Heart Mumur

jael

I suspected my girl having this heart murmur, Can anyone tell me more about this (syndrome)?
May i know how much the consultation fees and charges. Did she need to go for operation ?

Thanks for all of you!!

Hi, my daughter has a hole in her heart (ASD). It was confirmed when she did a 2D echo, like ultrasound. If you really suspect, best to take her to a cardiologist peadiatrician to confirm. If it is like my daughter's case, it has no symptons at all. But as the hole is of moderate size, she will need to do a procedure (not open heart surgery). If you need more information please PM me. Take care.

hi, my gal was suspected with heart murmur during her 1st mth development check. my PD refer me to a heart specialist in KKH. like smurferoos, it was confirmed with an echo test.

If u're concern, u can make an appt with KKH cardic centre. this is their URL http://www.kkh.com.sg/MedicalSpecialtiesnServices/ChildrensHospital/Medical/Cardiology/

there is not symptons. before that she's just like a normal NB. eat, sleep normally.

my gal is now 6 mth old... we went back to KKH for her 2nd echo when she was 5 mths. the hole is closed liao....

in total we spent about $600 cash for consultation and echo... cannot claim medisave. we are treated as pte patient cos we are refered by pte PD. If u want to be subsidised i think u need to bring ur gal to polyclinic then let them refer u to KKH.

dun think too much. everything will be fine. take care.

Hey Cat,

How's your daughter? My daughter should be going for her procedure in 2 months time. I am really very scared and worried! Any mums out there going through or been through the same thing? Please advise....Thanx

My daughther was also dedected Heart Murmur when she was a baby by our PD. My PD told us either to wait for a month and see how as it may just go away or go to visit KK cardiologist.

As a kiasu parents, of course we couldn't wait and go ahead with KK. We paid also few hundred dollars. Result was that one of my daughter's valve was smaller thus it made that valve work double hard to pass the blood. However, it is not serious and it will go away when she has grown up.

Now she is 5 years old alreadly. Thought that the murmur had gone. However, last year, our GP dedected the heart murmur and asked about it. We told him about the findings from KK cardiologist many years ago. The GP also mentioned that since the findings is due to the valve then it is ok. However,he warned us that the murmur may come and go when she is stress or sick.

Just came back from the PD's and was told to wait a little longer before we do the procedure, cos she is too young and hasn't hit the weight of 15kg! A little relief, but also upset, cos we have to wait again. Sometimes i really feel so sad, and blame myself...maybe it's something that i did/didn't do when i was pregnant with her, that resulted in the condition....sigh...

I personally got heart murmur since young, but i manage to grow up normally without need for medication or procedure.

A doctor once mentioned that i may not be able to have kids as my heart may not be able to take the pressure of labour. But now, I'm a mother of 2.

So, not to worry too much and don't blame yourself.

Thanx so much for your reply. But my daughter has been confirmed by the PD that she has 3 holes in her heart! But the good news is that the PD is quite optimistic that he can close the holes.

I don't even dare to think about having a second child....cos i am afraid that she will have the same condition as my elder one....sigh..dilemma...

Hi Smurferoos,

My daughter has a pda which didn't close by itself. She went through a procedure to close it about 3 years ago. Am not sure izzit the same kind of procedure that your daughter will be going through. For my daughter's case, the device actually goes in from the groin area (can't remember what's the name of the procedure). My gal's cardiologist is from Gleneagles, he is very good but very ex lor. My gal recovered my fast, need to stay in the hospital for 1 night only. can jump the next day liao. now, i can't even find the scar.

Dear Berry,

Thanx for your reply. Can i know the name of your PD from Gleneagles? Yes i think my daughter will be going through the same procedure as yours. I know my daughter must reach a certain weight before the procedure is viable...at what age did you daughter do the procedure? Thanx a million....

Hi Smurferoos,

My daughter's cardiologist is Dr William Yip at Singapore Baby & Child Clinic at Gleneagles. She had the procedure done in Aug 2004 when she was 4 years old. Her weight at that time was only 9.4kg. She is very small size and even till now she is only 11kg+. My daughter is a special kid, growth retardation is one of the features for the sydrome she has. Did your pd tell you the estimated cost? If I am not wrong, I paid almost $12k for the whole procedure i.e. including the 1 night hospital stay and the echo before and after the procedure, the doctors fee etc. Of which, only $2k+ can used medisave. Don't worry too much, no stitches is required and the wound will close by itself nicely.

