IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Singapoh,
yes my mum can do confinement but she's working. My MIL wants to help plus she's not working so my mum defer to her lor.

But last time with #1 when i really buay tahan already, i moved to my mum's and she took leave for a mth to help out so that i can 'recover'...kekeke
hopefully this time won't get to that stage.

Singapoh,
yr maid 'power' leh. good thing u got rid of her. so scary, u're at home all day and still she can find time for lover.

Singapoh, your maid is horrible... Actually I ahve been wondering whether my maid will go and meet other people outside when I let her go and walk my dog.
I realized that every time when I am at home, she will do things snail slow, when we not around or in bedroom she like do the housework super fast, especially like washing bottles, during the day time she will take her own sweet time to slowly wash. Then at nite if we reach home late, she will wash very fast and sleep at 10pm, that is her official sleeping time. The worst part is she eat very very slow, there is one time when she cooked lunch and I am rushing to go out, I asked her to sit down and eat together with me, and me one hand carry my baby and my the other hand I will scoop my rice and eat. Guess what I ate faster than her, sigh…… I do feel that maids are here to pass time and get their money, so I have to constantly remind her what to do next. I always have to make sure my house cleaning tools are stocked up, if not the things run out or spoil she will not bother to tell me one.
I feel tired having maid, but maid does come in handy when I need to go to toilet and bath. And of cos the house is constantly clean lah.

mummies - now am at KKH 24 clinic went toilet just now & saw a brownish coloured streak of discharge abt pinkie finger long... haven't seen doc

hopefully it's a small issue, I should be 5w's now

on my way home. on duty doc say it's nothing to worry abt, gave me injection support & told me to up my oral support intake.

she did a v scan for me & there is 2 sacs!! it's twins!

JJ,

Hope you are ok now...and congrats on having twins

JJ, congrate on having twin ;)

babyhopeful, for diaper, newborn 1st month I used pampers n Nepia.
Now she is 2nd month going 3rd month I use mixture of pamper, nepia, drypers. See which one got offer.
Pamper & Nepia has indication when it's full. And size is bigger. Like my gal is 5.2kgs she is wearing S for these 2 brands.
But drypers, smaller size. She is wearing M.
I don't like Pureen. Size is small n quality
my baby also dislike it.

For FM, she started with Nan HA as recommended by PD. But since she is only taking 1 FM per day, I then try normal Nan Pro 1, then changed to enfalac then now Similac ;)
my gal is ok with any brand

Stb, I will hopefully but don't know hen mah. Then can buy again.
Until now u still don't know my nickname meh he he...

In term of maid, thanks God I found a good one. Everyone been telling me to wait n see her show her trueself.
She is with us for 4 months plus n we still think she is ok

gers can ask if any of u know how to cook the glutious rice + lotus root porriage.
My sinseh adv me to eat that as it will stop the bleeding ...

JJ, jus PM me. ;)
Some are new. Like the avent nipple cream. I jus check outside $22. I blur blur jus put $5 inclusive postage n i will honour that ha ha..

NTUC is having promo for diaper. Huggies is 2 for $33 if I remember correctly.
I think the huggies wet wipes is good buy. 3 for $8.90 it's 80 sheets. So 6 only $18. Pigeon 82sheets 6 will be $18.50 at Amk shop. Other place is $19.50 for 6

Since huggies are smaller.. It will fit nb twins or multiples right? Cos multiples bbs tend to be smaller than singleton... So we should buy huggies nb diapers?

Singapoh,
Your maid is really too much. You are at home most of the time and she can still sneak out to meet her lover. I'm keeping a close look on my maid now. My hubby and I are actually soft-hearted but we decided to be strict with her at the beginning and not be too nice to her otherwise she'll take things for granted. So far she seems alright but I know some of them will only show their true colors after a while.

She is slowly requesting for things but we won't give in to her. I do make sure that she has all the basic necessities. We'll get her other 'want' items as a reward if she performs well.

Oh do you advise me to standby a tin of FM for my twins as I'm afraid that I won't have enough BM in the first few days? I'm quite determined to BF them but just afraid that I won't have enough milk supply. Which brand of FM did you use for your NB twins?

