Hi tomatoes,

Hope u conceive naturally this cycle too so that you don't have to go thru ICSI. As for me, think chances of conceiving naturally will not be high unless my hubby's condition improve.

Hi CT,

Since u are going for ICSI, the chances are already better than trying naturally. So think positive ok. BTW, the last time Dr Sahana also told me that sucess rate is generally higher if you are not more than 30 yrs old too. So it's going to be good chance for u.

BTW Micky/CT/Westbb, did you all "bu" your body before starting the procedures? I was thinking of building up my body to prepare for the ICSI, but dunno what to take. Currently , I'm taking Vi B complex, Vit C and Bai Feng Wan. Is this good enough? Can share with me what u gals take?

Chemistry

I'm already 30 this year lah ... tats y I regret nver start IVF earlier.

Btw,you can take some DOM which Micky had advised previously ... I do not really have the time to drink much before I start ... only drank a few time but hopes it help in some way. Hheheh

Hi Chemistry
Thanks for your wishes
Hope you succeed naturally too.

I came across an ST article printed in May04 saying the Low Sperm Count might have higher risk of birth defects when going thru fertility procedures like IVF.

Dun know how true but I think it is best for our hubbies to take some vitmins to try increase sperm count.

In addition, we should also start take folic acid now to decrease the risk of birth defects.

puppy, I'm seeing Dr Sadhana at KKHIVF centre. So far, gone thru 2 rounds of blood tests, HB went for 2 SAs, I also went thru the normal ultrasound/vagina scan, did the HSG test, went thru a counselling session already. I've also registered for the IVF program and can start anytime I want to. Before starting, there's still one more blood test to do for me and HB, a social worker counselling session to go thru closer to the treatment, that's it.

Maya and all,

For myself, I have only gone through 1 round of blood test to check if I ovulate with some ultrasound scans. HB has gone through 2 SAs and was prescribed with some vitamins to improve on his sperm quality.

My gynae told me that since I had not had any infection before, not necessary to go through HSG.

My husband thinks that we should give IUI a shot before going on to try IVF. So, I guess we will stick to our present gynae for now. I will start on my clomid (100mg??) on my next CD2, if our current cycle fail again.

How long does it takes after your first meeting with the RE until they decide you can go onto IVF in KKH? You also mention about tests, what are those? I just need a estimate of the time frame ..

For me was quite fast at KKH. I got all the tests and what not done within 2-3 mths. Cld have started immed if I had wanted to do so now. The blood tests were for rubella immunity, whether I'm ovulating, my progesterone level, and some more cnanot remember. It's just to find out if your reproductive systems are working well.

puppy

It's really quite fast in KKH but it also depends on individual problem ... for me I had my first consultation in early July ... on my 2nd appt I'm already referred to IVF. Thus I'm able to start the ICSI procedure this month ... all in all it's less than 3 months.

Maya,CT,

Thanks! Happy to hear that it is not too long a wait. At least then can try out IUI, the cheaper option first.

CT, I sincerely wish you success in your ICSI. I can imagine how tough it is to go through all the injections & tests, but must perservere!

Hi CT,

Anyway, not much younger than u too. I'm 29. Anyway as long as u are within 30 years old, the chances are still good.

BTW, how much DOM do u take. Can take DOM after u started injections?

Hi tomatoes,

Yap, my huuby taking Vit C & E now. Next week he's going for his 2nd SA. Will be able to tell is the Vit really effective.

poohy, tomatoes & all

i went to see Dr Yeong yesterday. i told him my history with my previous gynea and my objective of seeking a 2nd opinion from him. he was very frank and straight to the point about his opinion. options for me to consider now would be:
- do lapor to check if tubes are really blocked.
- skip lapor and go straight to IVF
- continue to try for couple of months
mu hubby thinks that bulk of the problem lies with me being too tense up about the whole process plus the stressfull nature of my job.

cherry,

so what have u decided to do next ?

did u go to the TPS yesterday evening to see him ? I was there too .. abt 6:35 onwards.. so maybe I seen u ard

chemistry

I din take a lot ... jus a little bit every few days cos actually I dun like the taste.

I stop taking after I started the injection. Now I only take folic acid and nothing else.

Btw, hope your hus SA will show great improvement ... are the vitamins precribed by the doc?

