IVF/ICSI - cycle buddies

hi rachel n chole..
thanx for sharing..i didn't want to do the HSG oso but is a must to do if u wan to start IVF in KKH..coz if *touchwood* IVF not success they nd to find out more..(i guess),so i was force to do the HSG.regards abt ur menses pain is everytime menses cm then pain or not every menses..oo.btw,i nvr done any V scanning b4..heard dat muz do V-scan then can chk PCOS?

hi hui

everytime menses come will pain lor

V-scan is very common in private clinics and is done by ur own gynae. i understand that in KK, ur gynae will not be the one doing the vscan for u?? Dun worry, by right, if u have sexual intercourse before, u should not feel pain. Must relax, else it will be more pain.

PCOS can be diagnose with vscan AND blood test (LH vs FSH). Under vscan before ovulation, the ovaries will show many small little follicles for pple with PCOS (like string of pearls). Blood test is done during D2, prior to ovulation. PCOS tends to have LH higher than FSH at this stage. In my case, my PCOS is not that serious (although not ideal) as my FSH is still slightly higher than LH before ovulation. *phew" that's a mouthful, hope i am not confusing u all.

Chloe
hmm..seem u gone thru alot..heart pain for u..
u muz b very strong ya..i done blood test on the 2nd day of memses..seriously i dunno for wat purpose..is oso a process for IVF
..sometime i dunno wat blood test i have done..the nurse say nd blood test then i juz let them take le..

hi hui

If u doing IVF, be prepared there are more blood tests and injections to come!

Yes, infertility is a painful process. What to do? Just have to move on and hope all turns out well.

Buddies...
needed help here..
can anyone tell me the diff betwn IVF n ICSI?which one better?the both look the same leh..stupid me have been reading on IVF n ICSI till now still confused

helloo gals!
wow! me missed a lot today. I was soo busy with work (mondays are always like that). Just came home and first thing i do is in front of the comp.

Hui,
"""""""i m back""""""""
good to know that your hsg result is fine.

chloe,
i m excited for u leh, u gonna hav ER soon? All the best to u!

Rachel,
congrats on the first injection hee hee...me jus queing behind u
410454.gif
, will soon be my turn.

Tomorrow is my counselling and oso expecting AF, aiya this AF ah, comes early when we dont want and doesnt show up wen u want early.

hui,
IVF is where the sperm will be left on a plate to fertilise the egg on its own, whereas for ICSI, the sperm will be injected into the egg directly to be fertilised. Usu ICSI will be used if it's male infertility.

hui,
ivf is when the sperm and eggs are placed in a dish together and fertilization takes place whereas in icsi a single sperm (picked by the embryologist) will be injected into the egg for fertilization. the rest of the procedures are the same. icsi is mostly done for those who hav poor sperm quality or fertilization prob. Hope i answered your question.

welcome bk blue rabbit
thanx for ur info

welcome bk Humble
AF is like dat wan..very notti...dun understand our language..keke
tomolo u going counselling le?me booking next mth
..thanx for ur info:0

hi humble

yalor, forum very quiet without u. me on 5th day of suprefact (KK uses lucrin instead), still got a long way to go before egg stimulation followed by extraction.

hui, IVF and ICSI appear the same to us. The only difference happens in the lab. For IVF, egg and sperms are placed together, and hopefully, one sperm that is strong enough can penetrate the membrane of the egg to fertilise it. ICSI is different. In ICSI, one sperm is injected into one egg for fertilisation to happen. It is usually used when sperm count and quality is poor. But that really depends on the dr's style. Although my husband's sperm count and quality is good, my dr still prefers me to do ICSI cos he does not want to leave it to "nature" for fertilisation to occur. Well, different schools of thought.

humble n blue rabbit
then i think for my case i nd to do ICSI liao
coz my hubby sperm equal to zero leh..i guess when we go sign the consent got to ask doc to explain..cham liao..me getting panic liao..

hi hui

no need to panic lar. IVF or ICSI are transparent to u, the difference only happens in the lab. The injections and medications are all the same!

thanx chloe
i think my bee oso have the wrng idea regards abt the IVF n ICSI..

i tot IVF is safer than ICSI but after u babes tell me i find dat ICSI safer leh

Chloe,
u think so? hee hee..thnx! ya la, everything seems soo slow and draggy to me. Think i m too impatient this time round.

hui,
u so kind call AF "notti" i call it "monster" cos very painful everytime wan. The first reason y i want to b preggie is so that i wont hav AF for 10 months keke...crazy me! (jus kiddin)

hi hui

well, both got its risks and all depends on the embryologist and lots of other factors. Dun worry too much, take one step at a time, and soon, before u know it, u will be in ur 2ww!

hi humble

soon, very soon, u will be starting urs.
i am sure u are just as excited as me. The feeling that i am doing something about my infertility makes me feel good!

humble
muz b kind to AF so they wun ill treat us mah..we still nd to depend on them to "O" leh...keke..i wan BB coz of my HB n my grandpa..as i told u i'm 22,HB 30..n my grandpa 60+..my parents 43..so wan got BB fast so dat they can be..daddy,grandparents n great grandparents

chole
will head ur advise..wait till doc chk my HB SA again then decide..finish all my blood test 1st

Hi edel

When you first start the puregon, you will get one week's supply cos you will only return for scanning one week after. Thereafter, qty will depend on how the following scans show. I know at KKIVF you can refund but only with the doc's letter. There are at most 2 or 3 scans so usually you will not have excess.

hui,
I was exactly in the same position as u r now 7.5 yrs ago. I was oso 22 and hb 30 and had zero sperm count. I did my first icsi when i was 25. The only diff is i was alone and very blur, dont know that it can fail. Its really very good that you find out as much as possible before doing it, you need to be phsysically and mentally prepared, u know wat i mean? I wasnt and when it failed i thot that its the end of the world.