Bbhp,

I saw your post and wanted to encourage you. Not sure how big are your twins now? Initial few months are very tough and you really need to stay strong to move on.

I am also having a pair of twins and really not easy in the begining and like what you have mentioned, some time they dont want to sleep at night and will start making noise. It greatly affect our sleep especially HB has to work next day. And to add, we dont have any helper in the begining. It is just my HB and I taking take at night and my parents will come and help out in the day when my HD goes to work.

If 1 bb is making noise and is affecting the other one, separating them is better. Me n my HB slept in 2 rooms with 1 bb each so as not to awake the 3 other if we are all in the same room. It helps us with more quailty sleep and we can actually sleep longer.

For night feeds, unfortunately my are premies and i m not comfortable to skip night feeding. However, i tried to have it longer hours gradually. It is only when i resumed work (4th mth)that i start to skip night feeding. But my last feed is very late(starting from 11.30pm, 10.30pm,10pm,9pm, 8.30pm) with 1st morning feed at abt 4.30am than 5.00am and also gradually delaying when they are bigger (then 5.30 am, 6.00am 7.00 or 8.00am n sometime 9am on a weekend).

Now even thought i dun wake up to feed them, i still wake up a few times throughout the night to cover blanket for them as they like to kick off their blanket. Heehee...

1st few months are really tough with no fun at all. We cried at how tough it was getting, how difficult it could be.... but all these are life experiences... Looking back, we can only say, Time flies and smile at the memories.

Every stage of the babies growing process is the best moment and it is not true to say " it is better when they are able to crawl/sit/walk/stand" as each skills that they accquired, it will bring new issues.
We initally thot when they are still newborn that if they are bigger, we will have more time. Not true. Now we have lesser time bcos since they became mobile and starting to explore everything, someone has to be by their side all the time to ensure safety.

And yes, a helper is indeed necessary. We suffered till bbs are abt 10th mth (bringing them back daily to n forth from parents place, preparing, cooking porridge, washing utensils, slow cooker pot, milk bottles, bb clothes and our clothes (yes i m working too)is simply madness. The helper only came when my bbies are 1year old. But we can feel the great diff between having one and without. We can now have more time to do our own stuffs which we are depriving off in the past 1 year.

My babies (maybe not babies anymore :D) are coming to 15mths soon. I am very grateful for all these, even though it is not easy at all and frustrations do come and "visit", together with "impatient", but just remembered that it will all be over (tough period) soon and the joy will kick in when u see them developing well.

Jia you to all mummies and enjoy it all. Now perhaps, to me, pregnancy stage is the best
, although i wont want a 3rd anymore.

Yeah it's very scary that my ex maid did things under my nose.

This time I am much stricter with my new maid and draw a clear line. I already caught her lying once. She came here less than 2 weeks ago.

Baby, when r u due? U can get diapers when it's nearer to ur due date so that u know bb's weight. As for formula, ask for samples when at hospital and buy the same one after discharge. My bm only kick in after 4 days and i still do not have enough after2 wks.

singapoh - let me have a look at yr pre loved items la... I think I sweeping clean vi4n's stuff...

wanna seek yr adv on whether I should stick to dr loh now since I'm having twins. on 1 hand I know he is skilled in handling multiple births but with his tight schedule I don't think I will get to see him often. did u have extra scans since carrying twins need close monitoring?

wah... u so passionate abt me sticking to him...
keke.. ok ok I consider..
hopefully my preg journery as smooth as u, then able to give birth naturally

I'll PM u my email

Singapoh - wanna ask if u had weekly progestrone jabs to support early in the twin preg ?
How long were u on the oral support ?

my spotting stopped but still will have a diluted brownish discharge when i wipe ... will be attempting the porriage later

Singapoh, yours was not eventful? Ok la ;)
its because u were calmed ;)

JJ, yes having multiples better stick with KKH

JJ,

I didn't get any injection at all. Also dun have spotting/bleeding throughout.

I was on oral support till 12 weeks and started again from 22 weeks till 34 or 34 weeks.

