DR FONG YANG at FONG CLINIC ( next to Tiong Bahru MRT )

Hi Jenny & Sandy - me also seeing him for my pregnancy... feel he is kind of patient...

Sandy - me also there on last sat...

Hi Pochacco
maybe we did met in the clinic that day.. wat time were U there? I was there with my hubby around 1115am.. and waited till nearly 1225pm then our turn.. ke ke

Jaslyn,
Blk 202 Jurong East St 21
#01-117
Tel: 68975655
Closed on Mon & Tue
630am - 4pm from Wed to Sun
630am - 12pm on PH

Sat, Sun n PH no booking appt be taken, need walk in as early as possible.

btw, for my own experience, i go visit one time b4, concluse is might as well directly go Dr Fong instead thru this sinseh. She never saying much on my condition, never give me chance to ask more cos she talk non stop.By time she stop, its finish consult me :p only give me medicine n ask
refer me MUST go see Dr Fong n get back her, tat's all. Anyway i will visit Dr Fong aft my AF arrival, but wun go back to tis sinseh again.. hehe

above jus comment for my own case.. different person might get different impression of this sinseh

hi loving
also have same impression with this chinese sinseh. also stop going to her after 1st visit and stick to Dr Fong. Don't think she is approachable, as you say, she talk non-stop as if she's afraid to answer question.

hi loving,

Thanks for the address...

Think i will go to Dr Fong directly. Still trying.. Any idea what test shd i do ... Thanks for your advice.

This thread seemed kinda quiet these days eh? ;)

I visted Dr Fong this morning at his Paragon Clinic. Very tranquil feeling the mo i stepped in. hee~

I'm into my 7 weeks already and this is our very 1st visit to a gynae! So exciting!

I feel Dr Fong is a very patient, friendly and professional gynae. He did a v scan for me as he couldnt really detect my sac when he did an ab scan. I told him frankly that i've a low threshold of pain and he assured me that it wun be a painful process. And he's right!

Under his skillful hands, i really didnt feel much discomfort at all. And it also helped that he kept talking to me to take my mind off the 'process'.. hehe...

Overall, i feel very comfortable with him. He answered all our questions patiently. (U know how KS 1st-time parents are :p) We will definately stick to him for the birth of our 1st child.

Do you still remember your 1st visit to Dr Fong? I am very (very) inexperienced in gynae visit..don't know what to say {*blush*}

it seems like Dr Fong is very popular...did anyone hv any problem making appt to see him ?

Hi Sponge,

How do u feel seeing a male gynae....i am those very shy type really cannot imagine a male looking at our private parts leh....and is your husband with u when he did the v-scan ? I just discovered that i'm pregnant and still dun know which gynae to choose from.

Hi luvflower
My waiting time to see Dr Fong ranges from 20min to less than 1 hour, that's very short as compared to my previous gynae who is Dr WK Tan, where the waiting time could be 1 whole afternoon. I went to his Tiong Bahru branch and his assistant would suggest that i take a walk to tb plaza if there is a delay and she'll call my hp when it's ard my turn. good luck with dr fong!!

Hi, luvflower. He is quite popular so try to make an appt with him maybe at least two weeks before that. His nurses are really very professional and friendly.

The best part is there is an emergency number to call when it is not in his office hours. Really helps a lot.

For male gynae, I have seen quite a few but he is the most gentle and reassuring one.

hi Liz Tan & Celine,

Really thanks for your highly recommendations !!! I just went to Dr Fong Yang this afternoon and I like him !! he is such a gentleman and also makes me feel "secure" and safe in his hand unlike my previous visit (yesterday) with a female gynae which i find that she is bochap and not secure to be with her...cos she told me that if really anything happens to the baby (M/C) its only "natural" we cannot force it....imagine the 1st visit to her and yet she can say this kind of thing to make me feel insecure....

Although i am those who feel very shy with a male gynae but i'm still happy i bring up enought courage to see Dr Fong Yang who knows that I am quite gan cheong since 1 one for me so he prescribe some "an tai yao" for me and also quickly arrange my another appt with him....

thanks gals cheers !!!

