IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Grumpus & PandaWife,
Thx !! At least I know it's norm
Will continue to monitor and hope he outgrow it soon ...

Working wife,
My girl is on porridge now but she takes only abt half a combi bowl. So far it can't replace milk feeds yet cos she loves her milk. She's only on one porridge meal a day.
For my elder girl, one bowl of porridge will definitely affect her milk.
I generally alternate milk n solids so my younger girl's schedule is roughly:

8plus - milk
9plus - fruits, bath
10plus to 11 - milk, nap
12 to 12plus - lunch (biscuits, puffs, fruits)
2 to 2plus - milk, nap
Depends on how long she sleeps for this nap.
If wake up 3plus, then one more milk feed at 4pm
If wake up 4 to 4plus then no milk feed
5 to 5plus - dinner (porridge, fruits)
7 to 7plus - milk, nap
9plus - milk, sleep

I use regular white rice for porridge, no pre prep. u can cook until it becomes very mashy. Texture like Cantonese 'chok', the type where u can't see the grains anymore. Sometimes u may hv to try different brands of rice. I noticed some break up more easily than others.

For me I dun blend the porridge cos my girl can handle lumps. I grate or finely chop the veges directly into the slow cooker n cook together. If using vege purees, juz add the puree cubes into the slow cooker, stir everything together n serve. If u're concerned abt lumps, u can blend or juz push thro a sieve. Personally dun like blending porridge cos it makes it more watery.

For my younger girl I've been using just water to cook the porridge. U need to add more water to get the rice to become runny porridge. U hv to try it out to see how much water to add n how long to cook to get the texture u want. I cook abt 2 hrs.

For my elder girl I used to make vege stock and freeze in cubes and use tat instead of water. It's really up to u how much u wanna do n wat yr bbs will eat! My elder girl was a very fussy eater.

Grumpus
Wow.. Yr girl has many milk feeds even with solids..
My elder girl sometimes only have 3 milk feeds.. Two solids, cereal and porridge... She can eat 3/4 bowl of porridge.. I give her half bowl of cereal... Thou she can eat more but i dont wana give her too much... Cos i wana let her have her milk later on...

baby,
my girls all small tanks. so many small feeds.
last time my elder girl also, each time milk only 90-100ml so she still needs abt 6 feeds to hit 600ml total for the day. i think only when she was 10mths then she managed to drink 120-140ml each time. by 1yr old then 160-180ml

Grumpus fruits for ur gal, u feeding purée or fresh?
What puffs do u feed ur gal?
Blending of rice for porridge. U blend before cooking? I m using the austailian rice for my gal but my mum said still too lumpy for my gal though I cooked overnight. So I m thinking of blending

Gan,
Fruit depends on wat fruit. Banana n papaya I feed fresh, just scrape off with a spoon n feed.
Apples n pears I will steam 1/4 n then scrape n feed.

I dun blend my rice before cooking. But if u want, u can try grinding the rice before cooking.
Alternatively, u can look for porridge rice. Can get from market those dried goods store. I dunno wat kind of rice (Australian, Thai etc) it is but it's plain white rice that can cook until very 'lan'

Grumpus
I bought happy bellies puffs.. Can i feed my 8mths old girls? Or its for older bbs?

Gan
I use normal white rice to cook my girls porridge.. I will soak the rice for a few hrs then cook over stove till boil.. Then transfer to slow cooker and cook for abt 4hrs... It will be v lan...

baby,
u can try the puffs on yr girls already. but with supervision of cos. if u find they dunno how to chew and handle the pc, then stop and try again a few wks later.

my girl is only 6.5 mths

hi mommies who pump/pumped, how long do you take to pump from twice to once a day and how was it?
im stopping pumping in sept and need to calibrate my pumps...

How is everyone? Been missing for so long due to work.

My baby is 9 mth old now and already got 4 little teeth

Gan,

I bought organic brown n white rice then grind and cook in slow cooker for the porridge.

