing her food reaction hasn't been more serious than angry rash.... cos I know in a serious case, the eyelids, the lips &amp; other body parts can swell... in an extreme case, can cause suffocation &amp; death...

Maybe your MIL is aware of food alergies possibilities and is just more careful... however, after a few months, if baby is fine with eveything he's been given, I guess you can gently inform MIL that you think it's safe to introduce other food... =D

No worries, natural food are not like chemicals containing only 1 type of nutrient of vitamin, etc... they do contain a range of vitamins, nutrients... so not to worry too much about malnutrition... but do encourage MIL to introduce other types of food...

Let MIL know it is good to introduce some other meat, etc... so that eventually when baby goes to school, he has no problem adjusting to outside food... =D

Otherwise, face my sis' fate... her son rejects many outside food... does not know how to eat chunks of meat in porridge/ soup, etc... I think my 17mth can do better than him... hee hee..

CSI
wah, got a pick up sticks game??

EmQ

Yah i suppose maybe she's worried about food allergies, or maybe just that they always do the same old things a certain way, (just like how everything else in the house has to be a particular way, boy am i looking forward to moving out :p) but i will try to gently persuade her to add more variety
maybe i will tell her what others have been feeding their babies, or tell her i've been feeding him lots of fun stuff, even pasta that i cooked for the rest of (my) family! blended, of course.

i think your sis will be horrified if she knows that i've been giving baby E a taste of most of the food that i eat too, from pohpiah bangkuang, to noodles - anything that's soft enough, and only for a taste.

i heard about a mummy who told her daughter no "outside" food until she was 2, by which time she was not interested... but since bb E and the rest of us love to eat, i feel like i'd be depriving him of the joys of food if i didn't let him try!

Iso: No la, I think CSI's pick up game is to pick up scissors, book, money, etc... supposedly if they pick book, they are destined to be scholar, scissors - dress-making/hairdresser, money - banker, etc.. But I suppose times have change, among the stuffs should perhaps be a PDA (engineer?), pointer (teacher?) hahaha.... have fun!

Hey, but maybe below 1yo, to be a bit more careful... cos their internal organs not as developed. I too try to delay outside food... for #1, was 1+, for #2, she's very adventurous... so after her 1st birthday, we dun really stop her... dun encourage either, but will not stop her lor... only thing I do not give raw food till much later... my #1 took live oyster, sushi, sashimi at about 4+ (I think), after that, there's no stopping her...

Yeah la, have fun, let him try all he likes... after all, most times, we depend on outside food at least once a week what... =D

EMQ,
red eggs? Oops. need red eggs also ah? cham. hahaha...today working day lah. I never take leave. no time to do anything also. haha.

Iso,
the little game lah...where they let the 1 y. o. pick up stuff - calculator, stethoscope, pen, ruler, book etc...to sort of signify the baby's career path in future...hehs.

Hi Mommies

I juz did detailed scan @ TMC this AM. B2 was super cooperative. Could see gender too: Boy.
We actually happy whether boy or girl. Now I got excuse to keep shopping and help spur the economy. Maybe govt shd give us bonus on top of baby bonus for this added factor

hahaha...kidz,
congrats!!
yeah, got reason to shop. Heard from frens who are currently expecting boys (actually, I realise all of my frens are currently expecting boys), that a lot of BLUE baby clothes are OOS. when they go shopping, there will be a lot of pink left...haha

CSI: Ur "pick up" game includes pick up lines or not?
Didn't know so blue's in. My colleagues also had a few boys in the past yr so they getting ready to pack things for B2 to use. Currently, I also posted a thread for some of them to search for new clothings for boys and hv rec'd some good offers -- maybe now I'll keep them all for myself

"pick up" game - oh that is new to me!! you just let them roam around the house to pick up or you put the objects there in front of them?

kidz, congrats!!! B1 is a girl is it? (sorry i got bad memory) so exciting!

EmQ
ooh that's good advice, i should be a little more dilligent in not giving too salty stuff for now..

CSI: Red eggs ez la... just boil &amp; add red colouring when cooked or buy red paper, rub over only... does not need that much time to do... then think baby need to peel (just touch touch can liao) &amp; take a bite... have fun with the picking up game.... can't remember if I did for my kids... but I dun really believe in such stuffs la... for fun la...

Iso: Yes, the blend &amp; more natural outside food should be ok, try to avoid salty stuffs &amp; those with lots of preservatives or msg... others stuffs should be no harm la...

yah same. I also dun believe in such stuff. just for fun. Most of the time, I think babies will just pick out the item that is nearest to them...or the most colourful one. hahaha. not scientific at all...hehs.

