Childless Not By Choice Group

Lyn, hi hi...you got take vit C ma? The weather nowadays has gone haywire. Try to drink lots of water to keep hydrated.

I am still feeling sore lo. Just now still complain to my dh till he shouted back at me. Then I shout back at him y dun he do the same to his relatives yesterday. Only dares to do it to me!!!

My dh dun dare to shout/scold his relatives one la. He is one nice man to them ma.

Lyn, actually I hv been contemplating this thought recently. My neighbour has never been pregnant before recently brought back a baby girl suddenly and we knows tt they adopt the child. I v much wants to ask them the procedure and costs but ever since this adoption, they hv shy away from the neighbours. Duno y? Makes me also v paiseh to say hello to them. Then I casually ask dh mabbe one day we might need to go thru adoption. Then he straightaway say "choy choy choy, we will hv our own child". Is this men's ego? I am rather open. Mabbe bring a child back will hv a child of my own later on leh, this is old ppl's belief right?

Perhaps yr hubby and my hubby thinks alike. Feels tt we still can try on IVF/naturally and only go for adoption when we are older?

Rostrum, look like our hubby is the same. When i ask complained to him abt how insensitive his SIL can be somtimes he will talk back to me saying i m too sensitive etc.. if he shout to me ending fight liao... Ya i think its man ego that man r so resistant towards adoption maybe they think adoption is a reflection of their inability to make babies. I myself was resistant to adoption in the past but now i m more open. I treat adoption as thr right to gv mother love to a baby(whether its biological or not). Its not that i m thinking adopting only in hope to have my own child after that but to give love. Rostrum, perhaps u can join the adoption forum too which i also chat there. Those ladies r very positive and encouraging ppl like ladies in this forum.
Hey, dun be too bothered by the gathering yesterday. Be happy and enjoy the rest of the evening before its monday again...

Hi lyn, mabbe our hubbies dun like our nagging and complaints ba...Yes, definitely is their ego. Actually its better that both parties are receptive to adoption. If only 1 party accepts, its not going to b v easy. This happens to a fren of mine. It took her hubby years before accepting their adopted daughter.

Can you give me the link to the adoption thread? Thank you!

I feel much better now. Thanks. Its another brand new week tml...exercise regime starts again.

- Hi sisters, 

Thanks for all your encouragement. Yesterday did my first iui under Dr LC Cheng in TMC. Though he's more ex I think, but I must say I felt quite comfortable with him. He even asked me if I wanted some music during my procedure, and played "how do I" when I asked for soothing songs haha. He also told me every step that he was doing which put me at ease. So I'm now at my dreaded 2ww. Hoping to distract myself in order not to think too much ;)

Elle, my heart really goes out to you because I can't imagine how tough it is to go through TTC without the support and care of my dh, what more you are preggie now. I believe a marriage is something worth fighting for, and dun give up till the end is clear. I read something the other day which I hope will help- " you never know how strong you are until being strong is the only choice you have" you are indeed one strong woman and whatever choices you make, I'm sure all of us here will support you.I'm really glad your baby is on the way, it is certainly such a blessing. 

Rostrum, I would be extremely pissed if I were you too! Dun they have better things to do than dig on other's misery.. Relatives are such a big factor in the ttc process. My situation's slightly different. My stepmum asked me recently in a very concerned way and said that she and my dad very worried for me. I was trying to blink away tears as I feel as though I've failed them, yet at the same time speaking in a nonchalant way, almost quite cold, so that she gets the hint that I don't wanna talk about it. So I left feeling quite bad that I was "mean" yet can't control myself cos I will definitely cry if I talk longer.

Lyn, I've a friend who has adopted after several years of TTC too, an she said there is absolutely no difference in whether it's her own or adopted after a while. Her family who was against it at first now love the baby to bits. I wouldn't mind considering that route myself if I really cannot have my own. I feel that pregnancy and giving birth is only a few months in life, but the joys of raising a child of our own is a lifetime. I know there is an adoption dept in MCYS, perhaps they can offer some help in this area.   

hopewaves, All the best for your 2ww...Try to distract yrself by reading books, watching TV and listen to music
Hope to hear good news from u soon..

I am jus like u in the past, when talk abt bb issue, I will cry also. Bt eva since my failed cycle, I tink my tears has dried up. No more tears eva since Jan this year. I hope I will cry soon again bt this time round is tears with joy.

Lets jia you together. Life still goes on with or without babies.

