MOMMY CLUB - Yr 2007 P1's (Yr2000 Millennium & Dragon Babies)

EHYMum, my boy didn't mention there's no school today. Maybe they allocate relief teachers for those who are affect.

Hi Rains,

I agree with caroline3sg - tell your daughter that she can read all she wants after she has finished doing her homework.

You should be happy that your gal likes reading. I'm still trying to encourage my boy to read. Don't kill her interest in reading as she can learn lots of things on her own from reading.

caroline3sg and EHYMum,

Thanks for your suggestion but I've tried this before. In fact, this is the first tactic I tried. She knows she can read all she wants after doing homework, but she can't seem to control herself. She's just all absorbed in her own world when she starts to read. It's like the rest of the world doesn't matter anymore. Reading, like everything else, should be done in moderation.

I wish there's a more effective way of controlling the reading.

Rains
How about asking your girl to set her own time table? Of course, you have to see that there is time slot everyday for school work.

rains

i guess as in all things, if done excessively may have adverse effects. But i do agree reading is very beneficial to our kids. I try to bring my gal to the library every week.

Thus i think you shouldnt take drastic measures to stop her interest and stamp down her passion.

How about trying prioritising. Explain the need to prioritise what we need to do and when she is done with her homework, she can read.

Janet, caroline

i am not so bothered that she lose her things, like you say, we adults lose our things too. Anyway, its just phone card. I am just very bothered that she lied. Will need to have good mother and daughter talk. Thanks for the advise!

caroline3sg,

We've created a timetable together for her and there're slots for playtime which she can also utilise as reading time. But I guess with a grandparent as the main caregiver in the day, timetables are rendered useless.

Cuddles,

Yes, you hit the nail on the right spot. Stamping down on her passion is what I'm worried about - like it's a crime to like reading. I've tried talking to her about priority as well, but I guess it's too cheem for a seven-year-old to really understand the impact of not prioritising properly. The worse calamity for her would be to be scolded by her teacher, which she doesn't seem to be too bothered by. I went to the extent of threatening her of taking her out of the school but I don't want to use it too often. Already it's starting to lose its impact.

About your kid lying, I think it's really common. Kids are smart and they know better than to incur adults' wrath. It's almost instinctive to them there're certain things that they do or do not do will get them a good scolding. My kid has lied before and it was shocking becos nobody taught her how to. I think the most important thing is to give her enough assurance that you'll still love her no matter what has happened. It takes time, years actually, for a kid to learn that not everything they do will earn them a dressing-down.

rains, your DD better than my DS...he loves reading comics :p

my good friend's younger DD loves reading story books and would rather read than do school work, piano etc. the girl is now P6.

although my friend doesn't limit the reading, she needs to monitor and push her constantly so she completes homework/revision etc.

good news is the girl is in GEP program and i understand from my friend (both her girls are in it) it is a common characteristic of kids there so it may not be that bad afterall

Thanks, Wen, for trying to make me feel better.

I'm not looking at GEP becos I heard that the tests for GEP entrance consist of English, Maths and Science. At P1, my kid already dreads Maths. She finds Maths difficult - my fear has come true. And Maths and Science usually go hand-in-hand.

Your friend really know how to reproduce. Both of her children are gifted. I wonder what she feeds them with.

Since the mummies here feel that reading can't be too wrong, I'll just try to drill into her that she should complete her tasks before reading. I've always hated my mother to nag and had resolved never to nag at anyone for any matter, but I guess repetition and tediousness is part of motherhood.

Thanks mummies!

Hi Rains,
Girls don't really like Maths...I'm a good example. They prefer language and humanities. Reading is good and their vocab improves with lots of reading, but it should be done after homework.

Hi Rains,

Just as what Wen has mentioned about reading and GEP, my 2 nephews are in GEP and they love reading as well. My sister does not try to stop them.

Just do not know why my kid does not like reading as much. Care to share how your gal got so hooked on reading cos I'm trying to encourage my boy to read. Thanks.

