MOMMY CLUB - Yr 2007 P1's (Yr2000 Millennium & Dragon Babies)

Jess,
Really ? CME is conducted in Chinese. For schools which have higher chinese, there is a lot of time allocated for that subject. Sometimes the Art or even PE lesson can be conducted in Mandarin.

EHYMum,
I get my son to finish all his homework at night. He sleeps at 11 and wakes up at 9am...so plenty of energy after 10 hours of rest. Mornings he will revise his spelling & ting xie and get to play a little.

Janet

my gal's has 4 lessons of Chinese on Fri. I was also quite surprise when i saw it. Guess, its normal for SAP sch. But i do hope they not jus concentrate only on Chinese.

DISCIPLINE

its really up to the parents to determine what is the best mthods of discipline for a child. Of course the parent should exercise control as well. Generally gals may be easier to discipline but there are also some not, and vice versa for boys. My fren has 2 sons, the elder one is simply bo chap but the younger one is always striving and worrying himself. Another fren has 2 gals in RGPS. elder one doesnt do so well in sch, but the younger 1 score top for 2 years exam liao. So it takes all kinds...

Janet,

So your son also sleeps at 11:00 p.m. huh ? Mine also and we think it is quite late for a kid but he does not want to sleep early which is fine with me as I can spend more time with him. However, mine has to wake up before 8:00 a.m. as this is around the time that we have to send him to my parents' place before going to work.

Janet,

So your son also sleeps at 11:00 p.m. huh ? Mine also and we think it is quite late for a kid but he does not want to sleep early which is fine with me as I can spend more time with him. However, mine has to wake up before 8:00 a.m. as this is around the time that we have to send him to my parents' place before going to work.

Hi Cuddles,
So I guess every class has 1 day when there are 4 Chinese lessons. But there is a good balance bcos I see him having English lessons everyday too.
We speak English at home, so I welcome the 4 lessons of Chinese. He has to speak Mandarin during his Chinese lessons. He watches Channel U program with us and he learns to read subtitles along the way.

EHYMum,
It's ok with me if he sleeps later bcos we have a little chat after my hubby and daughter goes to bed. Both of the kids wake up at 9...sufficient rest for him if he doesn't go for extra activities b4 school starts.

EHYMum, my boy had a relief form teacher last semester and now it seems his chinese teacher changed.

so effectively the class is seeing a different form teacher and a different chinese teacher this semester. guess other classes are not so unlucky lah.

I expect my gal to sleep at 10am and wake up at 8am. So far its not working, she will dally and sleeps at 11+pm and refuse to wake up till 9+am. Raher rush for us, as she needs to catch the sch bus at 11:45am and she takes so long to finish her lunch, super slow eater.

But same here, sometimes i dun force her to sleep early as we can spend some time chatting or do some stories. Some days when I work, I get home like 8-9pm, there is absolutely no time for her then.

Janet

somehow I just kinda worry abt the focus in English. I hv been teaching my gal not to say like "eat finish, do finish, watch finish" should be finish eating etc. The other day she came back and told me the Eng teacher said "when you do finish the workseet" then she corrected her teacher... **faint**

Cuddles,
Same here...I am also correcting my son when he says, 'Eat finish, do finish'. Faint man to hear such English. In front of the kids, my hubby and I try to miminize Singlish.

My son eats super duper slow too. Fortunately going to school is just 10 min but I understand how stressed you are getting her ready for school.

if your kids eat slow, how do you train them to eat faster for the recess break?
thanks...

amazingly, i think recess break they can make it bef times up. At least i know my gal can. I guess its being to comfy at home or with parents that they take their own sweet time.

I tried many methods to no avail. Scolding. sweetener, challenge etc.. hai~~~

Fz,
I've told my son that if he doesn't eat at the dining table and finish the food in 20 min, he will not get to eat anything after that. Case closed.

Talking about recess, what do your kids eat - Do you let them buy or you pack food ? We have been packing food for him as he does not want to buy, which is fine for us as I'll be worried about him spilling hot food. So far we have been mainly packing bread, biscuits and cakes. Trying to think of more variety ..... any suggestions ?

