Mummies in Pasir Ris

oh ya..my mil and sil always asked me to cook and let my boys take the green vean soup...they said supposed to be cooling too...so i let me younger boy drinks the soup too...

oh..sorry sorry....cos heard my mil asked me abt guni liang...i still tot is gripewater...hehehe..aiyo..blur me...then me never give that to my boys leh...

??????? blur liao wats guni liang? chinese med?

dsii
no problem... by the way me stay very near u ... hehe

charmaine
enen got coup(think wrong spelling) infection of the respiratory tract... nw still monitoring at home

sheris hmm..so where are u staying? whitewater? cos i know few mummies in PR staying there...so are u one of them?

i think shld me considering chinese med bah...cos formula milk veyr heaty mah..so giving them something that is cooling...for me i lazy mummy...dunno how to make all these stauff..hehehehe

errrm, sorry ah, shd be more specific, it's actually a pack of herbs. guni = milk; liang = cooling. it's teochew i think, my mum always pronouces it like that.

u can go to most med halls and ask the shifu to make up a pack for u, just say it's for babies and the proportions will be adjusted accordingly. adults can also take it but in more concentrated form. it's actually very nice when sugar is added, tastes like liang teh. i used to drink it while growing up. got some odious ingredients though, like the 'shedded skin' of a wasp or something!
but good for u hor! cools the baby's internals as milk is very heaty. usually drink it once every few weeks, and have to discard at sunset if unfinished cos in TCM, u can't take cooling herbs at night.

pengz..i duno we cant take cooling herbs at nite leh...i at times make big pots and drink whole day...hehehe...

dsii,
i dun go to wes plaza very often. And so far i've not met up with any of the mums here.

darlie,
my hb also like dsii's hb, just threw away the abc foam mats otherwise could have given them to u or just post them on the other thread for exchanging or giving away used items.

sheris,
i oso not sure of the spelling but heard of it. I read that it can be quite serious so have to monitor hor? Hope enen gets well. So i u still went ahead & celebrated enen's bday yesterday? Btw, sori for not payiing attn but is enen your boy or gal?

Re: cooling drinks
my aunt taught me to put 1teaspoon of glucose powder into the FM cos glucose is cooling & to counter the heatiness of FM. It's also cheap. B4 my gal was diagnosed with bronchiolitis, i thot it was the normal cough & runny nose so went to eu yan sang & bought these 2 types of cough powder called hou ning & bao ying dan. I read in another thread about this hou ning powder which a mum swore by it. it's very ex but it worked for her child. 1 small bottle cost about $60+, it's very good for removing phlegm. As for bao ying dan, it's for cold & cough with phlegm but it's good to give at the beginning of a cold.

i heard abt the hou ning..cos some mummies bought that for their kiddos..and yes..is very ex..and very small tube too...but heard from them is gd loh...1-2 doses can cure the very bad cough type...and hou ning is actually gd for cough..i bought 1 small bottle of chinese med for my boy's coough..and one of the ingredients is hou ning...aiyo..oso quite ex..$15...but still cant be compared to the EYS ...

thanks charmaine, i shd go check out EYS tmr then. no choice, can't rely on the medication too much, better cure properly (zhi gen) hor?
ask daddy to sponsor, he very sim tia his baobeis when they fall sick

dsii,
yeah, i would like to meet up with u mums too. btw, are u a SAHM or FTWM?

dun mention darlie. that's wats so good about forums like this, that we share pointers. anyway, good things must share mah...

babies can drink glucose? i tot only older kiddies will drink, heh heh. will get hyperactive due to sugar rush? my gal already like an energiser bunny running amok leh

can, jus give 1teaspoon into their milk. my aunt did that with all her 3kids & till today her son who is already an adult still drinks glucose whenever he feels heaty. i dun think it causes hyperactivity cos my gal oso active but didn't get hyper after drinking leh. actually my aunt told me that glucose can help prevent constipation as FM is heaty.

charmaine
yah..will wanna meet up with u all tooo....im sahm mum with 2 boys!!! yes 2 terrors....6 ys old and 19mths...hehehehe....

hi mommies, anyone wants to buy anything from Eu Yan Sang? can tompang me. borrowed a 5% discount card so am going to get the hou ning later at white sands.

welcome dsii! I'm living at dr 1 and often frequent west plaza.

