Cooking Tips & Recipe

choc06,
I like yr oven-baked coke beef recipe! Need to bake how long ah? My hb loves coke & beef very much, I shld cook this dish for him when I want him to buy me expensive thing, heh heh heh
412448.gif

Hi Amelia,
I will get the dried herbs from NTUC or Cold Storage...
There's once I cannot find Italian herbs at the last minute, so I bought all the 5 herbs separately and add them to my spaghetti...
I am not very good in herbs yet, but when I need the herbs I will read the recommendations, then add whichever that smell nice to me that will go with the dish I am cooking... Rosemary is nice with roast chicken and lamb...
I tried different kinds of dried herbs in stir fry vege.. not nice.. kekeke... but I still finish them :p Only celery in stir fry vege is nice. I like to use celery and the leaves to stir fry vege and spaghetti...
The fresh herbs come in package... Cold storage do have fresh oregano.

Choc06,
Worchester sauce also goes well with pork... My mum use it for her own invention - "coffee pai kut"... but I havent got the chance to learn from her how to cook that.. I only eat :p

Hi Littlecat,
I also watched "I not stupid II". I think all parents should watch... It's quite true... I am waiting for the DVD to come out then will buy and let my cousins watch...

sp u so cute ! hehe all wife must learnt hor..

Lyn, the VCD is out already not sure about DVD, i thot should be same time.
yeah i agreed with u too, the part that when they grow up how to understand their world...
and i love the "i love u" part, i laugh till peng when the 'wang-yi-leong' trying to tell his son..

Littlecat,
read ur posting abt sahm few days ago, but only got strength to login today!

personally, i find it fulfilling to be a sahm. it's a great joy to be there to guide my son in his behavior and character building. but hor... sahm is a very lonely job. really a full time job. no rest day one. unless u have parents or pil to help once in a while. i took almost a year before i got more adjusted to life at home. till now, still coping with the loneliness especially my hb works late almost everyday. so i face my boy and the hse from 8+ morning till 9+pm. very few sahm ard my area, mostly grandparents, so difficult to start a mothers' group too.

CHoc06,
ur beef stew sounds gd. what is this worchester sauce? can use other sauce?

Hi CLover,
wow.. u really a sandwich lover
has ur son started taking outside food yet? my En loves to eat outside food. so much more tasty

sp,
My hb also likes beef !!Let the COW do the talking if you want a stone on your finger!! hyak hyak...

This casserole must use a corning ware.

Must fry beef in frying pan with onions first and garlic, then stir in 1 tbs plain flour, add 1 and 1/2 cups brown ale( i use coke, here says stout also can), 1 tbs tomato paste and brown sugar , stir until sauce thickens.

Return the beef to casserole and add bouquet garni( A mixture of herbs, which I didn't put), season the beef with salt abnd pepper. Covered and bake for 1 and half hrs..

Serve with mashed potatoes. This is a flemish dish originated in belgium and the characteristic flavour and colour comes from the ale.

the beef stew is not so lei che.. goes well with rice. My family loves it..

Quite diff to choose beef, cold storage got ready packed ones.. the beef seller in the market can tell you which part of cow to cook for what dish.. Heard that tekka market got nice fresh beef.. i norm just go to the malay stall to buy.. I dunno how to choose mutton and am scared of the smell..

cat, my friend told me about 25%,if not wrong,
we were commenting that it's not so fair...

Worchester sauce with pork, yah.. sounds good too, must add coffee powder ?

Another tip : a bit of coffee powder/coffee drink brings out the flavour of chocolate.. my ang moh friend made choc fudge and added some.. nice..

Hey, home, be encouraged.. it's really a great joy to guide and to see how your child grow each day..
we also don't like the idea of live-in maid intruding our privacy..

I turned SAHM 6 yrs ago, and i know, it's never easy..with housework piling every day.. it's a 24/7 job with the 4 walls to talk to only. I pray for strength to go through day by day n take it 1 day at a time.. when my hb travels, i am alone and sometimes going gila liao.. face turn yellow liao.. haha..
Think there are quite a few sahm here, perhaps they can also share..

Can use other sauce for beef, but worchester sauce is tangy and nice, goes well with sheperd's pie, spaghetti sauce..

