Mummies in Pasir Ris

darlie/yami/pinkie,
that's wat i was told. so i'll encourage my gal to talk softly when she screams cos scolding makes her rebel and scream even more. haha.

yeah darlie, will take care of myself and my gal. anyway its jus a bit of blood in my phlegm cos i've been coughing too hard and too much. not cough out blood else i've to go hosp if thats the case.

hi darlie,
thanks for the offer, i just got the ht brown rice cereal n oatmeal, hope my dd can adjust to this

i was told that eb stock will come in end july.
btw, any mummies can share when n how much they serve their bb yogurt? i bought yogplait but dunno if its suitable for 9mths old bb, though e box says 6mths n abv..

and i m trying to find out when i can intro bread n which brand is better? wholemeal? my dd no teeth yet, so afraid she cant chew/ swallow properly, but i also dun wanna give her cereal every morning leh, think she might get sian soon. haha.

i bought dried scallops too but still abit hestitant if i should add into her porridge for favour coz dried stuff not too gd? but i thought its very widely used..

paiseh, so many qs..

darlie, take care of yourself!

darlie n char, take care! go buy some bird's nest to pu pu urself! hehe..

screaming not good har? aiyo, my elder twin loves to scream leh.. will try to distract him. these few days my boys very cute, when they see each other, they act as if they hv not seen each other for yrs, will sort of try to hug and kiss and dance together! haha.. but as they still can't balance very well, very cartoon lor!

eva, I once ask a doc, he advise me to put off yogurt till after 1 yr leh.. for my ger, i never let her try till she's almost 1.5 yrs old! bread wise, i started since they were 6 mth old.. think any bread is fine ba, as long as it is plain? I give them white bread, whole meal bread.. etc.. end up i always say they got mian bao lian! haha... cos 2 out of 3 of my kids has got square face! haha.. result of too much bread!?! haha..

aiyoh... yk ar... shape of face is genetic lah... where got eat too much bread then got mian bao lian wan... my boy ar... everyday have to eat bread wan... then past 2 months he practically survive on bread lor since he rejected rice and porridge... so much so dat everyone called him roti kia loh... but then he dun have square face leh... he got gua zi lian... hee...

hi yk & xw, your bb has teeth to chew when they first started on bread? haha mine none yet lor. i wanted to get wholemeal but ingredients include some kind of wheat n gluten too, ok for them?

any comments on e dried scallop thing? if not how do u add favour to porridge? stock?
is it recommended to have 2 porridge meals daily? bec elderly always say must eat porridge but my bb only 9mths.. can share your experiences?

YK
i gave bb yogurt after my son turned 6 months then switch to kid's yogurt after 1 year. my boy loves it. why put off till after 1 year?

eva
for my son, i gave one meal cereal and one meal porridge initially.

for the dried scallop some pple find it quite salty. u can make stock also. i do this vege stock ( a bit modified) that's very easy and can keep in the fridge. i usually keep for abt 3 days.

1 celery stick,
1 leek
2 carrots
1 onion
1 garlic
850ml water

all chop into big pieces

sautee garlic and onion in olive oil. then add in the vege and let it brown for abt 5 min. then add in the water and bring to a boil. then simmer for 1 hour. can add some peppercorns as well.

darlie/char, take care wor! mummies sick nobody take care of little ones. eat cordycep to por lungs!!

zion, CD is clear of HFMD liao, think is an isolated case. but theirs is either half day or full day, got 2hrs prog? i'm not too sure, maybe u can pop by see look.

re: bread, my boy loves it, have been taking bread since he started solids and eats it everyday. maybe thats why during pregnancy, i love bread so much, aiyo put on sooooo much wt!!!

eva, 9mo can eat more porridge ah. chiak liao pui pui!!! 2 times daily okay bah. if u find it mafan just cook more & keep warm and eat over 2 meals lor. personally, we started feeding the terrors at 6mo liao. but up to individual lah, u suka can already :)

add flavor use veges for lighter taste like SY's. more flavor add meat, beef smells very good, and babies love eating beef-flavored porridge. fish a little tricky cos some babies dun like the fishy smell / taste. depends on how u want to cook it, with the porridge or as stock first.