Charmaine, hope ur gal is better. Mine still got phlegm, is a really naggy thing. I'm also very scared when he starts to cough and wheeze.

My sil's mother gave a recipe for cooling drinks thats not liang. Boil arrow root (fen ge) with honeyed dates and drink. Is slightly nutty flavoured and sweet. Is supposed to "ren fei" also

Cos scared liang, so cannot drink too much barley or chrysanthemum when he's younger and nothing too sweet cos will cause phlegm. I make him this drink at least once a week. Can cook as a savoury soup with pork ribs but i prefer it with honeyed dates cos can drink like water.

hi juxta
hhe..maybe i hv seen u west plaza hor...hehehe...aiyo..really must arrange some meetups...cant wait to meet the mummies here...

last tiem when my boy was younger...i cooked barley without adding sugar...and now he is older..i add rock sugar or the best is the winter melon sugar (dong gua tang) heard that's the best....

hi dsii, perhaps we've met, usually very "log" when i go there hahaha

i mix the pearl barley with "shen yi mi" cos pearl is very liang, so counteract abit with shen yi mi and very minimal rock sugar as shen yi mi got a funny taste. Winter melon sugar is very liang right? But i like it hehe. No choice lah, my boy got very bad cough. so have to avoid all food cold and cooling when he's young even now he's 3 still have to be very careful. No childhood!

thanks for sharing the recipe juxta, will get my mom to boil that for the terrors. :) DS is more fussy about food but has improved a lot already. at least now he'll try 1 mouthful first. think he'll like the honeyed dates drink since it's slightly sweet

when got meet up???
jio me wor.......

Darlie,
i cant wait to collect the clothes fr you!
tkz again for helping me buy

pls PM me when the bill comes in case i m not ard to read your sms.

dun wanna you hang pig's head in my front door!!!

ya..must be very careful loh..like my youger one...allergic to panadol..so must really take care of him...cos i scared lah..kena virus..i cham...

juxta
i oso very'log' one...oversized tee...even though my built already oversized..can imagine right...hehehhehe

argh!!! so bz at work... so stressed... come in to take a breather...

darlie,
think i saw u somewhere b4 leh... u n chloe looks so familiar... cannot remember where i seen both of u liao... mb ard PR... hee... so how is the triplets? chaos dat day?

mbb2, np. u gals are helping me indulge in my fav pasttime! now got more excuses to shop online!!
ON and Gap will postpone till summer sale then. now obsessed with toys, anyone want to join? hiak hiak hiak!!

zion, maybe at white sands or SNS lor! these are 2 places i can bring them to without transport. :) the triplets luckily are willing to play with my terrors. they are 5 this year so big kor kors and jie jie; very accomodating to the twins, even bring out toys to offer. when DS salivated over their toys, one of the boys told me, "auntie, never mind, i'll wash for you okay?" wah! so guai.

Most welcome darlie! The arrow root drink must boil like 2.5 hrs. The arrow root skin quite hard to peel off.

There's another recipe with corn. About 3 corns (with everything intact, must wash clean clean). Boil for 1.5-2 hrs, add abit of rock sugar to taste if u prefer but if scared get phlegm then skip if they can endure the bland flavour. Its actually very fragrant and good for cooling w/o the liang effect also.

I gave my boy cordyceps soup when he's well, personally think it works, cough not as bad and severe like b4. But hor, cordycep's price skyrocketed, now dun feed him as often. Machiam like eating gold.

Anyone got easy to make recipes? I'm running outta ideas.

dsii, me also very oversized in oversized Ts in paris. hey i wanna meet up too!

thanks juxta, think will try the corn drink first while looking for the ingredients for the arrowroot/honeyed dates one :)

also need to 'bor' my DS. he's not rosy-cheeked like DD leh. and his flesh very soft, not the firm type, even my ILs commented on that. must bulk him up a little; he also takes a longer period to recover when he falls sick. any good stuff to share?

darlie,
first u gotta know his body is under which category, ie. liang or re... like my son, his body is re wan... so gotta give him more liang food, more liang herbs... liddat in the future he cannot take those heaty tonics... unlike me, my body is more liang type... take how much heaty tonics oso nvm... so which type is ur boy under?

so far, i've tried cod liver oil to build up immune system but he doesnt like the original one and the orange one gave him phlegm so we're off that. Try multivits too?

