MMI @ katong shopping centre

hi smallbell,
just call to enquiry... $200++ per adult n ZH will need to pay $188 but is fullboard la... all meals n activities inclued plus 1 nite stay... but it really sound ex for a family of 4 leh... just 2d1n need to pay almost S$700....
kelong-- hubby say dangerous for e kids cos if never look after properly later they drop down e water....

hi elaine,
wow, rather ex for the fireflies tour. If just drive up yourself to desaru possible?

that's quite true, kelong also quite dangerous.

there is a current promo, from 707 Travel agency. This is for july to genting, $85 per person include coach and 2 nights stay at 1st world hotel.

finally manage to book 2 rooms at 1st world during e last wk of june holidays
finally got something to look forward to...
i never been to batam before maybe i should try it out 1 day...
it have been raining n raining these few days.... wonder how children can enjoy ur sch holiday with all these sudden rain...

hi smallbell,
me n hubby had drive up to desaru before having children but cant find all those farms they mention in e web maybe cos we dont know e way la... so i thought can go through agency..but in e end so disappointed with e high price they are charging... nvm la.... i go genting first better than nothing...
n is so much cheaper.

hi elaine,
how much you pay for 1st world room? as my mom intend to go in june with her friends. You may like to bring them to the Dazzle show at the theater, very interesting. It has magician, dancing in colourful costume, etc.

hi smallbell,
we manage to get deluxe room RM149 for fri nite n RM 189 for sat nite... so total for 2 rooms are Rm 676, so in sin dollar per room cos us ard $156 for 2 nites...
Dazzle show nice ah... i go n check it out

elaine
great! at least can look forward getting away for that few days

i'm the mountain tortise here, hv nt been to genting for decades haha...

i heard the rooms in 1st world is the smallest so thats why u take 2 rooms? actually which hotel is the best??

hi jamie,
yes is very small... is book standard room worst cos e bath n toilet are separated so it is so small tat u have to come outside to wear ur clothes... clothes n towel also have to put outside if not after u bath they will also be all wet heehee.... but for deluxe room e toilet n bathe area are total so at least bigger...

elaine

huh? sounds very small for the standard room. think will hv to ask u ladies which hotel is the best should i decide to go. believe u tried all the 3 hotels there liao

hi elaine,
i always stayed at standard room and freezing cold when got to put on clothes outside the toilet.

hi jamie,
i have not tried other hotels as most of the time i go genting during promotion so they give room at 1st world.

hi small bell n jamie,

the cost is ard $300+ per term. No homework so far for N1..yes, they do hv 2 cards per lesson on wat they hv learned n also worksheets.

I don't sit in with my gal. Think if u sit in with ur kis they dun really learn n also not encourage to sit in

hi jamie,
i also always stay in e standard rooms.... but usually try to take standard view so tat can have some nice scenary.... tried deluxe once only. usually we just grab watever rooms tat r left for e dates we want cos we always booked very last minute...
anyway i tried genting hotel b4... best of all lor... but super expensive. i last stay there was like 10yrs ago... hahah cant even remember is through agency... but e rooms are very big... can even like sleep 4 ppl...
had tried Theme park hotel family room, very spacious cos is family room... but have to walk very far to e indoor theme park... if u r going to e outdoor theme park then it will be very convenience e entrance is just outside e hotel lobby....

hi nuahcouple,
berries seems quite similar to tien hsia. They are using china teachers? tien hsia fee is $280 for 10 lesson per term, no need GST. And if miss lesson, can make up.

hi elaine,
genting hotel is the one with casino inside?

nuahcouple, smallbell
thanks for the info on the fees. will check it out.

elaine
ya my friend also told me the family room at theme park is big but long walk to the indoor theme park lor
cant hv best of both world.