Hi Berry,

Thank so much for sharing. My daughter's doc is Dr Heng, as my Hubby is working at Singhealth, so we can get subsidy, so confirm she will be doing the procedure at KKH, so i think the fees should be affordable. i hope...

What sydrome is your daughter suffering from? I hope everything is going great for you!

My daughter is 2 already,but right now i don't even dare to think of having a second child.

Hi Smurferoos,

I know this Dr Heng. My daughter was referred to him when she was only 4 mths old. The reason why I later switched to Gleneagles was that he couldn't detect the murmur where all other doctors managed to. He even told me that most probably the pda has closed by itself. Sorry not meant to make you worry. Anyway that happened almost 7 years ago.

Oh, my daughter is diagnosed with charge syndrome, a rare genetic defects about 1 in 10000-12000. We are doing great, it's just that have to cope with her mood swing. Beside, she is still not talking so we are facing frustration everyday.

Don't worry too much though. My this daughter is the second one. I have an older boy and 2 more younger daughters. They are all healthy. My youngest one is now 7 mths, am starting everything again
but am enjoying very much.

Hi Berry,

You are one great Mummy! You have 4 kids! How do you manage? I can't even cope with 1. I really respect and admire you! Are you a SAHM?

My hubby feels quite happy and comfortable with Dr. Heng and since we have been seeing him since my daughter was 9 months, my daughter likes him alot too!So i don't think i will change. Thanx so much for telling me. Is Dr Heng Joo Teck is it? I just hope that he is able to close her holes! As she has 3 holes

Am thinking of having a second child, actually wanted to have the second one when her procedure is over! But now must wait till she is 15kg (3-4 yrs old), so don't think i want to wait too long...any advise? How to manage 2 kids??

Hi Smurferoos,

Sorry for the late reply. Am down with flu and bad cough, haiz....

Haha...I also don't know how I manage but so far I am still enjoying it though many times I have been driven up the wall. Good thing is my other 3 kids are all in the morning session, so only left with me and baby alone in the morning. Yup, I am a SAHM. I doesn't like to work so have been a SAHM since my son was born 9 years ago.

Ya, it's Dr Heng Joo Teck. I agree that you should stick to him if you feel comfortable with him. Most importantly is that your daughter must be like him and familiar with him. Is there any name for your daughter's heart condition? Oh btw, how old is she now?

Actually I always tell people not to think too much. The more you think, the longer you will drag. And the younger you are, the more energy you have. Things will be messy in the beginning but after some time, you will be more settled and everything will start picking up. It's not as bad as you can foresee. My 3rd and 4th child were not planned. I found out I was pregnent with my 3rd child when my 2nd one was only 6mths old. I actually sat down and cried because I was worried that I couldn't handle at all. She had a few doctors' appointment every month and with her condition I started to doubt my ability. My mum even hinted abortion. But see, I manage to survive

Hey Berry,

Am always looking forward to your reply.
Me sneezing too, must be the horrid weather....

Having 1kid is already abit of stretch for me! Maybe now is the terrible twos! :p For me, i work part time, so i leave for work at 830am and will be back at 3pm everyday, so i still get to spend time with my daughter!
but if i have a second one, i think i will stop work!

My daughter has ASD, and has 3 holes, hopefully the procedure will be able to close all her holes!
keeping my fingers crossed! My daughter just turn 2!

I agree with you, if you sit down and think rationally, you won't even have kids, so my hubby and I will try for another one when she is 2.5 years old! I believe i will find a way to cope! but i think i will stop at 2! Else i will be driving myself crazy!

You are really great! I must learn more from you! With my first one, i had mild depression due to lack of sleep and my relationship with hubby also suffers, so there was this time i don't even dare to think about the second one, but like you say, once things settle down, your mind will wander and you will have another ...hahaha...

Hi Smurferoos!

Why don't you approach Dr. KY Wong in KKH? He is the head of the department, and has a wealth of experience in this area. Dr. Tan TH is also good.