EHYMum,
I have been packing food for him since day 1 of school...he refuses to buy food too. Can't seem to get him to buy food. Don't know when he will have courage to do that. As for snacks - sandwich with omelette, jam, biscuits or cocktail. Quite difficult bcos have to think of food which is still nice to eat after 3 hours.

b4 my boy started P1, i was worried about his recess time coz he's a slow eater plus i'm also scared he'll spill hot food.

but me being a lazy mom finally decided to leave it to him to buy his own food and it has been that way since day 1.

somehow he did finish eating within alloted time and temperature of food served is not really piping hot...just warm. usually he will order chicken/char siew rice, mee siam or cheese sandwich and occasional ice-cream.

once in a blue moon i will pack food like cold ramen/sandwiches/tuna sushi for him (mainly on wednesdays) and he really look forward to it.

HI Wen,
It's good your son is willing to buy his own food. Bcos of rules & regulations, the kids will learn to eat within that short time, pee and be ready.

Hi Janet,

Agree that it limits the variety as need to think of food that is still nice to eat at 3:30 p.m.

Wen,
Pei fu - cold ramen & tuna sushi !! You are not a lazy mother if you prepare all these for him.

Janet and EHYMum,

I couldn't agree more. I have very little to choose from for food that lasts for 4 - 5 hours before my kid gets her recess break. In the end, it always goes back to bread. My poor kid.

My kid is down with pneumonia

I feel so guilty. My mother has always worried that I don't know how to take care of my kid, and it seems she's right.
I'm seriously contemplating letting my mother take care of her. My only worry is my kid does not have the space to do her schoolwork and nobody to coach her. I hate making decisions.

Yesterday, we spent 5 hours at kk for my kid's treatment and diagnosis, and we witnessed a household drama.
A couple was quarrelling over their child's injury, on whose fault it was. It was quite ugly. I wish my husband was there to understand how embarrassing it is to wash dirty linen in public. He also likes to quarrel with me in public.
The couple were pointing fingers at each other on who caused the child to get hurt and how long (8 years to be exact) they have put up with each other, each other's families, parents, sister.

After a while, they went outside to talk things out, but it got worse. They were screaming and shouting at each other and I think they fought! The security guard had to be called in. And parents quickly went to peep at what happened. My sister pulled me back when I wanted to kpo too.
After a loud scream by the couple's kid to stop the fight, it quietened down. Then the parents at the A&E ward started to discuss among themselves about the content of the fight.
It was so embarrassing for the couple and the kid.

EHYMum, oh just realised it should be cold soba. it's really simple coz the ingredients are off the shelf.

my boy attends student care and so far these are the food that still taste good during recess even when i prepare early in the morning.

rains, hope your child is better now...was she warded? ya i agree we must always control ourselves in public coz kinda embarrassing to create a scene.

btw, are u a teacher? thought i read somewhere that u are. if so, what subject and level ah?

aiya, a child falling sick doesn't mean we dunno how to take care of him/her. i always believe us mommies are the best care-taker
grandparents can't bear to discipline and control the kids so it's not a good arrangement to me.

Wen
Agreed! mommies are the best caregiver

Rain
my parents cannot control my kids at all. They get to watch TV for as long as they wanted. Eat as much chocolate as they like. Basically do anything they want. And my parents practice outright favouritism. It is detrimental to my kids well being.

No doubt my parents are great help when I need to run errands or do volunteer work or take some time off to de-stress. Other than those adhoc few hours, I prefer to take care of my kids personally

Wen, hippo,

Thanks! I know what you mean about grandparents being less able or rather, not willing, to discipline their grandchildren. I'm just worried about my kid's body constitution. We eat out all the time becos I don't have time to cook. So I'd really hope she can enjoy home-cooked food as a child. I always feel that it's not healthy to eat out so often.

My kid is not warded. The doc did suggest hospitalisation but he gave us the option of taking her home and giving her antibiotics becos she appeared active despite her cough and wheezing.

