Josephine,
I can sleep bec I'm not at your stage yet. Only starting my stage 1 next week.hehehe.......

Ya, easy for me to say, I forgot that all of you are having cramps and discomfort.

Tips: Read a boring book. Drink some milk bec I can't sleep when my tummy is empty.

Sorry, may not be helpful, all these are common sense to most of us already. hehehe......

Bliss,

So Maykel and you are also seeing Dr Zhong. So we are seeing the same sinseh. Hopefully, all of us have Good News.

Maykel,

I think my chance is lower. Dr Zhong said I shouldn't start IVF so soon. Bec I have liver problem, according to TCM, liver is one of the impt organ than supply good blood to the other organ. So she said if my liver is not working well, my womb will be affected. That’s why it is not functioning well. She said that I should go for TCM treatment for a few months to tiao my body before embarking on IVF. But I told her that I took no-pay leave to try IVF. I have time constrain as my leave is ending soon. Sigh…….I should have let her Tiao my body earlier.

A bit dishearten after I hear what she said. Already I’m 35, lower chance, and now got other problem. Sigh……. She said she’ll try to help by giving me TCM to Tiao for these 2 weeks before I start IVF. Hopefully this will help.

Today is just 6 days after ET. Yesterday I had a lot of bloating with indigestion kind of pains. Today, there's nothing. I don't seem to have any other symptoms, no cramps whatever. I'm very worried.

Hi Dimple

I'm with Thomson Fertility Centre. The nurses there are very helpful and give lots of good advice.

Hi Bliss

I hope your ER went smoothly. May all your eggs be fertilised and be good grade embryos.

Hi Juju

Congrats once again! Like what Happyever has said,God has given you the best.

Hi Bakaholic

It seems bloating is a good sign. I asked the nurse 2 days ago and she said that if there's bloating, something is happening. Sigh! My bloating has stopped. Take care.

Hi Patricia

Congrats! That's a good number of eggs. I hope you'll have a smooth ET too.

Hi Mala,
Dun worry too much. I did some googling on the net and there are ppl with no symptoms and got BFP. Just rest well and relax. My bloating seems to have gone down as well. Let's keep a positive mind and hope for the best.

Hey Patricia,
That's alot of eggs! Take care and all the best for your ET.

hey gals,

I did 3 cycles 1 fresh and 2 FET, took MC for 1st 2 cycles and quit my job for the last cycle but still did not get a positive in the end.

I will be expecting to start a new fresh cycle around end Oct, wondering if anyone here who worked through the 17 days and still got a positive?

and for those who worked through the 17 days, would you consider yr job to be physically strenous or more desk bound?

Thanks for your input in advance.

Hi Juju,
Dun wori, you are not alone....me oso felt kinda disappointed when i know my beta is not high enough for twins or more, my beta is even lower than urs. Not sure if you read from the ivf-mtb forum, mikojade shared that her tcm got 1 patient whose beta oni 199 and she got twins. SO nothing is definite til we see the scan

But i was telling myself, as long as i have 1 precious one, its good enough, its really better than dun have right?
Dun think so much, must be happy then can have happy babies.

Hi Happy,
I'm usually a late sleeper, esp these 2 days i'm on mc, tats why take the chance to sleep even later heehee.....my hubby did try to made me sleep by 10pm but difficult lah. Anyway, no matter wat time i sleep, i still can't sleep well cos at night keep getting up to PU, after that can't sleep liao. Oh, i heard abt the liver thing, thanks for your reminder mum ;)
Oh ya, i think its true tat after drinking milk i can sleep better leh, dun know why leh.

If you think this is the time for you to do ivf, then just follow ur heart, i feel that the chance would still be there, no matter wat condtion you have. Just be consitent in ur med and treatment. Else i understand it is difficult if you start work. Did she say acup would help?

Dun give up and dun be dishearten, have faith in urself. Anyway, imagine this, if you dun see tcm, you won't know all this and would still go for ivf right? So now you know, at least you can tiao for few wks 1st then go ahead. Anyway, you can continue to tiao thruout ur stage 1 and 2, so still at least 1mth plus, come to think of it, not so bad right?

Mala,
I also didn't have any cramps or symptoms after ET but still show positive results. Should be alright. Don't worry. Was your previous day cramp very bad?

