IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Panda, Bubby,

I am eating for 3 now. Feel very thirsty and hungry after breastfeeding 2 babies. My appetite was so so during pregnancy.

Last week I bought 8L coz on promotion. Usually buy only 2 to 4L at 1 go.

now i drink dutch lady cos got the discount coupons
buy $6 got $2 off

Panda,
Try to drink 2 cups of warm water once you wake up in the morning. It works for me and I can still pass motion everyday. Alternatively, try drinking fresh orange and apple juice (blended one so that there's more fibre). Some people drink prune juice and it helps in the constipation too.

Fashion spree,
How did you get Dr George Yeo, the chief sonographer to do the U/S scan for you the last time? I called ADC to request for Dr Yeo to do the scan for me next week but the nurse said that Dr Yeo doesn't do scanning himself. He only inteprets scan results. As Dr Loh wanted to monitor the blood flow to the twins, I thought of getting Dr Yeo intead of other sonographer to do the scan so that I can monitor the abnormality detected the last time.

Bing, Dr George Yeo is the HOD of ADC. Bbhp was scanned by him. She didn't chose him either. She Happened to be scanned by him. Actually, multiples r high risk so they r usually scanned by very senior sonographer. Hopefully, u feel more ar ease now

Fashion spree,
Did u request for the chief sonographer to do the u/s scan for you the last time? Or the nurse arranged for you? My 20 weeks detailed scan was done by a normal sonographer. When she detected the abnormality, she referred me to the principal sonographer to confirm the measurement.
I wonder if I can request for a more senior sonographer to do the scan for me this time.

How's shopping for baby stuff so far? I've bought most of the things now except strollers, carseats and babycot.

Hazel,
Yeah, I heard from the nurse that he's the head of ADC. He saw my 20 week detailed scan results and got Dr Loh's assistant to call me to arrange for another scan to monitor my readings which was slightly off. Bbhp was lucky to get Dr George Yeo to scan for her. I requested for him to do the scan for me but the nurse said he doesn't do scanning.
Quite worried over the enlarged lateral ventricle for my boy. I really hope that it's just a false alarm and everything will be fine.

Bing, I know u can't help but worry. But at least u r under close monitoring. Try not to think abt it until the day of the scan. KKH sees n scans many patients a day. So, the medical staff there r very experienced. If in doubt, they will escalate. Bbhp was scanned by a normal sonographer at Abt 12 wks, during NT scan. Then, dr George Yeo took over as that sonographer was not sure coz she can't see properly. Or when u register for scan that day, request if u can be scanned by a senior sonographer.

**wave** to nancy,

didn't see you around after you BFP in the other thread. glad that you know one of the genders liao...

me having my detailed scan on 11/8. no preference for gender. just hope for a healthy baby

Despondent,
You can go baby kingdom or kiddy palace to see cos they have quite a range but of course price is so-so. If you can wait a bit, next wk got taka fair so maybe will have better pricing.
I got mine from the motherhood fair at expo few months ago. Pricing is usually better during these fairs.

Ladies, THKS. Seen a gynae, he could not detect why. Just ask me bedrest for the whole of next week. Now i m running a fever, 38.9. Just took panadol as advised by him and monitored accordingly. Wondering if i shld go KKH 24 hr clinic

Bb_rabbit, u having flu or just fever only? If latter only means u r having an infection. Which gynae did u see? If fever nv subside pls go see dr again.

Hazel- Me just having fever, which i also suspected is due to infection, cos i was shivering earlier. Now i m much better I am seeing dr fong yang. He ask me to monitor closely and go to a GP if fever dun go down after panadol. I am so worry for my little one who is onli 8.5 wk old as at now. I am v tempted to walk in to KKH to have medication as well as scan.

Bb_rabbit, didn't the gynae just scanned u? If so, bb shld be well. But if fever dun go away, u hv to go 24 hrs clinic. Coz with a fever n no flu symptoms on most instances is infection n that is no joke. For now, drink lots of water, take your panadol n check ur temp n see if fever goes down. If not, go KKH 24 hrs

Des, isetan bb fair start tomorrow till 12 august.

