Cooking Tips & Recipe

clover lee,
Yr words "sandwich maker" reminded me of this "goreng pisang aka fried banana taste-alike", keke.

For ppl who like the taste of fried bananas but without the oil, u can slice banana and put inside the bread and toast with sandwich maker until crisp. Eat it HOT! Enjoy!

little_cat,
wah, 9 kids, yr mum super lah! How did she manage so many? I 1 kid only already very tired & scared to even think abt no. 2...

lyn,
I also like to eat the Indian food at Yishun, the one at the food court, is that the one u go to? But very heaty wor, after eat cannot sleep well at nite leh, hehehe. I long time never eat already, don't know whether they still there.

Hi little cat

I've heard that bird's nest should not be taken during 3rd trimester cos' that's when baby's lungs are maturing - so if taken may cause asthma.
Gingko nut and barley too cooling to be taken during the early trimesters. Supposed to be good for clearing toxins. Some people reccommend taking coconut water during 3rd trim too.

Hi sp

Haven't tried coke on pork! Some people claim that if you want your coins to be shiny, soak them in coke!

Hi choc

Yeah, I've heard about the croc meat remedy. How about trying TCM? My friend brings her kid to this TCM clinic in Kembangan where they massage the acupoints on their palms. Seems to be working well for her.

Hi clover

You may want to try applying pure aloe vera gel on the scratches - it is very soothing to the skin, has antibiotic properties and is quite safe to use. I find it very effective - for minor burns, cuts and even nappy rash. You can try this brand Jorubi - it's available at most Guardian & Unity pharmacies.

Hey Little cat, what's pine bark? Effective ? Shall ask my hb to try it.. Where can I get it?

The banana leaf indian food at the northpoint food court ? There's always a bee line .. The malay food is quite nice too..

clover, if don't have sandwich maker can still make the apple sandwich ? Looks like apple pie.. Can spread on top of bread and toast it? Was looking for the post on the apple sauce with pork ribs.. must marinated how long huh? sorry hor.. then bake for how long ?

Hey Ange,
I think there are 2 kinds of fu zu, one for the veg and the other one for dessert.. dessert one is thinner and squarish

Hi Angeline

Sorry, I'm not sure which type of barley my mum used. I'm Teochew and we call the dried beancurd strip "dao kee"

yes! sp.. you are rite. i do agree with you about the bananas sandwich. i put some into my apple sandwich sometimes when i toast them in sandwich maker, it tastes superb !
The cooked banana is so soft, sweet, so fragrant and hot..very yummy.. but my son pui pui pui..
Hee hee.. maybe by the time he bites on it is already cooled.

Littlecat,
do you need to toast the peanut butter with banana?

choc06, the pine bark they claimed to be something they obtain from the Pine tree, high in anti-oxidant. it works on me you can ask your hb to try too. i have a website here u can find out more. the Pynogenol is the patended brand, but there are others brand as well, i get my at at Nature Farm their own house brand. cheaper
but same effect.
http://www.pycnogenol.com/

annelise/Angeline, you should get the Chinese barley, after it boil it turn soft so u can eat. But the yang-barley (suppose to be more liang) after boiling it won't turn that soft.
The bean curd strip, u can buy those that are really meant for dessert type.
cos there are few type, some for cooking one if u use that for dessert it take long time to dissolve to small pcs. I like the cantonese style barley with beancurd strip where the beancurd strip cook till very small type

Another tips is if u really get those normal type, after wash, boil it with water first, without the barley. it will turn small pcs faster than if u put the barley together. actually after u wash with cold water it just get tougher to cook thru, so use the above method.

clover everything i see u put the pui pui pui i want to laugh :D... mine is 'yaack' then u must quickly find a tissue paper to wipe the thing out.. sigh kids!

Sp u will be surprise ok, once u have more u won't be so kan-cheong and thing will be diff hehe...

after toast it taste nicer, and the peanut butter slightly melted and the banana is warm.

