IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

jo,
wat happened to u? whr did u disappear to?

singapoh,
jo nvr come into the thread for so long, dunno wat is going on la

singapoh, i know, but i thought you were referring to 'in general'..

hi i jus came back from my 12th week nuchal scan..

dr says one twin has a higher risk of D/S at 1:12!! cos of neck thickness..

i know some of u went for a 2nd oopinion..

can pls gimmie the dr's name n phone no? i wanna make an appointment

Singapoh, oxidized, spiffy, Linda, I'm considered high risk too, 1:36. Sigh, feelin a bit down now. Now waitin to see dr loh n see way he suggest...

singapoh i wanna go 2nd opinion first.. i m seein dr loh this fri.. so worried.. one twin's thickness is 2.8mm.. which dr say its on the high side.

im 29.. i m so worried now..

I maybe organising a spreee for Philips Avent BPA FRee 9oz bottles (260ml), Dual Pack. Those interested, please PM me.

This is how the Avent BPA Free bottles look like.

3322434.jpg

Some product features:

* Clinically proven to reduce fussiness, especially during night time, and colic in infants 2 weeks of age versus feeding with a conventional bottle

* BPA-free

* Easy to combine breast and bottle feeding

* Includes 2 9oz Natural Feeding Bottles with a Slow Flow Nipple

Hi oxidised,

If u wanna go for 2nd opinion, i would recommend Prof Anandakumar. His clinic at camden medical centre. He is very good with diagnostic screening. I did my 1st tri scan, detailed scan at 22wks n bb's growth scan at 28weeks with him.
Another sister, fresh is also seeing him when her test in kkh was not ideal. But after seeing prof, end up the bb'b risk is very low. So i think it is good to seek 2nd opinion. Dun worry too much for now, try to call n make appt to see prof and see wat he says. Dun worry, k?

serene: yea, i knw fresh saw him too..but couldnt get to talk to her on gmail chat today..

i called up already and was advised to go on my week 14..

the nurse did say that blood test is not good indicator for twin pregnancy, however, she paused and hesistated when i told her the thickness is 2.8mm which got me even more worried and teary..

so mine is thickness and bloodtest combined which made my score very very bad

i do hope n pray everything is fine..

i hv to jus wait another 2 long angonising weeks..

seeing sf this fri. hopefully he can help me..

oxidised,
Be calm n dun worry too much. I know it is difficult but there's nothing you can do now. Cheer up, your babies can feel it if mummy is too stress up. Just treat it as its another 2ww for u.

Oxidised, my results is pulled down coz of the blood test. Though Dr Loh didn't say much, hubby and i can sense from his tone that he's quite skeptical abt the blood test. Nevertheless, after I kept pushing him for suggestions, he advised me to do amino. Based on his scan, he said the amino should be fairly easy and low risk esp done by his buddy which he has absolute faith in. So, we are scheduled to do the test in early Jan, in my 16-17th week. And, due to this, I'll also be seeing him on 6 Jan instead of the 2 mths duration that Linda gotten. I was still joking w hubby that I got my wish come true to see my baby every mth.....hehe

Well, I did mentioned ur case and he said he had read ur email. If he has not replied you, he's probably still busy.....i left TPS ard 730 and he was still seeing patients.....

Linda, you were saying that you were prescribed multivit? Wat did Dr Loh give you? He didn't give me anything except to ask me continue Folic Acid. So, thinking of getting the off-the-shelf multivit myself till i see him in Jan...Any suggestions on the brand or etc?

soon to be: wah u go ask him for me ah..haha thanks ah. anyway he jus called me..

he did say that my is indeed high risk cos of the thickness... sigh.. so i told him abt my plans to go camden n he's all for it..

he did say i can do amino also in jan if i wan.

how u tell him abt me leh? u knw my name meh? haha

Oxidised, no lar, I didn't know ur name till I mentioned ur case to him. I jus told him that he has another patient who did the scan today and have high risk too....So, he told me ur name and the email....

Oxidised, yes, Ms "J" now I know ur name...hehehehehehe...

Don't be so worried now.....go see him on Friday and he may tell u a few cases that have higher risks but turned out well. He was sharing a few w us when we were there....

Ya, pray too....planning to go si ma lu every week to pray if i can....

shhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh i prefer to be a ninja floating in darkness!! dun call my name!!! hhaha

eh pray for me too can?? i need all the help ....

worried x 1,000000

Yes yes oxidised, will pray for u too.........

don't worry now...like wat serene said, ur babies can feel ur fear...

to be honest, i'm still feeling a bit disappointed though feeling much better than the first 10-15 mins after knowing the results. My hubby did some research online to assure me, and after hearing wat dr loh said, it calmed me down further. But i know it still means that there is still a possibility for negative outcome and i can't run away from it. I'm prepared for the worst. Besides DS, my risk for miscarriage/stillborn and deform are very high too.

