Mummies in Pasir Ris

HELO!! I MISS U ALL LEH!!!

WHEN IS THE FRIDAY SESSION??

me damn stressed and busy at work

anyway nobody miss me.. me thick-skinned one.. haha

ziying, welcome.. some of us are sending our kids to Carpe Diem Childcare, playgrp not too sure leh.

ladies, i got a question to ask. Do any of u kn if self employed mum is eligible to claim for working mum subsidies or not (for cc school fees)? If yes, then wat kind of documents must the self employed mum produce?

hi YK and lbs,
thks for the welcome.

lbs,
my kid is 2 now. Will be 3 next yr.

haven't really do any "research" on playgroup, hence thinking of coming to forum to ask for recommendation :p

regarding the Carpe Diem that YK mentioned, it is located at Pasir Ris rite? How is fee like? duration?
when do we need to do registration?

I heard of a monetssori type one.. think at Elias Mall...
is it good?

so paiseh to have so many questions...

hi ziying,
welcome!!!

me send my boy to sherwinn playgroup in PR East CC... 2 hrs type... carpe diem is child care... full or half day...

got la kopi seesion remember to jio me ar...

ziying,
welcome to the thread. my gal is also 2yo but me staying at toa payoh, also considering to register my gal for pre-nursery next yr at TPY. i was staying at PR b4 thats how i got to know the mummies here.

nana,
got miss u lah. i'll be going back to TPY tmrw night leh, so dun think can join the fri session if have.

ziying
like what zion said CD is a child care. If you looking at playgroup - those 2 hrs type, there are some church based ones, which are not bad.

Char
If tomorrow can lunch, buzz me leh..I can after 1130am hor..

ziying, u can go visit the center, most of us sign up our kids there due to the director.. fees, think shld be ard 300 plus after working mum subsidy? nana, sincerity, juxta and myself put our kids there..

here's the link http://www.carpediem.com.sg/index.php?conpg=centres&ctr=16

go arrange for a visit, i'm sure the director will answer all ur questions. u can sign up ur child at any time, i think.

think better go view a few of the centers with ur child, see how she/he react to the place. most impt must she/he feel comfortable with it right?

me now considering the play grp at blk 207 for my twins as it is very convenient for me, been there once, find it a bit smelly as the toilet is so close to the class room

ibs.. talking abt church one.. wow that one opp Loyang pt seem to be very hot.. the other time i called, they only left 1 slot!

hmm.. maybe i can check that up too..

yk.the church one like a bit ex leh...my fren told me 600+ per term...then u hv 2 boys...1200+ per term? can use CDA?

YK
yea..tat one super hot de...if I am not putting the kids at CC, had even consider that..another one which is good is where mbb put Meg but location a little bit off for you.

me need convenience and cheap.. actually i also dunno abt the rates for playgrp, is it ard 100plus per mth? that's y seriously considering the 207 one..

anyway, still taking my own sweet time to decide, cos no $$ leh, maybe wait till next yr..

i think talentplus is abt 130+ per mth...

if playgroup is abt 1630-150 per mth bah...unless u toking abt montessori de...then ex loh

thanks dsii, how abt urs? how much u paying? me still considering leh.. 2 very siong on my pockets. so now pushing my maid to teach my boys! haha.. was so happy when they count 1 - 10 and tell me all the colours correctly.. at 1.5 to 2 yrs, wat else shld they kn already?

welcome ziying!

errr, discussing CC now ah?
i also haven't decided

dsii,
where is talentplus?

yk,
i also tot of 207 heh heh heh, haven't been to check it out. so far only Nissi at HDB, environ seems good. it's a CC though

also need to go to sherwinn to take a look

yk
im paying $450 per term..and im feeling the pinch...hahaha, si beh niao hor?

bao
talentplus ah? like zion mentioned nearest to u maybe is the one at pasir ris east CC...the polyclinic tat side loh...

198 near my place, the one near to white sands primary de. trying to avoid those located under HDB flats! some rooms kena partitioned off so can hear what's going on 'next door' :p

ooooo childcare.. my 2.7 yrs old daughter is in Character Montessori. Fees damn ex. We're making use of the CDA Fund to pay half of it. I brought her to try the NTUC for half a day but she didn't like it. Went to CM and she liked it, so no choice. We did go to Carpe Diem twice.. to see the director. Both times she's not in. So we didn't enrol her there.