Vi,

Yes, report came out that my delivery was uneventful but so many people in the Operating theatre witnessed the birth of my twins. So drama siah..

Singapoh
Ur new maid only 2 weeks starts to lie. Guess cant do with them cant do without them
Hee...
wow, u mean there will be alot of pple in the operating theatre for twins?

JJ
Multiples better stick to kk what's more u are under dr Loh which is experienced with multiples.

Panda and I with at TMC are thinking of going to kk to register first just in case we deliver earlier. NICU in private hospitals can costs up to 1k per day per bb.

Nancy,

I think most maids try their luck, hoping that we buy it. My this new maid really can't make it. Got no common sense one. The more I asked her not to do it, she will go ahead and do. Eg. This morning she closed her door and it's locked. I told her the lock is faulty, don't close. She closed it in front of me!

I saw her using a knife to cut open a plastic bag. I said use scissors, not a knife. The harder she tried to saw the bag with the knife!

Go out with us, walk like actress on the Grammy award red carpet, eats very slow and not automatic to assist us.

My gal was in breech position and boy head down. I wanted a natural birth. I was in delivery suite and Dr Loh checked. He said I might as well deliver in OT coz there is a possibility of C Sec. I felt so sian when I heard that.
It was very cold in the OT. I was shivering non stop due to the epidural. I roughly counted. At least 15 ppl. Few ppl standing facing me doing nothing, looking at me kangkang. Haha.. I didn't care la. I just want my twins out fast and safe. 2 ladies helped to push my bb out. 1 of them was Dr Marianne.

I was told that we were in the OT for abt 45 minutes only.

didnt hv time to log in for long time. wow so so many posts ardi.

i hear all those maid stories really scary leh. on one hand they can really help out with the housework but the compromise is having to deal with them. do you think the majority of maids will create problems? so got to be so so lucky to find a good maid ya. the news is saying that filipino maids are harding to get, do u knw what is the alternative?

went to thomson medical center, found out abt this "Baby Planner" package which cost $499 - can use for the anenatal classes and other workshops eg baby massage, weaning. any of you signed up for this? do u think it is useful?

Singapoh, your this maid is really dumb la.

My friend also had so many issue with her maid.
For me, I can say my maid can take care of my baby better than me. Ha ha she always remember to clean herself whereelse I very bochap kind. She can stop when eating to feed or change Leanne. Overall I'm still very happy with her. Hope she won't change

Btw at which week baby will have growth spurt?
These 2 days my baby can drink 180mls in 1hrs. That's a lot for her.

Vi4n,

Very very difficult to teach her things. Best part is she says she knows but actually knows nothing.

My son is drinking more towards the evening till he zzz. We call it "milk buffet hour" Ha..

Is there a book to buy that teaches us how much milk to feed for different mths old bb?

Meaning nb how many ml milk.. 1 mth old how many ml milk and so on...

Else how do we know how much milk to give them on their respective mths? Or the hosp will give us a guide?

baby,
there is no fixed amt to feed yr bb since different bbs hv different appetites, can stomach different amts and are different weights and sizes to begin with. even between yr twins u will find that they will need different amts. even for the same bb, at times they r more hungry and sometimes not so hungry.

usually u start with 1-2 oz of milk as newborn and work yr way up and down from there. most importantly is to read yr bbs cues. if after finishing the whole bottle, bb still seems unsatisfied and seems to still be searching for the bottle, then most likely they're still hungry. or bb cannot finish the whole bottle of milk, then most likely they're full already or need to be burped.

one of the books i found useful was the book by supernanny, she gives some very good tips on how to read yr bbs cues, what to look out for each time bb cries, and some sample feeding and sleeping schedules. but again, these are all just guidelines, u still need to read yr individual bbs cues and adjust accordingly and dun stress up if they're not drinking as much as the book says or are not following the same type of schedule as the book says. even we as adults eat different amts and sleep different times.

http://www.amazon.com/Jo-Frosts-Confident-Baby-Care/dp/B0023RSZL4/ref=sr_1_6?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1283614171&sr=1-6