MMI @ katong shopping centre

nuahcouple
yes... i'm aware of Adel. During the 1st wk when i was with him, i was quite worried as Ethan tends to follow him around. But as he's on half day & stick to Wang Lao Shi, i hope things r not as bad.

His age gap with mei mei is 18 mths.

hi babyethan,
thanks for sharing your experience, strange that water bag can leak.

hi elaine,
the closure for 26 oct is after concert. Is ZH ready for the concert? patrick kept saying he will be the audience, no need to perform, wierd.

hi jamie,
how about teacher's day, are they close?

smallbell
yes they are close on teachers day.

does patrick need to perform? maybe no rehersal yet so he tot no need to perform lah

smallbell,
Zhaohui didnt mention anything abt e concert, last time Yu lao shi ask me to train him to jump instead of gallop cos he is too use to galloping from e previous playgroup cos now when teacher ask him to jump he will gallop.... hahahaaa
but now Yu lao shi give up liao... few wks ago she told me nvm let him do watever he wants.... :p
hi jamie,
rehersal in end OCT then actual concert in end nov.... maybe Patrick like to see his classmates dance so he says he wants to be audience... so cute...

hi jamie,
we had to purchase a tailor made costume months ago. I think the practice should have started.

hi elaine,
oh, then could october closure be for the rehearsal? BTW, ntuc income center stage is really nice, mmi already had concerts there for past 2 years. At the end of the show, they will open up the back curtain and while teacher and students perform, you could see the perfect view of the whole marina, merlion area. You could bring camera along to take photos but not necessary video. As the school will engage professional to do the video recording but need to purchase. I think around $20 for the disc.

elaine
u must be looking forward to the concert since its ZH debut performance

smallbell
u didnt ask patrick what costume he wearing? shd be able to tell wat he's performing then

bbethan,

wow An An pinched C again on the hand and has the marking/scar!!!.......partly C's fault too as she "snatched" An An things...bt then I told Tina yes is C's fault bt An An shld not always pinched or sratched ppl!! plus her nails not cut again!!!

tina told me C has learned to protect and be agreesive now after being scratched or pinched by An An...............

I keep telling Tina, her parent's shld teach her daughter!!!!!

nuahcouple
oh dear... maybe u shd wait for her parents one day and tell them off. is she always doing it to C only? hv u ever tell Tina u will withdraw her if nothing is done by the sch?

hi jamie,
don't think costume ready yet but good idea, will ask him next month.
does shaw have school concert?

hi nuahcouple,
opps, this cannot go on, your girl might have phobia in future. Do consider changing school.

nuahcouple
i agree with the others, shd seriously consider changing school. i really cant tolerate such behaviour fr this bully & the school cant do anyting abt it!

your princess so poor thing, means everyday hv to check to see if there's any "new" bruises or cut kenna in school ah? its definitely the parents responsibility to discipline their child but the school must also be firm to the parents. i really buay tahan that the school refused to do anything abt it. still got the cheek to tell u C has learnt to protect herself after kenna all these fr that bully!! u shd consider bbethan's suggestion, tell tina u will withdraw C if nothing will be done to resolve this. kids are suppose to learn & hv fun in school, not to get bullied & suffered!

smallbell
the school concert in shaws are only for K1 & K2 students.

smallbell
i'm not sure leh but i would think not necessary since our child is not performing? however there's a nursery show in dec so this could be for nursery parents.
will u be able to go for the concert? since it could be near to your due date.

Patricia,
Hope everything's well with you. Drink lots of water and rest well.

nuahcouple
I've heard of such unreasonable parents before. Super stuck up parents. Honestly it won't help if you spoke to the parents, they will snap back at you unless you are able to "fight them back with words". Someone I knew changed their son from my older girl's CC when he was K2. He was adjusted to place and it was his last year but still.... as parents you'll feel relieved.

As for schools in P1. If you join the Hokkien clan hoping to get into Tao Nan.. you have to make sure you're in there longer than 5 years.

finally brought hubby n Zhaohui to Cherie heart last saturday but there isnt any children there.
Both of them quite like e place, SiZhen dont even want to go home

But actually hubby dont quite like e Chinese teacher tat we approach cos e branch director is not ard. hai... anyway we still make up our mind to change to this school cos is really convenient for me to bring them home.
Now we still cant decide whether to start them in Dec or Jan..... hai~~

Tina did try her best already and informed the parents abt all these bt seem that the parents are not doing any thing....also tina told me partly is her fault as she promised b4 that every monday or so she will check on An an's nails bt I said this is not the point....is not her role to check An An's nails...shld be her Parents.....yes, her parents are beri stuck up and my hb dun like them.....

when tina told me that C also now become agreesive etc I was not happy bt after that was thinking she shld be agreesive at times and cannot always let other bully her.........Tina and me kept telling C dun take An An's things or if An An wants let her hv it...bt thinking this shld not be the case....as why shld C always let An An hv it...An An shld learn to share and behave herself!!!

