IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Tickles,
Wave! U went on a trip? Where did u go? I just got back from hk yesterday

JJ,

Do not worry. Everything will be fine.
We all have come so far to this stage, dun stress yourselves. Stay positive. Do something to distract ur thot, listen to some soothing music and relax.

I am going to on aircon (lately so hot weather), listen to baby music and take a nap now. There is nothing we can do now but to stay happy and enjoy the peace...once baby is out, lifestyle will all change...

Thanks Rose ... now the only thing to distract me is what to eat for my next meal !! hahahaa ...

No la ... its the occasional stray thot when I'm starting into space .. then I'll quickly find something to occupy my mind to shake off such thots

Yup .. feel super hot now ... so hot that when i went downstairs for dinner I took along a fan to fan myself all the way .. but still sweating

Grumpus,
How's your HK trip? I went to Malacca and Port Dickson.. Hub drove there. We went with a couple fren too.

JJ,
I think that myth is not true. Its cos of hormones only. When I expecting my #1 (girl) I gt a massive outbreak that I cry when I look at the mirror. Then people also ask me why so jialat. Even my back has it. But later into your pregnancy, when hormones are more or less eettled down will improve de. Just use a mild wash for now. Dun use those acne type leh. Too harsh on the skin liao. That time I use the clean and clear one and it helps.. Now 2nd pregnancy, so far still ok, only that occasionally will be a bit dry..

Tickles - maybe got 1 boy inside (1boy 1 ger) hahaha ...

last time sec sch days I use clean n clear ... think i will revert to using that now ... cos my face wash all like not to combat acne ...

Malacca nice .. i miss their chendol & good food !! Port dickson is their spa I miss

I heard that applying the teatree essential oil on the pimple will help clear it up. But do you all know if pregnant women can apply essential oil?

Fruitree - I googled & there are 2 sides to this .. some say can't, some say safe ... but weird enough the methods they were using the tea tree oil was ingesting it ... so I was thinking as long as don't ingest it just on the skin shouldn't be a prob ...

I was thinking of asking the bodyshop pple if tea tree oil can use for preg woman

JJ, wah that's weird. Never heard of ingesting it.

I have the bodyshop tea tree oil with me now and am itching to use it on my pimples. But dare not take the risk without knowing. I think the bodyshop staff may also not know la.

Or maybe go for facial. But also scared that the breakout will be even worse.

Sigh! Just got to endure. I think now that our hormones are a bit haywire, should not try anything new or harsh.

JJ,
Just try to use those gentle wash ba. For me clean and clear seems gentle. If u can tahan, can just wash with water, thats the best treatment for pimples. Provided u dun make up la..

Ya. Malacca the cendol is nice. I ate a nice wanton mee too. and also A&W.. Yums~ The at PD, I didnt do any spa, cos I dun dare to anyhow do.. But cos the room gt private pool, I swim almost everyday and my girl also enjoys it... Very relaxing lor..

JJ: Two three weeks ago I also had a sudden outbreak of blemishes on my forehead. Its ugly small bumps and I use tea tree unknowingly and it got worse. My skin started drying up and peeling. So I used a hydrating mask and miraculously the bumps disappeared after a while. I understand how u feel...its' hormone related. Let it clear ok? I did not want to use anything anymore coz I am worried. Pls refrain from Vitamin-A infused things like Retin-A (all-trans retinoic acid ) based topical gels/creams.

ya me approaching 18 weeks.bought things here and there..you are gg for Oscar soon?

grumpus: i was just browsing my fren's HK pic and all the food make me drool...aiyo...i am dying to get away...haha though I dun feel safe...

Skies, congrats!!! Yr babies are of good weight. Even bigger than those singleton! Please latch yr babies as much as you can. You will feel more relaxed and yr milk supply will follow.

Rose, the shop at whampoa has been around since I was a little girl. You are right! The prices are cheaper than the ones at amk. Btw, for those designs that tie in front, how many did you buy? I only managed to get teo newborn size that day.

Tickles - I've not put on make up in ages .. for now is to maintain a clean skin by regular washing... will go find the clean & clear fash wash ...