Thanks Home !
I really feel that those quality time spend with kids is really can't be measured by $$..
yeah i know what u mean, no MC, no leave...

eh should we take this opportunity to find out who stay where and hopefully can form a group? also since we have so many things in common !
name,location,job/sahm,kids,remarks
Little_cat,Jurong East,fulltime working mom, 1 son (4 yrs), Luv cockles & other seafood currently PG must watch my diet.

*remarks : u can put anything u like. eg like to eat cockles :D :D

Choc06
yes it is not fair, somemore we sacrified our job, and become single income, why less subsidy ??
doesn't make sense leh ...
then now they keep asking us to have more kids, but if the kids come out all spoilted by grandparents or 'educated' by maid one, does it mean they are after the quantity and not quality?
i thot quality is more important than quantity?

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD> Location</TD><TD> Job/Sahm</TD><TD>Kids</TD><TD>Remarks </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little_cat</TD><TD>Jurong East</TD><TD>fulltime working mom</TD><TD> 1 son (4 yrs)</TD><TD> Luv cockles &amp; other seafood currently PG must watch my diet. </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

It will looks like this.
Give me in the format i posted above,eg seperate each field by ',' [comma]
Let me know if u want to add more column header and also if want to change the header name.

Choc,

Ok I've seen Masterfoods near the McCormick rack.Rather exp for the quantity
hopefully the fresh ones are cheaper.

Clover Lee,

Yes, I think ntuc carries herbs under McCormick.Forgot all about it becos i am so used to buying them in bigger packets.
I haven't thought of nurseries, thanks!I will check out the one near my home.

You cook the apple sauce in wine over low heat before adding to the pork.
I am 100% local lah haha...but lived abroad for a few years.

Lyn,

I did a lot of experimenting too b4 finding out what works.Wahh I love herbs in my spaghetti too!!
You vegetarian right?You can try cilantro with veggie mee goreng, it gives more dimension.Fry the cilantro with your onions, garlic etc b4 adding your veggies and noodles.

Don't think herbs in huge quantities go well with our chinese stir-fry veg.Just a little is fine.

Sorry for the late log in - fell asleep with my kids - just woke up at 6.30pm. oops, not cooking dinner for hb &amp; me again :p

Just a quick one on my details then - will catch up with today's posts later tonight if I stay up late!

annelise,tampines,sahm,2 daughters (5 yrs &amp; 2.5 yrs),love baking

Hi Home,
Nice to meet you here.. the other thread seems quiet now.
I am still cooking special food for my son and feed him first before we dine out. However, when we eat he will join us so will give him abit to satisfy his curiosity at the same time train him to self feed.

Hi Littlecat,
How about age and profession?

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD> Location</TD><TD> Job/Sahm</TD><TD>Kids</TD><TD>Remarks </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little_cat</TD><TD>Jurong East</TD><TD>fulltime working mom</TD><TD> 1 son (4 yrs)</TD><TD> Luv cockles &amp; other seafood currently PG must watch my diet. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annelise</TD><TD>Tampines</TD><TD>sahm</TD><TD>2 daughters (5 yrs &amp; 2.5 yrs)</TD><TD>Love baking </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

age, can lah as long as u gals dun think that is a 'secret' haha...
'Profession'- to replace the "Job/Sahm" right?

I am staying in Toh Guan Road, currently outstationed in Vancouver where dh is working and furthering his studies

I am a sahm to a 31 months boy

Yam Cake
Ingredients:
500 g rice flour
1 yam ( about 750 g to 1 kg, diced )
100g dried prawn, ( pounded or grind )
mushrooms ( amount is optional, soaked and sliced )
*1400 ml water from the water of the mushroom and dried prawns.
2 teaspoons salt
300g roast pork ( cut finely, removed some fat if desired. It is to flavour yam cake. no MSG )
10 to 15 small onions ( sliced )
10 pips garlic ( finely chopped )
* Put rice flour into the 1400 ml of water. Add the salt and pepper.
Slowly stir the mixture with
your hands and mix well.