By the way, if your girl is not experiencing any discomfort, etc., Dr. Wong or Dr. Tan would not usually recommend going through the procedure. When my son reached 15 kg, Dr. Tan suggested holding on to the procedure, and true enough, in the subsequent consultation, it was found that the hold in his heart became smaller. Now the hole is totally closed.

Hi QMS,

Thanx for your suggestion, but Dr Heng has been my daughter's PD for 2 years and she is so use to him, in fact she is very cooperative with him and even like to visit him, so hard to change!

Dr Heng recommend we delay the procedure too, cos she is not experiencing any discomfort, and she is thriving well too, but as my daughter has ASD not PDA, so there is very little chance of the hole closing by itself. By the way at what age did you son reach 15kg and when did his hole close by itself? Thanx for much for your reply.

Hi Smurferoos,

I knew of this Indonesian boy who had ASD too. His parents only found out that he had ASD by chance when he was 5 years old. He too didn't experience any discomfort. They were referred to the same cardiologist as my daughter. He also had 3 holes. But they only managed to close it by open heart surgery because his condition is quite complicated.

So who is helping you to look after your daughter when you are at work? Must inform me when you are pregnant, will be very very happy for you

Don't get too stress up and don't worry too much. I used to worry a lot each time my daughter had to go through any procedure to correct the defects she has. She still has an op to go for her droppy eyelid. We won't know when will that be because she has not reach the right height yet. She may be 7 now but she can easily be passed on as a 3-4 yrs old. So far, beside the procedure for her heart, she had also gone through 2 surgeries to enlarge her nose passage and many times of procedure to clear her ear wax and change of tube in her ears (to drain away the water inside). In fact, she was so used to all these hospital trips that she knew exactly what to do when we were there. She didn't cry at all each time she was being poked by needles. It's sad having to go through all these but I have to always remind myself that it is all for her good.

Don't underestimate kids, they always surprise us

Hi Smurferoos,

It's not true that the hole cannot be closed if it is ASD. In fact, ASD is not as critical as VSD. Doctors tend to worry more if it is a case of VSD. My son is 4 years old now. Last year, the hole became smaller, and the doctor suggested putting the operation on hold. He was already 16 kg then. This year, we went back for review, and the scan showed that the hole was already closed. He had ASD.

So, please do not despair. And, the last thing you want you want to do is to blame yourself. So far, no research is able to pinpoint the cause of such defects. That's why it is called congenital. Your girl needs your support, if eventually, she needs to go through the procedure.

Given the advancement in medical science, the procedure should be safe. Have faith in the doctor. I believe they have done such procedures many, many times already. Just pray hard that the holes will close by themselves, and your girl need not go through the procedure. Have hope!

Hi Berry,

You are always so positive and encouraging, for me, I work part time so i will leave for work at 830 and be back by 3pm, my mum helps me look after my daughter when i am working. So i still get to spend time with my daughter.

My mum refuse to help me look after another child, in fact she discourage me from having another one for fear of the second child having the same condition as my first. So if i have the second one, i think confirm must stay home already

Dr Heng is quite confident of closing the hole through the procedure. So hoping for the best! you are right about children being resilient, my daughter hyper active one, but when Dr Heng doing the Ultrasound, she super good gal.

Hi QMS,

We have been observing the holes for 2 years, so far no signs of it being smaller, so her doc not very optimistic about it closing on it's own. I am prepared for the procedure!

I am so grateful for all the encouragement! I really hope we can keep in touch!It's always nice to have mummy friends. Cos only a mum will understand what a mum goes through! THANX A MILLION!

Hi Smurferoos,

Be prepared for the procedure, but don't despair, ok? In any case, you can ignore what your mum said about second one having the same condition as the first. I have the second one, and she is perfectly fine. Have the second one when you are ready, and don't be worried. Whatever will be, will be.

Take Care!

Hey QMS,

Thanx! I won't despair, I believe it is just a simple procedure to make her feel better!

When did you decide to have the second one? What is the age gap? Planning for my second one, but don't know what is a good age gap. Any suggestions?

Hi Smurferoos!

The difference in age gap is 19 months. There is no such thing as a "good" age gap. It's a matter of how you look at it. I do see my husband's niece, who is the only daughter, feeling lonely as she does not have any sibling. She is 7 now. I have friends whose age gap between their two kids are about 6 years. They think that the elder child is able to look after the younger child. Having small age gap means the two kids are able to "click" better. So, it's all a matter of how you look at it.

