IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Singapoh, are you staying with parents or in laws? if yes, thats why u r allowed 2 maids.

for me, i am staying with my MIL (her NRIC same address as mine). That's why I am also allowed to hire up to 2 maids at $170 for maid levy.

Grumpus,

Really boh? You want to look after my gal ah? Think will be too challenging for you leh... btw, if you really have good and reliable part time nanny contacts, please PM me ok? I am open to all suggestions. Right now, I can only think of my sister and mum.

Pink D, sigh! I only take in transfer maid, as it is easier for me to do her documentations online. I don't know how to hire new maids from Indonesia. Cause most maids come from very poor family back home, you will be surprised most of them don't even have the money to apply for passport, let alone pay for travel fares and agency fees. And most new maids will have common problems, like missing their home, family etc etc.. all these will affect their work performance or you see puffy eyes the following morning. This is also why I also allow my maid to call home. But after their working hrs, ie. 9pm....

My current maid has been alot of help to me during my confinement. In my opinion, she already served her purpose here. So I am ready to release her anytime. I m still very reluctant to take in another maid after she leaves.

Initial stage will be difficult for you, as we are all new mummies here... But I guarantee you loh, as long as you have someone to help you during confinement month, and when you have enough rest, you MUST also get yourself involved in taking care of your baby, you wont feel helpless after your CL leaves.

Baby,

Guess I am the only one that does not have problem with my MIL..... nowadays I really appreciate her presence, at least I can get some good sleep while she help to look see, look see my gal. hehe.

Ya, my MIl can help. But she needs to be around at her shop. And my mum is already tied up with my two nieces. See how lah... somehow or rather, i know hubby and i can manage. someone mentioned here, 船到桥头自然直!!!

Singapoh..... okie, noted.

Fancy,
Seems like the Braxton hicks were just more obvious that 2 occasions. Now it's mainly the usual tightening. Or perhaps I'm getting used to it so it doesn't bother me as much???

Oh glad to hear that u attended the prenatal yoga which I mentioned to u earlier. Pity that I cant join u. After Dr Loh's advice of no exercise n minimal walking, I decided to give it a miss. Seem like the two of us always miss the opportunity to meet up every time
we certainly have to arrange something before we pop!

Panda
Yr mum is right wor... Yr mil has to help out else its not very fair to let yr mum do all the job cos u have 3 bbs.. It will be too tiring for yr mum... Long run yr mum will feel unhappy that yr mil is not helping...

Did yr hb talk to his mum abt it? Yr hb will be a better position to handle ur mil...

Hopefully with the maid on board can help u so can slowly relieve the two mothers...

Just faith, working wife,
I know babybreeze at novena square and birth and beyond at tanglin mall used to provide adhoc nanny service. But I just googled both of them and seems they both no longer exist!

Sorry, then I dun hv any other recommendations for adhoc bb sitter. I know some agencies like amah on wheels, a-team do provide such service but I've never used them and I believe they're very ex.

The other alternative is look around yr neighbourhood for those auntie who do bb sitting. Some r willing to do adhoc. The rate is abt $10/hr.

Thanks grumpus! Really appreciate! Think I will look around further!

JJ, are you reading this? Please call/sms me before you come by my place. I will be at cck at 10am. Thereafter I need to pick up my friend fr airport at 12pm. ThInk it is safer for you to drop by my place in the late afternn.

Imp, same here. I m getting a maid to help my in laws out taking care of my babies when I go back to work. Not sure to get filippino or indo. Filipino communication is easier cos I can't speak Malay at all...

Rostrum,

Some Indon speak English like my 2nd maid. She is ex Sg and My. My 1st one speaks Cantonese. Ex Hong Kong.

Both 26 and single.

My 1st maid is very attentive to the kids. Ex maid is a mother also not like that. She has a lot of patience to feed them too.