Garnishing Ingredients:
spring onions cut fine
red chillies, sliced
fried shallots

Method:
1. Stir -fry dried onions. When lightly brown, add garlic.
2. Add dried prawns, when fragrant, add roast pork.
3. Add mushrooms and stir-fry. Then add yam cubes and stir-fry.
4. Add rice flour mixture. Gently stir-fry until everything in the wok
becomes thickens.
5. Add the mixture into a tray and steam for about 1/2 h or until the
yam cube is cooked.

The recipe is very easy to make. And can feed about 15-20 people for tea.

Happy trying!

Priscilla

welcome Priscilla !
and thanks for the nice Yam cake recepi! I like to eat home made one esp with the yam in cube then u can really taste it!
those outside one can't really find .. hehe must try it when MS is completely over.

cat,
Choc06,Yishun, sahm, 2 daughters(5+yrs &amp; 4yrs), Loves cockles, cheesecake &amp; malay food)
You know, I bought a kg of cockles last night at cold storage, heehee.. going to fry with tau cheong and chilli padi today.. heehee..
Eh cat, my fried bee hoon always clump together, soak for 20 mins, also like that,how huh ?

Amelia, fresh ones will mati very fast.. unless you use the herbs everytime you cook, the dried ones should be able to last for quite a while. If you have friends going to perth, their is one sjop in chinatown there that sells herbs in bulk, very cheap too.

annelise, I'll join you in tamp soon..

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD> Location</TD><TD> Profession</TD><TD>Kids</TD><TD>Remarks </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little_cat</TD><TD>Jurong East</TD><TD>fulltime working mom</TD><TD> 1 boy (4 yrs)</TD><TD> Luv cockles &amp; other seafood currently PG must watch my diet. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annelise</TD><TD>Tampines</TD><TD>sahm</TD><TD>2 girls (5 yrs &amp; 2.5 yrs)</TD><TD>Love baking </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD> Toh Guan Road</TD><TD> sahm</TD><TD>1 boy (31 months)</TD><TD> currently outstation in Vancouver </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

cat, I forgot to add , currently also 5 mths pg,

I like yam cake too.. sometimes can substitute pumpkin, radish and carrots.

Good morning gals!

HI Littlecat,
I bought the DVD for "I not stupid I". Now waiting for the second DVD
I think I will watch it again and again to remind myself.

Hi Home,
How long have you been a SAHM? Do you have to cook daily? I have been staying at home without kids for a year already
. I find myself quite busy with lots to do... hee... Spent most of the time on the web and chat... And also housework, my work, shopping with mum or people like me, chat on the phone, etc. Time flies and my baby is coming out real soon...
I wish I have more time... I dun find it boring staying at home...

Choc06, sp,
My hubby also loves beef! I just got a book on health last nite. I browsed through the section in fertility... It states that men should eat less red meat cos it will putrefy in the colon... lol...

Beef and lamb with mashed potatoes is very nice
. Anyone know how to make mashed potatoes?

Hi Amelia,
I usually buy the dried ones. They are not cheap. Sometimes my hubby will go "you already have so many bottles of herbs". kekeke... The fresh ones are also not cheap to me and I cannot finish using them at one go, so I will usually go for the dried ones.
Do you finish up your "experiments"? kekeke... everytime I gotta finish them up on my own on the first try... I am not a full vegetarian. I am trying to change my diet for health. I am trying to find out how to cook nice vegetables dishes so that my hubby will want to come home and eat... kekeke...
What sauce do you use for mee goreng? Is it the indian style mee goreng that you are refering to?
hahaha... I tried different kinds of herbs with stir fry veggies... All taste awful so far... but I gotta finish them.. lol... I used to use a lot of oyster sauce, but it's not healthy so I am experimenting with herbs now. Got any other suggestions to make veggies more tasty?

Do you gals think that "nice food" is an acquired taste?

Happysunflower,YCK,SAHM,Newborn in Jun06,Exploring Vegetarian food.

