MOMMY CLUB - Yr 2007 P1's (Yr2000 Millennium & Dragon Babies)

Jess, we F&E too and will be staying with hubby's relatives for most of the days. It's the first time we're in Perth...will drive to Albany/Denmark and stay 2 nights. Also planning day trips to Lancelin & Fremantle. Will spend total 9 days in Perth. I'm the trip planner of our family so I get to go where I want hehe.

I stopped my son's electric guitar lessons since last month coz he seemed bored. Letting him take a break and will source for another place next year. Maybe will switch to drum lessons for him.

TO all holidaying mums & those wishing to go for a break,
It really sounds like fun with all the little
travelling journeys that you have gone, finding
new and special things for your young children, like planning.. driving.. So do add in "sweet
musical notes" on each trip overseas and share with us So that we get to "enjoy the atmosphere'' too thru '' transcontinental space--connection.''

ooo ... wen, Denmark, that's the setting of Hamlet. I didn't know Denmark is near Australia.

Shall we add each other on facebook so that we can drool over your Aussie pics? I have one for my friends and colleagues and one for mother friends on singaporemotherhood to share pics, on children esp. We can also see who we have been 'talking' to for the longest time.

Add me k? And specify who you are on the forum k? Bcos I don't want to add strangers.

Rains, haha it's a town/place in Southwest Australia called Denmark...which I read is a nice place so I wanna go see. Country Denmark is far in Europe...though I wish I could go there

Sure I can add you in facebook.

Wen,

We also planned to go Lancelin & Albany initially but in the end decided not to go because there was too much driving, very boring for the kids and tiring for my hubby. The boys prefer to eat and run around. Even playing hide and seek in our 2-bedroom apartment was fun for them.

hahaha, wen, I see. Now you know I suck at Geog.

Why Australia like to bluff people using similar names? The first time I heard a friend living in Beverly Hill (I think), many years ago, I asked her,'Oh, did you see those 90210 stars?' Hahaha! Er ... I hope you all know what 90210 is. If you don't, that means I'm too old liao.

Rains/Yawn Yawn,
We are of the same generation. I am a 'RAT' (1972).

Wen,
You're going to Perth ? Nice relaxing place. I miss Perth too. Went there donkey years ago, and stayed at Joondalup. It was the 1st week of winter then. Enjoy yourself

Janet,

Add me on facebook lah. Wen looks so young, like a school girl, goodness! Wen, you gave birth in your teens is it?

Janet,
Your email address is not complete leh. How to add?

Familyfirst,
Is that your personal facebook? Or is that some organisation's facebook? I'm sorry but it sounds like some tuition centre's facebook.

Haha Rains, I have a plump baby face la...I'm year of RAT too.

Janet, it's first time for us in Perth...relaxing place with beautiful sky. The weather is hot so I'm getting tanned. We just had so much fun doing sand-boarding in Lancelin today. You can never imagine how small the world is...we met my boy's schoolmate while joining the sand-boarding tour. Tomorrow driving south to Albany for 2 nights.

Haha, Wen, I knew how small the world was when I took my kid to Taipei in Sept. I got her to skip school on the last day before the Sept hols, and her schoolmate next door sat behind us on the plane, and we stayed at the same hotel!

food for thought for moms
rains
To answer your query on my facebook.
Yesterday, Dec6,the news report yesterday that a lot of people indulge in the facebook (which is computer interface) and lost touch of reality.
Me, as a person , is not tech-kie .. so i introduce my facebook as the real person as i
am .. both as a working individual and concerned parent who looks for improvement in my son's
results. In twitter mom, i am so impressed with the ways Americans are able to express themselves
as a whole being-- both their success in their career and also as parents. I believe that we
also can achieve that. If we really want to dream big for our future, we need to try to
do what we want to get.

rain, janet, keyt, wen
Would like to hear your views on any life experiences that you come across this week.
This week is Supposedly to be relaxing and full of enjoyment. I am suppose to plan for both of my children's birthday too.

