DR FONG YANG at FONG CLINIC ( next to Tiong Bahru MRT )

Hi Kitty,

yes it is true that we signed package on the 5th months onwards. As for the delivery charges, mine is abt $1000+. Thank you

i read and seems like many of you are going to see him for maternity/ gynae (already pregnany).

not so much on fertility issues here....anyone seeking fertility treatment from dr fong here (ttc)?

saw his clinic name says fertility but wondering if he specialises in it and any sister got experience with him?

Hi Tanny,

there are few of them seek help for fertily and successfully conceive. Dr Fong is specialise in feritlity. Hope its help

Hi, I would like to contribute my comments on Dr Fong, did SO IUI thru him and succeed on my 1st try, i am very grateful to him. I am now 7weeks pregnant
below is my post I copy and paste from IUI thread

Posted on Thursday, December 29, 2011 - 12:41 pm:       
Completed my SO-IUI liao, this morning washed sperm and result not bad according to the staff at the Lab, 66 Millions and 60% Mobility. Went clinic and scan my womb lining is 12mm (which is a big achievement as last time my lining was only 4-6mm consider very thin) I believed its all thanks to the Pruegon jabs.

IUI was fast and painless. Not at all discomfort and gynae did tell me see the screen for the sperms, cant really see them swimming in lah but can see they are inside. After IUI done, was told to rest 15mins and nurses very nice, adjusted my seat for butt face upwards. However after 5mins I couldnt tahan and needed to pee urgently, so nurse tel me after pee go back lie down again for 10mins. (based on my experience and some of you gals' complaint, somehow I felt private gynae's staffs are much better and patient) I am given Utrogestan (progesterone pills) to eat for the next 2 weeks.

A summary for newcomers and others who are considering SO-IUI:

based on Private specialist Dr Fong Yang @ Paragon

CD2-CD8 - 100IU jabs daily
CD9 - 1st scan and 3 eggs are ready, night went GP for HCG jab to induce Ovulation
CD11 - washed sperm and done IUI (39hrs later after jab)

8days supply of Pruegon jabs and Pen - $900
1st scan and HCG jab - $229
Washed sperm - $192
IUI done at gynae's clinic - $214
2 weeks supply of Utrogestan pills - $47

Total cost for my SO-IUI $1582

Am new here and like to ask abt Dr Fong. Want to chg gynae and chanced upon him.

Has anyone see Dr Fong re:infertility issues? Does he perform IVF/IUI?

Hi IMluvingit
Yes, Dr Fong does consult on infertility issues and does perform IVF and IUI.
what exactly do you wish to know? I'm sure the mums here can help answer.

Hi CJ

Congrats to you.

Regarding ur post, I would like to check with you if your SO-IUI procedure with Dr Fong, did you get any subsidy or claims from CPF?

Natalie, sorry I din check this thread anymore so just happen to come in and see your qs. Nope there isn't any subsidy neither am I able to claim from CPF.

Wonderland, he did not u/s me after IUI, during IUI needed the machine to see where to inject the sperm I guess so got to view the u/s machine as a guide bah? Done in e smaller room beside his office de..

I don't have good experience with Dr Fong.
He is not an encouraging doctor. It is normal to have slight brown spotting in 1st trimester and he scared me that it is abnormal even though other gynae will tell u that it is normal.
Other unpleasant incidents tell me to go look for a better gynae whom I can feel comfortable with.

I din have a good experience with dr fong. I consulted him for fertility check up and he told me I have problems like pcos, endometriosis and enlarged womb. I was scared and worried to death. He suggested taking injections etc. that consultation visit alone is abt $200! I decided to seek second and third opinion. Both gynaes said I'm ok to get pregnant. And I did after a few months, without doing any of the procedures suggested by dr fong. Now I'm a mother of a 5 mth old baby boy. I feel that dr fong is just out to make money, but thats just my personal experience.

Just to share my experience with Dr Fong.

I have been seeing him since i tried to conceive from 2009. had a miscarrage in late 2009, conceive again in 2011 and delivered my bb in sep 2011. basically, he is a very ks gynae. women who have no problems to conceive will find him too scardy cat and ks. but women who have fertility issues and had a tough time to conceive will feel safe in his hands as he will take all caution to help u get through the pregnancy and deliver a healthy bb. i feel comfortable with him as I was very worried and scared to encounter miscarriage again. Dr Fong understands my fears and do all he can to help me and is very assuring and encouraging. he is also a very patient gynae. at the delivery ward, he needed to insert something to poke my waterbag as I was already 3cm dilated but waterbag has not burst yet. I was squirming around and he never lost his patience with me. when i had a hard time pushing, he was ever so encouraging and tell me directly i only have 3 mins to push bb out as dragged too long and my bb's heartbeat has dropped. in the end, i managed to deliver my bb naturally.

