IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

JJ,

For nursery charges, it is estimated $450 for singleton. I only paid less than $30 for cash. The rest of $450 in mediave.

By the way, i have some useful stuff to pass to you. when is your EDD?

hi winnie,
I have a brand new support belt in white if you want. Original price is $39 from mothercare...im selling at $20 if u want...

Ya - i'm on FAST scheme. I've already listed a shopping list to buy from phamacy with the $100.

Just Faith - o_O so nice ... mine likely early April C-sec out (by then 37wks le)

Ok thanks gers for the advise.

pink destiny - i heard some of frens said there's a protein shake which u can take to increase the weight of the bb before delivery. after bb is out, i heard they all said bbs are growing so well and arms have muscles..maybe u can ask ur doc for advice.

winnie / rostrum - i have lower backache too when sitting for too long. My doc taught me to do one exercise. Stand straight and put both hands behind your back and very slowly arch your back to the front gently and repeat few times a day.

I find it quite useful although it will not completely eliminate the pains.

Anyone has any idea where to go for prenatal yoga and massage ?

rexxie, thanks, I will try it out tonight

U can try asking the ladies in the Mother to be - Jul thread. Think some ladies there are going for prenatal yoga...not sure about massages though, can we do it during tri 2?

rostrum - okok i will search the thread later, tks !

are u intending to go for any prenatal classes? I think we should exercise a bit before delivery. But not sure start from when onwards. I'm also vr clueless of all this..haha

grumpus, i also dont wear breastpads leh.. maybe coz my supply not alot..haha..leaking only happens when i massage before i pump. the box of breastpads i bought still brand new and not opened!

mtbs, i m letting go of the box i hv..PM me if anybody interested.

gan, i wear bra now..coz i scared will hv sagging boobs when i stop pumping..so better wear to support them. :p

Rostrum

I am hiring a maid lor, wat to do.. my mom is old and has never taken care of 2 at one go. So will need to hire maid to help her and also us out. Disliked the idea of having stranger at home, no freedom but no choice leh. even prepared to take longer than 4months if necessary to settle ourselves down b4 going back to work. Shall c hw it goes...

Am hiring at $420 + $20 no off day for 1st 6mths. Will nego with her when she reaches sg that no off permanently, thru agent's help. C what she says.

Yes indon maids $450 ler...

I think the set quite standard, as per confirmed by Liz too

One of the spree organiser did refer us to below link for the whole package
http://www.medelabreastfeedingus.com/products/breast-pumps"

Me too, worried abt the investment and not having enough determination and patience to pump.

Gan, will learn from you - pump to make $$ worth!

Liz, so no need to buy adaptor plug if we have multi plug la?

Imp22, if u dun hv enough determination to pump, just talk to Singapoh! she has been a very good mentor and inspiration that i m still pumping...

everytime i m tired n hv thots of giving up bf...i will msg her. hehehe.. otherwise i would hv given up weeks ago when i was struggling with looking after bbs. of coz hb n family support also v impt..coz u need help w the bbs when u r away pumping..

baby..b4 u let ur maid handle bb...does she play or touch ur bbs?

my maid 1st day...i told her just do hsework..no need take care of bbs yet.. just now i saw her play w my boy.. touch his face n hands n even kiss him!!!! i freaked out leh....

Pandawife ur maid has exp with kids/babies? She worked in sg previously? I m going to start looking for a maid to help my mum take care of my gal. Finger crossed can get someone good

she has exp w 1yr old bb in jakarta...in sg her last 6 mths was taking care of eldery which she dun like. i can see she likes my bbs v much... but i m not comfortable w the intimacy esp when its her 1st day n i told her she dun need take care of bbs now. just do hsework.

she does hsework v well....came less than half a day..clean up my toilet, scrub the kitchen on her own initiative...told me dirty..must clean first.

Rexxie,
I started yoga at 14wks.

Panda,
I want the breast pads!

I cannot dun wear leh, every time I change my pads they re always full full one. Cannot imagine how many times I hv to change shirt if I dun wear.

