DR FONG YANG at FONG CLINIC ( next to Tiong Bahru MRT )

My case is really different, I thought Dr Fong is not kan-cheong enough to call me for more regular meetings. I have low amniotic fluid as well (4.something, later 3.something, what's yours bbrooster?), but in my 3rd trimester.Outcome has already mentioned in the early part of this thread. But maybe I'm over kan-cheong myself, but can't help it, coz'i've got 2 misca b4. I agree consultation is expensive, esp b4 the package kicks in, bobian loh, for the sake of baby...anyway, replying jasjas, i paid a bomb in Mt A, coz'my baby's premature and stayed in intensive for 7 days, slightly more than 10,000. Hard to imagine hor. but c-section wise is norm, 3000+ and Dr Fong always encourages his patients to return home early to save hosp cost. I was discharged on the 3rd day (morning). He has your pocket in mind, will encourage you to take 4-bedded sometimes, coz' he think no pt to pay so much for the bed. I opted for 4 bedded, but lucky me, Mt A 4-bedded were all full that time (a gd month for babies??) and i stayed in a 2-bedded throughout my whole stay (abt 5 days, b4 that i was under monitoring due to low amniotic fluid).
sorry for being so lor-soh, hope it helps!!

Liz

My amniotic fluid went down to 6.3 at 38 weeks. I revisited him 3 days later and it went up to 8.8. He asked me what I did I said eat durian over the weekend. Haha.... don't get mistaken of course not the durian. I think sometimes too stress amniotic fluid level will go down.

hi bbrooster & loving & Liz,

Thanks for your info...
actually i am only curious to find out anyone of you is having the same situation as me....thanks ya ladies..

I'm also worried whether if my baby size will be growing well...just pray hard that my next visit will be ok.

Can I also eat more durians so that my baby will grow faster ? is it a silly question haha...

My mum kept telling me don't eat too much durians. BB too big very difficult to deliver. Durian season is over liao. I think during month of May is the start of durian season.

Hi bbrooster,

Ic, cos i hrd fr frds dat the episiotomy cut is painful when it is not stitched up properly...

So wat is the minimum level of amniotic fluid suppose to be, then it will not consider as "low"?
My SIL had to induce her bb earlier by 3 wks, bcos her amniotic fluid is very low, dat was informed by her gynae @ KKH.

May I know does anyone did the amniocentesis procedure? Is it painful? I've read from an article and it says that the procedure will cause a miscarrige but only a very small percentage.

Hi lverose,

I tot amniocentesis is done when gynae detected some problem wif the foetus, like D.S etc, then need to do this...if not we dont hv to rite?

Cos I did asked Dr Fong b4...he says dont need to, unless NT scan or Detail scan got problem...

Lverose
I did my amnio test with Dr Fong @ TMC cos my triple blood test show positive that my bb might have DS..

The risk of m/c is between 0.3 to 0.5%.

There is just very slight pain when he drawed the fluid out and after that, Dr Fong will give 3 days of MC to rest at home.. cos after amnio test, it is NOT advisable to carry heavy things or walk too much... it is good to rest on bed whenever possible..

dear all

So happy. Saw Dr Fong on Friday and to our surprise, we're expecting twins from the IUI procedure! So excited. =)

I'm still seeing Dr Fong every week but it was exciting seeing the tiny blinking light (baby's heart) on the scan. Such a miracle. At least no need to take blood every two days now so that's great!

Lilfeets, Congratulations!! I feels so happy for you. Now you have to take good care of yourself, eat well and rest well.

Congrats Lilfeets.. so you got to include your meal by another extra portion..

btw, have U manage to find a confinement lady for yourself? I did email U b4 with contact for confinement lady..

Congrats Lifeets! you've really given me hope because i think i might have to go through IUI also :)

Take good care of yourself!

Hi sandy

I did not get your email on that. In any case, I managed to find myself a confinement nanny. Goig to "book" her for two months. Was so upset with PEM - agency. They won't take my booking cause I have twins and no maid. Said I must have a helper or maid or their nanny won't take my assingment. Imean, I am reasonable and we can negotiate on the ability to manage but that was not even considered!

Very happy in all to be having two babies. Very excited but now must save so hard cause all expenses will double from cots to diapers. Still, I believe God will provide.

I'm glad I can give you hope. We're very blessed to have conceived the first try and have twins at that.

