IVF/ICSI - cycle buddies

humble
i juz got an email reply frm KKH regards abt their couselling..think is FOC leh..

All KKIVF patients are required to undergo the following prior to embarking
the treatment:
1) programme & financial counseling by nurses
2) medical counseling & consent taking session with doctor
3) counseling session with medical social counselor

The first 2 sessions are chargeable while the medical social counseling
session is currently free of charge.

wow! so free at work ah? wat do u do (hope its ok to ask). I cant think of any personal things the min i step into my workplace, xiao la, really stressful at times.
I dun hav msn.

babymaking,

u are welcome. No, it doesn't mean you will get to see Dr Loh on your CD01 and then u can start your lucin on CD21. Your gynae will give you a form and then you will have an appointment to meet Dr SF Loh.

He will look through your medical reports and then assess whether you should start with IUI / IVF / ICSI. Then you will need to sign forms and the nurse and another doctor will counsel you, give you more information on IVF, costs, risks and timeline. You will need to pay registration and counselling fees on this day. The nurse will then help you book the next available month for your IUI / ICSI / IVF. When the month is fixed, you call the nurse on CD01 of your menses. Then on CD21 then start the lucrin jab for a few weeks before you start the puregon jab. The hCG test is done in about 2 months from your CD01 of your LMP.

yehhhhh...............
406264.gif

The nurse wrote down in my chart that i should pay $190 leh! Anyway its a good piece of new hui. Thank you for informing, now i can go shopping with that money, ha ha! jus kiddin

humble
i wrk in sales..in boutique..one man show..no colleague with me wan..so abit bored..but with effect 4th May i can't reply so fast le..coz i change new job..so abit worried if i start new job n start my ivf at the same time my new boss wun b happi..but she knw im interested in ivf..

we need to go hospital how many times overall?est 2 weeks once?

okay i c, don worry if u hav already told your boss abt it then it shld be okay la.
Honestly speaking i cant remember anything from my first cycle. All i remember is i had resign my job because my boss didnt like me taking a lot of leave. I dont think all the boses are like that. I think we shld go twice or thrice a week during scan if i m not wrong. May be the other girls will be able to help u.

Hi hui,

sorry for the late reply regarding HSG... dun worry so much... I dun have any problem with it but my hubby had a scared on that day, when the doctor told him to go inside the room as he had something to tell him!!!
After that, I kept disturbing him for being such a pessismistic man! :p

So far I'm been taking leave always just to go see the doc, my whole year leaves I only left 3 days!!! Dunno how to survive. :p But anyway, also good, can escape from job!!! :p

Let me see, leave that I've taken -

1. talk to doc to go ahead with the icsi thing.
2. blood tests
3. do HSG
4. Counselling
5. Review with doc again for the final of the forms
6. See doc cause having problems with menses so immediately start on pills and offically started on icsi. Supposed to go back on day 21 for the lucrin, but insist on the same day, that I really can't make it back as I dun have any leaves anymore, so nurse give me the prescription to buy all the medication and needles, and taught me how to do it on the very day!!!
7. will be going back next wed for the ultrasound so maybe taking another leave again... and so far it's like that... will update u again on my visiting again :D

blue rabbit and akadatang,

u already on lucrin? Can I check with you do u have any funny feeling in your abdomen area? sometimes I have light slight sudden pain. So far I still have not get any heaty feeling, is it normal? A bit worried that my body might not react as good with the medicine... know should not think so much... but can't help it lah... :p Anyway, this is only the 5th day of my injections, btw when are u going for the ultrasound?

humble/rachel,
yes, hv to pay for insurance $698.70 for 3 embryos transfer, sign and pay on the day of ET. Remember to bring a blank crossed cheque to KKH, cos the Doc will advised how many to transfer on ET day and then u will fill in the figures for 1, 2 or 3 embryos accordingly.

constantia18,
I'm alr over with my treatment and now into my 10th week preggie. I'm with Doc Loh and yes he's good cos many ladies with him also come back with good news.
I hv some mild bloatedness during my lucrin injections and remember to take lots of fluid... water and fresh fruit juice will help.

Had my first suprefact injection this morning. Needle is quite small, about 1 cm long. But more stinging than puregon.

Cycle buddies in apr/may (akandatang, Rachel, constantia, teddybaby), have u started suprefact? Starting to feel any side effects if u have started?

HI Constantia18
mine usuali i take my off day to go..like tomolo is my HSG..very scared..oso my off day..keke
can check with you is for couselling we nd to go one time onli?

Humble,
yest went sin seh so cheap $21 onli..she used to be in thong ji now she came out to do on her own as part time..keke

Humble
tomolo my HSG liao..scared scared..my appt at 10.30 but hopefuli i reach there at 9am Doc can let me 1st..keke..coz 10.30 i got something on..yest the sin seh ask me not to eat too much meat..more veg..coz i got high male hormones leh..(i'm hairy person)..even preggie got to take care..very easy miscarriage

Humble..
i got the ans for ur $190..keke

frm KKH:
I believe the charge of $190.90 refers to the medical counseling & consent
taking session with the doctor while the nurses's programme &financial
counseling & registration is about $94.
I hope I have clarified your doubts.

blue rabbit,
thanx for the info, i din kno tat the doc will tell how many embies to put in, lets say he says 2 can i ask for 3? Don want to put in 2 cos the first time i put in 3 all good grade and i was only 25 yrs old but still fail.