CSI: Hey, but we never know lor.... hee hee... and trust me, it's not true that they dunno what they like la... I'm sure by a certain (and very young) age they start to develop preferrences.

My 17mth has been picking out her own clothes lor! She'll be very uncoperative if she does not want to wear the pieces you pick out for her! But if she gets in that mood &amp; we bring her back to her waredrope, she'd happily point out another piece and let you dress her without any fuss! Amazing right? And we keep thinking they dunno or dun understand... not true lor... these days, I dun even bother to pick for her. Just bring her to the waredrope &amp; ask her which one she wants to wear... Even for toys &amp; stuffs, she'll take her own pick hor... think we can still bully them ah? &amp; to think she's not even 2 lor...

EMQ: wow....you've got an independent gal, who knows for sure what she wants, in your hands...
hahhaha...but...So cute lorh!! hahaha

yeah, think we can still bully them...hahaha. not the case anymore. hahaha.

EMQ: wow....you've got an independent gal, who knows for sure what she wants, in your hands...
hahhaha...but...So cute lorh!! hahaha

yeah, think we can still bully them...hahaha. not the case anymore. hahaha.

I finally found this thread again! Geez... i think i was here like beginning of this year. Then i lost it and never thought to look in the "Free Stuff" section.

So headache. My older son's playschool is closing down after this year.

Now i need to find an alternative for his younger brother. Anyone know any good playschool around our area? I live in Sunset Way but Playdays is exhorbitant. Looking for cheaper alternatives. Any recommendations will be greatly appreciated.

Hi Kidzkidz..
Thanks for your tips...
And congrats to your little bb...

Hi CSI..
Thanks for that useful link...

Hi Isobellies...
Thanks for your note on celery...
never thought celery was another choice...

Hi EMQ...
wah.. so much variety inside the porridge..
must be tasty.. hahha
my little bb also pick colours/design of rompers and toys too.. I tend to give bb 2 different designs of romper and bb will reach out for preferred choice. I think since 4 months ago I have discovered this 'decision-making process' when we are at the last Taka baby fair.
Kinda of fun nowadays when I ask for bb opinion.
hahahah...

CSI, Iso, Angela: I guess babies are born smart these days... think I was still bo-do, listen to what mum says in primary sch... hee hee...

&amp; awhile ago, baby just pulled me to the fridge, asked me to carry her, then pointing to the fridge door, says 'mamm mam'... when I opened the door, she started selecting her snack! OMG... then the next moment, she saw her sis eating an apple, she took out an orange &amp; started biting at it!

hello mummies.. keep missing this thread... guess i cant multi thread after all... :p

CSI fan.. my ger also had high fever (> 40 degress) abt 1 week ago and body broje out in rashes after fever subsides... same.. roseola... but now she is fine already.. how is ur babe?

EMQ.. ur ger very smart leh.. hehe.. u inspired her to chose her own clothes har???

Just to share something.. i have a cousin who is in pri 3 now ( okie.. a bit too young to be my cousin..but i am young also.. :p) she has been on diet like since 4-5 yrs old??? She just refuse to eat.. or eat very little because she doesnt want to grow fat.. i dun think she got the idea from my auntie but perhaps the media?? I think got to be careful what kind of things we expose to our kids... sigh.. saying that.. sometimes we also dunno what is good and what is bad...

Re: pyschologically unbalanced
Just a thought, sometimes i feel there is really no equality between men and women hor??? Why is my hubby sleeping and i need to pack all the stuffs my ger needs to go to my mother's place tmr...the diapers.. the milk... the milk bottles... why am i the one packing the lib. books when he can just tell me before he sleeps that the lib books are due tmr.. must return hor..why am i the one packing clothes for our trip next week.. why am i the cleaning the floor at night w a magic clean broom...

its not that i am calculative.. or.. fine maebe i am... am i wrong to think this way??? y cant he be more pro active and volunteer to do all these... whenever i ask him to help...then he will say that i am very calculative.. always want him to do something... a bit sian...

can anyone counsel me???Am i really too narrow minded to be thinking this way.. so i should accept things as it is?? Are all guys like that???

EMQ, hahahaha. Your girl is sooooo cute! hahaha. so smart too. Yah, I also bo-doh one. Even in sec sch still listen to what mummy and daddy say to do. hahaha.