Hi luvflower,

paiseh didnt check this thread for quite awhile ;p Since you have already visited Dr Fong and found him to be a gentleman, i shant elaborate more on his gentleness la hor? hee~

Personally i feel Dr Fong gives me a 'calm' feeling, and i really need a calm gynae then a kancheong one, since i'm a kancheong spider myself! hee.. I will definately recommend him to my frens who are planning for their pregnancies as well as new MTBs. thumbs up to him la.. ;)

Congrats to Lilfeets on your pregnancy!

hmm maybe we should find one day to meet up at his clinic? hahah i'm visiting him again at the paragon branch on 22 Oct. Anyone same appt date as moi?? ;p

I like Dr Fong, but just one thing about his being not "kancheong"enough... I've got 2 mcs b4, so really anxious when i have my 3rd preg. As i mentioned, Dr fong always gives options, so when my water level drops to below 5, I was dead anxious already, and he still gives me option as to whether i want to wait and monitor or induced to deliver. in the end, i opted for an early C-section and now my baby is 7months now!! If i have another preg, i might go to a more kancheong gynae though......hee...just kiasee...

I was wondering.. am a bit concerned cause he kept askig me to go back every two days to draw blood only for Beta HCG test. I know he's being careful and all which is good but noticed that he does not do any urine test, blood type /iron test or even take my blood pressure or height, weight etc which my previous gyne does eveey time I go to see her. Is this normal? I read in books that this should all be done at the first visit... please advise. Thanks!

I'm new here. Me too visited the chinese sinseh at JE last year and went to consult Dr. Fong as recommended by her. Though I've read some bad comments about her on this thread but I think she's also a good sinseh since she's quite well known and it's her who intoduce the good Dr. Fong to us. We must thank her for that.
As that was the 1st time I consult a male gynea, I was really pai seh. So this time I thought of looking for a good female gynea till I saw this website. After all the good comments for Dr Fong that I've read here, think I better stick back to him this time.

Hi Lilfeets,

I've seen Dr.Fong since I'm pregnant (Due early Feb 06)..He oni start to take my BP, Weight & Height, Urine Test etc when I was 3 mths (12 wks) pregnant.Think its depends on individual gynae..cos each blood test, iron test or urine test, u hv to pay.
But every visit, he will do a scan to see the baby & placenta. As for BETA (HCG) test, i didnt do leh..this test is to determine ur hormones level if i'm not wrong...maybe its not necessary for me lor..

Why dont u ask him..he will alwis ask u if u hv any doubts/Qns...juz shoot him lah..hehe

After all, I feel comfortable & at ease wif him so far now.

Hi Lilfeets
I m also seeing Dr Fong and my bb is due on this Christmas Eve.

During my initial weeks of pregnancy, I have to go back every alternate 3 days to do blood test to check on my Progesterone & beta-HCG level to ensure that it is increasing on each visit.. and bcos I have mild spotting during early weeks, i have to go back twice weekly for jab on my buttock and on hormone pills..

Dr Fong will only start taking yr urine test, blood pressure level & weight once U r into your 2nd trimester.

Hope this info helps to clear your doubts..

Have a safe and enjoyable 9 months pregnancy

Hi Lilfeets,

I can understand your anxiety. I have also asked Dr Fong why he didnt take my weight, urine, blood pressures or any tests thus far, and he answered that because when we are in our 1st tri, our weight will fluctuate quite drastically because of MS..hence no point in taking so early. As for other tests, he will only start to do them when we reach our 2nd tri as that is the time when bb stablises, and he can start to do the 'real testing'.

So dun worry, Dr Fong has a reason for doing/not doing certain tests.

Dear Ladies

Thanks for this. I feel so much better now. Just a bit nervous being a 1st time mom-to-be.

HCG level is better now so don't need to go back every two days. I still have needle marks on my arms from all the blood test every 2 days.

Thanks so much again for your encouragement. Trying to have a bliddful and safe pregnancy. Now just want to pray that baby is developed properly and well.

Hi Josephine!

Congrats to you on your pregnancy! Me too just realised I was pregnant for 3 mths last Sat!

I just called Dr. Fong's clinic to enquire about the packages. He only have packages for 5 mths onwards at $600 for 8 visits. You can call his clinic for more info. His tel no.62767727(Tiong Bahru),63336636(Paragon)

Hi Josephine,

1st consultation fee is $70, subq is $45.
Upon 20wks (5mths), there's an antenatal package of $600 which include urine test, scanning, taking blood pressure, ht & weight, normal appt consulation & iron pills. Any additional like blood test, other vitamins pills/med, detail scan & emergency consultation (meaning not scheduled appt) all hv to pay, not included.

