thank you thank you ladies for all the well wishes!! my hubby and i still find the whole thing very "dreamy" and "unreal", very wierd feeling!!!!

you gals are very active today, so many posts! I haven't got time to read through yet, will do so tonight. I'm popping in quickly now just to update that my beta today is about 358. Is this high? on the report sheet, the range for 4 weeks is 20+ to 700+, so i think i'm in the middle... i will only scan on 6th week, so 2 more weeks to go before i can see anything. can't wait!!

poohy

I also hope I can be as lucky as Micky and westbb ... I'm really scare to face the failure. My hus on the other hand is very confident .. he thinks our chance is high as our main problem is his SA result but I'm not pinning too much hope.

I also wanted my hus to be involved but I scare he do hor will be more painful or he will break the needle in my tummy ... hahha ... so now he is like my personally nurse. He will prepare the injection for me and I poke myself.

Micky

Sorry ... I ahve another question for you. When did your hus do his sperm storage huh? I wanted to do 2 weeks later but the nurse ask me to do early as they are afraid his sperm may not be enuf and may have to redo.

My concern is i'm afraid the sperm may not survived after so many days of frezzing ... heheh

Westbb

Btw, did your hus stored his sperm?

westb,

did your gynae say the hcg high or not ? congrats on a normal beta reading. maybe can be twins !! r u going to do another test to see whether it doubles and rate of doubling ? I requested to do one more after 1 week cos I need something to hold on to cos like u, my original 1st scan was supposed to be at 6 weeks !
End up I had a scan at 5 weeks and can only see the sac and cant see heartbeat yet ...

CT,

will be praying for u ... but I really think u stand a HIGH chance of succeeding first try. Like your hubby say.. since main problem is his SA... then means your body shd have no problem with the housing of the embryos

hi westbb,

the beta result varies with individual, as long as within the range for 4weeks and double up the next day everything is normal.

For me, my 1st reading is 750 during 1st reading (4weeks plus) and the next day rise to 1500.

I guess as long as it doubles u'll be fine.
No worries, all will be fine. Your dream has come true cherish this period.. take care of yourself and watch your diet.. Dun eat food that r too cooling.

westbb
congratulations! The BHCG test has confirmed that you are preggie. Take good care of yourself hor. I have come such a long way liao and i was wondering how i survived thru the past 8 mths, constantly worried that whether bb ok a not. remember to update us on your scan. reading of 358 looks gd. in fact my reading of 211 was not exactly on day 14, rather on the day 12 (14 feb 04..valentine Day..such a wonderful confirmation gift!) gynae was saying - Really Happy Valentine!

CT
i jab gonal-f for 2 weeks. the gonal-f thing very chim one, must mix two ampules (one is solution and one is powder form) together. i was always so afraid that i will accidentally break the bottle, very x one..
my hubby sperm was via surgical retrieval which was done 4 mths before the procedure, coz they need to ensure that there are enuff. dun worry abt freezing it for too long..they can survive one...
oh yes, ur menses will stop for this cycle..

poohy
ur hubby cute lei, hands shaking. me prefer to do it myself coz i can ctrl the entire thing. so when i am abt to jab every morning, he will bring the necessary stuff n sit beside me..so sweet..everyday ask same qn - today pain anot? haha

so nice to hear that those that went thru the procedure is successful..guess technology really helps and i hope all of u get preggie too!
me counting down to my c-section date liao -- 22 days more to go! **sweat sweat**

elle,

your 1st reading very high leh!

westbb,

think your edd shd be may 2005.. do come and join us over at the mtb thread when got time ;)

poohy

sure. I have opted for epidural instead of GA so that i can see when they take the baby out, of coz they will not let me how they cut me up..

hi poohy,

Frankly i dun even know wat's the range of normal beta reading. I cld clearly remember the gyne was telling me 'congrats your beta result showed that it has increased more than doubled.." i know its like 1300 or 1500.
Anyway I was so relieve and even cried when i here that that's why deep in my memory i still remember the 1000plus reading

Micky,

Envy you .. gonna see your little one very soon..
So how? Gan Cheong or not? Have you got all the BB stuffs ready? By the way, u r expecting little prince or little princess?

ya.. pls do update us on your labour experience.

