Heart Mumur

Hi QMS,

I know sometimes i am a little impatient, so now i am trying to slow down and see things in a different perspective, to my surprise, i find myself enjoying my time with her
Thanx for your advice. But i still can't bring myself to hit her, maybe hold her tightly at times or smack her little chubby hands at times....
They are just so cute at times, but really a test of my patient most of the time :p

Hi Eugene,

When did you find out about your daughter's conditition? I am sure it is very tramatising for you and your family. Take care. I think going to KKH is a good option, cos they specialized in infant and children. When my daughter is ready for the procedure, we will be doing it at KKH. Good luck! Her Doc is a visiting consultant at KKH, but he runs his own clinic in Jurong, so I bring my daughter for her 4-6 months checkup at jurong, but procedure in KKH.

onli 2 sundays ago.
she usually is a good drinker.
close to 5 oz per feed
but 2 weeks ago, she wakes up less and cannot finish her feeds. there is also one day that she had onli one feed for the entire day.

thats when we sent her to NUH and was diagnose with mitral valve reguritation.

Chanced upon this thread today.
Well, I'm diagnosed with Mitral Valve prolapse earlier this year. Never heard of this condition before. The doctor said that the heart valve will close and open. Under the MVP condition, the valve did not close properly, causing a backflow of blood. Thus, causing racing heartbeat(heart palpitation). My first attack was in 2000 and the second one earlier this year. The gap is 6yrs so not too bad. I experienced extreme rapid heart beat, next thing I cant see anything, cant feel the floor, almost fainted. The best thing to do is to bend down your head, let the blood flow down. It lasted for a few seconds only and after that I'm back to normal. My doc said theres no treatment but no worries, it doesnt need to cause changes to lifestyle and it is not life threatening.

He had given me some info that was downloaded from the web. Cant remember all symtoms, light headed (giddy), heart palpitation. Things to avoid : caffaine (tea and coffee), because tends to increase chances of heart palpitations.

Theres all I know, feel free to ask any qns.

my dd had heart-murmur when she was a newborn, now she's just turned 1mth.
Initially went to William Yip, n was detected to have 3 holes. she was later referred to NUH by polyclinic, coz' we find pte consultations are too ex. anyone here had exp with cadiologists at NUH?

Hi Eugene,

It must be very devastating to detect it 2 weeks ago, be brave, what did the doc recommend? Open heart surgery? Children are very strong! We must be strong for them too.

Hi Lis,

My daughter has 3 holes too, and she is suffering from ASD. What about your daughter? As my hubby works at Singhealth, so the consultation is subsidized. Lucky for us, Dr Heng waive off most of the consultation cost and ultra sound cost even when we visit him at his Jurong Clinic. That's why when we are doing the procedure we will head back to KKH. Sorry, I am not sure about any cadiologist in NUH.

Hi Lis!

Eugene mentioned Prof. Quek of NUH. If it's Prof. Quek Swee Chye, he should be good, right, given that he's the Head of the Paediatric Cardiology Dept. KY Wong from KKH is also the Head of the Paediatric Cardiology Dept.

Hi Eugene!

Yeah! Stay strong! Parents must stay strong in order to be pillars of support for their children. When is her next appointment? Please keep us updated. The forummers here will be praying hard for your girl!

Hi Pantone!

So, is your condition irregularly irregular, or regularly irregular? Are you on medication now, since you had a relapse earlier this year? Which doctor are you seeing?

QMS
The doc did not give me any classification and I'm not on medication. I was hospitalised for a night at Mt A and the doc that attended to me was from Gleangles. Cant remember his name.It was like a waste of $ to stay at Mt A. The GP from 24hrs clinic at Mt A think I should be admitted. After waiting for more than 2hr(Sunday night) the specialist came to my bed and hinted that it was not necessary to stay as the meter that was attached to the body was unlikely to detect any irregular beat. He said that since the GP think I should stay so he obliged. I went through 2 times blood test. The first blood test was not done properly. So got to suffer any round of poking. One night stay had cost me nearly $1k and that exclude specialist fee /scan done at the doc's clinic. The stay was a waste of $

QMS
You mentioned that yr hubby also has MVP? He has the same symptoms as me? Irregular heartbeat? sensitive to tea/coffee? Is he on medication? Sorry for so many questions. Just want find out more.