Hi, I am on Facebbok too. But I don't like to pose pixs, update on status etc... on the internet, even though I know I can set certain privacy rights. I only use it to connect with my ex-classmates and ex-colleagues ocassionally.

I didn't set up a facebook account. Don't have that many friends, only a handful of close ones, can just sms regularly. No one to connect to on facebook leh

Aiyo, I used to be like you leh, jesschan and yawnyawn. Never set up a facebook account at first. Then my supervisor 'invited' me to set up one, so I had to set up one. Then I didn't know how to use it even. Until a friend told me you could add pictures on it and update your friends what you've been doing.

I asked my friend,"Why must let people know what you've been doing recently?"
She replied,"Oh, it's like your blog lor. We're 'lao tao nao (老头脑)' liao. Young people like to tell others what they are doing."

Then I wanted to be 'fashionable' and be young tao nao. So I went to post some pics on it. It's not so bad lah. I get to know what my friends have been up to. I don't have many close friends also. But it's nice to be connected to your secondary schoolmates. I tried to find my primary classmates but cannot. Hahahaa ... everybody uses christian names liao. Nobody uses hanyu pinyin name anymore.

But I set up another one purely for forum mothers to show pics of my kids and to know who you've been chatting with on forum.

Saw a video clip on a 'Stephen covey 90/10' principle. Its worth watching. Maybe sometime later, if I can learn to control..my response..
then i share with you.
I chatted with one Overseas mum on the food recipe and frustration she had with a 1yo baby
feed (that i am facing currently). My gal's always have 1/2 bottle unfinished after her porridge. Cannot pin down the reason? mood/ untastyfood?

Really do treasure this chat group becos yr sentiments amd mine almost similar..
my hubby'is the controlled one' in the house and i am the one who lets off the steam immediately when son did not eat his veggie. home habits must be cultivated from young..some mom I come across are so engrossed with flashcards for their 3-9mths

Sorry, janet..
I missed yr advice regarding BabyCloth..i just browse again to see who's out of town and realise that rain's Genting Trip -arrange for this week?
? I myself cannot remember which cloth to usefor cleaning what... Janet, how did you separate each cloth ?

Wen,
Perth is nice and relaxing. I enjoyed the place we stayed. It's just beside the golf course.

Familyfirst,
My white cloths are for the kitchen/food-related. For kids, they have cartoon designs. I am a SAHM, so I do see what the maid does.

Me not gone to Genting yet. I went to Malaysia for a few days for my uncle's death anniversary. Back for one day and tomorrow I'll be off to Genting.

Janet, Rain and mums on holiday mood at least
Re the cloth, I realise it take some discipline as I tend to just wipe my child clean and pass it to my maid, which i am not really sure where it goes and then if it's washed or not! My hubby last time used to smell every cloth just to check. If a thing is really a Big concern, to avoid me being a volcano monster, I need tospell
out steps required for me and maid, where to hang clean baby stuff, where to dump dirty cloth.This New year resolution, i need to calm my
HOT temper. after eat much Ginger. I am seeking a " Guo lai ren- experience mum who say she's used to be like that" counsel in Singapore. If I am cured, I will let you know the outcome.

Familyfirst,
When I had a maid, I had to control my temper or else kenna jailed for maid abuse. The things they do really get on your nerves despite repeated reminders. Then they will say, 'I don't know'.

Janet and all mum who knows
My hubby kind and ók'say maid are human-come here to work for their family.. don't expect them to super take care of ' master''s thing.
DH feedbacks that his colleague at work place also just quited work becos her indonesian maid, they don't feel safe to let her fetch the child to school. They also have short memory, on the dishes and recipe taught. I simmer for awhile sometimes n then when i keep too much( Qi), I have a big balloon of gas.

Familyfirst,
I do understand the part about leaving their families behind to work overseas. In fact, I am not harsh on them and treat them as part of the family. It is when I go easy on them and they climb on top of my head.
BTW, my maids vacuum the floor everyday but mop 2x a week. Neighbours ask me why not mop everyday but my vacuum cleaner is the water-suction type and does a good job.