Jojoba

How's r u feeling now? It's been almost a week since your embroyo transfer ... Hope to received some good news from you soon

poohy,
yes i was at TPS at around 6.50pm. i was siting outside room 2 so must have seen you too. the wait was quite long around an hour.

I am not quite sure what i should do next. the problem with me is that i keep changing my mind. one thing for sure is the lapor oper is 1/3 cheaper at KK (done by DR Yeong).

reading from the various experience with IVF/ICSI, i am not sure if i m emotionally strong enuff to go thru it.

cherry,

what were u wearing ? Maybe u seen me ... I was there at 6:50 still waiting... it was abt 30min wait ... but he cleared the queue pretty fast yesterday. I was sitting rite outside his room 2 door, wore brown color with pants, long hair.

alternatively to check the tubes, you can opt to do a hsg. its less intrusive and costly. Though normally dr yeong encourage us to do lapo to check the tubes so that he can do corrective actions at the same time. If you go straight to ivf/icsi, its actually not as emotionally stressful as many perceived... cos these days the whole process is physically pretty painless and convenient. More importantly, it offers a higher rate of success ...though it can be financially straining. Especially if you are those type of people who like to have a sense of control in things.. u may even feel that the ART process is a breeze... compared to trying month after month on your own and not knowing even if you actually ovulate or when to BD.

For me, the ART process took a lot of stress off me and my hubby. Trying on our own month after month.. and not knowing whether I will actually ovulate that month or when I will ovulate, whether hubby sperm count/quality that day enough, when is the rite time to BD, at times the stress and frustration that results from my hubby's performance anxiety... in comparison when I was doing my procedure and taking all those injections with regular scan to determine follicular growth and being assured my hubby's sperm can reach my uterus without caring for whether there is fertile mucus or not etc.. plus no need to swallow huge amount of pills daily (to me after swallowing 2 years of pills for this whole ttc ... I think taking a jab a day in replacement is a blessing!)

Hi Cherry
If you think that you are not emotionally prepared for the IVF/ICSI procedure, delay it first for the moment. In my own opinion, I would prefer to do the lap first. At least, Dr Yeong can "clean up" your uterus to prepare for BB.

Then maybe can try for about 3 months naturally before doing IVF/ICSI. I heard that it does increase the chances after lap (though not me) By then, you should be mentally prepared liao...
... Just my thoughts..

For me I am 110% prepared for it but now facing some issues now...

Hi Poohy
I am down with flu these few days and my hubby suggested that we postponed our ICSI till next month...he can maybe a try on our own also... Actually I was pretty upset and disappointed by what he has said. After our agreement last week, I was really looking forward to start the jabs this saturday but now this...

I totally agree with you on what you have mentioned on your earlier posting. Trying month after month is a torture when menses come.... I really dun know how now... we nearly quarrelled last nite. Haiz.

tomatoes,

think your hubby meant well cos want u to be in tip top condition.

I fully understand how u feel. Like you, I am also those type of people who once I decided to do something, I must do it without haste. However, since u r down with flu... maybe u take a few days mc and concentrate on resting and getting well by saturday. Then u can start the jab lor... As long as you r not very very sick, I think the flu wont really badly affect your chance to conceive with ivf/icsi. Since you still need time to down regulate... before even starting your follicle stimulating phase, by then I am sure you are well recovered already!
Just tell your hubby lor... the flu shd not affect the down-regulation...

poohy,
i saw you. u & hubby were sit right outside the door. your hubby was holding something in his hands right? i was wearing black top and black pleated skirt siting very near to you, at the long horizon sofa.
i have done the hsg and the results indicated that i may have blocked tubes. Dr Yeong said no point going thru another HSG. I also asked him about putting me on fertility drugs, he asked said no need becos from blood test results, my ovulation was very good wor. i then asked him why he no need to scan me, he also said no need. Anyway, he commented that he know my gynae and thinks he is a above aver gynae & thus have no problems even if i choose to go back to my current gynae. he prescribe my husband with a lot of diff vits (cost abt S$100plus per month supply). My husband has very poor SA results; good quanity but bad quality.

I reckon that if my tubes are blocked, then even IUI will not work becos the sperm and eggs cannot meet (meeting venue blocked!).