We'll have to go back for a review in ten days' time.

Wen,
You got a pm.

HI Rains,
I hope your child is feeling better now. But then, it's better that you take care of your own child bcos grandparents may not be able to discipline & ultimately that's the biggest problem as the child grows up.

Eating out all the time isn't healthy for adults and growing children. Have you thought of tingkat ??

I think the families of the child who fought in KK must have been so tensed and having the child in A&E is the last straw.

Hi Rains
Hope your girl is better now. I am sure you have tried your best to look after her as a mother.

When I was a working mum, I used to worry about my boys not eating healthily as we also eat out quite often. So I try to eat at my MIL's place 2 twice a week on weekdays and once at my mum's place on weekends. When we eat at hawker centres, I try to avoid fried oily stuff. And, I give them vitamin supplements though I am not sure whether it is of any help.

I know that as a working mum, it can be quite tiring if you still need to cook on weekends unless you enjoy cooking and your hubby helps out. But if you can, try steamed stuff or soups or porridge. And eat more fruits.

I think unless you have a great cook at home, it is inevitable that we will eat out ocassionally. We just have to be more conscious of what we eat. Even if we eat at home, if we do not know how to cook properly and destroy all the nutrients through overcooking or we add too much salt and oil, I don't think that is healthy eating either.

my boy has been eating out since he is able to chew properly and seems ok leh. i'm not a nutrition expert but i try to make sure there's meat, carbo and fibre in his meal.

however i missed those pre-marriage days where i can eat home-cooked dinner everyday. nowadays it's a chore to think of what to eat...so sian.

Hi Rains,

Hope your kid is better.

Wen,

Will check out the cold soba when doing grocery shopping.

There are some dishes which are very easy e.g. steaming, baking. I'm super lazy and don't like to cook so I try to do those easy and minimal cleaning required such as steaming fish, eggs, baking checken etc on weekends. I also agree that it is not so good for kids to eat out so ofetn.

Rains

hope your kid is ok now.

really drama at the hospital huh. I guess its a stressful time for the parents. And hard to control emotions. My hb hates to create a scene in public.

Hey dun stress urself so much. Falling ill is part of growing up. Jus that some kids get it more some less.

Agree with rest of mommies, we are the best caregiver. We jus do our best for our kids.

Recess Time
===========

I think its good to let the kids learn to buy food and handle the food. They will learn to be independent, decision making skills, to take care of themselves, the value of money and learn timing.

So would really encourage mommies to let your kid try buying food at the cafe during recess. You can let them do it twice or 3 times a week.

Grandparents
============

Sometimes they are often not sure of how much discpline to mete out which will be within their reasonable rights, other times they are ever the doting characters. I know some also bias or bo chap. My FIL, jus loves to give my gal sweet stuff just before meal time!

Eating out
==========

For us, Mondays to Fridays are cooking at home. Saturdays and Sundays will be eating out. I love home cooked food and believe its the best source of nutrients. So i always ensure my gal eats home cooked food most of the time, but she is becoming more n more picky at her meals.

Hi EHYMum,
B4 I had a maid, what I do is to make steamed dishes. I know it's not really yummy but then it's still better than eating out too much.

Hi Cuddles,
How was your weekend ?? Hey, this Friday's class only 1/2 day. 1230-3pm.

HI Cuddles,
We eat at home on weekdays bcos of school the next day. However Sundays, we will eat out either lunch or dinner but at least 1 home-cooked meal that day...can't eat out both meals.

Hey Cuddles,
Do you help your daughter with her Chinese book review homework ?? My boy came back with 2 reviews to be done and I find myself doing them....had to read the stories and understand to answer the questions. Then our dear friend just copied the answer on the sheet of paper.

Hi Rains,
Hope your child is much better.

Hi Janet,

When we had a maid last time, we would have fried rice, curry chicken etc cos got someone to clean up the oily kitchen after that

What special occasion is it on Friday ? My boy said no school on that day but I have yet to see any formal announcement from the school.