We called our PD regarding our bb very poor feeding
He recommended us Dr Wong from KK for second opin(same dr recommended by QMS)

Immediately went down to c DR Wong. Did a ECG and Echo scan. Same diagnosis has NUH - Mitral Valve Reguritation

He recommended us to admit bb for observation.
He said that bb will need to go for surgery if she doesnt respond well to the medication.
they hv also seen 2 cases this year and they are both doing well ( this is very encouraging )

ward is so much better than NUH.
2 x nurses to take care of that special ward (step down unit) compared to open wards in NUH.
they will take care of bb needs. at least parents can go hm and rest.

financial:
this unit is only for infant with cardic (6 bedded, air con)
no matter which class bb is admitted, bb will be in this unit.
so might as well admit bb as c class, save money.

QMS,
thanks for your recommendation

Hi Pantone!

Yes, my husband also has MVP and the symptoms as what you described above. His is irregularly irregular and yes, he needs to refrain from caffeine. He had a relapse early this year (after a lapse of 9 years) and was on medication for a while. He has stopped taking medicine now because he doesn't want to rely too much on the medicine. He will be seeing the doctor this Friday. Let's see what the doctor says.

Please do not underestimate the relapses. According to my husband's doctor, if you have any relapse, it is still possible to reverse the condition provided it is treated within 48 hours. I still remember when my husband had a relapse on Friday night, we were very anxious and didn't know what to do. He called his doctor on Saturday morning, and his doctor told him to be warded immediately. His situation was similar, but he didn't stay overnight. Admitted in the morning, and by 5 pm, the doctor gave him the go ahead to be discharged. Please do not think that it's a waste of money, because you can never be sure how serious is your condition. Please do not disregard any signs. You must seek medical attention if you feel uncomfortable. My husband's condition was quite serious 9 years ago.

Now, my husband is seeing an "electrician". His previous doctor was a "plumber". His "plumber" doctor said that his condition warrants the attention of an "electrician" rather than a "plumber".

You mean you do not have a regular doctor that you see for your condition? My husband used to see his doctor every 1-2 years until his last relapse.

Hi QMS

The specialist just did an echo test and tell me that it is harmless and no need medication. Since my relapse is at 6yrs interval, he said that the next relapse would not be so soon.I was not told to do a review. What is the name of the medicine and what is the purpose of medication? Which doc is yr husband seeing? From what I know, MVP is not life threatening. I even reject the tilt table test suggested by him. This is to test at which angle, you would feel giddy, so you can avoid this position.During the stay at hospital, i was not given any medication. Just an equipment atttached near the heart to detect heart beat, that's why i said a waste of money. Wow the echo test itself is costing me about $300. So exp.

I dont quite understand your statement regarding electrician and plumber. Can elaborate?

QMS
Does yr husband experience giddiness? Last weekend, I was like sitting in a roller coaster. The world around me went spining. I vomitted a few times. It only get slightly better in the afternnon.Went to see a GP in the evening and was told nothing to do with MVP. It was Tago. (Dont know the exact spelling.) Something to do with the balance of the ear and fluid. Not sure if the GP got the right diagnosis. Because about few mths back, after I consumed green tea (powder form), I got this serious spinning problem the next morning. I guess I had put too much powder that caused this side effect.

hi eugene, its me, the mother of baby anthea (the one who doesnt drink milk and put on wt) who stayed in the bed opp yr baby's last wed. glad u have seeked help and support from all the kind souls here
u and yr wife look very strong and optimistic to me, jia you! keep us updated of yr baby's condition yeah! all the best!

Hi Eugene!

Glad to hear the assuring comments that KKH gave you regarding the 2 cases. Don't worry too much, ok? Have confidence in Dr. Wong. He is very experienced. In fact, he used to see my husband, and my husband is full of praises for his knowledge. He may be soft spoken but is certainly very good.

Hope your daughter recovers soon. All of us here will be praying for her early recovery. Stay strong and be optimistic!

Good luck to you and do keep us informed of your daughter's condition. Take Care!

Hi Pantone!

Not sure about the medicine. Will check and revert back to you. The purpose of the medicine is to help revert the heart back to normal beats.