Dr Fong delivered my baby girl in June 05. He is a professional, patient, friendly and reassuring doctor. I will definitely go back to him if I am pregnant with a second baby.

Hi bbrooster,

I'm due nx yr early feb or late jan... Which hosp u deliver and via normal delivery? How fast does Dr fong response to the hosp call/page?

Thanks for your well wishes!
ya i'm a bit confused about the choice of hospital, trying to make a list of questions to ask him when i see him on friday..
He's fully booked, have to walk-in, and doesn't open at night, which can be problem, coz we all have to go to work ya.. i'm worried if he doesn't give me half day MC, then have to apply urgent leave...

by the way, his name Fong Yang, is he a a Chinese national, or singaporean. Some of you were recommended by Chinese Sinseh, so is Dr Fong v "chi-na"?

see thread: " Fong's clinic for Woman & Fertility" seems like last year, the comments on Dr Fong not so good.. what do you think?

Hi Josephine,

Dr Fong is a very professional doc, not chi-na lah...he's abt thirty plus..confirmed not fr china. hehe

Btw, he got night clinic at Tiong Bahru branch, every Mon, Tue & Thurs...6.30-9pm. So u dun hv to take leave..i usually see him in Mon evening. Even if u visit him during daytime, he will give u MC if u required. Dont worry

Think oni a small percentage lah, its all depends on individual...and how u communicate wif him.

Every gynae has different ways of handling their patients, u can alwis change another gynae if u dun feel comfortable.

There's always a say.." We, people cannot please everyone." There are bounce to hv some disagreement..like choosing a bridal shop, which hotel/restaurant, some say good, some say bad..
So its very subjective and individual..

Juz my 2 cents worth, no offence.

hi Jas jas thanks for your resassurance!
having baby more lei chay than getting married man! See how Friday's appt goes then!

Noticed that you're due on Jan/feb, highly to be chicken/dog! Congrats!

Hi Josephine
I m also a patient of Dr Fong.

Most importantly when selecting on a gynae is YOU must be comfortable with the gynae yourself.. the comments of others are not that important.. it is the way how U feel with this gynae, whether u can communicate with him/her, is your queries being answered properly, giving U the right type of treatment whenever necessary...

Dr Fong does delivers at TMC, Mt Alvernia, Glen E and Mt E. It is up to your own preference which hospital U likes.. For myself, I m going to Mt Alvernia..

Dont give yourself too much stress/pressure at this moment.. Go for yr appt on this Fri and ask yourself how do U feel after seeing him..

Hi jasjas,

I chose to deliver my bb girl in Mount Alvernia. Very good and comfortable that I extended my stay for a week. Mine was overdue and had to induce. It was normal delivery without epidural but had to use vaccuum. He came to break my water bag at 0830 and told me most lightly will deliver afternoon but by 1030 he was back in the hospital again cos I was almost fully dilated.

Have faith in him and everything will go smoothly for you on that day.

I'm also a patient of Dr FY and just had my laproscopy done by him 2 weeks ago. Currently undergoing injection to treat adenomyosis. Guess I'm not a success case with him yet because i had a failed IUI . Subsequently was asked to do HSG and the rest they say is history :)

Like the rest, my hb n i both found him to be approachable and it is true that you can be bold to ask him anything you want in order to reassure yourself and even ask stupid questions which i have done so:). I asked if i could jab myself at home becos too lecheh to keep going down to the clinic but luckily realised that its a monthly thing only.

I don't have much grouses except that the parking at paragon is quite dear! One thing to note for newbies, once you start your first appt at either clinic, your records will be held at that clinic only. So have to pick your location for the first consultation wisely:).

My two cents worth.
PS: He is definitely not cheena, you can browse his educational qualifications displayed on the wall. But i think his mandarin must be quite good becos i sort of vaguely remembered he ever appeared on a ch8 show with Jazreel Low. Hmm, anyone can cross-check and correct me? :p

Hi Josephine,

I think the charges in Mount Alvernia and TMC are very reasonable compared to the rest of the hospitals in town. However, my husband feels that TMC parking space is a headache and in Mount Alvernia you can get a full day pass at I think $5 unlimited entry n exit during your stay at the hospital.