Why is everyone getting pregnant except me??? I feels I m left on the shelf. I feels I m forsaken by god, forsaken by heaven, forsaken by everyone.

Y? Y do I need to go thru ivf and still bfn? Y is life so unfair?

Sorry...too emo today...just wanna find a place to vent out...sorry..

Rostrum
Dun feels sad for myself...
God has not forgotten us, I believe that its not the right time for us, we will be blessing to have a child we call our own at the correct timing, only he knows and will give us the best..
I was married 12 yrs ago, did everything incl many cycles of IVF, I jus want to have a child I call my own, cousins n friends married yrs later than me all have a few children already, even my in laws also tell in front of everyone in cny festival that her "xi fu can't even lays an egg"..When I first heard it, I feels verrry sad, only my hubby n own mum knows I'm trying very hard to have a bb..
Dun feels sad sister, tell yourself "U can make it, and U will make it!" life not ended here, wo a child, we must try our very best, and live our life with our loves ones to the fullest..

Rostrum
We understand how you feel. Sometimes, this helpless, hopeless feeling will come in...after trying so hard (IVF, TCM, exercise, dietary changes etc), how come still see no result. I have my v low points eg.immediately after failing IVF, to the stage that I feel sad for couples on their wedding day. What keeps me going is my religion...my faith that God has not abandoned me and He has a beautiful plan for each one of us. Chin up, ya?

Lyn
On adoption, for me, it's v heart-pain to consider this route. Cos I feel the need to mourn for the loss of a genetic child of me and hubby, and loss of the experience of pregnancy and child-birth. I feel that both parties must be on-board cos a child is a life-time commitment. Give your hubby some time to chew on this, as this can be another stress-point for a marriage. Both of you are still young so there is no need to jump into this now.

Thanks noi...thanks for telling me your story. I tot I hv already get over it. But when all your close frens even those you knows their health conditon is in a worst shape than you are getting pregnant easily, I can't help feeling sad. I really feel helpless and hopeless and feels I am really forsaken?

Why is life so unfair to me? I just want a healthy baby to fulfill our dream to complete the family. Is it so difficult?

miraclebaby,

I have been trying all sorts of methods now before embarking on 2nd try of cycle and I dun even dare to pin too high hopes. I really feels hopeless and helpless. Mabbe I m hving PMS symptoms. Really sorry for being so -ve here!

Hi ladies, me down with bad flu virus. Mc for two days.. feeling damn lousy with the effects of the flu med and rotting at home.

Rostrum, i m also having been very low since monday till now. Feeling emo that i m still childless after all sort of method tried and also the thoughts of staring another ivf cycle again ie gtg for early morning scanning, jabbing etc makes me want to give up....
Yes! i m also asking GOD why does it have to me be to be in this situation? Did i do anything wrong to deserve this!

Miraclebaby i know wat u mean by saying its very heart pain for u to go to the route if adoption coz i remember u saying that adoption simply telling others that u have given up to have a genetic child of ur own. I understand wat u mean. But miraclebaby, i m not sure wat had open my heart to adoption lately maybe its GOD will or maybe its the rough patch that i had went thru opened up my heart to accept another alternatives in life. My hubby is not ready to accept this yet but i m not as resistant to this idea as before. I m really tired after all these roller coast ride.
U mentioned that dr f gtg to gv u some med to helps with implantation?

Noi, u r right. As long as we tried our best is most important. The end result is something beyond our control....

Miraclebaby, to be honest it does bothers me if i m not able to experience pregnancy and childbirth. The only pain i will have is the failure to see the genes of my husband that really saddens me coz i love my husband and hope of have a continuation of him. But in life non thing is perfect and all these may be destinated we wont know....

Rostrum, as to share with u abt a nurse in kkh(but not gossiping hor.. hehehe). I m not sure whether u hv been under her care before. In kk ivf there is a malay nurse whom shared with me that she is childless after 13 years of marriage, tried ivf but failed. The couple adopted a gal.. last year she conceived naturally given bith liao and we i went to kk last 2 weeks saw her pregnant again. So certain things on life is really not predictable. So i believed this r all GOD plans..

Lyn I understand what you mean. I also think my hubby is a great dude and can't wait to continue his "genes" as I think it will be wonderful if our kids can turn out like him. I also tend to feel bad as his sperm analysis has always been good, so the problem really lies with me. I always prided myself for being healthy and fit, but why does it have to be so hard
anyway my friend is already late 30s and her girl is 2 plus.

Lyn, hope you are feeling better now. Drink lots of H2O. I hope my mood dun affect anyone here. Sorry, here is the only place whereby I gain understanding.