EHYMum,

Actually I'm also not sure the sure-proof way to make a child like reading. I used to take her to the library once a week or fortnight to borrow books in the hope that she might like it. I guess I did a lot of groundwork before she started picking up the books: practised the phonics with her, got her younger nephew to read with me to tempt her to try to read, read to her on the train when the journey's a long one, read storybooks to her every night etc. I tried to look for opportunities that I could tempt her with the benefits of reading. Sometimes when we go out and come across those doors that say,"Pull" and she pushes it and the door doesn't budge, I'd tease her,"Oh, it says 'pull'. You can't read. If you can read, you'd know you need to pull, not push." I'm not sure if these things really work. I was desperate to try everything becos at K1, she couldn't read. It was towards the end of K2 that she started to read okay, then in the beginning of P1, she started to read 'aggressively'. She actually finished reading 'Charlotte's Web', a sec 1 lit text.

However, my kid only likes fiction books. So the other challenge for me, on top of controlling her reading, is to try to get her to read non-fiction. For boys, I think they prefer non-fiction books, so you may want to try it out to see if it interests him, esp using the subject of his interest.

I hope what I shared helps to give you some ideas or 'inspiration' on how to encourage your boy to read.

Hi rains,

Thanks for sharing. Actually I've been reading to him since young, read bedtime stories, got the maid to read to him when I'm at work etc etc but still not of much use leh.

Yap, I remember the first time I came aross Charlotte's Web was when I was in Sec 1. Had that for my literature.

Actually it is good that she likes fictions cos my colleague's boy likes reading non fiction. My colleage was telling me that as a result, he is not doing that well for his composition.

EHYMum

You might want to try Geronimo Stilton's books. They are interesting and easy to read. My boy also used to like only non fiction books but he is not an avid reader like Rains' girl. Recently his aunty introduced him to the series and he likes them very much. Geronimo's book can keep him occupied for at least an hour if there are no distractions.
I think it is good to read a variety of books and non-fiction books can help to increase the general knowledge while fiction helps in creativity - both aspects are important in creating good compositions.

Hi JessChan,

Thanks for the suggestion - he has already got 2 of them but it is just lying on the bookshelf .... I myself like to read and he sees me reading whenever I have the time. *sigh!!*

hehehe...rains, my boy read Charlotte's Web earlier this year. At first i couldn't believe he understood the story and i even asked him to summarise for me.

Currently he is reading Three Investigators series. They are one of my favourite books when I was young and lucky my sis kept the whole collection coz I can't seem to find in bookstores nowadays.

I encourage him to read...yes, even comics coz i find it helps in his imagination and hopefully composition.

He is interested in science (so far) and I will refer to books and do some experiments with him once in a blue moon. It can be quite fun.

i feel reading together helps. My gal really enjoys reading time with me. Can start with short stories, those many stories in a book type. Got variety to avoid boredom. Sometimes, i will read the story animatedly, sometimes i will tell her its her turn. Then after the story, i will ask her to tell me wat the story is about, and if possible the moral of the story.

Also helps that parents enjoy reading too. I love fictional novels and hb loves to read abt current affairs and management books.

haha, Wen,
Like you, I didn't believe that she could understand the story. Actually I didn't even believe that she finished reading it. I asked her questions specific to different scenarios in the book to test her understanding. Looks like the ones who doubt the children are the mothers themselves.

Hi, my boy recently sat for an IQ test in school. He told me that there were 5 sections of 12 questions each. Any idea what is the IQ test for?

Ummm... this thread has been very quiet recently, what happened to all the mummies?
BTW, my boy's school is organising a lantern-making competition and parents are encouraged to help the kids, using recycled materials. Anyone has any ideas to share?

hi jess,
My kid's teacher asked the kids to collect recycled or simple materials some weeks ago to prepare for making a lantern. My kid chose the simplest materials: 8 chopsticks, 4 pieces of coloured papers and some ribbon for hanging the lantern. Not for competition though. Just bouncing ideas around.

hi mommies, any advice on how to put the kids to auto gear?

when I was a kid in P3 or P4, I bought all the assessment books (not that many at my era) that were available in bookshops and copied the model answers attached. I studied from those assessments books. I never had any reward for studying hard. I considered that my responsiblities to be a hardworking student. Afterall, as kids, we only eat, sleep, play & study. We had the easier part of life

Why is it that I had so much initiatives last time but now I need to nag nag nag my girl? It's killing me having to nag my girl to do her kumon worksheets. Although not everyday I need to nag, but she will have her relapse every few other days, so frustrating. I even devise a reward system for completing her homework. luckily I don't have to nag for kindergarten homework at all. I dare not let her learn piano otherwise I think I will go crazy liao

I am thinking very hard. How was my upbringing and my girl's upbringing different? Why can't she be automatic?

hahahaa, hippo,
What you are puzzled about are what my husband and I have discussed about too. I'm sure we're not alone. The rest of the mummies must have felt likewise.
I feel that as kids, we had a lot more intrinsic motivation than the kids nowadays. Maybe their life is too good liao. Without extrinsic reward, cannot function already. Actually, it's quite scary thinking about the future of Singapore.

