Cooking Tips & Recipe

Sophie,
My MIL is worse,she hardly eat out.She used to be a hawker, her children can only eat her stuff, cannot order things from other stalls in the same hawker centre.

I also think it's cheaper to buy the small roast chicken from Cold Storage or Giant than roast it ourselves.

Sophie,
Thanks for the information!
You are always so kind and helpful!

Van,
Relieved to hear that GlenE service is good..their charges are quite high so at least there is some re-assurance ;p Which school did your dd enrol in? My niece enrolled in West Groove at Jurong West, which is near to my mom's place. Even though it is a neighbourhood school, the seats are so limited! Luckily can get in during balloting. Nowadays enrolling school is so stressful right?

Btw, did your neighbour mentioned how long does it take to steam the rice? My office pantry aunty also did not add water and just steam the rice but her version turns out to be quite hard leh..I prefer the slighty soft kind..

Van,
Thanks for the article. heee.. I sometimes go into the Stay At Home Mum to read these similar articles you posted there last time. It's useful cos I don't get Today papers at my place at all.

Rail Mall opens so early? What did you guys eat there? How come hubby complained? He wants you to cook him those yummy heavy breakfasts that he likes issit?

Hey sp and soph, yah.. my girls like to hide in corners and "boo" one another..(only pests like to go into corners, haha..)

Eh soph, where you got your tomato seeds ? Was looking in Shop and save, they didn;t have them.. yah.. I repotted my sunflower into a big pot.. saw my student's sunflower grown in her garden very beautiful .. think they need deep earth..

I put my plants outside my house where there's good aft sun too..

Kris, you must be very excited! is it your first one ? I bought a pacifier on the 2nd wk and bb suckles it when he sleeps.. so now, I just give him the pacifier and a little bolster he will sleep on his own.. But he can be very cranky when I push him in the pram.. maybe it's too hot.

Yours C-sect or natural? When I delivered, the nurse asked me to massage my tummy for the clotted blood to be flushed out.. wah.. the blood really gushed out!

lyn, will check out mothercare .. thanks.. think sengkang pri not bad.. check their website first..got a friend teaching in that area .. dunno whether ponggol or sengkang.. Balloting for a place can cause high blood pressure and stress! I had that feeling 3 months ago..

What other food you eating ? Share leh..

van, think I'll pack food for her too.. Mine is single session.. got to wake up very early..

Krisjoy,
My dd is attending South View Primary. I heard from lots of people Ru Lang in Jurong is very very good.

My neighour's MIL went for cruise yesterday, I haven't got chance to ask her yet,will ask her how long she steam the rice.Hers is quite soft.My aunt's which is stiry fry from raw is much harder.

Sophie,
Rail Mall now has two coffee shop-like shops. 1 selling Indian food+Roti Prata and Ah Mei's kaya toast.The other one selling Bak Chor Mee+Fish ball noodles+Laksa+deep fried stuff like chicken wings/ngoh hiang/fish balls/fried dumplings etc.

We went to the bak chor mee shop,it's self-serve, yet he complained that no one offered to help when he couldn't bring all the food and drinks to table.Actually the stack of trays are just nearby.He's not in good mood and too stressed at work, that's why get agitated easily.

Choc,
Good that your girls are Xiang Qing Xiang Ai! My friend's DDs(she has four!) fought until the fridge collapsed.Luckily her MIL and BIL dashed to hold the fridge up.

Choc,
Your girls sounds like my cats!
They like to boo each other from the corner... the big cat used to boo me, then when the small cat came along, she lost interest in me!

Eh, my tomato plant... heee, I played cheat... I didn't grow them from seeds, bought it as a whole plant, then it started to flower and fruit
Think I saw tomato seeds at those DIY shops before... they also sell all kinds of different seeds.
Aiyah, outside my house also no sun... cos my flat faces north-south... the east and west are the walls at my side, so even if at certain angles there is sunlight coming in, it's only for a few minutes.