Like what I said, have the second one when you are ready.

Thanx for your advice. But if i wait till i am ready, then i think it will be never!
19 months difference! Wow, how did you cope? Are you a SAHM.

By the way i am potty training my daughter, so challenging! but we are slowly making progress. Having a kids is like a different challenge everyday.

Hi Smurferoos!

Why did you say you would never be ready? You have to ask yourself then.

19 months difference can sometimes be taxing. Now that my son is 4, he is more sensible, and we can sometimes rely on him to look after his sister. When you see the two of them playing while you are busy, you do feel glad that they have each other for company. If the age gap is too wide, they may not have common interest. Having said that, small age gap means they always end up fighting with each other over the same toys! So, there are the pros and cons.

No, I am not a SAHM. Tried that for 6 months last year when we lived overseas. Would like to be a SAHM, but somehow I haven't been able to convince myself to take the plunge yet. That's why I admire SAHMs very much. They are simply great and their sacrifice is admirable.

Potty training is also another thing that I classify as "when you are ready, you are ready". Treat every progress as an achievement, and who knows, you will be pleasantly surprised!

Hi QMS,

Cos when i had my daughter, i suffer from mild depression, and it affect my relationship with my hubby badly, and my mum is always threatening me not to have another one else she won't look after my elder one, so really scared! Being impatient in nature, i don't know if i can handle 2 kids! So still pondering.

For me i think 3-4 years age gap is just right, then my elder one will be in school and i have time to look after the baby. As i work part time, i spend quite some time with my daughter, but if i have second one, i think need to be SAHM! like you i don't think i can do it! I have great respect for SAHM too!

Will let uou know the progess with potty training, so far so good except she doesn't like to sit on potty to poo poo....

Hi Smurferoos!

Have you considered putting your girl in a childcare centre? She gets to make new friends and learn new things. How old is your girl, exactly?

Hmm....I thought your mum should be happy that you have more children? Maybe she has your interest at heart, but if she is unwilling to help you look after your girl, you have other options, too. I know it's tough during the initial phase of having a newborn, but every delivery is different. The second one may not be as bad as you imagine. Your maternal instincts will come in when you really have 2 kids, so don't worry about things that may not happen.

Hi QMS,

My daughter is 2 years and 1 month. I have thought about sending her to play school next year, when she is bigger.

My mum was sort of force to look after her, initially my mil promise to look after the baby, but when i was 5 months pregnant, she changed her mind, so i have to 'beg' my mum. My mum is doing a fantastic job looking after my daughter, but i know she can't handle another one. I know she has my interest at heart.

My husband also very busy at work, in fact i do all the night waking and training, most of the time i am alone with my daughter, so i really doubt my capabilities. But I still think i will stil go ahead with my plans for second child

Your kids are all in school? Which childcare are you sending the kids too?

Hi Smurferoos,

Have confidence in yourself! Like what I said, your maternal instincts will set in once you have the second one, and who knows, you will be a supermum in no time! Give yourself some assurance, ok? Our whole family had to go to UK for 6 months last year as my husband had his sabbatical leave. Before we went there, I was also apprehensive as to whether I could cope with 2 kids, do household chores, etc. while my husband was at work. However, things didn't turn out as tough as we had expected. In a flash, 6 months passed, and we came back to Singapore. My husband and I really appreciate having the opportunity to live alone overseas. So, don't give yourself undue pressure. You will be able to handle whatever that comes.

If your financial situation allows, you may like to engage someone to help your mother to alleviate her burden. If not, sending your girl to the childcare is another option. Or, like what you said in your pevious post, be a SAHM. You can "understudy" your mum for a while before you start looking after 2 independently.

My children are in the childcare centre. They are in Learning Vision at NUS. It is really heartening to see how they enjoy themselves (they will sing the songs that they learn in school, tell you about their friends, etc.). Of course, the downside is that they tend to fall sick more easily. My son has been in the childcare centre since he was 18 months. His heart condition didn't affect him at all.

Smurferoos,
My boy oso diagnose with MPV recently by Dr William Yip of Gleneagles. BTW ds is 5 yrs old. Hv no idea whether that is heart murmur or not. Just share it with u d doc whom find out the condiiton.