Yep, we have the same thought too! Kids nowadays are so protected by parents like us who are supposed to be more educated and knowledgeable. Someone was just saying to me recently that when we were young, we had to find our own simple pleasures and created our own toys because our parents did not have much time and money to spend on us.

Now, parents have to buy toys/electronic gadgets and plan activities for the young ones. Many kids also get to travel overseas at a very young age, so they tend to take things for granted and are less able to take care of themselves. I know some children are hardly out in the sun because they have aircon at home, are chaffeured around in private cars or taxis, eat at restaurants and shop in shopping malls - hence they fall sick more easily too!

Yes yes, the 'trend' now is almost every child has asthma - like everybody's born with asthma. I don't remember I had any friend who had asthma (except myself, haha). Now we have frequent outbreaks of child-related diseases ie. hand foot mouth. Some people say it's becos our environment is too clean so kids don't have strong immune systems. A friend's mother was watching tv and was commenting on milk powder advertisements. She said the manufacturers kept adding so many things into the milk powder - God knows if they had tested it on themselves - no wonder kids are getting more and more stupid.

Aiyo, mummies, I got an email from my kid's Chinese-cum-form teacher that my kid hasn't been doing her work. Actually, I did realise she kept handing in late work becos I was down with a bad flu for the last few weeks and couldn't pay much attention to her. Even her spelling didn't get full marks becos I was too ill to go through with her. Like what hippo had mentioned, I do wish my kid can be 'auto-pilot (in the teacher's word)' and note down her homework herself. I feel like I need to hound her to get her to bring even her student diary to school, not to mention getting her to lift a finger to do her work.

Is it a dream to 'most' of us? My kid's teacher said that 'most of the children' could auto pilot already, implying (actually it's 'blatantly saying') that my kid is very slow in taking responsibility for her own learning.

I doubt that is true. Most of them probably had someone at home who checks the school bag and makes sure that homework is done properly. I only know of 1 child, that is my niece, who can auto-pilot (with remote control by her mum).

Hi mummies, long time no CHAT!

Actually I find the word "auto-pilot" very interesting. I think my daughter is consider as "battery operated" cos sometimes she tends to slow down and I need to change batteries!!

Rains, don't let the teacher's comment affected your relationship with your daughter. You're the person who understand your daughter well. Continue to guide and support her. Don't scold but slowly let her think and understand that she needs to learn to do things on her own. Take one step at a time. This is what I'm doing at the moment.

I know of a 8 years old girl who still doesn't know how to bath, wear cloths, pack school bag, tidy up her bed etc. Everyday her mum needs to do most of the things for her and the worst part is her mum helps her to do her homework!!!

So, rains, your daughter is better right?

Let's us work hard for our children. If we don't guide them, who else will do it!

Well, I suppose most of us cannot bear to let our children learn the hard way and we often try to cushion here and there. Sometimes I find that when the teacher gives punishment, it is much more effective than us nagging at the kids.

i couldn't agree with the mommies here more. My gal hor, 1 push = 1 step (sometimes dun even budge). Its really frustrating. Spend my every day, nagging at her about waking up, mealtime, school time, homework, piano, all the way to bed time. I am so tired of myself. haha..

I was so upset with my kid's English teacher that I sent her an email with sarcastic and angry messages. I know you would say I shouldn't and usually I do refrain from emailing or talking to someone when I am very upset, but I really couldn't agree with the way she does things. She never got the kids to write down what they need to do in their diary, but screamed at my kid in her face and made her stand twice for the files she didn't bring. I feel that she could have communicated with me, via the diary, email or phone, if my kid persistently refuses to bring the files for one whole month.