Krisjoy,
Heee, not kind and helpful lah
but I was looking at these books at the same time. Else a preggie woman like you go to Kino then cannot find the stock also a bit tiring!

As for glutinous rice, this steaming method without water sounds like how my mum makes bah zhang leh... except that for bah zhang, the whole thing is soaked in water to boil, cos it's protected by the wrapped leaves.

Van,
Your hubby very funny lah... self-service mah, how come he still complained no one help? Yeah, I think stressed with work lah... I think he'd be OK after the weekend and a few good meals from you

The secret to a man's heart is through his stomach - that's why my hubby always says luckily his mum's cooking standards not very high, so he can be happy with my cooking

sophie, I think Nordic is the only one for kids and I intend to get this brand. Didn't know Glenn Doman card is so ex....

lyn, I'm also against my nephew using the walker, my sis only use that when she's busy but not letting bb to walk... she will put him there entertaining himself with the toys hee... but problem is can bb at 5mths old sit on the walker as I think the spine is not stable yet. What do you think?

van, I delivered my sons at Gleneagle too... if is not of my gynae, will not chose there. I had bad services from there. I'm having caesarean so need to use abdominal binder immediately after caesarean. On the first day after delivery,my blood flow back to my butock and back which dirty my binder. At first I didn't know about it and the nurse was changing my pad and make a disgusting expression so I was wondering what happen?
On second day,a senior nurse ask me to get up to wash up and I'm so in the pain and can't walk properly and so I told her about the pain and she replied, you have to get up of the bed...how come so pain...impossible what etc... I feel like telling her why not try and go for caesarean and feel by yourdelf but I'm too painful and tired to talk much.
Later, the room turned to be very stinky, nurses is trying to avoid my room and when I talk to them, they will stand far away.
My hb told me the room is very smelly and ask the nurse check for me and realise my binder was not change when is dirty... Later..another senior nurse pass by my room and shouted at me asking why is your room so smelly, I'm so angry and tired so I just ignore her.
My hb makes a complaint after that.

krisjoy, it might not happen to you at Gleneagle. Maybe I suay suay got all the lousy one.

annlee,
You really so "heng", this is the first time I heard bad service by Gleneagles. My dd's music teacher who had operation to remove her womb, also stayed in Gleneagles, she also said their service is very good.

Are those nurses local or foreign ones? Did you stay in a 1-bedded room?

annlee,
So poor thing, how come you so suay kenna this bad service?
Van is right to ask - are the nurses local or foreign ones?
I heard some horrid stories about the foreign nurses in some govt hospitals too... *shivers*

Just check with you in case you know, cos you stay near Bugis area - do you know if this New Green Pasture Cafe still in business or closed? Their rojak looks good from this blog, but I was wondering if they are still in business, cos this review was written last year.
http://eatzybitzy.blogspot.com/2005_08_01_eatzybitzy_archive.html

van, I stayed in 1-bedded room on my first delivery and 2-bedded room on 2nd one. I wanted to save $900 so I get 2-bedded room. Infact I did tell the person I complaint that your service will be treated to us differently depending on the bedded we chose?
My first delivery blood flowing out too but this malay local nurse is good enough to clean my back for me. My sec delivery is lousy....The nurse who attended to me,one is from china, one young local nurse and the rest is the senior staff... on my last night there,a korean stay next to me and she was well treated by them.

sophie, do you know where is the cafe located?

hi ladies...

back from checkup...good news is, my sugar level back to NORMAL!!! not even a tad bit over normal.. i suspect maybe e "bah zhang's fault liaoz.. anywayz, will still guai guai stay away from high sugar level stuff...