Imp,
Bf-ing is a lot of hard work and determination esp with 2. but it definitely can be done so go in with the mindset that u can do it!

grumpus, ok..the breastpads are urs! wow..i tink ur supply v good..thts y will "overflow" hee... mine pte ltd.. so no leaking problem.

u wanna collect from me? where u staying?

i agree bfing is alot of hard work...its a struggle to find the energy to bf and also take care of bbs.. but when u see bb drinking precious bm... the satisfaction is also worth all the effort.

Panda
Huh yr maid kiss yr bb ah... I will be mad if my maid does that!
My maid v auto one.. She doesnt dare to touch my bb.. She only look.. Talk to them.. Cos she knows her hand is dirty doing hsewk.. When i ask her to help me carry or feed the bb.. She will always go wash her hands first.. No need for me to tell her one...
I thk if u not comfy must tell yr maid what are the dos and donts.. Cos u wont want yr bbs to get too close too the maid..

Just now my hb and i went for a movie.. Hehe.. Its been so long since my last movie... The feeling is good.. Its like old times.. But do miss the bbs thou.. Went shopping for bbs clothes at mothercare.. Wanted to buy the pouch but the print i want dont have medium size.. I tried the sample medium but seems abit tight leh.. Dont know its cos its new so material not so seasoned yet..

Just faith
Of cos i understand gal! Cos i also want privacy as u! Hee..
I will pm u my email add...

baby, i m going thru crisis again .. aiyoh.. headache. last night i told the maid, morning wake up prepare hot drinks n breakfast for my hb first..coz he going to work. this morning when i woke up, hb told me my mum ask maid to wash clothes..so he make his own breakfast.

i foresee i will hv issues coz my parents n mil all want maid to do smthing different from wht i want her to do. my mum is the super nice to maid kind.. wanna let maid eat gd food, let her call home every mth etc.. my mil is the cannot b too nice to maid type.. yesterday both of them already "argue" over which mop the maid shld use to mop the floor! diao

hmmmm...i hv to tell the maid not to touch the bbs first...but i dunno if tht will affect how she feels coz last night when i was busy..she already touching n playing w bb. my eldest boy last night had fever after the 6in1 jab..i so worried..carried him in bed the whole night... exhausted now.. cant slp coz hv to go guide the maid in what to do.

i have 2 small tins of formula milk powder (s-26 n similac). opened but only used 3 scoops, coz my bb ger doesnt like d taste, anyone wants? sellin at 10bucks each.

Pandawife i think u need to talk to your parents n in laws in private that coz in the long run u r managing the maid, so the instruction on the chores to do shld be from u not them else next time the helper is confused who to listen to. Do u have a timetable on chores to be carried out? Maybe have a timetable then she will follow n ur mum n il won't have new instructions.
I went kk 24 hrs last night coz there was blood in my urine n my lower side was very painful. Suspect is uti but there no discomfort when I pee though there is blood . Wld be doing an urine culture n go for an u/s on 9 mar. Haiz now on anti biotic. Sianz. Pumping bm now before I take the next dosage

gan, i wanted to do a timetable, but no time.. plus smtimes i will be busy w bbs or pumping.. so i thot can let my mum/mil tell her what help they need w the housework or in the kitchen.
if possible, i dont really wanna follow schedule..but seems like no choice.

oh dear.. u drinking enuff water? if not enuff, will b prone to uti.... now i m pumping 6hrly.. not so tiring n i can spend more time w the bbs..

hope u feel better n recover soon!

my eldest boy having fever after the 6in1 jab..last night giv 1 dose of panadol..then fever subside.. but this morning came again.. just gav him another dose. he doesnt wanna sleep on his own... i carried him whole morning.. my mum just took over so i can take a break.

Gan, oh dear! Hope it is nothing serious.

PandaWife, who used to do the housework before your maid came? Suggest that you ask whoever who used to do the housework last time to assign duties to your maid. Otherwise, it will be very messy, especially when you have 3 women in the house. BTW, I also dont think it is a big problem to ask yr maid to prepare breakfast for your hubby first. It is only a 5 - 10mins thingy and she can also manage the laundry at the same time.

