Mummies in Pasir Ris

NewMummy,
got! brought my boy to PD yesterday, she prescribed the cradle's cap shampoo liao.. i try this weekend

veri paiseh, i think my hotmail siao siao kena virus, mass mailed to everyone on my contact list.
pls ignore hor...

sy / nana,
oh!!! izzit?!?! think gotta go check liao... thanks for informing!!!

sy,
act i tot so too... tok to them b4 and they keep insisting its ok... but act there are some days where they forgot but i dun remind them!!! hee... or i faster bring him hm then skip the bird nest feed lor... hee...

har har, wah zion, ethan really ho mia, got bird's nest everyday, even we dun eat so much when preggie!

yah, marmite / bovril too salty, my mum wanted to add to to porridge but i said no. normal fresh ingredients good enough to flavor liao. but personally i like bovril, had very bad craving for it when preggie too!! yummmmmm

hiding at home again, yest went back to work kena acold (dreadful aircon full of germs). got laryngitis lah, need to monitor for a couple days

darlie,
aiyo...need to drink more water liaoz..
me also, like a bit sore throat...
erm... BF if sick how ah?
i pump in office one shud throw??

zion/ darlie, Sy

brovil i know confirm got msg.. i never tried marmite.. becos the brand seems so "china" hahaa..

I also love brovil..

nana,
oh... marmite has been ard for a long long time liao... if i din remember wrongly, i was given marmite when i was young too... hee...

darlie, take care!
xw, thanks for the schedule.
i have given ikan kurau to my bb, is that also called ngor he? something like that?
can give salmon or cod to 9mths bb?

marmite is aussie brand lah. but so so nice since is yeast oni, no meat smell... no the bovril red label also bo meat, so sad. but still taste so good, wah lao nuah already
1510688.gif

eva, give cod better bah. salmon can wait till slightly order. tuna dun give hor

Darlie,
u on antibiotic bo?
it took me a week to get my voice back.

i luvvvv marmite.

hmmmm...i also din know bovril have loads of MSG.
thanx for sharing.

SY,
smooth delivery to you

Zion,
Meg also takes bird nest frequently but i boil fresh ones.
those bottled bird nest contains alot of sugar.
not so good to take everyday.

zion, i've seen a few times the teachers from NTUC bringing the kids out for outdoor activity under my block and I felt very uncomfy with their teaching and handling style. It didnt work even when I tried to convince myself that is nearby and convenient and after visiting the centre thrice. I visited quite a few CCs located along dr 1, and found CD's director most comfortable, maybe is "yuan fen" haha. She's quite accommodating and dun make you feel is commercialised. Perhaps is her own franchise and money, so she makes an extra effort.

So far the teachers are alright, Chinese is their forte, all Chinese teachers are from China and for Chinese PR to do preschool education, they need to be schooled for at least 3yrs thats what i'm told lah. Dun expect bombastic English stds though, but ok lah not tat bad. There's another CC nearby ur blk right? jude's?

eva, deep sea fish should be eaten in moderation even for pregnant woman. I give my boy that same fish, threadfin right? and introduce cod and salmon when he got a bit older.

juxta,
jude's is only next blk to my mil place... my mil personally dislike the centre cos of the teachers... there is a playground juz beside the centre only and she ever saw the teachers bring the kids there and leave them there to run around themselves... my fil ever see one child run towards the carpark which is very near the playground... and the teachers din even notice lor... my mil oso seen the teachers beat the kids b4... she is afraid that my boy being very mischievious might be beaten by the teachers lor...

ask u ar... in CD, the nap time is 1-3pm right? then the teachers wake the kids up ar? wat if they wanna sleep beyond that leh??

marmite doesnt have msg but bovril has. i checked the labels. its ok to give a bit of marmite. i also add a teeny tiny amt of marmite into my gal's porridge.

as for bird's nest, i duno if it is good to give so young but when i was preggie and attended antenatal class, the dietitian told us that studies have been done on bird's nest and it is found that it contains calcium cos the birds eats fish and the bones in the fish contains calcium, hence their saliva also contains some calcium. and our bodies can only absorb about 1teaspoon of bird's nest. so no need to eat so much. i had that amt everyday when i was preggie. my hb kept nagging at me to eat bird's nest everyday.

re fish, threadfin (ngor her/ikan kurau) can be given according to my gal's PD but deep sea fish like salmon and tuna better not give b4 1yo becos of the mercury content. not sure about mercury content on cod fish though.