Baby,
I'm feeding my baby Happy baby organic puff. So far she love it so much. I bought different flavour for her to try.

Thanks Grumpus! Yeah, your girl so many milk feeds man. So for yr little girl, with those many milk feeds, she's drinking how much in a day?

My babies are on 3 hourly milk schedule but they drink from 6am to 7pm only. So can only fit in 5 feeds a day. Only my boy has one midnight feed, my girl sleeps thru. If I feed solids, then have to drop one milk feed or reduce amount of milk.

How do u control them eating the puffs? When they put in their mouth, how to ensure they chew n don't just swallow it whole and choke?

Tried making porridge today. I don't have slow cooker yet so thought I try with normal pot on the stove. After that I blend. But found that it's very starchy n thick in consistency even though it's smooth with no lumps. Is it suppose to b so starchy?

Grumpus,

how did you train your girl to be able to handle lumps and the fruit that you scoop directly? Does she actually make the chewing action with her gums? I wonder how o transition from purees and blended food to finely chopped or flaked food?

working wife, i tried feeding my gal the happy melts, and she choked.
think she still can't handle such large pieces of food.

Fashion spree, where do u buy the organic rice? I will try without grinding tomorrow but cook the porridge longer and see if u ok. tomorrow trying spinach

Grumpus ur gal has teeth already? wonder if my gal choke coz she still bo gay, can't break the melt to smaller pieces

Gan,

I bought it at ntuc finest. Think most of the supermarket carry the the organic brown rice n white rice. Actually if u use the slow cooker to cook the porridge for more than 2 hr think the texture should be quite lan.

Working wife,
The puff will melt in their mouth once they put in.think now they using their gum to chew.I let my bb try the puff when she was 7 mth plus close to 8.

working wife,
my younger girl is directly latched, so i hv no idea how much milk she's drinking. but that prob explains why she has so many milk feeds too, cos i'm part human pacifier!
i just checked my elder girl's records and she had 5 milk feeds of 100ml a day and 3 solids slots. Occasionally, she'd wake up once at night for a feed then she'll get 6 feeds.

As for the puffs, my girl already makes chewing actions when i feed her porridge and stuff, that's why i feel confident to give her puffs. but the puffs do melt in the mouth so as long as they dun try to swallow immediately, it'll break down. Dun worry too much abt choking, they will tend to gag first and then push the pc out with their tongues. It can be scary to watch them gag, but that helps them from actually choking.

U can also cook porridge on the stove, but it's tedious and u gotta be careful it doesn't burn. Porridge is starchy and thick, although u could prob hv added more water or not cooked it down till it was so thick. Also depends on the rice, some rice is starchier than others.

u need to start mashing food instead of pureeing and blending first. And in thicker consistency. I never pureed anything, just mash, finely grate or push thro a sieve. All the food i give my girl is thick, the consistency of mashed banana or mashed potato. So it's smooth but thick and i put a little lump on the tip of the spoon and feed it to her. She learns to move it ard her mouth to break it up then swallow. If the food is watery and thin, they'll just swallow. I got a free jar of nestle bb puree and i tried it on my girl. she gave me a yucky, horrified look...hehe
Anyway, take it slowly, yr bbs r only almost 7mths. i hv friends who blend porridge for their bbs until 1yr old!

Gan,
my girl has no teeth. the puffs and biscuits they eat all melt easily, so they can easily break it up with their gums. U shd try the puffs first not the melts. The melts are for older bbs.

Gan,

Got this off iherb:

When is baby ready for HappyMelts?
Can pull him or herself up to stand
Begins to use fingers to self feed
Crawls with belly off the floor

When is your baby ready for Puffs?
Crawl on their hands and knees, without their tummy touching the floor.
Eat thicker solids with larger pieces
Use their jaws to mash food with gums
Pick up food to eat on their own with thumb and forefinger

Any mummies starting on fish for ur bbs at 6mths?
I am thinking of blending a slice of salmon for my bb girl coz I read that bbs can be fed fish, esp oily fish with omega 3, good for development.