e other news is, dr kee did e V-check today, n im 2cm dilated liaoz... (OUCH!!!!!) he asked if i wan to be induced, n i said no... so e waiting game continues.... it can be anytime today, or even next week.. entirely up to ayden now....
but if he's still not out by next friday, then i definitely hv to be induced by next saturday... so been telling him on e way home.. by Wed i want him OUT of my tummy!!! hehehee..... hopefully he's scared of this fierce mummy n listen...

krisjoy,
we may both be earlier than expected leh... i remember u also 1cm dilated liaoz rite??? monitor closely hor...

lyn,
thank u for sharing so much information.. i'm reli amazed at ur time management, studying, taking care of aloysius, housework (?), n yet read up so much abt baby dev.. if only i hv half ur skills too... my prob is, super good at "tu"...
can i PM u my email add for e softcopy of e book too?

choc,
havent reli plan for EBM yet.. i just crossing my fingers n hoping i have enuf supply to start with.... e avent plastic bags, need to use with avent pump or bottles only?? cos i heard avent products cannot mix with other brands to use... i didnt buy avent products at all cos of this...
hehehe.. u so "cute" one.. call ur dds n ds "pests"... actually hor, sounds quite "affectionate" leh...

sp,
hahaha... i'm here "reporting" liaoz... but usually weekends i hardly come in, cos hubby around... if i happen to pop tomorrow... then Van will help to inform u all lor...

btw, was "chatting" with littlecat over sms juz now.. she said she'd love to log-in to chat with us, but cannot sit for too long.. so she'll "come back" when she can... her CL very "power", can finish up her leftover confinement food.. n her maid is more hygienic than her CL....

ok, going downstairs to buy my lunchie... hehehe.. feel so much better tat i dont hv to think so hard wat to eat liaoz....

starz, good to hear that your sugar level had went down.... did doc say when you going to due?

sophie, just went to the blog and saw the place is at Fortune Centre. I never went up to 4thlevel before but will have alook when I'm there. There's another vegetarian rojak on the 1st level and seen some of the actor/actress photo on their store. Did not try their rojak but had their mango pomelo dessert before, so so only.

carole, now you're into princess hour huh.. want to know the ending... can't wait from TV huh..

annlee,
u so poor thing, kena terrible service from hospital. Did the hospital apologise after your hubby complained?

van,
I almost missed yr tips for cooking glutinous rice, earlier when I read yr posting the tips not there yet! Thanks very much for sharing, from now on all of us will be able to cook nice glutinous rice, kekeke!

How about yam cake, any tips gurus?

starz,
yay, so happy for u, now u can eat what u wanna eat! Better eat the soon-to-be forbidden foods, kekeke. Btw, will u abstain from seafood (except fish) and cold drinks for 100 days? My SIL did that, but I couldn't resist...

starz, the ebm bags can fit any pump I think. tho I use avent pump.. I just put the bag into the bottle and the pumped milk goes into the bags instaed of the storage bottles. Then use a rubber band or paper clip to fasten the ends.

Wah .. cat's CL really power.. finish her conf food!

CAT, REST N EAT WELL.. don't let your CL finish your food hor !

My girls came back today and wanted to make paper money.. so I gave them some coins to trace onto the paper and cut out... then they started to play mother and daughter ! Now both mother and daughter are sleeping.. grandmother can log on to the computer ..

annlee, yah.. your experience really not pleasant huh ! When I was in TMC, there was this particular nurse also gave the tsk tsk face when she saw that I soiled the bed ! The patient beside me had C sec and kena from the nurse also.. Kept asking her to stand and walk around !

soph, will look for the tomato plant too.. easier lah !

annlee,
Thanks for the highlight..am keeping my fingers crossed. Hope I can get good nurses!

Starz,
Good news! This can put your mind at ease...maybe the bak-chang is the real culprit ;p How many weeks are you now? You may deliver earlier than me

sp,
I tried making yam cake before. My collegue told me to retain the water that is used to soak mushrooms and dried prawns for making the rice flour batter. Do you need any recipe?