Tomatoes, your husband meant well. Men and Woman thinks and reacts differently to situation. My opinion is that if you are still below 30 than don't give yourself so much pressure (i know easier said than done right). Prehaps you can ask Dr Chen when you see him on Sat or check with the nurse whether you should proceed. In the mean time do take care.

cherry,

if the blocked tubes seems to be your only problem, it may be worthwhile to go for the laparoscopy. Once it is corrected, you will be rid of this problem

Hi tomatoes,

Don't be upset. Actually, I understand your situation cos I've got an important assignment in Nov, and if manage to start my jabs next cycle, I may be on MC for 14 days in Nov. I was still considering if I should postpone my jab one month later but on the other hand, i don't want to wait any further. So I'm caught in betw now. Try to have a good talk with your hubby again. Tell him if the gynae think it's ok to go ahead with the jabs, then dun need to worry so much.

Hi CT,

Yap, the Vit E was prescribe by gyane.

Hi Chemistry,CT, Poohy

I know my husband meant well. So I decide to stick back to original plan and start the jabs next month. Anyway, I am still suffering from bad flu. So maybe its God's will that he wants me to delay my IVF/ICSI.

Hi CT,
I have been feeling crampy for the last 2 days with yesterday being the worst. So much so I call up my doctor and he said could be due to over-stimulation of my ovaries due to those injections. I told him I tested faint positive with those cheap preg kit but he say not accurate. Better wait for my blood test next Friday. This morning, I tested with Clearblue also show faint positive. I have always trusted Clearblue so I feel positive but my hubby ask me not to be too happy so soon and he doesn't trust the result. I have now very mixed feelings. Wondering if this can be false positive due to the shot I had earlier and there is still some hcg left in my body. After all today is only 9 days after the embroyo transfer. No matter how hard I will want to believe, but there a lot of doubts. I will still have to wait patiently for another week.

I wish you all the best in your ivf and hope you can strike first time.

Hi Ladies esp Micky and CT,

I've bought DOM now and would like to ask (can't find the earlier post) on how often or how much should i take it.

I got it at Duty free for $40.60 (1 liter), CT said at NTUC 750 ml is about $50++. If you ladies wants me to buy for you, let me know.

Hi berry

From what I know, DOM is a super-heaty tonic. I would suggest you to try for a small cup (or even half a cup) as given in the package first and see how you react the next day

So when are you starting your ICSI program?
Must remember to start taking folic acid.

Hi tomatoes,

Thanks for the tip, are you taking it too?

Oh, i've been taking folic acid for a long time now, as well as EPO, vit. E., aspirin..

tomatoes,

sorry, i missed your question when will i start the program, i'm not sure yet, my 2-months period for the rubella vaccine is til end of october.

I remember i was the one who was really sure and confirm to start IVF, but it turns out i have to wait now bec. of this rubella thing. But it's alright, maybe it's not the right time yet last month.

Hi berry
I dun dare to take DOM as it is too heaty for me. I am taking Yomeishu and chinese medication.

For me, I am supposed to see my RE and start my jabs this today but turn out that my hubby and myself are down with bad flu... so we have to postponed our jabs till next cycle.

Well, I guess God has oredi planned for us, so it is matter of time you and I will strike. We just have to think positive lor

Btw, did you watch the Eu Yan Sang program at 9.30pm, channel 8 today? I missed it and it is concentrating on couples with infertility. Next week, they are going to talk about a couple who have tried for 6 years before striking with chinese medication.

Ladies, just to update to share... i've been thinking of whether going for a 2nd beta... two nights ago, i was awaken by a very bad cramp and i was so scared to go to the toilet to check. in the end, i went and there's nothing. but i was still very scared and today finally went for my 2nd beta, and am so relieved that the result is satisfactory at 7472. Next Thu/Fri i will be going for my 1st scan.

anyway, i saw the other threads two ladies who just miscarried at 6 wks and 10 wks and i felt so sad for them. makes me very scared too.

tomatoes, how's ur flu? i saw a EYS program last night at ChannelNewsAsia, also about this couple who tried IVF but failed and took the chinese mediine for 3 mths and did acupunture near ovulation time, and conceived naturally! wonder if it's the same show?

jojoba, 9 days past transfer might be a bit early but you sure have some chance there!! try testing again after 2 days and see if the line gets darker? how many did u transfer?

