Sigh feeling very troubled about this femara treatment...unclear if im responding and feeling depressed about it. Although I still harbour a little hope that I can avoid ivf I still being v negative so as to avoid disappointment. My relative just gave birth to no 3 and I went to visit made me feel so lousy

When i visit doc loh for 2nd opinion for 1st time before try ivf,he told me:
If you are lucky,u bring home a baby
i ask him ivf got any side effects/wat is e bad thg, he said
the bad thing about ivf is disappointment.
i think the above makes some sense.

Ladies hang on,although 60 to 70% failure,there is still 20 to 40 % chance for most of u!
Just gotta manage expectation..since art is just another way to help us conceive n no garuantee a baby..

Although e truth of bfn does hurts no matter how good u manage it initially. Life goes on..

But oceandeep,since its yr 1st attempt,never try never know. Who knows u may be having luck with ivf! Yrs not tested yet with ivf route so dun be too pessimestic first.jiayou! :)

Ladies hang on,although 60 to 70% failure,there is still 20 to 40 % chance for most of u!
Just gotta manage expectation..since art is just another way to help us conceive n no garuantee a baby..

Although e truth of bfn does hurts no matter how good u manage it initially. Life goes on..

But oceandeep,since its yr 1st attempt,never try never know. Who knows u may be having luck with ivf! Yrs not tested yet with ivf route so dun be too pessimestic first.jiayou! :)
i am so worried about side effects lor...dunno will cause cancer or not. keep injecting hormones into your body. some people after ivf their cyst becomes bigger. after ivf sometimes i feel my breast qte painful, and feel womb like not the sme as before. always have weird pain here and there. anyone care to share if u feel any side effects?

Hi ladies, I had a failed so-IUI on dec cycle, many side effects fro the jabs n med, breast pains for whole cycle n when my af finally came, very pain with many blood clots n very heavy n tot I got m/c, may plan for IVF, depends on doc review with dr lau, Jiayou bah

Sigh feeling very troubled about this femara treatment...unclear if im responding and feeling depressed about it. Although I still harbour a little hope that I can avoid ivf I still being v negative so as to avoid disappointment. My relative just gave birth to no 3 and I went to visit made me feel so lousy
mqiu , hope u do not need to do ivf . when i was under clomid in the earlier stages of my fertility treatment, i was stil very cheerful and positive. jus to warn u in advance that the disappointments in ivf failures is much greater than femara failure. have to tell yourself to be strong and brave once u start this journey . the courage wil slowly built up one. jiayou

i am so worried about side effects lor...dunno will cause cancer or not. keep injecting hormones into your body. some people after ivf their cyst becomes bigger. after ivf sometimes i feel my breast qte painful, and feel womb like not the sme as before. always have weird pain here and there. anyone care to share if u feel any side effects?
He didnt mention abt side effects. Think they wont say much on this. We just have to take this risk if we wanna walk this route i guess.

Maybe cos u are still recovering?

Old aunty,its late le. Should zz early. Must rest well k.

When ever I try to do some walking or take thing with very little weight, I always feel cramp and 'like something dropping'. Hiaz...can't imagine for ladies who work during tww period. feeel so 'useless' now....
U are now on 2ww? It's normal to feel like this. I had bad constipation that on D2 of transfer, I strained my bowel, also thinking that the embryo will drop out! But not true la so dun worry.

I also feel different this cycle after IVF. Had pink discharge twice mid cycle and having pain in my lower pelvic and lower backache, AF due this weekend. No breast pain though. Just feel different from my usual cycles.

I feel as long as u don't do too many cycles together it should be fine. That's why dr want us to rest two cycles if we have many jabs cos to flush away drugs in our body.

Yes I agree. He mentioned before that ivf is not a perfect technology. Some things can't explain. Implantation till now science cannot control we just have to keep trying. He also encourage to continue try naturally even if all else fails. Sometimes he will tell stories which U thought he is just casual chat but if u listen carefully there is a message behind his stories.

Hi anyone on long cycle?

I jus started and wan to find out something. After lucrin jab starts on day 21, then we will be schedule a scan and BT to determine if we can start stim.

On the scan and BT day, will we be collecting our stim meds? I wan to apply leave. Dunno take half or full day.

Then do we need to return to KKH on the first stim day?

Thank you!!!

Anyone who has gone consultation with Dr Loh at O&G Thomson Clinic and request for an MC? Which department will the MC be stated and also is it under Thomson Hospital as header? TIA! =)

Hi anyone on long cycle?

I jus started and wan to find out something. After lucrin jab starts on day 21, then we will be schedule a scan and BT to determine if we can start stim.

On the scan and BT day, will we be collecting our stim meds? I wan to apply leave. Dunno take half or full day.

Then do we need to return to KKH on the first stim day?

