Cooking Tips & Recipe

Starz,
Congratulations and rest well!
did u managed to feast on seafood again before going to the labour ward?

Choc,
heee... so cute and nice to have 2 big pest and 1 baby pest. i have one baby terorist.
actually i also like to hide in corner to scare my husband leh. so i am the giant pest.
its so heart warming to read that yr daughters can play imaginary games togther, which makes me thinking maybe should have bb no 2 instead of stopping at one.

van,
thanks for yr banana muffin recipe.
hee... my dh says its nice.

krisjoy,
think u can get the brown sweet sauce fm stalls in the wet mkt where they sell beancurd, fishball, ytf, noodles, kway tiao etc.

Carole,
u enjoying the new neighbourhood?

here's my 1st day cooking lunch @ new plc....
559219.jpg

ZZZ: yes... still getting very used to living in a plc with Supermarket... whahahahha... later need to go grab som fish for evening dinner.. forgotten abt it..

Van,
Such a coincidence, I was thinking about annlee's stuffed musroom with meat, but so lazy to cook meat, plus got sudden urge to eat tau kee, so will braise a tau kee/mushroom in my mini thermal pot. Dunno if it'll turn out nice without meat!
Woah, you're cooking a BIG meal for hubby hor? 1 soup and 3 dishes? But after all the travelling and work stress, I guess he deserves his big yummy meal

I also bought my red kidney beans - thinking of soaking them tonight then tomorrow cook them with the thermal pot like you suggested, and add them to an avocado mousse.

Poor LittleCat's 1st CL sounds scary! Good thing her 2nd CL is good, so now she can be a contented moo-moo and just focus on recovering and feeding baby

Glad to hear starz's little Ayden is latching on well too - it's my biggest fear actually, that baby will not be able to latch on and whether I can produce enough milk... but guess I just have to tell myself I can do it if so many mommies have done it before.

cookiemonster,
How big is your kid now? When are you going to start for the next one?

Carole,
What's the lotus root dish? It's a dish and not soup yeah? What did you cook it with?

krisjoy, oh yes.... there's alot of potatoes inside and is peppery...my ds1 give up on the pie after a few bites.

sophie, you're welcome!Go ahead and ask me the restaurant or store in my area provided that I know it. Thanks for the website!
The pie is nice but I felt sinful hee.... full of potatoes and the skin is make of flour.
Heard that Puteri durian puff is famous...is there a branch near Katong mall?

Amelia, I've tried chocoa exotic and another choc cake from four leaves before, don't really like cakes from four leaves. I like choc cake from Rive at taka.

sophie, I'm cooking pork cutlet Jap curry tonight.

carole, your lunch look simple and healthy.... the soup looks delicious.

About littlecat CL, think is heng or suay of getting one...luckily her second one is good!

1. Soup - Lotus root with chicken feet
ingredients:
chicken feet - $2
Peanuts - $0.25
Red dates - a handful
dried oysters - 3 pieces
*no salt/no MSG

2. Steam Eggs
3. Stir fry Chye Sim

Hallo all!!

Krisjoy,

Iona multi-cooker is so excellent that I am leaving it permanently on my kitchen countertop.It's as powerful, if not more powerful than stove-top steamers.Costs only 34SGD at Sheng Siong.I believe it'll be more expensive at other places.

http://www.iona.com.sg/webcatalog/index.php?CatID=5&ProdID=73

Sophie,

Their cakes are the opposite of Lana's.Sinfully thick and rich.

Van,

Tonight so much "ho liao"!Wish I can taste your cooking!You should organise a dinner gathering at your place hee!
Just curious, how long do you take to put dinner on table?I usually take 45 to 60 mins including prep and my mom takes hours.
kao_sleep.gif

Carole,

What's in your steamed eggs?I normally add minced pork.

I've never eaten chicken feet!

Quite labourous to cook both lunch and dinner, especially when you have to do all the washing and cleaning.

Annlee,

What don't you like about the cakes?I have to admit the cakes taste more american than asian.

amelia: i boiled a big pot of soup for both lunch and dinner. As for the steam eggs, i did nt add anything as my little girl can eat too.
If i add pork, my maid wont be able to eat liaoz.

Chicken feet is another thing to add to boil the soup, u can always replace it with chicken breast meat/pork. but i use chicken feet, cos we love to have tt in this soup and hb loves to eat.

always prepare early, so cooking can be real fast. i take less than 20mins to get everything out on the table, and soup usually i maked it like many hours before.