Wen,

Did your boy mention anything about Friday ?

HI EHYMum,
Now that we have maid, we get to enjoy fried fish, western food bcos got someone to clean up. If no maid one day, will be back to steamed/boiled food. Alamak, where got time to do cleaning up on top of other housework ??

My son told me the teachers are attending some MOE seminar, so class is only 1/2 day. Your son lagi shiok, no need to go to school.

Hi Janet

For our weekends will have 1-2 homecook meal and the rest eat out. Eat out too often also dun knwo what to eat.

Ya. this fri they are on half day sch. Gotta remind my maid abt it cos will be out. So you have a younger gal and the maid at home with you? What do you do everyday after your boy goes to sch?

I havent hear anything about the chinese book review.. either my gal's class hasnt start or she has not been telling me.. But i do find my gal's class form teacher always not in. My gal will come bck and say Mdm See din come today. Not too happy about this.

Agree with you about the Comprehension. Its the same for me. I thot my gal has difficulty to understand the story enuff to answer some questions. Now am training her by making her read stories, close the book and tell me what is it about.

Janet, EHYmum

thats true, bef I had a maid, we avoid deep frying, else i need to clean up the oily kitchen. Actually I avoided cooking altogether. Most time we eat at my mum's plc.

EHYmum...no leh, i have not heard from my boy about Friday. I didn't know there's no school on that day. Like that will make us working parents very busy...sigh...

He only mentioned 1-Aug is "be yourself day" and they can wear whatever they like to school.

Janet,

Not to mention about finding time to do the other household chores but I have to physically sit with my boy else he won't do his work. So normally I just go for those real easy to cook dishes whereby I can just throw in rice cooker or oven or steam.

Wen,
I'm still waiting for the formal announcement from the school for this Friday. My boy didn't mention anything about 1st Aug leh.

Cuddles,
Actually the story book review is the kids' chinese homework. My son simply asked me to translate the story into English !!!

We eat deep fried food only once a while and usually outside. At home, it's usually stir-fried.

When my son is in school, I watch TV & play with my gal. Sometimes we go to my mum's place and then go out to IMM or Westmall.

EHYMum,
My son is having sports day-cum-National Day celebration on 8 Aug. Nothing special about 1st Aug. Yes, I have to physically sit beside when he does homework every night, or else he will write terribly and get distracted by slightest thing. Or else he will run around.

EHYMum,
I think when we have kids at the same age, it's expected. Wonder when they can start doing homework on their own. My friend has 2 kids just a year apart and have to run between 2 rooms bcos they can't do homework together. Her son is P2 and daughter in P1.

janet

now that i am not working F/T, need to know what to do and not lose my self value.

My mum and I usually shop at Lot 1, Causeway point and occasionally westmall. Saturdays we will be in town.

Jus been to IMM last Sunday after a long long time. Wow, surprise by the changes. Its so cool now. Too bad we were there quite late and after gog to Starhub and dinner, we did not manage to shop. Will defintely go again soon but parking is horrible.

mommies

I am so angry with my gal today. She lost her phone card, must have dropped from her purse. And only wait till this morning to tell me when she knows it since yday recess time. And she started it with a lie, saying that the card's value is used up and she threw it away. Of cos as parents, we have the intuition to know when our kids lie. The card cant possibly be finished as i remember the last check was about $2+ left. So I grilled her and found out she lost / dropped it. Think it slipped out of her purse together with her student pass, but the pass was returned to her cos it has her id. I was extremely upset not by the lost card, but her tendency to lie (this is not the first time), and her procrastination to face reality (by not telling me last evening, she can still play with her bro, watch Tv, read books last nite)and she simply doesn't value her things! hai~~~~

Cuddles
First of all, ask yourself why your girl delays telling you. Not valuing things and careless have nothing or least to do with delaying telling you. Was she afraid / tired to get scolding from you?