Hi Lilfeets
Oops.. maybe the email went haywire.. but I m happy for U that U have managed to find a CL.. I heard a lot of bad review about PEM Agency. Dont be too upset about them, since U already found your CL..

Now you must be stay happy or else will affect your twin's moods.. You're right, God is our Provider!

Maybe I'm abit worried for no reason but noticed that my MS has sort of toned down. I mean, I don't feel as sick as I do before. Not that I enjoy being sick everyday. Is that normal? I'm only like 6-7 weeks. Doc said that if I feel sick, it means my babies are developing. So am abit concerned.....

Hi Lilfeets,

I got no MS since preg till now..so its all depends on individual..every preg is unique.
If u still unsure, mayb u can check wif Dr Fong.

Hi ttc_5yrs
Dr Fong Yang has got 2 clinics as follows: -

The Centre for Women & Fertility Pte Ltd
290 Orchard Road
#15-09 The Paragon
Singapore 238859
Tel: 6333 6636

Fong's Clinic for Women & Fertility
Blk 18 Jalan Membina
#02-02
Singapore 164018
(Next to Tiong Bahru MRT)
Tel: 6276 7727

ttc,

Dr Fong's clinic at Paragon as follows:
290 Orchard Road #15-09
The Paragon Singapore 238859
Tel: 6333 6636

Opening Hours
Tues, Thurs: 9am - 3.30pm
Sat - 9am: 1pm
Sun & PH: CLosed

He is available in the evening at Tiong Bahru Clinic. I don't have the exact address. I have been to both clinic but personally prefer the Paragon one as its more comfortable.

does Dr. Fong see male patient too....how's his charges....I've 4 options and not sure who to go to regarding my PCOS problem...

1) Dr. Dolly Wee (Mt. E)
2) Dr. Tham Kok Fun (Glen E)
3) Dr. Fong Yang
4) Dr. PC Wong (at NUH)

Any comments....?

Do you guys find that he's not very good at drawing blood. he says very difficult to take my blood cause my veins are so thin. I have heard comments from other mommies who are seeing him that he seems tohave this prob.

No ley.. he is very good in drawing blood. Last week he draw my blood and I commented on his good skills to my hubby. Took only a few mins and its painless.

The reason is because last time I used to go SGH to draw my blood quite frequently for testing and the skills of the nurses there really "cannot make it". One of the nurse can tell me that she haven't taken lunch, maybe her hand will be shaky. Another time, the nurse said I very fat cannot find the veins.. very terrible... therefore in comparison, Dr Fong is really good.

Hi Lilfeets
I agree with Smurfy that Dr Fong is good in drawing blood.. During my OGTT test, he draw blood 3 times from the same place and yet i dont have those 'blue-black' marks.. He is simply professional

Lilfeets,
agreed wif sandy n smurfy tat Dr Fong very good skill on drawing blood leh.. as my vein very thin, already get prepared kanna bruise again, but very suprised tat Dr Fong NEVER leave any mark aft tat, look like never draw blood at all..

Lilfeets,

No leh, my left hand was poked, but nvr show any bruises leh...n oso painless. like wat loving says..look like nvr draw blood b4.

But there again, its oso depends on ur veins lah..
Hard to say..

Just to check with any mummies here who hv been with Dr Fong...in which week did Dr Fong managed to see the gender of your baby from his Tiong Bahru Clinic cos I get the impression that his machine at Tiong Bahru is not as good (clear) as his Paragon Clinic. I am now in week 15 but during my last visit (13 week) he actually told me that I should be able to know the gender only end of January (5th month) ??

I am so anxious to know it and I have an appt with him today. I was thinking if its due to the machine, I might want to change my next visit to Paragon instead.

Luvflower - Dr Fong himself told me that his scanning machine at Paragon is better. He does have a 3-D machne at Paragon.

In any case, most mummies only managed to see the gender of their babies by 4-5 months. Again, depending on whether your calculations of date is accurate cause hard to calculate if you conceive naturally. Also, baby must cooperate and be in the right "position" to see.

Luvflower,

I manage to see my baby gender ard week 15 at his tiong bahru clinic...its much more depends on the position of ur baby rather than the machine.
Once u reach wk20 for detail scan, its shld more or less confirmed liao.

Tok to ur baby b4 scanning, to open his/her legs big big..to see the gender. Hehe..

Luvflower,
I only manage to know bb gender at wk24 due to my noti bb position.. currently wk27..
I also thinking to switch to Paragon clinic, but abit troublesome for me leh as dun hv night clinic there...