Sophie,
Thanks for the update. If have not delivered this weekend, will pop by Kino. Din get the chance to go there last weekend...Oh, so Choc-a-bloc has a branch at Cuppage..good ah, then no need to buy the whole cake..can buy a slice to test out first..

Van,
My silicon mould has more than 4 cartoon characters leh..it looks like an ice-cube tray..

Twinkle,
I c, we were in the same BP? Ya, me too...guess won't use them for the time being. But good to keep them for children's party in future cos the cartoons pics are so cute

Cookie,
Thanks for the lead...will go market to recee if got chance cos now MIL goes marketing so no chance to jalan market ;p

Carole,
I love the colour of your soup! Looks thick...btw, will the soup be oily if using chicken feet? From the pic, your soup does not look oily at all ..did you have to manually remove the oil? Just curious, will the soup be bland if no salt is added?

Choc,
forget to mention just now that huggies have got disposable swim diaper.
but no term use think normal type swim diaper cheaper. i got cheapo one at OG abt $16+.
If u want more fanciful can try paragon, sea folly etc.

Sophie,
My baby only 4+months coming 5months now.
Don't worry too much abt breastfeeding.
I belong to the type that not blessed with lot of milk, tried all sorts of remedy but fruitless.
Very stressed when my milk could not meet baby's demand. But TMC Mrs Wong already advise just relax and give whatever we have/we can to the baby. Milk powder now is not too much inferior to breastmilk. So relax and don't worry.
But i admit i love the feeling of baby latching on and seeing him latching halfway, pause and smile at me and then continue sucking. I have been supplementing baby sine he is 4 weeks old. And now i only have enough milk for abt 3-4 feed a day.

Carole,
heee... yr lunch looks delicious! hmm... can i pop by for dinner? ;)

kris: there is some oil still.. u can always get a strainer to take those oil away.. little oil is ok..
looks thick? ok lor.. bland? no lehz.. of cos i boiled it since 9am. soup should boil longer if u dun wan to add salt/msg.

zzz: CAN CAN CAN... dinner.. will be Beef with kai lan.. as for fish.. i am flying out to buy later..

zzzcookiemonster, choc
i saw the swim diapers but din get . end up i bought fm kiddy palace those washable swim diaper. it is more ex , i think is $25 but it is savings in the long run.

Just to add what I cooked over the weekend..

Saturday: Steamed Whole Fishes with Fish Sauce, Spicey Long Beans and Carrots, steamed white rice.

Sunday: Chicken Curry with Potatoes, Sunny Side Up Eggs, Stir-Fry Kai Lan with Dried Shrimps and Oyster Sauce, steamed white rice.

Tonight: Meat Congree and some normal teochew side dishes( to be determined).

Carole,

I don't like to cut my veggies too early because I'm afraid of them turning black.I will cut and prep just before cooking.For soups, I usually boil for 90mins in my Tanyu.How long do you boil yours and what kind of pot do you use?

zzz: welcome u.. i dun usually cook early. abt when hubby is home then i cook. .so no problem

amelia: vege turn black? no lahz.. for soup i usually love to boil for at least 2 or more hours, this will help me to get the aroma i wan and also helping me to cut down on salt/msg/soya sauce too.

Carole,
How's your new place? Still have a lot of stuff not packed? Where do u used to stay?

My MIL also boils her soup for more than 2 hours but we only have it about twice per week..I love this type of cantonese soup

Carole,
I c..so can still adapt to new place since it is at the West part. I used to stay at Jurong for 15 years before getting married. Now staying at North side (Admiralty).

Have u been to Pioneer Seafood at Tuas? They used to be very good, esp their mee goreng, fried rice and chilli crabs. But when I went there early this year for mother's day celebration, somehow the standard dropped drastically. So not sure if they changed chefs or is it bcos mother's day they can't handle the volume...

Carole,
I also like chicken feet, especially boiled in soup with black beans!

Amelia,
I don't really like the overly thick and rich kind of choc cake, prefer the sponge with a layer of good fudge Lanna type, so I guess I probably won't like the Four Leaves kind.
The Iona cooker seems quite useful!

annlee,
Your pork cutlet looks nice and crispy! For the Jap curry, so you use a certain brand like House Brand or S&W brand?

amelia, I don't really like mousse cake and that's why don't like their choc cake.I prefered cakes with sponge, nice and satisfation

carole, chicken feet full of collagen... can make skin smooth smooth too but also fattening, once a while is ok lah, for the skin hee.....

sophie, I use S&W brand. Do you have any recommendation?

