Cooking Tips & Recipe

My husband asking all of you to try marinating the chicken wings his ways....very yummy....used to be a hot favourite at his restaurant and good to go with wine and beer

Yes ikea meat balls also very nice. does anybody know where can get those type of meat balls. last time ever tried to look around but cannot find so gave up already.

Oh.. any recommendations for japanese sauce that they usually put on top of boiled vege which is thicker and another one that they put on top of grilled eel which is darker colour.

I got a Beef Pot Roast recipe to share.The BBQ sauce idea was given by my spanish american galfriend.

1.7pound beef chuck is marinated with liberal amounts of salt, black pepper and rosemary herbs.Wedged onions are place at the base of the crockpot.Stack the roast on top.Add some potatoes and carrots(desired).Pour one measuring cup of BBQ sauce.Simmer the chuck and vegetables for 6 hours on HI.Lots of liquid will be generated from the cooking.You have to reduce the mixture by stirring in cornstarch towards the end.Serves 3.

my pic http://im1.shutterfly.com/procserv/47b4da22b3127ccebbb70971bc1f0000001610

sp and Choc,

Thanks.I lifted the recipe from Kuali.com and modified it a bit.

Sayur Manis shld be kangkong or spinach..

Msia has the best food!!When I go JB, I will definitely eat zhi char at Pelangi...cheap and oh so good...shiok ah!

Priscilla,
I think they have different types of terriyaki sauce for dip, marinate and for cook. Do you know which is good for vege and bbq fish/chicken that do not need to cook.

Mani veg is not kangkong or spinach, but I don't know how to describe it.

May be when i go market, take some picture then post it here. (Will the stall holder laugh at me???)

I thought Ikea sells the frozen meat ball and the sauce?

Wow, didn't know they reveal the recipe for the swedish meat ball... btw, what's rusk flour ? Thanks waterbaby !
Will def try the beef pot roast.. no mess, no need to fry..and quite easy, good for winter..

Yo,Prisc, the tom yam fried chicken wings pedas or not? Got small kids, can't take spicy food. but my hb loves tomyam

I marinated my salmon with masterfoods terriyaki sauce for 1 hr,then oven toast it, the outside is tasty, but inside is still blend ..
Amelia, the zhi char you go to, is it Zhu Ling ? Has otak and emperor chicken right ?

Wow... you gals are very fast here.. kekeke...

Amelia,
Your mee goreng looks very appetising... hahaha... It's lunch time now and I feel like eating after reading all your food talks... but I am not hungry cos I had a big bowl of oatmeal with toasted bread just now.. kekeke...

Do you gals take oatmeal? I love it with added horlick... yum...

This morning I spread butter and dark brown sugar on my bread and put into the toaster.. yummy...

Real swedish meatball is very tasty and very very salty... I tried them when in Sweden... I love the meatballs with cranberry sauce

Amelia,
I also likes kuali.com... kekeke... My mum has both Amy Beh's books which is pretty good.

Van,
I am also hokkien...
Last time, my mum used to make "mee hoon kuey" at home. Just put ikan bilis and "heng chye" for the soup...

Choc06,
Very nice to "humtum" cooking hor? hahaha... that's what we call "home cooked". I like to experiment also...

Think it's interesting to add our dialect group.

Cos diff dialect groups have different special dishes.

Better don't add age lah, so that you all won't know that I am 50+ liao... ha ha ha!

Hey cat,

I just finished the kg of see hum fried with taucheong+chilli padi and garlic, added lime juice and some sugar... oohlala.. slurp
You got any clam(la la) recipe to share ?

lyn, the jap supermarket sells a kind of salad dressing, it's sesame oil+soy sauce and some other ingredients, very fragrant and nice

Shabu Shabu sauce add mince garlic, nice for dips for thinly sliced beef in steamboat

Prisc, give me a min, Will send to you

hi all went to visit gynae just came back. wow didn't login for awhile so many posting liao.
btw i ask the gynae if i can take 'cockles' he said cockles is abit dirty the worry is the Hep A, but if u cooked 100% it is ok. and he also said lah, if cook 100% not nice already haha..
choc06, it is ok lah cos if we later stir fried again with chili and dou jiang it is fine

Sayur Manis - is the vege for cooking the mee-hoon-kuey, the original vege. not spinach.
sayur manis in malays means 'sweet vege', in cantonese we call it 'shu-zai-choy'. [direct translate means, little tree vege, cos it looks like a mini 'tree']
i heard the auntie called 'mani-chye'.

wow didn't know ikea got nice chicken wing, i only know the meat balls.
So if we get the meat balls just deep fried it right? cos i dun remember seeing any instruction there leh.. or not in english..

Choc06 u finish all ? haha, i can't wait to have my this weekend !! :D

Van, agreed, i will add the dialect group. i think nobody intested to add age hor? kekeke...

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD> Location</TD><TD> Profession</TD><TD>Kids</TD><TD> Dialect</TD><TD>Remarks </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little_cat</TD><TD>Jurong East</TD><TD>fulltime working mom</TD><TD> 1 boy (4 yrs)</TD><TD> Cantonese</TD><TD> Luv cockles &amp; other seafood currently PG must watch my diet. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annelise</TD><TD>Tampines</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD>2 girls (5 yrs &amp; 2.5 yrs)</TD><TD></TD><TD>Love baking </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD> Toh Guan Road</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD>1 boy (31 months)</TD><TD></TD><TD> currently outstation in Vancouver </TD></TR><TR><TD>Choc06</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD> 2 girls(5+yrs &amp; 4yrs)</TD><TD></TD><TD> Loves cockles cheesecake &amp; malay food (5 mths pg) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Happysunflower</TD><TD>YCK</TD><TD> SAHM</TD><TD>Newborn in Jun06</TD><TD></TD><TD> Exploring Vegetarian food. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Van</TD><TD>CCK</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD> 1 girl (5yrs+)</TD><TD> Hokkien</TD><TD>Love baking trying out new recipes </TD></TR><TR><TD>sp</TD><TD>KL</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>1 boy (9 mths)</TD><TD></TD><TD>learning to cook </TD></TR><TR><TD>clover</TD><TD> bendemeer</TD><TD> sahm</TD><TD> 1 boy(2yrs)</TD><TD> </TD><TD>love food;seldom cook. </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

i only managed to get Van's, as for the rest, let me know i will add it in

Haiyo.. i still very blurr which one leh.. can tell me the brand name and where to get.. also which one good for what food lor..