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD> Location</TD><TD> Profession</TD><TD>Kids</TD><TD>Remarks </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little_cat</TD><TD>Jurong East</TD><TD>fulltime working mom</TD><TD> 1 boy (4 yrs)</TD><TD> Luv cockles &amp; other seafood currently PG must watch my diet. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annelise</TD><TD>Tampines</TD><TD>sahm</TD><TD>2 girls (5 yrs &amp; 2.5 yrs)</TD><TD>Love baking </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD> Toh Guan Road</TD><TD> sahm</TD><TD>1 boy (31 months)</TD><TD> currently outstation in Vancouver </TD></TR><TR><TD>Choc06</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD> sahm</TD><TD> 2 girls(5+yrs &amp; 4yrs)</TD><TD> Loves cockles cheesecake &amp; malay food </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD> Location</TD><TD> Profession</TD><TD>Kids</TD><TD>Remarks </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little_cat</TD><TD>Jurong East</TD><TD>fulltime working mom</TD><TD> 1 boy (4 yrs)</TD><TD> Luv cockles &amp; other seafood currently PG must watch my diet. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annelise</TD><TD>Tampines</TD><TD>sahm</TD><TD>2 girls (5 yrs &amp; 2.5 yrs)</TD><TD>Love baking </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD> Toh Guan Road</TD><TD> sahm</TD><TD>1 boy (31 months)</TD><TD> currently outstation in Vancouver </TD></TR><TR><TD>Choc06</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD> sahm</TD><TD> 2 girls(5+yrs &amp; 4yrs)</TD><TD> Loves cockles cheesecake &amp; malay food (5 mths pg) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Happysunflower</TD><TD>YCK</TD><TD>sahm</TD><TD>Newborn in Jun06</TD><TD> Exploring Vegetarian food. </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Chwee kuey recipe

2 cups rice flour
tapioca flour/cornflour 1 tsp
salt 1 tsp
sugar 1 tsp
boiling water 4 cups
cold tap water 2 cups

1. Mix the rice flour, salt, sugar and tapioca flour together with the tap water, then add in the boiled water . Mix well
2 Pour mixture into frying pan or wok to cook it, stirring it until almost hard and lumpy( but not burnt)
3 Pour consistency into a metal tray to steam over high flame for half an hour to 45 mins.. Sometimes, I steam it for 1 hr.. Cool it for few hours until it "sets"
4. Cut into pieces.

Chaipoh : Fry the chaipoh with lots of minced garlic , sugar and pepper until fragrant.. More oil will taste better, but I usually cut down on the oil.. As chaipoh is salty, depends on where you get it, add the sugar until it's not so salty.

Serve your chwee kuey with the chaipoh..
( Add or reduce water the next time if you find kuey too hard or soft)

Mashed potatoes:

Peel skin of potatoes, boil and pour away water.
Add milk , a little salt , butter and mash
Use a hand mixer to whip it until soft and creamy.
(norm, I lazy to use handmixer, so just mash and mash and add milk)

Any other variations ?

Cooked Green Radish soup with Carrot,Pork ribs,chinese almonds,honey dates and red dates last nite.

As my hb has flu and cough, it's supposed to be good for his cough,especially with the chinese almonds Nan Xing (sweet) and Bei Xing(bitter).

During cooking, green radish and white radish always give out a smell.My girl keep saying it smelled so awful...

But when the soup is given to her at night, she said it's very nice,don't have awful smell, and took 2 big bowls!

sorry busy posting and getting the table right

choc06, first dun soak the bee hoon too long, once it is soft u can remove from the water.
Also when cooking bee hoon, u need slightly more oil &amp; water, if not it will too dried and clump together too.
So it is good idea to cook with taugeh or other vege that has some water when u cook.

here's how i cook normally.
first fried the ingredient first, like the garlic/onion with fish cake, prawns, etc. Then remove from wok put a side.
Then fry the bee hoon.
While stir fry the bee hoon, i will put some oil,soya souce,dark soya sauce, oyster sauce mixed with water in a bowl, (will also give u a even colour on your fried bee hoon) and pour in bit by bit when u see it become dry, to give it more moisture and also cook the bee hoon thoroughly, cos we didn't soak too long it will take abit more time to cook till soft.
Add the vege (bean spout/chye xin) in between, so at the same time u have some water from the vege.

