Dr Tan Kian Sing from TCM

HeatherWhite
Yes, approx. 6 weeks. Before u start your cycle on IVF, Prof. Wong will arrange a talk on this issue for couples going through this.

Yes, 2 round of IUI. Mine is also around this amount. Couples can use up to S$6,000 of their Medisave for the first fertility treatment, S$5,000 for the second and S$4,000 for the third cycle before the age of 40. For the whole cycle, might need to paid between $1,000-$3,000.
If you switch to public patient is it still under Prof. Wong???

HeatherWhite
Yes, approx. 6 weeks. Before u start your cycle on IVF, Prof. Wong will arrange a talk on this issue for couples going through this.

Yes, 2 round of IUI. Mine is also around this amount. Couples can use up to S$6,000 of their Medisave for the first fertility treatment, S$5,000 for the second and S$4,000 for the third cycle before the age of 40. For the whole cycle, might need to paid between $1,000-$3,000.
If you switch to public patient is it still under Prof. Wong???

PGHua,

If I switch then will not with Prof. Wong anymore. Did you try So-IUI? Cos some doctors believe more follicles mean more chance. Sometime I seriously wonder if my follicles contain any eggs or not? There are so many factors here and there.
So is your suggestion to proceed with IVF or Prof. Wong's idea? He seldom talk to me much, always so cool, unlike Dr. Tan. I can ask him anything. hehe... Ya, have you met Dr. Stephen Chew before? He did the IUI for me, I find him quite nice too.

Heatherwhite, yeah I agree with you on Dr Tan. I can ask him any questions that other western doctors would have look at me and thought how stupid I am! I feel very comfortable with Dr Tan. I asked him if I should go with IUI and he discouraged me cuz he said I can conceive naturally.
oh well, we shall see.

Im seeing my gynae this Fri morning so will update Dr Tan on the follicle scan in the evening. I hope my eggs are not affected by my upsetting mood these days and mature nicely

Yes, definitely, I will drop by to encourage u gals mentally ya.
I have been with Dr Tan for 3 cycles. But have been TTC-ing for almost 2 years. Have seen western gynae and another TCM before Dr Tan without any success too.

HeatherWhite

No, did not try. There is a risk of multiple pregnancy which they do not encourage. Sometimes maybe is just a empty sac.
We are the one to suggest that we will proceed to IVF, don't intend to try for another IUI. Yup, can ask Dr. Tan anything that we want to know and he is always soft spoken and friendly.
Having a bad cough for the past few days, never take the medicine.

PGHua,

Apparently, Prof. Wong are more to natural type. I was quite surprise that he didn't even ask me to take clomid. There are good and bad lar. Maybe this will minimize any bad side effects to our body. But don't know how effective it is too. Ya, so you proceed straight to IVF after you failed your IUI? Or need to wait and arrange a schedule with him. I was a bit angry when I called up NUH to make appt with Prof. Wong. I would like to do my follicle scan and was thinking to do my pap smear too. But the nurse told me Prof. Wong will not do 2 thing in one appt?! If I want to do my pap smear then I need to arrange another timing with his nurse. I can't see the reason why I cannot do my pap smear in one Appt?!

Sigh, I have a meeting tomorrow afternoon, not able to make it to Dr. Tan there liao. Likely will miss Dr. Tan treatment for this cycle again. haiz... Sometime I find it quite hard to arrange all the appointments and times.

Heatherwhite, Im not taking leave tmr. Most likely just time-off as medical appt. Actually I didn't ask the nurse of my gynae if I can do both papsmear and follicle scan together :p I hope they do.

why not you make appt for your pap smear and then during the pap smear, ask Prof Wong to shun bian scan your follicles?

Can your hubby make it for Dr Tan's acupuncture? I think if you skip, should be fine. But maybe it's better that your hubby still goes?

Im having EWCM yesterday and this morning. Didn't BD last night so keeping fingers crossed tight tight that it will still be around tonight.. a few more hours to go! EWCM EWCM EWCM...

What's the meaning of time off? I heard that clinic/ hospital can give time off chit? Company can accept? So far I havent tried time off cos seldom see doc. Usually gp will give mc for sickness like flu etc.