You won't really know when the next relapse will come. Like for my husband's case, his last relapse prior to the one early this year was 9 years ago. I am sure you won't want to take your chance, right, especially when it relates to matter of the heart. When having irregular heart beat, you need to take medications to thin the blood in case the blood clots. MVP may not be life threatening, directly, but it will cause other problems to surface, such as heart attacks, right? Please enlighten me if I am wrong.

Regardless, my advice is for you to seek a cardiologist and monitor your condition. Of course, we are just playing safe, just like why we buy insurance.

Oh! Regarding the plumber and electrician analogy. According to the cardiologist, a person with MVP needs some "electric current" to "shock" the heart back to regular beats. That's why patients need an "electrician" if irregular heartbeat does happen. In fact, during my husband's last relapse, the doctor observed his heartbeat and commented that if the heartbeat didn't resume to normal, they would have to use the electric device (the device that doctors use to revive patients whose heart have stopped beating) to "shock" the heart back to normal beat.

As for giddiness, I haven't heard my husband say anything about it. So, cannot comment on that.

Hi Pantone!

The doctor prescribed Flecainide to my husband. The medicine regulates the heart back to the normal rhythm.

Hi QMS
Thanks for your reply. Currently, yr hubby is seeing which doc? Can recommend to me?

During the echo test, the doc told me that my heart is very strong and i'm too young to have a heart attack. So no heart problem at this moment. And at the hospital stay, the equipment that test my heartbeat over the night shows everything is normal. What is the treatment done for your hubby when he was admitted?

Hi Pantone!

My husband is currently seeing Dr. Abdul Razakjr of NUH. Prior to this doctor, he had been seeing Prof. Y.T. Lim since 9 years ago. As Prof. Lim went into private practice early this year, he requested Dr. Abdul Razakjr to take over my husband's case. Prof. Lim is also very renowned in cardiology. If you are interested in going to Prof. Lim, he is now in Mt. E. Else, you may go to Dr. Abdul Razakjr. BTW, the electrician and plumber analogy was given by Prof. Lim. He said he's the plumber while Dr. Abdul Razakjr is the electrician.

My husband was also on the equipment to read the heartbeat. He was given Flecainide to see if the medicine could regulate his heartbeat. Luckily the medicine worked. If not, he would have to go for the electric device that I mentioned.

Like what I said, take precautionary actions. Go for regular checkups. If the doctor thinks you are fine, he will not want to see you too often, too. In fact, prior to his relapse early this year, my husband's appointment with his doctor was about 2 years ago. Prof. Lim and my husband thought everything was fine. Who would have expected my husband to get a relapse?

Hi QMS,

Wow you are really very knowledgable in this area!Thank you so much for sharing with us.

Dear Eugene,

Glad to hear that the doctors are so positive! Don't worry too much i am sure everything will be ok!
You mean whether you are Class A or C, you will always be in that ward? My daughter is 2 years old, so will she be in that ward too? Or only for infants? Stay positive!

Hi Smurferoos!

No lah! Not knowledgeable. Just sharing with everyone what I hear from different sources. Actually, I would rather not know anything. I need to understand all these because my loved ones are affected. So, given the choice, I would rather not know (if my loved ones are not affected, I wouldn't need to know all these). Just like my son's ASD condition. If he hadn't had ASD, I wouldn't even have heard of this term before, let alone know what it is.

My son was warded in KKH once when he was about 15 months old. At that time, they asked what type of ward I wanted to put him up (1/4 bedded). Hence, I think the type of ward that Eugene mentioned is only for infants. For toddlers, it will be like adults. However, since the wards are for toddlers, one of the parents is allowed to stay overnight with his/her child. Hence, it depends on which class the parent feels comfortable sleeping in. This is what I think.

Hi QMS,

I totally know what you mean, i don't care much about all these med terms, until my daughter has ASD, and i have to read up on all those stuff and understand all those terms. Like you, i rather not know..but still, it's really very nice of you to share with us.

As my hubby works for Singhealth, so all family members can live in class A under subsidize rate, so i guess it save us some money. As long as the parent can be there, then it's ok. I talked to her doctor, he says the proceudre just need 1 nite stay in the hospital. But if not successful, then it will be opnen heart!!! really keeping my fingers crossed...

Hi Smurferoos!

Wow! Class A under subsidized rate. Cannot imagine for outsiders like us. With the ever escalating medical costs, this definitely means a lot of savings.

Did you check with the doctor the success rate for the procedure? Has he performed on any patient with more than one hole previously?