Hui,
you soo funny leh! call yourself hairyperson, i started to imagine how you would look like already ha ha! (just kidding). Your sinseh seems to be cheaper, how much does she charge for acu? does she seem to be exp?

To all buddies
406586.gif
........there's a new thread "IVF/ICSI/IUI-Relatives & Friends" i started it yesterday to pour out my emotions over my MILs insensitive remarks..keke! Feel better now, think its good to throw out these emotions immediately.

all buddies
when u gals go counselling is alone or with HB..i'm so sad..my HB say no nd couselling wan lah..so im thinking going alone..

hui,
don be scared lah, if u r scared u will make it more uncomfortable. Just relax your body, close your eyes and think of the wonderful moments in your life (i did that,was thinking of our honeymoon hee hee..) and it will be over in few minutes.

Humble
haha..honeymoon..married nearly 4 years havent gone honeymoon yet..keke..but i kp telling myself..i muz b strong..yeh!!today u not wrking?u seem to reply fast wor..

sorry wats 'bee' i m a blur queen keke! u mean HB? i think its best to go for it if this is your first cycle, ivf journey is not a smooth one.

ha ha! yep din go to work today. Had an important appointment at 11.30 but last min it was cancelled and hav to go tomolo, aiya one day leave wasted u know?

hi constantia18,

i went for my baseline ultrasound yesterday (day 14 of Lucrin) & was told my hormones r suitably suppressed but my womb lining is still quite thick as I just finished my period so I'll hv 2 continue with another week of Lucrin then go back nxt wk 2 start on Puregon.

I so stooooopid - I always thot the ultrasound wld be over the tummy so I got a shock wen i went in2 rm & was told it's a vaginal scan - 4 me, that's always yucky!!! During all of yesterday, I felt, like u described, "light slight sudden pain" - like little tugs. I only started 2 feel a little warm on Day 11/12.

Blue-rabbit, cld u share how u felt while on Puregon? The scans 2 chk on follicles growth will be every 5-6 days right? I wante 2 noe cos I'm trying 2 c if there wld be an opportunity 4 Hubba & I 2 sneak in a hol while on the Puregon jabs!

hi Chloe - what's Suprefact? does it serve the same purpose as Puregon? I've only been told I'll be on Puregon in Stage 2 - I guess different hosp hv different protocols? I'm with KKH

akandatang,
All the scans will be V-scans if i m not wrong. YOu will get used to it soon. Was your protocol down reg first before starting lucrin? mine is down reg, I m soo confused a lot of us from kk but looks like there are many different protocols in kkivf itself.

Anybody here knows the different protocols available?

Hui,
Did you ask the nurse whether you can go alone? I think better double check with them, they always give different answers each time we call.

hi akandatang

Some drs use lucrin instead of suprefact, but they are all for the same purpose, to shutdown the reproductive system prior to egg stimulation. Reckon that KK uses lucrin? Have u experienced any side effects yet?

hui,
did u get her? when are u intending to go? You are starting your cycle in Aug right? you stil hav time so take your time and may be by then HB may aso go with u.

Humble - yes, looks like lots of different protocols out there but I guess we r all individual and unique so perhaps there are different protocols 2 cater to different persons? For me, I started on Lucrin on D21 after my menses - I didn't take any oral medicaion 1st. Maybe we all hv different physical/medical backgrounds so the approach 4 each of us may be different. Maybe age also plays a part - I'm 35 this yr! feel very old compared 2 the rest of u

Chloe - yes, I'm on Day 15 of Lucrin 2day. Had a few tugs in my abdomen yesterday and felt a little warm on & off from Day 11 onwards - this may be the hot flushes the nurse said might happen while on Lucrin.

Hui - I believe KKH prefers the husband and wife 2 go tog for the counselling becos they see the husband & wife as one unit - 2 support each o/r etc. HOWEVER, blur me, went 2 the counselling session alone cos I thot it was meant just 4 me! I went ahead with the counselling session alone anyway but came back & shared with Hubba abt all that was discussed during my counselling session. I fd the counselling session beneficial as the counseller's been thru IVF herself so she shared her own experiences/pains/struggles - it helped me 2 understand better what 2 expect emotionally.

Hi akandatang

You will need to do the u/s scans to check on follicle growth one week after starting on puregon. thereafter, maybe 1 or 2 more scans before proceeding to ER. usually the scans are only 1 to 2 days apart. For me, i did my first scan on a thu where they found my growth is slow, then was told to up puregon dosage and scan again on Mon. Tue was my last scan and i did my ER on Thu.

Dont worry too much abt the hot flushes..you may also get it when you do the HCG jab b4 the ER. I felt feverish as well then and thought cant proceed to ER but nurse advise me that this is normal..