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD> Location</TD><TD> Profession</TD><TD>Kids</TD><TD>Remarks </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little_cat</TD><TD>Jurong East</TD><TD>fulltime working mom</TD><TD> 1 boy (4 yrs)</TD><TD> Luv cockles &amp; other seafood currently PG must watch my diet. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annelise</TD><TD>Tampines</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD>2 girls (5 yrs &amp; 2.5 yrs)</TD><TD>Love baking </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD> Toh Guan Road</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD>1 boy (31 months)</TD><TD> currently outstation in Vancouver </TD></TR><TR><TD>Choc06</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD> 2 girls(5+yrs &amp; 4yrs)</TD><TD> Loves cockles cheesecake &amp; malay food (5 mths pg) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Happysunflower</TD><TD>YCK</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD>Newborn in Jun06</TD><TD> Exploring Vegetarian food. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Van</TD><TD>CCK</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD> 1 girl (5yrs+)</TD><TD> Love baking trying out new recipes </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Choc06, i am planning to have cockles this weekend too! hehe dun care what hb say liao.. just tell him your girl want to eat (bluff one, dun know the gender yet) then he will give in!

I have tried using the bottle chillie to cook the malays Mee goreng with seafood etc, quite nice.

choc06 wow u even know how to make Chwee kuey?

anyone like hand made noodle (me-hun-kuey) ? yesterday nite i thought of it, at the end i sleep with a very hungry stomach

Must have this as one of my meal during this long weekend :D

little_cat,
sp,KL,FTWM,1 boy 9 mths,learning to cook

Thanks a lot for doing up the table!
kiss.gif

choc06,
re: mashed potatoes
Which type of potato is most suitable for making mashed potatoes? Wow, use handmixer, can imagine how it looks like, light &amp; fluffy, mmm
412703.gif

eh sp, u in KL - kuala lumpur ?
what is FTWM ? pai seh dun understand leh..

u r welcome, i think easier for us to remember who is who and how many kids and what age so we can share more info!

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD> Location</TD><TD> Profession</TD><TD>Kids</TD><TD>Remarks </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little_cat</TD><TD>Jurong East</TD><TD>fulltime working mom</TD><TD> 1 boy (4 yrs)</TD><TD> Luv cockles &amp; other seafood currently PG must watch my diet. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annelise</TD><TD>Tampines</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD>2 girls (5 yrs &amp; 2.5 yrs)</TD><TD>Love baking </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD> Toh Guan Road</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD>1 boy (31 months)</TD><TD> currently outstation in Vancouver </TD></TR><TR><TD>Choc06</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD> 2 girls(5+yrs &amp; 4yrs)</TD><TD> Loves cockles cheesecake &amp; malay food (5 mths pg) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Happysunflower</TD><TD>YCK</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD>Newborn in Jun06</TD><TD> Exploring Vegetarian food. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Van</TD><TD>CCK</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD> 1 girl (5yrs+)</TD><TD> Love baking trying out new recipes </TD></TR><TR><TD>sp</TD><TD>KL</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>1 boy (9 mths)</TD><TD>learning to cook </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Yo van, thanks for the green and orange carrots soup,din know can put nan xing bei xing . Will try it, think good for the bladder ..

heard from my mil that dongfang billy says cannot mix white radish with orange carrots is it? He says will have no more nutrition .. you all heard of it?

Huai shan (the fresh one from the market) can cook with pork ribs, red dates, wolfberries and peanuts..
Good to bu qi..

Thanks for the tips on beehoon, will try it again.. Normally I han tum all the liao then put beehoon in last..

When we were overseas, a sing friend taught me..craved for chwee kuey.. this recipe not the best, but "no fish, shrimp also good", hehe

sp, I use whatever potatoes I can find. My ang moh friend uses a hand mixer, true enough hers turned out smoother and creamier

Wah.. sp, you in KL ?

KL got so much nice food... I love the black black wanton mee.. and there's one place(PIL vrought us), some taman... sells very good pig trotters vinegar, wine chicken..

i miss the 'curry hor fun' at Pudu... do they still have ? and the hokkien fried noodle ... arrh .. i know what i crave for liao and my hb can't get!!! soob soob !

eh anyone know if there is hokkien fried noodle in singapore? last time heard of some zhi-char shop got but not sure where, like near 6th avenue?