Thanks cat, heard of pycnogenol before, but didn't know what's it for.. will read it from the net.

hey annelise, Want to resort to tcm last choice.. Just that I'm afraid that the tcm will have lead of mercury in their herbs.. I had spotting during ovulation for years and it helped aft I went.. I lao liao,eat mercury or lead, mati never mind, but my 4 year old still small, must take care of my other half when I'm not around.. haha..

Hi choc

I thought the herbs were safe but it's those that are processed into pills that we had to be careful of? Mati nevermind?! Kids still young leh, cannot afford to mati!

By the way, it's good to give kids some yoghurt/ live culture drinks after a course of antibiotics to restore the balance of the micro-organisms in their intestines cos' all the good bacteria gets killed by the antibiotics too.

Hi Little cat,

Ya, it's true. The more kids people have, the less kan cheong & more bo chap they become! A lot of my friends said my high standards of childcare dropped dramatically after my 2nd one!

Oh, so pycnogenol is good for sensitive nose, is it? My hb always get runny nose when he goes to my mil's house. The last time my daughter took out an old paper fan from under the table and fanned him with it - he sneezed non-stop for the whole day!

Thanks for the tip on the beancurd strips, little cat! You're very knowledgeable about cooking! Definitely sahm material!

annelise, you hb also sensitive? choc06 hb also .. aiyoh we really meet at the right place man!
me too similar to your hb type. cos sometime i go my mom house also lots of dirt i sneezed till got blood

According to study they have this agent there is good for Respiratory system, it is good for senstive nose and it really work for me. Last time one of my collegue he cough for a long time later he took also got effect.
oh really, didn't know the yakult can do that, cos i always scare after giving yakult he got phelgm...
eh so i passed liao, can really quit next year and be a sahm!

choc06 i have a fren who is believe on TMC for kids, her kids also one got sensitive nose, so she visited this TMC at jurong east she said very good. I tried my son, but he is those eat medicine like eating poison even those western so sweet he can't take also, so chinese medicine lagi no way. they have massage (tui-na) for kids too may be u can try. me too scare the 'poison' in eastern herb but if no need to eat just by massaging then can considered.
But tui-na need longer period of time lor...

Hi littlecat

Does your son take yoghurt - works quite well too. Can chop up pieces of fresh fruit and mix together. Or if he has a sweet tooth, can try stirring in some honey too.

Ya, my hb's nose very jia lat! Always have to take Clarinase to stop the sneezing - but meds eat too much no good leh. My sis bought one box of pycnogenol for me from GNC some time ago. I didn't take it cos' was pg and after that b/fding. Hopefully haven't expire yet, can let hb take!

Hello gals...
***wave***
Today quite busy to read this thread... Feeling quite breathless and giddy since more... Now much better already.. drink lots of water

Wah.. Teflon non-stick is carcinogenic ah... then how? Non-stick pans very useful leh...

Sp,
Ya.. If you dun want too strong pork smell in the soup, gotta scald them in hot water first before putting into the soup to boil.

Choc06,
The heart of gingko is edible, but it will taste bitter.
Hey.. I love to toast bread with butter and brown sugar... yum yum...

Oh.. talking about sandwich.. I love cheese with butter, with ham and tomatoes... yum...

Sp,
I can imagine putting banana in between bread spread with butter and add some cinnamon and toast with sandwich maker... kekeke.. and add some nutella... sounds nice eh?

Yes... the Indian food at Yishun food court.. long long queue one... Ever since I got pregnant, I eat at least once a week... Everytime I will take the vegetarian briyani set...

Wow.. after reading all your food tips and sandwich... I feel like eatin something now... kekeke... tata... let me see what I can make to eat in my kitchen now... :p

Choc06,
I came across organic supplements that's good for kids. My cousin's 3 kids fall ill less often now ever since on the supplements... Her 3 kids all have asthma since birth! You wanna consider?

Wah, luckily the expiry is 06/2007! If expired, my sis will be upset with me for wasting her money! Littlecat, must take for how long? Need to finish the whole box?