hi smallbell,
i seldom go KL shopping... cos of e crowded city... i'm a very paranoid person so if hubby is to drive to a crowded unfamiliar places i will be very fearful... unless he is not e driver :p

jamie,
ya lor cant have best of both world... :p we still prefer somethg convenient n cheap la... although small...heehee

smallbell
trip was good! we mostly stayed in the resort for swimming, sand play at the beach & their kiddy's club. its pretty much self contained. we ate in the hotel although its abit pricey compared to outside but no choice lor, with young kids around. we took the cable car up the mountain, the view was spectacular! but i didnt go for the tree top walk up there coz the slope is very steep & i really no energy to carry my boy up & down the mountain to reach there. so only my hubby went with my gal.
the berjaya resort is really mega but their kids pool only so so, doesnt comes with any water slide, but we bought our own water play equipment
compared to pelangi where we last stayed, their kids pool are much nicer.
service is excellent!! all their staff are so friendly & helpful. i will definitely go back there again unless hubby wants to try other hotels.

hi jamie,
glad you enjoyed the trip and the resort is well equipped. Lucky you brought along water play items. Now you are fully recharged.

smallbell
i usually will bring my own water play items & toys along so u can imagine the size & no. of luggage we hv to bring haha....
after the trip, wont be fully recharged, actually its even more tiring

i hv signed up for a trial at tien tsia next mth
hope chloe will enjoy.

hi jamie,
oh agree, sometimes travel with kids is not that enjoyable, in terms of the energy that we used up.

You going to which branch for tien hsia? if you decide to sign up, then they consider the free trial as first lesson.

smallbell
i'm gg to the parkway branch. i prefer tien hsia's timing than berries & yu quan only hv enrichment for K1 onwards.
most likely will just sign up for a term, cant really tell if its good from the trial.

hi jamie,
parkway is new premises, all the new furniture and deco.
yes agree, normally trial cannot tell much. Maybe just give a term to see how it goes. You taking weekday class? slightly cheaper. You may also like to pay $5 to borrow home the chinese book. Every week you may bring back one borrow book to read and exchange the following week. This $5 is refundable if you don't wish to borrow in future.

smallbell
yes i'm taking the weekday class. i like that there are only 8 students in a class.

oh they hv a mini library? haha... actually i'm still struggling with some chinese books fr shaws. my chinese is really bad, its hubby's job to coach chloe in chinese.

hi jamie,
that's good, not too many students. Weekend class is packed. Some chinese books come with english han yu pin yin so should be possible for you to read. At least the mini library at tien hsia is convenient, don't need to go all the way to library to borrow.

No homework given but they will have mini folder of the worksheets that the students did in class and word cards.

smallbell
most ppl go for weekend class thats y the group is bigger. ya i agree, its convenient to borrow books, dont hv to go library.

was told there's a test every end of the term. not sure if its too difficult for nursery level haha... the staff told me dont underestimate the kids!

hi jamie,
oh the test is simple. My boy refuse to do the test in the first term and the teacher just base it on the daily class conduct to give results. Nothing big deal about the test, just make sure they learn something.

Also there is a end of term review (last lesson). The kids will perform something for parents, just stand and sing a song or nursery rhyme. So far the review that i attended, nursery class also join in. Again my boy refuse to sing the nursery rhyme but did the actions. It's rather fun.

smallbell
chloe is also like patrick. whenever there's performance she will just stand & stare at me! she was like that during her sports day & mother's day "mini performance in class"
but when she reached home, she gladly sing & dance for me. she told me she's scared, probably too shy that everybody is looking at her.

hi jamie,
hahaha...they are so similar. But we should consider ourselves fortunate, at least they don't break down to cry in front of the audience.

smallbell
chloe didnt cry during the sports day event but she DID on mother's day event leh!!

elaine
think u can check with nuahcouple. i remember she mention her gal is taking swimming lesson.

hi jamie,
what is mother's day event?

hi elaine,
i got recommended by patrick's classmate on a swimming instructor. I pass you the contact via email. Due to the timing, i am not able to start with him but positive feedback on him. He use toys so that kids will be encourage to swim and patrick's classmate could swim within 3 mths. Previously he learned for 6mths with other coach and still cannot swim laps.

smallbell
its a mini half hr celebration held in class. mothers are invited for morning tea/ coffee while the kids do a mini performance of song & dance for us.

hi jamie,
oic. If i were to stand in front of so many parents to sing and dance, will also be very scared or even break down....so chloe is very brave already.

smallbell
actually there are more ppl in the sports day event as it involves all levels. but surprisingly she didnt cry. hmm.... weird rite?