Elle
pretty excited..but abit of mixed feelings. wonder how will life change after having a baby. but i guess the happiness and excitment beats the doubtful feeling.
stuff almost all bought except the nursing gowns etc. expecting a little prince..

Hmm, poohy, may be good idea to kinda force hubby to do jabs for me, get himn involved. Bec if I scared and I have to go thru the pain, the least he can do is jab for me. But yeah, what if he jab more painful?

Sigh! you ladies are lucky, all below 35. I'm not, ok, so it looks like success may not be within my reach. That's one reason I'm still hesitating bec after all the test, pain, money, there's a very low success rate for me......:-(

CT, glad to know your jab went well. you jab yourself? so brave, i can never do it myself. i always let my hubby jab me and i never dare to look at the needle poking me.

the stimulation drugs are going to cost a bomb, easily $2-3K depending on ur dose required. my gonalF cost $90 per ampule. and i used 1 - 2 ampule per day for abt 10 days...so u can imagine the cost.

we did not store my hubby's sperm cos he's got frozen sperm few years ago (he was under some medication then, and need to store sperms that were pre-medication). so we used those frozen ones.

berry, when are u starting ur IVF? and which hosp?

poohy, they never ask me to go for another beta test, just the scan at 6-week. i was also thinking of whether to request myself for another beta test next week too... it seemed not very high to me leh compared to Elle and Micky...

Micky, i am looking forward to hear your birth story!!

Today 1st day go back to work, when i reached home i was SOOOO TIRED!!!!!

kissbb, i actually sees Dr HK Ho from MtA. But during my SO-IUI cycle, i've got more than 4 potential follciles so I was switched over to LC Chang for IVF/ICSI (their partnership in such cases). So actually I only saw him for a few times. He's quite ok and encourages husbands' participation during the whole process. I also find that his transvirginal scans are the least uncomfortable! He's the medical director for TFC (Thomson Fertility Clinic). Are u considering him?

I'm now with Dr WK tan from TMC also... I think both of them are from WC Cheng & associates...

seems like there are alot of successful stories from LC Chang... not sure that should i continue with my present gynae or switch to someone that is more familar with infertility...

hi westbb,

one more qn, b4 u go for SO-IUI, u also take clomid?? for how many cycles?? u go for HSG or larpo to check yr tubes???

hee hee, more than 1 qn already

micky

You mentioned tat the menses will stop for this cycle huh but I think I'm abt to come soon ...

I wrote an email to Dr Loh and he said i will still have my menses this month. You didn't have yours huh?

Westbb,

How abt you? Did your menses stop when u start injecting Lucrin?

maya

You should hestitate no more ... go for it! Like you say, you already 35 and if you delay further your chance will drop further. Dun think too much ... for me i have dragged this for almost 5 years liao ... if I've done it earlier I may be a mother liao. Hehhehe

maya,

i agreed with CT, since now u r able to use the medisave... dun hesitate anymore. As the gynae always said one of the most important factors to success for ivf/icsi is the female age. Later no strength to run after your bb

CT,

i dun think i have my menses lei, my menses came at end of first of dec 03, and ard late dec 03 i started on lucrin..after that menses never come liao....

westbb
did the gynae put u on progestrone jabs now? i was told to go back to the clinic on the afternoon that my BHCG test came back positive, to start jabbing. and it was twice a week on the buttock, wow pain! the medication was called proluton ($50 per jab). jab for 8 weeks. so cost me $800 there...and buttock pain!

Micky

Isit? How come Dr Loh say i will still have my menses huh ...and I also think I'm coming ... why huh? Hmmmm .....

poohy

i forgot to ask him ... heheh .. will drop him a mail again.

