Mummies staying at Clementi / Dover / Commonwealth

Hi Pet: I'm so sorry. Can you write to them to appeal? otherwise that means you also cannot sell individual items and do BP as well. Have to wait one year before you can graduate. Since it's your first time, they should just give you a warning?

I just joined recently also, and cannot sell things. I had to ask my colleague to sell on my behalf. Very strict.

Ondine: Sorry for the late reply. Yeah I am always in a dilemma in the weekends. I want to go out after a week's work, to go shopping, browse in Borders, do pedicures, but feel SOOOO guilty when those activities eat into the time spent with my girl. Yet when I am with her, I feel very tired and wish she will go play by herself or sleep longer. Haha...there was a time when she preferred my helper to me. She would cry outside the toilet when my helper needs to go, or crawl away from me crying, and deperately looking for her. So drama until I also cried and my helper also teared, saying she cannot stay here anymore if I feel jealous. And I thought why am I working full time when I should be at home with her. But luckily that was a passing phase (all experienced moms told me that) and now she prefers me to anyone. Not easy to be a FTWM. Need to be emotionally strong.

"Bringing pram up the bus" report:
On Sat we took bus 100 to Vivocity and back. Carried the pram with toddler in it, left it open and was ok. On Sun we went to Botanic Gardens on bus 105 and back. Also ok. Driver didn't say anything in all these trips. Note that both buses are wheelchair friendly, maybe that's why.

secret police?? macham gestapo? are they ordinary boliao folk or people who "work" for the forum? but i think for some things it's easy to argue whether it's a BP or not, so i guess the problem really comes from the forum charging $25/week...

I think the problem was cos pet openly said on the thread something along the lines of 'she does not want to pay the $25 BP fee" so perhaps since she knows there is this rule, they decided not to give her a chance?

Pet nmind la, still can see you back here *pat pat* but seems like you went to post again? someone complained about you

Iso: seems to be ordinary bo liao people who go around popping into threads and keeping watch just so they have something to report about. some even create new nicks to complain anonymously, see thread

sleek: i posted there already.. very pek cek wif these idiots...

ya.. i was wondering, those doing BP, do they earn?
anyway, i blame myself for being so kpo..
bah.. not doing it le.. cancelled the BP.

Actually, I don't quite understandd how the BP rules works... Overseas Sprees? WTE? WTG? Those asking for cash for SNS stamps, Carrefour stickers, 2nd items, etc... aren't they also some form of selling? I suppose you get round the problem by barter trading.. but there are still many asking for cash... would they be considered infringing on the rules?

Why overseas sprees no charges? Or are they charged?

Then if mummies can band together to buy Babies Prom tickets, can't we band together to buy GWP mooncakes? Or anything else for that matter?

Then I read something about a BP organiser being called up by the police & quoting the police officer, "You should not take part in bulk purchase, it is unhealthy" I wonder how so?

Earlier I wrote about large families banding together to buy in bulk to get discounts... aren't we doing that here ~ just online families... I mean all of us are just trying to stretch our $ in today's hyper inflation. It is mere survival... as long as we do not cause harm to others & everyone gets their desired benefits... isn't it win-win?

emq: ya lor.. so much effort manz.. i juz realised.. haha. so i decided not to do it since it does not benefit me in anyway.
btw, i dun eat GWP mooncake myself. haha
i find it stupid to get my a/c suspended juz to help ppl. somemore i have to use my wkends trying to consolidate orders and contacting the supplier..
super waste of my time n effort..

i c some ppl a/cs still ard after flouting the rules, i first time offender already kenna suspended.. aiyah, dunno how these moderators work..
so many ppl selling in WTB, they dun suspend.. they suspend me.