Baby,

Great that you guys can catch up for movies. To me, it is a luxury if hubby and I can spend time together..hehe. Even if it is just to sit down to have meals together.

BTW, my helper will be leaving end of next month. Releasing her for good as her granny is seriously ill in philippines. She wants to go back to take care of her granny and son. She's in Singapore for 4 years plus and spent 2 years with me. Really sayang... and I have to start new relationship with a stranger all over again.

If anyone knows of any good transfer maid who is available after 1st April or even later, please PM me. Will consider indonesian or burmese. No urgency but need referrals.

Panda,
it's always difficult with a maid and so many women in the hse. but i agree with gan that instuctions shd only come from one. and since u're the employer, it shd be u.
but this is only the initial teething period lah. once routine sets in and yr maid knows wat needs to be done, there won't be so many instructions flying abt already

Pandawife / just faith ya maybe didn't drink enuff but it came very sudden the pain...didn't feel anything till last night 3 am as I was pumping the pain was sharp. Was telling hubby like I'm going thru labour ... Anyway now better.

Pandawife since cny I have no schedule for pumping..=p sometimes can be 6 hrsly apart. Luckily still manage to meet my gal's demand with 1 feed at night using fm. But she is not a big drinker. No increase in vol... Hmmmm

Just faith I felt nervous at the idea of having a maid but no choice. Need to start going agencies le.... Me been abit slack in looking for a helper

Gan, I didn't go through agencies for my helpers. I usually hire transfer maid and apply online. Basically no costs involved. For me, hubby and I dont need a helper at home. We can manage both housework and babysitting at the same time. BUT.... there are times when hubby and i need to run errands together (both self-employed) and i have to leave my gal at my mum's house. that is where the problem comes, my mum need an additional pair of hands, especially, when my brother also tong-bang her two gals with my mum. sigh... i cant seemed to find the perfect plan once my helper leaves.

Just Faith,
tong-bang yr girl at my hse when u need to run errands

or hire/drop off yr girl at those per hr type of nanny/childcare

Just faith the helper I m hiring is also to help my mum in housework etc when my mum helps me to look after my gal when I m back to work.
I really dun need one n my place only 2 bedrooms, super small no privacy lor. 3 of us will share a room while the heller has the other room.

Rexxie,
Iam attending the prenatal yoga from comshambala same place where grumpus went. Samantha teacher is very good. I guess I joined in 17th or 18th week , currently going twice a week. I find it very useful. Thursday is not very crowded.. sometime Saturday its bit crowded… but now so many due to pop around 35 , 36 weeks.. so numbers will reduce .. he he … first I registered for 5 classes wherein I get a extra complimentary class for new joinee. Now renewed for 10 clasees.Though I had not done yoga before, now atleast it helps keeps flexible and releifs from leg cramps pain and sciatic nerve pain. Iam so much for drug free natural delivery.. iam not sure how much this yoga will help, it will depend on the babys position etc.. so many factors.. but still iam planning to continue till last few weeks of pregnancy.

Prenatal massage not tried yet – need this badly but little scared.

Prenatal classes – I feel I will be over stressed attending the yoga then prenatal classes etc, there r lots o books and in the internet we can read and understand. Hence no going for any classes. Might go for mums fairy
BF – one day seminar in April .

Rostrum,
Yes 3rd trimester starts from 29th week. Congrats on 2 prince’s..

Gan /Justfaith,
Thanks for the info on KK visits frequency..

Syrah,
How r u ? do u still feel the Braxton kicks.. take care.. if necessary don’t hesitate to check with doc.

Imp22,
U r in 26 weeks and mentally prepared to pop.?? When I read u and syrah next to pop.. I was like.. take it slow… long way to go he he… don’t think abt popping now ..

Pinkdestiny ,
Hey how r u ?? I guess ur babys weight is good.. enjoy ur last few days of pregnancy..