PGChua - I also told doc I wanna try ivf.

My prolactin v High at 660 - dr says difficult to get pregnant with Hugh prolactin.. Sigh... Read that reasons can be stressed or some growth in the pituitary gland..

Remedies : Congrats!! So nice!!! Yeah! I also hv retro uterus. Lower chances somemore..

tanny, did you really post these messages at 4am this morning??

oh, my time off is rather informal. As in just need to tell boss that im going for medical appt. no need time off chit etc.

im very nervous.. seeing my gynae later. I wonder if my cysts are still there and if I already have a mature follicle waiting to ovulate.. keeping fingers crossed. during my last pap smear, my gynae found a small growth at the opening of my cervix and had to remove it..

tanny99, time off is depending on your company. Some company needs an official time-off chit from the doctor, some like PhyLee said, just tell her boss then ok liao. The time-off chit will indicate what time you reach the and leave the clinic

PhyLee, I think I saw someone doing that.

Ladies, long weekend!!! Me not going anywhere as involved in grassroots activities, last run for the GE.

PhyLee,

May you elaborate more on why your gynea ask you to go for laparoscopy? Because of cyst or the small growth? Actually I am also considering if I should go for Lap to remove my ovarian cyst few months back. Therefore, I went to seek for Prof. Wong for second opinion.

Heatherwhite, my gynae didn't state the exact reasons on why I should do the lap. His idea is that there are abnormalities that are not visible through scans and so offered the option to me. He felt that doing the surgery before so-IUI or ivf is good just so to make sure any abnormality is fixed so as not to waste the IUI/ivf procedures.

He actually offered me three options - 1. One or two more rounds of clomid. 2. So-IUI (which he said can be 'converted' to ivf halfway through the process as both use two vials (of something that I forgot)) and 3. Laproscopy (which he gave me the option of doing it before/after so-IUI/ivf)

I told my Gynae that I don't want to take clomid again since I had them for three cycles. I actually don't mind Laproscopy just to have a peace of mind before proceeding to further treatments but just wasn't sure if that's really worth it.

Heatherwhite, when you did your follicle scans, do you still see many small cysts besides your maturing follicle? I saw about 4-5 small ones and dunno if that's still considered as polycystic. Last year I remember seeing many more cysts.

Oh well, it's a long weekend so we should enjoy ourselves right?? I'm going to not think about all these and give my mind 3days break! I'll think again on tues

Gals, BD more and those in 2ww, all the best! I just got my first positive opk tonight. Must zou gang liao!! Hehe

Phylee,

Yes, I think we can have a clearer understanding on what is problem we have by doing lap. Maybe is good to go for it as what u say to give yourself a peace of mind. If not, maybe u can also look for second opinion if u still have doubts.
Most of the time there is right or wrong choice, just follow what our heart tells us to do.
HB didnt go to see Dr tan yesterday. In fact, I was a bit angry with him. The reason he gave me is I didn't go so he not go also. Haiz, like I am forcing him to do something he don't like to do. Guess I will not ask him to go Dr Tan there anymore, since he don't find there is no improvement. Haiz. Spoiling my long holiday mood over this thing.
Okok, let's put our problem aside lar, since this is beyond our control. Happy holiday!

Hello girls! Back at work again
Im now officially in 2ww. keeping fingers crossed

Heatherwhite, hope you had a good snuggling long weekend with your hubby.
I doubt my hubby will go alone to Dr Tan without me too. I think most men are still pretty shy about all these.. going for treatments etc.. But you still have this week! Can drag him to Dr Tan for one last round of acupuncture before you O.

Im thinking of seeing Dr Charles MP Lim (at Mount E, i think) for 2nd opinion. I can't seem to find more review or threads on him though. Haiz. Going to spend a bomb again. Sometimes I think with those money spent on specialists, we can go for a nice long trip le.

remedies, how have you been lately? Hope you are still following this thread

Can I ask on the month that you conceived, how was your bbt chart? also just wanna know your personal opinion.. you have tried for almost 2 years, did you go for any IUI or fertility treatments during the journey? Thanks for sharing!