Hi Hui
Caroline is really very hard to get..but i think the counselling session is helpful..it is good to share your concerns and pour out your woes to someone..best to do together with hubby..his support is very impt during this period

hi akandatang,mandy
i manage to get caroline juz now..i can go alone..but issit once only?i had a reply yest frm KKH dat counselling is foc..did u gals pay anything?

humble..
i call her le..i can go alone

Hi hui

yes, it is only once. Better make the appt soon cos i think her schedule is pretty packed. I checked my old bills and i also paid 190.90. It is for the counselling with caroline and consulting & consent session with the doc. You have to give your consent to freezing and storage of embryoes and both yourself and hubby have to sign on the forms.

Hi akandatang,
Hehe... Mandy has answered ur questions.... yes first week of puregon quite free, 2nd week need to go back quite often, once every 2 days to check the follicles growth. I did 2 scans before my ET... painful

hi akandatang,blue rabbit

I also used to dislike the v scans very much cos painful but the doc asked me to open my legs wider so that it will not be so uncomfortable and it helps! Try it..

To me, what is more painful is the puregon jabs when i was told to up the dosage to 600iu..I had to sit for a while and rest before standing up..it was ok when i did the 300 iu jabs

Just wondering about the costs as my friend told me when she went for the 1st visit she paid S$284.98 (ie Regn & counselling by nurse : S$93.98) and Counsel, consult and consent, ART : S$191.00). Did you all paid the same amount ?

Hi Rachel,
sorry to reply so late. Have been busy with work. Yah, those are the forms to sign with hubby.

Hi Mandy & Blue rabbit,
would like to check with you... What is the max amt of puregon in each capsule? Can combine the remaining unused amt and how to do that? Thank you.

Hi didi,
yes u are right. I paid that amt too on my first visit.

thanks humble & edel for the ans...

hi chloe, i will start my 1st jab coming mon - 24/4... will let u kn in then

Blue rabbit,

thanks for your advice... but dare not think too much... afraid that if it fails, I will be so so disappointed although really can't help it to feel a bit high hoped, seeing so many of you having good news. But when I go to the thread "unsuccessful" I can't help but worry again. :p I'm so fickle-minded! ^_^

Hei akandatang,

I also thought the ultrasound is supposed to be on the tummy!!! Ha HA!!! Thanks for telling me, at least I have mental prepration for it!!! :p By the way, how long did you take for that day? Thinking of taking mc, do u think they will give?

Rachel, u are welcome
You start ur first lucrin jab is it? So excited for u... Mine only start in June and recently feel very anxious over it.

didi, u are welcome

Edel,
I think max is 435IU. U can combine, but hv to jab twice lor.

Rachel,
The cheque is meant to pay insurance to Asia Life, cannot used Nets/credit card. KKH will post the cheque for us.

Constantia18,
I also kept worry during the 2WW that what if not successful, then how??? Like what my hb said, we did our best, we hv alr tried, if really not successful then it means the bb and us has no "yuan feng".

Hi Mandy - thx 4 the info. I'll remember 2 open wider nxt time!
R u in yr 2ww now or finished treatment already?

Blue Rabbit - thx! Do u mean 2 scans b4 ur ER or ET? What was painful? The womb area after the retrieval? How about after ET? thanks!

Constantia18 the scan & bld test was very fast. My appt was 8am, I waited 4 the lady b4 2 finish her scan, went in did my scan/took my blood and it was only 830am! So its very fast BUT I waited quite long 2 make payt aft that! Everyone was very busy during that time. Perhaps u cld request 2 hv yr scan at 730am so u can finish by 8am? Im sure if u asked, they can give u a time-off chit or MC.

akandatang,
oops... I meant ER. I find the v-scan painful and I was told to take a deep breath when they r pulling the 'stick' out... less painful that way. After ER also hv abdominal cramp but by evening time, alot better. ET is ok, no pain or discomfort.

akandatang,

it takes so fast? ai ya... thought can take mc leh.... :p maybe try to go later a bit lah... :p so everything ends at what time?

constantia18 - scan+bld test+waiting time 2 pay took 45min. Ya la, if you wan 2 take MC then go later!

blue_rabbit - thx 4 the info. no wonder the dr will give MC after ER - so we can rest a bit.

Hi Blue rabbit,

thanks for your info. Hmm... then think my remaining iu will be wasted cause I need to jab 400 iu each day and if I want to jab the remaining for the last jab, I will have to jab many times!

By the way, is the stick to do ER & ET very thick? I always feel pain and have some bleeding and tear after vaginal scan, so cannot imagine if the stick is thicker than the scan...

Edel,
U can't feel a thing during ER cos will be under GA. ET also don't feel a thing cos the catheter used to transfer the embryos is so fine. The amazing thing is u'll get to see the embroyos being transfered into ur womb via a monitor screen.

blue rabbit,
ur post reminded me of my ET last time, it was soo emotional and exciting, i just couldnt believe that i m seeing the life created by me and HB, it was also heart pain to remember the choas that took place inside the room. The nurse or embroyologist forgot to use glove while handling the embies and was scolded by the doc and also there was something wrong with the transfer but the doc did not tell us clearly. she looked very angry and upset with the other staff. May be thats why it didnt stay.