Hi choc, haha, my girls also like to boo each other along the corridor! They are better now, thanks - but occassionally their eyes will still have a bit of discharge so I've been cleaning their eyes with the jin ying hua + chrysanthemum solution. Every morning my house smells like yao cai dian with the herbs brewing! You like the Ikea wings too? They are my gals' favourite! My hb tabaos for them about once a week! I like their chicken sausages too. I haven't been baking lately - will be doing a chocolate cake for my sil tonight. I got the recipe from Food Network, will let all of you know if the recipe is good!

Hi starz, thanks for the info on the mixer! I'll take a look at it this weekend! Good to hear that your blood sugar has gone down. Hee, I used to play cheat - go to gynae's clinic on an empty stomach in the mornings for my checkups so that I'll "pass" the tests.

Hi Van, I didn't know Chinatown Point sells the Kitty stuff. I've never been there before - do you know exactly which shop sells the HK bakeware? My mum and her colleagues go there after work sometimes, let me know which shop and what you want to get, I can get her to help us buy. Thanks for helping me check on the corn syrup. Hoping to get my hands on it soon so that I can try making the icing for the cookies. The corn syrup is supposed to make the icing smooth and glossy after it hardens on the cookie. If successful, I'm thinking of buying the Walkers Christmas shaped shortbread to deco and give away. Btw, adding corn syrup to ganache is also supposed to give an extra sheen!

Hi annlee, poor you, such a bad experience at Gleneagles! I gave birth there for dd1 - the service was okay but the person who goes around helping mothers breastfeed was VERY insistent on breastfeeding. I was super stressed out every time she came by to ask if bf my dd1 already or not! Btw, do you like eating apple strudel? The Corica Apple Strudel from Perth is heavenly!!! When I was pg, my fil always buy 2 boxes for me every time he visits my sil - tastes great even after a few days in the fridge. Too bad my sil not studying in Perth anymore. Is your hb still in Perth? I can help you find out the exact location.

Gotta go - catch y'all later - tucking in the girls first.

hi, krisjoy,
thanks for the tips, if it's convenient, may I have yr yam cake recipe?

How big should the yam cubes be? my hb cut into 1 inch chunks, I scared too big so I cut into smaller, don't know if it's ok or not. If need to be bigger I don't mind get another yam for yam cake. these small cubes can cook "bo bo cha cha" keke.....

sp, yes...they apologise on the day I discharge. My hb lagi worst...not happy and want to write to the paper but didn't do it lah....

choc, your dds so cute...when I'm a kid also play father,mother,son and daughter kinda game.

annelise, thanks for recommending apple strudel. I told my hb about apple strudel and tot can get it everywhere but he never mention so I presume no apple strudel from him. My hb on the plane now, would like to have the address for apple strudel too..will get it if I have a chance to be there.

thanks ladies...
hehehe.. i treated myself to a double cheeseburger for lunch...
ayden likes beef, bo pianz..

annlee,
no idea leh.. 2cm dilation can be due anytime today, or next week... reli no idea.. if u asking for e initial EDD, it was 7Nov...

sp,
i think for seafood, depends on whether i go natural or c-section.. if natural, at most i think i can tahan is 1mth lor... if c-section, then will guai guai tahan for as long as my mum say lor... cold drinks ar, i got feeling i cannot tahan leh.. i everyday take cold plain water one leh... if take lukewarm water, can only take half e amt i usually take.. dont know why...

choc,
thanks for e advise... i will KIV this info too..
ur girls so cute, playing "make believe"... i always see kids nowadays addicted to computer games / playstation, etc... not like last time, we use weird household stuff can play "cooking", "supermarket", "camping" (with a blanket draped over 2 sofas).. tat kind of make believe games liaoz...

krisjoy,
eh.. i lost count liaoz... if counting by EDD on 7Nov, shd be 38.5weeks now???

annelise,
i cannot "play cheat" leh.. since preggers until now, always muz eat something before step out of house.. cos when hunger strikes, sometimes i will break out in cold sweat, "neng ka" (soft legs) or even feel faint one.... jia lat hor...

i got "stupid" qn to ask again... during V-check, can doctor feel bb's head or not??? dont know y leh.. since coming back from checkup, ayden is even more active than usual... n i keep "suffering" when he "knee" n "elbow" me...