Thank you!!!
Try to ask for mc from kkh

Do we need to rest a few cycles before going for fet? Does the doctor decide whether natural or medicated?
I was thinking we should keep the momentum going.. But was wondering we need to regulate e menses cycle in between anot
Definitely keep the momentum going. However, momentum also includes rest and recharge to increase our chances of success :)
After a failed fresh and if the doc cannot find any concerns that may affect your chances, I think it's good to have a 2-3 month break to flush the stim drugs out of our bodies before the next fresh or FET.
After a failed natural FET and if the doc cannot find any concerns that may affect your chances, technically you can go back the next cycle since no drugs is involved. Or you can go TCM, tio your body through diet/exercise and try again in 1-2 months time.
At KKH, the docs will decide natural or med FET.

Definitely keep the momentum going. However, momentum also includes rest and recharge to increase our chances of success :)
After a failed fresh and if the doc cannot find any concerns that may affect your chances, I think it's good to have a 2-3 month break to flush the stim drugs out of our bodies before the next fresh or FET.
After a failed natural FET and if the doc cannot find any concerns that may affect your chances, technically you can go back the next cycle since no drugs is involved. Or you can go TCM, tio your body through diet/exercise and try again in 1-2 months time.
At KKH, the docs will decide natural or med FET.

@bunnymuimui thanks very much for your explanation and advice! yep gog for a short getaway this weekend to recharge and prepare myself for questions next week when I appear for work sigh!
now is breaking the news to my mum who has been taking such good care of me during this period, she will be heartbroken as well. :(

I always find that if doing ivf....there's nothing to hide. Must let people understand that it is not an easy process. I only get to know success stories of ivf thru sharing by colleague and friend's SIL then I find hopeful to do ivf.
Of course this forum helps too.
I guess that you must have had a very strong heart to do that. Most people know that it is a tough process, but they can't empathise and end up asking questions that I wasn't prepared to share.

@Laoshi, fresh IVF involves a lot of medication and hence I would wait 2-3 months for the body to adjust itself and go for some TCM before attempting again. That's my personal preference. At KKH, we would have to review with doc to see if any other procedures required. When all is clear, then he'll write the memo to KKIVF to schedule you for a new fresh. Are you at KK too?
My sister who had a successful IVF advised a 3 month gap in between cycles too.

Has anyone done natural FET under Dr Loh? He only asked me to call back during Day 13 to 14, for scan, and didn't explain further. Can someone share with me the full procedure?

Hi old aunty, I've also heard bout the side effects on some like clomid.
If uses more than 3 times will causes ovarian cancer etc heard it from a doc at mount E when I ask him bout it.

I think everyone of us has lots of med in our body before the ivf need loads of injections etc 2ww still need take med. If BFP still worried if baby can survive 9 months and eventually give birth to healthy baby.
So much stress

Yes, very stressed indeed.

Eat also stressed, drink also stressed :D

and i desperately need a hair colour soon to cover my grays, but worried about side effect. Googled googled and googled, divided views, decided to play safe, but risk looking like an ah mah during cny. :(

Has anyone done natural FET under Dr Loh? He only asked me to call back during Day 13 to 14, for scan, and didn't explain further. Can someone share with me the full procedure?

Hi, I've heard from my TCM for natural FET, no medication will be given like progynova for lining so which means you can even try natural with your hubby during this period.
The reason for call back during day 13 or day 14 is to see if your lining is thick enough for transfer.

Scan for lining and check if u hv ovulated. likelys will do a trigger jab in order to itime the thaw and transfer date. Since natural, no need for earlier scans to see if meds given is adequate or not. Good luck!

But i wld still recommend you monitor your own ovulation LH surge and if u tracking a surge call clinic asap and see what they hv to recommend.

I guess that you must have had a very strong heart to do that. Most people know that it is a tough process, but they can't empathise and end up asking questions that I wasn't prepared to share.

For office wise, i never tell them the truth. Just women thing. For my own family, i did tell them when i do my 2 fresh and frozen because me and hubby are still staying with them that point of time. But this time, im not going to tell anyone. I feel its rather stressing when many people knew and when it failed, even they say something, its not even calm to the heart. Mayb that is just me.

I am hoping to go for my FET in March. Does anyone know how to prepare the body now, to tone the lining?

mayb we gonna be cycle buddies. coz im on medicated so mayb transfer will be in mid march too.

Im taking vitamins to just build my immune system. i take multi-vitamins, coq 10, fish oil and folic acid. Wear socks to sleep and work. No more cold drinks. It may not be necessary since im doing fet but I just want to be kiasu. Maybe starting march, i will start on red dates drink and red bean soup to warm my uterus.

I nvr told anyone i was cycling. .and i did 5 fresh, 2 FETs, 1 iui, 4 abandoned FETs. And I am considered lucky i nvr had to face a BFP that is taken away too soon.

Friend and those who i know are ttc-ing are married + talking abt children know I am an IVFer. However, i would never share w anyone who is not undergoing the IVF journey when i am cycling. I am glad to discuss high level, simple next steps for those who are interested further and explain things like stimulation drugs and oocyte retrieval etc.

