Mummies in Pasir Ris

charmaine
ya loh..
me oso seldom take plane...haiz...and so long no go holiday liao...si beh cham...

sheris
we hug and cry together lah

sheris & dsii,
dun cry leh. ok la ok la, bao bao u both....

darlie,
is it?! who knows we were there at the same time. ya, it was my 1st nite there too. cos i remember the next day we went to hualian. was told by the people there that it was a mild one.

:) yah, the whole bed was shaking and i tot my hubby was turning in his sleep but he was sleeping so soundly so my 2nd tot was got unclean thing in the room! just closed eyes tightly and went back to sleep. so cartoon! only realised it was an earthquake the next morning.... cheh....

was so bloody cold when i went and din bring enough warm clothes and was still wearing open-toed sandals! almost froze to death by S'pore standards!

gd morning mummies

icy/darlie
the pull up pants out of stock so im checking with the staff when will the new stocks here then i place order ok? just called them but no one answer...will try later...paiseh ah

darile
pocket big hole liao still come and tempteed me w toys....

dsii
i bring tissue by the boxes on wed then we can hug n cry hehehehe

cant make it for the meet up session on 19th, gotta work.
have fun!

Juxta,
if you need more info on HK, pm me.
i am actually working in HK now.
anyway, have been living in HK for 12 years liao.

Tour: Going to Phuket with hb n bb next week.

Promootion: Nepia is on sale in NTUC till 12 mar.
$23.95 for 2.
it's cheaper then Goon, i think.

darlie,
ur work place at raffles place ar?

anyone of u have preloved toys for above 1yo dun wan liao can give me? dun wanna buy new toys cos my boy ends up destroying them... such a waste of money... so must confirm dun wan liao then gimme hor... thnx a trillion...

zion

ur boi so destructive ah? muz teach him to treasure toys otherwise like my boi nw... destory liao say mummy buy again headache....

sheris,
aiyoh... teach him he oso wun listen wan lah... he at the stage of exploring things mah... and testing those cause and effect thingy lor... everytime he throws something i will definitely scold him wan... tell him cannot throw if not hit himself or other will pain pain wan... but he smile at me lor... i even try to make him understand wat is hit will pain... then he run to yeye complain i beat him... aiyoh... how to teach him liddat... got once he even throw his toy at his yeye lor... then smile at him when he "say" him... dun even bear to scold... how he learn liddat?!?! haha... if next time he destroy liao ask me to buy i say u destroy means u dun wan mah still wanna buy ar... dun wan then dun buy lor... will scold anyone who buys...

hi zion, busy lately? haven't see u ard the forum :p

yah, am working at RP, u too? can do lunch sometimes and trade stories about our destructive offspring

am now buying lots of BN and preloved toys too. my gal hasn't destroyed anything yet, *gulp* but the way she plays with her toys makes you wince sometimes cos she'll bang and bang really hard.... it's a wonder she hasn't broken any of her rented items.

i have an extra set of playskool bedbugs toy for hammering, u interested? can pass it to ethan. someone just gave it to me but i actually bought a preloved set a couple months ago liao.
1285705.jpg

haha... problem when kids got backing... mine also everythg say them they say ask ah gong ah ma daddy beat me faint....

darlie,
u same as my hb, thot ghost in the room.

wont be buying toys for my gal & agree with my hb, wait buy alrdy she'll play with it only for a while then dun wan liao. will come & disturb my comp. but i was thinking of getting her a box of lego to play cos when we went to ex neighbour's house, she was bz playing with the kids' lego set, actually jus bz licking & biting lah but at least she was sitting quietly for some time lor.

mbb2,
if got chance to got HKG again can find u for more info. went there once & found nothing interesting leh. maybe went to the wrong plc. enjoy your phuket trip.

zion,
your boy remind me of my gal, she'll smile when we caught her doing something she's not supposed to do & then continue to do. scold her oso she smile. faint! guess she still dun understand.