Petrina, *sayang* maybe you can appeal to the mods to reinstate your a/c as you really don't have an intention of a BP, unlike those serial BP/Spree organisers. Sometimes I also feel why is it wrong for mummies to band together to enjoy bulk discount. If we've to pay $25 to enjoy this privilege, then all discounts would have been netted off!

angel: i already did. i sent moderator an email. they say because i did bps b4, i shld noe the rules. so my a/c will not be reinstated.
then i replied tat i m first timer.. nv do bp b4. till now they haven't reply me..
nvm lor.. start all over... juz pek cek wif myself for being so kpo..

sleek: that link u sent, really bo liao people. gosh. i might be kpo but at least i'm not bo liao, haha!

pet: i like your reply to miraclebabe, haha! but anyway you can ignore all these pple, you have other avenues to contact us if got good lobang right? ;)

actually i don't really mind people coming into threads to publicise whatever it is they have, it's q interesting sometimes also, like having a commercial break when watching tv

iso, I guess since this forum is really basic, in a sense it is good there are such 'bo liao' people who are policing the forum for free, if not I am sure it will be much messier than it already is.

really dont understand why the mods dont want to upgrade the forum to a better system.

maybe they're too busy doing other things, heh. they're actually sitting on a goldmine, imagine all the advertising $ they could be raking in. my guess is they must be engineers and not marketeers

True, many grey areas here. Like EmQ highlighted, some exchanges are for cash so it's questionable. Of course if there are willing sellers mean must have willing buyers. And where there are willing buyers, there will be scheming cons... Think Angel kena before when she bought a "yao-lan". Saw a couple of times ppl who buy from Jshoppers than mark-up to sell. I know some at SAHM who does this for some income. But like I said, if there are willing buyers there'll always be a market. On our part, we just got to be more careful lah.

Isobellies: You are right - the marketing potential has not been tapped. Always see the same old ads till I also "don't see" anymore.

Anyone can recommend a qualified optician in Clementi? Don't want to go back to my regular one in Jurong East. If you have used someone in Clementi and found the service to be professional, appreciate your recommendation. My girl has been twirling my glasses like a lasso
till it looks like a badly broken leg. Had a hard time twisting it back. Better make a back up pair. Too tired to use contact lens - except for impt occasion <vain>

Pet,
I think the mods think u've done BP before...coz there's another BP organiser by the nick "Petrina" (she's from the same Dec07 thread as me). She's had organised several BPs before. So they might have thought you two are the same. Perhaps the mods have too many emails to sieve through. hehs...I forgot...what's ur surname? Sekali the same as hers. That Petrina's surname is Wang.

Those doing BP...well, they DO earn lah. Otherwise, why so nice to do BP so many times? So free? Not only consolidating orders, there's also the need to arrange for meet ups etc. So, there must be something in there that motivates the mummies to put up BPs one after another. To me, it's a question of how much are they earning from other mummies. A small bit, I dun mind, coz afterall, there's the need to cover the $25 and their time and effort. But if it's a lot, hmmm...I frown upon that.

Plus, there are cheats out there, posing as BP organisers and then not delivering the goods. As an outsider to a BP, I think it's not easy to "see" if the organiser is genuine or not. (so far, I've been lucky...phew).

I think what the police meant by "unhealthy" is, it's unhealthy for (a) the economy, coz BP org get straight from o/seas supplier or wholesalers. So the GDP to the economy is lower. so not healthy for our economy in the long run; (b) BPs are kind of addictive. So not healthy to the mummy too. Heehee...

*bosses not ard till end of the week....woohoo!*

kidz,
same as angel...hahaha...I've used spectacle hut for my current specs (abt 2 yrs+ already).

There's one more a few shops down from Spectacle Hut (Straits something or something like that...hahaha). It has a bigger shop front compared with Spectacle Hut. BUT, I don't like that shop. Used them many years ago, when I was still a student, but I've always found them pushy and their prices not that reasonable. But, there's always a crowd leh...even my dad goes there. hmmm...maybe it's just me. haha.

kidz: I've been going to the half-shop opposite Watsons. I can't remember the name. Something generic. It is very small (half a shop, the other half is a watch shop) and the selection is not really that great. But I keep going back cos the people are quite good and attentive to details. They have been there for AGES so they must be doing something right. I have bought contact lenses, spectacles, solutions from them. I don't get that giddy feeling with new specs as much compared to other shops (not in Clementi).

mummies, any of you considered lasik? there's been a slew of advertisements on lasik recently and I'm kinda tempted to go for it. But no courage and dunno which one is good...what's your take?