Hi Mala,
The symptoms are usually not definite and you can have differnt symptoms at differnt times, so dun think so much. Most impt, you knew that you had rested well and done ur best to take good care during this period. I dun know why i didn't feel worried when i got no symptoms, i'm worried when i have symptoms haha.....But i understand that as long as you stay bloated, the chances is high. me oso got bloated thruout after my ET.

Hi babymaking,
I tried one fresh cycle, only took 2 days hospital leave, then went back to work. My job is deskbound with minimal walking. But during that time was stress due to the volume of work. I did get positive but could be due to the stress, lost it after 2 weeks. For next round of fresh cycle, told myself that must try to rest properly for 2 weeks.

I'm new here. I sincerely hope u mummies can help me to clarify some doubts of mine.
Firstly, I suspect i'm not ovulating cos my temp is way too low throughtout the whole month (that's what the doc is suspecting) I'm very very upset upon news like this, my hopes seems dashed... I didn't tell my hubby as yet. Would like to check if u gals is IVF the only option left for me? N may I know how much it cost? Pls advise....

baymaking,
i did not worked through 17 days. I went back to work after 5 days of rest. mine job is more of desk bound but have to work quite late everyday like 8+pm. And during the 5 days of rest, i went out everyday to buy meals.

Hi OngFamy,

There are other options:
1. Clomid (not ovulating): Cheapest, can make u ovulate. But depend on you husband spem, if no good then you can choose option 2&3 depend on your husband sperm. Normally, if you go to gynae the doctor will prescribe you Clomid. Or you can straight away decided to go with IVF.
2. IUI (sperm no good but still can swim): I think $500-1000, I never try this.
3. IVF (sperm really really no good/fallopian tube blocked/unknown problem although sperm is good and no other issue with ovulation): At KKIVF, about $6000-$9000 depend on the medication you need to induce your ovulation.

ongfamy,
you might not need to go straight to IVF yet. Taking clomid help some of the ladies to ovulate. next stage is IUI or SO-IUI (cheaper than ivf provided you have no blocked tubes) if clomid failed then the last stage is IVF which is the most costly.
Anyway, its better for your doctor to advise you what is the best treatment for you.

Thxs for your precious advice.
Now i'm worried that the doc is suspecting I don't hv eggs or maybe not enough eggs. So he ask me to monitor my temp for another month, if not he will advice I go for a check-up. Can u mummies reco me gd gynac, I'm totally clueless as what to do. I even thought my adoption alr... cos i feel i've let my hubby down

Hi ongfamy,
You can consult your gynae to give you clomid to try for a few months.

Hi Sisters,
I have a query, for those with KKH, roughly how much does the FET cost? Thanks

ongfamy,
have you tried using the ovulation prediction kit to check whether you ovulate. Cos it not reliable to trust only on the temperature. btw, are your menses regular?

hi ladies.

i'm new here too. did one failed IUI and considering IVF next.

i've read about the ivf process but there's a part that's usually not explained v clearly - ER.

during ER, will one be on GA (general anesthesia)? i understand a v fine needle is inserted thru vagina to retrieve the eggs, and am thinking this would be v uncomfortable or even painful right??

grateful if someone can shed more light into the ER and even ET processes....

Hi Bakaholic, ya tell me about it.. waiting till next week is very stressful. I can imagine the pressure right after BT. We must remain positive and hope for the best. We've done all there is, now just pray for a positive. Take care and rest well.

Hi Pooh2,
For the egg retrieval, you will be on GA. You'll fall asleep almost immediately once they inject you with the drug. Won't feel a thing until you wake up. That's when you feel relatively sore. But the painkillers subscribed should work. Other than that its bloatedness. Severity depending if you have PCOS. which you can counter with high protein drinks like ensure and egg whites. For ET, you will not be on GA. But it'll take less than half hour. You'll need to have a full bladder for this. It's like having a pap smear.