I have just undergone transferring 3 embroyes yesterday and will like to join in this thread. This thread has given me a lot of courage to go through the whole ivf procedure. Especially want to thank Micky and Westbb. Now I am waiting for the 2 weeks to test. This is going to be the worst part. I am not feeling confident of striking as I have no crampy feelings at all. I can only pray hard now.

Jojoba

Welcome to the thread and all the best to you !! Dun worry and relax .. we will all pray for you

Hope to rec your good news 2 weeks later.

Btw, where are you doing the procedure in? Are you doing IVF or ICSI?

Micky

I just called the nurse in IVF centre , they also confirmed I will have my menses ley .. they say this will be the last menses if I am successful.
I

micky,

wow the jab is the progesterone in oil jab rite ? agree its very painful.. I jab weekly on the same spot on my thigh and a dark slightly hardened big patch has developed at that area... do u have this problem... its quite itchy also... I hope that patch goes away cos looks so ugly.

but your jabs are really very exp leh... I think its only $20-30 at kkh. Maybe govt hospital got some subsidies or economy of scale.

i think not all gynae will give the hormone jabs... probably depends on individual condition. Some are just given natural progesterone suppositories or duphaston. Mine only starts the jabs and high dose of duphaston becos I got that subchorionic bleed.

westbb, so will u be requesting for another beta test ?

Hi CT,

Thanks for your encouragement. Mine was done at Gleneagles. I had ivf & icsi. I had 10 follicles and all of them were specifically injected with 1 sperm each. I believe this procedure is call icsi.
I ended up with 6 that is usable.

Hi jojoba, mind revealing if you are under or over 35? Need some encouagement from ladies over 35 who wnet for this and succeeded.

Ouch! what is this buttock jab? Is it always painful? alamak! I read and already cringing...

maya,

the buttock jab or thigh jab is a progesterone in oil hormone jab. It is not a jab given specifically for ivf/icsi or any other assisted reproductive. Its generally given to support a pregnancy be it as a result of assisted reproductive.

just that most people who do assisted reproductive program also have the jab to support the pregnancy. But this progesterone support can be given by suppositories, as medicine...
But the most effective and long lasting is the jab lor
It lasts 48 hours.

the jab is painful only becos it is based in oil (other normal jabs are based in water). Oil needs a higher pressure to inject so maybe the needle also slightly bigger lor..
First few times painful .. after a while hor.... will get used to it already.

Sorry,have been missing for a while on thread. I will be startg my ICSI at General Hospital under Dr Juliana Abu-Wong soon. From the thread, I found tt many are doing their IVF/ICSI at TMC, Mt E and KKH.
So far, hav not met anyone durg IVF at GH..wonder why??? Is it bcos their success rate is lower? Now, I'm gettg really worried cos I hav done 3 failed IUIs with them! Should i consider doing IVf at another hospital where the succes rate is higher ???

BTW, I have been TTC for abt 3 years and the main problem is ovulation and poor sperm mobility. My ovulation problem was 'corrected' during my IUI treatments and then my gynae mentioned tt the failure may be caused by poor sperm quality. So we were advised to try IVF. During the series of test tt we weent thru, gynae informed us tt we hav to do ICSI.

So, i'll probably be starting my whole experience of ICSI at my next cycle. Really glad i found this thread.

For all the success stories...CONGRATS !!!

dang99

:p oh sorry i see wrongly ... paiseh ... but i think dun worry lah ... SO-IUI and IVF is quite different. Moreover chances of succeeding is much higher for IVF.