Hi QMS,

Thanx for your encouragement! Yeah! I think I will talk to my hubby about having a second one! Initially he wanted 3, but after the first, he can't take it, cos he felt that it will be very hard on me also he is afraid our first one can't take it!
Cos my daughter always say that she wants to be an only child!! hahaha....

Currently i have a maid to help out with housework but she is still very tired! but i think i will send my daughter you school next year. Now i am looking around for school. Such an exciting phase for my daughter, but i am afraid she has trouble coping
and not to mention fall sick more often. yeah, will seriously consider being a SAHM if i have the second one!

Anyway i will be bringing my daughter to perth next month, so exciting, our first family trip! How did you entertain you kids on the flight? Wow to UK somemore!! I am racking my brains now. Any tips! I think i am very Ken Cheong...

Hi Cecelia,

Sorry, but what is MPV? Is it also a heart condition? The doc that found out about her condition is Dr Heng of Kidslink. He did a Ultrasound to confirm....when i first heard the news my heart really breaks!! but now i have accepted it!! How are you feeling?

Hi Smurferoos!

Wow! Your husband wanted to have 3 kids! You will be very busy then! But then, our parents' generation has more, so, there shouldn't be any problem coping, right? Hee....

The first kid is usually the most difficult, because we didn't have prior experience. However, once you have the first one, the second or subsequent ones shouldn't be difficult. Don't ever ask your daughter. Not that we are superstitious or what, but remember the brother-in-law I mentioned above (with one daughter)? His daughter mentioned she didn't want to have any sibling, and till now, they are still not able to have a second one, no matter how much they want or how much the girl now wants. Just prepare your girl mentally when you have the second one.

When you look for a school for your girl, please remember to bring her along. See how she reacts to the school. Also, visit the school in the morning to see how they conduct classes. If you go on weekends, please make another trip on a weeday morning to the school that you are almost certain that you will sign her in, just to confirm and feel comfortable. As for your girl's ability to cope with the new environment, all children go through this. She will not be the only one. Yes, you have to be prepared that she will fall sick more often.

Going to Perth. Wow! How nice! I took night flight to UK, so they were sleeping most of the time. When we went to Bangkok on day flights, the other passengers ended up entertaining our kids because they were walking around and smiling to others! Don't worry! Everything will fall into places. How long will you be there? On a packaged tour?

Ceceilia,

Heart murmur is a symptom, not the name of an illness itself. Heart murmur can be an indication of ASD, MVP, etc. BTW, is your son having MVP - mitral valve prolapse?

Hi Smurferoos,

Finally finally...I am so much better now after coughing for more than a month! My baby is also down with flu and cough too
and she is still quite cranky.

How's things been for you so far? I have been busy lately and tired too (sorry, didn't reply u, had been sleeping rather early for the past week). You will be going to Perth soon ya, how nice. Can imagine how excited all of you must be. My son keeps asking me when we can go for holiday. ha ha....our reply is always "wait till mei mei gets older lor". They hope to be able to visit my sister who is now in Finland, it will cost us a bomb to go there.

Enjoy your trip...it's a good break for all of you.

Hi QMS,

Yeah initially he wanted to have 3 but now change his mind! but i think he wants a son! Cos we have a daughter now, so he says if we have another it will be more fun to have a son! but i don't agree, i would much rather have a daughter, then the 2 gals can play together!
Ok i won't ask my daughter then, i will prep her when i am ready to have a second one.

I tried bringing her to some school, she started crying at the gate, not even in school she cry already, the only exception is this another school, she was playing the the slide while i talk to the teacher! I think i will go there one more time! Sian.....if she fall sick, then have to coax her to eat medicine....but every kid has to go through.

Yeah, sort of looking forward to the trip! I time it such that it coincide with her nap time. hopefully she can sleep! Yeah i think will walk up and down with her too, tell you more when i get back! It will be 5 days 4 night, it's free and easy! We should be driving around! Wow BAngkok! Is it children friendly? Wanted to go HK initially but the weather there is so hot!

Hi Berry,

GReat that you are back! Sorry to hear that you are not feeling well! Must be the horrid weather! Get well soon! Oh no...your daughter sick too....you must be exhausted!