Did you bring your girl to watch the NDP?

Yeah it was really quite fortunate that my hubby is there. It's quite alot of savings!

We have checked with the doc, he has experience in doing the procedure and is very optimistic about it. Now i am in a dilemma, don't know whether i should change to the doc in KKH or not? but my daughter is now so use to Dr Heng....what do you think?

No lah i am too lazy to bring her to watch NDP. in fact she was so tired yesterday that she slept at 730pm. What about you??

Hi Smurferoos!

I thought you said your daughter liked Dr. Heng? What made you contemplate changing doctor? If Dr. Heng has experience in the procedure and is optimistic about your daughter's case, I don't think there's a need to change, unless you want to seek a second opinion. Just my two cents' worth.

We only watched the NDP via TV. I thought we could see the fireworks from our house, but apparently, we were wrong. My son was so disappointed, but my girl seemed fine watching the fireworks from the TV.

Hi QMS,

Yes my daughter likes Dr Heng alot, but since reading Berry's post that he was not able to diagnose her daughter's PDA, I was a little worried. I guess I am just being panaroid. Actually i feel very good with Dr Heng, until i read that...

Me too, i thought my place can see fireworks but we can't, I was a little disappointed too :p Some of my friends rented a hotel near marina area to watch!!

hi mummies! am so glad to come across this thread.

my son is diagnosed with VSD. he is now 4 months old. pd detected his heart murmur when he was 3 days old. went thro' scan and found his hole is moderate. until now, we just go for echos. cardio say at this moment, there is no need for operation. but need to monitor.

QMS, my son's cardio is also KY Wong.

btw, what is ASD?

my valves does not close entirely. leaking, they call it. does that mean i have MVP? my last scan was 10 years ago. since young, i have no heart failures. can take PE lessons etc. but i always feel so guilty that i pass this "disease" to my son. and he got it worse, with VSD. Dr Wong says, he must see my records/scans to determine if son's condition is inherited from me. how to get records from NUH that is more than 10 years ago?

one last question, does any mummies have difficulty in getting medical/accident insurance for your kids? AIG had refused my son's insurance application. citing the heart condition. i asked Dr Wong, he tells me most of his patients face this problem. and tell me to find other insurance that will approve our application. which insurance did you mummies get for your kids?

Hi Jean!

The heart is divided into four quadrants. VSD refers to hole that is in the lower quadrants of the heart (Venticular), whereas ASD refers to the hole in the upper quadrant of the heart (Atrial).

Your valves don't close entirely - this is Valve Prolapse. But whether is it MVP (Mitral Valve Prolapse) depends on which valve that doesn't close properly. Life still goes on as usual for people with MVP. They can do anything and everything, if the heart doesn't palpitate. Like what I said previously, the illness in itself doesn't cause heart failures. It's the effects of the illness that increases the risk of heart failures.

Umm...there's no known cause for ASD/VSD. I am surprised that Dr. Wong suspected it. How is he going to determine whether it is hereditary? Can he really find the cause of VSD?

If you want to determine your condition, the easiest way is of course to see a doctor yourself. Get a confirmation from the doctor.

I think you can forget about getting insurance for your son until his hole is closed. We asked our insurance friends to "sound out" the underwriters, and everyone of them said they would only consider our application if the hole in my son's heart was closed. True enough, we immediately submitted our application for an insurance policy upon knowing that the hole has closed, and our application was approved without any exclusion or loading.

Hi Smurferoos!

You can try KKH, but I don't think it will be much different. It's always good to go for a second opinion. You can still go back to Dr. Heng after that, right?

Hi Jean,

Yeah i know what you mean about getting insurance, I have tried a few but most of the company refuse to insure my daughter, I am currently trying NTUC, if it's good news i will let you know. All the agencies need letter from the doc, but most insurance company still doesn't want to insure my daughter...sigh...like what QMS says, wait till procedure over then try could be easier. Meanwhile i sign up for medishield, that covers my daughter medical bill until she is 20 years old, but excluding her ASnD Procedure bill...sigh...
ce
Yeah QMS, maybe you are right, i should go see KKH doc then after that go backt to Dr Heng, so i feel more secure...
so Kiasu hor...

Hi Smurferoos!

You need not bother trying NTUC, too. Of all the insurance companies, I think NTUC Income is the most KS.