Angel,
me me!! I've considered it. But my degree is close to 1000 (yah. very high). Dunno how effective it will be also leh. Sekali do liaoz. still need to wear specs, maciam no difference. Baby L is now at the stage where she likes to grab my specs with great force...it'll be twisted soon....

angel, CSI
i went to do it 2 years ago at SNEC, and it's the best spent money ever, esp since i now have a bb! so convenient! my degs were abt 600+, and i now have perfect eyesight, but if you are considering it why not go and see if you're suitable first? like CSI, they might not be able to do for you, or to give u perfect results? then at least u know, instead of always wondering

i don't q like the way some of the eye "centres" are advertising, i find it cheapens it and questions the credibility, that's why i prefer SNEC - altho they do have to make profits, i feel they are also more likely to be more accountable.

oh Straits Optical? i like the optician there, before lasik, haha.

BPs: yah, if there are willing buyers (suckers? heh), why not, even if there's a markup there might still be savings for buyers from buying outside. but guess some (bo liao) people can't appreciate free market economics and like to complain. heh.

CSI: yup.. there's one same name as me. but her id is different mah.. i emailed the mods already. they nv respond. so i also heck care liao.
anyway i recreate another id liao mah.
can chat can liao.. hehe

lasik
i also wan hb to do it. parkway health having offer.. $1220 per eye. non-knife laser..

DS also like to grab hb's specs.. mine too. but luckily my deg is not high. so i can still see w/o specs. and mine is plastic. he can't destroy my specs. hehe

isobellies: maybe i silly.. i nv think of marking up the price then create a bp.. haiz... nvm lah. lesson learnt.

optician
my hb used to frequent 1 at tanglin halt 10th flr area. cheap n good svc. not sure if it's the same.
also half watch half optician shop.

lasik
oh, and if you do go, try and get a surgeon whom others have gone to! my hb and i have some stories of friends whose surgery haven't been as good as ours...

Angel,

I did my at SNEC, same as Isobellies. The Doc is the Senior Surgeon there, Dr Lee Hung Ming. This guy is very famous for his Lasik work and my friend went to him also praised him. But I understand that he had left SNEC and went to Parkway. Check this out http://www.parkwayeyecentre.com/about.html

BTW, I've not collected the CD from you yet. Sorry, lately have been very busy. Do you think you can send it by post to me &amp; I'll bear the postage?

Iso: Please share your lasik experience. Hubby &amp; I have been considering for a very long time. But our degrees not that high, about 300+/-, wonder if it's still worth it. But considering that we get new glasses every 1-2 yrs, &amp; each pair cost us close to $400, figure we can recoup cost of lasik in about 10 yrs.

Many of our colleagues went. Many with success stories, one or two need re-surgery. In fact, was told that lasik is not the 'the all end all' that there's the likely hood of re-surgery; that it should be seen as a maintainance surgery rather than a cure-all. Which is what puts us off.

Then there's also those who say to go later, when lao hua yan sets in, so that you cure both miopia &amp; lao hua yan at the same time.

One of my colleague &amp; her hubby had 1000+ degree each. Both went for lasik. She had perfect eye sight for awhile, but now complains that she needs glasses as her degree has gone up to 100+. I ask her isn't that very bo liao, if we need to keep going for 'touch ups'? But she swears by lasik &amp; the convenience it brings. She says because of our near work &amp; work habits, our eyesight will keep deteriorating over time. But my question is, if my eyesight has been stable all these years, despite my work habits, why should having lasik change that? I mean shouldn't it cure &amp; stay that way?

Then again, at the end of the day, what I find difficult to overcome is being aware of the entire surgery... is it scary?

Do share.