A main part of the reason that I decided to put my ger in CD is also due to the school director, like wat juxta says, think it's yuan fen.. and so far, am quite please with the most of the teachers, esp the Chinese ones.. so far hv never seen them really scold or beat up any kids. I also like the fact that they take a lot of photos and hv regular newsletters in both Chinese n English (not too sure if other CC hv this?).
Zion, ya, the nap time is 1-3.. nowadays my ger sings "wake up u lazybones" everytime she wakes up, after checking with the teachers, they told me that they play this song to the kids to wake them up from their nap.. and encourage them to sing and shout with the song (to really wake them up), so I think no kids will want to sleep beyond that ba?

nana, yes CD = carpe diem

zion, yes, i saw the teachers left the kids running amok, then they sit there and chit chat. Another episode i saw that totally shocked me was a teacher forcing them to sing song, she was like those aunty at the market screaming and yelling away. Somemore very rough, yank and tug at e kids. All the kids were so frightened and on the brink of tears. I really dunno what kinda idea will be drilled into the young ones, tugging and shouting is acceptable cos the teacher does that?

Agree with YK, i've not seen the teachers screaming at the kids at CD so far. i also like the newsletter, is so informative, keep us in loop abt what they do in class, and u see their class pics, so cute!

But must be prepared hor, he might not be used to the food there. Initially very heartpain, but to let him train to be able to adapt and fuss free and make my life easier, I decide not to cook him lunch, so he wont think is ok not to eat in school cos mummy already got lunch ready for him at home! Imagine half day still ok, can go home eat, but if he's full day, he dun eat, end up he'll suffer loh

pinkie
BF if sick its still ok to give your baby but if on medication when sick then use it to bathe or wash your hands or legs loh. I was sick when BF but never take any medication so that I can continue to BF. I was told that some medications are safe but its because nothing happen yet when these people who took the medication and BF so better to be safe than sorry.

darlie
aiyoh no shopping issit thats y sick? Issit tonsilitis? If you tonsils are swollen than use Listerine to gaggle every meal will get better. My hb just recover from tonsilitis.

newmummy, heeee.... if no shopping then fall sick hor, i'll be dead by now le!!! ar har har!! no lah, mine is not tonsilitis, laryngitis is the inflammation of the laryn (voicebox). that's why bo sia. retribution lor, cos i walways scold the terrors!!!
1512603.gif

juxta, u rec'd the LR loot already? just got mine from the 2 orders + the 1st OTC one. yippee!!! now left our combined OTC one to arrive :p

darlie, no leh, my LR not in yet, u saw her updates? my batch 15 not in full yet, sians..... my acma already on the way i think according to the status. maybe by the time come, sean grow up liao i can sell away hahahah

juxta, har har har!!! yeah, now awaiting for acma to deliver too, 2 orders, more more goodies to look fwd to, lalalalalalala..... but hor, my LR shipping charges sure to be sky-high cos i din expect my stuff to be so heavy. luckily those are discounted items already, else sure faint

pinkie, still gotta wait leh. neck long long liao buay?

darlie, what did u buy ah? i think my toolkit is the most heavy ba. you havent pay for shipping yet? She replied my email, said my items are all in, but she still awaiting the other boxes of that batch, sighs at least i know is in liao.

darlie,
acma lai liao har??
yeah....

Juxta,
sounds like CD is pretty good.
i am actually considering Lorna Winston but it's kinda far

CD is ok lah, we just happen to have good experiences so far. must put disclaimer, we not advertising for CD hiak hiak.

Lorna Winston is generally good ba, got transport to and fro?

Newmummy,
oic, i didn't take any medication so means ok lor?

darlie,
simi si LR ah?
neck long liaoz...waiting for acmamall :p

btw, any shopping expert can advise?
i wanna buy from gap myself but need to hit USD75 to get USD15 off. oredi consolidated some orders from frens liao but juz wondering if OOS, will they prompt us? if not, sekali i below USD75 how?
also, how to ship them back to sg ah?

mbb,
ah buay lai leh. still waiting for the books... sob sob. but shd be very soon lah, placed order so long ago already!

pinkie,
LR is Learning Resources, juxta & i ordered items from them via a spree. for Gap, u have to go via vPost. and they wun prompt u if u have any OOS. after u place ur items in the cart, u always have to refresh it to check on your own. i just placed an ON order with a friend a couple days back :) the discounts for lots of items still not attractive so we just ordered those that are more deeply discounted.

juxta / yk,
thanks for the comments on CD... really make me wanna take leave to go down take a look myself...

juxta,
u mean the teachers at NTUC CC did dat??? omg... to think my mil wans me to put my boy there for full day... cos her sis stays near there n it would be kinda convenient... gotta tell her abt dat liao...