Don't worry, the insurance companies will accept our daughter once her holes are closed. By then, you can request for her MediShield to be reviewed so that it covers her ASD.

QMS, thanks for taking the time to explain all the terms! yes, i still keep the copy of the drawing of my son's hole position in the heart. its on the lower quadrants. another question: u said VSD is more critical than ASD, why so?

QMS, when i told dr wong that my valves does not close entirely and asked if my son's condition was inherited from me. he said he needs to see my last scan to determine which valves, which position and which tissue. so he can determine if it is heredity or not. he said, some cases, it can be inherited. actually i don't wish to find out since my case has been closed for so long. but... i just want to clarify this so that if it is not inherited, my ILs and husband will not be able to blame me.

Smurferoos, i sent the doc's letter to AIG. last week. so far they have not gotten back to me. i guess the answer will the same like what u and QMS said.

Hi QMS,

I requested from the Medishield to be reviewed, but they say no. SO she will be covered for all hospitalization except the one she needs now. So ironical, yeah i am not hopeful that NTUC will accept. I think i will wait for the procedure to be over first.

Hi Tulip7v,

I have checked alot alot of books and even ask alot of PD, they say if there is anyone in the family with any heart problem, there is a higher chance of your child having heart problems too. But still, it can be random. My hubby side, my MIL has VSD, so it increase the risk for us. BUT it is not correct for your ILs and hubby to blame you!! No one want this to happen! Please don't take it personally. Be stong!

Hi Tulip7v,

Umm...to explain why VSD is more critical than ASD, we need to understand the function of the heart. The explanation can be quite lengthy. You may like to go through the information in the following website to gain a better understanding:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ventricular_septal_defect

Yes, Smurferoos is right. Nobody wanted such a thing to happen. If you want to trace whose fault is it, where do you end? Blaming all the way to your ancestors 18 generations ago or even farther? Your hubby should be the last person to blame you. Maybe you can read the above website with him to ensure he is more "informed" of VSD.

Hi Smurferoos!

Like what I said, NTUC is the most KS of all the insurance companies. From their point of view, they had to accept your daughter because they "inherited" Medisheld from the government. They wouldn't have covered your daughter at all otherwise. You just have to wait for your daughter to recover fully before applying. I think there are a couple of insurance companies that are willing to consider patients with ASD only after the patients turn 5.

Hi QMS,

Medisave will only cover for her 'heart condition' provided in the next 5 years after her procedure there is no complication, then it's consider safe to accept. So most insurance companies want 2-3 years clearance after the procedure before accepting!! So sian.....

Just to share, my hubby and I are planning to have a second child soon, I feel very excited, yet scared! So this second child is he/she consider high risk since my first child has ASD? Any special precautions to take?

So i guess after the second kid i born, i will take 1 year no pay leave to lool after till he/she is big enough for play school.....

Smurferoos!

Well, congratulations in finally taking the step! Don't worry too much. Things will fall into places by themselves. You should look forward to the second child. Who knows, this second one will bring you good luck, and your daughter's holes will be closed in no time!

Precaution? Ummm... if there is no known cause for ASD, how to suggest a precautionary measure? Just take more folic acid and multi-vitamin pills that your gynae prescribes. Start taking folic acid now. Other than that, I really don't know what to suggest.

You are a good mother, willing to give up your job for your children. I salute you! So, what about your daughter? Have you signed up for the childcare centre already? Try to get her prepared for the future arrival of her sibling

QMS & Smurferoos, thanks for the support! let's just say my relationship with my ILs are not positive. and they have a tendency to blame all the negatives things about my kids on me. but good things, they say its their genes lah...

QMS, thanks for the link. read it. very useful. now i have a much better idea and why Dr wong said one side of the heart is swelling with the increased volume.

Smurferoos, my son is my 2nd kid. i have an elder girl, 2 years old too. born in 2005 Jul. yours? she doesn't have any heart condition. so, don't worry too much. she's now attending half day playgroup. when i had my first kid, i quit full time, work part time. then with 2nd kid, i took 6 months no pay. going back to work in Oct. its can be very tough taking of two kids alone. like QMS said, must prepare her for the arrival of a new addition.