I hv been wanting to chg school for C bt she refused as she is comfortable with the teachers etc there.......

I did give slight hint to Tina bt she said kids are like that bound to hv this kind of things happened in school...I understand that bt I just can't tolerate An An and her parents!!!!

If I see An An's parents again I will tell them to teach their daughter and check her nails...Tina already called a lot of times to her parents already abt her nails bt they simply bo chap!!!!!

nuahcouple
did C take a long time to adapt to the cc when she first joined? hv u brought her to other cc to take a look?

i do agree to some extent with Tina that such things happened in sch. in the prev cc that we first enroled Ethan in earlier, there's one boy who's constantly bullying all the kids everyday. and the teachers do nothing at all cos 1) they r shorthanded and 2) they gave up hope on him. i believe it happens everywhere... difference is the seriousness and how much u can tolerate.

hv u ever talked to their parents? i doubt they will do anything even if u tell them off.

also i dun think i'll be happy to know if ethan has learnt to be aggressive in this manner. at their age, they pick up things easily n maybe the wrong way. yes...they shd learn to be aggressive when they r bullied. but what happens if they become aggressive to everyone just becos someone bullied and it becomes a habit. then they become another An An.

in fact, i realised that Ethan has become very irritable since he started cc. wonder if any of yr kids r like this. in sch, he's kwai kwai. but once he reached home or during weekend, he gets very irritable very easily. cries n throw tantrums at the slightest thing. is this becos of cc or is it a stage that they r going thru before they learnt to talk n express themselves or is it becos of #2?

hi bbethan,
Zhaohui is just like Ethan, he behaves very well in school but once after i pick him up..... then he changed completely.... gets very irritated but very little things too.... i always got to take ut e cane to make him stop. Cant stand his frustration anymore..... everything also wants his own way.... hai...

bbethan,

yes C behaves very well in school bt when she comes home..aiyo....sometimes I cannot tahan!!! and yes I hv to use cane!!!

btw, C also learn to pinch Kayler once!! I was shocked when Kayler's mom told me....C has nvr scratched nor pinched any1 or beat any1 in school nor at home with my nieces and nephews b4!! bt Tina told me recently she beat on older gal as she took her things..!! I was shocked!!!!

She must hv learned from An An and am not very happy abt it..........!!!!!!!!

hi jamie,
that's nice, nursery also got show. I don't think can make it to the concert, will just watch the vcd that they sell to parents.

Hi lily,

hi nuahcouple,
kids adapt to changes quite fast. She might cry at new cc but should adapt soon. Leaving her at the current cc might seems worst in this case.

Hi babyethan,
this is a passing phase, i also encounter during the early stage. Then when outgrown, will be ok. In school could be peer pressure and teacher pressure, so they behave very kuai.

Hi elaine,
glad they like cherie hearts, when will they switch?

nuahcouple
same sentiments as smallbell, not changing cc may seems worst coz now C already started to be agressive & learning all those scratching & pitching others in school which are not right!

elaine
good to know that the kids like cherie hearts, transition will be easier then.

hi jamie,

surprised to get my call?? heheheeee so sorry anywzy my query is being answered... they will return me e deposit
misunderstanding lor... scared me... :p

hi smallbell,
mostly likely going to letthem start their new sch in dec....orjan... still cant decide...headache...

hi smallbell,
i thought want to start in dec cos dec is sch holidays so easier for me to take leave should anything happens.... or sometimes i can take half day leave to bring them back early. if come to jan i'll be very busy

elaine
yup, was surprised u call me
glad that the issue has been resolved.

i also think to start the kids in dec coz its school holidays, i assume u "off" fr work. u mean u still need to go back to school?
it would be good to stay around with SZ for the 1st few days as its her 1st time in school.

hi jamie,
actually i'll be very busy in e 1st week of dec too
cos Kong Hwa Sch is moving once e sch holiday start so i need to pack all e things in e dental clinic n unpack when i settle in e holding sch. they put end nov to early dec move then 4dec start operating from there... so wat i need to know is e exact date they are moving my stuff.... hai.... tat's y i'm having lots of headache regarding changing of Zhaohui sch, Sizhen 1st few days... n maid leaving... then my sch moving... all like lump together... whenever i think of all these i find tat i cant breathe... sian ahhhhh !!!!