Eh starz, my dds play with the blanket house too !The house will collapse aft they quarrel..

Yes, the doc can possibly feel the head of the bb, and my gynae could feel that bb's head was facing up, so she turned him around (she said that contractions would speed up if bb is facing down ).. that was during my labour with epidural .. Friend told me that can be quite painful when gynae turns bb without epidural ..

Like annelise too, I'll always go for checkup with a hungry stomach, then cheong for breakfast!

Wah..double cheeseburger ! I love swiss mushroom cheese

Soph, your meowz very cute and funny ! Will they jump if you boo them ?

Annelise, nice to hear from u.. busy ar ? You baking anything for christmas ? What happened to your dds eyes ? Sorry.. missed the previous posts..

Dunno how they fry the wings in Ikea, it's so crispy..

There's a Corico at South Bridge road. It's the same one as Perth.. I love the apple strudel too ! But aft keeping in the fridge for a day, it turns soggy ..

Starz and Choc,
I just had Carl's Junior mushroom burger for lunch..hehehe..whole dept went there cos lunch on my boss. I finished the entire burger (which is the size of a whopper in BK), one medium fries and 1 and half cup of Fanta Grape..so satisfying but feel guilty at the same time..

sp,
I will provide the recipe for u tonite or tomorrow cos it is at home, ok? For the yam cubes, I cut it to around 1 cm, not too big. Then fry it with dried prawns and mushrooms and other ingredients that u have. Then pour in the rice flour mixture and stir continuously until it thickens. Then pour into tin and steam for 45 mins. I only cut it when it is cooled otherwise it is quite soft. Then sprinkle with fried shallots and spring onions. I eat it with my friend's hae bi hiam chilli which is very shiok!! But I have yet to find the brown sweet sauce that u eat outside to go with the yam cake...

Annelise,
The cookie moulds are so cute! The kids will love it! I have ordered some Disney baking moulds from BP but have to receive them. So not sure if they are as adorable...

Starz,
Actually I also dunno how gynae determines how we have dilated...I am equally curious but paisay to ask him..

Hi annlee, the address is:

Corica
106 Aberdeen Street
Northbridge
Australia 6003 Perth

It's at the corner of Lake Street & Aberdeen Street in Northbridge. I will try to put a pic of the map if the file is not too big. If not I'll put it in Yahoo Grp, ok?

Hi Choc, Renaldo's at Upp East Coast is also supposed to have bought the recipe from Corica Perth. I used to buy from there when I needed my apple strudel fix but I still prefer the one from Perth! Is the strudel from South Bridge Road as good as the one in Perth? If it is, must ask my hb to buy for me!

Christmas last year I wanted to bake a gingerbread house. But on my way to Phoon Huat to buy the ingredients, I dropped my wedding ring into this huge longkang! I was soooo upset that I ended up not baking it. To cheer me up, my hb bought the DIY gingerbread house kit from Goodwood Park. But at $50plus it is too ex, I dun think I'll buy it again. So this year I'm going to cheong Ikea and buy the gingerbread kit from there. Last year the gingerbread sold out very fast, I didn't get to buy it to try. It comes in pre-cut pieces, but need to make own icing to assemble together & deco with own candies & chocs.

Hi starz, I'm not sure whether the dr can feel bb's head or not - but maybe the check triggered some mini contractions in the womb and ayden is trying to "elbow" for more space! So excited for you
you're going to give birth soon!