Hey, I'm seriously considering lasik. Didn't know Jasmine and Isobellies actually did it already! So brave! Is the procedure painful? Can do both eyes at the same time?? How long it takes to recover from the surgery? I'll give Dr Lee a call and find out his charges,must be quite expensive, now with Parkway!

My degree is about 350 each eye. Thought of attending one of those lasik talks, shall we go together CSI and Petrina?

EmQ: it's worth every penny!! I think there is an optimal range for best results, something like if your deg is betw 300-6/700. 1000+ is pretty high, i have an ex colleague who was also 1000+ but donald tan (me and hubbs and SIL's surgeon) didn't want to do it for her. i think she got it done privately instead. i doubt lao hua yen could have cured my 600+ deg eyesight! and what really made me do it was that i just couldn't tahan the contacts anymore, my eyes were just rejecting them after 10 years of wearing. even if i need to go for re-surgery 10 years from now, i think it's worth it!

my hubby was 300+, and i have also heard of those who needed re-surgery, but strangely they were all from the same dr., which is why i would urge those interested to look for recommended ones.

the surgery itself is very fast, like 5mins, ok maybe 15 mins if you include prep and waiting time. one friend even said it's even faster than going to the dentist! lol.

I read that Lasik is not helpful if you're nearing the long-sighted age range -- coz it's new prob in addition to short-sightedness. So want to do Lasik must do early? Also, observed that some ppl (like my hubby) looks better with glasses - more "suai qi"
. Plus some others wear glasses too long, eyes look funny -- have one personal friend like that, think her's 1000+ degrees. So even when she switch to contacts her eyes always look "gang kor"
Besides SNEC, I know two of my colleagues went to TTSH and had their Lasik done by a Senior Consultant. Can ask for the name if anyone wants.

CSI_Fan: you sound happy like bird that boss not around -- trying to eat snake and not worm?

Chobee: thanks for your "pram report". Does seem like generally okay if it's the newer big buses.

Mommies: Thanks for info about the Clementi opticians. A colleague told me she saw Spectacle Hut has sign saying "UK Trained Optician". But I wanted to know 1st hand accounts of their service. Thanks for your sharing, helps me make my decision.

angel
i got 7 days MC last time, actually the day after surgery i felt pretty ok (the actual day not so, a bit pain, v dry) but it's more impt to let your eyes rest more than anything else, and not to strain them. the pain is quite minimal, a little uncomfortable when they clamp your eye open, but i wouldn't say it's painful.

at SNEC, only the senior guys are allowed to do 2 eyes at one go, which is what i did... more convenient lah

kidz: oh yah, think age also matters...

wah now not only got spammers for BPs and selling things, got spammers for mumcentre voting also?? should i complain? heheh

bed rails
anyone have any bed rails? am thinking of getting one cos my bed is a nap place / play pen for my bb (since i stay with my ILs and my nephew terrorizes the house during the day, so sometimes need to keep him in my room under my watch). wondering if they're any good or convenient? i don't think i want one that is permanently up...

well I am 1 person who did lasik when I was younger at 21 (with Dr Jerry Tan), and had to wear glasses again about 3-4 years after doing it. I guess 'back then' they knew less about certain issues that can crop up with doing Lasik when your eyesight/ degree has not stabilised. Cos my eyesight then, had not stabilised. When I finally went back to my optometrist to get my glasses done, she said she has seen many customers who have done Lasik, needing to start wearing glasses again. And like EmQ mentioned, as our lifestyles are such that we often stare at the TV and computer screen for long, it also contributes to why we have to wear glasses again after Lasik. And unfortunately for me now, have no $ do top-up Lasik.

So if your degree has stabilized and you're not experiencing long-sightedness yet, post-Lasik is really a wonderful feeling.

I did lasik this year in March with Lasik Surgery Center at Paragon. The procedure is so routine now, they even have a group briefing for the "customers" (patients is not the right word here). They just go through us like a conveyor belt, even though service is still good. And now the price has gone down so much and it's so competitive, definitely worth considering. You can also pay by installments, interest-free.