jamie,
most likely i will leave both of them in e new sch n will not accompany them :p cos if i am in SiZhen's class n Zhaohui happens to see me then he will sure want me to follow him. SiZhen is still much more independent than Zhaohui.

elaine
aiyo poor thing, really so many things all at one time leh!

oh tats good, since SZ is more independent. dont worry lah, i'm sure both of them will adjust well, especially so when siblings are in the same school

hi elaine,
since SZ more independent, then no need accompany. Sometimes i feel that let them learn to adapt will be good as well. Did teacher pass you a colouring book for ZH yesterday?

hi smallbell,
ya Thank you for e colouring book

later me n hubby will drop by cherie heart to take a look again.... hubby wants to see e teacher n children during curriculum time, if everything is alright then we will sign them up today.
As for mmi hubby decided to let ZH stay till end of e yr then change him only in Jan. I alright with it cos I'm really getting very worried recently about the moving of my clinic during e last wk of nov n 1st wk of dec then if they change sch in dec and e maid leave once after tat.... I'm so vexed abt all these....
so if jan then they get into e new CC, maid leave, school reopen.... at least i think is still better than crushing with e moving part...

hi elaine,
welcome. Opps, you mean your maid is confirm leaving too? will it be too sudden for both kids, as i am sure they are also attached to maid. Then sudden change of environment plus maid leave, they might feel sad or shock with so many changes at the same time.

hi smallbell,
ya maid confirm leaving that's y sizhen needs to go childcare. no choice lor... but so far e kids still not very attached to e maid cos basically most of the things regards to them i'll still do it for them eg. bathing,sleeping with them etc.
Just now went over to cherie heart to do e registration liao... will start both of them in jan 2010.

u r welcome but i only give e lantern with some candles n not e sweets.... i seldom give children sweets la... my job forbids me to give them sweets... heeheee

hi smallbell,
BTW there is a change in e closure of the sch, they change e closure for concertday to 30 nov liao did u receive e notice in e student handbook??

hi elaine,
thanks. Think patrick got confuse, the sweets could have been put in by teachers. Oh yes, i received the concert notice. Thanks

Oh good, they starting in Jan. How much are the school fees at cherie heart?

Anyone felt the earthquake? patrick is super scared of it now and having nightmares.

hi smallbell,
For Zhaohui-Nursery is $760
for SiZhen-playgroup is $840

after subsided is $460 + $540(less 10% for sibling) = $996 per month for both of them.

i didnt feel e earthquake becos not at home at e moment...

smallbell
yes we felt the earthquake, quite bad hor. no wonder patrick having nightmare. but chloe enjoyed the "moving" motion

hi elaine,
Oh good, the combine fees is much cheaper than if you were to get another maid. As for housework, you can get part time maid help.

hi jamie,
chloe is so brave. Patrick opens the main door to run out of the house when the earthquake occur and refuse to stay at home.

hi smallbell,
ya is so much cheaper

Patrick is so clever to run away when he knows tat he is in danger
maybe u can start teaching him tat he should hid under e table when there is movement in e house. Run away only if there is fire :p

Hi Elaine,
hahhaa, yes, told him to hide under the table but he refuse to listen. Now he everyday repeat the question on "why the earth will shake?"

hi smallbell,
yes i'm still going every weekend... last sunday was there clearing e weeds... my farm going more weeds than e actually vegetables tat i plant... hai.... is actually due to my fault. cos i wasnt patient enough to make e land clear from all e weeds, i only make e soil loose then start planting so now all e unclear weeds start going back on e soil... hai... as for my mum's side... hers is so clean n clear, although got weeds but very little only...
i have yet to finish clearing e weeds so will go over again this wkend to clear it...

hi elaine,
wow, planting on farms seems quite tough. But really sounds fun, clearing the weeds and watching the plants grow. Very soon, you will be eating organic already.

i intend to start my 2.5yr old with playschool/nursery soon.
wanted to enrol him in mother-toddler class at MMI, Mei called me 2months ago to say class starting 10 Oct (tom), but now she MIA!!
have been trying to reach her since last month, each time her staffs say she's still in US, and they dunno abt the mother-toddler class arrangement.
so, here i am... waiting and waiting until neck long long.

decided to enrol my boy elsewhere instead.
as he has never attended any class before, would prefer to start him with 1-2hr classes on saturdays.
any suggestions/recommendations around katong?

hi jas,
mei really tell u she is starting the class in 10 oct?? anyway she is really in US now.. will be back end of the month cos she send her daughter there to study. last year when my boy is there to attend e mother and toddler class mei is e main teacher so i guesss u really have to wait till she is back. if till then u havent find any suitable sch for ur boy then maybe u can try with her...