Hi Tulip7v,

So your son is your second child, and your elder one has no problem. All the more they shouldn't blame it on you. Anyway, don't treat their comments seriously. Like what people said, "one ear in, one ear out". If they like to say things to make themselves feel better, let them say it. Only people without confidence will talk down on others so that they can feel better themselves.

Which playgroup is your girl in? What does she do for the other half of the day? You are another great mum! Quit your full-time job to look after your children. What more can your in-laws and husband say?

QMS, my ILs very traditional. elder is a girl. 2nd one is a boy. so i think they're quite disappointed to hear he's got a heart condition. my MIL can even say why i give birth to a son that has only one dimple. my fault again?

she attends a church playgroup, which is a 5 mins drive from our place. the church has this childcare facility. and she attends half day while most of her classmates are full day. i couldn't bear to let her stay full day. morning i'll fetch her to school, afternoon my mum will fetch her back to her own place. there, she'll nap, dinner and wait for ah gong to bring her to playground in the evening when he's back from work. after shower and dinner, my mum will bring her back to my place. so at least, 2nd half of the day i can concentrate on taking care of my son.

my husband is the one that encouraged me to quit. wanted me to be full time SAHM. but i seriously cannot stay at home. i get frustrated and negative. my ILs... er... let's just say my MIL think i'm spending her son's money by staying at home, relax, shake legs and go shopping. my MIL never ask me to quit my job. always tell me to get a maid, don't send my girl to playgroup then my mum can take care of the two kids full day. see how "great" her suggestions are?

Hi Tulip7v,

What's the difference between putting your daughter in the childcare for full day and leaving her with your mum? You still don't get to see her until after dinner, right? Sorry for being meddlesome, but I am just curious.

Well, your MIL said your mum could look after the two? Hmmm...she sounds like my dad. Hee... Why don't you ask her whether she wants to look after your 2 kids for you and you get her a maid? That was what I suggested to my dad to keep him from bringing this up again.

how should i explain...

first, grandparent's care is definitely better than childcare. so i never opt for full day child care. my mum can take care and she used to take care of my girl full day. but now that my girl had reached an age where i think its time for her to learn socializing, listening to instructions, learning in groups, i decided to put her for half day. there she learnt art work, sharing, understanding simple instructions given by teacher, songs and actions etc. her learning curve was very steep the first three months she was there.

this will also free my mum up in the morning to do housework and go marketing.

why not come back to my place in the afternoon? just wondering, u got one kid at the moment? coz if you have more than one, you'll understand why my girl is away daytime. currently, i don't have maid with me, so if the two kids are around with me alone, it can get very tough.

daytime, i have to take care of a baby, do those daily chores (i got a part time cleaner). if my girl is with me, i won't be able to clear those daily chores. and also, when the two are around together, my girl can get whiny, jealous etc. the typical sibling jealousy syndrome. my son cries, she cries, for no reason.

my MIL look after the two? ha ha... impossible. firstly, she don't need a maid. when she married to my FIL, they already got a stay in helper and this helper is still with them. she doesn't need to do housework at all!!! her sons are taken care of by the helper too!!! that's why she thinks i am having a good life now... coz she must have taken the easy job of motherhood and think it was such a breeze. she doesn't even know how to feed my girl properly. and now with my son, same. how to let her look after? i'll be so worried sick. anyway, she is very anti-breastfeeding. i'll be left wondering if she feeds my son my expressed breastmilk or not.

Dear QMS and Tulip,

Thank you for your support! Will let you know once i am successful!! Quite excited!!

This childcare thing is always an issue, that's why i need to take 1 year off to look after the second one ( if i am successful), I am worried that i will be negative and stressed up, but like QMS said, just take one step at a time.

Yeah, i hate meddlesome ILs too, for me worse, initially my MIL scold me for not wanting kids, she make all sort of promise to me, that she will look after the baby, then when i was 5-6 months preg, she change her mind, and i have to beg my mum to look after, then my mum can't manage, so i have to work part time.

And now, my Il will always ask me about my daughter's habit and will always find fault with this and that. When i say i might want to be SAHM, she even say no good, cos maybe my hubby can't take 'yellow face' wife....but i can't be bothered with her, so tulip, just ignore her!!

Hi I am back from perth and the trip was really quite fun!!

The weather is really quite cold and there is drizzle practically everyday, but still my family and i enjoy the trip very much! Lucky for me, my daughter slept 1.5-2 hours on the plane, so it was quite ok to entertain her!