Hillary, spotting can means alot of things. it could be your body purging out remaining blood cots but it could also be a sign of miscarriage. i believe Dr Fong is juz trying to be cautious and tell you the possibilities. Not to scare you, i have some friends who spotted and ignored the spotting and ultimately, had miscarriages. there are also some friends who spotted and with medicine, stopped the spotting and carried the bb to full term and deliver.

nov etoile
I had the same issues as you, except that instead of enlarged womb i had a retroverted womb.
I went to another gynae before Dr Fong. that other gynae, dr X, said v bluntly that I could NEVER conceive unless i had an operation and then go to him for IVF. I went to Dr Fong for a second opinion. He agreed an op may help but also gave other options. I found that he was very objective in giving assessment on how successful each option may be. In the end, he treated my endometriosis just with injections - basically, stopped my menses for 3 months to allow the blood clots to clear. I have 2 beautiful children since that treatment 3plus years ago. Comparing Fong's charges,his non-invasive treatment and open minded attitude to Dr X's proposed charges, very invasive treatments and really horrid attitude, I would go to Dr Fong again any day.

I have been seeing dr Fong for my pcos problem.... Since june 2011, been in clomid and all fertily treatment.... Finally i got bfp yesterday through iui

Thanks God for make me meet dr Fong... He is kind and i'm comfortable with the consultations

Pray for the best that everything going to be smooth

Dr Fong is a very gentle gynae, i am with him for my first and now 2nd baby.. He is not those type of gynae who will ask alot of questions, but if u ask him, he will reply to you each and every question.

He is never out to make additional $, for my 2nd baby, he always ask if i am already taking my own vitamins, then dun have to buy from him, i visited him 2 weeks before i went for my detailed scan for yeast infection, i wanted to scan to try to see gender but he rejected me and ask me to save the money and wait 2 more weeks for my detailed scan.

Like dolphy says, spotting can means alot of things and Dr Fong will make sure you get bed rest once you tell him you are spotting, spotting is never natural.

I agreed with dolphy, dr Fong is a very ks Gynae, and this is very important for me esp after 3 miscarriages within 4 years. If you were to go to a normal Gynae e moment you conceive, he won't ask you take blood test for progesterone level but dr Fong will. Yes although it means extra cost involve but it's really assuring, I had very low progesterone level beginning of e pregnancy and if he never check, I won't be in my 5th mth pregnancy now. This Gynae is really not cheap. From Iui til now I had spent $7-8k Liao with all the progesterone jabs I took alternate days til 12th week, the medicine to stable my pregnancy and weekly consultation etc but It is all worth it. This is the first time my pregnancy has progress so far and although I am suspected of having premature contraction now which is really worrying but I feel safe in his hands.
Btw I disagree that dr Fong is out to make $$, eversince I leant of my pregnancy I been requesting to visit him every week during 1st tri and every 2 weeks in 2nd tri, he is always e one who tell me relax don't need come so often, don't need every week also scan. And yes, spotting can mean a lot of things so it's best to be safe than sorry. It's really up to individual preference if you prefer cut cost get a nonchalant Gynae, there are plenty out there. For me, I rather pay more and get a ks Gynae.

When I was pregnant with my first child in 2007, I went to Dr Fong at Tiong Bahru as I was experiencing pains. I was 5 week pregnant then.

He did a scan for me and found a lump. He advised me to go to a hospital to check. I asked if he can write a note documenting what he saw from the scan so that it will be easier for the doc to pick up my case. He refused! I dont understand why he refused. He advised me to go to a doc to check on the lump and yet refused to tell other doctors what he saw!

He then proceed to give me an MC and charged me $5 on top of the consultation fees. My hb and I were livid and I never went back to him again.

I have PCOs problem and was about to give up after seeing a few Drs both Chinese and Western.. However I got pregnant after 3 rounds of clomid pills after seeing Dr Fong who able to tell me when is my most fertile days.. My baby is now coming to 3 months old and I was alway thankful to him for helping us to have such a smiley baby

i think there are split views on Dr Fong, just like any other gynaes. personally, i wld avoid going to him again at all cost, but then agn, he might be a very gd gynae to those who are GENUINELY with PCOS.

my personal experience. he was e 1st gynae i went to when i was trying to conceive. WITHOUT any tests done, with juz a scan, he said i m having PCOS, that my chance of conceiving was very narrow and started me with Clomid straight away.

a mth later, he increased my dosage of Clomid. i then got skeptical aft my sis told me that gynaes normally do a blood test to conf PCOS and that they dun confirm PCOS w juz a simple scan. also, my menses cycle is very stable & bec of the side effects of Clomid, i then went to consult 2 other gynaes. both were surprised that i was prescribed with Clomid as both said that i dun have PCOS at all (they actually said "no wonder" when i told them it was Dr Fong who prescribed me with them). blood tests were also done with both gynaes to conf this.

what put me off totally was dat when I tried calling Dr Fong to ask him on what means did he confirm that i have PCOS, he 1st tried to convince me that there are no tests required. i then tell him what the other 2 gynaes said and asked him does he knows of the side effects of clomid. he then turned nasty, shouted at me and hanged up!

i then decided to drop Dr Fong and consulted another lady gynae instead. guess wat? i was able to conceive naturally without any Clomid!
i m not saying dat he is no gd, i heard alot of positive stories abt him too. but aft my own personal exp with him, i am really put off, & thank God i decided to go for 2nd opionions! juz imagine e no of clomid tablets i wld hv taken & e side effects if i had stayed with him...

