IVF/ICSI - cycle buddies

hi edel, gg for 1st jab coming Mon..... it's getting more excited but sometimes i dun tink much abt it...
bt HB wil not be in town on Mon, i guess it's ok rite??

hi blue_rabbit, in this case, will give them the cheque on next visit... :p thanks

heheeee.... ai ya so fast... really must go later a bit liao... ^_^ so can take mc... :p by the way, do they tell u the result on the spot?

blue_rabbit,
thank u, I'm so relieved to know that. It's really amazing that we can witness the embryos transfer into our womb. It will be such a magical moment. Were you able to see the embryos stick to the endometrial wall? I can't wait for this moment

humble,
I'm sorry to hear that. Don't think of the past, look forward to your coming procedure. You have to stay positive and I believe this time round, the staff will be more experienced and can handle more professionally

Rachel,
hee.... so nice, can start next Mon liao. Mine only in late June. First jab should be lucrin right? It should not be a big problem that your HB won't be around next Mon. However, if u need him to jab you everyday, then it's better he be there or u can teach him after u have learnt from the nurse. Good luck and keep us updated

rachel,

hahaha... u are so like me!!! I was so excited also when I had my first jab!!! Kept telling all my colleagues and friends that I having my jabs and they say I'm crazy!!! ^_^ But it was really fun... can't wait for what's happening next...

constantia18 - no, they don't give u the results on the spot. I had 2 call at 4pm on the same day 2 find out the results & next steps.

Humble - sorry 2 hear about your 1st ET experience. I guess we hv to hope & pray there's a better team at KKH now that will take care of all of us!

rachel - all the best!

Blue_rabbit - can u tell us how long is the ER procedure? must we go in earlier for any medical preparations OR do we just go in and they go ahead with the procedure straight away?

humble,
it's good to be able to move on. Just look forward to a new start.

akandatang,
ER takes 1/2 day. The nurse will tell u what time to be there... usu is 7.30am, then they will instruct u to take off everthing and u hv to change into a gown... something that looks like kimono, then change slipper. U will sit outside the OT for a while, the nurse will ask u some questions. After that walk to OT and a Doc will brief u about the GA and the procedure and make u lie on the op bed. The nurse will intercome Doc Loh to come and meanwhile the Doc will administer the drugs into u and put u on an oxygen mask. I blacked out even before Doc Loh arrived. After a while u will wake up to see urself in the recovery room. U hv to lie there for 3 hrs and the nurse will give u milo to drink. So hb don't need to come to KKH until 12.30pm. Then change, buy medicine, injection by nurse and can go home...hehe... v long winded.

thx blue_rabbit! I like long-winded! Now, i can visualise and know what actually takes place during the procedure - thanks again.

hi Edel
i'm here..yest i'm off so nvr post anything..my HSG..erm..cramp lo..but after dat ok liao..but about 3hrs later started to feel more cramp n pain..have to eat panadol to kill the pain..
..today alreite liao..waiting for sarah(nurse) to call me

Hi blue_rabbit,
thanks for the explanation, it's very clear and we can know what to expect

hui,
hope u feel better now. After HSG will feel a bit bloated, so have a good rest. Nurse Sarah is very friendly and comforting, like her very much. Hope your results are good

Hui,
oh no, I'm sorry, I didn't know that... My friends who went through it told me this way. May be if over bloated would be dangerous. Keep my fingers crossed for you
408087.gif
Do have enough rest. Has Sarah called u?

hi Blue rabbit
after sseing ur description abut the process of ER remind me of going for my operation for CIN two..change into the gown n slipper then can't have nail polish on..muz remove..then walk inside myslf..keke

Hui,

when I did my HSG also got bloated and bleeding for almost a week... but checked with the nurse, they say it's normal... so never went back for checkup... and after that it was ok... my cramp lasted for 3 days even!!!

hi Constantia
reali..then the nurse gave me wrng info le..

u knw the result on the spot?or oso like me got to wait..my SIL ask me look at the tv to see issit block but i can't see coz the nurse head blocking me

thanks for pulling me from my flashback.....keke! i m always like that keep thinking of past events every now and then. You gals are right i chose kkh for their exp. I m sure everything will work out well for all of us.