Dont worry or panic, stay calm and steady and do ur research. We are here to support and pray for each other ok?

hi buddies,
AF jus came, will call kkh tomorrow, so i will be asked to go and collect the medicine i guess. Yucks! i hate medicines and injections.

hui,
yep, i m starting my second cycle of icsi. Me and hubby keeping everything crossed this time don know wat wil we do if this doesnt work. hee hee dont worry i will stay positive and confident.

hui,

sorry for the late reply... was very busy at work today... a lot of my colleagues on leaves and mcs... so smart of them... long long weekend... :p anyway, going for the 1st ultrasound only... and blood test to see whether lucrin works well... a bit worried now lah... :p

hi constantia18, i wld like to ask - after 14days of lucrin jabs, do we still hv to jab on the day of the u/s (ultrasound) and blood test?... forgot to ask them abt it...

hi hui, am doing ICSI oso.....
so u r not alone

hi humble, agreed with chloe, it's very quiet here w/o you...
410862.gif
enjoy the counselling session.....

morning ladies

humble
u very cute leh..hoping to cycle fast then can't stnd the med n inject..keke..muz tahan k?let me knw how's the counselling leh..

constantia
don't worry..stay positive..we are alwaz behind u..jia you..

rachel
hmm..now torn between IVF or ICSI?

hi rachel

Dr will want to see that u menstruate before egg stimulation. After 14 days of lucrin, he will do scan and bloodtest to see how ur body responded to lucrin and whether u are ready to go into egg stimulation (assuming already had menses). During the period of egg stimulation, 2 injections need to be taken, lucrin + FSH (in my case is puregon). Lucrin will tell the body not to ovulate while FSH will tell the body to produce eggs. During this period, dr has to closely monitor egg growth (think around 10 days?) When the follicles are big enough and eggs are ready for extraction, there will be one last jab, which is called HCG injection (be prepared, this one is slightly more painful than the rest) to trigger ovulation in the next 36 hours. Op will be done just before ovulation to retrieve the eggs. Have to monitor closely cos once ovulate, no point extraction as eggs have already came out from the follicles. Hope i not confusing u.

hi hui

saw that your HSG's results are ok.
yeah!!
it's good that you ask many many questions before you go through IVF. then easier for you to visualise and you know what to expect.
the sisters here have all been very detailed in the explanation, so i won't add anymore k?
good luck!

hi teddybear
thanx..keke..
ya,i got to ask many quests coz take one time try nia..not successful then gone case le

the sisters here realli very details..thanx to them for all the info

hi teddybear
knwing this sat u taking ur beta test..realx urself..dun stress k..
all sisters here will cross finger for u..
good luck..

HI Rachel,
yup yup... have to jab on that day too... till they tell you when to stop...

Hui,
thanks for your support... will bear that in mind!!!
kao_kiss.gif

anyway, anyone know whether can I still go for the ultrasound if I'm still having my AF?

constantia18, yes, can do vscan even with menses. It is the dr's prob, not urs, as it is a little messier than normal days.

hi hui, not sure but stated on the forms yest, it's ICSI leh.... so i guess shld b loh... :p

thanks constantia then i will jab b4 gg for the u/s & blood test....

hi chloe, thanks....1st scan and bloodtest will be on 8 may...then more injections lucrin + puregon for 10-12 days... the rest is the same... process same as SO-IUI so hv gone thru similar jabs, just tt the jabs started on CD21 for IVF & involve Lucrin...

hi hui, tink our Dr will kn better hor... :p so sleepy after lunch...... ther's free Ben & Jerry's ice cream today... i only kn of the kiosk at United Square (jus outside ToysR'Us) but long quene....

hui,
don't worry whether it's IVF or ICSI, it's the Doc's job to think which is more suitable for u and ur hv. U only hv to concentrate on taking the injections on time, remember the scan dates, keep urself stress free and relax, the rest don't think so much. This way, the whole treatment will be easier.

hi hui, really?? am working in novena sq... will hv lunch ther, sometimes lah...... i will buy the ice cream in tub.. :p

hi rachel..
reali!!wow..but i wrk till 2nd may will be leaving le..

hi blue rabbit
havin sore throat?drink plenty of water n rest well..nowadays alot ppl sick..yest in trian alot ppl 'kuu kuu kuu' coughing n 'ah chew' havin flu..take care

hui, u resign cos of IVF or u gg to a new job?? am waiting for my contract to end in Jun (contract staff)... looking for perm jobs now...
been sending my resume...