PinkD - Yup .. nxt scan is for DS. Then 3 Nov will be seeing Dr Loh wanna ask if I can do swimming liao

gers - now is still too early to feel any movements right? I'm 11weeks tomor.. jus now felt some mild thumps at womb there don't knw it's them or it's gas... hahaha

Wow looks like the whampoa is much cheaper than amk.. Too bad i already buy at amk liao...

Working wife
Yr avent bp arrive liao? The bf pillow u buy is what colour one?

Panda
Just now drove to amk hub to walk walk.. Bought the dry shampoo at guardian.. Not cheap hor.. One bottle $14.90.. I only bought one.. Should be enough.. Also bought two round clip hangers for mittens and booties..
Shop for 3hrs v shack liao... Tired mann...

Hows yr kkh appt?

Just faith,

Coz I also bought from AMK and elsewhere, total I have 12 pcs tie in front and think 8 with buttons...hb is keeping track on the quantity and what to buy. The shop also carry cot and stroller (lucky brand) which the uncle said its identical to the kiddy palace one. He said can go kiddy palace see model and call to ask him his price for the model, he said his price is cheaper.

Any gers bought car seat liao?

Any brand to recommend?

I recently learnt that for stroller, better to get one with more padding inside and longer in length. If its reversible, better to be 4 wheel turnable, so that maneuver will be smoother when in reverse direction. Also the basket preferrable be bigger for putting diapers and stuff.

But not so sure for car seat what to watch out for, any clues?

Tickles,
my girl had loads of fun. skipped her afternoon nap and milk almost everyday....
mummy and daddy need another holiday to recover :p

Just reach home ... spend a good few hours at KKH... n did not get scanned! haiz... the doc's room dun hv scan machine one..then she wants snr sonographer to scan me..but i dun hv scan appt! so i hv to go back tmr at 8am for scan.. then 1050am, doc will see me again to review the scan results :S

Fruitree, i was told tht its normal to feel heavy or occasional tummy tightness... so long as no pain... very important to relax..coz when our body is relax, it can stretch better for the babies

u might wanna minimise walking too much.. try to have regular rests if u need to be walking alot..

JJ,i had outbreak during 1st tri...but by 2nd tri, it all cleared up... avoid using harsh products coz skin is more sensitive during pregnancy..

Tickles, u went for hols! i was wondering how come never hear from u so many days...hee.. so envy...... i can only dream of holiday at home....*starting to day dream again* hahaha

Baby, this morning i was reading up on GD leh..then suddenly got abit worried.... coz one of the symptoms is feeling thirsty alot... n i hv been feeling very thirsty the last couple of days!! just now went kkh ...felt relieved when i clear the urine test!

i told angela i worry babies will drop out leh! she explained to me tht it will not happen tht way..hahahahaa....i must hv sounded v silly to her.. she says before babies wanna come out, uterus got to stretch alot for cervix to open..AND when tht happens, i will feel alot of pain! she told me to minimise too much movement the next 6 weeks.. prevent the water bag membrane from breaking..coz when tht happens, then doc will hv to deliver the babies...

Panda
Ya kkh dr room mostly dont have scan machine cos its all scan by sonographer.. Dr only review the scan report frm the sonographer...
Tml will be another long day for u...

U mention water bag breaking.. Sounds scary leh... Movement will make water bag break ah?

baby,

i ask angela wht we can do to prevent water bag from breaking too early... she says nothing much... except try to minimise too much movements and plenty of rest...

i told her recently i need to nap alot... she told me its my body's way of telling me that i m carrying alot of weight..best to sleep! hahaah...

i tink i will need another half day at KKH tmr.... thankfully their appt will be once a month..so after tmr...next next appt is at 30weeks... n once clear 32 weeks..dun hv to go there liao...

oohh...the doc on duty at kkh told me she wants a snr sonographer to scan me becoz the normal sonographers usually get confused when there are more than 2 babies! hahahaha..n she said 3 is alot..sounded so funny......