Liz,
Can u also send me list of things..to buy for baby… I have not started shopping yet.

Thanks Pandawife & Grumpus for the advice

Fancy, no la we are just counting those active in this thread will be next to pop after JJ.
I'm not prepared at all, but it is not up to us.
Heard of recent stories of twinnies popping at 24 & 27weeks too. Just want to enjoy my quieter days now

But I certainly m tryin to get most stuff done asap b4 I get too heavy n slow in 3rd tri.

winne - sureno prob

rexxie - really? Dr never said anything about protein milkshake though... however, when i checked with Angela from CARE, she advised Similac Mum 2x a day..because I lost weight during the last check (despite eating like a pig)... Dr Paul said its water loss... no concerns...
I guess I will just eat as per normal?

fancy: Im good... crossing to week 38 soon... and like what you say, really enjoying this peace and quiet... I meet up with friends for tea and meals...u know, coz soon it will be a luxury haha...

Panda: aiyo... I think u hv the final shot being the mistress of the house? How come your Mom and MIl still taking care of baby? i thought ur mom is going bk?
On Tue we chat more okies? Hang on there!

Just Faith: Hope u find a gd maid soon... im quite surprised you go for transfer maid...coz dunno y i hv the impression transfer maids are "problematic" and hence rejected? No right?
I might hunt for one in times to come too... coz after the CL leaves, its me and my own... stimes really wonder how to cope with hsehold chores (i hate mess!!), meals and taking care of the baby's needs 24/7... time to start some preliminary hunting i think...

pink d,
not all transfer maids are problematic. my mum's current maid is a transfer maid and has been with us for 4yrs already going on 5 and 6.
i guess must see the reason for transfer?
her reason was cos previous employer hired her to take care of twin girls and she found she cannot cope so ask for transfer and request to do housework only.
my mum's house all kids grown up, only housework and cooking so suited her much better. turns out she's a very good cook!

just faith.. i used to hv part time helper coming in weekly to do the heavy duty chores. my parents n mil will share the other light duties with me..whoever is free will do. but most of the time not free ..haha.. thts y need maid.

my mil cant teach the maid coz she cant communicate w her. my mum can speak malay..but wht my mum wants her to do is not the same as wht i want smtimes..i.e. the breakfast episode. the maid got stuck in the bathroom doing laundry during the time my hb needs to take his breakfast..anyway..i told everybody tht laundry can wait.. let the maid settle breakfast every morning before asking her to do other chores.

pink D, i agree not all transfer maids are problematic.. mine also transfer..n the reason is her last two assignments both looking after elderly.. she prefers to work with babies or toddlers. can see she has alot of ai xin for my babies.. everytime they cry...she will wanna run over n see wht's wrong..

gan...its gd tht u can still meet the demand leh. i m trying to stick to 6hrly..will try my best...coz 6hrly pump, just nice will hv enuff output to feed the 3 babies 2 rounds of bm a day..if i miss a pump, one of them will not hv bm to drink....

grumpus, i m trying to eat more so tht i can gain some "spares" to hv sufficient output...also worried tht my supply will be affected....

Pandawife u got 3 babies leh, 3x2 = 6 feeds a day so is like us feeding 1 baby. Moreover ur 2 boys are good drinker, so ur supply is very good!! U doing very well le. Honestly if I have multiples I doubt I can sustain.

Today got pple come to clean our mattress in case got dustmites. Just left my gal with my parents

Just faith
Try to enjoy some private moments with yr hb la.. Must take a break away from bb... Can ask yr mum or mil to help?

Panda
Aiyo so fast got problem liao ah... Too many woman in the hse liao la.. I let my hb handle the maid.. So at least only one person give instructions.. Not confusing..
I only give simple duties to my maid.. If got any issues i let my hb talk to the maid... I also lazy to handle.. Aldy so tired taking care my girls liao lor...

