MOMMY CLUB - Yr 2007 P1's (Yr2000 Millennium & Dragon Babies)

Jess,

Why did you say that the book dictionary is more useful in exam? I thought the electronic one is more useful becos you don't have to waste time flipping the pages.

Which English electronic dictionary did you buy? Is it useful? How much is it? I don't want to buy one and have it sitting in the drawer after the first two days. Goodness, how come expenses only go up when they go up the level?

Rains,
I feel that the electronic dictionary is useful if you know exactly which chinese character you are looking for. But if you aren't sure, with a book version, you can glance at more characters and their meaning at one go - instead of scrolling up and down which is more time consuming, I think.

For English, I bought Seiko's Concise Oxford Dictionary and Spell Checker at $148. It also comes with a simple calculator and few other functions and most importantly, it is light. But honestly, the book version is good enough for home use if not because he needs to bring it to school daily....

Jess,

Oic. I'm not sure how time-consuming scrolling up and down is until I get hold of one first. I remember feeling 'time no enough' during an exam that allowed us to bring in a dictionary, so I thought even if you bring in a bulky dictionary, may be useless as well. Thanks for sharing!

I was thinking about buying an English electronic dictionary but I'm not sure how useful it is. It's nice to just key in the words and get instant definition, but I don't know if my kid's sense of novelty will be sustained for only the first few days and chuck it aside after that.

dear all
Actually its 2 side of a coin, whether a child prefers to do the check electronic dictionary
or the book version. My boy prefers the electronic stuff n it's better to stick to one.
- Main concern is how to use it.
Re CCA
my boy isnt' lucky to convert CCA to DSA becos he's not sports inclined. He took up IT stuff and sucks at his physical fitness. He's aimingfor silver though he can't even pass some of the bronze requirement..
For mums like Dorothy and wen,jess whose kids have varied interest, its good to keep up their cca.. (becos frankly my son feel bored with tons of homework and durin holidays -difficult to get him down to do assessment)

Rains/Wen/Dorothy,
I forgot why we got him the Besta one either...didn't know Creative has a model which is allowed to be brought into exam hall.

The latest Besta we bought is ex...it took me some time to decide bcos I had to make sure it wont be a white-elephant. This Besta has built-in Oxford dictionary, Chinese dictionary, Chinese-to-Eng, Collins (separate CF card). I am using it a lot. Also has Phrasal verbs & idioms. Rather useful bcos no need to refer to dictionary. All built-in. Usage-wise, fortunately it's easy.

Familyfirst,
I've just started my boy on the basic assessment book - grammar/vocab/comprehension/cloze for Eng.

To update, we went for the piano lesson with the new teacher yesterday. She's also a Chinese national and her accent is rather heavy. But she seems patient and encouraging and said that my kid should find Grade 1 easy, so I'll probably settle for her.

I've called the other CCA teachers regarding other CCAs that my kid is keen on but they all said they met their quota already. I think she's quite disappointed but no choice already. She said she thought I die-die wanted her to join the current CCA when it wasn't my intention. I told her I have never forced her to do anything and so why would I do it this time round? I didn't know she didn't even try out other CCAs on the CCA orientation day.

Re: Electronic dictionary
I have the privilege to borrow a Creative one from my colleague till we get a Besta one.
I think the primary reason for my kid to want the Besta one is becos 'there's pink colour'.

Would you allow your kid to go for a one-week immersion programme in China? It's not for language purpose, more for Science - about aerospace. It cost $1600.

My kid is keen (as you now should know, she's keen in just about everything), but I'm thinking more about the relevance and whether it's worth it.

re:house practice
i dun know whether is it compulsory. i wanted to write in to execuse her from it. but she claimed that she wans to go. so bo bian got to tong for 1 term.

re:CCA
cos my gal was in band since P2.. she is playing the cornet(not sure i got the spelling correctly). last yr, she wanted to quit cosher best friend quited. but we stopped her cos we felt that it is a waste.
the fri lesson is for her level n sat one is combined.

re:electronic dic
hmm... most of the time, hers is just a white elephant... aiya.. luckily, not the high end model

rains,
if time permits, i will... but can her interest last?

Rains,
If my son has a chance to go for an overseas immersion program, I will definitely let him go. I think it is a good opportunity to learn independence and other non-academic skills. And being a school trip, I am sure the teachers will plan it properly.

I always tell my children not to miss any opportunity to experience new things in school - be it participating in a competition, performing on stage, being a prefect, learning a new sport or whatever - because at the end of the day, these are the experiences that will add colour to their school life, not just how many As they get.