I duno abt the Malay nurse bt she is v lucky. I agree, all are destined!

I will check out the adoption forum soon. Thanks!

Hi hopewave, samething here DH sperm has no problem so obviously i m the one with problem... Juz for curiousity, did ur frd ever mention will she disclosure to the child in future that she is adopted?

Hi rostrum, pls dun feel bad abt venting here. If dun vent here then vent where?
I felt alot seeing what you wrote about your failed ivf cycle, and wished can do more to comfort you, but lack the right words to say. I may be the next if this cycle of mine doesn't succeed in 2 weeks time.

Lyn, my friend was very stoic about it, as in she was determined not to make the child feel adoption is a bad thing, so she resolved to let the child know the first instant that she can comprehend things, and will not attempt to hide the fct from her, because there is nothing for her or the child to be ashamed about. Initially her family quite against it, but now all of them love the kid to bits. In fact she threw a babyshower inviting friends to welcome the kid into the family so many people actually knows.

Hopewaves
all the best for your IUI and rest well.

Lyn
think u need to tell the child that he/she is adopted. When I went for the interview at Touch, they state it as an expectation. At the end of the day, it is v hard to hide a secret like this forever and if the child finds out on his/her own, there could be psychological consequences. There are many ways to tell the child even at a young age. Something like 'even if u didn't come from mummy's tummy, we love u v much'. There are many children's books that help explain to the child. The interview process and form filling exercise is v guelling and emotionally draining. Both u and hubby need to be ready for it. I went through the form filling and interview process myself and decided to put the whole adoption process on hold for the time being. For me, it's my hubby that wants to go for adoption. I went along to please him but at the end of the day, I am not ready to adopt. I still cannot accept that I can't get pregnant having done so before.

Rostrum
no need to feel apologetic. We are here to support one another. So air your frustrations, fears etc all u want !

Lyn
Ya, dr f will give me aspirin and steroids this time to help with implantation. He feels that I had too many good embies (from both the fresh and frozen cycles) and attributed the bfn to implantation failure. The aspirin will improve blood flow and the steroids will prevent my body from rejecting the embies. At this stage, whatever dr f asks me to take I will, short of poison!

The Malay nurse is v lucky. God works in ways we cannot see...

Hi Miraclebaby..

Sorry to hijack the thread!

Did the Dr F mentioned anything about Natural Killer cells hence recommends you take steriods? Is he Dr Fong Yang? I have went through 3 miscarriage so read about the NK cells etc and so far have not found any gynae in Singapore that actually prescribe steriods.Reading your experience just give me hope!

Appreciate your reply.

Ling

Dr f is Dr LC Foong of O&G Partners at GlenE.

Steroids can be taken for a lot of issues relating to implantation/miscarriages. NK cells is only one of the possible reasons. He did not get me tested as there are 80 odd tests and I would have to draw out packets of blood plus do a womb tissue extraction, all of which is very invasive and cost a lot of $$$. For me, it's more for implantation and taking steroids will not preclude implantation regardless of whether I have this issue. He will take me off steroids once confirmed pregnant. There are lots of other IVF clinics that give steroids including Raffles Hospital (Dr Thong), Paragon CARE etc.

Did you test the foetus from your miscarriage? Sometimes, there are some abnormalities, which is the cause of the miscarriage, rather than an NK issue.

Miraclebaby, pls keep me posted wat is the name of the steriod dr f gtg to gv u. Recently i had my thyroid screening and it show that i have thyroid antibodies in my blood which i have already saw an endocrinologist and he feels that there is no medications to improve implantation if in any event the antibodies is the cause of my ivf failure. I did talk to dr f abt it and he feels that like wat he told u if our failure is due to immunogical factors there are many many diff immunogical factor to test for. He then reccomended an endocrinologist which i havent see yet perhaps i shld c him first before i start another cycle.

Miraclebaby, no offence.... if a person has immuno issue can also have pregnancy but m/c can be as late as last trimester. The endocrinologist i saw mention that 10 percent of healthy women have thryoid antibodies without knowing themselves... My thyroid test is also normal

Hi Miraclebaby,

I had natural miscarriage for the 2nd and 3rd didnt need to do D and C. I had karyotyping done and miscarriage profile done but all was non conclusive as well. The problem is I conceive all the pregnancies not through IVF hence the reluctance to dispense prednisone by the 2 gynae I saw.