Choc,
I also like mushroom swiss & wings from Ikea! **drool**
Hee, yep, if I boo the cats and they get startled, their tails will fluff up till it looks like a racoon tail, then they'll run for their lives

Talk about make-believe games, I used to like to play doc and patient... then patient is always preggie one, and doc will deliver "baby doll" from under the blouse... can't imagine how I used to think babies were made! **blush blush**

Krisjoy,
Hee... Carl's Jnr burger very big, but just think that you're sharing it with baby lah... it's not that much for a treat since you'll be popping soon!

starz,
So the glutinous rice is really the culprit! Thanks for these tips... next time I know what not to eat before gynae checkup

I also like burgers nowadays, but a bit choosy, only like Mushroom Swiss, Carl's Jnr or MOS. Burger Babies of this Generation!
This "waiting game" quite exciting hor?

Annelise,
Glad to know your dds are getting better now!
Hey, I also LOVE foodnetwork! Whose recipe are you trying out for cake, Gale Gand's? She's supposed to be quite famous for sweets right?

lyn,
I checked out Nature Farm & GNC at J8 - both don't stock the organic flaxseed oil from US or Melrose from Australia. GNC stocks their own house brand, but not refrigerated.
Guess maybe have to go to organic shops to check out that 2 brands.

annlee,
Thanks for helping me check out the cafe... but only if you happen to be there OK? Don't bother to go there just to check it out.

Annelise,
So did you get your wedding ring back?
Thanks for posting up the Perth apple strudel address too... if my in-laws go there next year, can ask them to buy for me

Van,
I checked with my mum how she used to make glutinous rice - her method is soak rice overnight, drain the next day, then fry with salt and pepper and whatever spices/condiments you want to use, then steam it without adding water too.

Hi Krisjoy, mmm....your lunch sounds good! Mine was just a tuna sandwich cos' today no time to cook lunch for myself. I used the cookie mold only once - haven't found a good cookie recipe. That time when I baked, my colleagues ate them all up even though they didn't taste very nice but because they looked cute! I reserved a cookie book from the library, hopefully I can find a nicer tasting recipe!

annelise, thanks for the address.... aiyah...miss that...my hb is at Northbridge yesterday and today for dim sum. Will get it next time then, thanks!

krisjoy, how's Carl's burger? Wanted to try it when I'm at suntec but I look at the price at $10 and didn't go for it hee..... if is good, I will try it.

Hi Sophie, bingo! I'm trying out Gale Gand's Featherlight chocolate cake cos' it had so many rave reviews! I didn't get my wedding ring back cos' it was night time and we couldn't see it despite shining the torch into the longkang. The longkang was super smelly and had lots of roaches crawling in it. My hb wanted to lift up the longkang grille to get a better look but I told him not to. Cried like mad that night, haha! Next day he took me to the jeweller to buy another pair.

Krisjoy and starz
Better eat whatever u wanna eat b4 u give birth. A few days before I gave birth I went to a coffeeshop in Geylang featured in Anthony Bourdain programme and ate crab bee hoon. The best I hv eaten!!! I considered the fact that I will b BF and cannot eat many 'delicacies' for a long long time.

As for the dilation I think they use their fingers to measure.

I cooked fried bee hoon today. Used can pig trotters with mushroom. Suprisingly din turn out too salty.

Aiyoh Anne, your wedding ring story very sad .. yah.. also curious, did you get your ring back ? I'll be upset for days too.. what happened to your dds eyes ? Is it infection caused by the haze ?

Last year, I went to attend PH's lesson on cakes, the chef baked a log cake.. very impressive and easy.. but now, I can't remember liao..

Haven't tried the corico's at south bridge, but SIL says supposed to be original from Perth.. Will tell you all when I try.. Renaldo's not as good right ?