My girl's school mate is worse than your case. She had 54 marks for Maths SA1. She knows I and her mother are pretty close. So she told my girl she did not get back her Maths results. But my girl overheard she told another girl her results. Moreover, she came to my girl's class for correction (Section C) which I told her mum. She lied to her mum that teacher separated section A & B from C which was not the case and no need to. When her mum was wondering why her Maths results took so long to come back, I told her. She asked her daughter and she "tun tun tu tu" admitted the marks. She was afraid that the holiday trip would be cancelled due to poor results.

Another instance, she was supposed to attend CCA after test (ie standing broad jump, sit up etc etc). But she didn't go, just sit in the canteen. I don't think her mum knows.

Cuddles,
I think you need to encourage your girl to talk about what happens in school - but do not just focus on the wrong things that she did. Praise her when she is good and explain to her when she does wrong things instead of simply scolding her. Some children dare not tell their parents anything because they are worried of getting scolding.

Rains
Haven't seen your post for some days. Hope you girl is recovering well.

My niece has also been coughing on and off for a few months. Tried Chinese medicine and seen the PD a couple of times but still hasn't recovered. Recently, she went to see the PD again and was put on MC for 4 days. She was also told that she might need to be hospitalised if the phlegm gets into her lungs. Anyone has any recommendations?

Jess
S'pore Baby & Child would rent out a machine and prescribe medicine (2 types mixed together) so that the medicine can pumped into lungs when breathing. This helps to loosen the phlegm. After that take mucosolvan to dissolve the phlegm together with antibiotics. Cough medicine also have.

caroline, jess

thats why i am puzzled as we do not scold her excessively. I always like to talk to her abt her sch day and have been encouraging her to tell me what she does, how she feels. And I told her doing wrong things will not necessary get scolding but important is to admit and learn. Usually when she does something wrong, we will explain to her not scold.

Cuddles
Perhaps your girl needs repeated explanation in order to drill into her head.

Some people need to learn things the hard way. If your girl is this type, let her use her own money to buy things that she has lost. Then she would take care she does not lose it.

How about your girl does not like to "report" to you? Sorry I don't mean to be nasty, I am exploring possibilities. Some people do not like others to keep asking. You have to observe her body language. Some people when being asked only one question, can talk many many things. Some just gave short answers.

Perhaps your girl didn't see anything wrong with losing things. It is just a card. We adults also would lose things.

Cuddles,
Children are afraid their parents will scold when they lose things. I think we do feel a sense of guilt after losing something but then kids are kids afterall.
As for the student pass, I don't let my son bring it to school since it's not necessary.
Take it easy since they are still in P1 but just remind her that if she loses anything, it's very important that she lets you know asap.

I was busy with my work, so didn't have time to put up too many postings.
I'm not sure how my kid's illness is progressing becos she's still as active as ever - really don't know whether that's good or bad. Bad as in it's hard to detect any discomfort if she has any. She'll probably have another x-ray when we go back for the review.

Last night I was very angry with her. She was supposed to do some Chinese penmanship. I left her on her own for thirty mins to do my own stuff. When I came back, I was shocked to see that she was reading an Enid Blyton's book which she has read before. I was so mad I flung her Chinese book to the floor and said,"Don't do! Don't do! Tomorrow you'll get scolded by your teacher! Go and sleep!"
She cried becos I was so fierce.

I know I ought to be glad that my kid loves to read, but her obsession with reading is getting to be overboard. My husband and I find it way over-the-top.

A friend suggested getting her to do five pages of work, and reward her with ten mins of reading. But honestly, I find the need to monitor the process very tedious. I where got time to go and time her all the time? After a while, I am very sure I'd forget about it or lose track of it.

My sister suggested me locking up all the books, but I wonder if it's really good to forbid her from reading by using absolute control. Will it kill her interest in reading eventually?

Can somebody suggest something?

Rains
Tell your daughter she has to finish all school work before she do anything she likes (ie reading). Reading helps in her compo which comprises of very high percentage, as high as 40 marks at PSLE.

To score in compo requires extensive reading, doesn't matter the book she has read before.

Hi Wen,

It looks like there is school today. When I asked my boy again last night, he said there is school today *faint!!*