I made fried noodles for dinner!

Annlee,

I like to use S&B golden curry cubes.

Carole,

For very "ru wei" soup, I use a heavy lid and don't lift it till it's done.

HELP!
I just soaked my red kidney beans in water, in preparation for cooking them tomorrow. But after 15mins, I peeped into the bowl and all the beans are wrinkled and shriveled!
Is this normal?
Are the beans spoilt?

annlee,
I've never cooked Jap curry from the cubes before, so I was asking to see if there is any good ones

My MIL likes House Brand Instant Curry Pack, but it's not the cubed type, more like an instant gravy. She normally buys the "HOT" version as Jap curry is not that hot anyway. I just add meat/more potatoes and carrots to it and pour over my spaghetti for a quick fix sometimes.

Carole,
yr girl so sweet and demure!

u look younger in person than in photo.
my husband saying u must be a very young mummy.
very pai sey abt yesterday.
my boy crying and sleepy, and he took a nap on his daddy shoulders on the way back.

Carole,
Your lunch looks good... Jurong Point got NTUC and Liberty... In fact, I prefer NTUC at Jurong Point to the one at AMK.. lol...
Will the chicken feet get very soft after boiling? How do you boil the soup? Chicken feet soup very interesting... I also dun like to add salt to my soup

zzzcookie, choc,
Kiddy Palace got super cheapo swim diaper.. $6.90... The ones from Ocean Paradise at Paragon is slightly less than $20...

sophie,
The beans are not spoiled... When I soak black beans, I also get wrinkled beans. But I continue to soak, I get bigger black beans... lol...
So you settled your brown rice craving already? hee.. I asked my mum to cook brown rice for lunch today

lyn,
Thanks for info on my beans! The last time my black beans didn't shrivel leh, they just split. But this time my kidney beans gave me a scare

Yep, settled my brown rice and tau kee craving last night!

Now gotta settle my red kidney bean craving!

btw, I think you told me once you drank beetroot juice when preggie right?
How much did you drink and how often?
Cos now I drink it to help in my "C" problem and it does help cos of its eliminative properties, but I just want to make sure I don't overdo it.

Amelia, hee... shld be S&B not S&W, my mistake. I'm using golden curry cubes. I took the wrong one,I wanted to take mild one but sala took the medium hot which is not spicy but my ds1 still find it spicy.

sophie, my soya beans wrinkled after soak but after boiling,is not wrinkle anymore. So are you cooking red bean soup?
That instant curry is very convenient.

annlee,
Heee... I think I started it with S&W

I just saw my red kidney beans - they've plumped up after I stuffed them into the fridge to soak last night. Cos I read on the net that in extremely warm weather, soaking beans in room temp may cause it to ferment, so can put into fridge to soak.
Yep, making my red kidney beans tonight, but not red bean soup... I'll just use it as a topping for an avocado mousse, should be more nutritious with the EFAs, folate, Vit E from avocado and iron, fibre, protein from red kidney beans.
I totally stopped gynae's prenatal vits and calcium pills cos of the C problem, so maybe the body craves for more nutritious foods like brown rice and red beans!

annlee,
Your lunch looks good and appetising! Makes me crave for Jap curry

annlee and Sophie,
I use Vermont curry cubes when making Jap curry. Personally I like the taste very much ;p The only problem is that I cannot find ready-made pork or chicken chops that I could just deep-fry. This would cut down the cooking time a lot...

Sophie,
You still have the "C" problem? Is it partly due to the iron pills that you are popping?

I just came back from my weekly check-up and gynae said most likely I would not deliver this week. Blood pressure is normal but higher than last check-up. He gave me 1 week MC but I did not take cos now need to hand-over to temp staff. Not much time left leh...

sophie, your red kidney beans and avocado sounds very nutritious but have you try it before, nice or not? Are you puting any sauces or salt to taste?

krisjoy, I saw some ready chicken cutlet at those veg rice store before...you might wanna check ard the store in your area. But I don't buy from them cos they added lotsa msg...but I think the Jap curry also contain msg so for those preggie mummies do take note.

wah... so you giving birth next week? If so, try to take leave to enjoy these few days.

i made hokkien prawn noodle last night but not nice leh, noodle abit soggy and maybe my prawn stock not thick enough, dun really taste very prawn leh.

Sophie,
Yap.. I drink beetroot juice when preggie. It's high in folic acid

I will put 4 carrots, 2 green apple, and 1/4 beetroot to make 2 mugs of juice. Beetroot can indeed help in moving the bowels. I drink this juice everyday in the first trimester, and on and off in the second and third trimester.