Last time in Japan also asked them but chicken and duck talk later told me to get the rectangular plastic tube one that you can squeeze. quite nice on boiled vege. can find in local supermarkets at jap. section.
For topping the grilled eel/chicken one shouldn't be so thick, not that sweet and slightly darker. don't know japanese so dont dare to anyhow buy.

Van, very curious on the shang mee your aunt cooke leh, with mani vege and tapioca ? hmm interesting, and prepare your camera next time take a photo for us hehe...
And the most important thing is to learn how to cook and share with us

choc06,
So far for clam (lala) i cook with ginger and chilli, and little bit of cooking wine before you remove from the wok. cos i like the clam taste, very sweet.
Or you can cook with little bit of samlbal chilie to cover the smell.
or u can try taiwanese style cooke with mint leave (jiu-chong-ta).

Ciao.. Prisc..

Yah.. I know hum got hep A, but hep B is the one that causes liver cancer, if not wrong.You jab already ? Ok, we all eat hum moderately ok, ;)Got to go for blood test soon right ?

choc06 i have hep antibody (could be eating hum from young haha). Hep A not yet jab, busy planning for baby mah..
I ask him if kena what will happen? he said is the mother who is suffer baby is ok one.
then my hb at my side keep saying ok no more hum, clam is ok.. cos he hates hum...
The gynae quite cute explain to me what the hum eat... and worst is my hb there listening and i think he remember every single word he said..:mad:
so can u imagine next time if i ask for hum he will repeat the story to me

side track a bit ok?

Where are the organic shops in s'pore?I hear there's one at Sixth Avenue..anyone knows the exact address or tel no.?I wld like to purchase flaxseed oil.

choc06
i saw one recepi on the bamboo clam, they are using the black prevered bean (dou-shi) to cook with chilli too, u can try that on clam too.

anyone like to eat petai ? or they call it the smelly bean?

Wah... just left to another forum, I got so much to catch up already ah...

hmm... I am getting hungry
Dunno what to cook to eat... Very lazy :p

Choc06,
Oh, sounds very nice for salad... Ok, I go go and find
Thank you...
Wow... 1kg of cockles at one go!
We are close by.. kekeke... I always go to Yishun for grocery shopping at Cold Storage and the nasi briyani... lol... Oh.. I love cheesecakes too... but now gotta cut down.

Sweet dreams Priscilla...

Littlecat..
What quality and quantity question? hee... Think I have missed that out... :p

I used to eat petai and my dad loves it...
I love it with sambal with tomatoes... I dunno how to cook though...

Can anyone share receipe(s) for boosting milk supply? I heard of 2, Pig Trotters with Peanuts and Fish with Green Papaya. What other ingredients go into the soups? Can anyone share? My mum doesn't know how. Thanks.

lyn, it is about the government want us to have more kids but hor if we will be sahm to look after kids we dun have much subsidy for childcare etc.. but if we all go back to work leave the kids with grandparent or maids, some quality (not all of cos) might drop.
so any comments

Jenny, these are the 2 i heard of also.
Plus the supply and demand thing, that means u need to constantly feeding the baby, if possible try not to mix with formula. How old is your baby now?

Hello, everyone. Wah, so many posts this morning, I read until blur!

I haven't watched "I Not Stupid II" - it's a good show? Will get hb to buy it this weekend then!

My kids love the Ikea chicken wings too. Do you think they use prawn paste (xia jiang) to marinate the wings? Tastes a bit like xia jiang chicken to me.

Littlecat, quantity more important cos' it's measurable. Whether got quality, ah - that's another ministry's problem altogether!

My sis' basil plant grew very well. She bought it from Jason's and re-potted it. Mint plant can grow well also? I am thinking of planting herbs in my fil's garden - his maid has green fingers - I'm hopeless at gardening. Cactus also mati under my care!

Choc, for a tastier (but not so healthy!) Hokkien mee, must use lard. You can try boiling streaky pork belly in your soup stock too. My fil's hokkien mee is very nice - I always ask him to cook it when I feel like eating it! Next time, I shall be more hardworking and go earlier when he's preparing it to learn his "kungfu"!

Hey, some of you gals like cheesecake too! Anyone has recipe for those light and fluffy Japanese cheesecake? So far, I only know how to bake the angmoh type.

Hi Jenny

I only know the fish &amp; papaya recipe. You need to add raw peanuts (unless you have a peanut allergy in the family, you may want to omit that) tangerine peel and old ginger slices. you need to boil on high heat for 15 min then lower and simmer for about 2.5 hours.

It really works! I pumped out more than 8 ozs of bm every 3 to 4 hours.

Littlecat, govt wants to encourage working mums - have more economic value to society. All the procreation policies are pro working mums. Sahm's contributions are more intrinsic and cannot be measured by dollars &amp; cents - hence statistically, not favourable to the country's economy.