:) charmaine, my gal oso like that. she knows she's not supposed to but she very "tee kee" lor. die die oso must. the more u say no, the more she'll do. hiaz. that's why she's the one who's always being punished :)

she picks up things very fast, teach her once and she can remember and mimic. maybe that's why she's so stubborn, wants to show that she can do it.

darlie,
ya lor... very bz... can only access to PC at work mah... no PC at hm... then nowadays so bz... bz with work and shifting... our office shifting to downstairs... so stupid right? downstairs oso wanna shift... so troublesome...

ya, i work at RP oso... hee... along telok ayer st the shophouses... ya, can lunch together and trade stories... hee...

dats y i dun dare to rent toys for him... had broke quite a number dat we bot for him liao...

the toy looks very big... how big izzit? i dun mind if u wanna gimme... but i can forsee it being destroyed 2 mths later... hee...

charmaine,
mb ur gal still young dun understand... my boy he understands wan... purposely do and let me scold... he finds it funny mah... then i beat him liao he go complain... faintz...

darlie,
sounds like your gal is very intelligent. so she's gonna be more of a handful. and like they say, intelligent kids get bored very easily so gotta keep teaching them more interesting things, headache man.

zion,
your boy sounds cute leh, can go complain wan. he he!

har har har! terrible hor! sometimes i feel like i surrending to her just to keep her quiet.... but buay sai!! sure climb over my head if i ever to that. ren ren ren!

zion,
the toy is actually quite small only, maybe 20cm by 10cm. quite hardy lor, just let ethan try smashing it to bits lah! i haven't taken out the one i bought for the terrors to play yet. they'll prob just try to shove it into the mouths first! erm, what about plastic stuff at home? those plastic also quite hardy, maybe can entertain him for a while?

charmaine,
he knows how to complain when he was like 5-6mths liao lor... tell u how he complain... he sees his yeye liao will open arms big big ask to be carried... then he will give yeye sad sad face then look at me... then when yeye ask him mama beat u ar, he look at yeye and smile lor... omg... now even funnier... he will walk wobbly to yeye, point at me and mumble funny language with a sad sad face... then same thing yeye ask him mama beat ar then he smile lor... but then the funny thing is he only complain to yeye...

charmaine,
*snort* i think she's here just to torture poor mummy lor. have been cracking my head on discipline issues. borrowed a handful of such books from library but no time to read yet, hiak hiak. i just use the simplest method of ignoring her.

can u imagine, she sees my father snapping his fingers and she tries to mimic. so she learn & practise lor, she can actually snap using thumb and third finger but no sound of course lah. see already can faint lor, wonder how she learn so fast.

icy/darlie
the pull up pants will eb in next tues(according to the staff)..so can i place ur order next week then???

darlie,
wat plastic stuff u toking abt? i doubt anything can keep him entertained... his attention span only 5secs nia... then he will start walking ard or looking for ppl to play with him...

dsii/ juxta
the penalty for quiting a live mahjong session is wat ah? i wking half way hb come in so quit the game keke... die liao nw keep thinking of play game...

zion,
plastic items like bowls, cup covers, spoons (provided he doesn't stick into his mouth lah - mine does so no-no for them), even basins. the other day i just cleaned up a plastic basin and let them play with it, so they had a good time just banging on it to make noise, and also used other things to hit on it too. kept them entertained for 20 mins
, wah!!!

i rotate their toys so they dun feel so bored looking at the same ones everyday. and i make sure i leave each baby a cloth book in each cot. i have no time to read to them so at least they can pick up to flip when they have nothing else to do! my boy likes to flip the pages of a big cloth book and amuse himself with the mirror inside. quite cute to see him giggling and making funny faces. if we leave them alone in the cots with various toys, they can keep themselves occupied for 30 mins each time leh, which is not bad!

darlie,
my boy does play with those plastic basins and pails.. but the noise he makes is enuff to rock the whole bldg... he wun play with anything w/o making any noise lor... but its really very noisy lah... he will make noises with the basins and pails for max 5mins if i dun attempt to keep them lor... if not, once i keep only he throws them ard again... haiz...

re toys, he doesnt even look at anything dat doesnt make noise... basically he plays noisy lah... but funny thing is these few days he seemed to be glued to balls... keep pestering ppl to play ball with him... hee... walk oso cannot walk properly wanna run ard with the ball... but he looks very cartoon liddat... hee...