Hi need mummies advice

my girl now only take 2 formula per day, the rest of her 4 feeds is EBM but she already has contispation issue.

Because I am going to stop pumping in the next 2 wks so I am concern if her milk intake all become formula will her condition get worse. Kindly advice how should I avoid this problem.

Last week started let her drink some water but seems she doesn't like it only few sucking then she will turn away her head. I didnt force her because I also afraid if she takes too much water will affect her milk intake. She is coming 6mth old but only drinking ave 600-680ml per day.

ru,
did u try changing FM brands? my elder girl was like tat, NAN, enfa all made her constipate. She could only drink mamil.

as for water, since yr girl is 6 mths already, u can start giving more frequently. need to also train bb to drink water. when u start solids, give more fruits to help her poo.

my elder girl also drank abt 600+ml per day before she start solids.

ru,

what brand is your bb drinking? how bad is her constipation?

my bb lately had constipation due to introduction to solids, doc advised me to let her drink water, but same as your bb, she doesnt like to drink water. However, she will drink water if i spoonfed her. I also add a bit of gripewater into her water and she would also drink.

Grumpus
I bought happy bellies puffs.. Can i feed my 8mths old girls? Or its for older bbs?

Gan
I use normal white rice to cook my girls porridge.. I will soak the rice for a few hrs then cook over stove till boil.. Then transfer to slow cooker and cook for abt 4hrs... It will be v lan...

Babyhopeful, bp is cheaper, can buy from ntuc finest. I bot from ntuc finest at Thomson plaza

Baby... The glass cover of my slow cooker broke into half... Discover this morning as I was cookin thru the night. Sianz.... Throw away all the porridge Coz scared got small glass fall in.

Ru my gal also drinking same amt as ur gal though she is 7.5 mths

baby,
yes u can try the happy bellies puff on yr 8 mths girls. they shd be able to handle it already.

rose,
my elder girl is drinking mamil. she is past stage 2 already

thanks for the offer anyway

Gan
Alamak... How come the glass cover so easy broke le..
Wasted the effort and porridge..

I usually start cooking at ard noon... I will porridge at ard 5pm.. So morning i only feed them cereal.. Cos i dont like to cook porridge during the night.. As i notice need to stir occasionally even using slow cooker..

Grumpus
I gave my two girls try the happy puffs today.. Both seems to like it.. But they dont really know how to place the puff into their mouth on their own... Cos they will only pick the puff and grab it in the middle of their palm... Still dont know how to pick with their forefinger and thumb..

Grumpus: no yet, I am giving her infalac, 2 feeds at the IFC as the teacher can't feed her well so instead of EBM, I get them to feed her formula. Pls advice on how to change the formula. Thks in advance.

Rose: because she is at IFC so very difficult to control. Did ask teacher to give water to her but fr her milk intake I think the teacher didn't really do a good job so sometime I feel sad but what can I do

Gan: oic. But u have started introduce solid to yr girl now right. There was once I tried make the cereal for her but because she is in bad mood so refuse to take. This wk is going to try again. Planning to get a baeba babycook to prepare her puree, on the other hand concern it will become white elephant as only can feed her myself on weekend only. So thinking maybe should visit her centre to discuss how to plan her menu.

Grumpus, help!

I m having engorgement with fever every week. I dunno wats wrong.. Already avoided fish intake. Tried to pump every 3-4 hrly every day but occasionally will drag to 5 hrs.

I hv cleared d engorgement myself for past 2 weeks with hot water bottle compress n apply cold cabbage after each pump but this time round, it is just so painful to massage it
I m in tears actually... Already try to pump it longer but d yield is only 50ml...as a result of d extended pumping, my right side jus recovered fm bleeding nipples..

I getting v demoralized with BF.. I jus dunno y it happens to me every week.. Or is there something wrong wif d breast?

