hi bliss.

yr description of the pain sounds q scary, hope it's not like that for everyone who went thru ER! like u, i quit my job recently too! 'cos my jobs either long hrs or v stressful. figured i'll give myself till end of the year to take things easy and try everything that i need to - iui, laparascopy, ivf, etc.

all the best to u and rest well!

Thanks, pooh!

Josephine, I was hoping to be in total sleep during the ER, was scared when I could still feel the needles and hear people talking! Unlike the laparoscopy I had, I was totally asleep very very fast. Tat's why I guess the sedation given today was low.

I quit this early August. Didn't know you are not awared, coz I have mentioned it in this thread earlier.

Hi Bliss,
I guess I wasn't aware. Hehehehehe ^_^
Today I got ask the nurse whether we can jab after 5 at KK 24 hours and she said can not. Because KK 24 hours only do a favor for KKIVF on Sunday only. If you want to do after 5, you can do but you must pay. So the nurse said that better take at normal GP near to your place.

So for progesterone jab, i think you can take anytime you want and only at KK IVF is free of charge for jabbing.

Thanks for asking for me, josephine!

So I probably will go for the jabs in the afternoon during days that my hubby off work early, so he can drive me to KK. Other than that, i will go to KK on my own in the morning then.

pooh,
hehe, sorry if my description sounded quite scary.
I would advise not to give yourself a fixed period of time for trying to conceive. It will be very stressful. I used to be like that. I took one year no pay leave before, hoping to be able to rest well and let my body to be in good condition to get pregnant, but I was not successful during the whole year. Guess it was thought of giving myself a time limit to get the things done that somehow stressed myself subconsciously. Try to relax, though I know it is not easy at all. Jia you!

Hi Bakaholic, Maykel and Lina

Thanks! I know I have to stay positive but its so hard especially when I know that this will probably be my last ivf attempt.

Just another silly question. For those who had bloating, did it last throughout the day or did it come on and off?

Hi Bliss

That sounded like a scary experience. But I'm so glad that you have a great number of eggs. All the best for your ET. Make sure you take lots of rest.

Hi Patricia

Thanks for the prayer! You take care, ok!

Thanks Mala! Aiyo, my description of ER is really so scary ah? Sorry about it, but I was trying to describe as clearly as possible. :p

Hi Bakaholic,
Thanks for sharing. Does it mean you bought another bottle of Suprefact? I forsee I will finish mine by Day 14. Dorothy told me to jab with Gonal as well. Looks like I need to make a trip down this wk...

Hi Bliss,
I agree with the rest.. Your description of ER IS SCARY~~~~ hahahhaaa... I sure hope I can get the right dosage of sedation when my time comes... I wouldn't want to hear or feel anything during the ER! Rest loads and think positive!

Debz,
hahahaha! didn't expect to scare you gals!

There is one thing I want to share which is also scary. I actually saw the needles used for poking the ovaries to extract the eggs. It is very long leh! I saw it(when I was lying on the operating table) when one of nurse, Sarah was showing and briefing a new nurse while we were all waiting for my doc to come.

When telling you ladies all these, I suddenly feel I was so brave to be able to stay calm still after experiencing all these. Hahaha! :D

hi bliss
thanks for the wishes. How are you feeling, asked you the question because thought you need to rest. Good baby girl go and rest my dear.
Good Night

Welcome to the threat ladies,
All the sisters here are very caring and helpful. I've gained lots of moral support here.

Pooh2,
I'm also 35 this year and is starting IVF next week. Can I know which Doctor and which Chinese Doctor are you seeing? What you've described is very detail.

Hi Mala,
I understand how insecure you are when you dont fee any symptoms. I also did not feel any obvious symptoms during the 2WW, no bloatedness for me through out. I was so worried that i thought i didn't make it liao. It turned out that i tested positive in the end. You could be the one too. Try not to think about the symptoms and stay happy for now.

Bliss,
You mean you can hear what they are saying during your ER. Must be very scary for you. But I heard it is like market place. They will shout out the number every time they retrieve an egg. Read it in another threat. Is your hubby in the room when they do ER?