Thanks for the recommendation! =)

Lyn, is the endocrin doc a reproductive endocrin specialist? I myself have hypothyroidism but during the pregnancies stinct and even after the MCs they were in normal range.

Elle,
Please don't say sorry for venting here, this place is meant to share fears, dreams, and everything we can possibly share as people with very similar life experiences. As said by Tigi, its unfair and shortsighted to judge as we are not living in the same household and have not seen all that you have gone through. With the constraints, based on what you described, can I share my own experience with you and some are really quite similar to what the other sisters have described. I hope after hearing them and later me, you will not feel so alone and that you are just like a normal woman as many of us here.

Sister, my heart pain pain when I know what are you going through. From what several other sisters have described, our marriage lives have indeed gone through severe trials due a woman's (shared by each and everyone of us on this thread) basic inborn instinct and urge to be a mother. And when our men often cannot understand that inborn instinct and on top of that, our communication style is so different when faced with different issues and not just about conceiving (we are often focused and will go on and on about what needs to be done while our men will not open their mouth to complain as they often view it as a sign of weakness. Everything is forced into their little bottles as you said. By the time they open their mouths to express, they feel that they have suffered so much and that small bottle is going to explode that it is almost at the junction of no return). So its not your problem that he has masked himself, a large part of it is due to man's ego. Also, in our case, we have a special element - our fertility challenge that forms a big part of our marriage. Our men might feel that a large part of our energy is already need to get pregnant, other issues can wait and wait and wait until volcano is going to erupt.

I have had similar experience with then bf n now hubby, I thought he was ok and happy about certain things but then to my "shock", he has been so-called suffering in silence. Its only when I forced the truth out of him that he admits the unhappiness and about to explode. So pls don't question ur worth as a woman/wife/person when you know that ur hubby is unhappy with his current stage of life with you. Its not your personality that caused it, its can be simply because man are from mars are we are from venus. Also, I can feel your hurt when you know what he has confided in in his friend. I was also very hurt before when I realised during dating time that sometimes we quarrelled, he would go tell his so-called childhood friends. When I knew that, hurt, lack of confidence, hopelessness and loss of pride (we woman have pride too ok) all came to me. But I realised later than men also share this very special brotherhood that we sisters often underestimate.

Also, despite their strong physique, men can be quite timid and their threshold for suffering and pain are like their bottles because they are not built to have to go through childbearing and childbirth like us. So when your hubby did not pick up that call, he might be escaping from his unhappiness and perhaps, the fear of becoming a father. Of course only he will know but the above reasons are possibilities. Like you, I would feel totally hopelessness if that happened but it might not be a sign that he does not care, could be due to escapism.

Based on what you said, your love is still alive but you feel his is not, you just found out about his unhappiness in this marriage, he chooses to be indifferent now and he has not asked for separation. You have initiated separation but he chose to remain silent and is tries sometimes to be concerned. I am not you and you will know the best path for yourself. But can you just hear me out of what may be some alternatives. Sorry if you think I am very kaypoh but I really hope I can offer some alternatives.

Again, at the end of the day, if you still decide to be siao1 sa3 and return him the type of happiness he thinks he wants, I will give you my full support. Like you, I would be very tempted to walk out and make him happy and not force things down his throat and end up parting bitterly. But at this juncture, it is not to too to "keep in view" the situaiton for another 6months to one year as most importantly, you still love him and only just found out the situation. Not that u have found out years ago and still tying him down and make him suffer. Then that is selfish and no good. But he has to take a big part of the responsibility for shoving things into the closet and not being open with u all these years. Also, while its tempting to walk out immediately for you, think of 6 months of KIV period being a drop in the ocean vs the 10 yrs you guys spent together. During this 6 months, say one last time to him, that even if his love is gone, u still love him very much. Just say it once and its enough. Earlier, I suggested to involve him in the pregnancy but now that he is indifferent, still be nice to him and take the initiative to suggest doing nice things together but only very occassionally. If he gives me the cold shoulder, don't pursue further but still have that 6 months timeframe in mind. Give him hints that u are trying but not forcing. When he asks about baby occassionally, update him nicely and tell him u really appreciate his concern and it has made my day. Don't force it again. When the baby comes, he might or might not want to sayang the baby but leave it to him. But as miraclebaby said, a baby change a baby. Keep that open. Over these 6 months, u might have a very low self-esteem and will feel its unbearable to live with someone who is unhappy but keep reminding yourself that its just for six months and not forever. If it works out, happiness is waiting at the end of the bridge but if it doesn't, its only 6 months vs 10 years together. You may or may not want to tell him that you might want to set aside a time frame to try things out, after which, you will be siao1 sa3 and set him free to pursue the happiness he believes he deserves.