My main reason was at that time my baby kept pulling at my specs or swiping them off, especially when I was trying to change her diaper. And sick of carrying contact lenses and solutions when I travel. So I went ahead and did it (also lured by the POSB credit card promos :D).

Yeah I was worried and feeling nervous about the procedure. Haha..sleek if you remember how jittery I was when we went for the class. But the whole thing was over in 5-10 min. I did both eyes at one go. No pain at all during the procedure. The nurse took me down to the taxi stand, and I took a cab home by myself. I can still see through the eye protectors. The only discomfort was the first night. Eyes kept tearing, so I went to bed early. The next day I could see perfectly already, although my eyes were a bit sensitive to light, so had to wear sunglasses. The third day I went back to work already, even though still on MC.

Well, if you wanna compare pain...say out of a scale of 10:
Kidney stones 10
Childbirth with epidural 8-9
Pulling out teeth (with LA) 3
Lasik 0.5 (after LA)

So, don't worry about the pain. More fear of pain than actual pain. Just feel like there is sand in my eyes.

There might be some halo effect in the first few months, but they have disappeared by 6 months.

EmQ: you might need to check with your gynae whether you can do it since you are pregnant now. cos local anaesthesia is administered.

Yeah, post Lasik is great. I don't miss my glasses AT ALL. Although sometimes I will still push up imaginary glasses out of habit. Haha.

kidz,
hahahaha...eat worm lah...snake too big. I cannot stomach. hahaha.

mummies, just need some idea...

I'm giving my gal 1 feed of FM each day coz supply is not enough, so have to supplement 1 feed. So end up, each tin of FM does not finish within 4 weeks. It's recommended that we discard any unused portion after 4 weeks. Er...but pocket painful leh. coz by the time the 4 weeks are up, there would be 1/3 to 1/2 a tin of FM left. I'm wondering...can I scoop out the FM into an air tight container, keep the rest of the FM in it's tin in a cool dry place, and use from that air tight container? I'm thinking, that would keep the rest of the FM dry (open the tin less frequently)...so it would last longer? Heehee...

hope my question makes sense here...haha.

chobemama
that was an interesting scale, i didn't know kidney stones were so painful!! but i know what you mean about habit. just the other day, i suddenly felt like i had to take my glasses off before i went to bed. which was strange since it's been 2 years since my op!! old habits die hard.

sleek:
wah that sucks to have to still wear glasses! how much is your degrees now?

CSI
i guess an air tight container should be ok. i know if i scoop out some FM into a container to bring out, and don't use it within a few days, it gets clumpy due to humidity and the colour change is q obvious, so i guess a different container should be ok, just check for any changes in colour consistency?

iso, I cant rem, the last time I went to get my specs made was just before I was preg, I think somewhere around 300 or so, I need to go back again but soo lazy.. haha

I just visited the Eye Centre at Gleneagles.. hee hee... was there for my gynae visit, then saw an advert on the papers &amp; recalled our lasik discussion. Told hubby about it &amp; we decided to pop over for a look see. Was very crowded hor..

Was served by staff nurse Esther &amp; here's the result from my recee trip:

By Dr Lee:
$1688 per eye (surgery + 3 post surgery reviews), plus $185 for pre-surgery evaluation (forgot to ask if this is per eye as well).

By Prof Owyeong:
$1148 per eye (pre surgery evaluation, surgery + 3 post surgery reviews)

Dunno why she says Dr Lee &amp; Prof Owyeong... who is better huh? Anyone has any idea?

But found out preg cannot do, not becos of surgery risk but becos of hormonal changes affecting eyesight. Can only go for evaluation after the 1st mense after delivery. Surgery can be the day after evaluation (but must book in advance).

Evaluation takes about 3 hrs. Surgery about 20mins for both eyes. Over at Parkway Eye Centre, they do both eyes on the same day. She says we'll be covered by MC, but can even go to work if we need to. However, cannot drive within 5hrs of surgery. Esther says little discomfort, in fact, dun even need for eye shield... just recommend that we bring along a pair of sunglasses on day of surgery.