Btw, for those who visit at TB night clinic, did u received any notice or call that there is additional $10 surcharge for night visit??

hi Lifeets / Jasjas / Loving,

Thanks for yr info. Sad to say, although i insist to scan again yesterday but was not able to see the gender yet.....Dr Fong ask me why i so anxious I was told him cos i can shop for the clothings early mah and there are so many sales around so tempting.... anyway he said to try 2 weeks later (in my 17 weeks) if the scan is able to tell boy or girl....

Ya, they actually called you up personally if you have night appt with them to inform you abt the additional $10 surcharge and they hv put up the notice in the clinic too.

I notice something strange yesterday ....normally if Dr Fong is doing the tummy scan for me, he will do it himself without asking the lady nurse to come in and assist (cos my husand also around) but yesterday he actually asked the nurse in to assist me to settle down on the bed....my husband was asking me...could it be someone voice out anything to him thats why now for tummy scan also need to ask the nurse in....

And one more thing....Dr Fong is very good in drawing blood...i dont feel any pain at all

Hi Luvflower,

I'm in my 21 weeks now. I only know the bb sex when I do the detailed scan. So it depends on individual.

In my opinion, think the reason Dr. Fong ask his nurse to assist might be due to the night surcharge. Maybe he wanted to assure that we get more attention and try to upgrade his service.

hi luvflower
i m a patient of Dr Fong who have just delivered my bb boy on 14.12.2005.

We too waited till detailed scan then discovered our bb's gender cos during normal visits to his clinic at Paragon, my boy loves to use his buttock to face us, so we cant see the gender till detailed scan.. so dont worry too much.. you're definitely in time to shop clothes for yr bb and surely more sales will be coming too..

Luvflower,

Dont be sad, soon u will noe the gender. Mum's instinct shld b quite accurate...u tink its gal or boy? hehe

As for the $10 surcharge, i notice abt it too...will be gng on the 9 Jan 06 for nite clinic,will be 35 wks by then...hopefully i oni pay this once & then can deliver liao..

Hi Sandy,

Congratulations!!...care to share ur delivery experience with Dr fong?
Which hosp did u deliver & is Dr fong response fast to the hosp page/call?

Sorrie, shoot too many questions at 1 time..;P

Sandy,
Once again, congratulation for arrival of ur bb boy.. very fast hor, 2 more wk to finish ur confinement, guess u shld doing well wif assit by ur mil n hb except ur nightmare of CL..:p

Luvflower,
dun be sad, agreed wif jasjas tat Mum's instinct always quite accurate.. for my case lagi worst, we ask the lady which doing detail scan at wk20 for me to give up to scan for bb gender aft 2 time trying still fail... although we cant know thru scan, but my 6th sense told me tat my noti bb shld be BOY.. yah, comfirmed my instinct when wk24...

ya, his skill of drawing blood n injection not pain at all.. actually need thks to him tat to help me overcome my nightmare for tis..hehe

for $10 surcharge, although not much but jus strange n wonder tat how come they need to collect tis surchage since we already pay so much consultation+scan+etc=$100+ lor..

Hi jasjas
Sorry for my super late reply cos I've been busy taking care of my bb boy..

Thank you so much for your well wishes..

I delivered at Mt Alvernia and mine is c-section so i cant comment much on Dr Fong's response time.. my massage lady commented that Dr Fong did a good job on my c-section wound.. very nicely cut and sewn back..

Hi Loving
Thanks again my dear.. now my confinement is coming to an end..celebrating EnEn's full month on this coming Tues..

how are U and yr bb boy getting on? how many weeks are U now? u too take good care..

hi all, i have delivered on 1 jan'06 by dr fong and will strongly recommended him as all along i feel tat he is really patient and good.

hi all....

i've been visiting Dr. Fong since knowing about my pregnancy. Must say that he's really calm and patient....

I'm coming to 12 weeks soon...

Dear ladies,

Anyone here whose babies had been delivered by Dr Fong, just wish to find out how can we contact him in case of emergency beside that number on his namecard?

Pls pm me if necessary. Thanks.

i have been to Dr Fong Tiong Bahru clinic to scan for 2 times, but never remember to ask for a print out of the scan. Wonder anyone has asked to keep the print out of the scan of the baby? Do we need to pay for it? Thks..

Tiff,

Dr Fong would be happy to give you a print out of the scan during each visit. And dun worry, it's free.