My Cl says if I engorged too frequently might need to go for op? Any advices?

Hi day, rostrum!

Congrats on being new mummies! I gave birth to my little gal on 28 July at 38 weeks by epi csec as little one was in a breech position.

This is day 3 out of the hospital and the experience of motherhood so far has been great.. Thanks to alot of help from the CL

Enjoy motherhood day and rostrum, hope that with the advices from the forum and doc that your boys would b good soon
take care yea?

ru,

my PD did advise me to dilute d fm but i didnt follow. you may wish to consider... also if ur bb doesnt like plain water, mayb can try adding a bit of gripe water or some fruit juices in it to sweeten the taste, den gradually reducing d sweetness till bb is able to take plain water. puree wise, i noe some mummies here with bbs at IFC prepare frozen puree and bring to IFC. they do mass production over weekends and freeze d puree for a week supply.

Rose: thks for yr suggestion. I will try again to ask the teachers whether they can cooperate with my meal plan.

So u r giving cereal and puree to yr bb? what type of food is good to make my gr to avoid constipation?

Btw, the water bottle need to change after each try? Or use one bottle through out the whole day?

I have one combi training cup, can use it now or later? She still doesn't know how to hold thing.

Ru,
Since she's only on 2 formula feeds a day, u can just change one feed at a time and see if it helps with her constipation.

Since yr girl constipates easily, try not too give too much cereal in the beginning. Start with more fruits and veges like pumpkin, apple and pear.

Rostrum,
Poor u. There is nothing wrong with yr breast, yr milk production is very active tat's all. Would u believe I used to get engorgement everyday? My breasts will engorge before every pump. My mum or my hb hv to help me massage cos it's so painful n another person massaging will be more relentless to clear the engorgement rather than doing it myself.
It will get better as yr ss stabilizes. Mine got better towards 4-5mths. Dun do extended pumping cos tat actually stimulates more milk production and become a vicious cycle. Just massage n hand express.
Unfortunately there's no easy way to do this. R u using single or double pump? U need to clear out the milk effectively to reduce engorgement occurring. I used to massage during every pump otherwise I can't clear out the milk effectively.

Dun worry too much abt wat yr CL says. Ppl who get frequent breast infection may need op. But u're not there, so dun think abt it.

Baby,
Good tat yr girl enjoys the puffs, it's ok just keep letting them practice. My girl also cannot pick up the puffs properly, sometimes I will pick up for her n place between her thumb n forefinger for her so tat she can put into her mouth. The whole point abt giving them the puffs is so they can practice self feeding, it's just a snack, not proper food.

Ru, my girl had constipation after introducing cereal to her. After that, I dun dare to feed her cereal anymore. To help her poo, I fed her with apple and pear puree. She finally poo on the 4th day.

Ru,
How come u mention that the teacher cant feed her well? Is it cos only teacher cant feed her well or u also have a prob feeding her? If you don't and the teacher have that prob, U might want to have a word with the principal? Is it cos too many babies in the IFC and she can't cope? Cos maybe is the way she holds the baby and the baby does not feel comfy drinking milk in that position.

My girl's IFC teachers are quite good. When she constipate, they will auto stop her cereal. For bf babies, when they start off with cereals, they will have quite bad constipation. You might want to consider doing puree, like pear or papaya puree when they constipate. My girl also doesnt like to drink water. BUt the teachers told me that they add a bit of glucose powder into the water and let her drink when she constipates. It works.

For me, I make puree everytime my frozen supply finishes and I'll bring to sch every day and ask the teachers to feed my girl. You can try making if your baby is ready to take solids.

Rostrum,
I think maybe the dragging to 5hrs cause the engorgement. For a start u must really try to pump every 3hrly. In the first month I too have engorgement issues when I dun pump punctually at 3hrs. After the ss stablises after ard 1m, it will be better already.