For P2 and P3 kids, teachers in neighbourhood schools have to write down homework on the board so that the kids can copy down in their diary. I don't see how seven-yr-olds in my kid's school can be more superior or more 'auto-pilot' than their older counterparts. I feel that it's only fair to mete out punishment if the teacher had communicated clearly with the parent and the things are still undone. My husband and I suspect that the teachers there have too good a life so they can't stand doing all the nitty-gritties that neighbourhood school teachers have to do.

(Angry)

rains, think your gal's school teachers quite fierce hor? my boy will forget stuff at times but he has never mentioned getting scolding from his teachers. he only gets it when he is caught talking.

my boy's form teacher will send email to parents regarding stuff to bring so as to minimise chances of the kids forgetting. it's me the parent who is forgetful :p

yesterday was my boy's "be yourself day" in school and i made him a warrior costume at the last minute (do until 3am the night b4). guess what...he won 1st prize for P1 category. although it is just a $10 voucher, he was so happy and it made my sleep deprivation worth it. so now i know i have a tiny bit of creativity in me ;p

Hi Wen,

Congrats and pei fu you !! Me super lazy just go and dig for clothes in his cabinet. I'm sure your boy is very proud that Mummy made the extra effort to make something special for him.

i nearly didn't want to do it coz i worry he'll be the only kid wearing a costume.

but i guess kids really want parents to be involved in such things and it does make our day when we see they feel so happy.

i sure hope he remembers man...i took a pic...intend to show his future girlfriend (i.e. blackmail him next time) heeeee

Wen, your boy's teacher is very good. I always think that it will be much easier if the teachers uses the email instead of sending circulars or writing in diaries... unfortunately, I think there are still some parents who may not have access to computers at home.
My boy's school also has a Be Yourself Day which is on 31/8. What did you use to make the warrior costume?

Wen,
Wah ... you know how to sew ah? So good! I've always wished I can sew. Even bought a sewing machine with don't know how many types of stitches. In the end, only know how to use 1 type - the straight stitch. I wanted to make a kimono for my kid. Even went online to find template and instructions. Alas! Too difficult for me. The moment I read measurements, I back out already. I find everything so confusing.

How nice! Got 'Be yourself day'. My kid only had 'racial harmony day'. Also good la. If not, have to wreck my brain for another costume.

Actually, my kid didn't come home to complain that she was screamed at. She was just lying down on the sofa with my husband and I and I was telling my husband that I found out that a very old teacher told me that teachers are asked never to lay hand on kids since day one, ever since she started teaching 30 years ago. I said,"My primary school teacher used to slap my classmates very hard." And my kid said,"Luckily my teacher never slap us. She only shout at us." I got a shock and started asking her one question which followed after another and that's how I found out she got screamed at and punished for the files.

jess, u may be right coz there are 29 kids in his class but i counted only 23 emails so there must be some who do not own any email.

well, i guess the teacher is good in reminding us to let our kids bring stuff. other than that, not much communication about our kids' progress.

i made my boy wear black slacks and dark long sleeve t-shirt. i bought a black cloth and cut a hole for his head (like the one hairstylist put on u b4 cut hair).

made shoulder pads with vanguard (i use stapler to secure it). i secure another coloured cloth from shoulder to knee as decor. then tie a strip of cloth around his waist. it helps that he has a toy samurai sword to complete the look.

hehe rains...i didn't sew lah. just stitch a cross to secure necessary parts. i did learn how to use the ancient type of sewing machine during home economics class but dunno how to do measurements. i dun even own a sewing machine :p

my boy missed the racial harmony day coz he was sick...else we had to buy him traditional clothes liao.

hehe...i hold daily "interview" sessions with my boy to find out what happened in school. i will always start with...how was your day? did u cry? did your teacher scold u? think over time he will learn to tell me in the same sequence without me asking...heee

Wen,
Same here. I ask my boy daily what happens in school generally (not just focus on the "bad" things"). I also told him that it is better for him to confess to me if he does anything wrong in school so that I will not be caught off guard if his teacher calls me directly during the PTC sessions. Now he will tell me automatically if he does anything wrong in school.
And thanks for the idea on warrior costume. I think I can do something similar and he should be quite pleased.