Dr Fong Yang is Singaporean with 2 kids and a pretty wife. My sister's baby also delivered by him. We were recommended by the Chinese sinseh in Jurong East.

Hi bbrooster,

I will oso be delivering in Mt.A.. How is his stitching skills? Wow, u v brave leh...i duno if i can do without epidural anot...damn scare.

When u say he is back ard 1030am...iszit the nurse who called him or wat?? I was wondering, wat if during my delivery time...he has to attend patients at his clinic...how arr?

Hi jasjas

Not sure abt his stitching skills. Have u chose c-sect? If I didn't remember wrongly when I am abt 8cm dilated I heard the nurses said, "ok call Cordlife n call Dr Fong." The nurses are actually very experienced they know when to call the doctor and when Dr Fong arrive timing is just nice. He sat down and everyone will be shouting "PUSH....PUSH".

Don't worry jas. When you have to deliver his patients in the clinic will have to wait and all the other appts. will have to be pushed to a later time. I have waited a while in his clinic before because he had perform a c-sect. that morning. Labour are unforseen so as patient we have to be understanding because one day it is our turn to deliver and we have to make other patients wait in the clinic.

Giving birth is a painful but memorable experience. Especially when you deliver without epdiural and you hear your baby's first cry you feel so great. You want to tell the whole world, "I DID IT...."!!

hi jasjas
I have c-section by Dr Fong, I must say I'm satisfied with his stitching skills so far, not as ugly as I've thought. I have some bleeding 3 months after delivery, but most probably due to my own fault, coz'I was taking long flight (relocating) and carried my baby plus hand luggage for quite a distance.
I delivered in Mt A as well, Dr Fong always comes quite early to check on me after delivery. I remember the woman on the next bed who delivered on the same day as me was crying for hunger, coz'her gynae came much later in the afternoon and after C-section, you can't eat until your gynae came and check on you plus give the go signal.
All the best for your preg!

Hi bbrooster & Liz

Thanks for the info..i didnt choose C-section, but i tot normal delivery hv to do some stitch up after dat?? I hope my delivery will be a fast & smooth one..

Btw,how much is both ur total bills, and in cash, how much u need to pay? I intend to book 2 bedded room in Mt.A.

great to see more newcomers seeing DR FONG. Although i know that his bookings are usually quite full...but however when he actually sees you and you really need to visit him again he will definitely arrange his nurse to make a appt for you even though that particular day's appt is very full already so no worries on that.... but for first timer its not lor...still have to wait till there is a slot.

hi gals, can anyone advise me did DR FONG actually ask anyone of you to visit him on a weekly basis ? cos for my case is that when I saw him from my 3 visit onwards...he scan the size of the sac/baby and its around 2.3mm...so he arrange for me to visit him again 1 week later...and 1 week later the sac/baby only increase to 8mm (week 6+) which he says that the ideal size should be 10mm...so he again arrange for me to visit him 1 week later to check on the size again....

As you know, every visit/consulation + pills will cost about $114 so if I were to visit him every week...this can be quite "expensive" in the long run....haiz....can any kind soul adv me if you have the same situation as me...thanks in advance

p.s: please keep this to us ladies here in the forum as I do not want him to think that I bad-mouth him abt this....cos I only want to check if I am the only one with this special case. Sorry and thanks ya....

luvflower,
I m also a patient of Dr FY too

I did post n mention at previous post or other thread. Since u r in early stage, think u need to be closely monitor due to growth of sac/baby below avg length.

I do agreed tat the consultation/medication/test will cost a bomb for freq visit.. I m spend $1.1k from wk6-wk11, mean jus within 5wk time for injection n medication, of cos plus consultation fee at time.. me visit twice a wk for injection some more, but i still feel worth it due to bb sake although heartpain to spend HUGE $$$, currently i m wk19+, going to see him again next fri aft detail scan...

jas,

Episiotomy is a surgical cut to enlarge the vaginal outlet at delivery. I had that cut. It is a cut between the vagina and anus. The stitches were very well done and recovery was fast. I don't have much problem sitting down. But some ppl say have to buy swimming float to sit cause the stitch is painful.

luvflower,

My bb is 4 1/2 mths now. I once had to go back to see him 3 days later due to amniotic fluid level is low. I think like 'loving' said as long as it is below average he will want to monitor you closely. At the last trimester you will see him on a weekly basis.