acthia,
so nice to find a fellow "Melbournian" and fellow sch mate here! Oh me and hubby also LOVED Melbourne! we have nothing but good memories of living there. our current 2 male cats are also Aussies - we got them there in 1995, and they came back home to S'pore with us.
yes, East Malvern is a VERY nice suburb. and we has such wonderful neighbours, esp the Aussies. it's so funny, the unfriendliest neighbour we had there was a fellow Asian! how ironic is that??
Hey, all those places you mention bring back so many memories! Yes, Chadstone was our regular shopping/movie place, esp during late night shopping on Thursdays! And the Phos in Richmond.....YUMMY! till today i hardly ever eat any Pho noodles in S'pore - somehow none of the places here can meet the standards in Melbourne!
Have you been back to Melbourne since leaving? we went there last yr in Feb to attend my sis' wedding (YES! she married a Melbournian!! haha!) and we got to bring my dd there. it was sooo nice!
you really don't want to take up PR there? a few yrs back hubby and i also never considered it. but now since we've had our dd, and looking at the expensive standard of living here, and the fast pace of life, and the overcrowding, we are SERIOUSLY thinking of moving there maybe when our dd starts going to uni.
my sis and her hubby also plan to move there permanently in a few yrs' time, once they're ready to start a family (they are now living & working here, her hubby got S'pore PR), so we will have close family there. my bro who now works as a chef in a restaurant here also said he might wanna look for a job there in a few yrs' time, so in the end i think my entire immed family will move there sooner or later.
janet,
oh..hee..different ppl don't fast for different reasons lah. for me i find it is a personal decision, so it's nobody's business lor if someone chooses not to fast.
me also prefer to shop all alone! can take my time! that's why every thurs before meeting hubby i love to go window-shopping. even if i don't buy anything i also happy, cause it's so relaxing for me, as i hardly ever get to do anything in a slow & relaxed manner when dd/hubby are ard!
hey, you SHOULD get a day off leh, and ask hubby to handle the kids with the maid the whole day! my hubby does that for me quite often! either i get to go out without them on a weekend (then they stay home all day) or he brings my dd out whole day then i get to stay home and relax.
my hubby well-trained liao. from the time my dd was a bb he can handle her all by himself the entire day, from the time she wakes up till the time she goes to bed. he can make her milk, feed her milk & food, feed her medicine, bathe her, put her down for nap & bedtime, change her diapers, play with her, etc. he even brings her out on his own very often (he has his own diaper bag leh!).
ever once his colleagues had a gathering at the airport, they sent someone off and had lunch there also, so all of them brought their kids along. he was the only Daddy there alone with his kid. all his colleagues so surprised and impressed leh! they said they seldom see a Daddy bring out his young toddler out with him alone! haha!