New Mommies and MTB,
Iam entering 25th week of my pregnancy.
Suddenly i notice that my panty was really wet whne i went to pee..( never realised it before ) and it is not smelling urine at all. is it normal ? i changed now and planning to watch for few hrs.
is it a matter of concern? any leak of aminotic liquid... my god iam getting stressed now...

Singapoh, some of my frens ask me to get indo while some said Filipinos more cunning... I will see got fate to meet a good helper or not... Hopefully will not get a problematic one else will b a hindrance rather than help... Getting helpers also v headache de cos still nd to train them... Intend to arrange one nearer to my edd so tt she can learn how to cook fm my cl...

Fancy,I hv wet discharge on my panty liner sometimes but not really wet d whole liner. I m also worried is amniotic fluid but each scan my both gynaes will say d fluid is more than enuff... So I also dunno where it comes fm? Sometimes I also feel wet wet down there..

U try to email dr Loh? If not pop by kkh? But I tink u need to report to delivery suite Liao cos abv 22 weeks..

Rostrum,

Will u hv the energy and time to train a maid near yr EDD? Some CL wont teach cooking one. And yr maid will be bz with housework.

Singapoh, wat I meant is once I cross over to 3rd tri will start looking for one or maybe slightly earlier... Thus I need an experienced one... Actually I not used to hving strangers at home.. All along oni Dh n me but now no choice cos of babies... My cl is ok wif teaching d maid to cook. If really no time then my mum or fil will help.

Rostrum, hv to b a bit realistic since u hv 2 bbies...they may take up ur, cl n mum attention when they arrive. Furthermore nowadays e waiting time for a maid, unless transfer maid, can easily take up more than a mth. N then u need to give e maid some time to know how u wan things to b done n wat r e things to do. Even for experienced maid, I will suggest u gv her some time to learn...

Rostrum,
Some Indo maids can speak English quite well if they have worked in Sg before for at least 2 years. Try to get a maid 2-3months before your EDD so that you can train her, especially when you are expecting twins ( I have not been really following all the posts so I hope I didn't remember wrongly).
As for me, I got a maid to come 3 months before my EDD. I was expecting twins so I knew I would deliver earlier. I thought it was quite early to get the maid to come. But it ended up that the first maid gave alot of problems and we had to replace with another one and we couldn't get the replacement until 2 weeks after my delivery. Then we had no time to really teach her.

Rostrum,
I'm using Maclaren strollers. I've got 2 for my twins. One is techno xt and the other one is 4 seasons. Both have the same spec. I love techno xt. It's easy to maneuver and easy to use. But if you prefer a lighter stroller, you have to consider combi.

panda,
感同身受!my mil oso gettin on my nerves lately. she told my confinement lady not to cook so much tonic for me n even asked me to eat normal food. her point is so tat d CL can cook for d entire family including her precious daughter n not solely for me. oso she got many silly thoughts n patterns! she wasnt like tat before i gave birth. i am so disappointed with her biased treatment lately... n with d CL keeps complainin to me bout my Mil hygiene n laziness in maintainin d kitchen...
i am really determine not to let my mil takes care of my bb after my maternity leave ends.

panda, at least ur mil wil leave eventually, mine is staying with me leh...si bei tirin to deal with such emotions.

oso not forgettin tat my mil always raised her voice when talkin, super irritating high pitch tone. nowadays lookin at her oso pissed me off, so i keep lookin on floor or elsewhere when near her. i hav never dislike someone tat much before. i wil join u soon in IMH, panda.
Ahhhhhhhhhh...little things do add up!