Hi CT,

Me come back from my appointment liao. Today, I was assigned to Dr SF Loh again but then he went for op later and got a MO to cover him, so ended up seeing the MO
So angry with the MO cos she not very knowledgable. While waiting for my appt, saw her run out a few time to consult Dr Sadhana. During my appt, I ask her can do IUI based on my hubby SA? She say can. Then I ask her why Dr Sadhana told me can only do ICSI? She then say "oh yah.. ur hubby sperm not very good". So I ask back is it going to be IUI or ICSI? She then say ICSI! urghhhhhhh.... Luckily my last 2 visit is not like that, otherwise i think I sure switch to pte gynae.

Anyway, I'm cleared in HSG and blood test. The MO ask me to try till Nov and my hubby to do a 2nd SA before considering ICSI. Anyway, I have no trust in her...I got the nurse to schedule my hubby for SA late Sep and got another appt to see the gynae in early Oct. If hubby SA still as poor, then we can go for the test for ICSI earlier.

BTW, I also got know from the nurse that we will usually be assigned to a specific group of specialist in kkh. So for my case, it was assigned to the group consisting of Dr SF Loh and Dr Sadhana. So most of the time I will get to see either one of them unless they are tied up with operation. Hopefully, they are not tied up in next visit!

CT,
sorli hor, my memory failing me. just flipped my calendar, a red circle on the 08 jan 04..that means my auntie did come..so sorry..at least not doubt is cleared up.

jojoba
dun worry. most impt relax..now dun hv crampy feeling one. in fact i got absolutely no signs at all when i tested positive with HPT. no bloat (in fact the bloat keep going down), no sore breast..nothing at all. and so i was quite sure at tat point that the precedure has failed..but alas, pleasant surprise when i saw the faint +ve. tot my eyes playing tricks on me!
which doc are u seeing?

poohy,
good u. only jab once a week. yes, the jab is oil based, so they need bigger needles and really got to go slow on the jabbing.
and i was not spared the jab after 12 weeks. on week 25, was bleeding abit due to low placenta, jab again for 3 weeks..scare liao...

chemistry
like tat also can..clearly the doc inexperience..

me tomolo going for my 35 weeks check liao..nowsaday cannot really see bb in full pic, can only see portion by portion..

Chemistry

You are so lucky to be assigned to senior consultants under the subsidised rate ... I hor see the gynae twice in KKh also kana registra only lah.

But luckily ... they are not as bad as the one u met today at least they refer me to ICSI quite fast. Who is the MO you saw today?

Btw, congrats on all the positive result ... at least now u can focus on yr hus problem.

Micky

Thanks for taking the trouble to chcek ... ya at least now all teh doubts are cleared.

Hi Micky & CT,

Yah, so mad with her. She is only a MO, not even registra. Think not very nice to disclose her name. Can also see she is very inexperience cos she don't really know how to talk well and my consultation very fast end liao. That's why i quickly ask for a appt early Oct (even though she indicated Nov) so that i can clear my doubts and get referred for ICSI faster. Wonder if I will be in time for ICSI next cycle. But of course, is still hope that I can conceive naturally within these 2 months.

kissbb, i did not take clomid for SO-IUI, only took for normal IUI - 2 cycles. and yes I've done HSG before I went IUI to check my tubes.

CT, for my case, I did not use Lurin, I used gonalf directly from CD2 and ICSI in the same cycle.

Micky, yup i also got the progesterone jab on the butt since ET, every 2 weeks. now still have lor. yes that one is painful! in fact i am taking a lot of progesterone, got to take pills twice a day and v-insert every morning and then a jab every 2 weeks, are yours like that?

jojoba, lots of baby dust to your cycle!!! mind to share some of your treatment history?

poohy, still haven't decide to get another beta or not, but think probably will do so... else always feel very "unsafe" leh... now everyday i also ti2 xin1 diao4 dan3 like that...

chemistery, that's the frustration of being a subsidised patient. i can understand how you feel, last time when i was sub at SGH, also really dunno to trust those junior docs or not??!!

westbb
wat is ET? i only hv to jab twice a week, take folic acid that's all. the v insert & pills is only during the 2WW.
i did not go for second bHCG, i quai quai waited for 2 weeks then go my scan..