Hi Lyn

Take deeper breaths - pg sometimes will feel breathless. How is your blood count? The last time I was anaemic, so had to take lots of yucky iron pills everyday.

Enjoy your snack! I'm not cooking today - feeling lazy :p

yah.. I agree.. cat got the material for sahm !

Been looking through the recipes on cockles, must try the tou jiang and chilli padi with cockles.. you really have lotsa recipes on cockles, huh? What dialect group are you? I only know one other than the boiling method. The nonya method is to marinate the uncooked cockles with black soy sauce, garlic ane chilli padi for one hr,it's ready to be eaten...tried it, but it's too raw.

Annelise and cat,it's true to give yoghurt drink to people having anti-biotics.. even for women, it helps.. but for our children, the doc says avoid it as it causes phlegm

My family gp says she and her hb both have sinus problem, so her child also has it.. Her child is taking dhatifen and cod-liver oil to boost immunity.

My mil also asked me to bring my gal to see tmc, but must go every week leh.. now with the 3rd one, my legs give way when I walk too long.. Any good ones in the north? tui-na ?

haha lucky u!
it depends on the contains and also the instruction there.
i remember last time is like every 10kg of your body weight u need to take eg 20mg, so i take the one which contains 100mg per tablet, so i take one in the morning each day. The lady said empty stomach better and dun take coffee within 1 hour.
And some recommend u need to detox first, so initial period they want u to take slighly more like double, later on after one week or so reduce to normal
Check the instruction is better, diff brand diff instruction and contains too.

Hi annelise...
hee... I just had something simple... two slices of wholemeal bread with butter and brown sugar

I am anaemic. Do you think breathlessness can get worse if I get more anaemic? Yesterday I just had a pot of red dates drink... Today never do much housework, but dun feel well since I woke up. Got the type of fainting spells. My blood count was 10.9 last week... I am also taking iron pills 3 times a day, but sometimes forgot a dose...

Hey lyn, what supplement is that?
My gal on "bu fei" medicine by the doc leh.. must take long term some more.
Rest well.. you went to the gynae today izzit?
Cheese toast is yummy...

If you like cinnamon taste, you can try cinnamon powder+sugar on your buttered toast.. There's also the ready mixed cinnamon powder with sugar by masterfoods in cold storage

Hi lyn

Better rest more and leave the housework until you feel better. Red dates is good for blood - black beans too - anyone know any black bean soup recipes? My mum used to make black bean soup for me when I was pg but I don't know how to cook it. Take lots of spinach - that's good source of iron too. I used to get very constipated with the iron tablets, so the spinach was a good source of fibre too

The breathlessness is sometimes caused by pg women taking shallow breaths because of the growing tummy pressing on the diaphragm. So you need to make a conscious effort to take deeper breaths once in a while - the anaemia makes it worse.

Take care - gotta go - my babies are awake

choc06, my dad is cantonese my mom is hakka. but at home we speak hakka most of the time. so u can imagine the cooking all influenced by the hakka style, like the steaming of pork with salted fish, we call it 'no oil and no salt'. cos after steam u have both !

eh here is another one for cockles, it is called the cockles pancake, fried cockles with flour.
Cook the cockles in hot water as previously mentioned. Mix flour with water, put some salt and chop jiu-chye or green onion if u dun like jiu-chye or can't find.
Put the cockles in stir, and heat the wok with some oil, and scope the flour with some cockles then fry it. like frying normal pancake/egg.
Dip with chilli sauce. like those oyster egg type, yummy!

btw anything interested on trying hakka niang-dou-fu ?

lyn, better take care ! try to lie down or sitting down more often.
I also feel slightly giddy sometime, i try not to have sudden move.. cos sometime u trying to rush and suddenly standing up or walking will get worst.

hi choc06/annelise/littlecat

Thanks..will go chk out at those chinese medicine halls.hope it be successful!