But when you are cycling, no one but an IVFer understands this journey. That's why the sisters on this forum are such a life-saver.

That's just my take as i can't be bothered to entertain those who are just kepoh abt the processs. No one truly understands how deep the knife cuts each time there is bad news (lining not thick enough, eggs not growing, few eggs scanned, uneven maturity, not responding to meds, LH surge before trigger, embryos not cleaving, thawed embbies didnt survive, unknown implantation doubts, why we need so much support meds until must insert vaginally/anally, BFN call, sight of AF, doing blardy BT when already AF arrived, .. how to explain to others not on the same journey?). I am an multiple IVFer so to hv to face others and explain over and over again that the latest attempt failed becomes abit of a sad affair (for me to tell with a brave face; and for them to listen & put on a brave face to show enough concern but not really understanding why a "sure-thing" like ivf didnt work).

I nvr told anyone i was cycling. .and i did 5 fresh, 2 FETs, 1 iui, 4 abandoned FETs. And I am considered lucky i nvr had to face a BFP that is taken away too soon.

Friend and those who i know are ttc-ing are married + talking abt children know I am an IVFer. However, i would never share w anyone who is not undergoing the IVF journey when i am cycling. I am glad to discuss high level, simple next steps for those who are interested further and explain things like stimulation drugs and oocyte retrieval etc.

But when you are cycling, no one but an IVFer understands this journey. That's why the sisters on this forum are such a life-saver.

That's just my take as i can't be bothered to entertain those who are just kepoh abt the processs. No one truly understands how deep the knife cuts each time there is bad news (lining not thick enough, eggs not growing, few eggs scanned, uneven maturity, not responding to meds, LH surge before trigger, embryos not cleaving, thawed embbies didnt survive, unknown implantation doubts, why we need so much support meds until must insert vaginally/anally, BFN call, sight of AF, doing blardy BT when already AF arrived, .. how to explain to others not on the same journey?). I am an multiple IVFer so to hv to face others and explain over and over again that the latest attempt failed becomes abit of a sad affair (for me to tell with a brave face; and for them to listen & put on a brave face to show enough concern but not really understanding why a "sure-thing" like ivf didnt work).

well said! im a two fresh and two abandoned fet. b4 ivf been thru ectopic pregnancy, next ivf been thru half way bfp process n miscarried, been thru abandoned natural fet coz lining not met, been thru abandoned medicated fet on the day i have warded myself in day surgery due to embryo not survive the thaw, been thru no implantation. its really devestating going thru all this. And so the journey still goes on and really hope it will ends well for all of us. lets persevere!

I'm with Dr Loh at TFC and will be doing FET next. He told me to call on the 1st day of my 2nd menses after my failed fresh to arrange for scan on CD10. Anyway I asked the nurse if I must proceed with FET immediately after my fresh? She told me to still come for scan on my 2nd menses even if I decided to do it later. I thought only go for scan when you are ready for FET? Btw will the thawing of embryos be affected the longer they are kept frozen?

No need to go for scan if u are not planning to do that mth. Yours is natural FET? Embryos are frozen at the age they are freeze so won't affect even if u keep for ten yrs.

No matter how much we prepare ourselves for failure, when that day comes,it is still heart breaking. I still remembered how I would break into tears whenever my colleagues shown their concern and asked when my fresh cycle failed.
It is heartbreaking but it is still worthwhile to try .
To all the sisters out there, don't give up as there is hope. I managed to conceive in my first try and all the doctors said it is a miracle as my body is really weak but I did it so there is miracle

No need to go for scan if u are not planning to do that mth. Yours is natural FET? Embryos are frozen at the age they are freeze so won't affect even if u keep for ten yrs.
Thanks. Yes nurse told me the doc is probably planning natural FET for CD10 scan. Maybe I mistook what the nurse said. Had my post IVF review on the same day of my 2nd beta hcg BT which never increase from my 1st reading. Double blow within 48 hours so could not not really register what she said liao.

Hi sisters
Can I check dhea is taken to improve quality or quantity of eggs?

If I have grainy eggs, will it improve if I take dhea?

Hi ttc77,

U saw another gynae le?
Did they have any comments to improve e results?
By e way,wat is grainy eggs?

Hihi, I've.called.to.book.Dr foong. But earliest slot is in March. So I have to wait

Just went to See Dr Loh today.he mentioned abt taking dhea to improve quality of egg. But he did mentioned he feel might not help much Cos it's meant for people with Low ovarian reserves

Actually I'm not Sure what does grainy egg means But Dr Loh says means the quality of egg is not good.

Dr Loh told me actually grainy eggs is not affected my lifestyle or the food we eat. He says some people are born with grainy eggs. Even if we change life style or diet also won't improve

After today session, I feel quite emo.this is like death sentence to me.really don't know if I will ever have a kid: (