Krisjoy,
Your hospital bag pack already?

Sophie,
Oh.. no wonder sometimes when I soak my black beans, I get lots of bubbles...

carole,
u look very young for yr age leh.
me machiam ah soh when next to you.

Lynn,
thanks for the info.

Van,
saw yr posts saying that u braise peanuts.
can i have the recipe pls.
hee.... have just bought the tiger thermal pot u all raving abt, so will like to try out.

<font color="0000ff">Krisjoy,</font>
Your company allows you to go back to work even though you've got MC? I know come companies prefer not to take on the "responsibility" if employee is given MC. Don't get too stressed with work this week and enjoy all your fav meals!

I stopped my iron and calcium pills since a month ago. I don't really have "C" anymore now cos I do a big biz everyday. But I am afraid I may start to get piles already. Like if sometimes the poo is not so watery, I'll get a funny lump around that area which goes away after awhile. Hubby says that's Stage 2 piles, cos I read it from the Nov MTB thread.
So am reading up a lot on piles now, and it seems like the only solution is to make sure poo is soft and that I eat more "cooling" foods, cos I believe the heaty foods causes blood vessels to dilate, so it may make the lump come out more.
I actually went to see a Ma Kuang TCM; she says now that I am in 6th mth, it's stabilised, and don't have to worry about cooling foods, cos my body is now very heaty. She says to eat what I want and not restrict myself... maybe she thinks I am controlling my food intake, which is not true, cos I just don't have much cravings leh.

<font color="0000ff">annlee,</font>
Heee, I actually tried to make an avocado shake out of avocado, plain yoghurt and honey the other day, but it turned out more like a mousse rather than shake.
I know for shake I should use fresh milk, but hubby had lots of phlegm that day, so I didn't wanna use milk which is mucous-forming, so substituted with yoghurt.
The mousse made with yoghurt was pretty good, sweetened with just a tsp of honey, and very smooth! So this time I'll just add the red kidney beans as topping.
So in a way, this recipe has been tried and tested half

<font color="0000ff">lyn,</font>
Thanks for info on beetroot

It's my fav cure-all juice actually, just that during 1st trimester, don't dare to drink that's all.

btw, if you're cooking red kidney beans, I read that we must soak and cook thoroughly cos
"Red kidney beans contain a toxin called Phytohaemagglutinin (Kidney Bean Lectin) that causes severe gastric distress, including nausea, vomiting and diarrhea.
Kidney Beans are perfectly safe if properly prepared. First, soak Red Kidney beans for a minimum of 5 hours and then drain and discard the soaking water. For stovetop cooking, add fresh water or broth to a level about 2" higher than the beans, bring beans to a boil and boil briskly for at least 10 minutes. Reduce heat and simmer, covered, until thoroughly cooked, about 2 hours.
To pressure cook, follow the directions for your pressure cooker and cook soaked and drained kidney beans in fresh water until done, about 18-30 minutes. Note: Pressure cooking temperatures are adequate to destroy the toxins.
Do not cook dry red kidney beans in a crockpot or slow cooker."

zzz: lol u so cute.. no lahz.. maybe cos lately u busy at work lahz, tts why u look more ah soh. relax abit u will be fine

sophie,
Thank you very much for the infor on kidney beans toxin... hee... I have never cook this before... My first time
Lucky you share with me.. else I will blur blur go and boil.
Do you know if other beans have similar kind of toxin?

annlee and lyn,
yup, packed my bag liao ;p hopefully can deliver by next week cos stomach is very heavy...

Sophie,
wow, time flies...u are already into your 6th month
yup, once stablised, can eat all foods in moderation...did u put on much weight? Btw, is it ok to stop taking calcium and iron pills? Thot you would need more of them during pregnancy...cos I am still taking them leh..

Sophie,
What are you cooking the kidney beans with? Just curious cos we hardly them at home...only get to eat them outside from the salad counter..

van,
sorry I don't know any lubang in KL for the lovely cake pans... hope you can find them soon!

carole, annlee,
nice food pics, make me hungry, hehe...

YO Ladies,

Wah.. carole , your lunch is so nutritious and got dessert somemore!slurps!