Good morning ladies,
Just like to check with you all, when you fry beehoon, does it clump together ? I found that whenever I use the chilli brand bee hoon, my fried bee hoon turns out that way.. but when I use other brands, it doesn't !Is it because I soak the beehoon too long or added too much water to it when frying ? Need you all to enlighten me cos i boh kung hu.. My family likes the long strands of beehoon from the chilli brand.. TIA !

Hey lyn and cat, you take chocolates ? It's an immediate source of energy.. Whenever I feel giddy, I eat a mars bar, very sweet tho, but it helps..

Little cat, the taiwanese porridge also has fried cockles to go with their porridge, just realised it.. got to try it.

Good morning gals!
I am boiling green bean soup with sweet potato and dried mandarin orange for lunch today

Choc06,
It depends on the brand of the beehoon. Some need to add more water and cook longer, some cannot add water, depending on the brand. Maybe you try not to soak the chilli brand beehoon too long. If my memory did not fail me, I think the chilli brand beehoon is for frying the "Singapore beehoon".
kekeke... I dun like to fry beehoon myself cos dun like the mess...
I like stir fry spaghetti...

choc06,
I do take chocolates sometimes :p I am trying not to take too much cos I am having sweet tooth... I am afraid of gestational diabetes... kekeke...

Choco06,
As for the apple sandwich, I haven't tried toasting in oven I think should be ok. Maybe need to toast abit longer considering the wetness from the sauce. Whereas in sandwich maker there's an outer layer of butter which slightly fry the skin of the bread during cook so tends to be abit crispy and firm to hold the filling.
If I don't remember wrongly apple pie fillings don't need to precook.
Hmm.. I never tried apple sauce with pork ribs before. I usually do pork chop. The angmo style i think they don't marinate the pork. I do abit oriental style to marinate the pork with simple soy sauce, pepper, wine and cornflour. Set aside in chiller to cook in the evening or transfer to freezer if i cook it the next day. The pork chop have to flatten it so that it's not too tough.
I bake 250C till cooked then top with apple sauce to grill till desired. Not sure how long altogether cos i trial and error to check the condition till i satisfy.

hi clover have u tried making the egg sandwich for him? or tuna or ham?
i like to make the egg sandwich, hardboil it, then use fork to mash it, put some mayonise, some pepper, spread on the bread. Put some tomato and cucumber, if he doesn't like than dun put. You can put normal bread, or u can toast it then cut the side (skin) then into triangle.
Or you can just use sandwich maker.

Hi Littlecat,
Yes, I make fish sandwich for my son but don't want to waste my effort on egg sandwich cos he hates hard boiled egg yolk. Basically, I think he just don't like moist and heavy food that's why when he bites on the filling part he will P P.. hee hee.

lyn,
u take care ya, preggie really not easy. If tired rest first, don't force yrself to finish whatever u r doing. Glad u feeling better already.

wow, yr banana sandwich sounds delicious!

cloverlee,
yr boy really funny & "naughty", pui pui & waste yr food! does he eat cheese or raisin bun? how abt french-style bread (dip in raw egg mixture & fried till cooked)? or else he really got to eat kosong bread liao, so poor thing, hehe.

Littecat,
You are rite man.. he really likes roti kosong. ha ha.. give him the inside one he wants the outside one(skin). He doesn't like porridge but rice and the rice cannot mix with the soup.
Like that how har? give him good stuffs he wants plain leh.

Hi clover,
For the apple pork chop, when I am lazy, I do not cook the apple first
Just chopped the apples up and top on the pork and grill. For it to be more tasty, gotta grill and add more apple sauce slowly. Cooking and adding lemon to the chopped apples first will prevent oxidation (browning of apples). I read in those ang-mo recipes, Bramley apples will taste the best... but I use any apples I can get hold of.. hahaha... and Bramley apple is not cheap...