eva, my boy never took cereal, he doesnt like it, so PD said is ok to progress to porridge immediately, anything is fine, boil with meat or stock or ikan bilis or silver fish, onions, potatos, carrots, pumpkin. Normally i'll strain out ikan bilis and silver fish b4 putting in the rice. scallops? i didnt give that to him that young though, only when he got abit older. in my opinion still a seafood right? then u can add veg into it to get the nutrients balance

can wash and dry the rice and grind it to powder. Or soak the rice for awhile b4 u cook. Or use a slow cooker so is smooth and easy for starters. whichever way u find it convenient.

heee, today bo voice, this morning said good morning to the terrors, nothing came out but squeaks, then they stared at me. har har! must be wondering how come mommy today so si wen....
1509025.gif

wow, thanks mummies!!!
usu i use veg stock now for the porridge, i make stock supply for abt 1 wk. i add carrots, corn, celery, potato. can i use those yellow onions instead of white ones?
what abt wholemeal bread? what brand is well liked by your bb?

i didnt know that so many of u r online at this time, is there like a "gathering" time here ? :p

eva,
my boy doesnt have teeth yet when he started having bread... we gave him only white bread then... its ok to give ur bb white bread now cos she can use her saliva to dissolve the bread... the white part only not the skin... hee... i cant remember if my boy has teeth liao he we gave him whole meal bread tho... think u can try if i dare... but need to check the stools for any undigested bits...

my mil put dried scallop into my boy's porridge since he started eating porridge... for flavouring of cos... she put everything into the slow cooker and let it cook lor... by the time its ready, the dried scallops are already soft and streaded...

i think my boy started on porridge when he was 6 mths... juz cook longer and mushier lor... then more grainy as she grows up lor...

seems like most of your babies are very eaters! such a wide variety of good food

i give my bb rice cereal in the morning, noon is fruit puree( maybe half apple, too little?) and porridge in the evening. her total milk intake around 500-600 ml daily. dunno if she can eat more or not, maybe i will increase her amt, since she is 9mths.. ha

oh yah, speaking of ikan billis, my helper will pengang in the oven until crispy then blend into powder. sometimes add as 'topping' for the porridge, yum yum

eva, if urs not crying due to hunger shd be okay lah. can't underfeed / overfeed. at 9mo she shd be able to indicate if she's hungry right? like mum-mum or point to food? conversely, if she's full, she'll push away the food offered to her.

darlie,
wah... ur helper put inside oven wan ar??? will not chao da meh??? my mil stir in the wok leh... once she wants me to stir... wah... stir for so long... stir till my arm ache leh... dunno how she stir wan... think its my bil who stir... hee...

SY, I dunno y the doc says that.. anyway,my ger has a slightly senstive stomach, so i dun really dare to let her try yogurt till she is much older..

my twins are now taking 1 cereal meal and 1 rice meal, they dun really like porridge (same as my ger), so we started them on rice a few mths ago.. at first it started with just a few grains of white rice.. now is a few spoonful, with soup and once in a while carrots or vege..

for scallop, i ever gave to my ger in her porridge.. but she dun like porridge, end up i eat! haha.. but personally i feel that it is better not to try too much food (esp seafood), before they reach 1 yr old..

As for roti face, haha.. ya lah, my hubby family all got that, but i just like to joke that my kids got roti face due to too much bread! haha.. my boys no teeth yet, but they seem to be able to take the bread quite well, just make sure u dun give them too big pc lor..

eva comparing ur gal's appetite to my boy at same age, he must be a food monster. he takes bread and cheese for breakfast, porridge and fruits for lunch and dinner, and 800-1000mls of milk. hehe but maybe he's a boy lah, or BM is not so filling?

zion, dun on such high heat buay chao da, slowly slowly peng lor, on lower heat. that's why when she peng, she'll make a big batch to last a while :)

juxta, all our kids do seem like tiam chiak babies compared to eva's! kekekekekeke

my dd excited when she sees food coming n then finish it but never "complain" when e bowl is empty leh so i assume she has enough.. ha or maybe i should try to give her some more n see how

all your bb are boyboy here? such good appetite!

yalor darlie, all eat and eat. agree with SY, they get fussy, and proportionately seems to eat lesser as they grow bigger. thats why under 1yo all got "pau" face and michelin arms and legs, so cute!