Lets cheers together!

I cant wait to start my tmt liao, the time is moving sooooooo slow
408303.gif

hui,
good, looks like you did not suffer much for the hsg. Abt posting images, you can post from the emoticons be from this page (click the emoticons below this page and copy and paste the code) or save from other websites on to your computer and upload it in your message.

Have a fabulous weekend everyone
408304.gif

Humble..
nice too see u..the doc hlp me do the HSG yandao mah..n he quite fast..so abit pain onli when he use the thing to open my viginal wide,the ink flow inside u can feel the cramp..but after hrs
then the pain n cramp becm double..eat panadol then ok liao..keke..u starting tmt tomolo?good luck..cm bk tell me more ok?

hui,
me not starting tomolo la (wish i can), waiting for AF, then call clinic. Thats why feel like time not moving hee hee....too impatient ah?

Did u try the emoticons?

humble
i guess my company com cannot..it will appear a pop up being block..

dun worie..time pass fast if u dun go n count n think..

hui,

I've got the results on the spot!!! sort of lah... cause the doc tell my husband to go in with me and show me all the scans and analyse for us and tell us the results is very good!!! and that was only last month? so fast they change their system?

hi edel, i will b doing the jabs by myself cos HB afraid to injure me...
so i will tell him hw i feel aft injections.... like Caroline said during counselling, HB & me r a pte ltd company, he's the boss, whereas i'm an employee who do all the work :D report the develpoments etc to him, if prob arises, let him kn & he will be responsible...
will keep u girls posted

hi Constantia,
i only told colleagues within my dept, my family & HB's sis abt the prog..... u r more excited leh.... :p

hi akandatang, thanks
all of us must jia you!!

rachel,

ya lor... I'm really excited!!! Now still am!!!
dunno why!!! Find it really amazing that getting pregnant can goes by this way too!!! Although don't dare to put too much hope on the result!!! Just enjoy all these procedures!!! I'm always very interested in medical procedures... that medicine is sometimes really advanced!!!
stupid me lah!!!

408598.gif
constantia, medical has advanced a lot, we r lucky to hv such tmt.... thou ther r some sacrifices to be made
most impt, hv an open mind.....

hi edel
actually if you have left over puregon from each vial, you can bring it down to the hosopital for the nurse to combine for you. For eg, I was on 300 iu jabs and had 100iu excess per vial so nurse can combine 3 x 100iu into one syringe and you can still administer one jab.

Hi akandatang
I'm now in my 2ww. Test date is 2 May. Work back to work already, which i think is also good cos it takes my mind off thinking about this thing all the time.

btw, i had previously signed up massage packages with rustic nirvana. can i still continue with the massages while on jabs??

Hui,
I didnt know my hsg result until my next appointment i think they will keep in your records and will inform you during your appointment (hope i m correct)

hehehee... maybe my doc like to talk cause throughout the scan he keeps talking trying to relax me... he didn't tell me the exact result just say everything is ok and show me the scan photos.... which of course can't tell what are what... ^_^

hi buddies...today so quiet..onli i post msg nia..how's everyone?humble,akandatang,edel,blue rabbit,constaintia,rachel n mandy(sorie if i left out anyone..
)..
hope all babes had a wonderful weekend

Hui,

I'm fine thanks for asking...

yup yup... so quiet today too... how's everyone? me going for the scan on wed liao... hope everything's fine... anyway, me still having AF, can I still go for the ultrasound?

Hi Hui,
sorry to reply late. I was chasing to watch the Da Chang Jin DVD in the weekend ke ke ke
You see the button 'Upload Attachment' below? You can also click that then click 'Browse' to paste any emoticons you saved in your pc.
May be Humble is right, u will know during the next appt. If want to know earlier, may be can give Nurse Sarah a call

Humble,
so glad that u are back to your cheerful self

Jia you, u will be starting soon once ur AF comes. Me still gotta wait until Jun...