Baby,

Haven't received the bp... have you? I ordered the mocha coloured BF pillow... It didn't seem like I could choose colour. Anyway, colour not so important to me
Yes, the price is USD57 but after shipping charges (within US), its USD66.

Rose,

I bought the ACE carrier infant car seat at BB Kingdom for $75 each. Figured that since we won't be using it for too long, don't need to get the expensive Maxi-Cosi type. Do you plan to get infant car seat or those which can use up to 2-3 years old?

Panda,

Wah, must be tiring for you. Luckily you decided not to attend Dr's talk, you will definitely be so tired tomorrow after all the waiting!

JJ - I think 11 weeks might be too early to feel movements, unless this is not your first pregnancy. According to the pregnancy books and also my doctor, u will feel movements at 18-22 weeks for first pregnancy, and maybe 15-18 weeks for second pregnancy. For me, I first felt movement at 19 weeks.

Panda
Ya usually with multiples sonographer will be senior.. More experience... When i did my oscar and detailed scan at tmc.. Both times is the same dr.. She is the director of the fetal assesment... Initially one dr came into the room wanted to do the scan.. Then she saw twins on my file.. She went out again to get the director...

3 bbs definitely is alot! Heehee.. With two i already feel so stretched and heavy... Can imagine yrs mann... Btw i also put on 12kg so far... Seems like alot hor... I thk later part the weight gain will be more when bbs growing at faster rate..

Working wife
I hvt get my pump yet...
They only have mocha one colour for the pillow?

Baby..today's wt check..I gain 15kg already! I m bursting most of the maternity wear tht my frens pass to me leh... Problem..coz only tummy bigger..the next bigger size will be too big at arm hole n bust if can fit the tummy...

Panda - its a sign to stay at home more, so don't need to wear so many maternity clothes... heehee...

Baby - the link that I sent you is mocha only I think. There are other links for lime green etc, you will be able to see at Amazon website where they show you other bf pillows on sale (shld be in the same page as the link I sent)

Working wife....I agree! Left two mths plus..dun really wanna buy too.. If i can wear the karmy pjs out, I will! Hahaha...
The team at care always tease me about my tummy size when I go there nowadays..

Panda, yeah, i think I should reduce my movement also. My tummy always feels tight especially after meals. But feel better after lying down.

KKH, that's the prob, only sonographer will scan. Sometimes doc will scan, but will be damn fast, not very detailed.

Looks like I'll be sleeping more at home as well

Fruitree..tightness aft meals is normal...food fighting for space w the babies..keke.

It's admirable u can still work! I can almost sleep whole day..today afternoon din nap.. Now feel like energy level zero liao...

Panda
Today u went for two appts , must be tired. I also worry got contractions before 37 weeks. Think can't prevent such things . This week can really feel the low energy entering 29 weeks.

Tomorrow also giving the dr talk a miss. Maybe those attending can share some impt pointers with us

Panda
Thats good.. Only yr bump is growing and not yr other parts of body.. This shows all the weight gain is frm yr bbs.. Not u..
Did u measure yr bump size? From the top(between yr breast) to the bottom (stop at yr pubic line)...
Yr bump really v big now? Cannot visualise leh...

Working wife
Oh different link have different colour... Ok i go check it out..
I think bf pillow is only useful for the initial stage.. Once bb grow bigger.. Cant use the pillow liao..

nancy, yeah lor.. was quite exhausted..hehe..

u r right we cannot totally prevent it..can only do our best... with the med to relax the uterus..n plenty of rest..hopefully babies can stay inside as long as possible...

baby..my tummy looks like normal singleton going to pop size..keke..... got put on weight on lower body leh.. haha.. upper body very minimal...i bought bigger bottoms along the way....but tops i can still fit small size if not for the growing bump...

i noticed my boys wakes up at 4plus every morning... they are training me for their feeds siah..keke..coz i will feel hungry around this time...

working wife,

Ya, I intend to get those convertable car seat, can use longer, unlike stroller, like not many people discuss on the specs etc...

Also gers, when did you feel ur baby movement? How does it feel like? I am into my wk 23 now, but still no obvious movement leh. Only feel like bubble or gas movement in my tummy...where will the baby be? Below belly button area?