Hi Westbb

You must think positive and dun stress yourself out. Your bb will be juz fine. Meanwhile rest more and dun do streneous work.

My flu is much better now but still got a bit of cough. You watch the program last nite? It seems that they are encouraging couples to try chinese medication also.

westbb,

agree with tomatoes.. do think positive ok ? Even though I had been through 10 weeks already... till today, sometimes when I have very bad menstrual like cramp like last 2 days.. I still feel very worried.. very scared to find blood again when I go toilet. But I guess nothing much we can do anyway.. can only pray.. be positive and pray for your bb to be safe. On your part, try to minimise having too much movements and walking too much.

Hope u will see the heartbeat this thur.

Hi, understand that IVF procedure will commence from CD21. Can someone pls advise roughly when will the egg retrieval and embryo implantation be done from CD21? Thanks for the advise....

westbb,

You have a very high beta. Are you expecting twins ? I have transferred 3. I think I tested too early and may end up being disappointed. May I ask you what are your symptoms before you know you are pregnant ? This waiting is driving me really crazy. I have cramps on and off and now I feel perfectly normal, so nomal I think I failed.

Jojoba

Westbb may be right ... It may be too early to test but you definitely have some chance there. Cramps is a positive symptom ... Anyway I wish you all the best. Do update us once you have your blood test. Good Luck!

Westbb

Relaxed and dun worry too much ... I also catch a bit of the CNA show. Remember the chinese physician mentioned that you must have a 'calm' mind ... dun get too stressed up, try to relax ... everything will be ok.

ICSI

The egg retrieval is estimated to be 4 weeks after your CD21 but then it all depends on how each individual respond to the stimulation drug.

berry

Micky advised me to take a bit every alternate day ... you may add some warm water to it so that the alcohol will not be too strong.

jojoba,

9 days after the embryo transplant u tested finat positive? or was it 9 days after the HCG shot that you tested positive? if it is the former, then i think u strike liao. coz me tested 8 days after embryo transplant and i got faint positive..and it is a REAL POSITIVE! my gynae said HCG will remain in our body for about 5 days or so..somemore hcg was given before the eggs pickup..so all cleared by now. so happy for u! my positive was very very faint..and i tot my eyes were playing tricks on me..so two days later, i tested again, and this time round, much clearer liao. my gynae was very happy when i told him i tested urine positive..and he took that result in..coz HCG will not remain in the body for so long. anyway, he sent me for b HCG

westbb
dun worry too much.i know it's diff but hv to try to relax. when are u due for your scan? ur HCG results looks ok..so shld not be any problem.

berry
DOM is indeed very heaty, take only a bit, abt 20ml will do..

jojoba
u are getting cramps, for me, i got no symptoms at all..and that is why i decided to give up all hope and test on the 8th day after embryo transplant..so dun worry first. the fact that u tested positive is a very good sign liao

chemistry

I've taken DOM only a few time ... maybe less than 5 times .. heheh

I usually take at night before I go to bed.

Hi Westbb, you should be relax now as your numbers are really high and good. And my advice is, pls don't read boards about M/C or something related to it. You're doing fine with all the pills and jabs you've taken, you're in good hands ;-)

Chemistry,

are you planning to take DOM too? i took my first teaspoon last night, it taste sweet and it's not that "heaty" when you sip it in. Well, i'm used to wine so maybe it's nothing for me. I plan to take it every other night. Take it at bedtime just in case you feel dizzy.

Micky,

Thanks for helping and supporting all of us here in TTC board, hey, best of luck to you, counting days now?

Hi Micky

Yah, I am counting the days for you also.... hee.. so excited for you

I have just recovered from flu and now I am thinking whether there is still chance for me to start my jabs? Well, today is my CD23 and I may not have ovulated (looking at my BBT). There was a huge rise on CD19 (could be due to fever) but it drop sharply for the next few days. So if I am to visit my RE this thu, do you think I have chance to start my jabs this cycle?

Well, the reason I am asking is that if I am to do my jabs next cycle at CD21, it gonna be a long wait till end Oct04. Furthermore, there are 2 Public Holidays in Nov and I scare the it will affect my ICSI schedule. Haiz, I am really in a confused mind now. My hubby told me he will let me decide. I am going crazy now thinking about all these issues....