Give some time.. After awhile everytin will fall in place once yr maid get used to the chores...

gosh. i wanna go n admit myself to IMH!

my mil too free today.. think of weird things.. when my hb came back...went to complain and tell tales! i was inside my room carrying my boy..n girl was sleeping on my bed.. she came in n wanted to carry my boy from me..i told her no need... then she complain to my hb says i dun wanna let her carry baby!! :S

baby, i also v tired n dont wanna be bothered w the maid... but cannot leh..my hb not at home most of the days... if i dont take control..i dunno wht will happen.

i seriously wanna retire my mil.. i discuss w my mum many times..ask her to help me w/o my mil.. she disagree... my mum feels tht its my mil's responsibility to help us bbsit.. she shld not be let off just becoz she is not doing a gd job...... i told my hb i wanna go n beg my mother ... coz i really will go bonkers if i hv to face my mil anymore!

Panda - poor thing u .. u got 3 bb's yet yr MIL want to 'snatch' the bb u carrying ??
(-_- ")

My hub also scared he will be sandwiched btw his mum, my mum & me ... He said after me & my mum gang up & 'bully' his mum !?!?

Like I'm so free ... even if its my own mum I will voice out if i think what she doing is not correct. not as if I'm targetting his mum only ...

anyway really hope minimal conflict when all 3 woman gathered under 1 house hold.

Yeah call Singapoh Bf support hotline if u feel like giving up in bf. Keke..

Hey Panda, I think it's a good sign that yr maid loves yr bbs. She can be a big help to u. My maids also sayang my kids. I dun mind coz more ppl saying them ma.

Baby,

U r lucky yr hb is willing to handle yr maid. My hb bochap. Everything abt maid push to me coz I am the housekeeper managing 2 maids! I just took 1 transfer maid.
I terminated my ex maid coz she always climb up my head and I really buay tahan such attitude like "I know coz I m experienced" kind.

Today I found out from my other maid that my ex maid is actually 40 years old. She declared 3 years younger and she thought I am in my 20s coz my kids r so young. She told her I can be her daughter. No wonder she climb my head!

Panda,

Hope yr boy's fever subside now. I definitely agree, having too many women in the hse creates problems. When it was me, my mom and CL also got so many difference in opinions already.

Yr maid is Indon? How is the process of hiring? Agency will shortlist for u and then u do interview?

Justfaith,
How to select transfer maid online? I'm thinking of getting a maid to helpp my mom out after I go back to work. My current maid no experience w kids, can only do housework.

Grumpus,
Any contact for those hourly childcare services? I really wanna have some dating time w hubby once in a while but only my mom jaga two babies cannot leh. Plus my boy need 100% attention now cuz must always carry. Put down only cry. I keep wondering if that's normal behaviour. And when he cries, he can get hysterical and scream. My neighbours also know my son keep crying. Haiz...

Singapoh,

Both yr maids Indon? Do u give them time off on Sun? My current maid is Indon and she doesn't take sun off. She is our long time maid and like part of the fsmily. Now I'm thinking of getting an additional maid but need to handle properly... Cuz I'm afraid the new maid see us so close to current maid and then if new maid insist time off, current maid will feel double standard. Trying to figure this part out now.

Working wife,

Yes both are Indon with same pay. U can always ask yr current maid to guide her.

If I m not mistaken, not every family is eligible to hire 2 maids. I can because I got 3 kids. Not sure if elderly in the family are counted. If u want I can check with my agent

working wife,

Here is the link to MOM website.
http://www.mom.gov.sg/services-forms/Pages/wp-online-fdw.aspx

Select login to WP online. Need to log in with singpass. For purchase of security bond (SB) for your maid, i use Vintage Insurance Agency. You are required to fill up a proposal form and decide which insurance coverage you want for your maid. Range from $100+ to $300+ for 2 yrs coverage (also include $5k runaway coverage). Their office is located at Tanjong Pagar Complex. Same building as MOM - work pass department where the agency/employers go down to collect the work permits for their foreign workers.

Let me know if you need more info. It is really easy. For hiring of transfer maid and renewal, I DIY myself. Didn't go through maid agency. And the best part is, I have no contract with the maid. Can terminate her anytime.