But till i do the amino and know the results, i'm going to tell myself to be more positive and continue to stay happy for my baby. I'm going to talk to my baby more often, asking baby to be healthy and normal..and telling baby how much he/she means to the 2 of us, and the entire family.....

orangey,
wat makes u choose avent bottles ah? i know the common brands are avent, pigeon, nuk... but i dunno which one to choose.. and avent saw some comments that it will leak... btw, i'm wondering if bpa free bottles can be sterilised using steriliser or the traditional boiling? cos from wat i know bpa free bottles cannot withstand high temp... so i'm wondering if i should just use the normal bottles but change more frequently...

eskimobaby,
bpa free bottles can sterilise also.
usually, brands of bottles is up to mummy's preferences & advise frm their family or frens bah.

jus to share:
for storing bm, i use a mixture of nuk/pigeon/medela bottles, either plastic or glass.
i used medela bottles wif nuk latex teats for my gal till she was 6 mths old.
after dat, bcos she takes in more milk, i changed to bfree bottles, using bfree teats.
she's still latching on, no nipple confusion.

Soon to be and Oxidised
Do continue to stay positive, i also agree with Serene 2nd opinion will be good.. i know it's very worrisome, i'm still waiting for my 1st scan next week, and feeling nervous too.. But i believe God will bless us, our babies will turn out fine.

singapoh, i'm back to work...i sound like a man now cos of the sore throat but otherwise i'm almost back to normal.. heh heh.

Freaking out slightly after reading today's posts since my scan is on Monday. i know that with multiples plus age (30s), my blood test result wont be good..oh brother! i've to brace myself for this..seems like the road to pregnancy and then pregnancy itself is not an easy one.

oxidised, will pray for you..hang in there..
soon-to-be, good to see you're keeping positive about this. hey if you do go ahead with the amnio, can you let me know the name of the doc who does it?

Juju,
to me all the brands seem the same so I also dunno wat to choose hehehe. Btw do kkh give away glass bottles for bm storage?

Thanks Libby and Spiffy for the encouragement.

Don't think i will go the 2nd opinion. We did talked to Dr Loh regarding this. He was saying if the 2nd opinion indicates a lower risk, which one shld i believe, the 1st or 2nd results especially when the alarm is already raised after the 1st results? We agree that my fear/concern is not going to go away even if the 2nd results reduced my risk.

Thus, we are proceeding to amino. Just that the wait is a bit long. Have to wait for another 5 weeks or more leh, and that's only doing the test. Then have to wait to get the results. I hope that everything will be fine then coz I shld be able to feel my baby's movt by then.

spiffy, serene, soontobe, libby: my appointment at camden is set on 17 dec.. my 14weeks plus 1 day..

had a fretful night of sleep.. even dreamt dr loh came my house!! hahahaaa..

now i jus wish time pass to 17 dec asap.. sigh

oxidised, soontobe, spiffy,
u would realise that once u get pregnant.. the worries are neverending.. i guess this is wat we call parenthood.. so even if bb is not born yet we will start to worry from the moment he/she is conceived... so now i always say that ivf is not the end but the beginning only

Hi soon-to-be, that's a very pragmatic approach, probably one i would undertake myself.. your point about being able to feel the baby is very poignant..i hope everything works out fine.

speaking of which..i sometimes feel a warm feeling in my belly (not imagining!)..do you?

oxidised, you're stressed, you poor thing, dreaming of dr loh!?!

eskimobaby, i realise that! and i wonder if i will ever be strong enough to try again. My mother bless her is already optimistic that i will have more after this pregnancy. i dont know where she gets that from!

singapoh: yes he called me last night at about 8pm.. i told him my plans to go camden he say prof is a good dr n asked me go ahead. but he did say can do amino test too..

i seeing him tomorrow again.

yah he was in my dream at this house i never see b4 in my life. dunno what he doing also.. walk here walk there.. hahaa..

Soon to be
Guess i would made the same decision as u too, cos until the amnio test is cleared, then u will heave a sigh of relief..

Oxidised
Hang on there.. i know it's going to be another long 2ww... meantime, talk to baby more and ask baby to be strong and healthy

Eskimobaby
You are right, everyday i'm also worrying/wondering how my baby is doing, really never ending.. until i see my baby in my arms, then will start another set of new worries.. Motherhood is really not easy.. but the end result will be worth it when we see them growing up healthily and happily :)

singapoh: yah .. last time i also had a dream of this other dr who specialises in skin..

in my dream he became super duper youthful like a child...lol...

after that i see him i wanna laugh .. so silly my dreams..