Would appreciate any advice

tomatoes

If you really want to start why not discuss with your RE ... call him if the flu will affect the program or not. If not maybe you shld see him as early as possible instead of waiting till Thur.

I understand how you feel .. I'm almost 2 weeks into the program and it feels so long ...

Hi Berry,

Yap, me intending to take DOM. I got a bottle but have not start taking. BTW, just to confirm, can only take DOM every alt day and cannot take during luteal phase right? Can still continue to take when u start the jabs?

Hi tomatoes,

I think should be ok for u to start your jab ba. Cos that jab only start on CD21 assuming you have a 30-day cycle right? Sorry I myslef not very sure too... but guess that jab not so impt since those in IUI who convert to IVF procedures did not go for those jabs too.

Hi Westbb,

Ya.. your beta very high, did gynae say you are prob expecting twins? So excited for you. Do keep us informed of your scan.

Hi CT,

When are u starting your next type of jabs? When is your appt at kkh? My appt is this Friday leh and I hope to get referred for IVF. But now I'm a bit worry cos my hubby had only went for his SA today and dunno the lab report will be ready by Friday. Somemore my hubby is going off for ICT for 1 week, wonder if gynae will still refer me for IVF is my hubby is not with me during the visit.

Hi CT

Sometimes, I really hate myself also for thinking and worrying so much. I also dun know if I really want to start now as I am afraid of this and that. So dun dare to bring my appt forward or call him... Actually I did call his nurse last week and the nurse told me that I can start my jabs even though I am on antibiotics. Just that I was too sick to continue with my RE appt last sat. And now think until I go crazy ;p

Btw, CT, how do you intend to inform your company when your on HL after your egg retrieval?

Hi Chemistry
I am thinking the same way as you 'cos I thought I may be in time for the jabs. The normal processing time for SA test is about 3 working days, so should be in time for your RE to see. I think, even though your hubby not with you during your visit, your RE will still refer you to IVF is you are a suitable candidate. What's more important is that your hubby's SA results is in his file.

Chemistry

I will be going for my bloodtest and scanning tmr morning. In the afternoon they will let me know the result and probably I will have to go down again on Wed or Thur to start the Stage 2 injections.

I think your hus SA shld be out ... but to double confirm, you can call to check. If you dun have the report ... I doubt the gynae will refer you to IVF. For the 1st consultation with the nurse in IVF center you can do it alone ... I was referred to IVF on my 2nd appt and my hus was not with me. But the consultation with the medical social worker and doc your hus have to be present.You can arrange them on the same day and if it's your CD21 you can immediately start also.

me really indeed counting down liao! going to see baby NEXT FRIDAY, so excited and nervous. kept on playing the pic in my mind where my gynae pick up the scalpel and.... real scare..
but i got tons of work, and company going thru a acquisition, bosses kept asking me when am i going on leave coz they need me around, and my assistant pretty new on the job..so worried.

tomatoes
if your nurse says can start the jab, then go ahead. think it is not influence by whether u hv ovulated a not.

Hi Micky

Main thing for you now is to prepare for your coming BB. The rest is secondary. Btw have your name your bb liao? Boy or girl? Sorry for so many questions

tomatoes

Remember I was having the same problem like you earlier .. very undecisive to start this month or next month so as to get myself more 'pu' ... heheh
This is the problem of woman ... think too much! But I can understand how u feel as i was exactly like you 2 weeks ago ... I could not set my heart at ease ... afraid of this and that. On one hand I want to start immediately on the other hand also thought it may be better to start one month later ... very Mao Tun. Finally I made my decision thru the superstitous way :p .. I went to a temple and pray and seek for advice if I shld go ahead. hahha ( I very superstitious hor but then it really set my heart at ease )

But once you have made the decison dun think abt it liao.I rem the social worker told us during the counselling that if the program did not succeed, we must not look back and start thinking what went wrong and blame ourselves. We have to agree and understand that we had done our best at every stage and it's just that we are not so lucky and we can try again. Important thing is never to blame yourselves for any decision made now if we do not succeed ... ok

Btw, I have already informed my boss that I will be on HL estimated from middle of Oct .. It's not difficult for me as my boss and colleagues knows that I'm going thru the IVF program.

My hubby and myself decided to take it openly thus in fact most of our frens and relatives know that we are going thru the IVF. We feel that it will be more stressful for us to hide from them.