Mummies in Pasir Ris

heheheeh.....

huh seems like me pop up the rite time... my kids went to both zoo phonics n I can Read heeeheee..... personally think i can read is better coz the coverage is wider as in frm age 2.5 all the way to primary sch while zoophonics is purely phonics n no gammer etc.....

but for i can read 2.5 is a bit young coz we cant assessed if they learning anythg so for myself i wait till my kids attend nursery then put into the tcs class in i can read.

dsii fee per term is $435 for weekday class for tcs n prp n icr program in I can read then $495 for weekend classes

I still think it's important for kids to learn phonics, I've heard of alot of good reviews on I can Read. It'll help the kids when they are older, in terms of reading and spelling skills. Especially spelling as they'll somehow able to spell the word based on listening. If I could turn back the clock, I'll send my gal to ICR but now she's too old to pick up phonics all over again. I had a difficult time teaching her spelling during her K1 and K2.

thanks for the idea of cupcakes.. ya.. more convenient hor.. but hor.. will the sch make noise a not?? as in whether its halal or not ?

sheris : hey! long time no see/ no hear! how are u??

pressurekid, how old is yr gal? thk still can slowly teach her rite.. that's why i will probaly will send my gal to ICR when she turn 3... we c how she progress in her nursery class first... accordingly to her teacher, at her age now is still too early for her to learn phonics leh...

yah, think phonics pretty important too. now when ah girl speaks (albeit toddler talk) to me, i'll correct her pronounciation! habit liao lah, can't stand ppl who can't pronounce properly de, my hubby always kena from me. primary becomes prambery. wah lau..... and his excuse? english no good, teacher never teach. *faint*

sheris / jocelyn,
where have u both been? haven't seen u here for a while le

sheris, jocelyn
My gal in P1 this year, and me very lazy and impatient so normally will outsource teaching to schools. Usually we'll fight when I get her to do work at home, she very stubborn one, always say teacher say must do this and that...mummy say whatever also not important.

sheris, where is your #1 studying? I remembered your boy same year as my gal?

bao...ya Miss chloe now speaks to me like a big gal..she always tell me she is big gal now..no need mama..hahahah.....

aiyo whole day call the zoophonics at tampines...bo leng answer....fed up...

as for ICR...ya will wait till she is in nursery bah bt beri ex leh...

wow..while doing research for my job project also can research for my old gal eh..hehehe

pressurekid

p1 not too late my boy also p1 this year and he onli started last year... so is still okie... can bring her from assessment then see which program she go to... either prp which is more basic or I can read which focus on the blending etc... they dun not base on the sch lvl as in pri 1 or pri 2 but on the kid's progress to promote the child.....

my boy studying in kheng cheng school in toa payoh... every week got spelling till i wan to faint

nanabear
heehee i mia mah.... not so gd lor but will still survive......

lianrongbao
heheheh

nuahcouple
treat it as investment, education is have to invest de... either u start invest heavy in their basic n later part dun nid so much tuition or ignore basic later part invest even more in the education...... tt one even bigger hole

any mummies free for la kopi today whitesands frm 7 30 onwards?

haha..sheris every spelling and ting xie hor...can die...

pressuredkid
EPPS p1..1st term spellig in singular words...term 2 got sentences le...then followed by spelling n dictation....

chinese oso..mixtures with words and sentences....

sheris..hahaha..today wed hor...fri going out le..dun think tonite can leh..but may go to whitesand to buy a backpack for ian...cant cfm yet

dsii
wow epps so power..... khs onli got 10 spelling words for eng n chinese is han yu ping ying but for hao hao he also got spelling for I can read and chinese ting xie for his chinese enrichment in chinese characters at least tt look like ting xie to me..... speeling in hanyu ping yin is a bit of a joke lor... at least to me lah at bit cant accept

dsii wat backpack? wat type? if is the normal type which student used de i have a few new ones nv used de but no cartoon pict de lah

sheris
EPPS 1st term for chinese spelling oso hayu pinyin...cos now they learning hanyu pinyin mah...2nd term will ting xie in chinese characters then sentennces...

sheris
then ur son stays in tpy? or everyday sch bus to n fro?

i wan small one for ian...with cartoons one..like elmo/thomas train/mickey mouse

must learn the pinyin then the sheng diao...and where to out the sheng diao..aiyo..if that area not strong can die...

nuahcouple

totally agreed w u tt kids should play tt y all the enrichment lesson onli start for my kids when they reach turning 4..... after tt no matter wat they say is studies come first if u get the basic rite then later life will be easier for them but at least so far no complaint from them tt they dun wan to go for the classes..... lucky me n poor pockets....

dsii
still maybe hao already trained in han yu pin ying so he soar when having the spelling so nw very yaya... then eng spelling till now no 100% but got 70% if he dare to give me another 70% he will get it from me.....

wow, suddenly the thread move so fast.