Hi blessedone,
I cant rem the first consultation but follow up is 55 . I have seeing dr fong for the past few months and to me, he is certainly a very nice and patient doctor. Everytime i see him he will ask me to relex and i feel very comfortable with him. He is not those docs that will always auto tell you alot of info but if you ask him, he takes his time to explain and provide you with the best answer. He is also not the pushy type and certainly not out to make money. In addition, his clinic assistances have been most helpful.

opps, the thread has been quiet.. I tot it is the year of Dragon, no one ttc-ing? any silent reader please raise your hand? old pals, where are u all?

Hi summersnow, i have a very similar experience as you and hoping that you can share some information and advice. Could you pm me please? Your profile doesnt allow pm. Hope to hear from you soon.

hi gals.. would like to ask if i dun have pcos & would like to go to Dr Fong Yang for iui.. is it advisable coz wat most of the ladies here mentioned have pcos...

I didnt have very good experience with Dr Fong also. I was recommended to him by different gfs separately so i thought he must be good. I went to see him even before we try conceiving. I wanted to test we're both healthy before we try.

I did ultrasound and he said my womb is good, i'm fertile bla bla. Gave me hormone jab, ask me to try within the peak period...gave me specific date & time. After that, went in again to check the progress, he said chances very good. He even said possible chance of twins coz 2 fertile eggs blabla. I was so expectant and happy. Month end come, menses came. No baby. The following few months also dont have.

All the tests we did came up to 300 plus which is still acceptable considering I really want a healthy baby. But after the failed attempts, I'm disappointed and gave up visiting him.

After I stopped visiting him, i just found out I'm pregnant. Completely natural without seeing him!!! So technically we tried for 6 months. Unsuccessful for the 3-4 mths I'm seeing him, despite him kept saying chances very good.

And each time I switch between paragon and JM, a $5 fee applicable. Not first time only. Its everytime different from last appt, gotta pay $5. The thing is his clinic only open during office hours on mon fri in Jm. Not always can go same place leh. Same doctor what. How difficult is it to sync patient records across 2 clinics?!

After all these experience, I feel hes just out to suck money! not pleasant at all.

I conceived my #1 at the 3rd attempt of IUI with Dr Fong. And for now I'm pregnant with #2. Although I had 3 eggs produced after the puregon jabs, he suggested not to proceed with IUI cos the eggs are slow growing and chances of pregnancy is low. Who knows I manage to conceive #2 naturally during that cycle out of our surprise. Dr Fong was pretty worried for me, worried that I might m/c due to the quality of the eggs. He arranged to see me more often during the 1st trim to ensure all is alright. Once I passed 1st trim, he revert me back to the regular 4 weeks visit.

Yes, I agree that his fees arent exactly cheap. But we cant deny that he is a very gentle and caring doctor and he is a fertility specialist, not jus a general gynae. And if he is that $ sucking, he will let me go thru IUI despite having slow growing eggs, why help me save the few hundreds?

I feel doctors are afterall human, they are not god. They can only tell us we have gd chance based on statistics or watever external factors but who can guarantee 100%? Even IVF doesnt give that success rate. Thus being able to conceive naturally instead of during the times we had visited him might just be god's will.

P/s: I'm jus another Dr Fong's patient, not related to him in anyway.

i m realli glad i chosen dr fong yang out of my sis's recommendation... he's really very gentle & caring... i didnt have a great time during my first trimester as i experienced spotting, cramps etc... but he has been very encouraging etc... i vomitted thru out my 38+ weeks of pregnancy... my goosebumps still stand when i think of that... but thru out the pregnancy, dr fong really gave me lots of support & encouragement... thumbs up for dr fong! he's definitely nt a money sucker!

anyway i gave birth on 3rd march 2011 and i still
go back to dr fong for pap smears.

I din have a good experience with dr fong. I consulted him for fertility check up and he told me I have problems like pcos, endometriosis and enlarged womb. I was scared and worried to death. He suggested taking injections etc. that consultation visit alone is abt $200! I decided to seek second and third opinion. Both gynaes said I'm ok to get pregnant. And I did after a few months, without doing any of the procedures suggested by dr fong. Now I'm a mother of a 5 mth old baby boy. I feel that dr fong is just out to make money, but thats just my personal experience.

This thread may be old but having consulted with dr fy i feel things may have changed. Maybe he was patient with patients before but now maybe too many patients and v chop chop. Charges also v ex to me. First consult is 180.

Also.his nurses some of them seem v blur..

The waiting area is v small so everyone will hear all ur problems cos nurses talk v loud. I cld hear when one lady is gg for her iui..

Just my personal opinion. Dont think i will go back to see him.