Fancy,
Is everything ok? Mine will have slightly more discharge if I'm in pants or walk too much. I think keeping things light & airy down there helps.

rostrum, i m also using maclaren twin techno 2010. havent been out tht many times..but fairly easy to push it around... i did some online research before buying and it seems to be one of the best twin strollers around.

i m also always very against the idea of having a maid at home....but now i hv one and going to get a 2nd one! haiz....

rose, it sounds like u r going thru the same as wht i hv experienced. but mine is MIL n MUM. my mil also got hygiene problems..n my mum is a cleanliness freak... so both women cant stand each other in the kitchen!

anyway... my parents n mil had a show down already.. we hv decided to get another maid, and send my mil home. my parents can come n help me as n when they are free... me n hb had enuff being sandwiched in between... these 2 days have been really drama at home. now mil everytime see me, will giv me the MURDEROUS look...i m so freaked out tht i ask my mum to help me bunk in with 2 babies in her room.. i take one in mine.. dont want bb to sleep with mil. :p

just finished the midnight feed... going to start pumping session.. hopefully the babies will be good n sleep until 5plus so tht i can get some decent rest after this. down with flu.. coughing, headache n fever :S hv to wear a mask ..

fancy, its normal during 2nd half of pregnancy to hav more discharge. if u r concern, can go to ur gynae..they can do a stripe test to see if the liquid is amniotic or just normal discharge. i had the same concerns in my 3rd tri. when i called my gynae's clinic, nurse told me if its amniotic, it will leak down the thighs or gush out kind...not just wet panty liners.

Pandawife it sounds like warzone at home for you. But the show down wld mean next time both ur parents n in law wld not be in talking terms?
Did u see a doc regarding ur flu?? Do take care. Hopefully u get 2 good maids , it cld be easier managing them than own mil.

Now I m pumping n dump ... Feeling super upset. Went back kk yesterday coz having sharp pain on my left side, only to have the dr told me the anti biotic given by the doc 1 day before is not 100% safe for breastfeeding! Totally confused that decided maybe better to err on the safe side n stop bf for awhile. That wld mean no breast milk for next 5 days for my Bb.
Last night she was crying badly n I knew she wanted to be latched for comfort sucking to sleep which o normally do but since I can't, I got no choice but to push a pacifier into her mouth. She sucked for awhile pushed out the pacifier n started fussing. No choice but to put her next to me on our bed to try pet her to sleep. The poor gal was so excited on our bed as she looked at me n kicked away. She must be thinking I m going to latch her since I normally do so lying down. Got to ignore her n let her kicked till she fall asleep. Felt like a lousy mum.

gan..yes.. its like war zone here.. haiz.. now my mum will still make effort to hv conversation w my mil. but my mil will not make effort if nobody talks to her. she will just sit on my sofa n daze... :S

i hv not gone to the doc..just now pop 2 panadol n nap for a couple of hrs while my hb took care of the bbs w my mum... now fever gone down.. but cough n headache still there. if later still v bad, i will go see a doc..though not keen to take med..

oh dear..how come the doc so blur!! poor bb gal must be confused.. u dont feel too bad.. its not ur fault.. u hv done ur best..and pumping to dump must be a terrible feeling! every drop of our bm is precious leh.

i tried latching one of my boys n my gal over the wkend... both still can suckle although i hv not latch them for a while... i m tinking of latching them more often when the maids are all here.. as least maid will not ask me how much bm bb drank or make awful comments like my bm not enuff etc....

Pandawife the days while waiting for ur 2nd maid to come wld not be easy coz ur mil cld be sour abt the whole issue. U need to go thru the while interview process? Or u Have someone in mind from ur past interviews?

I guess my gal is confused . Moreover I can't carry her much yesterday due to the pain. I kind of enjoy latching my gal n normally when she fuss n I latch, she will quiet down but sometimes she will suck n make noise at the sometime like grumbling, I find that funny. The only thing abt latching is I m always paranoid if she has enuff so latching is like dessert for her as the main meals are bottlefeed.

Thanks ladies on d maid's advices... Guess I hv to start looking real soon but d thought of hving a stranger so early is v v sian... Seems like most of u prefer indo maids? But expererienced ones will b more cunning n not tk instructions n hv their own way since they hv their own way of doing thgs? Dh Tot of getting an inexperienced one though..so tt we can tell her wat we want..