Rachel,
ha ha... the way Caroline puts in is very funny and helps us relax more. Come to think of it, I haven't called up to make appt with her. Keep forgetting. Must call her tomorrow 'cos I forgot to bring her number with me today :p

Constantia18,
I have the same feeling as you! Feeling very excited although mine only starts in 2 mths' time

Hi Mandy,
thanks so much for this info. Mine will leave only 35 iu after each jab, so will need to combine many. May I ask, when we are starting Puregon, how many will the nurse ask us to buy at one go? If we don't use all, can still get refund?

Me on my fifth injection of suprefact (equivalent of lucrin) this morning. Having a headache so staying at home today. Anyone going for egg extraction soon?

hi ladies, went to KKHIVF tis morning for the 1st injection....as i did SO-IUI before so the process is somewhat similar and i still can take the pain
but it's only the 1st day, still hv 13 days to go before u/s (ultra-sound) and blood test on 8 May, Mon morning.....

hi Edel, yes Caroline is actually quite a nice lady....i find her a bit Taiwanese thou but my HB finds her Malaysian .. hahaha... watever, she's nice...

hi Chloe, is tis the 1st time u r experiencing headache?

hi rachel
u finali start cycling liao

me still waiting for HB to get ready..

hoping i will cycle soon

do take care

hi chloe
take good rest k..drink more water coz u having head8..
..mayb is the injection causing ur head8..relax k..*hugs*

thanx chloe
glad to hear that ur head8 better le..

regards abt my HSG,i had been worried abt the result coz scared nd to do lap..me n my HB reali save money till face green green then can afford to do IVF wan..if nd to do lap then we can't do IVF liao
..so now i feel relief le..

hi hui

For my case, i have done HSG, laparoscopy and now in the process of IVF. heehee, u name it, i have it.

My tubes are ok under HSG. During laparoscopy, dr found out that i had scar tissues at my pelvic region. My tubes and the back of my womb are stuck to the pelvic walls. As my tubes are not able to move freely to catch the eggs when they ovulated, conception could not happen. One thing i was told by my dr is that although my tubes are not blocked, he was unable to determine whether the inside of the tubes are still healthy, cos if he were to do so, he is worried that he will be causing even more damage to the tubes. If the inside of the tubes are unhealthy, the tiny hair inside the tubes may not be able to sweep the egg along the tubes into the womb.

i would suggest that if u still cannot conceive now that u know ur tubes are clear, go straight to IVF, cos this will bypass the tubes altogether.

hi hui, congrats!!!! it's a relive for both u & HB....

hi chloe, glad tt ur head8 is better.... wow, din kn tt the organs r so impt & yet complex...
for my case, my previous gynae suggested lapro but it's $2-3K, we seek 2nd opinion & now with KKH on IVF...... hope all's fine

hi Chloe
hmm..i'm surprised by wat u have said..thanx for sharing..i learn something todaybut one thing..if u doHSG n ur tube is ok how cm done lap b4?suggest by dr?i will be cycling abt aug/sept
..hope can reali cycle

hi rachel
thanks..

hi hui, i did my HSG at east shore b4 and was given the all clear, tt's y later, when proposed lapro by another gynae, i had my doubts.....

hi hui

i've done HSG when i was with another dr. i switched dr, and my current dr encouraged me to do wat is known as "ovarian drilling" to treat my ovaries directly (i got PCOS), as he felt that since my tubes are not blocked, i should not be failing my IUIs, something else (not detectable under HSG) must be wrong. It was during lap that dr discovered scar tissues. One of the reasons why i did lap was also becos i have painful menses, which makes sense, cos dr said my scar tissues were very bad.

Hope u dun mind me asking. Since u are going for IVF in aug/sep, why do u need to do HSG?? IVF supposed to by-pass the tubes altogether... well nevertheless, wish u all the best during ur aug/sep cycle.

rachel, my lap cost me about $6K, had to stay at hospital for one night. Overall, recovery was rather fast.