But she fell sick on the 3rd day, so we were stuck in the hotel room, and she doesn't really like the food there too, so my mum insisted that my daugther lost weight after the trip, but perth is really very baby friendly.

So how's everyone? the weather is bad, so must take care

Hi Smurferoos!

Welcome back!

How cold was Perth? Did you rent a car and drive around? What did your girl eat when you were there? How did you entertain her on the plane?

Most grandparents claim that their grandchildren have lost weight when not under their care. You just have to see for yourself whether it is true that your girl has lost weight. How much difference can 1 week make?

Where did you go in Perth?

Hi hi

It was quite cold in perth, about 8-16 degrees! We wanted to rent a car, but my hubby and I forgot to bring our driving licence, so nope, instead we took a cab when we want to go to the rural areas...very expensive!!

SHe is not use to the food there, so we feed her bread with soup, pasta, mash potatoes, fish fillet, and yes, we went to chinese restaurant so she cna get rice and soup and porridge....

She slept, then she was very excited about the food and the toilet and the clouds and some of the toys in the children's pack, so quite ok....

She lost some weight in perth, cos she didn't eat alot, but now that she is back, she is back to her usual appetite, so ok lah...

We went to petting farm, park for flower festival, chocolate factory, cruise, and shopping!!
hahaha...but as it's our first family trip overseas, i feel that i am very kan cheong, hopefully next trip i will be better..

Are you planning for any trip in the near future

Hi Smurferoos!

Hmm...maybe next time you can consider going to a more "Chinese" place. It takes some time for kids to get used to savoury food. My kids didn't use to like western food, but now they love pizzas! There's one thing that kids definitely like, and you are able to find everywhere - french fries! Of course, it's not so healthy.

Looks like you went to quite a number of places. The experience is definitely different now that you are travelling with your daughter, right? Did you bring her pram along?

We are planning a trip, but don't know where or when. My husband's semester just started, so it won't be so soon.

yeah, thinking of going to Hk next, cos i have relatives there and i know that place quite well, but so many people and not as baby friendly..so still thinking...

Oh so western food need to get use to one, i see, no wonder, sometimes when we bring her out to western rest in singapore, she eats very little too, pizza, ok will try that with her, oh yeah, she loves fries!!!

Yes the experience is really different, it is fun in a strange way!! i don't know how to describe...can go more places, but don't want to push her too hard cos she is not feeling well and this is afterall her first trip...nope i didn't her pram, so we CARRY her most of the time, our arms really ache!!

Wow, so have you shortlisted any countries? Your hubbys still studying? What is he studying?

My hubby is not studying. He's teaching in NUS. The NUS semester just started last month. They will be having a one-week break end of this month, but don't think we can go overseas because of my work commitments. Haven't shortlisted any countries, but we are keen in going to HK. Just don't know whether we should wait till the kids are slightly older before we bring them to Disneyland in HK. The kids will be able to enjoy more rides, and remember the trip when they are older. You may want to take this into consideration. When we brought our kids to theme parks in UK last year, there were many rides that my girl couldn't go onto because of her age and height. It was quite difficult to pacify her when she saw her brother went for the rides but she couldn't. Maybe we will go to Bangkok again? Perhaps go there and buy some new clothes for the kids. It's very cheap there!

Have you resumed your search of a childcare centre for your girl? Or, have you decided to send her to the one that she liked when you visited previously?

So which faculty is your hubby lecturing in? SO nice to have your hubby lecturing, so he can teach the kids in the future:p My friend just brought her children (4YO and 2YO) and she feels that the disneyland is just nice and not too big. And the rides are quite kiddy friendly, so maybe you can consider, and the food also very child friendly just that very cram and so many people. Just don't go during the summer months and their peak period, cos more people and more expensive..

Yep still searching around, but i have shortlisted 2 enrichment centre, i just need to send her there for 2.5 hours. And 2 of her good friends might be going to the school too, so i think the transition could be easier for her.

Hi mummies....
Din log in for quite sometimes. Flu on and off.... Thanks god din spread to my children.

Conso my log in here.

QMS,
Cant remember which category is my son in actually (mummy's memory v bad cos kinda gabbra at that point of time when i speak to the doc).

Smurferoos,
Share with us here the good news.... Beside folid acid, eat healthy and most importantly .... STRESS FREE....