SY, is it?! my twins dun seem to like food that much leh.. somehow i find that they are eating much lesser than wat my ger used to eat at their age.. but they are much bigger size and drinks more milk..

eva, agree, maybe u shld try to give her slightly more.. how i wish my boys can eat more too! haha.. oh, but i dun want them to be too pui! baba can liao..haha.. contradicting..

my 8 months old baby also have one meal of porriage and one meal of cereal. She seems tp like both. So far for porriage we added dried scallops, veggie, meat, fish, powered ikan bilis.

am going to try tofu and maybe pumpkin soon

i also let her eat tiny ting bits of bread. just the normal white or wholemeal bread from supermart.

my girl haven tasted much fruits leh. i feel like letting her try banana but MIL dun allow.

aiyoh... yk, dun worry lah... ur boys not 1yo yet right? they will eat better when they grow up...

i see the dec06 thread ar... it seems like the more fussy eaters when younger tend to eat better when they grow up and vice versa lor... my boy oso... was a much better eater b4 1yo... can eat 1 big bowl of porridge in the most 10 mins... now ar... must faster feed in 5 mins... if not, after dat dun wanna eat means dun wanna eat... some more still have to distract him then will eat... n sometimes end up only eat half a bowl or less lor... haiz... kids nowadays...

dried scallops too much no good ah? I think my MIL add everyday... cos i been topping up the scallops very often. maybe I will ask her to add on alternate days instead

yami
can give those malaysian bananas. bananas is one of those low chance of allergy fruits i think.

my boy tried apples, kiwis etc when young..

YK
yeah if they drink milk, it's also good. my boy never like to drink milk...

re scallops
i think no need to add scallops everyday. quite salty i feel. the fisrt time i use scallops, i tasted and felt it was really salty. another alt i do is to boil yellow beans with ikan billis and use the soup to boil porridge

heee, yah, our babies very ho mia, eat all the expensive stuff. kekekekeke. now they also love bread, whatever type also good, as long can eat, they very happy already. so adorable

finally back again...bz lately and tired also...my gal was admitted to hospital last week.....
so sim tiah to see her on drip......
Anyway, she is ok now and monitoring her.....also aiyo my gal kept falling down and bump her head left, right, front n back also kana....fall so hard some more
....sigh sigh

btw how's everyone? Oh ya, wanna chk if any1 has the flip to read cards free from buying gain IQ or similac....any spare to give or sell? wanna collect all them bt my gal not on similac leh....any kind soul hv spare to let go?

pls sms me at 93372352 eh....thks

darlie
you bo voice ah go Eu Yan San and buy Loquat Compount with Cordyceps my mum took oredi next day ok liao $9 per bottle.

pinkie
your baby got cradle cap ah go Guardian Pharmacy and buy Dentinox Cradle Cap Treatment Shampoo very good my baby got it so PD recommend because 4-5M liao still alot. The shampoo very good after using it less than a week all clear liao. It will affect baby up to 1yo if not treated.

Hi darlie,

thks for ur concern...Chloe has recovered liao...back to her super hyper self ;)...bt still must monitor her....btw still pending for her results from the lab

re scallops, my gal's PD adviced to wait til 1yo then intro any seafood (and honey, nuts, chocolate, even egg yolk jus in case) cos of allergy. so b4 my gal turned 1yo, i added garlic, onions and meat or ikan bilis to enhance the flavour of porridge. actually my gal only enjoyed eating porridge when she was abt 9mo. b4 that she didnt like to eat cereal or porridge but prefered to drink only milk. now leh, like zion's boy, my gal doesnt eat much compared to when she was 1yo.

re bread, bbs can chew using their gums even if they have no teeth. my gal liked eating bread when she was younger.