Rose, Gan,
wow, all of u starting to cook porridge for your babies le. Ok, I'm more lazy. Maybe I should start already. My girl have started taking porridge. But from the school only. During weekends, I only give her cereal and puree. Have not started work on cooking yet..

Ru
U can try to give some yogurt too, helps with constipation. Add abit more water to the fruit and veg when u prepare the puree. For cereal, just pick rice cereal for now as others are harder to digest. Slowly when her system is more mature, will outgrow the problem.

Rose
I started to add protein in meals when bb was 6 mths but just a very small portion. For fish I did not blend but just mash it.

bubby bear, tickles,

i have not started on porridge, just plannin coz yet to buy slow cooker. am thinkin of mixin salmon into sweet potato or pumpkin puree. thinkin i wait n c first coz my bb only just passed 6mths.

ru,
one food to avoid is banana! my bb had bad constipation fr it which i thot shld be gd for constipation but turned out otherwise. pear is good! oso starting solids dun feed too much initially. i too impatient, my bb wants, i give, end up gave her too much, stool too hard. my pd said bb digestive sys not mature yet, so one food test for four days n not too much, few bbspoon will do. coz its to train them to eat fr spoon, not to fill them up.
oso if ur bb wakes up in d middle of night, give her water to drink, my bb blur blur at night, wil drink at least 50ml plain water. i oso hav d trainin bottle fr avent but my bb dun like to drink fr it...so i either feed fr milk bottle or spoonfeed.

Grumpus: Thanks your advice. I haven't really start to introduce her cereal. Just make once but she doesn't want then I discard the whole thing. Can we straight to feed puree for bb instead of cereal first?

Btw, I also intend to stop pump. Currently I do 3 times per day(morning, lunch and night). So what should I do. Just stop doing it or gradually?

Next, would like to know should we continue sterilize the milk bottle or once bb can eat well solid then we can no need to do that?

Tickles: Thanks. Only the teaches can't feed her well at IFC. At home I have no problem to feed her finish the bottle I prepared for her. She can drink 140ml at home but at IFC the most only up to 120ml (up from 100ml, but i also don't know whether they just write or actual feed) after several time I hinted why she can't finish her milk. The teachers always said never mind, don't force your child if she doesn't want to drink or your child super sensitive little bit of sound will turn her head and then don't want to drink......
I have hinted the principle too. I even told her to feed her in the special nursery room prepare for breastfeed mum. But then one or two days later, they back to the normal way again. Think of transfer her, but also concern will affect my bb if she has used to the enviroment. Where is your IFC?

I think I should go to meet the principle and talk to her this coming mon since I am on leave. Thanks for your advice.

You prepared the puree and bring to IFC, did you know how the teaches defrose (warm) it? or just take out from fridge prior to feed her?

Bubbybear: Thanks. How to make yogurt. Or buy those on the shelf (where to get it?)

Rose: Noted with thanks. I think I will buy the blender and start introduce puree to her this weekend.

Ru,
My girl's IFC is at Bedok Reservoir. The previous IFC that I put my girl in also got this feeding prob. Always waste my EBM de. Then I think is the way the teacher carries the baby when she feed. But anyway, due to other issues with the teachers, I transfer her to my elder girl's sch and she has been there since 5m and still doing fine. She finishes the EBM I provided so I'm happy. At times, U dun hint, u must say out but of cos must check your tone. Dun be too fierce. Just say out. I feel its ok de. As long as you say nicely should be alright. Speak to the principal abt your concerns.

The teachers will put in the fridge when I bring to sch and before eating warm up in the food warmer.

Ru,
When u wanna stop pumping, u need to do it gradually else will engorge. Now if only morn, lunch , night. Then u can start doing only morn and night. After 1 week, start only night. Then another 2 weeks can start not to pump le. I did that last time.

As for sterilizing, I still continue to sterilize the bottles.

Tickles do we need to warm the frozen purée to very hot? So far I only warm to room temp....'not sure is this correct. Thks

Avoid banana n sweet potato if baby is constipated