Elle, I know all this is not easy given the already heavy emotional and physical demands of pregnancy and being a FTM, that is why it might be good to wait a few months for the new role of motherhood to settle down, while don't expect anything from your hubby (or you will feel more disillusioned and disappointed if does not work) and then see how it goes after that probation period. Update us on the progress whenever you feel like it. And don't have to reply to my suggestions, its just for your to think think only when you are free.

Ok, and that is for marriage and besides marriage, the relationship between a mother and child is priceless and you are indeed blessed with that
With that little being kicking inside you and very soon, you will get to meet her, what else is more important than that. You should be about 38 weeks now, she is considered full term already.so excited for you…
!! After your little one arrives, maybe when you look at her, you will know it’s a new life ahead of you and you will be too occupied with the new role to be bothered anything else and how knows by then, your man may want to fight for a little more attention, who knows, life is so unpredictable.

Got you advice, I will try to control myself from overspending..heheee..and I way I do that is to keep reminding myself that I want to save up to provide her with an option to pursue a good education in 20 years..

Gan,
Don't think its age, think its really the hormones. Because my col told me she is equally tired while being pregnant at 32 vs pregnant at 38. Some people like us tend to be more tired. Like my sister-in-law who was pregnant two years before me, she had no morning sickness, no problems at all, not tired at all and can still mock at people who vomit and I cannot imgaine two years to make such a big diff..

Yes, denial is the word. Its amazing how MIL think universally alike..like your MIL, my MIL questioned the conclusion from scans, she said she think my gynae is wrong. Like your MIL, she also insisted mine could be a boy. I told her, if my gynae can be so wrong, I would want to change gynae immediately.

Sister, yes, rest rest rest and rest. I also underestimated the importance of resting till I realised everytime I rested more, baby put on weight faster and everytime I get busy, baby weight growth slowed down. And that includes amniotic fluid. And when u sleep, try to lie more on the left side to facilitate oxygen and blood flow to the womb. Don't walk too much, don't have any appointments on weekends that are best reserve to be spent in bed to sleep. Hope all your worries go away soon k

Tigi,
Yeah, I totally totally agree with you that for women like us, sex of baby is the last last last thing on our minds. That is why everytime I got that nonsense, I will shout in my mind "don't be so greedy lah, got baby want to ke1 tou1 to god already, still got energy to care if boy or girl meh!!!! So angry with you!!" But cannot shout out all these words, so no choice but replace with phrase to her "baby healthy can already, the rest not important". And like you, I also worry what is the path our children will walk when they start to ttc as yes, its often hereditary..that is why I have kept the to dos and not to dos for ttcing in email archive. I also sometimes worry that when Dr Zou grows old, who will be the next good sinseh to help our offsprings..heeee..I also worry too much hor..

Hopewaves,
I like your "hopewaves" name…can offer a lot of hopes here..

For people like us who have to go through more to be mothers, we will probably value this kinship more and I read before that ivf mums often have better relationships with their children over a 20 years study..so maybe its "bitter first, and sweet later".

Good luck for your this cycle and hope you can bpf with it…and by the time we meet next year, many will come with baby bumps
Will sure post here for the outing time so you can see..

Noi,
Happy to read your reply
Of course can come…it will be something I look forward to sending out first quarter of next year..new year, new hopes for all the sisters here..but how knows, maybe many can have a baby made around the festive christmas period yo

Rostrum
Pat pat too, I know the "shitty" 101%. Its like they won't rest until they see you breakdown on the spot. The feeling is so terrible that you really feel like screaming at them with the words you said right!!!Those relatives are very sad people because its either they don't have common sense or like to hear us admit we cannot conceive with ease unlike them and neither of the above are good reasons. How about next time you tell them you are in no hurry? Say something like well, I know I am not so young lah but I am still very playful leh. And then laugh like you are a small girl like that. Then say, Zoe Tay also have three kids so late. No hurry no hurry, play first, think later. Then they will probably start another lecture to tell you must bear children while young blah blah blah. Then you can say, ok, thanks for your concern loh and will think about your suggestioni and faster change topic. Actually, maybe your method of smiling and acting ignorant could be the best as when they feel no fun, they will backoff. Mostly importantly, if they are those so insensitive type, don't ever bother to share anything about doing ivf or seeing doctors or really wanting kids. If they come to know, nothing good will come out from their mouths again. Truth is that sometimes its better to sound naïve and airheaded rather than let them know what we need to do to conceive as they are some people who like to hear such things and go around spreading. Of course I hope you don't have to see this bunch of relatives for a very long time. And who knows, the next time you see them, your baby bump can speak for itself