Choc06,
Never heard of cannot mix white radish with orange carrots, will do more "Research" then share with you.

But for the green carrot and red carrot soup, don't put too much Bei Xing, or it will turn out bitter.

Usually for about 1.5l of water, I only add 1 tbs Nan Xing and half tbs or slightly less Bei Xing.

LittleCat,
When I was a young kid, I was already eating the hand-made mee-hun-kuey that my aunt made.Long before this became popular in every kopitiam and food court.

I think most Hokkiens have their versions of mee-hun-kuey soup, and fried mee-hun-kuey,sweet and savoury versions.

BTW, I am Hokkien.

eh let me know if u gals want to put the age in the table, got 3 persons said yes then i will put and the rest must follow hor ;) if not no point lah some put some dun want to put ...

I always can't remember the portion for nan xing and bei xing..thanks

Yah.. fried hokkien noodles.. the one with the dried banana( or whatever) leaf right? Yishun coffee shop near northpoint has, blk 924 or 925.. a corner small coffee shop has.

Ikea has very nice fried chicken wings, you all tried it?

van, we also have that, but very simple type just use ikan bilis to boil the broth then put the pcs of noodle in and finally with the 'sayur manis' vege. that's it!
then we eat with lots chilli padi, shiok!
last time really dun border what ingredient we have inside (now got prawn, minced meat, fish ball etc..) but last time really nothing we also eat until very shiok!
There is one store at Jurong east coffee shop they have this mee hun kuey quite nice, best still they have chilli padi and minced garlic. Very nice !

choc06, is it like the KL style ? the noodle thick thick type? i like those leh.. also they have the fried port lard.. pai seh another unhealhty food...

LittleCat
The other day, I visited my aunt, she cooked something I have not eaten for long long time.

Shang Mee(Chi mee,the yellow noodles) with the Mani vege, and tapioca(yes!), then we put lots of hay-bee-hiam in, SHIOK!

hehe, yalor, I M'sian in KL, here no happening forum so I got to join S'pore one... :p

choc06, little_cat,
actually I miss S'pore food leh, I like the fried hokkien prawn mee at the Beach Road foodcourt opp Golden Mile, the chicken rice opp Novena church, the tau sa piah at Balestier Rd, the Indian food at Yishun, Khatib chicken wings, the pan mee at Pasir Ris, etc...

Didn't know KL got taman selling nice pig trotters soup &amp; wine chicken. pai seh, I many years never go Pudu to eat already. I also hv my favourite food around KL, got chance bring u all go eat, hehe. Come to KL shld eat seafood lah, not as expensive as S'pore, anyone like claypot butter crab?

Ikea got nice chicken wings? hehe, must ask my hb to take me there to makan :p

oh, no, why am I talking abt outside food? sorry I off-track, back to home-cooking

clover, bendemeer, sahm, 1 boy(2yrs), love food;seldom cook.

Hello everybody, good morning!! and welcome Priscilla.
wow.. so many food today, have to slowly analyse.. ha ha.

Ikea chicken wings yummy yummy..

I have added ingredient mashed potatoes to share ..
Simply sautee shredded onions(big ones) with olive oil then fold them into the regular mashed potatoes. Nice nice one.. try it.

Eh Amelia, how to cook your mee goreng ? Is it from kuali.com ?

sp, where the chicken wing from khatib? You know sing food more than I do.. The vinegar pig trotters is at butterly taman or kang le taman, behind shell station ? Direction given by my FIL, beats me, I think KL got only one shell station !haha

Little cat, the hokkien mee in yishun is the ordinary kind.. not thick one..

My hokkien mee version(anyhow huntum):
Make the ikan bilis stock , boil prawns, sotong.
Take out sotong and prawns .

Peel the prawn shells, then continue to boil the shell with the ikan bilis.
Fry garlic, pork strips, then add fish sauce,
Add thick bee hoon with yellow noodles,
then add sotong and prawns..
Pepper to taste. Add a beaten egg to noodles.. add more stock if you want it wet.. (the trick is in the fish sauce)

You all got other styles ?

van, whats Mani veg ?

Hey Jasmin, velcome