yami
not on leave yet. only starting next week. initally wanted to wait till last min but buay tahan work liao.

darlie
i agree! the kids nowadays really good life. when my bro first saw the my son's porridge put scallops, he was like 'wow nowadays they eat all the good stuff'

char
hee my boy ate very plain stuff one. then when i started to intro more flavor, i found that he will reject some flavorful food.

babies have taste buds 4 times more senstivie than ours.

emoments
thanks a lot!!

anyone takes propolis candy? that time i bought this brand called super bee for hb and he really likes it. then quite hard to find so i plan to order direct from them in Australia. it's cheaper even with freight but must buy more to get economies of scale. anyone interested? he tried a lot before and he says this one really good.

wah... sy, liddat good leh... healthy wor... my boy ar... aiyoh... sometimes i find the food he eats too salty liao... his porridge ar... din put marmite he dun eat hor... to think i like lighter stuff... so worried abt his eating habits wor...

u say scallop is good stuff liao then my boy must be a little prince liao wor... my in laws must sure he has a bottle of bird nest everyday... faintz~~~

juxta,
oh ya... wanna ask u something but forum down yest... y u decided to put sean in CD instead of the NTUC childcare which is much more nearer to ur house?

XW, WAH birds nest? HOW old is your boy?
can share his diet on an average day?

i just gave bb yogurt yogplait today n she likes it, it is vanilla favour. so she had 180ml milk, 2tbsp brown rice cereal n yogurt for breakfast, is it too much? hope she wont feel too bloated later.

mummies, can share your precious daily intake of food? agar agar.. n maybe whats their age. thanks.

looks cloudy...

XW
hee but now that he is older and more exposed to outside food, sometimes hard to control his eating habits. but since he is older, i m also less restrictive. he likes fried stuff now..haha...but as long as we dun eat it, he won't eat

bird nest?? wah....i heard that it can cause allergies in some pple..... is bird nest really that nutritious?

SY
Have a smooth delivery!

nuahcouple
What happen to Chloe y still need to wait for results from lab?

XW
Thought we cannot add salt to porridge for babies only natural flavours from food?

eva
i used to keep a diary of how much milk etc my boy takes. let me dig it out...if my hb hasn't thrown it away...

maybe u want to spread out what she eats? like give the yogurt abt an hour later as a snack instead of with the rest of the breakfast together if u scared she bloated? i used to give my boy milk, then snack then lunch then snack and then dinner.

eva,
my boy 18mths now... act i oso not very sure of his daily food intake... think its something like this:

breakfast: 180ml milk, some bread / cereal / cheese / cake
lunch: half a bowl of porridge with half a bowl of soup (supplement with 120ml of milk if he din eat much...)
dinner: same as lunch with a pc of fruit
supper: a bottle of bird nest then 180ml of mlk b4 sleep

he will have some snack in btw and we make sure he has at least 120ml of water in btw as well...

sy,
i dunno wor... i almost quarrel with them for giving him everyday cos very ex wor... then my mil so its ok to give then i close one eye lor...

newmummy,
my boy's porridge no salt... but ikan bilis powder and marmite... oh... and scallop oso... i even make sure there is no soy sauce and other seasoning in his porridge...

zion.. marmite and brovil got tons of MSG.. at first i dunno.. after i found out.. i stopped it totally.. lucky never give her much..

in fact soy sauce little bit it even better den marmite/ brovil..

hi sy,
ya lor, i thought of spreading it out too but my bb nap quite a lot, morning 2hrs n afternoon 2 hrs n evening maybe another 45mins.
for eg, she wakes up ard 7.15am, milk at 7.30am, can play a while n cereal at ard 8.45am n she will wanna zzz around 9.30-9.45am, so no time for the "interval" b4 yogurt leh haha.

xw
check the ingredient list for marmite and brovil. i think marmite may not have msg but it may have other seasoning. my parents ever wanted to put brovil and i stop them. cos got MSG.

wow your boy really good life. every night got bird nest for supper.... hmm, i think every think take in moderation. take everyday doesn't seem qutie right...

new mummy