I have asked the same question to whom I believe up there before with struggles struggles and still struggles and then Noi said it so well for us..
When you see smoking mums you feel very angry right? When you see pregnant mums who don't care about their fetus and paint their nails, dye their hair anyhow and anyhow eat you feel very angry too right? At least I do. Rostrum sister, I am sure in due time, god will give you that very dear, very precious and very prefect little one. Maybe a few you will never know. Your hardwork are prayers are definitely not unnoticed, they are just kept in the record book up there and the little ones will arrive the best possible time. Of course there will be days that you feel you cannot tahan anymore and on such days, always come here and vent and you find many voices who echo yours and won't feel alone anymore.

Lyn,
Are you feeling better? Maybe it’s the caring for your parents that has lowered your immunity for a while. Once things settle down, you must slow down and recharge k..

Wah, hey Lyn, I am very impressed by your MIL's philosophy. If only she is my MIL's neighbour, then can influence her. I am just daydreaming. Don't feel sad, given the sensibility of your MIL, she will be sad if she knows you feel that way. Also, given that you have tried, that is more important. Unless you never try, since you tried your best, you already have a crystal clear conscience isnt it.

And in the choice of adoption, I want to raise my hand that I am pro-adoption and infact, I did quite a lot of research and thinking on it. Lyn, think I told you before that I always only wanted one child if I want to have a child because I believe that I also want to spend time on other aspects in life. That thinking has been with me even before I know I have problems conceiving. So when I face conception challenges and after the failed ivf that no one embryos could be used, I explored serveral alternatives. In the end I chose the route of trying without expecting much and keep stress free with thought of no child also fine + keep the option open that in due course, maybe when I really don't want to try anymore, if I still love children very much, I will adopt a child and the three of us live happily ever after. I asked my hubby if he will consider adoption and he was not keen right now but he said who knows, many years down the road, he might change and he does not exclude the possibly of adoption. I believe his main concern at that time was his mother. He said maybe when his parents pass on, he is more keen. He suggested to him he is more keen on foster care for the time being. Foster care is also a scheme under MCYS when we can provide temporary care (a few months up to a few years and sometimes it can become permanent adoption depending on circumstances) of parenting, including staying together and caring for babies up to teenager of 18 whose parents cannot care for them either due to imprisonment, ill-treating or other circumstances.

Hb and myself both thought foster care is a good way of using our abundant love for a child in a constructive way by helping kids who deserve more in life. Its like a win-win situation and maybe also a good way to see if one can be good adoptive parents. Up to now, I still have the thinking that when my child grows up and I have more time to cope with other aspects, I am open to fostering kids who derserve more protection at one point in time.

I am not encouraging you to go for adoption or foster care, I just want to tell you what went through a mind of another fertility challenged woman and that these two are both open to me. And I fully support Miraclebaby and Hopewaves' views that I will let my adoptive child know as early as possible that he or she "does not come from my tum tum but it does not affect how much I love him or her". Indeed, I have also thought of this issue before when I open myself to adoption. Ever since adoption become an option for me, I read that testimonials of adopted children said they if given a choice, they rather know from the start about fact they they were adopted as knowing later in life can be very disturbing and result in identity crisis. Sometime this year at Channel 8, there was a programme that showed a group of westerners who adopted chinese babies. These parents formed a support group with other adoptive parents and brought their teenaged children back to the chinese village orphanage where they were adopted. The teenagers mingled with the children still in the orphange and one being interviewed cried because she was very grateful for being given the chance to know her background as a baby as it is important for her as a form of closure.

Another question I thought about, if my adoptive child ask me why her parents "don't want her" as a child might put it, I will tell her that her parents love her very much but believe that at that point in time, its better to let her grow up in my family as I love her just as much. And if she want to look for her real parents in future, I cannot say no. Indeed, there are many "feeling" issues to think about when relating to the adopted child but if handled with care and sincerity, its managable. I also went to the adoptive thread in this forum and saw some familiar names there. Can really feel that none of the mums there regret their decision to adopt and are the proudest and most reponsible mummies to their newborns. I also read that some of them join the thread as they wanted their children to have their own support group when they grow up. And I admire them for their thoughtfulness and love for their children. On the mrts, whenever I see a very naughty child, I will ask myself if I can love that child if its my adopted child and I told myself that it is only the day that I am very sure the answer is yes that I will make than first step. I will question myself if I can love that child like my own. But better to question now than later.