Hi Maya,

Just to inform you that my sis-in-law did IVF (in the states) at age 39, and she succeeded, gave birth at 40.(first child) The baby is now 10 months old. Don't mind those reports about 35+ age, it's just numbers. Erase it from your mind, until 40 there are lots of cases who had successful IVF. I don't even want it when they refer to us as infertile, we are all fertile. I only come across ONE bood that has a title "understanding your fertility", the rest has infertility on titles. Read that book from the library if you get the chance, different kind of approach. Informative.

Westbb,

I'm not sure when will i do IVF, i have to wait for 6 weeks to 8 weeks. Will know it later when i visit my doctor. I'll do it at Mt. E.

What hospital really has a good success rate, KKH is claiming it, then, i read that NUH also said they have high success rate. I guess all hospitals will say that.

Maya,
I am not over 35 yet. I am 31 yesterday. This will be m best birthday present if I strike. Don't worry about your age. The doctor will give you the dosage for the injection according to your age. In fact, I did not produce enough follicles when he intital give me the dosage, he only found 3. He then increase the dosage for me, which I think only older woman requires. Everbody is different. But I can understand your concerns. My husband and I will try for ivf as long as we do not get at least 1 baby, no matter how old I become. And as long as our financial allows.

Micky,
I am currently seeing Dr Jothi Kumar. He is in the same clinic as Professor Ng, whom you are seeing. I had wanted to see Prof Ng at first as I read that you were his patient and succeeded first try. But my first gynae recommended Dr Johi Kumar. It's ok lar...I think they should share similar ways of doing things.

By the way, did you buy the AFT insurance for your babies ? I am told that I have to buy now, as soon as I have done ER. But is not cheap. I transferred 3 so the cost is like close to $700. Additional expense that I didn't foresee.

jojoba
so u seeing Dr Jothi! maybe i will bump into u at the clinic..

my insurance was left out..they did not chase me to buy.
got to buy hor, very impt. it will cover neonata ICU charges. better pay then later sorry..i was so worried at week 25 when i was bleeding, and Prof Ng asked me to go to NUH in case of excerssive bleeding coz i did not buy the insurance..heng everything was ok..

Micky, so I think I should just buy. But don't even know if I will be pregnant, if not pregnant, then I will waste the money. I now have this problem, I feel like urinating, but always go toilet, only a bit come out, but I know I need to release more. I suspect that the residue from the inserts may have affected that area and cause this to happen. You know what I mean ?

Micky, sorry. ET is embryo transfer. maybe different hosp uses different terms.

jojoba, i bought the AFT too. it's a must for us. it's from HSBC, also cost almost $700 for 3 embryos. it's such a great difference from those who transfer 2, only $100+.

tks ladies for the encouragement. I'm going back on Mon to get the results of my blood test. Then I guess I have to make a decision. I'm thinking of trying early next year. So reading abt all of you going thru it will be very good for me as I will know roughly wat to expect.

What is this AFT? Is it offered for all hospitals with IVF program?

Just came back today from Bangkok and so many posting.... cannot catch up ...Hee!

First of all must congratulate westbb
Must take good care of yourself hor.

I will be seeing my RE this coming Sat and will probably start the jabs liao... will update you all again.

tomatoes

Did you enjoyed your trip? Bought many things?

Poohy

Dr loh had replied and he will be the one doing the procedure for me.

Hi CT
Yah, bought alot "rubbish" items. Hee! But the trip was good. Really like the food and shopping there

How's your jabs coming along?

tomatoes

So far so good ... getting very 'pro' with the injections liao ... hehehhe ... but I'm having some headaches and bodyache for the past 2 days ... duno isit becos of the jabs or cos my menses coming soon.

tomatoes...

hope u enjoyed your trip and managed to start your jabs successfully this saturday

CT,

that's good.. at least its a reliable gynae that will be doing the procedure for u