Annlee, your jap curry very pro ! Is it spicy ? If not so, I can make for my dds

Annelise, your cake looks very beautiful ! Is the recipe good ?Like sara lee ? My choc cakes always flop, either too crumbly or dry..
The mickey mouse mould is nice, I'm also looking for a hello kitty one..

hey cookie, yah.. the joy of having more children ! They play and fight together ! Going to buy a lego set for them to play..Have 4 boxes of masak masak yet to be washed.. Will wash them when the moon turns blue..
Dd2 was so daring that she could grab bb's hands to help him wear mittens ! Was a little impressed by her "kungfu" ..

Eh cookie, I also feel like ah soh sometimes, esp when I bun up my hair ! I 'm trying out bio-essence and doing my own hair treatment ..hope it works !

Soph, I have a few pails for confinement.. 1 for bathing, 1 for soaking bb's clothes, a small one for dirty poop nappies, and another for mopping. I find napisan and ABD quite good for washing undergarments and soiled nappies. Like what van did, I wash bb's clothes by hand first then spin dry in the machine.

CONGRATS STARZ.. bb Ayden is out.. you also rest well and enjoy your confinement !

Sister meow, real bad experience for you huh ! Good thing you changed your nanny ! And you can now live happily ever after

lyn, any more tips on stimulating Aloysius? Enjoy reading your summary ! hehe.. no need to read the whole bk.

Was pondering about the article that van posted from James Dobson, about kids flying like balloons, some soar while some get caught in the tree, how true !

Krisjoy,
Becareful when you walk around
Last time, in my last week of pregnancy, I fell down when I was crossing the road. Cos I got no strength to support myself and the heavy tummy when I twisted my ankle.... I was surprised...

choc,
What other tips you need?? hmm... I read that we gotta stimulate the 5 senses, but I do not do all everyday. I do the visual, touch, and auditory daily. Still got the smell and taste. Smell and taste are only on and off when there's chance.
Do you let your baby sleep on tummy?? If you are comfortable with it, it's good to train their neck and back muscles.
Another tactile stimulation is to use contrasting "feel" things, such as hot and cold, rough and smooth, to stimulate different parts of the body. This is at a later stage as recommended in "how smart is your baby"
. Usually I do cold when I take something out from the fridge. lol... very seldom use two contrasting things... very mafan wor... :p sometimes toys and towel for rough and smooth...

Sophie,
I think you should start reading the book you have got. If wanna follow, gotta really prepare when preggie. Cos when baby is out, no time already. Some more gotta revise on and off to make sure doing the right ways...
GDbaby just started to sell "newborn kits" based on "How smart is your baby". I havent seen it though. I think DIY is cheaper

Choc,
Thanks for the tips on washing/pails. I'll keep a lookout for napisan and ABD

lyn,
You fell down in last trimester? Was it bad and did you get hurt? Went to see a gynae immed?

Yep, I think I better start reading the book. Hee, I've been a bit lazy watching Da Chang Jin the Korean drama these afternoons cos I like to watch them cook and in later parts, talk about TCM, herbs, and taking pulse. Very interesting, probably gave me motivation to cook brown rice 2 days in a row!

For beans, I read that only red kidney beans has this toxin. I find this website very useful, and it even gives you how much minerals/fibre each type of bean has if you click on the indiv types. The kitchen tips gives some idea on how to cook the beans, altho mostly angmoh style, and they also have some tips on how to reduce flatulence with beans.
http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/products/beans/

Krisjoy,
I dunno if it's OK to stop iron and calcium pills leh, but I think my poor bum more important. Iron should be OK - I just load up on beef (burgers!
), seaweed and dark green veges. For calcium, I try and take more soy bean milk now and yoghurt. I'll check with gynae this coming Thursday.

So far I put on about 4kg I think. My $6.90 Carrefour weighing scale not that accurate, always about 1kg off from gynae's digital one, but should be around 4kg.

btw, I just went to Choc-a-Bloc's milk bar just now to eat choc fudge cake, cos telling you about it gave me craving, but it was closed today... sian!

I also like red kidney beans in my salads
I used to pack salads to work, and just add canned red kidney beans to my salad.
For today's dessert, I didn't take any pic as I was too engrossed in the 9pm Fiona Xie show
, but it's really simple:

Avocado Mousse - Blend together avocado, plain yoghurt &amp; honey, then add a topping of cooked red kidney beans.
* The above will be a bit thick, so I add some water to dilute it and make it easier to blend. Alternatively, you can use orange juice.
** It's a bit sour cos of the unsweetened yoghurt even with honey, so if you don't really like plain yoghurt, can use vanilla flavoured yoghurt.

End result is just a very smooth green mousse served in a small bowl/cup with red bean toppings.