So Lyn, while I want to shower you with a lot of babydusts for you to have a child of your own one day, I am a firm believer that its good to keep options open and I agree with you that if you want a few children in your household, adoption is win win situation to add love and share love within the household. This is just my personal opinion as there is no right or wrong. Its truly personal. Some people are dead against adoption and there are not wrong too as they know what is right for them.

Just as I am about to post this, I read about what Dr Foong suggested. Good good, maybe you find the root to improvement implantation. Its indeed a step forward… yah!

Miraclebaby,
I also admire your honesty when facing yourself. I believe you can get pregnant in the near future and bring that pregnancy to term and hold that moving bundle of joy home. Like you, I believe prayers work..

Ling,
Keep going strong and with your determination and right attitude, you sure can bring a moving bundle of joy home too in the near future.

Thanks babygalore.

Lyn, the blood thinners and steroids are the only drugs to counteract all these immuno issues. So you should consider taking these in your next IVF attempt. Dr f says that these sometimes make the difference...

Ling, that endocrinolgist dr foong had reccomended shld be someone more experience with reproductive issue coz i requested him to reccommend someone of that field... do let me know if u keen to see him coz myself havent see him yet..

Hey babyg, very touched to hear abt ur thoughts towards adoption. Didnt cross my mind u r actually open to adoption or foster parenting. Yes u r right that there is alot of question that we have to asked yourself before making the first step towards adoption. Whenever i go shopping alone or with hubby, watever i saw a very naughter kid i will ask myself if there is a kid that i have adopted will i have the same amount of patience with her/him? I will also ask my hubby this but he will juz smile.. To be honest by posting this question to myself i feel i m not ready. Sometimes emotional over rules my mind that by gtg adoption will put a stop to this painful journey but of course i know by doing this i m very self fish. I certainly need some time to do alot of soul searching.....
Right now, like u say it juz perfectly fine that i shld keep my options open.. be it ivf or later adoption i have to do my best now and no regrets later. Although being fertility challenged causes great impact on myself and hubby i m thankful that my hubby travel this journey of dark tunnel with me and hopefully light is wat we gtg to see at the end of the tunnel. I will strike on....

Miraclebaby, pls share with me the dosage of blood thinner and steroid that dr f will be gving u during ur cycle coz i wont start mine till jan 2011.TIA

Lyn
Dr f mentioned 25mg per day for the prednisone and I think one baby aspirin per day. Some other clinics even do jabs like heparin. Will confirm again when I go on it.

Are u planning to do your next ivf with dr loh of kkh? How come u don't want to continue with dr f? Though I think dr f does not believe in DHEA.

Lyn,

I WANT! hahah can see the desperation in me huh!

Babygalore,

Not sure if it will pays off but my gynae told me that her patient 7 miscarriage and finally after that 3 sons! =) I would much rather have 3 girls but I take them if they come anyway! =) You be an effy mum!

Hi Lyn, blood thinners or baby asprin as they call.. is regular asprin in 79-81mg per tablet. My gynae actually recommends that 1 month prior to TTC to start taking as she claims that it takes a while for body to "react" as the dose is low. No side effects from what I know because a lot of ppl take them to maintain a healthy heart.

Wow....the thread is running fast!

Morning gals!

Hopewaves, u r in yr 2ww now? Please dun say unlucky things. +ve outcome must hv +ve mindset ok?

Lyn, I feels the same as the others. The child got the right to know tt they are adopted. My fren whom went thru adoption also was counsel by the cousellor tt it is better to let them know. If one day I were to go for adoption, I will also let my child know, of course when they are more matured. I dun tink they will want to find out abt their biological parents since they give them up in the 1st place! They will be more grateful towards their adopted parents.

babygalore dear! Thanks for your heartfelt words. OMG, your posts and the other sisters' posts strikes a chord in my heart. Tears well up my eyes bt I tell myself I am not going to shed a tear. The bad times since my last bfn has past and I hv to stay motivated and +ve for my next cycle.

The next time round i will stay away from the gatherings if possible so as not to affect my mood. I am not being anti-social. I really love to join the gatherings but each time when I am the center of attraction or talk of the town, I just feel so frustrated and upset which I see no point.