act i m thinking of putting him there pm half day... cos he really sleeps in till very late... if liddat like cannot learn much hor... sorry ar... so many qns early in the morning...

yk,
wow... u mean ur gal act sings the song EVERYTIME she wakes up??? sooo cute... hee... act my boy can sleep for >2hrs in my mil place... n if he doesnt get enough sleep he will be very cranky lor... plus he is still unable to express himself in words yet... only family members know how to interprete his sign language lor... n then he will get fed up if nobody understands him... liddat will the teachers lose their patience trying to understand him?

sorry ar... again ask so many qns... cos this little terror has very bad temper lor... at my mil place he is 'ong' mah... everyone let him has his way lor... so everywhere he goes he will try to test limits on everyone... can really make ppl lose patience lor... haiz... dunno wat to do with him... he doesnt dare to provoke me when he is alone with me tho... hee...

think i will hold on salmon for now since my gal only 9mths. but i have been giving her threadfin in the porridge with spinach, think she getting sian already.
1) may i know if cod is ok? or wat other fish is approprIATE now?
2) heard that spinach is not very good if taken too often?
3) what other veg then?

can mummies also share the type of porridge u give daily? running out of ideas. eg, monday..tue..wed... esp if there are 2 porridge meals daily.

4) if i wanna add carrots/ veg into porridge, can i steam it separately then add in the porridge, to retain nutrients better? coz i cook porridge us8ing slow cooker lor. i steam fish separately too.
if not, when should i add the veg n fish into slow cooker, scare overcooked..

sorry, paiseh, so many qs! i ve been trying to find out n i guess this is a good place coz exp mummies here

Eva,
i normally will steam the veg n add into the porridge 15mins before i feed my ger.

as for fish, i prefer baking coz it's less fishy and it retain the most nutrients. i will add into the porridge before i feed my ger. poarched fish is also very good.
i gave cod to my ger when whe was abt 9 mths.
other type of fish you can try is garupa and silver fish.

i do not cook 2 diff type a porridge a day. in the evening, i will add in baked wheatgerm in the porridge so tat it will taste slightly diff.

other choice of veg.....brocolli, choy sum, asparugus, peas, eggplant, cabbage, zuchini etc.

red lentils is yummy too.

Juxta,
can take school bus lo but at least 30 mins ride.
i dun think it's a good idea

so now, will go and check out Eton house and Pat's schoolhouse instead.

Zion,
i believe when Ethan go to school, he will not be like at home de.
i teach in a kindergarden ages ago,
children behave much better at school due to peer preasure.
so dun worry too much.

eva
i give threadfin and cod fish initially. my boy doesn't lke threadfin now and only eats codfish. fussy right....

for vege, i give spinach, brocoli, califlower, asparagus, peas.

i usually go by colors.

orange stuff will be carrots, pumpkins, tomatoes, wolfberries

yellow will be corn or yellow beans ( i take the water only)

i also give lentils when older.

for carrots etc i just add into porridge. i dun put separately. slow cooker is ok. hard to overcook. but if u use those pots to boil, then i will usually steam the veg first then add in the fish/vege only when boiling.

for 9 months, u can try giving some mee sua but do boil it first then throw away the water cos got salt. i also tried ABC pasta also.

pinkie,
also can lah, whichever u are comfortable with. i have used vpost oni mah! har har har!! too lazy to open accounts with the other 2. heard cgw very problematic so better dun try

sy / yami,
trfed liao :) kam sia!!

Zion, my ger (or rather all kids) has a certain phase, these few weeks, most of the time she is totally awake, she will sings it.. but i think after a while she will grow tired of it, and change "pattern" lor! haha..

Dun worry abt communication or adjustment for the kids. Last time when I just started to send my ger to CC, the teachers there (esp her Chinese teacher) spend a lot of time with her, and now she totally understand wat my ger wants without her opening her mouth! But the good thing is, they will keep encouraging her to speak up, over the past few mths, I hv seen the change/growth in her so much!
But I agree, if put the kids there in the afternoon, not much to learn, cos main part of the time is napping, then playing.. the learning part is mostly in the morning.

zion, when i started my boy at CD, he could barely speak also, can see his improvement once he mixes ard with children his age, after awhile got sentence liao. His Chinese was almost zero, plus hyperactive, initially the Chinese teacher said very tough to handle, plus not just him, many of his classmates are like that, somehow they'll adapt and adjust and learn to take instructions. and now he can understand his Chinese teacher. Is very intersting to see the way they grow and mature. CC stresses on independence so they're made to learn to shower, dress, feed themselves. i think if i had sent him to a kindergarten, it'd take me ages to train him lor. AM is the so call "structured lessons" lah, PM not so much activities, mostly to reinforce what they learn in morning.