sheris, I did send her for assessment in May last year but didn't sign her up as the timing somehow clash and also it was in between a term and my gal take a while to warm up so scared later she'll feel lonely in the class as the rest would have known each other already. I've given up on phonics but now looking for creative writing...still have not get myself to look around

dsii, thought I can be more relax leh as she only started her chinese spelling last week and english one this week, last year at this time every week english and chinese spelling, and the chinese one is the han zi lor so she everytime learn she'll complain. But the third term onwards will have a sentence in hypy and now her chinese spelling all hypy, she also yaya say so easy...

pressurekid
dun mind i type ur nick as pk for short?

thread move fast coz got me mah......hahahah

which program was ur gal posted to? prp ? coz as far as i know prp is the one tt can start anytime but i can read program is a structure program tt once after the 3 lesson cant join in le......

for prp it is each kid on time on target at each kids own pace...... i think mb u can still put i can read in ur choice list as they do involve some writing n grammer from the i can read program onwards before moving on to more of the writing part.......

for my kids rite nw 3rd boi waiting for tcs class which is the starting point for nursery which they emphasize on the first sounds then prp bring it a step futher with a bit of writing n blending then I can read focus on the reading n the grammer, the blending so by the time they finish I can read n goes into writing they should be quite strong in their reading skills n can spell the words by listening to the pronouncation

maybe you want to try East Coast Macdonalds on your Friday Nite out Free Parking and 24hrs and not too far away from home.

woah lao, today's posts so many until took me some time to scan thru.

dsii,
you're not a useless mum. maybe u have to keep trying certain tactics. recently, L's behaviour has improved quite a lot from tantrum throwing to be more cooperative. i realised in the past i was too strict and always raising my voice at her and beat her until she became very frustrated and always whine and sit on the floor and cry at little things. just recently, i tried to be patient with her and talk to her nicely and to make sure that she hears wat i said. like in the past for eg, when i tell her to take a bath while she was watching tv and then abruptly turning off the tv, she would whine and cry. so this time i tell her nicely that i'm going to turn off the tv becos she has to bathe then later come back and continue watching and she actually didnt cry or whine. and when she does soemthing right i'll tell her that she's a good girl. it helps that i tell her to be a good gal when she's about to be uncooperative. and when she is misbehaving, i'll ask her if she wants to get beaten (instead rasing my voice and then beat her) whc she'll say no and she'll stop wat she's doing. in the past she's also the type who doesn't listen when i kept repeating myself with a harsh tone. or maybe its a phase she's going thru. perhaps u can keep trying to talk nicely to him, try something different. sori for being loh soh, just wanna share.

sincerity,
meet on fri leh! me jus got well so looking fwd to meet up.

re: venue for this fri
actually we can go to airport provided all dun mind to split the cost of parking. if go there for about 3-4hrs, parking fee should be about $7-8+. take it as sharing cab and split the fare. wat say u all? there is a cafe next to the arrival hall that closes at 1am. and if wanna drag after 1am, we can go to cheers to buy snacks and sit at those chairs outside cheeers to continue chatting.

sheris,
welcome back! wrt to L going to playgrp, i've decided to do so when her health is more stabilized cos she gets sick every mth and recently her PD said to hold back the idea of sending her to sch now. but do remember to give me teddy playgroup's contact for future reference hor. thnx.

char
thks for the advice....

yesterday i oso tot of splittiing the carpark fees..i dun mind...as long as lbs dun mind lah..hahaha...

yo mummies!
wah topic on schooling..nothing much to contribute from my side leh cos I really a bochap mummy ..cham le! lol

char
at T3 huh?

dsii/char

i also sometimes feel like i very useless mummy too. sometimes, when my girl throw tantrum, or when she don't listen to me, i will get frustrated. then i will raise my voice. when she still dun listen to me. then i even frustrated.. i will beat her... she always wanted me to raise my voice or start to beat her then she will listen... haiz...... always after the episode is over, then i will regret my behaviour.... i will thk that i shd have talk to her nicely... (something must be wrong with me)....

this thread dead for quite long liaoz.. become tortise for quite long liaoz..

Go T3.. who is driving?? i haven ask permission yet.. hehe..

dsii/lbs,
make it t3 bah. the cafe i was talking about is at t3. and the foodcourt there still got some stalls open at 10+pm-11pm.

jocelyn,
nothing is wrong with u. that sounds exactly how L behaved and how i reacted. sometimes i like crazy woman,really shout and beat her at the same time and then felt guilty after that. and becos she constantly throw tantrum and whine and cry at everything i tell her to do, i felt soooo frustrated and stressed up until i thot i was really going crazy. how old is your gal? i think for L, she didn't understand b4 but now that she's close to 2yo i noticed that she's beginning to understand wat i'm trying to tell her. so that's y i started to talk nicely to her and be as patient as i can. hopefully it'll last long else u see me at buangkok, haha!!

lbs, parking at T3 the same as going to T2 lor... just dun take the wrong turn when nearing can liao
underground parking for T3

bao
wrong turn meaning instead of turning to right. must turn left? but that one not bus terminal meh? si le, I also lu chi leh

char
my gal is 2.5 yrs old.. last time she not like that one... only recently... she started whine & winge until i feel very irriated... dun noe is it bcos she got a little sis... hahaha.... ai... but she love her sis leh.. that's y so funny... i thk i also "xiao" liao...