Ju, I only drink Meiji low fat
Dutch lady consider fresh milk meh?

Hazel- the scan was yest, before my little spotting. Today he did a vaginal inspection n could not detect anything, no scan. He asked me dun worry. After which I develop fever, guess mite be cos I was so tired, slept whole aftn w/o water. Also last 6ew days, too muxh heaty food. Now fever gone down. Hubby said monitor tonite n decide tom mrn. Thks

Hazel,
It's difficult not to get worried cos it's a parent's instinct. I can only try my best not to think about it. I'm glad that Dr George Yeo is monitoring my condition. At least i know that i'm well taken care of and it puts me at ease.
Pregnancy is really not easy. There's always worries at every stage until the babies are safely delivered..

Vi4n,
Do u think it's worth going to the isetan bb fair? Seems like they don't carry alot of baby stuff. But I think can get gd deals for combi products like strollers, carseats etc..

BB rabbit,
Do drink plenty of water and have a gd rest. Like what Hazel said, maybe you should monitor your condition for tonight since you had just seen your gynae. Just in case it doesn't improve tmr, then you should consider going to KK 24hr clinic just to be safe.

Bing I can understand how u feel coz I am also worried abt the short nasal bone. Now u mention abt senior sonographer, do they work on sat ? Coz my 20 weeks detail scan is on sat.... Wondering if I shld change to fri

Bing,
I did not requested for it . I think before my 20 week scan. My bb have two issue one is heart n t21 risk. So before that I have to do 2 scan one on heart detail scan and the other on the normal fetus scan. So when come to my detail scan they arrange for me someone more senior than the usual normal scan. Before my 20 week detail scan I'm been seeing the heart doc after every scan as they wanna monitor my bb heart as bb had a bit of swollen at chest there. After the 20 week detail scan n amino test doc told me everything is fine n my bb no longer need to see the heart doc for monitoring.

Bing,
Dr George yeo is a very experience doc. I choose him to do my amino. It good that he is monitoring u closely. Don't think so much ur bb will be fine.

Vi/ Bakaholic, thanks for e info.
Have never thot of getting a crib till we opened up e playpen and realized it can't fit into my bedroom! What a joke, right? Can only rmbr seeing it at KKH... but can't rmbr e price. Hopefully bb don't come out too soon, so that I can shop around these 2 weekends for a crib. Heeee.... Bb guai guai... :p

Bubby,

taking care of twins take a lot of energy. Not enough sleep. Also no time to exercise.

Btw I lost all 12 kgs in 18 days. Breastfeeding really burn a lot of calories

Panda,

I wish I have the energy to total bf my twins. I give them fm 1 to 3 times a day. Bf all the way when they wake up in the middle of the night. I lie on my side to bf and zzz after that. Hee...

singapoh, wow...sounds challenging to total bf more than 1 baby... ok..i better start doing homework on the different types of fm....

anyone bot or use pigeon rapid sterilizer? Is it good? Can use for all kinds of bottles or must be pigeon bottles? At isetan now.....they selling $119 bundle with 2 nursing bottles and bowl

Gan, u at isetan fair now? Which one? Got baby cribs (ie. Small ones)?

By the way, I got e pigeon sterilizer from Robinson GSS AT $95. Kiddy palace was selling it at same price then. Without sale, $125.

des, yes was there....saw 1 crib only but didn't check the price. Not sure is it small but seems same size as the chicco playpen next to it. thks will wait for taka baby fair and rob sale to check the price for steriliser.

Maybe i am not sure what to buy for bb yet, dun find the sale alot of things to see leh.

Mummies who wants avent product got 20% discount.

Gan,
i use the pigeon rapid steriliser. it's quite big and takes up a bit of space on the table.
but can really sterilise a lot of things at once, all types of bottles and breast pump parts and the sterilisation cycle is pretty fast.

grumpus i also saw the pigeon multi purpose steriliser, checked with sales, she mention the multi purpose comes with a food warmer. When do we need a food warmer? What is the purpose?