Annelise,
Your hubby soooo sweet... wanted to lift longkang grille even though so many roaches...eeeeks!
Remember to post up picture of the cake OK? I always see her cooking shows and her chocolate desserts are just heavenly, even though I am not a big fan of chocolate!

annlee,
Carl's Jnr burgers are huge, so if you're not a big eater, can cut half and share. I like their fried zucchini with the house dressing

Annelise,
Your cookie cutters are very unique and cute,haven't seen such cookie cutter before.
Just curious,what is the long white thing for?

My Cookie-Cutters from BP:
557159.jpg
557160.jpg
557161.jpg

I regretted not getting the Pooh/Tigger set actually.

Apparrently they were such a hit in Hong Kong that, the shop who used to sell it at HK$38,increased the price to HK$70 after many people enquired about them.

Your wedding ring story is very sad...if I were you will also be upset and cried whole night! My hb said we could change a pair of wedding ring ever ten years, we have just changed to a new pair actually.

Carole,
Now I only watch Korean dramas on Ch55.

Sophie,
Your mum's version of glutinous rice sounds quite different, only steam it at last?!

annlee,
Did Gleneagles offer any other form of apology after that? Like hamper?

hehehe.. i think alot of ladies like same stuff.. my nieces n colleagues all like mushroom swiss... (i alwayz ask for extra mushroom at Burger King, they don't charge extra for it...) i havent tried Carl's Jnr's burgers.. hb dont like western food... hopefully ayden stay inside this weekend, so i can "chiong" somemore seafood before confinement starts... hehehe.. "yao kui" mummy hor..

Choc,
turn bb's head thru our v.... SUPER OUCH leh!!!
hehehe... i used my mum's old sewing machine (e type that has a "lid" top) to play my blanket house last time.... then will find small things like "bottle caps" or paper clips to play "cooking"...

krisjoy,
no guilt lah... hehehe.. in e beginning, i can eat 1 macdonalds' double cheeseburger meal, upsized, PLUS one box of e mcwings, all by myself... my colleagues all got shocked!
after e 5th mth, no more liaoz... cos already put on too much weight...

annelise,
ya, ur hb so sweet.... my hb is terrified of cockroaches.. if he's in e same position, probably straightaway ask me to give up... he will NEVER offer to open up e longkang to find e ring lor....

ya, remember to post e picture of e cake... cannot eat, but can drool over also shiok.. hahahaa...

can ask where u bought ur hello kitty cookie cutters too???

Van,
ur cookie cutters also so cute... urs bought thru this forum's BP???

Starz,
Ya,the cookie cutters are from this forum's BP,but the two disney set paid double for them, cos 1st time lost in mail, she re-sent to me.In the end paid double,as much as ordering from US.

My friend walked up and down stairs after the gynae told her she has dilated 2cm,to speed up the dilation...then keep updating us how many cm liaoz...very funny...but we also think she is very tough.

Did you buy extra those multi-clothes peg hanger for hanging baby's clothes? I missed out that last time, my CL bought for me in the end. Lots of changing and washing if you are using cloth diapers as well.

sophie, in that case,carl's jnr is definitely out if hb not sharing with me.

van, no hamper..nothing... I'm expecting some discount(which I don't think so) or baby goodies stuff... but nothing...

starz, same here when I'm pregnant, I can eat 2 double cheese if really hungry.

Van,
thanks... i think confinement period time if i got time then go n source for e BP.. hehehe...
ur friend very "can" leh... still go n climb stairs.. i think i very useless, cannot climb stairs since months ago liaoz.. how she update you on how many cm dilated??? she "check" herself??!?!?!?!!?
e multi-clothes peg hanger is it one rectangular thing, with lots of small pegs hanging from it?? i have something like tat, been using it to hang lingerie, hankerchief n socks for me n hb's laundry.. my mum also brought me 1 last week...
fully utilised since i wash all e baby's clothes yesterday liaoz....

annlee,
hehehe.. tis e only time to pig out mah, hor?? perfect excuse.... next time cannot liaoz.. will be actively on diet to get back into previous size liaoz....