:) yah, sometimes i oso can't stand the noise they make but bo bian.... at this age dun think they can play quietly, har har har!

mommies, what toys did your darlings play with at the 1yo stage?

zion,
your boy 2mths younger than my gal & already he can express feelings liao & such an actor. u can start to enroll him in drama classes...haha! but for him to start expressing feelings at 5-6mths is really amazing leh.

my gal also bangs on things. bbs this age likes to listen to diff sounds that is produced by diff things. she likes to drop watever we give her while she's sitting in her hi chair.

speaking of giving plastic stuff to play, my gal always likes to put things in her even bowls & plastic containers. i'm beginning to wonder if its normal for her to do that at this age. she basically puts anything into her mouth. duno how much dust she has swallowed liao. once she licked a rubber door stopper whc was sooo dusty. OMG, i almost fainted when i saw wat she was doing.

sheris,
if my hb willing to go to taka with me, will check out the price of a lego set at the toy fair. if buy one box hopefully she'll play with it for long otherwise hb surely nag at me & say "see, buy & she play for a while nia".

charmaine/sheris,
we oso got a preloved lego set for my boy... then the only thing he does is to pour everything out, throw (and i really mean throw) everything in and pour out again... the cycle goes on and on until he gets bored or we get irritated by the noise and keep the whole box away... usually we r the ones who get irritated 1st... hee...

charmaine,
ya lor... i always say he is very clever wan lor... mb too clever for his mummy liao... poor mummy always kena bully... hee...

its normal lah... my boy oso likes to put anything and everything into his mouth... think shld be teething bah...

har har charmaine, ur gal very cartoon!

can also consider buying mega bloks too leh. got different themes and more suitable for 1+ toddlers. cheaper too. the other day i bought an Ariel set for $15 at carrefour promo..... lugged all the way home cos it was a big box :)

eh darlie,
i was jus thinking.... bcos kids dun really understand certain things so we can try certain methods to help them to understand. Eg: my gal kept opening cabinet doors even tho i kept telling her no (and she can even wave her finger to signal no). so i decided to tell her to close the door instead cos she understands the word close. and she actually closes it and i praise her for doing so and she feels happy.

in fact i learnt something from a UK documentary about kids. this mum kept telling her gal to dun spill water from the cup but her gal kept doing it. so the child counsellor taught her to say to the child "the water stays in the cup" & the gal actually understood it that way. not sure if i'm making any sense to u all.

Charmaine,
Yeap, I used to follow Hb ard the countries. Then I got pregnant in Japan and had to come back to deliver. HB still over there, but coming back end of this mth and will be stationed in Sg for good.

dsii,
Diaper side no problem, I can wait. :D

RE: Taka Sale
I just went Taka this morning. They had 2 booth for Avent and Pigeon, having ard 20% disct - but some stuff like wipes already disct at $10.10. Diaper only huggies. Lots of strollers, Fisherprice, tomy and disney price.

charmaine, yah lor, i also try not to be negative or use negative words on the gal. so sometimes use reverse psychology instead. too many times of saying no will fall on deaf ears anyways :p but sometimes forget so the first word that comes out is no lor!! har har har!!

went to the toysrus outlet at tampines just now, wah, so messy lor! and the blur cashier forgot to pack 2 items for me and blur me also forgot to check. sian, gotta go and collect again.

Charmaine
It's true about saying the reverse and avoid using the negative. I got nieces who tell me that also and it works. For eg, if you do not want them to run, just tell them to walk carefully or slowly. But sometimes too angry I also forget and will say...No this, no that.