Jess,

But will the kid think that these non-academic things are more important instead? How do you strike a balance between the two? I realised my kid started to think that academics are not important when there're other things to do. I can't remember what, but I had to tell her very specifically that studies must come first repeatedly.

I know that if I ask my family members, they will say no bcos my kid is not very independent. Despite having used her asthma medicine for years, I still need to tell her every morning and night repeatedly to use it. I've never been apart from her for so many days. I don't know if I myself can take the separation. I find myself more attached to my elder kid than my baby. I don't feel as much anxiety and worries when I'm not with my baby.

Rains,
We often tell the children that doing well in studies doesn't guarantee career success but it is a basic necessity. I am not sure about my younger one who just started P1 but my older one does understand that his top priority is academic studies. In fact, when he told me that he wish to join the Entrepreneur Club, he told me that it doesn't clash with his Chinese enrichment class on Fridays.

I think no kid will become independent if we as parents do not let go first. It is natural for us as parents to worry but you will be surprised that they can actually do a lot of things by themselves if given opportunity. I have 2 nieces of the same age, both in P5 this year. One looks so frail and is such a picky eater. The other one is so independent - she wakes up herself every morning, bathes and gets her own breakfast etc... before waking up her daddy to send her to school since P2. She even irons her parents clothes during the school holidays when they are at work. And interestingly, her family is much better off compared to the other niece.

Haha, Jess,
Your 'frail and picky eater' niece sounds like my kid. I was just using the word 'frail' to describe my kid yesterday, and she's truly a picky eater.

At P5, she irons her parents' clothes. Wow, that's impressive!

I think you're right. When my kid was young, I did let go of many things and she was better off in the independent department. She bought newspapers from the vendor on her own, with me in a distance, at 3 years old. She placed order for food for herself and grandmother at 5. But my sisters criticized me for 'ill-treating' my kid, said that I was a 'neglecting', 'disinterested' mother, doesn't help my kid in this and that and wasn't as nurturing as my younger sister who was also a mother. Eventually I gave in and tried to be 'nurturing'. But I think it makes my kid soft and dependent actually.

I find that this thread gives me a lot of wake-up calls in the mothering department.

Rains,
I think it is just a matter of making calculated risks. I read from somewhere that bringing up kids is just like flying kite. You need to let go at times for the kite to fly high but at times you need to pull back to maintain control. And if we are not careful, the string will break. We are all learning to fly the kite.

Jess,

I wanted to laugh when I read your last sentence 'We are all learning to fly ... kite.'

'Fly kite' no need to learn. haha...

Jess,
It's true we parents have to learn to let go slowly. Kids will never learn to be independent otherwise, but have to guide them slowly how to do so. I find it hard to let go but if I dont do so, I will go crazy.

I just showed my kid how to use the Creative dic, and she now wants Creative one. I told her to wait for the Besta stock to come in first then decide.

Rains,
When it comes to 'flying kite' with regards to raising kids, it's not easy. HaHaHa. Every stage has its difficulties. From those infant days to toddler, pre-school and now school-going stage, the headaches are endless. Furthermore, every child is very diff and using the same approach will not work.
I tend to spoil my son a bit and he's rather dependent on me. That's why I find it hard to let go (slowly) now.

rains, no need leh

actually i am one who do not want to let go...
imag when my 23mths went to school the first day, i actually shed tears(dun laugh at me ok...)imag when he is gg to be enlisted...

i know when u meant when you said tat u got to remind your gal on everything... i do that too... so maybe u might want to let her go for the trip... u be surprised how she can cope!

re:my gal's schedule
latest update! her mon is burnt! got remedial

My boy took public bus by himself for the first time few days ago as he had Malay conversation class after school. We let him coz it was a simple route i.e. take from school to interchange and walk to cousin house. He was really pleased with himself...saying he's a big boy now
I'm proud of him too.

Actually made him call me several times at certain points i.e. when he leaves school, when he takes the bus, when he drops off etc...until he started complaining i asked him to call too many times ;p

With his Malay class, CCA, Learning Lab and supplementary classes, he could only attend student care once a week. So I'm probably going to pull him out since no point paying for 4 attendance a month.

Dorothy,

I think the first separation resulting in mothers tearing is normal bah. I remember being full of anxiety when I first let my kid go to a playgroup when she was 18 or 20 months. I was so worried that she might get bullied or abused by the teachers I waited outside the closed doors of the playgroup centre.