I would love to join in the friday session. Let me know when you all are meeting up.

thks for the welcome and replies

din expect to have so many replies so soon..heee...

hi YK,
if arrange to visit the centre, must it be on weekdays?
Tot u were saying u signed up ur kid @ carpediem? Still need to look for playgroup (@ Blk 207) ?

After reading the post and do a quick web search...Now then I realised there are so many childcare centres and playgroup in pasir ris..:p

Ziying, 1 hv 1 gal at 3.5, she's currently at Carpe Diem. I also hv a pair of twins, coming 2 this yr.. so now still considering where to send them! hehe.. Oh go cc to see, sat also can but they will encourage u to go on weekday as u can see the classes being conducted. My first viewing to CD was on Sat too(didn't make appt). But pls make appt with them before hand, cos I cldn't meet the director during my first visit too as she is not ard, but the teacher showed me ard and try her best to answer my questions. Then I went down on a weekday again to ask more questions and eventually sign up with the director.

Dsii, 207 is Talant plus right? $450 per term? That's 150 per mth? Not niao lah.. better than me, not even want to start paying yet! haha..

How abt the community center? I thought I saw some banners or poster on some class/playgr there?

Fri gathering, haha.. who wants to be the organiser??!!

Re: Friday gathering
wait for the chief organiser loh..haha.. if there is one, hope I can join sia..very sian liao, been single parent almost every night...

YK : just curious.. since G is in CD.. tot naturally ur 2 twins will go into CD too? no? for me my #2 will naturally go into CD lor.. hahaha

and oh! welcome reyals and ziying! sorry for the late welcome.. me last few days just post and MIA liaoz.. haha

Yes, me want another option, lbs so clever.. CD is too inconvenient for me, but since G is doing well there, me bu she de to move her else where.. but for my twins, as me paying for 2 at 1 time, so need to be cheap.. and I'm still thinking abt hving 1 maid or 2 maid by then.. but no matter wat, definitely 1 person sending the twins to sch, so the nearer the better, dun want to risk them running all over the place or across the road, so 207 one looks the best..

har noh, send twins to playgroup/CC quite siong sia... i'll prob have to get the old folks to walk them to/fro school so also need somewhere nearby only... and cheap on the pocket too, hehehehe

yk,
community centre there is sherwinn playgroup... ethan is there for class... $135 per month, excluding uniform and misc fees... mil thinking of sending him elsewhere liao... anyone knows how is the pcf kindergarten at 425 or 435? forgot which blk liao... juz opp my house... shld be the blk opp 433 coffee shop...

Zion, thanks for the info. pcf, i think i got a friend's gal there.. she said quite ok lor, but dun expect too much.

just to ask, play gr is whole yr round one right? and can sign up anytime one right? or jun and dec also hv sch hols and can only start in Jan?

bao, me very envy u, got ur parents to help out.. sigh sigh..

yk,
other playgrp i dunno lah... but sherwinn the one ethan goes to is whole yr rd wan... can join anytime start of the month... jun and dec 1st 2 weeks got class... mar and sep 1 week hol...

talking abt playgroup/childcare centre hor.... there's another playground at blk 104 (Judes childcare centre)... my girl was previously in playground session... only this yr converted her to full day... although i noe not much good review abt this centre...since my girl is comfortable with the school & she's so used to the environment there, the teachers also very attentive to her & always report to me every single little things... hahaha... she can sing whole songs, alphabets & 1-20 now...since she's doing good in this centre i also bu she de to change her to another school..

woah, today's topic is about school. me also thinking of enrolling L to one nearby whc is called appletree but that one dun have kindergarten so have to switch school when she nears that level. some ppl say better to find a school that has kindergarten so no need to switch school for L else she needs to adapt to a new environment. see how lah.

lbs/sincerity,
thnx for coming to elias mall to meet up for lunch. nice to see u both again.

dsii,
elias mall selling lychee but $11/basket. quite ex wor.

Charmaine,
Nice meeting you & L too. Did you proceed to visit Juxta & baby A : )? You're right. It's better to stay put at the same centre, familiar evironment, friends during their pre school years. But, no harm having her on trial period. You also need to consider of the distance travelled, if you're planning to have no.2

Lbs,
Thanks for letting me tag along : )

Zion,
Blk 198 is Tots House, my elder child was there for nursery : )However, when K1 onwards have to shift to Blk 5xx. I didn't let him continue cos of the journey plus my health state back then.