PhyLee,

I didn't ask HB to go Dr. Tan there for this cycle anymore. We have not been mentioning abt Dr. Tan the whole long weekends. Haha... I don't want to feel angry over this. Partly, I also didn't manage to book any appt, unless I am taking time off. But I am a bit busy this week. So will treat this month as a break from Dr. Tan again lar. Haiz...

I went for a quick v-scan this morning. Prof. Wong say I have potentially 2 follicles, both left and right. I didn't manage to see the screen as it was facing Prof. Wong himself. So I don't know if there is other small follicles beside the maturing bigger follicle. Both size at around 11mm, and I was told to go back for another v-scan on Friday. Hmn, if the follicle can grow 2mm per day, my follicles will be around 18mm on Friday. If everything goes smoothly as the IUI normal procedure, I will be given HCG jab to trigger the ovulation once my follicle is around 18mm. But IUI needs to be done 36hours after the jab. Which mean it will fall on Sunday? Aiyo... So I might missed the IUI for this cycle due to the timing as expected. But since already in the process I shall go back again for the follicle on Friday on how things go.

Is May already! How time flies! This month is my birthday month. Not sure if it will bring me more TTCing luck or not. May my birthday wishes for years can come true faster!

Hi Phylee,

Yes, I am following this thread.
I didn't go for any other treatment during my 2 years journey, except for 2 different TCM. Went to see western gynae, they have also recommended IUI before but I am also scared of the injection, so didn't go for it. Then one friend recommended that we try TCM instead it helps to 'tiao' our body and makes us healthy in a way without any side effect. But I also really try to relax by exercising with my hubby and try my best to take things easy during my 3 cycles with Dr Tan. So, I think that helps.

My usual cycle is 28 - 29 days. The month I conceived, my BBT temp was actually dropping on day 26 from peak of 36.76C (CD24) to 36.62C (CD25) and 36.58 (CD26), so I tot becos AF is reporting and there was no more hope, so for day 27, 28 and 29, I stopped taking the temp. But then after CD29, I was puzzled how come AF havent arrived yet, so I started to take my BBT again and realised it is 36.86C (CD30), so it has been up and fluctuate until now. I only managed to get BFP a week after my missed period.

Thanks remedies
still feeling very happy for you especially that you had tried for a long time too. u take care there and i hope we can all graduate soon!

heatherwhite, i hope you get twice the chance this month
when I did my scan last week, the left was 8.5mm and the right was 17mm and Dr Tan said still possible for 2nd ovulation (though im quite skeptical about ovulating twice in a normal cycle)

keeping fingers crossed for you. Let's see what Prof Wong suggests for you this Friday.

oh yeah, heatherwhite, happy birthday to you! *sending my birthday wishes early to you* your wish will come true. jia you jia you jia you

Heatherwhite,

How about going with your hubby instead of him going alone? Sometimes guys dont tell us how they feel but it could be they are stressed up as well. Go with him even if you are not seeing Dr Tan lo.

And Happy Birthday to you :D May all your wishes come true.

Im starting on my third cycle seeing Dr Tan. Yes time flies.

I saw him today and he said received 2 good news today! Any of the girls here? Gee :D

I'm also a May bb. I'm going Malacca next weekend as I love the food!!!

I wasn't that happy this cycle as this is exactly 1 year ago when I got my m/c!!! I should say not unhappy, just feeling a little uneasy about it. My no. 1 was also conceived around this time!! I still remembered that I tested positive on 19 May which was few days after my b'day and missed AF for 2 weeks.

cant sleep so stressed at work so u sometimes see me posting at such Hr..

On the ivf, I corded I only need to fork out abt 1k plus of cash since for first timer fresh cycle, we r entitled to 6k from medisave and 3k govt grant provided I go to restructured hospitals. So I think not too bAd since so-iui also cost About the same abt 1k plus. Except ivf need to take hl, and he pain n suffering of injection lor. Kkh no need to wait so long leh even as a public patient abt 6 months.or lesser? But I think it's important to tiao yr body first else Ivf maybe not su fess up too.