Wow Finland, that's so nice and so .....COLD!! but family trip is what memories are made up of! Let me know when you are going...actually i think it is easier to bring them when they are baby! What do you think?

Anyway...now my daughter is waking up in the middle of the night again. cos she is frighten of moth!! I tried to assure her but not working. hopefully it is a phase....

Hi Smurferoos!

Well, to have a boy or girl, hmmm, never mind lah! After all, it's your own flesh and blood, right?

Yeah, the fact that she cried in every school except that one could be a hint that she likes that school. Which school is it? Go visit the school again and see how the teachers conduct the classes. My kids like to take medicine because because of the sweet taste. They would fight over the medicine! Can you imagine that? But, to think of it, this could be due to the fact that there are two of them, and the elder one, being older, is more sensible. Hence, the younger one, upon seeing how receptive her brother is to the medicine, naturally develops a "liking" to the medicine, too. That's another good thing about having more than one kid. They tend to have some kind of influence on each other.

Bangkok is not that children friendly, frankly speaking. The floors are uneven, and as there are many steps, it is not feasible to bring a pram with you. As for the food, if your daughter is not a choosy eater, you should be able to find something suitable for her. The food there taste different from what we find in Singapore, for the same dish. For instance, char siew rice in Bangkok tastes a bit different from what you find in Singapore.

Perth is a nice place. Will you be going to Freemantle? Please tell me more about your trip after you come back. Enjoy your trip, and don't worry too much about managing your girl. I'm sure she will enjoy herself, too.

Moth...do you have a lot of moths in your house?

Hi QMS,

Yeah you are right, as long the the baby is healthy then boy or gal also nevermind.

WOw!!1 They like medicine, you are really so lucky!! There was this time, feeind medicine to my daughter is like killing her!! She will scream and cry and kick!!! Luckily after that i know how to spike her med, i will add mango juice to her med, and feed her via straw!! Now there is no more tears, sometimes she ask for more!!
Are you kids close to each other and do they play well together? I know of some siblings who always fight and argue everyday!!

Yeah even though the flight is short, but i really think bangkok really not children friendly, believe it or not, i haven't been to bangkok before
I like to go cooler places
SO chose perth cos like more boring and sedate. should be driving up to FRemantle, I will be leaving in late Aug, just 5Ds and 4nites, will tell you more when i get back.

My place don't have alot moth, also don't know why she is scare? She has seen moth around from time to time, but to be so afraid till nightmare is really quite drama, so now i let her sleep with a toy hammer!! Hopefully she will feel safer!

So normally what do you do during weekends? For me, if my hubby is home, we will bring her to zoo, botanical gardens, sci centre and of cos shopping....

Hi Smurferoos!

My son did not like medicine from day one. I guess it takes some time for him to "like" the medicine. As for the girl, she just follows whatever her brother does. She is basically, a "parrot". She won't struggle if her brother doesn't. So, we have to "teach" the elder one so that he is able to "teach" his sister. You will be surprised that sometimes the girl listens to her brother more than to us!

It's normal for siblings to fight and argue with one another, unless the age difference is very great. Sometimes, you can't help but laugh when the girl tries to play the elder sibling. The boy just sits and pretends to listen to his sister. My two play well together, although there are times that they fight over one particular toy. My boy dotes on his sister very much.

Oh! You have never been to Bangkok? You can consider making a trip there when your girl is older. The food there is simply delicious! And, of course, not forgetting the shopping!

Normally, we will either go cycling or shopping on weekends. My two kids like to cycle. They also like the trolleys in supermarkets (one likes to sit on the trolley, while the other likes to push the trolley). We haven't brought them to the zoo in Singapore yet, as we are not sure whether they will enjoy themselves or not. We went to a Safari Park in UK last year, but they didn't seem to enjoy themselves that much.

BTW, has it been decided when your daughter will go for the procedure to close the hole?

Hi QMS,

My daughter is super uncooperative and stubborn one, when she refuse to eat, no matter how you coax also no use!!
Wow sounds like you have 2 very good kids!! lucky you

Of late, i am questioning my own parenting abilities, esp when it comes to patience! Cos my daughter is waking up 1-2 times in the middle of the night for the past 1.5 weeks, not matter how i assure her and pamper her in the day, and though she promise me she will sleep through and everything, she still crys 1-2 times every nite!! So last nite i was quite angry, i hit her backside! i feel so angry with myself for losing it and also so frustrated with her!! I dont' know if i am made to be a good mother? So i guess till i sort out my feelings, no 2 will have to hold. have you ever feel so angry and frustrated?