Sophie,
I rushed to the library on the first day they opened... lol... I was surfing their website and wondered how come all the books I want are at Bishan. Then I checked and they opened on that day, so I rushed down...

Oh, China Square foodcourt has "lei cha"... hmm... I will go and try some day. Usually I eat "lei cha" in JB.

Krisjoy,
I had surgeries and also delivered in Gleneagles
I am satisfied with their service.

Van,
I see... So good that your dd's registration fall under Phase2A1...

sp,
Your ds is 1 year plus rite? Heh... from the book, gotta let him exercise as much as possible - walk, play, carry things as much as possible. From 12 months to 20 months toddlers are in experimental stage. Let them experiment as much as they like... When giving him a toy, explain and play with him. One toy at a time. At this stage, balls and balloons are very good. Can play hide and seek with baby, or ask baby to imitate mommy games. Let baby have a shelf of books and read to him daily. Expose the baby to more languages. Building blocks are good at the stage too...

To be continued..

Krisjoy,
What Disney item did you order from the BP?

Starz,
My friend,my ex-colleague actually delivered in KK years ago, so her birth experience is very different from us. She was warded when dilated, other then the nurses, there are constant flow of doctors/trainee doctors "checking" on her. Every time after they "checked" on her, she will call us and update us.

Your mum is very very thoughtful, and take care of everything for you,lucky you!

annlee,
nowadays Gleneagles has a feedback form for patients to post back after discharge. I didn't even fill up for my dd.

Annelise,
I don't know which shop in Chinatown point sells the HK cookie cutter.Have PM the person who said she bought it there,hopefully she will reply.

Hope to see picture of your cake soon!
557266.gif

SP,
I always edit and append my posting till the 20minutes limit is up,that's why you didn't see my posting about the glutinous rice tips.

Mommies here... can ask another silly question?
-> Can we wash baby cloth nappies in washing machine? A friend's mom says must handwash cos our washing machine got a lot of bacteria (?), but if confinement still must handwash nappies, very siong right? Cannot just use nappy liner, soak away the leftover poo stains, then dump into washing machine to wash with baby detergent?

Van,
Eh, I just roughly asked my mum, so I think what she meants was after steam liao, still must cook with your meat and stuff... but she likes to fry her rice with some salt and pepper first to make it more tasty... that's what she does with her bak zhang too.

annlee,
Your hubby don't like burgers?

Sophie,
When my dd was still wearing cloth nappies, I still have a maid, only hand wash baby clothes,including cloth nappies. But did put in the wahsing machine to spin dry.

Can your washing machine set higher temperature for water,if bacteria is your concern?

For me, I find that washing the cloth nappies with poo and urine in washing machine is not very hygenic,even though there is a layer of nappy liner.

But I do know of mummies who wash all babies clothes in washing machien,including cloth nappies.

Van,
Yep, my washing machine can set up to 60 degrees Celcius I think. I also intend to dry them in a dryer cos my home really got not much sunlight.

Looks like better to handwash then - maybe just buy more nappies and get hubby to help handwash the nappies every 2 days. Then after handwash, still throw into washing machine for final wash & spin, then into dryer to dry them. Heee... better start talking about this subject and preparing him now!

Thanks for info!

starz, I bought the Kitty cookie mold from Tokyu Hands in Shinjuku many years ago.

Van, the white object is to push the dough out - it fits into the hole in Kitty's tummy. My hb found the corn syrup at Parkway Cold Storage - thanks
My fren who delivered in SGH also "suffered" the same fate as your ex-colleague. She was so traumatised that she gave birth to her 2nd one with B1 ward.

Choc, Renaldo's is not bad - but after eating Corica's, I'm not too keen on R anymore!

Anyway, here's a pic of my choc cake. I sliced off the top already so I managed to take a pic of the inside as well. It is very light and melts in the mouth. I haven't iced it yet - hope it survives the car journey tomorrow! I need to go PH to buy a cake box.

557383.jpg