Hi Ongfamy,
I went for several checks. My first thorough checks/blood tests with NUH predicted that I'm not ovulating, so I went to get a second opinion at Gleneagles under Prof Ng Soon Chye. It was a different opinion. So hubby and I decided to go for IVF straight due to poor sperm mobility. Was considering clomid and IUI, but that'll that several months to try out and I feel that my biological clock is ticking. So I felt might as well go for ivf with a higher degree of chances.
Currently I'm in my 2ww. Praying hard that'll work.
So the best is for you and your hubby to weigh out your options given your circumstances with your doc's advise and make the decision. I can't tell you much about the experience with clomid and iui as i didn't go through it. But with ivf, it's an emotional road with daily injections for quite a while. It's not easy but you gotta have a lot of faith and support from each other. Gd luck!

thanks, austere, for the clarification. and all the v v best to u!!

so u did your ivf wif prof ng? i'm also at O&G but seeing lc foong. care to share your experience with O&G, was it good?

time's not wif me too. i've got fibroids but doc says they are still small for now, so no need to remove as yet. but if i were to do ivf, think i'll likely do laparascopy to remove them first.

i mean, ivf is so costly, the last thing anyone wants is to have to terminate any pregnancy shd the fibroids grow too big and cause complications!

has anyone here done laparascopy b4 ivf? i'm wondering what the "lead time" is like - do u have to rest a few mths after that b4 u can start ivf, so can u start immediately in the mth after laparascopy?

Hi Austree,
My symptoms during the 2ww, had mild cramps and it so mild that sometimes I don't really notice it. Some ligament pulling. At the 2nd week, I would feel full after meals, feel the bloatedness, my breast sore, and sweating. 2 days before my beta test I had intense cramp like as if my AF coming, it lasted for few minutes.

hi ongfamy.

are u seeing a gynae or better still, a fertility expert? i'm a little surprised yr doc just ask u to monitor your temp. there are several investigative tests that u can do to help diagnosis yr prob step-by-step:

- blood test done on CD3 to determine the qty of "eggs" u have (left) (at least that's what i was told it measures)
- HSG to determine if yr tubes are blocked
- blood test done on CD21 to determine if u are ovulating
- pelvic ultrasound to determine if u have fibroids, cysts, etc that could hamper implantation

yr hubby shd also do a SA to determine the quality of his sperm.

if u're not seeing one, u may want to consult a fertility expert b4 jumping into ivf or even iui....

hi pooh2 - I did my IVF with Dr Foong and he is a really good doc...

He can advise u on the remove of fibroids...

for me i did a lap with my current gynae (my usual one) which is to confirm my blocked tubes, but also remove fibriods that are "unseen" in ultrasound and they are pretty big ones. I did my lap in Oct, started my IVF injections in Dec, put the embroys in Jan.

Hi Ongfamy,
welcome to the thread

Me too have the same feeling like you feeling so useless at time .......

If financial allows you may want to go for a private gynae of course the price will be about 5 to 6k diffrent than the gov hospital ( ladies correct me if i'm wrong).

As for me i am going to see Dr Loh SF on 16/09/08 for my 1st appointment at KKIVF he is a senior consultant in KKIVF and he is also 99% choice in this forum .KKIVF cost will be around 6-9k depending on the jab intake of your body

I personally think that adoption can come part after IVF treatment , try hard 1st than till no choice liao then go adop.

Dont worries so much ok, think about it and if you have time i suggest tht you read more from this forum you will learn alot of things here and all ladies here are very frendly and helpfull, you can ask them and they will guide you thur this jorney .

By the way How old are you ?

Hi Lina Ang,
My FET in KK as about $1000-1500. second time had to do laser hatching so was a bit more,closer to $2K.
Hope that helps you.

thanks, vanilla_pod_2!

agree that dr foong is a good doc. he advised to try iui a few times first, since the fibroids r not intruding into my womb yet.

m a little confused, yr current gynae is not dr foong? he did yr ivf but u followed up with another gynae?

was yr ivf successful at first try? and if u dun mind me asking, how old r u?

Hi Ongfamy,

What Pooh2 said was right , you need to go for bloob test and your Hb need to go for SA (sperm Analysis) after the result then the dortor will advice you and hubby what is the Best.

If you are considering of KKIVF then you may just call them up to book appointment. \

your hubby supporting you to do so in the 1st place ?

i hope this will help

hi Pooh2 - i was referred to Dr Foong for IVF by my current gynae as she does not do IVF. Dr Foong is good and v ethnical, he is not the type to say do lap, do ivf when u first meet him.