Maykel,
My Hubby and I think that this is the right time to do IVF bec we are all mentally prepared. You are right, at least I got to see her now and is starting to tiao my body before the IVF and will have special support thru stage 1,2 and even later when I get preggy. Plus with regular exercise, I believe all these effort counts; I can say that I have put in 100% to pursuit my baby dream. Thank you for helping me “see” some positive light. Really feel better now.

Are you seeing Dr Zhong soon? Maybe she'll be happy to hear about your good news.

Hi Patricia.
Rest earlier today. Prepared yourself in best condition for tomorrow's ET. Good luck!

Hi ongfamy,
I would suggest you to make an appointment to see a fertility specialist, he will know what is best for you. Remember last time when i see the gynae and told her about the temperature things, she asked me to throw away. she commented that it's not accurate and added to the unnecessary stress. You can still continue your TCM at the same time to help to strengthen your body.

Hi Crystal,
I only took folic acid and multivitamin prescribed by doctor starting of the IVF treatment. I know Some other sisters here do accupunture. May be you can try the accupunture. Good luck to you!

Hi Bliss,
Your experience sounded quite scary to aware of what's going on. May be the sedation given to you is really too light liao. I was knock off when they administered the sedation

Congrats to the good numbers of egg. Must rest well and let your body recovered to prepare for the ET. Jia you!

Mala,
I can understand how you feel. Bec you have been thru alot. I have no experience yet but I think Cale is right. I remember reading from the past postings that one of the other ladies also do not have bloatedness during 2WW but got positive too.

Hi Patricia,
The cramp might last a few days. Until my ET day I oso can't walk properly cos very bloated and tummy pain. But somehow after ET, you see the embies, you'll feel much better. Just rest well and look forward to your ET 2mr

Hi bliss,
Oh dear, tat means ur sedation not strong enough? Poor thing, you must be very scared.... I was completely knocked out after the sedation.
Me oso got bad cramps after ER and had faintness. My bleeding lasted couple of days oso. I oso had great pain when i PU, oso scared to PU, but really have to drink more water and flushed out. Anyway, it'll be over before you knew it

Just look forward to ur ET now, i oso drank ensure during this period and felt less bloated.
Hope you have many fertilised eggs!

Hi Mala,
I know its not easy not to think so much, but just try ur best ok? Have faith
we'll be here for you.
My bloating was throughout for abt 2 wks after ER. Even now oso on and off oso have, but better.

Hi Happy,
Yup, its impt to be mentally prepared, cos we oso had been talking abt it for quite long b4 we decide. Good that you are exercising too, i think it would help. Take good care and jia you ok?

Josephine,
hubby say any answer is a good answer. he's happy wif jus 1. maybe i shld view like him.

Happyever,
so shiok, can sleep before midnite. i usu toss until 2am then can fall asleep. usu dun sleep well also, cos wake up to PU else is cramps else is discomfort. sleep on back-breathless, sleep on side-tummy wobbly, sleep on tummy-discomfort. haiz...
this morn also the same, then kena sinus attack at 5 plus, shoot awake. lucky busy in office today (1st day) so dun feel the sleepiness till after work

Maykel,
hugz... thanks for reminding me. yes, i shld wait till 1st scan then decide wat to do. whether to accept singleton or wat...

thanks, Patricia, Mala and Happyever. Yes, trying to change my mindset lor. maybe been thinking too much and yty too much time on my hands and think nonsense. feel a lot better today.

Patricia,
good luck for ur ET tmr

Hi Ongfamy, Pooh2, Fellaine, Crystal
Welcome!

Happy,

I could hear the two docs talking, but couldnt remember the exact conversation, coz I was under sedation so I still felt a bit drowsy. It was not like market place, just lots of talking between a few persons going on. However I could feel everytime needle was put in(should be 18 times for 18 eggs) but not painful at the time leh. But don't know why I could feel the pain str once the procedure ended. Cannot be, right? i dont understand how come the sedation will lose its effect so fast. I felt lots of cramps when the nurse moved me another bed and pushed out of the theatre. Luckily it was still bearable, so I didnt take the painkiller when nurse asked me if I need or not.

Cale,
thanks, I will rest more. Quite anxious about the numbers and grades of the fertilised embryos.