Dun worry, I feel much much better now. I really like this thread v much. I find alot of understanding ppl here and I can vent it out here at times, just tt I feel bad at time...cos I m being -ve. There is no nonsense, no prejudice here...only love, warmth, care and understanding.

I really wants to THANK YOU EVERYONE HERE! I hope I can really share good news soon. But if really does not work out again. I will hope u all can console me. keke.

Take care babygalore and yr lil princess!

Babygalore, you really gave all the right words to say. Are you a counsellor? If you are not it's such a waste! =p

Yah I'm halfway through my 2ww, actually I really dun feel anything different at all, wondering if it's a bad sign. But like what you guys encourage me, I muz remain positive. I'm just glad for this break from painful jabs and scary bills!

Hey this week is natas fair, anyone planning to go for a getaway? I'm a travel freak and really wanna go somewhere in dec, any good suggestions that can acomodate my small budget since spent so much on ttc Liao. Thinking of a nice beach place, relax and do nothing

hopewaves, all the best in your end result. Hope to hear good news in this thread soon
Which fertility centre are u in?

I can't plan for any getaway yet. Hey, if u bfp le, is it ok for you to travel in Dec? If u want a nice beach place for relax and do nothing, I personally find Krabi, Phuket or even Bintan is relaxing. Din get to go other beach resorts yet.

Hi Ling, the endocrine dr that dr f reccomended is Dr Lee Chung Horn at Gleneagle medical centre 64411600.

Hopewwave, many a times no sign means good sign lei.. U went to the Natas fair already? I m dwn with flu cant go but very tempted to go see see.. i planning to go Hong kong or japan..

Hi rostrum, if can minimise those gathering then thats the best but i know sometimes relative gathering hard to avoid... anyway we live life for ourselves not others so hack care them.

Rostrum, juz wan to say to u dun worry abt venting ur negative thoughts or feeling here. This thread is indeed a blessing for us(thks babyg) coz we r able to let our steam out otherwise dun know where to let out coz most frds and even family r not sensitive enuff to know abt our difficulties during this journey...

Lyn, agree!!! Really wanna thanks to babygalore. I tink if there is no this thread, I will go bonkers liao.

So u intend to cycle with Dr F or Dr Loh?

No matter wat, really hope all of us can graduate soon.

Hi rostrum, ya if i m gtg to try ivf again will be gtg back to dr loh coz i m taking DHEA under him. Hope kk system will be better...but i think will be the same coz now more ppl doing ivf hence we will expect little or no attention... When i saw dr loh his attitude is fine and he is quite encouraging as in he feels nonthing is impossible, he told us have to try otherwise we wont know the outcome.

Hi Lyn,

No not yet... I am on some duty travel stretch this month so a litte difficult. Might have to do it in Oct when it doesnt get this crazy.Thanks for the recommendation though. I am currently seeing an endocrine doc as it is... just the Kiasu-ness in me =P

Hope everyone is well and happy...

Lyn,
no. I'm still around, still working. but work from home now cos moving around is difficult for me. How i wish can start my maternity leave now but my assistant resigned and noone to take over my job. Sigh. In such a short time dunno how to find replacement.

Babygalore, thank you so much for your advise. I have decided to give him some time. Deep inside actually I feel very sad. Baby is coming soon but he's like avoiding me. Now go out early, come back late. One whole day,I think we only say 2 words the most.Anyway, I have to get used to it. I have even prepared myself to go labour on my own. Now I can only pray tat my labour goes smoothly.

Rostrum, dun worry about the outcome. We know we have tried our best and we won't regret that. I will support you all the way

Gan,hope you are doing well as well.
All other ladies here who have listen to my rant, thank you so much. I'm sorry can't write a long post now cos heaps of work are waiting for me.
Dun give up and keep on jia you

Lyn, dun expect much from KKH service. Get what I mean? I think Dr Loh got mood swing one...must see his mood. But so far I am ok with him.

Strike back when you are ready.

elle, good to hear from you. Erh, how about getting your mum, cousin or close frens to go labour with you? Are you sure you want to go alone? I m sure yrs is a smooth one. Dun worry!

Thanks for your support. Yes, we have tried our best the rest is beyond our control.

Rest well ok? Dun over exert.

Elle
Just a suggestion, maybe you ask hubby outright now whether he wants to be at the birth. If not, pls stand by your parents, relatives and friends. This is not the time to be heroic in case the birth is not so quick or smooth (touch wood!). And it is a special, happy moment, so it should be shared.

Lyn
recovered from your flu?

Rostrum
how are u?