I am v blessed to succeed at my first try this yr. Am 33 when I did it in Jan (it was like 3 days before my 33rd bday i put in the eggs).. so it was a great bday gift from God!

So when i confirmed preggy, i went back to my current gynae for the normal pregancy checks and follow up... i would love to have Dr Foong as my gynae but then not fair to my current gynae too as she has been great to me thruout my entire process to get preggie. So my primary gynae is her and Dr Foong is my secondary gynae. I still update him on my pregnancy though...and will def use him for my FET.

Thanks u so much. today feel very bad, other than cramp, i was vomitting like no body business. Now feel better after nap. Hope tml ET will be very smooth,

hi juju,
is ur precious one, so treasure and be contented,

Hi mala,
thnaks. I will pray for u and all the sisters here to have all POSTIVE in our HCG test.

Hi Patricia,

Please rest loads today! All the best for your ET tmr!

Hi ongfamy and pooh2,

Welcome to the thread! Together with Austere and Bakaholic, I'm also with Prof Ng from O&G.

Pooh2, I had growth in my womb previously too, similar to fibroids (I can never get all the terms right!). Had it removed in April and I tried my IUI in June. Think you only need to wait for the first cycle of AF. Like what the other ladies have mentioned, do go for the tests (your hubby as well) before you make decisions. As in my case, it was the various tests that the doc put hubby and I through that we realised we both are 'contributing factors'. IVF is an wearisome journey to a certain extend.

Bakaholic and Austere,
Can I check if you were also on Suprefact and Gonal F previously? On my 12th day of Suprefact but I've yet to have my AF.. Shucks, dunno wat's happening to my body again.....

Thxs for all ur advise and encouragement, but still can't help feeling very upset with myself. Y must it be me??? Facing peer pressure and my hubby's love for kids... Haiz... I hope I will have the strength to carry throu this process.

I'm 30 le so kind of worried about it and my health belongs to the weak side and hence I'm really really that by IVF will still fail.

I'm currently not seeing any gynac but undergoing TCM. The doc ask me monitor my temp and plot it down daily. My temp can be as low as 35.8 and highest 36.1 last month, tried using OPK to test, but always -ve. Went to c the doc last wkend, and the doc suspect I might not be ovluating or I hv no eggs. I almost break dw at that instant. The doc ask me monitor 1 more mth and c first. My menses is not that very regular cos my cycle can fluctuates fr 35 days to almost 40 days...

What should I do? To c a gynac now and check or monitor 1 more mth first?

Hi Pooh,
I've done larascopy. Since I do not have courage to do IVF so I took rest for few months. I also have fibroid in my uterus, the size is about 5cm but my doctor is ok, no need to operate. The size will smaller by the time I conviece.

Hi Bliss,
How is your ER?

Hi Ongfamy,

Try gynae for few months and see what they recommend. If not successful then you can choose straight away IVF.
If dont mind abt the money, then straight away choose IVF.
Btw, welcome to thread.

Hi ongfamy,
you could consult the gynae first and see what they say. Maybe they will be able to check if you are ovulating. You can still go to TCM at the same time.

ongfamy,
I'm sure many of us here understand how you feel. You will be able to pull through with all of us ard!

I was also asked to monitor my temp by TCM but I gave up, just didn't want to scramble for a pen early in the morning..

With my little knowledge, I think so long as you still have your menses, you are ovulating. I use to be on 35-day cycle too.. No worries yah!

I have just signed up for IVF today at KK and am with Dr Loh cos popular choice. Will start my injections in Oct... Read that some of you are undergoing TCM at the same time. I would like to do so also and can I have some advice who I should consult and also the contact?

My god a lot of new members and lot to catch up. Anyway i did go for a BT and scan today everything so far ok moved on to 150iu and will take till tomorrow and saturday is my ER. Hope there is enough eggs.
Anyway if you all want to sleep early please drink warm milk with some sugar or honey, then it will do the wonder.
Anyway welcome to all the MTB.

i'm new here. i've been reading the wonderful info & encouragement fr all of u for the past few days. i did 3 cycles but was not successful. Can anyone share if there's any way to increase the no. of eggs & to improve the quality of the eggs as well? tks.

thanks for your concern. Just managed to use the computer after an afternoon of rest. Had my ER this morning around 8am plus. It was delayed as my doc had to attend to delivery last minute. So I waited on the operating table, quite scary.