Welcome Ziying,
My gals are attending nursery 2 @ CD too. Same class with YK dd. I've another gf, think she MIA : ) elder child same class with Juxta's child and younger child same class th my gals. Another pr mummy who have not registered yet but child is attending same class with them too. Small world, right?

YK,
You need to be placed on long waiting list for that hot spot. You can ask on Club kangaroo too : )

Club Kangaroo? Where's that? Tote i remember nana mentioned abt it some time back?

Ok, think i better forget abt the hot spot.

Wow, so nice can meet for lunch.. me dreaming abt being a tai tai.. no need to work, everyday hi-tea, go home still got maid to keep my house clean and cook! haha.. dreaming...

Oh, Jocelyn, yaya.. i remembered u talk abt Judes too, actually i hv been there to ask abt the fees too.. and the playgr (or is it flexi hr? or something like that), sounds good! Only thing is, fr my house I need to cross 2 roads to reach there.. if not that is actually the best in terms of price and hours! hehe..

sincerity,
no, didn't visit juxta and baby A cos i was perspiring on my way back from lunch cos miss L didn't wanna walk so kena carry her. anyway it was near her nap time shortly after we went back so didn't go. re: pre-nursery, i get the point about letting her get used to the environment as long as possible but the PCF (from pre-nursery to kindergarten) at lor 5 is quite a long walk, think 10-15mins walk. as for appletree (pre-nursery to nursery) is just 5mins walk behind my blk nia. but see how lah, since the teacher/student ratio at PCF is 1:6, i've a feeling registration may be closed liao. tmrw then call and find out. thnx for the advice.

L finally said 3 chinese words whc are "bu yao la" after i kept forcing her to drink water this afternoon. hahaha! it was a surprise to me becos i dun speak much mandarin to her. so you all can roughly know wat i say to her in mandarin, hahaha!

YK,
Here's the link, you might want to ring them to check if they allow deductions thru CDA.

http://www.clubkangaroo.sg/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=33

Char,
More words roll out, "bu yao chao", "bu yao bi wo" and "bu li ni le". Just teasing, lighten up our mood. hahaha. How's your FIL? Can he manage by himself? From my house to Blk 198 (ard 15 minutes walk too) I train Nick to walk there, initially complain tired, I channel his attention to birds, butterflies and bees. We stroll along the aquarius park with flower and fruit trees. I'll still carry him when we cross the traffic lanes and when he's very tired. : )

char/sincerity
nice meeting for lunch yesterday! sincerity, u really eat like a 猫 leh..ur hb 养you very easy!

Char
I am really impress with L hor..she so steady & 乖乖 wait for you. i cannot imagine my Yan behaves the same. She will most likely scream the whole kopitiam down.

nana
I dont know mah, thats why asking loh.. hehe

re: CC & playgroup
Not much to contribute since Ray is attending CC outside PR & most likely Yan will join him next year. Too lazy to find alternative liao.

yk,
ya... their playground is called "flexihours". thk that time i pay $200. is frm 9-1 pm. now my girl full day, i pay $300.. cheap hor... every morning when i send my girl, i saw abt 3-4 children coming by a van, thk is the sch bus...if u interested, u can call the supervisor Cindy to check...

reyals, if u sending yr girl to Crestar, pls let me know, i also interested...

Jocelyn : Already started 1st lesson. Tonight is her 2nd lesson. 7.30pm to 8.45pm. How old is your daughter? 'Cos I saw alot of mummies there, tot one of you might be there.

lbs : Crestar says.. 2.5 months old onwards.

reyals n jocelyn,

my C also told me she wants to learn ballet bt my dad said dun want....sigh sigh sigh....bt pls let me know the price if u know eh ;)

Ibs, yup... $300 after subsidy....

reyals, my girl is coming 3 yrs old... actually i hv not registered her yet leh... juz thinking only... actually i dun noe to send her to Crestar or some other place... Crestar only teaches ballet only rite... they do not hv other dances like jazz, hip hop.... rite... bcos i also dun noe what type of dance she like... so i thot of sending her to those dance sch where they got different type of dance, then she can chose what she like meh....anyway... i'm still considering...

if know of any place offering other dance classes pls let me know hor... thinking of sending boy boy to dance class liao... TIA...

thks reyals!
My gal is still too young.. hahaaa

zion
u also keen to send ur boy for dance class? u no expose him to lion dance? My boy like lion dance leh..

hahahaha....wow everyone into dancing huh? kekekeke

Currently only sent my gal to swimming lesson...ballet still considering....hb said learn golf better....pengz...kindergolf..!!