I'm worried mainly over the Seretide - her asthma medication. She seems to find it a chore and tries to avoid using it whenever I forget to remind her. So I'm even more worried that if I'm not with her, how can I ensure that she uses it twice a day? Unless I get the teacher to remind her, but it's like imposing on the teacher. The teacher might get another child to remind her and she could get away with not using it after all. She had resorted to going into the room and walking out after a minute or two, and told me that she's used it already when she hadn't! I often have to give a lecture on how it's for her good that she uses it, but she hears it until sian and finishes my sentence before I could.

I'm still thinking over it though, can think until 20 Jan. The cost is something I want to deliberate over. it's over $200 per day. I am not sure if it's worth it.

She'll have another immersion programme in May, locally. That I'm not so worried becos it's based in a campus near her school. I intend to let her join that becos exam would have been over, I presume, and she would have more schoolmates and classmates with her. This particular immersion is to train their independence which would be good for her.

The only reason I would like her to go is the environment - China, but like what Dorothy said, could the effect last? Is skipping school for a week or so worth the trip? Actually it's something supposedly simple, for the worry wart that I am, I think about so many things.

Wen,
I look forward to the day that my kid will take a public bus on her own. She once took an MRT on her own by mistake when she was barely 7. We all thought she was lost. I was worried sick and I ran to her, almost in tears, when I saw her.

I never sign her up for the Malay class becos I feel that without 'immersion' for the benefit of practice, she'll forget about it soon enough.

Wah, what supplementary and remedial classes do your kids have? I thought only P5 or P6 got supplementary classes.

rains,
the malay lesson is compulsory...
in fact, all the after school activities are all arranged by the school.

actually, since mid last yr, i have withdraw her from school bus as the school moved back to their original site which is 2 street away, abt 3 bus stop n some walking... despite of that, the bus fare did not redeuce. so now, every monring, we will send her n coming back she will take public transport.

Dorothy,
I didnt expect Malay to be compulsory, but your daughter is really a busy little girl. We all shed tears when our precious kids go to school. My heart aches when he is busy studying for his exams, or when I think of him going for NS next time.
Yesterday when I was at the kindergarten waiting for my gal to be dismissed, I saw a boy (pre-school) pining for his mother when the teacher carried him to the lift. He was crying and calling out. At that moment, my heart melted.

Wen,
Your description of your kid taking bus on his own sounds familiar... My boy started taking public transport on his own last year. I accompany him for about 2 weeks of school before letting him go on his own. But I equipped him with a handphone and he had to call me when he reached school. Now he is much more confident travelling on his own and I let him to do whenever it is a short journey without having to cross any road that has no traffic lights. I also send him to run simple errands now and then.

dorothy

Me too! I find it hard to let go. Even my dd noticed & commented I'm over nurturing. Ok lah, my fault, she's not independent at all. I'm still packing her school bag!

Rains...in HP, there is supplementary class for all kids since P3. Understand from a friend that as they go higher primary, more of their afternoons will be occupied. His Malay conversation class is optional and I let him go since it's free and it's also a class I won't send him to on a normal basis.

Yawn Yawn/Dorothy,
My son isn't that independent...I check his school bag still, esp when it is very heavy, to see if he has brought too many books. Maybe bcos he is my first child and only son.
but with my daughter, I find I can let go more.
Oh no, I think I will cry when my son goes to do his NS.

Rains,
In my children's school, they also have supplementary classes from P3 onwards. My P5 niece has to stay back in school 3 or 4 days in a week till about 5pm. Schools these days are really driving the children very hard....

How are your children's PE lessons in school? My kid often complains that they spent a lot of time changing into PE attire, gathering at the field, collecting PE equipment, briefing etc... there is barely 10 minutes of real PE time.

Jess,
Why do they spend time changing into PE attire? Don't they wear PE attire straight to school?

My kid's school hasn't started on supplementary for P4. I doubt they will have it for P4. The school often asks the parents not to send kids for academic enrichment classes but I think I am the only one who listens, and it doesn't do my kid justice. Learning lab is still asking me to wait for '2 more weeks' tho.

Rains, their school has a rigid school rule - all children except P1, must wear formal school attire at all times except during PE lessons. Hence they have to change into PE attire before PE lesson and change back to formal uniform after lesson. The boys will usually wear everything underneath their formal shirt and pants, so changing is faster. Not sure do the girls do the same...

I am surprised to hear about your kids' school not having supplementary class for P4, most of my friends' kids started these classes in school from P3.

When I attended the P1 Parents' Briefing 3 years ago, the HODs' message was "please do not send your kids for enrichment classes". This year, I attended the briefing again and the HODs said,"your kid need not know this xxxx yet, but if your kid is fast, you can teach him xxxx first to prepare him early."