Hi RuRu Cat,

On my day 5 visit, after u/scan, doc informed I must do FET. I told him I want to have fresh embryos transfer because embryo survival rate after thaw is 70%. However, doc refused, he said OHSS will endanger my life. No choice but have to accept it.

Same as you, I feel abdominal pain (walk like a donald duck) and bloatedness (like 5 months pregnant). Hmm...I can't sleep well at night, have no appetite to eat, very forgetful, backache and pee a lot. What abt you?

I have a smooth ER at TFC. 34 eggs collected. 21 fertilised. 18 frozen. Decided to have blastocyst transfer.

Am now having Lucrin jab and progynova. Lucrin jab makes me feel tire, bone pain, mood swing and difficult to 'put-put'. Furthernore, lucrin needle is more painful than Gonal-f

Is your FET on Oct? Right now you are on BCP or Lucrin jab already? Which gynae are you seeing?

Maykel,

I had a bit of staining only, was ok when I left the hospital. I was not feeling very weak or faintness at all leh! Strange rite? In fact I was very awake after the ER, so couldnt get to sleep during the resting hours as I could feel alot the pain.

happy,

my hubby was not with me during ER. He needs to produce his sperms at the same time. Anyway he will not be allowed to be in. Only ET allows husband to accompany.

Hi Juju,
i know its not easy, cos til now i'm still dreaming of having more than 1 heehee....jst hope for the best ok?

Hi Bliss,
No lah, you are normal, i'm the strange one to be experiencing all these haha....Most of the gals are ok too
rest well and all the best for ur ET

thanks,Maykel. having u gals around really helps. no wonder the counsellor said i dun need her after i told her i hv frens in this forum. she said i will hv enuff emotional support
sounds like she's right

Hi Imel, thanks for the description. Kinda having slight cramps like I'm about to have my period. Will hang on and remain positive

Hi pooh2,
Yes, I'm doing my ivf with prof ng. He's a very gentle doctor. You can check out their profiles from their website. He's quite experience. I do not have any experience with dr lc foong, but heard that he's good too. Quite popular. There are basically three doctors there including Dr Jothi. I personally, feel that they are all very experience in this field. So, its basically who you're comfortable with.

juju78 - thanks for the welcome, the ladies here r all v warm and friendly!

bliss (i hope u are sleeping by now..) - i know wat u mean abt the timeframe thingy. can't help it, my age, fibroids, etc all mean time is not on my side. plus my recent job v hectic, so decided to jus take half a yr or so to rest.

when it's my turn to do ivf, i'll make sure to ask for more GA plus pop painkillers the minute i come to!

happy - m i glad to find someone ard my age here, haha! i'm seeing lc foong at O&G partners@gleneagles. same as vanilla pod2. my chinese sinseh is dr tan siew buoy @thong chai. so u starting yr jabs next wk? all the best!

patricia - good luck for yr ET tom!

all - for those keen to see pix of the needles used in ER, u can go to the website below, look under "ART info", and click on until u come to the page "egg collection" - this pix freaked me out so much, guess i missed the text that says ER can be done either under sedation or GA!!
http://www.ogpartners.com/

hi austere!

think our posts crossed! ;) yes, u r right, most impt that we're comfortable with our gynaes. i think both prof ng and lc foong r "gentle" men!

Hi juju,
guess the counsellor is right, she got no business after we get to know this forum haha....cos initially i was thinking of going to see my counsellor this fri, but after talking to the gals abt my work problem in ivf-mtb forum, i felt so much better.

Yeah Bliss, jia you

hi pooh,

just saw the pic of the needle. Ya, it is the similar one I saw before my ER. The nurse took out the long needle to show the other nurse. The needle is quite thick too.
Don't scare yourself lah. It is ok one even if the needle is very long. We are under sedation during ER.

Hi Mala,

Be optimistic! You can make it! Good thing happened when you think good. Furthermore, there are so many sister are here to cheer and support you. Must jia you! Never give until last minute Ok

anyone taking Chinese medicine at the same time with IVF medication like Lucrin, progynova? Do you what is the best time gap between the east and west medication? Is it 1 or 2 hours? Heard that for injections, can take both western and chinese medicine at the same time

Hi Fellaine, Crystal,
Welcome to the thread.

Hi Kalki,
Wish your ER goes smoothly. ^_^
Keep us update.