Wen and Jess, how I wish my kid will honestly tell me what she is doing in school everyday.

Each day I will also ask her "How's your day?" "Did you disturb your friends?" "Did you talk when your teacher is teaching?"...She will definitely answer me "OK. I'm a good girl. I didn't disturb my friends and I didn't talk." Somehow, when I spoke to her form teacher who is also her English and Maths teacher. The teacher told me that my daughter is very VOCAL and like to "disturb" her friends after she finished her work. Any idea how to explain to her not to talk so much in class?

Rimilyn,
My son's teacher told me that he used to "disturb" others in class in the beginning of the year but has since improved a lot in behavior. She is quite strict with the students and they often have to stay back during recess if they misbehave. As my son loves to play (rather than eat...) during recess, he tries to behave himself in class to avoid being punished.
But I am certainly very glad that he is very honest in telling me voluntarily whenever he does something wrong in school.

Rimilyn
My girl used to talk in class also and often told by teacher to stop talking when she was teaching. Teacher also highlighted to me during PTC. Of course, it is not one time or a few times I have to remind her not to talk, now she improves. How? By telling her if she talks, she is disturbing others, others cannot concentrate, she also cannot concentrate, this would lead to bad results and more important, it is very paiseh everytime teacher asks her to stop talking in front of everybody.

Somebody told me they are just kids, they want to socialise and would talk. They cannot wait till recess. I think, yes, we also talk in office, we don't wait till lunch. So I told my girl, only when she finishes her work and her friends also finishes their work, then can talk. But when teacher is teaching, strictly no talking. She is prefect and has to lead by example. Now she knows what is paiseh. Last time P1 & 2, not prefect yet.

Rimilyn

ya, talking is the kids primary method of socialisation. But being kids, they have very little regard to the appropriate time to chat. Parent will just have to constantly teach. I was extremely talkative in P1, even after many warnings from teacher. My parents were called in to see the teacher 3 times and principal too! haha... my dad threatened that if they get hauled to the sch office one more time becos i talk too much, He will take me out of school. Guess he scared me. No more talking. In P2, i remember my teacher remarked in my report book, Very Quiet girl. haha. anyway, i jus wan to say its a passing phase, cos very excited to have so many frens to chat with, its not a huge problem. u see I also grow up normal mah, and did well too....

btw, when you chat with your gal, use more positive approach than negative. As in Hows your day, did you have fun? wat did teacher teach? Anything happened?

May instill negative impact if being asked "Did you disturb your friends?" "Did you talk when your teacher is teaching?" thus she is not inclined to tell the truth.

Like my hb always tell my gal, never call grandma ar? I will correct him to ask " Have you called grandma?"

You wouldn't believe this. The teacher replied me and apologised for the incident. And she even apologised to my child. Goodness! I feel very bad about it. I emailed her back to apologise for my hostility in my previous email.
I don't believe in getting the teacher to apologise to a student. I feel that this will make the student think that teachers are lower than he or his parents and this will have a bad impact on his learning. I didn't expect the teacher to apologise. I thought she would be defensive and start to fight with me virtually. Haiz ... I thought it'll be good enough that she explains herself. Didn't expect her to go and say sorry to a kid.

Hi mummies, thanks for sharing.

Spoken to my daughter last night. Hopefully she got my message.

Cuddles, thanks a lot. In future, I'll try to speak to my kids in a positive manner. You're right, most of the time I talk to my kids in a very stunt way. I'm so use to nag at them everyday. From now on, I'll try to be "gentle" to them.

Rains, I suggest you take this opportunity to explain to your daughter that she should continue to respect her teacher because her teacher is brave enough to apology when she made mistake "zhi1 cuo4 neng2 gai3".

Oh yes, any suggestions on creative writing (picture composition) for chinese?

Rimilyn,
Actually I told my kid that it wasn't necessary for the teacher to apologise to her becos in reality, my kid really didn't submit the files.

You're right in saying that teachers' comments or feedback on the child have an impact on mothers' response towards the child. I find myself more impatient with my kid when teachers give me unfavourable feedback on my kid. I suppose I get affected by how others look at my kid also.

Do you mean that your kid has started on composition for chinese? Mine is still asking me how to write this and that character for filling in the blanks. And she doesn't even bring home her chinese textbook!