Anyway, I am relieved not to have a maid now, of course my house is not super clean but then what the heck.

Rains, just to update that Learning Lab called yesterday and alloted a class (English) to my boy. Told me science classes are full...anyway I have decided not to sign him up for science yet. So I guess it takes about 2 months from the time I apply. I opted for a weekday class.

Wen,

Thanks for updating me. Their science class isn't as popular as English and it's full! Have you thought about enrolling your kid in Maths as well?

Why weekday huh? I thought weekends are usually more popular.

Rains, my dad can help me send and pick him during weekdays. Plus my boy already has other classes on saturdays and we wanted to have the whole Sunday free from class. Anyway since weekends are very popular I assume gotta wait very long so I ask for weekday hoping to shorten the waiting time. But it may not be the case coz my friend's kids got weekend places within the same timeframe as me.

About the science class, I'm guessing they may have fewer classes so is easily full. I know there are other slots available for English during weekdays so should have more classes for this subject.

Their approach is very professional...listed almost 10 stationery items my boy has to bring during class. When I go down to make payment, they will give him a short (5~10mins) orientation of the center. Heard from my friend they require also the children need to sign on an agreement to do homework form ;p

Yes I am all for maths enrichment. He is taking maths olympiad class at another enrichment center on Saturday.

yawn yawn, yes the fees are the same for weekdays and weekends. My boy doesn't need to take the placement test...I would have preferred him to take. Anyway I assume it's note required for majority coz my friend's gals are not required to take too.

hi Rains/Janet,me good...

rains, depends on what you want to do there.. on avg i think 5 days is enough.

Janet, sad to say i dn shop much cos its winter and the things r not to my liking... though i was super tempted to buy a pair of boots to keep for my next winter trip. but decided not to....also my son attributed to not much shopping cos he just want me to carry him....

this trip was too cold that i was underpack my clothes...

Dorothy,
Maybe you can consider going to HKG again in June when there are more appropriate things to buy...winter season stuff not suitable here.
BTW, how old is your son now ?

Rains,
I think HK is not all about Disneyland. Dorothy can go there again to shop. Shopping there is much better than SG.

School is going to reopen in 2 weeks time. It's busy, busy time again.

rains, i like the way u put in....
"finished with disneyland"

i will love to go hk again... maybe in aug.. end of summer sales... no lah... not so soon...got to save up!

janet- heehe... he is 22 mths old

Dorothy,
I still have that HK pot you got for me in HKG...for display though

How fast time flies! He's already 22 months old.

Merry Christmas to all of you.

Jess,
Mine is still in the holiday mood. She asks me to take her to Sentosa and Bird Park. But I must say we did very little this hols.

Wen,
I called up Learning Lab this morning to query about my application. To my horror, the girl said the application was 'wrongly' filled in. She said I put in 'P3' for my kid and so they bunch in my kid with their P3 classes which they are doing up now! I didn't think I filled in wrongly. After I put down the phone, I went back to check on the form I faxed in and saw that I put 'P3' no doubt, but the form stated to put in the level for '2009'.

I'm abit miffed bcos it's clearly their mistake but they said it's mine.

She said they've already done the P4 classes. Then it seems to me that the weekend classes will not be available since my kid wasn't even in their list when they did up their P4 classlists.

Rains,
We are also quite "toned down" after we came back from Perth, didn't do much except going to Sentosa to take the Luge and had a few good meals and bought some toys. Not much outdoor activities because the weather is very unpredictable.

Actually I prefer the last week to be more low key, easier to condition them back to school. My younger one joining P1 next year, think he is a little worried though he didn't say much about it....

Rains, you're right to put P3 since the form states 2009...they'll need to rectify their mistake. However, weekend classes are very popular so you may need to be on wait list.

This holiday has been full of activities for my boy i.e. Perth trip, robotics class, cycling at East Coast, Christmas gatherings etc. We'll be having another gathering this weekend...guess it's play all the way till school reopen. He's looking forward to go back to school so I think he is prepared.