PinkD,
You can have your holiday when you hit 20 weeks. Thats when its safe to go...
Do check with Angela abt it.. Just a short trip can le. Duntire yourself.

Grumpus,
My girl enjoyed herself too. She loves to swim and play with water so she has been swimming everyday during the trip... I bet your girl had fun in disneyland too. I also intend to go HK with my elder girl next year, probably in Oct/ Nov. Then my baby girl I'll leave her with my MIL. Wanna bring her to disneyland. I think she'll like it cos she has been talking abt disneyland since we came back from our Tokyo trip last yr.. So maybe bring her to HK one next yr.. Have to plan plan plan.. I 've also book a F&E NZ trip in Jul next yr. So can do some planning and homework during my ML...
For the NZ trip also bring my elder girl only as its winter period. Looking forward to holidaying again.. keke~

JJ,
Ya.. no need to use make up for now if skin condition not good. And just wash with mild wash can already.

Panda,
Ya.. I went for holiday.. Just a short trip to Port Dickson and Malacca. So never come in.. keke~ U arh.. Cant go holiday now and in the next 2-3 years.. Cos will be super busy.. Wait till your babies are bigger then everyone go for a short trip tgt ba...

Tickles,
wow! u've got so many holidays lined up! my girl is a water bb too! we just drove up to sunway lagoon earlier this yr...keke
i brought my elder girl to hk when she was 1yo, this is the 2nd time she's going. squeeze one in just before she's 3 cos it's still free! cheapo mummy.
i went to NZ in 2007 when i was preggie with my elder girl, did F&E too, it's very relaxing. think yr girl will enjoy it too....lots of greenery...something different.
u 'she de' to leave yr bb girl at home ah??

Tickles - I went out to buy clean & clear to wash my face after yr advise yesterday.. will update u if got improvements. = )

NZ is nice .... but ex to travel too

Grumpus,
Haha! I bu she de.. But then cos NZ got cheap flight promo ma.. Then hub say wanna go and bring my elder dot there. Actually if bring younger dot also can cos only $100 extra. But then I decided not to cos winter. I scared later she too cold. Anyway, we only gg for a week so should be ok.. She's in good hands with my MIL so I'm not worried..

My elder dot very funny de, she swim and play with water but her hair will not get wet de. cos she dun like water on her face.. Haha! Your elder girl not 3 yo yet arh? She's a Nov/ Dec 2007 baby is it? My elder girl also not 3 yet. She'll turn 3 in Dec and she's asking for a Dora cum Barney bday party liao.. If after 3 yo, need to pay for disneyland entrance liao huh? How much huh?

Rose,
I think most ppl got the infant car seat which can also double as a carrier to transport bb in and out of house. The infant car seat can last up to 4-6 months, so I haven't checked out the car seat for up to 2 years yet. Will buy that later when they outgrow the infant seat. Some good brands I heard like Maxi-Cosi & Graco.

According to doctor, bb movement can be felt usually around 18-22 weeks. What you describe could be bb movements. Don't worry... the movements are sometimes inconsistent ie. you don't feel it all the time, even though they are moving. Sometimes, they are facing inside, or the placenta is at the front so padding their movements plus they're really small now so still floating about in the fluid. The movement shld become more consistent and stronger in the next few weeks. Important thing is when you go for doc check up, you can see bb active on the scan
Are you having singleton? Yr bb should be just below belly button.

Hi Rose,
I'm into my 23 weeks too.
I felt the first bb movement or "bubbling" around 18 weeks. I could feel bb moving, sometimes on left and sometimes on the right. But not "tsunami waves" kind like Panda's. Usually, it is more obvious when i lie down or sit down. But the movement is not every hour though, only at certain times of day.

Tickles,
my elder girl is a jan bb, so she's technically a yr younger than yr girl...kekeke...
after 3 yo need to pay child fee to disneyland. HK$250 ~ SGD40+

my girl already had a barney bday party this yr, next yr dunno wat it's going to be liao...