I dun wan to get so early cos I m still going to work and at home there will b nobody ard...i can't leave d helper alone at home right?

Bing n panda, I intend to get 2 separate techno xts for my twins.. Dun intend to get twin strollers cos sometimes I might separate the twins... I really love techno xt.. But considering year 2008 or 2010 as the price difference is quite alot.. I tot xt is already light n easy to use... Combi is lighter? Then issit firm or not?

Rose, I can understand your frustrations... It's never easy to stay with ils ESP mil!!! The cl is hired by u n still hv to cook for whole family? Hmmm.. It's ok if they can eat the same food as u n not d other way round cos after giving birth, most impt is to "bu" back during confinement else u got to wait for d next one le..

Yr mil wun mind if u dun let her tc of Yr bb when u go bk to wk? Somemore u staying tog... I tink she will b v pissed!!!

Panda, hope tt with d 2nd maid, all plms will b solved soon.. During the transition period will b tougher but m sure it beats than hving so much women in d same household.

I tink hor during this period better dun leave Yr babies alone wif Yr mil... Scary sia!!

Gan..I will call my agent today n see if they hv anymore transfer maids. Otherwise fresh from overseas hv to wait one mth. My mil complain to my hb again tis morning abt the bbs sleeping arrangement. Says my mum so smart can take care of two bbs at night then let her do all the bbsitting. Gosh!
We already told mil we will get another maid..so its a matter of time she k go back n she still want to complain.

I hope my bbs faster wean off night feeds..then I will send my mil back earlier. Last night they woke up for milk betw 1230 to 1am..next round was 530am... Quite gd..hopefully it's consistent...

Pandawife, let's jiayou together. I also trying to wean off night feeds. These few days, she consistently wake up for milk every 5hrs. I also very happy. 930pm -> 230am -> 730am. But she's taking abt 110ml FM. I wonder if it's enough for her. She's exactly two months today. So that after my helper leaves, I can manage myself. Unless I can get good transfer maid, otherwise I dont want to rush into getting extra help.

Rostrum, hiring of maid really depends on one's luck. I m lucky to hv this Filipino helper for the lady two years. She also saw how I went through m/c, IUI, IVF etc. She knows my little one is very precious to me. But for the next potential maid, I will likely hire indonesian. 1stly, cheaper salary. 2nd, can nego no Sunday-off + top-up pay.

I prefer indonesian maids who only listen to instructions and not act on their own. Otherwise, sometimes you will feel like u r the maid and shes the employer. Hehe.

Btw, for those who hv indonesian maids, they don't eat pork, but do they handle pork? What abt fasting period? Do they fast also?

Faith, agree tt hiring maid depends on luck.

I hv a couple of koligs who has requested the indo maid to tk pork n no fasting for them before hiring them n surprisingly they agreed... So u must indicate before hiring. As for those who dun tk pork, they Wil handle pork when comes to cooking.

Just Faith,
My mum's indo maids also same. she state upfront that they can dun eat pork but must handle pork when cooking.
also cos their work involves physical work, they r not allowed to fast.
most will agree cos they want the job. the handling pork part usually no prob. but the fasting part u hv to be careful esp if u're not home the whole day, some will secretly fast.

Hi Just Faith, Pandwife, Gan, Baby & SIngapoh,
Long time never log in, still remember me?

Due to work n now baby stress n family

FYI,have given birth on 2 Jan to a girl

imp22
yap. i didn't need to buy the adaptor. just use multi-plug as the pin is the US 2 pin.

Fancy and Rostrum
just realise PM cannot attach file. have upload the file here for your reference. hope it helps.

attachment_icon.gif

Baby items.xls (39.4 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Singapoh,

How did you get your transfer maid? What is your agent contact? I am seriously considering a second maid now, just need to contact some reliable agents.