The whole procedure was quite fast, but I could still hear the doc and nurses talking while under sedation. I could even feel the needles poked into my ovaries but didnt feel the pain. I guess the sedation was very light, I could feel the cramps and pain immediately after the procedure. I couldnt rest well in the resting lounge coz lots of cramps. There was very slight bleeding and went off after a couple of hours.

When i reached home at around noon, the pain was like hell leh! The pain was greater than what I had after laparoscopy. I was in pain when going to pee. Can't get up from the bed on my own, needs my hubby's help all the time. I tried not to take painkillers, but in the end cannot tahan in the afternoon after lunch and took one. I was so frightened to go toilet but have to make sure I urinate as often as possible, so no choice bear with the pain when urinating. My sister said that my ER sounded worse than giving birth! Hahaha!

By the way, I have 18 eggs extracted today, was surprised as I was told I had 15 eggs during the last scan.

My ET will be on Friday. Had taken egg whites and Ensure milk just now. Feeling a little bloated now. Hope everything goes well and the eggs are well fertilised.

Thanks for all the encouragement and support, ladies.

Hi Debz,
i was on suprefact and puregon. My menses only come after 14 days of suprefact. Dun worry, ok? worries will delay the menses further.

Hi Bliss,
There's alot of eggs! wow..Congrats!
Have a good rest and eat well. Take care!

Happy,
ya, hope we all will get good news soon. I am going to see Sinseh Zhong tomorrow morning.

Patricia,
All the best for your ET tommorrow. Must update us after that. Our dates is 1 day difference only, want to hear more from you before I go for mine. You feeling better now? How come you keep vomitting today? Thought that you were feeling quite ok yest after the ER.

Josephine,
I am not taking any hospitalisation leave, coz I have quit my job and no boss to report to and so no need the HL.

By the way, I have asked the nurse about the progesterone injections. I cant go to the women's 24 hour clinic for injection during weekdays, coz they are very busy during weekdays and I would end up wasting lots of time waiting for injection to be done if I insist to go there. So I am advised to go to the ivf centre for injections during weekdays, the timing can be in the morning or afternoon, dont have to be around the same time everyday. Will be fine as long as I get the injection daily.

Hi Bliss,

Wow bliss, your body quite good leh...
Me and Cale straight away sleep after the sedation. Hahahaha :D I took painkiller at the hospital so when i reach home, i do not feel the pain.

Ha? when you quit your job?
Yea yea.. drink plenty of water, eat egg white and rest well. ^_^

vanilla pod2, debz, josephine, thanks for sharing!

ongfamy - dun freak out over wat your TCM doc told u, consult a gynae to find out the real cause. while i believe TCM helps to build up our bodies, only western med has the equipment, tests, etc to find out wat's really happening in our bodies. lemme sh wif u...

i hv an extremely consistent 27/28 day cycle. and all my tests show that i'm ok other than fibroids which are also not causing me any problems as they're still small now.

i'm also seening a TCM doc, monitor my temp without fail everyday and it goes up when it shd. started usin OPK fm mar this yr, and usually get a LH surge bet CD12 to CD15.

so everything seems ok and well on the surface right? but i recently consulted a fertility expert when still din "strike". he scanned me on CD11, says the follicle is matured already, 18mm. but i din get a LH surge on OPK that morn, so his prediction is that my LH surge may not be synchronised wif egg maturity. meaning my surge may happen too late, when egg is already not at its prime.

i was surprised to learn abt this, cos everyone tells us to try based on the LH surge on the OPK...

the scan is currently the most accurate way to "see" wat's happening inside. even then, it doesnt tell the whole story. 'cos it only shows that the follicle is growing and the assumption is that there's an egg inside. but for all u know, it cld be an empty folllicle! it is only thru ivf that the doc can know if the egg is there, the qlty of the egg, etc.

if it's any consolation, i'm already in my mid-30s and i've not given up hope. i mean, look at pp like zoe tay, lin qing hsia, they all conceived in their late 30s/early 40s. so dun give up hope so easily!