Diff between avent and pigeon is that avent has a function that can sterilise 24hrs, i.e. If u leave the bottles there more than 6 hrs, it will sterilise again. Quite abit to learn when shopping for bb. =)

Wah.. Good luck to sunflower.. singapoh update me again ok.

I'm using pigeon rapid, so far so good. But the thongs jus break don't know whether it is because too many times sterilse or my maid used bull strength again.
I got it at OG sale at $95

Gan,
if u planning on feeding expressed breastmilk then u will need the warmer to warm up the cold milk from the fridge. the alternative method is to dip the bottle in a cup of hot water, but supposedly that kills more of the nutrients in the bm then when slowly warming up in the warmer. if u're latching direct or feeding formula then actually no need warmer.

later on when bb starts solids, can also use the warmer to keep their food warm, but i find no need to do this lah. more for those ppl who stay in cold countries.

personally i prefer separate warmer and steriliser cos then can do different things at one time. rather than hv to wait for bottles to finish sterilising then can warm milk and vice versa.

i dunno abt other mummies but i dun find the 24hrs function from avent useful cos my bottles hardly ever sit there for more than 6hrs! hehe....

Dear Ladies,
Mind if I ask any mummies to be are from ivf? I just went for my ivf this month and got a BFP yesterday. I'm now in the dilemma of whether to take chinese medicine or not. My gynae's advice is no, as I'll be given 2 jabs per week and 2 tablets per day to support the pregnancy, and he doesn't know what's inside the chinese herbs. Any sisters here still continue chinese medicine after BFP? Thank you for sharing.

Jenn,

I took an tai medication almost most of my 1st trimester. i was also on twice weekly jabs plus support oral tablets plus inserts...

Hi Pandawife,
Thanks for sharing... so far are you fine with taking both chinese and western med? Mind to share how many weeks are you now? Thanks.

Thanks girls for the info on the sterilizer and food warmer. Think I will buy the rapid sterilizer but maybe fr kkh or taka baby fair.

Pandawife u r using avent bottles or u haven't bot the bottles yet? I m thinking if I cAn buy the stroller after bb is borned coz dun think 1st mth will bring her out except go for injects or check up. WhAt do u think?

Jenn, I m in my 16th week... i m fine taking both meds..only thing is u hv to remember to take the meds two hours apart...so basically taking meds thru'out the day.

Gan, i got avent bottles too.. sil gave to me in a set as gift...

my gf bought her stroller when baby was 3 mths old..prior to that, she used a sling...

i only bought 1 stroller, intend to buy the rest when babies are older too...

Pandawife hm that's what I was thinking too. Oh yes novena square 2 has a shop selling slings for bb, just saw the shop today.

Gan,
From what I know, not all the sonogragphers are on duty on sat. Maybe you can check with ADC whether any senior sonographer is on duty on sat. They don't assign the sonographer until you register at the counter before the scan. U can request for a more senior songrapher to do the scan for u at the registration but may have to wait.

Did you get anything at the Isetan bb fair eventually? Are there many carseats on sale? I bought the pigeon rapid steriliser and warmer at the expo bb fair. Heard from my friends it's big and can fit in all the different brands of milk bottles. Btw, I'm using the warmer everyday to warm up milk for myself to drink now. I used to use microwave to warm up the milk but try to avoid using microwave now.

bing, after seeing ur msg last nite, this morning i checked my san form and pink booklet, dr marianne has actually wrote down and tick high risk scan. Guess she did that after i told her my relunctance to do amino but wait for detailed scan during my consultation with dr loh last visit. (she was covering for dr loh for 1st half of consultation). Not sure does that mean they have booked a senior sonographer sonce high risk but guess i will call and check with adc.

I didn't buy anything at isetan coz not sure where to start. Saw the car seats but didn't check the price as we dun own a car. But the few mtbs i saw shopping this morning were all more keen on breast pumps, bottles, sterilisers sold there so i guess car seats and stroller price not so competitve there? Just a guess....