Just watched demonstration of glutinous rice cooking by my neighbour's MIL.
Some extra tips:
1) For cooking small portion, can also stir fry the rice with the "liao", then steam.
2) When she steam the plain glutinous rice, she just lay the rice on the steaming rack, not on any plate or bowl.
3) During steaming, she would on and off drizzle some water onto the rice.
4) She uses small fire for steaming and for stir frying.
5) She uses soya sauce from M'sia.No wonder hers taste quite different.
6) During stir frying, she also added a bit of water a few times.
<font color="0000ff">Amelia,</font>
Thanks! I got your mail liaoz.
So you have been to the HK shop at Chinatown Point? Do they have lots of bakeware? Am also looking for a water bottle holder for my dd,want to get one which the body is made of plastic(not fabric).
You went Rail Mall to makan? Have you tried the strudel there? I may get it next time I go.Also thought of trying the Prata there...
<font color="aa00aa">lyn,</font>
Yes..the pan is for cake.
Hey, other than your own work and studies,housework and taking care of your boy boy,you also studied a lot about brain stimulating method and activities, another super-mum!
<font color="119911">Annelise,</font>
The heart-shaped cake pan is 1050 Yen.I saw the picture last night,save the picture,copied the price then forgot to bookmark the site, got to search for it again.
But it's a Japan site, don't think can buy it online easily.
Though my hb is going to Japan after his US trip next month, but I don't think can count on him to hunt for cute-cute bakeware for me.
My dd saw your Mickey Chocolate cake,she also like it very much. How do you intend to ice it initially?
Thank for your feedback on Wilton's cake pan,save me a trip to BIY to check it out.
The deep fried prawns in salted egg yolk must be really yummy.Drooling liaoz. Have you tried Shi2 De2 Fu2 at Geylang(They used to be at Thomson Plaza)? They have salted egg yolk crabs which is also nice.
I found the silicone baking sheet in United Square's Creative Living.But they only have it in 1 size,40x30cm. And the two sales assistant couldn't tell me whether the sheet can be cut-to-fit baking tray,even though they are the distributor of this LEKUE brand of silicone ware in Singapore. But they said they will check with their MD and get back to me.
Currently,they are having 25% discount for Cuisipro and 30% discount for Patisse bakeware.
<font color="0000ff">Carole,</font>
As mentioned above, the cake pan is only available in Japan.May be can find it in Hong Kong as well.
<font color="ff6000">Starz,</font>
BIY is a small bakeware/baking supplies shop located near Newton Circus. Their product range is different from Phoon Huat,they have stuff that Phoon Huat doesn't carry,including Wilton's baking supplies.
But parking is a big headache there.
http://www.b-i-y.com/
The cookie cutters are sold in Japan and Hong Kong.But read that someone managed to get the Hello Kitty one from Singapore.