Nope, i haven't been to Bangkok, ok will try it next time when my daughter is bigger! After her Perth trip, then we will see...

As my daughter is thriving well, the doc recommend that we put off the procedure till she is bigger , 3-4 years old, but we still have to go for checkup every 5-6 months, from then the doc will decide. So nothing is confirm yet.

Hi Smurferoos!

Be patient with your girl. Your girl's reaction may be part of the "terrible twos". Kids tend to do abnormal things at different stages (e.g. drinking milk all along, and all of a sudden does not want to eat anymore). Just treat it as a passing phase. My colleagues also commented that their children "suddenly" refused to drink milk. Do you sleep with your daughter? You may like to tell her some nice stories before her bedtime.

I do feel angry and frustrated. You are not alone. When we were in UK, I was alone in the house looking after the two kids while my husband was in office. I had to do housework, cook, etc. and whenever I was busy, my girl would come to me asking me to carry her. She would cry when I refused to carry her. So, there I was, busy, and she kept crying. I simply ignored her. If my husband were around, he would chide me for leaving the girl to cry (he can't stand crying kids). So, you can imagine how frustrated I was.

Was that the first time you hit your girl? If so, your girl is so lucky to have you as her mother. So, don't worry too much. She may just wants to feel secured.

hi hi QMS,

I guess it is just Terrible two's at work. So last nite, though she work up at 345am, after some comforting from my end, she went back to sleep in about 5-10 mins time. So I just take it like i wake up and go to pee

I try to give her massage, read nice night time stories, calm her down, kiss and hug her tight, and i have been telling myself it is a phase and she really miss me alot alot!! So now i am sleeping at 9pm every night, so i will be less frustrated

yeah, like when my mum went away for holiday and i look after her myself, i always plan field trips out with her, cos if i stay at home whole stay i will lose my temper one!! My hubby can stand her crying, but i can't so i will usually give in to her, esp at night! but in the day when she is whining about this and that i will ignore her
She wil usally come runing to me after a while.

Yes, it's the first time i hit her backside, but feel so guilty, sometimes when i feel my temper escalating, i will leave the room or shout her her! :p I think i am really very impatient :p

QMS,
Yes, its Mitral Valve Prolapse. Doc is saying not to worry. He gv son letter to say next time b4 dental checkup must take antibiotic. Apart from that d u ever heard abt MVP?

Smurferoos,
At first cant believe it cos from the birth till now doc didnt diagnose anything out of him. Nowadays v kan chiong over ds whenever he said tired or pain... <haiz>

Hi Cecelia,

I know it is very hard to accept the fact that you ds has MVP. but most MVP doesn't need any medical intervenation and there are no symptons right? Just must be careful during procedure that might introduce bacteria to the blood stream. If the doc says everything is fine, just treat your ds normally, for me, sometimes i forget that my daughter has ASD! And i always tell my mum to treat her normally, cos ASD is something that is treatable!
So is MVP! Cheer up!

Hi Ceceilia!

Well, my husband has MVP. He was diagnosed with it when he was about to go for his NS. Sorry to scare you, but sometimes a relapse can be quite scarry. BTW, is your son's condition classified as irregularly irregular, or regularly irregular, if you know what I mean? What medication is he on, if any?

Cause of such illness is unknown, though. Not hereditary, nobody else in his family has similar problem.

Hi Smurferoos!

Cool down, cool down! Kids are naturally naughty. Something is wrong if they are not naughty. There's this saying "spare the rod and spoil the child". Not trying to propagate anything, but we must teach our children the right values when they are at their tender age. Don't worry! You are not alone, ok?

Hi Smurferoos!

Ummm..not too sure about the thing on whether MVP is "treatable". It can be under control, but to treat it.....

We just hope that there won't be a relapse.

my baby is just 6 weeks old.

her mitral valve is having problem.
its doesnt not close proper which causes backflow.
this caused her lungs to be congested with fluid.

she is on medicated now to clear the fluid in her body fast. long term will be surgery.

sholud i seek a second option about this?