Yesterday, baby L picked out book, thermometer (no stethoscope, so hb used thermometer in place. hahaha), calculator. And she didn't want to let go of the calculator! Ask her to pick out other stuff, she will hold on to calculator, take another item, and pass it to you..as if to say "dude, dun touch my calculator. Here's something else for you..." muahahaha. I think coz calculator got buttons to press lah...hahaha.

Jeannie,
she's ok now. It only lasted a while. phew...wah, ur gal's fever so high...must have been so scary...btw, u still want ur HT cereal? heehee...

You are not alone. I'm also the one doing the packing most of the time. My hb can sleep at 10pm, 11pm. wake up later than me (when I leave for work), and can still message me during the day "very sleepy today". waraoz. Can imagine how pissed off I'll get...

I sleep later coz I got to pack stuff (not much lah - just my pumps and some of L's bottles coz maid tends to forget), I still BF so it adds to the tiredness, in the middle of the night when bb L wakes up I'm the one feeding her, I wake up earlier, I get off work later than him. And he tells me he's sleepy??? Shdn't I be the one who's sleepy?? I practically nap every night. hahaha. *yawn* And some days, when I'm packing stuff, hb is PLAYING COMPUTER GAMES.

Once in a while (when he's not working the next day), hb will help me to wash and sterilise my pumps.
Actually, I've kinda given up. I tell myself, I just do...whatever I do, it's all for my gal (directly or indirectly).

Hello jeannie,

Just to share with u, for my case, my husband is absolutely lousy with the kids. So most of the time I am stuck in the bedroom with 2 kids, when he is in the living room dunno-do-what. Until I realise he is actually packing all those stuff (to bring to mum's place the next day like u). Sometimes I would rather that I do the packing and he takes care of the kids instead but then it will be chaotic. So now I just let each of us do what we are good at.

jeannie: I don't think I inspire my gers lor... I'm known as the lousy dresser le... just plain classics... so nothing fashionable.. I also dun fancy accesories... but I guess #1 picks up from my elder sis (sis used to stay with us)... then #2 might have pick up from #1... hee hee...

Oh dear, P3 and already on a diet? What are we doing to our kids? My #1 is just the opp... she eats quite a lot... but has slimmed down since 3 yo, she used to be quite chubby, not fat, but fleshy when she was younger... but after 3, she just kept growing upwards only... so much so, she's really quite slim now... but she still eats a fair bit... so sometimes, we'll tell her, hey you eat more than mummy, wait you become fat girl... she'll go, no la, I eat alot still so skinny what...

But I don't restrict the kids or force them to eat... I read in some health journals that children who were allowed to decide on how much &amp; when they want to eat, has a lower chance of having weight issues later in life...
In short, if we make them eat more than they need, they develop a big appetite &amp; does not know how to guage what is enough...
On the other hand, if we deprive them (force them to diet), they learn to crave for food and when they attain the freedom to eat (when they are older and no longer 'under our control'), they will eat more than they need... resulting in weight issues...

I'm not sure how true... but generally, I do not restrict the kids too much... I'm not sure if I'm doing the right thing... but I've 2 very different eaters at home... 1 super big appetite but no sweet tooth... the other very small but frequent eater... #2 loves any snacks... sweets, whatever...

CSI
so cute! i think i want to try this game when E is 1 too..haha.

limangela
wow since 4 months your bb can choose rompers?? so cute! i should try that too. so far only when bathing i give him a choice of 2 bath toys, but if he wants to take both also can lah.

EmQ
your girls are so cute! i can't wait till E gets even more interactive..

diets
i had brunch with my friends the other day, with my friend's 2 year old girl and she was saying that the girl is chubby, followed by action of pinching her arm. i was like, nooooooo don't tell her that!!!
(she is definitely not too chubby!)

but i do think that if you restrict too much, even if it's sweets, they'll end up craving that more. EmQ, i think letting them make their own decisions (where possible) is definitely a good idea!

men and women
i have a theory on this - that our fathers are from the times where men hardly did anything and mothers did everything - and i think our husbands have subconsciously been attuned to these roles.
some men are so pampered by their mummies, like my hubby and his brother, they can hardly do anything for themselves and would die if all the women went on strike. they can't even lift a finger to say, get the ketchup from the fridge when having dinner and would rather ask someone to get it for them.

but lucky i'm quite fierce and can be quite black-face with him at times, so after a few months i've managed to "train" him to be more zi-dong. but still needs a lot of reminders. maybe they need to know that it would really mean a lot to us if they would help do the little things once in a while!
and i'm always thankful that he's not as bad as his brother, who won't even lift a finger when he's at our (ILs) place..