Jess,
I didn't know the school is rigid about the attire. Rather time-consuming to have to change to PE attire and back into formal attire after that. No wonder your son complains about just having 10 min of PE.
Your kids are 3 years apart. So far, do you see much difference in the syllabus ?

Jess,
Ya lor, your kid's school so rigid about attire. It's so troublesome to change into and out of the PE attire. Time to change the principal. haha ...

Supplementary class
Actually the schools that I know of (in the north area) don't have supplementary classes until P5, so I'm surprised to hear that it's not common to not have supplementary in P4.

Yeah, they say the children will catch a cold wearing sweaty T-shirt in class. I also hope to see a change in the "head" but I heard that nowadays the term is much longer, is it true?

Those schools that I know having supp classes are mainly from South clusters, I think.

Jess,
Yes, it's true. Can't remember the exact years but it's longer.

Oh, the rationale sounds nice enough, but it's alot of inconvenience to the kids, and I think the statistic for kids catching a cold from wearing sweaty t-shirts is not substantial leh. Every day the kids still go to school healthy and strong what. They play even more during recess. All sweaty from the top to bottom, and they are still fit like nobody's business. So the theory is quite weak. Probably the heads themselves don't exercise much.

Can. Why not? You barge into the general office and complain to the principal. Threaten to complain to moe. They sure give in.

Rains/Jess,
During my son's P1 orientation, I was surprised to hear that the kids are allowed to wear PE shirts and shorts to school, both girls & boys.
So, my son got to wear PE attire 3x a week when he was in P1 and P2.

Jess,
Have you thought of asking the HOD for PE about this ? The kids dont get to enjoy much PE time with all the changing of clothes. It's really ridiculous.

Can you advise me about this DSA thing ? Does it only apply to P6 ?

Jess,
My son wears PE attire to school 2x a week.

I wonder how long a principal's term is. When my son started P1, there was a new principal transferred over that same year. She is very a academic driven lady.

Janet,
Mine has a new and younger VP who joined last year and he is much more "on". I am starting to see some positive changes going on in the school, hope to see more....
You can read more about DSA on MOE's website http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/admissions/dsa-sec/
I think the kid can apply to a secondary school of his choice some time in term 2 of P6, before taking PSLE, under the DSA scheme. But there may be tests and interviews.

Janet,
Yes, it only applies to P6. It's short for 'Direct School Admission'. If the child has a good portfolio in something, he can apply to his desired secondary school before psle. I'm not sure how true this is but I read on another forum that you'll be admitted to the school if you're accepted at dsa as long as your psle score meets the express stream standard.

I'm also not very sure of the whole thing. The only thing I know is you stand a very good chance if you're a national champion in something, provided you pass their tests and interviews lah.

Jess/Rains,
Thanks for your reply.

Jess,
With a younger VP, hopefully your son's school will have better improvements for the benefit of the children. Certain old 'laws' should go.
My son's school has a new VP starting from this year...used to have 2 VPs.

I note that some schools have 2 VPs - one to handle non-teaching functions and the other to handle the teachers. The younger VPs are more "on" because they still have a long career with MOE ....

Oh yes, tell me about it.

Our lives are hell ever since the new vp came. Now they say for a good work-life BALANCe, the school will ONLY allow us to work from 7am to 6pm and after that, the office staff will go home and we've to go home too. Sounds like a BIG bonus huh?

After 11 hours in school with the meetings, workshops, supplementary, rehearsals, events and miscellaneous preparations subject to the bosses' satisfaction and asking you to add on here and there by our own magical power of producing materials and resources, we go home to do up more lesson plans and resources for another 3 or 4 hours. Marking will be done in your dreams.

I'm sorry, mummies. I'm just so angry with the lousy place. I really hate myself for not asking for a transfer last year. I don't know how I am going to hang on for another 11.5 months.

Rains,
My cousin is a VP in one of the elite schools and her working hours are extremely long, including weekends. On some occasions, they even have to perform in the neighbourhood for the residents or to welcome the MP/Minister. She spends so much time in school such that she doesn't even have time for her own teenage children and her husband had already passed away a few years ago. She is a very nice lady and I really pity her.

I think the VPs are also under tremendous pressure to perform. In fact, I think nowadays, most workplaces are like pressure cookers, how to have work life balance?

Hi Rains,
Being a teacher is no joke now.
I have a friend who is a teacher currently serving her bond. HODs want teachers to give worksheets, but yet limit them to 100 pieces of plain paper per term. Then like what you mentioned, meetings all day. She used to be teaching in one of popular schools in Bukit Timah, and teachers go home in the evening even though it is single session.

It's ok, do vent out your frustrations. We understand. How is it possible to have work life balance now ?