Panda,

Do you notice that your bbs are drinking less after the jabs? My bbs are drinking much less after the jab, from Friday until today. not sure if that is normal or if there is some other factor. So worried.... they are drinking almost 200ml less than normal day. Anyone else encountered the same thing after vaccination jabs?

My boy was quite good for a while last week but these last two days started the fussing again. Wake up only start screaming, even when we carry, he can get hysterical sometimes and won't stop crying for ages. Really frustrating... I wonder if its medical reason or he is just fussy? Doctor gave meds for reflux and he showed slight improvement so doc said its prob that causing the crying. but until now even on meds, he is still crying like that. I am lost, help!!

Rostrum , syrah,
Thanks ya.. after that I didn’t have any discharge but later in the night I felt little wet , but it smelt urine..
And yesterday might be baby realized very tensed.. so to assure me,, they really moved well and kicked..
Phew… iam was so stressed.. and for no reason I was crying so badly.. might be I got scared …
As righly said I just took rest and kept myself very airy..
I feel too much hair over the area, is it safe to remove.. feeling yucky and now iam so scared to do anything.

Pandawife,
Oho.. thanks for the info. So is there any strip that we can buy and keep to test at home.. so stressful..
No it did’t run down the thighs.. but my panty was really wet.. and never realized.. so got scared..

Gan,

I really envy you cuz you mentioned your baby can lie down there kick kick and then fall asleep. My baby cannot leh, MUST carry to fall asleep and sometimes put him down, he starts crying immediately and the whole process of carrying him to sleep starts all over again. My mom and I are super exhausted cuz its like 24/7 having to take care of both.

Working wife my gal will fuss too at times , like in manja mood. I have to carry her to sleep n put her down she will cry. Does it help if u have ur hubby or someone else to pacify the baby? Sometimes I suspect they know who is the mum n mummy being softhearted they can bully. I have left my gal with my mum a few times n when she is hungry she didn't scream for milk like when she is home with me around. At home no matter how I pacify her, want milk means NOW.. Can't wait a second. But at mum's place my mum said she will cry for milk but when my mum pacify her, she will quiet down. So I guess my gal is bullying me??

Blissful congrats!! Been sometime. I delivered my gal on 18 dec!

Hi morningg

Fancy: good to know that you are better. Do see the dr if you dun feel good ok? Dun stress, baby can feel it one. Take care

Just Faith: My ah ma's maids are all Indo...and they dun fast coz they need to work... and yes they do handle pork although they do not eat pork... no choice la, guess that's their job scope.
I am recently toying with the idea of getting a maid too... and I will get an Indo coz really, saw and heard too much stories about Philippinos... are yup, you gals are right, I dun wanna be lord over by them... :p

panda: my hear really is with you! Sigh... guess when your MIL "retires", it might be peaceful... and I hope your mom understands that its not because she gets off the hook easily, but more for everyone's sanity...including your HB...not to mention the rship with her is for long, also dun wanna sour it till there is a pt of no return.
Guess ur HB needs to do lotsa repair wk in this case...

working wife,
my elder girl had very bad reflux. i spent alot of time carrying her too.
reflux bbs HATE being horizontal. i used to carry her upright on my shoulder all the time. when i put her down, i put her lying down incline. i prop her up with an adult pillow so that her entire body is incline. or u can try letting yr boy sleep in a rocker or pram that is adjusted so is not totally flat.
they also get more uncomfortable after a feed when they're very full and before a feed when their tummy is empty. so i used to manage that by feeding my girl very small and frequent feeds so that her tummy is never too full or too empty.

it's very tiring i know, esp when u hv 2. but hang in there, once u figure out what's the prob and how to manage it, it'll get better.

Gan,
both my girls are like tat, with me they scream and cry. but with my mum they're angels. my mum can pacify my #2 back to sleep even if she's hungry. but with me she'll scream and scream. my mum says it's cos we smell of milk :p

panda,
when can we start trainin bb to wean off night feed? after 1 mth ok?

rostrum,
am plannin to be b stay home mummy...