Lyn,
oic.. that's much easier. do you marinate the pork first? anything else besides apple on top of pork? how long do you grill?

clover lee,
yr son how old already? u know, I also don't like to eat rice mix with soup one, last time my babysitter everytime give me rice mix with soup for lunch, I will eat VERY VERY slowly & very suffer lor. I like my rice dry one. But if she give me korma with rice, even wet wet I will eat becoz more tasty, kekeke.

clover,
If you want, marinate the pork with a bit of soya sauce first... Sometimes I do marinate with soya sauce, sometimes no... cos most of the times, I cook impromptu. The aroma of the apple sauce will "sip" into the pork after grilling... I grill till the apple on top turn a bit brown - about an hour. Half an hour grilling time also can, but wun taste as nice to me... Dun overcook the pork, cos it will be hard...

amelia,
Do you mean fresh ones or dried ones?
Fresh ones, you can get from Cold Storage, Jasons... and maybe Carrefoure...
Dried one are very easy to get...

Lyn,

I tried finding dried ones from your typical ntuc and sheng shiong...not very successful.Haven't tried cold storage.Where did u get ur dried herbs?

I think oregano tastes better fresh while rosemary dry.What other herbs have you experimented with?I prefer rosemary of the herbs i have tried.I add it to my roast meats... really fragrant.

Do the herbs here come in little plant pots or packaged?

You can try adding cheap red wine to your roast apple sauce pork.Alcohol evaporates when cooking so it won't be dangerous to preggies.

Hey Amelia,

You can find the dried herb under masterfoods.. Got many diff kinds of herbs in bottles.. Cold storage has more.. They are all chopped up.

Sometimes, little potted herb plants are found in the cold section with the veg.. If you go to jelita or holland cold storage, you can get the fresh live ones.. I tried planting them before, all mati liao.. except for the mint plants, can survive

Hi Amelia,
You don't sound local to me.. do you mind me asking where are you from?
I think most ntuc have dried herbs if not then try those supermarkets in town. I saw many fresh or dried there.
As for herbs in pots i never seen any in supermarkets before if you want i think have to go flora nurseries.
Is it safe to take rosemary during preggie? If i am not wrong rosemary essential oil is no no for preggie.

Not very sure about the wine part..
Do you dip pork into wine before grill or add wine into the apple before grill or add wine into apple sauce to cook first?

Lyn,
replied your mail liao.

hi want to know more about subsidy for childcare. I understand the subsidy only for working mom, how about those working part time mom?
like some of u mentioned doing some tele-marketing or tuition of set up company, do part time working mom get subsidy?
hehe now is the right time to ask hor, since Election coming...

Heard from my sahm that childcare subsidy not as high as working mom.. as for part time, can call the child care to check with the in charge.

clover, your son likes kosong roti? My no.2 also, cereal without milk, kosong rice, kosong bread.. so I tried peanut butter with bread, and she likes it.

lyn, must grill the pork chop huh? can bake or not ? Saw one beef recipe , use any brown soda, I used coke, to marinate the beef and bake it.. the caramelised beef tastes good, and eat it with mash potatoes.

Easy beef stew recipe:

1 Fry onions in oil, add in 1kg cubed beef chunks( with tendon kind)in metal pot, 2-3 tbs worchester sauce, hot water enough to cover beef, simmer for two hours until tender.(if use AMC, I think the time wil be shortened)
Add some more water in if too dry.
2 Add cut(quarter) potatoes, carrots and continue simmering until veg is soft.
3 Add button mushrooms(cut half) and peas and boil for a while.
4 Salt and pepper to taste.

Serve it over cooked rice
(worchester sauce goes very well with beef)

van, my rice cooker is the old kind, once it jumps to keep warm, I can't press the cook mode already.
SO, I think must cook the chicken with the rice, right ? Lap cheong no need to fry first, will it be fragrant ?

is it? i thot sahm total nothing to subsidide..
anyway dun care lah.. yesterday watch the 'i not stupid II' anyone watch b4? after that i really scare.. and can't wait till next year to be a sahm liao...
how to choose good beef? i have problem with that, the beef either to tough or too smelly, btw how to get rid of the smell?