As for NTUC, that was my observation lah, Sheris' kids are there, but she dun find anything odd, talking abt that, sheris where are u ah?

mbb, dsii stressed from Issac's school reopening! hahah. Eton and Pat's also quite a distance away right?

YK, i saw ur gal yesterday when i went pick up sean. My hb said she's so sweet, big round eyes! she was staring at me, i wonder if she recognises me hahahah

juxta,
aiyoh... my boy is the opp leh... his chinese can say fanastic liao... can understand every single sentence we say... his english is the one i m worried abt... sometimes when i speak to him in english, he can give me the blur blur look lor... then i realise he dun understand!! how ar??? our english not very good either... n my in laws dun speak english oso wor... haiz... headache... another headache is his sleep... he needs plenty of sleep... i cant imagine if he goes to full day cc, i guess i can only get to tok to him during the weekends liao wor... wahahahaha...

zion, after going thru my boy, i realised chinese from young is more impt, once u send him to school, he'll pick up english very easily and fast, so u dun have to worry abt that one. Chinese is actually the language thats harder to learn leh. I've to drill Sean Mandarin, like kantang kia like that and is my fault, so used to speaking English to him. My in laws all kantang one, so his Chinese is so so weak. Nowadays, I speak to him in Mandarin, he'll reply me in English, like chicken and duck talk lor, but at least he's attempting some words liao, so happy!

dun worry too much abt his zzz pattern, kids are smart, afterawhile they'll adjust. Sometimes when Sean has too much tv time, u can see him "sian liao", no mood no energy, they need plenty of other activities. Dun say children lah, sometimes we too idle, too much tv, also will get lethargic and want to zzz all the time. hahaha

Zion, no worries.. they will pick up the language one.. see my ger, she refuse to speaks Chinese, but she has no problem communicating with the Chinese teachers in cc. Nowadays, once in a while she will suddenly speak in Chinese, then quickly switch back to English! hehe..
Sleep wise, my ger used to sleep a lot too, but after attending cc, her sleep pattern changes accordingly, give them some time, they will adjust and adapt well.. nowadays, my ger will auto tell us she wants to sleep earlier at night. So dun think/worry too much, kids' adaptability is very high.
Juxta, u like my ger ah? she only sweet sweet in school! haha.. i heard fr Ms Huang that a lot of kids like her, cos she is quiet and shy.. but at home she is totally different! haha..

Yk, she like walk out from the comics loh, her eyes so big and so round, like anytime got tears bursting out hahaha, can go act leh, then u'll be "xin ma" liao.

How I wish I can be xin ma! haha.. then i can sit at home shake leg collect $$! haha.. She can only act at home, especially pretending to cry! Haha.. But hor, once she is outside, she will be so super shy and dun even dare to talk much!

juxta / yk,
hmm... liddat ar... but he is only 18 mths now leh... izzit too early to put him in full day cc? some more he now already not eating much, skinny skinny liao... scali he go cc liao totally dun wanna eat how ar???

sorry hor... i know i m irritating... but if i decide to put him in full day cc straight away, i will need to convince my mil and everyone else in the family... my fil keep telling me not to put him in full day for now... go for playgroup first, the slowly half day then full day... say its for him to adapt slowly lor... wat do u think??? i very confused liao leh...

YK, my boy was also like that, go out only hide in his shell, hehe try her on some speech and drama so she can learn to express herself outta home.

zion, be prepared for falling sick hor, cos once they start going school, will keep falling sick one and is at least for first few months. CD no play group leh, is either full/half day. Let Ethan go to school and try it out and ur ILs to see the change in him, i'm sure they'll be more encouraging.

Unless like Sean, was very sickly lah, when i started him playgrp at 24months, we took him out after 3rd month, he was absent most of the time. I feel that school environment is very impt for a child, there are alot of things that I cannot teach/show him.

Zion, if u hv people to help look after ur son, personally i feel better to delay sending him full time lor.. more for health reason lah.. cos when they are younger, they will be more vunerable to virus attack.

But I do agree with Juxta, school environement is good for the kids, as it helps them to develop certain skills that we can never teach them at home.. i never regret sending my ger to CD full time when she's just 18mth.. my only regret is I hv to bear all the complaints fr my IL when she constantly fall sick! haha..
Now I am already considering at wat age shld I start my twins in CC, or playgrd, or wat?