Kkh asks me to go for Hsg. Pretty worried abt the pain as I heard that it can be very Terrible,

I have been loaded with a lot more work in office due to re organisation. And I din even have time to read all my emails that came in yesterday..

AnnissaKoh, happy birthday (in advance)! Hope you will have a good time at Malacca next weekend. Just throw all TTC thoughts out of the window once you are holidaying
I remember the last time when I was holidaying in Aussie during my 2ww, I didn't even have the time to think about BFP. hehe.. so enjoyable. And I was late for a week for my period but later ugly AF still showed up.

tanny, aiyo.. you seemed so stressed. *hugz* no matter what, still must sleep abit at night if not your bbt not accurate le

actually ivf sounds quite affordable if it's under kkh. hmmmm..

PhyLee,

Thanks for your bday wishes! My bday is on 18 May actually. Hehe... I have taken leave on both 16 and 18 that week, therefore will have a super long weekends !!! Hehe... But until now still no plan where to go yet. I hope I will not end up staying at home and do nothing. hehe... But maybe can plan to go Malaysia like Annisakoh. keke...

Oceangal,
You jia you too, hope you be the next one who pass good news to Dr. Tan too. I have been with Dr. Tan for more than half a year already. Sometime is very comforting to go back to see him, as he is always so positive and encouraging. If I can arrange my time well, I will definitely go back to him for treatment. But I also hope I can be graduated from there very soon.

Tanny,
You are too stress up with your work! No good for health too. Try to relax more ok.
HSG is not as terible as what you think. The trick is to relax and don't tense up your muscle. I do experience some cramp like menses cramp during the dye injection. But it goes away when it is done. So don't worry so much on this too ok?

Annisakkoh,
Advance happy birthday to you too! Hehe... I wasn't very look forward to my birthday neither. Cos I am one year older again. Sigh, I have making the same bday wishes for years. So it is kind of sad every year this time when my bday wish still not come true. Sob...
You going to Melaka? You following tour or go there by yourself? Maybe I will plan a trip to Malaysia too.

tanny, I have also done HSG before. Not painful for me. Just a little menstrual cramp when the dye was injected into the uterus. I was given painkillers after the procedure but did not take any cuz no pain for me. Good luck! My gyane said some ppl will strike after HSG cuz the dye sorta clear the tubes

Heatherwhite, you can plan for a hongkong or bangkok trip! Im planning for a short trip end May (yippee) and after the trip, will be back to reality aka seeing Dr Charles Lim.

Heatherwhite, chin up
What is the size of the follicles? Is it that they are growing, just that the growth is slow? Maybe you will O later than expected? Did Prof Wong ask you to go back for another scan next week?

If the follicles continue to grow, maybe you can still do IUI next week. Btw, remember to continue with Dr Tan's pre-ovulation medicine if you can or schedule for an acupuncture session next week. Jia you..

PhyLee,

No, Prof. Wong say will stop for this cycle. Partly today is my CD17 already. Maybe too late for anything to be done now. Talking about Dr. Tan's pre-O medication, haiz, I didn't take his medication this cycle. Remember I said I can't arrange a time to go see Dr. Tan? Maybe this is part of the reason why I didn't ovulate well? Don't know if this is just by coincidence, but now I truly believe Dr. Tan pre-O medication do help in ovulation!
Prof. Wong finally prescribe me clomid for me to take on my next cycle. Haiz... Bday month but no bday luck. One word, sad...

Heatherwhite, hugz. We are here with you. You haven't made your birthday wish yet so maybe the wish will be granted after you made the wish on your birthday
makes sense?? Hehe.

Go travel during your birthday long weekend bah. Go relax. I feel you deserve a good break yourself. Do something to make you feel good. I'm with you

Good afternoon gals, Happy Post Mother's Day to all the mummies and mummies to be here!

PhyLee,
Thanks so much for your encouragements! Muack... I was feeling better after seeing your post. I will try harder in 2-3 weeks time! We can't control the outcome, but we can try our best to control our mood. I will keep myself positive. Hope I can go through this tough and jerky journey till the day I succeed! PhyLee, we jia you together!

Ladies, stay positive, we'll be there.

Healtherwhite, usually I go with Five Star Travel. Lazy to drive and think about parking.