Icy, I've plans to go japan in mid July, hokkaido and tokyo, was told that weather in hokkaido will be nice but tokyo is hot. Can advise on the weather there?

I gave up buying toys for my gal, she always plays for a while and then it will be left in cold storage, esp now that she's 6, I'll ask her to buy story books or even now assessment books but she'll insist i sit with her everytime she doing her workbook, sianz

icy,
iits good tht your hb coming back for good. btw, who helps u to look after bb? btw, did u see any lego set at taka?

true true, when angry or just not thinking, the natural reflex is to say no.

any mums bought playdough for your kids to play? was oso thinking of buying that too.

charmaine
for the buliding blocks dun nid to specific look for lego... got other brands too.... then for play dough dun really recommend coz my kids's carpet got ruined by the playdough... they play play play then soome drop on the carpet... n they step tt's it cant remove liao stained for life.... so now the play dough still sitting there can see cant touch... later mummy scold

wah this thread really moving FAST, hehe took a while to scroll through.

dsii/sheris, halfway terminate the game will lose level ah? that day i kena disconnected cos the server very unstable leh, i havent got chance to go play again. yalor, we should plan and meet there and play, hahah. so fun!

mbb2, you be in hk till when? i'm trying to look for a hotel nearby nathan and train station thats decent but not too hard on the pocket. hehe want good,want cheap. abit hard to book 4 rooms, is an extended family trip. you been staying there so long ah? ur a hongkonger? well we'll be in macau first to "view" venetian then go over to hk, 1 day at disney for the boy, so not much time left, what do u think are the worth to see? e last time i've been there was long time back.

sheris, i also never had honeymoon, was too busy with work, was planning for trip when i got preg, got bombarded left right for even thinking of going. sighs, so in e end, we gave up the idea.

just been back from t3, nice place for kids to run around, and plenty of restaurants and shops there to see look

charmaine, i like to entertain my boy with playdough, 1 thing that can keep him interested for quite a while. just have to close 1 eye about dropping bits on the floor and reminding constantly not to put inside the mouth!

hey, i agree with the saying positive things to kids which i know is hard lah, when ur anger builds up, the reflex says no. My fren is a teacher says, always tell them for eg. 'Walk', instead of 'dun run'. cos they'll tend to hear the last word 'run' and then start to run. hahah. And instead of telling them not to put things in e mouth, ask them 'can u put this in the mouth?', it really seems to work better.

pressuredkid
Yes, for mid july, the weather is something like SG. I think August the hotest, the weather there is dryer so get suntan easily and feel much hotter.. like it burn into ur skin.

Charmaine
My mil is a housewife, so she is helping me with BB. I wont be working for the time being, feel that it is impt for me to be with BB now.

I did not see any lego set, only fisherprice, disney, leapfong and tomy toys.

sheris,
was thinking of either lego or bldg blocks. c how lah. there's no carpet in my home so not too bad, guess jus have to pick the bits up after play & like juxta, keep reminding her not to put it into her mouth but also see how lah. jus yesterday i've been teaching my gal to stack 2-3 bowls of different sizes, supposed to help in her motor skills but she jus play for a while then got disinterested.

juxta,
thnx for sharing wat your teacher fren said. will try the "can u put this in the mouth" part, wonder if my gal wil understand....

icy,
good to know that u got help frm your mil otherwise very tough to take care of bb by yourself. and it's good to spend more time with bb.
i'd miss my gal if i have to work again one day.

to the mummies with older kids,
wat do 2yr olds like to play with? i'm having a party for my gal's 1st bday and most of my fren's kids are about 2yrs+. was thinking of wat to get them for their goodie bags.

Its very loh soh on our part, have to keep repeating and explaining instead of taking the easy way out of just saying 'no'. haha but is easier said then done cos when i'm frustrated and exasperated, NO comes out so easily!!!hahah