Hi Mala,
Yea, I also did not feel any obvious symptoms during 2ww.
I only feel my tummy uncomfortable when I sleep.

Hi Maykel,
I thought the sedation is not strong as anesthesia.
Because the nurse tell me that after the sedation, some ppl mumbling abt their story, some ppl can hear what the doctor do during ER and some ppl straight away sleep.

Hi Juju78,
I think my DH also same like yours, just happy with just 1.
Anyway, congratulations your 2ww is over.

Hi Faith,
Wow.. you got a lot of eggs. 34 eggs and 21 fertilized... wow..

Hi Faith, Maykel, Happyever, Faith, Cale

Thanks for your reassurances. I think I'm just paranoid. I just so want this attempt to work.

Every five minutes or so I'll be pressing my boobs to check whether they are sore or tender. Later when I pressed again, I was delighted when my boobs felt sore but then I realised it was because of my constant pressing! Ha!Ha!

Hi Faith,

Yes, it is very upsetting and frustrating not to go thru' ET due to OHSS.

My OHSS was not very serious leh.. just bloated stomach and mild abdominal pain which disappeared after 3 days.

My gynae is Dr Christine Yap at mt e. She told me to do a natural cycle FET. My menses just finished so this cycle will be a trial cycle to see if I can ovulate normally on my own without any medication.

If this cycle shown that I can't ovulate normally on my own, then next month I will do a short protocol (something like SO-IUI) where I just do puregon and HCG injection before ET.

Will be doing my 1st scan next week to see if my follicles are growing normally. Not much expectation as I have PCOS and PCOS lady can't ovulate properly on their own so easily.

Who is your gynae in TMC? I don't have any prob with lucrin injection leh, but I do have mood swing problem thru'out my whole IVF cycle, i think it is all the injection that cause havoc to our hormonal system.

Morning Everyone,

Alot of terms I dun understand here, hee hee..wat's ER, 2WW??? Cos I have not really read up what's the whole procdeure gg to be like. But hv read that a woman went throu 6 rounds, that will cost a minimum of $12,000 (**really faint)

Dear Mummies, I hv decided to go c a gynac and not wait anymore. Will charges be at KK cheaper than Pte hospitals?
Thxs in advance !

Hi ongfamy,

ER - Egg Retrieval
2WW - 2-week Wait

Charges at govt hospital are generally cheaper than private hospital and you can also take advantage of the recent bonus!

Hi all morning,
Will be going for my scan later in the evening today. Feeling a bit bloated and sometimes a bit on the moody side. So far the biggest embryo is about 13-15mm hopefully will grow between 15-18mm by tomorrow. Will keep you ladies updated.
Just keeping my fingers crossed as last time had only 5 retrieved so this time want to have more but don't know . Pray for me thanks in advance.

Hi ongfamy

Go for the govt hospital. It's so much cheaper. Registered yesterday and the staff nurse told me that we only need to pay the minimal with the bonus coming in.

Hi Debz,
I had 2 bottles of suprefact but i didn't finish the 2nd bottle. I think once opened, can't keep too long. I bought the puregon together with the suprefact to start once the menses come. I didn't want to make additonal trips down just to buy the puregon. Just get enough to last till the D5 scan and then get enough to last till next scan.

Hi Austere,
Just wondering about the medisave claim. The amount from the hospital and art lab charges is before the $6k medisave or after? when would they reimbuse us?

Hi Faith, I also try to keep it for 2hrs interval, feel is safer, haha

Can i ask if KKH is consider under govt?

Govt has revised the susidy for IVF, so as long as we are citizens means we qualified lah?

Hi Josephine,

Before ER I walk like penguin even nurse also tease me.

Well, I have PCOS. PCOS ladies very gd in quantity, not very gd in quality. But, I listen to my doc advise...eat well and relax! I finally made it but until today I still sad that I can't have fresh embryos transfer.

Hi bakaholic,
If i'm not wrong, its before the deduction. I checked with the ladies at the cashier(lobby) during my pre-registration. They said that I've gotta pay the full amount first. About 3 to 4 weeks time, they will send a cheque of 6k after approval from medisave. However, I cant quite remember if I filled up the medisave form. Gotta check with them again next week.