Hmmmm, I'll go then I'll bring AF back. AF due on next Mon. 2nd time going there then bring AF back!!! The last time also like that

Haha Annissakoh,
You are so cute.Ok lar, hope you don't bring back your AF this time ok? hehe... Ohya, I heard Melaka got a famous layer cake. You heard before? But not those kuih Lapis. I never tried before, my colleague went she said very nice!

I am going to Batam View Resort, for a nice spa to relax myself.

Purplelace,
PM you already.

thanks heatherwhite and Phylee.. feel better when hearing that hsg is not that painful...

yes, my dr also says some pple get pregnant after that. is it advisable to skip one month of ttc after the hsg? wonder how the dye will be disposed off? do we need to bring a pad that day?

Tanny,

From what I know, we need not skip the month to TTC. Ya, please refrain from having intercourse before you do your HSG. If not, they will not let you proceed with the test just in case you conceive. And it is normally do straight after your menses.
You can prepare a panty liner with you on that day. The clinic I went last time offered me a panty liner after the procedure. hehe... So I just took from her an extra one just in case I got heavy spotting. hehe...
When you plan your HSG?

hello girls, how's everyone? im not a good girl these days. kept taking cold and gassy drinks cuz of the hot hot weather! Next mon expecting AF but no symptoms at all now. No sore boobs, nothing! haiz.

Tanny, yeah, no worries on HSG. My gynae asked me to give a cough as he inserted the dye and I guess that helped in easing any pain (if there is). I wore my own pantyliner that day but didn't change to a new one too cuz not much leaked out.

Heatherwhite, two/three more days to your batam spa holidays! *envy*

Im sorta confirmed to see Dr Charles Lim for a 'third' opinion. Wondering if I should see him once my menses start or during the mid-cycle so he can scan my follicles? Heatherwhite, do you think we can still take Dr Tan's pre-O medicine if we are taking clomid at the same time?

PhyLee,

Me too! I am not a good ger neither. Cold drinks, coffee, tea and even sashimi! Hehe... this month is simply a rest rest and no worry month for me!
I will let Dr. Tan knows that I am taking clomid. If he think it is compatible to continue taking his medication then I will continue. But I think it will not be over lapping. As I will take the clomid on my CD2 to CD7. And normally I take Dr. Tan's medication from CD8 or CD9 onwards. Hehe... so should be ok?

Hmn, if I were you I will prefer to go after my AF. Cos I don't like the feeling of doing V-scan while bleeding... hehe... but sometime when there is special case which need to do v-scan during menses. Like my case, cos I have cyst, therefore it is good to do v-scan during menses so that it is clearer and will not mixed up with follicles when we are close to our ovulation time. So maybe is good to go when the flow is light like CD4-6? Or how about you give clinic a call to ask when is the good time to see Dr. Lim?

bbloh, how are you? still seeing Dr Tan or having any other treatments at the same time? yeah, mid-cycle would mean around CD14-15 for me. I usually O during CD16-17.

Heatherwhite, I called the clinic and they said can come on any day of my cycle since I have past results. So i had fixed an appointment on CD5. But they said it's best that I come together with my hubby.. in case they need to order bloodwork on him. Also to 'physically' check him :p Must be very awkward for a man.. I haven't told my hubby yet. He doesn't like me to go gynae-hopping :p he doesn't want me to do keyhole with current gynae, doesn't like me gynae-hop, but want baby. Funny right *roll eyes*

PhyLee, me also expecting AF on next Mon. I had sore boobs since after ovulation, hope will sore all the way, but FAT HOPE la!!!

Heatherwhite> guess my Hsg is probably next week, supposed to call KKH for apptm on day one of AF.

Can feel AF coming. Sigh.... Bbt on my 33th day is 36.6 looks like no hope...

tanny, when is your expected AF? today is what day post ovulation?

annissakoh, how are you today? My bbt dropped to 36.2 this morning so expecting red anytime. Strangely, I felt nothing this morning when I saw the low BBT, just went back to sleep. Maybe immune le. haha. I hope for the very best for you

heatherwhite, you must be enjoying yourself at the beach resort now!