I've booked my evaulation for 2 Mar. I figure since I deliver early Jan, should be ready by then for the surgery. Hubby's appointment is 3 weeks before mine. We were considering doing it together but Esther says may want to do one at a time, in case we need to attend to baby &amp; for the first week, dun let anything hit our eye.

But after coming home, I just did the sums... Dr Lee will cost another 1K more &amp; imagine both of us doing it, a total of $7K! Wah... not a small sum le... hmm.... gotta consider... hee hee... or would Prof Owyeong be just as good? I mean Gleneagles le... can't be all that bad right? At least we not doing it in JB, heard some colleagues got theirs done in JB at about S$600-800 per eye.

Well, do your sums... =D

wah, looks like you did your research
but think would be good if you ask around more about the 2 docs.

as for the cost, IMHO, it's your eyes, and my eyesight is VERY precious to me, and i wouldn't skimp and save a few hundreds and regret later. i paid $1850 per eye which is the highest cost at SNEC then, not sure abt now. but i'm not saying more ex is better, just need to do some homework before that

Iso: I suppose you are right. In fact when we first considered lasik, my colleague had hers done at abt $9 for both eyes! So, we are already getting a bargain for having 2 pairs of eyes corrected at $2k less! Hee hee..
I can't seem to find info about Prof Owyeong. Anyway, can wait till Feb 09 to decide lor... meanwhile, just save &amp; raise the $ first.. hee hee..
Oh, BTW, Esther says that usually those within my range do not require re-surgery. Re-surgery is more often done for people with very extreme degrees, like 1000+... often it's due to 'regression' of the eyes, hence it's common for them to develop 100 degree some time after the surgery.
Then for presbyopia (lao hua yan), it's something that affects us around age of 40. I understand that we can leave some allowance in one eye to counter this, but subject to individual comfort level. Otherwise, we correct everything to perfection, then do another surgery when presbyopia sets in later... or simple go on reading glasses when that time comes...
This all sounds very exciting to me le... just the bit about raising $7k... come to think about it, we've wanted to do it for ages, but have never budgetted for it lor... sigh

emq: eh, muz wait till 1st menses then can do? i bfing now.. delivered in mar. till now my menses still haven't come to visit me.. unless u dun intend to bf.. otherwise i think u need to wait at least 6mths ltr lor..

EmQ: I'm curious why Prof is cheaper than Dr? He's less experienced in surgery?
But seriously, why schedule your husband's one so close to yours? Since he not preggy or getting menses
, don't want him to go for it earlier? Or really "pai chang long" (long queue)?

Isobellies: So now you getting tempted to join the "Gestapo" ah? Or the French Resistance like in the Brit comedy 'Allo! 'Allo! That series really cracks me up... About bedrail: if you have room, consider just putting a matteress on the floor since no danger of baby rolling off there. Also, put on the floor can use for longer time and can move around the house e.g. living room. Can get kidz size one. Matteress thicker padding than playmat too. We had a few close shaves with my girl almost rolling off our bed -- somemore higher as itz a spring matt.

Chobee: You kena kidney stones before? Ouch! The worst pain I've had was from an ovarian cyst abt 4yrs back. Went in and out of NUH and they didn't know what to do. Moment step into my gyane's clinic (1st ever visit), just based on my description he knew what was going on and took it out two days later. The pain had me curled up in a foetal position...
By the way mommies: Like to share the good news that No. 2 is on the way
. Think I'm 8wks along now. B2 will come around my b'day in Apr. And shortly after B1 turns two -- our ideal age gap. I'm continuing to BF but B1 seems to be more moody lately -- not sure if she senses something's different or it's coz she started PG.

Kidz! <font color="ff6000"><font size="+1">CONGRATULATIONS!!</font></font>

Baby Dana has another 'mei-mei'! So happy for you! And it's also an April baby like Dana too! Wish I can share such good news too but the possibility is -99.9%. I can only wish....Send my regards to Daddy P