I try to boil soup often. My mil's neighbour aunty is a Cantonese and she takes care of 2 kids. She boils all kinds of soups everyday and the kids look healthy leh with occasional flu. I guess eating well and not fussy really makes a lot of difference ba.

hmmm, so far can't tell yet leh, unless see sinseh. he has caught the flu once and had yellow mucous. this time he has runny nose (clear mucous) and phlegmy cough. sweats easily and likes to drink lots of water. sounds like heaty type?

darlie,
still difficult to say... he scared of hot or cold? he has to sleep in air con room? or throw him in sahara desert oso nvm?

both of them dun need to sleep aircon room cos no habit of doing so; dun like to be covered with blankets. he feels warmer to the touch compared to mei mei so sometimes we think he has slight fevers.

liddat ar... think most prob is heaty ba... boys tend to be heaty mostly... my boy ar... if no air con only fan ar will perspire like nobody biz... then when i sleep in the same room ar, me like sleeping in north pole... hee...

:) we decided not to let them have the habit of sleeping in aircon room so we just plonked them in the living room when they were discharged from the hospital after delivery. and they are still sleeping there! ar har har!!! i refuse to let them sleep in the same room as the DW or with us, so out they go!

quite cartoon when i carry them to my room sometimes. they'll look ard in wonder cos very seldom they get to venture into mummy's domain.

darlie,
my boy got his own room... n he loves it whenever i bring him into the master bedroom... cos he got new place to play in...

dsii/juxta,
got meetup session ar? count me in leh... let me know the date/time and place... see if i can squeeze out time anot... hee...

woah, this thread is moving so fast since i logged in last night!

juxta,
thnx for asking. my gal is getting better. brought her to PD this morning for folo up and had to do suction again cos she still breathing thru her mouth & luckily we decided to do that for her cos can see still got a lot of mucous when sucked out. then PD gave singulair too, 1sachet a day.

about the soup, my dad told me that arrow head is also good for constipation problem (adults or kids). guess i'll try it one day once her cough is over cos i duno if she is having heaty cough or cold type. She's the type who emits a bit of heat & some people who carry her thot she got slight fever but she's always like lor.

darlie,
my gal oso soft to the touch. my neighbour who is a babysitter said her flesh is "tau huey bak", haha! i think her flesh reminds me of those chicken in cages, not the kampong chicken.

long time no hear from pinkie & emoments, wonder if they gave birth liao..........

hmmm, original $61, after discount is $48.80. good buy! i borrowed the card from a colleague, anyone wants to tompang, let me know asap yah? think got other items also at 20%, like bird's nest. din really take a close look at others cos was rushing for time

other nett items have normal 5% discount :)

Charmaine, ur dad is right, arrow root is good for detox so can help constipation etc. ha, is good for complexion too! I'd boil more often if not for the stubborn skin thats hard to remove la!

My sil's mother said arrow root not liang and honeyed dates is good for lungs so i gave him even if he's not well. But better not try if you've concerns.

For all those interested to meet up, what is ur preferred time? Dsii, Ikea is a good idea!

Ikea is good for me too.
timing, i prefer weekdays after 3pm.

hee heee....but next week gotta work.
mid of Mar, i am free.

juxta
me anytime leh..weekdays anytime ard 3 bah...but i need to rush back ard 6 cos need to fetch my elder boy..his sch bus reaches my place ard 6plus...

juxta,
i've never cut up the arrow root b4 so didnt think it was that tough, he he. next time round i'll watch how my dad prepares it. I didn't know that it's good for complexion! must try to drink it more often if possible.

darlie,
yeah, forgot to mention before that got 20% off for the cough powders for members. it is a good buy. how your boy took it? got struggle? my gal struggled, think must be bitter.

:) dunno whether they liked it or not leh, cos my mum fed them. think shd be okay lah, she din say they cried or anything negative. she quite cartoon, said the tube so tiny, machiam like eating eating gold, so precious, dare not spill