Childless Not By Choice Group

Gan,
I also want to say that 7mm is also not so thin. Nearer to the date, as long as it grows to 8mm, its suffice as I have heard of implantation with 8mm lining also. That time I asked Dr Zou, she said 8mm is considered passed. Jia you sister

Gan,
Sorry, I meant use that mentality and it will be easier to cope. I know it will never be easy to cope. where is your office? If you work near raffles place, I can give you some of the heatpad I bought last time as I overbought them.

Rostrum

Really paiseh to tell you that its been always two weeks since I told you I want to visit Dr Zou and I have not gone yet due heavier workload..heeeee..But lately I went for one more session of yoga, so that has helped to ease off some stress. I trying naturally for now and have not set another timeline when to consider another cycle, but if I do, will be first to update here.

Wah!! You won so much! Cannot believe it..maybe it means that 2010 will be your lucky year…may you be so lucky all the way this year in whatever you do

For chicken essence, I may be wrong but some doctors believe that it has a high concentration of estrogen (being injected into farmed chickens to accelerate their growth) that could interfere with the cycle. I even heard of a more extreme case. You heard of christopher chen from GEH? For his ivf patients, he gave them a list of forbidden food during cycle and soy is on the list. According to him, soy also has a high concentration of natural estrogen and he forbids his patient to take as he wants all the hormones involved to be controlled by him. Under him, there are also failures and success cases. So its hard to pinpoint any particular right or wrong. My personal opinion is if I think for that by doing that (which I had not done for previous cycle) will increase my chance, I will do it as long as its not overdoing it (Such as drinking 3 chicken essence a day). So I think can drink chicken essence during 2WW and keep it to one a day.

For taking tcm during 2WW, this is solely my personal opinion. I thought of this issue very hard before. I may be simplifying things a bit here but its my personal experience. A lot of TCM drs believe that tcm will "tiao" the body to its optimum form such that after taking it for 3mths to a year, the body can become intelligent. That is, the patient can stop taking tcm and the body will begin to regenerate itself. I do believe in that experience from thousands of years knowledge. But unfortunately, my body belong to the not so intelligent type. After I took tcm for 6 months and stopped, I noticed my body not only failed to become intelligent, the few cycles immediately after stopping tcm were so ridiculously all over the place. It took me more than half a year to walk out of the shadow of the chinese herbs. So it will be good to know our body type. For the more intelligent body and more successful case of "tiao" effect, its probably ok to take tcm and stop once cycle commences. But I know for myself, if I start taking herbs, I must also continue to take during 2WW since my body will become so reliant on the herbs.

Liz
Yes, thanks Liz, I feeling better and not sick so often for these two weeks liao…hope stay this way so I can finally take leave for leisure seek and because sick. Guess what, now that stupid and insecured male col does not speak to me anymore and he has been nicer to everyone else except me. The irony is that several of everyone he is trying to be nicer to are telling me they hated him and have suffered under him too..so he is still in the dark how much of a public enemy he is. A pest will always be a pest..

Meow,
You are so kind. As far as I know, the opportunistic people that I know will use the chance when their bosses ask them that question to squeeze something out from the co/boss. Whatever it is, if you have a chance again, try to ask him what he has in mind for you. Get him to say his part, then you think about it and say your bit. At least find out if he has any plans for you. Remember k sister, chances in the banking sector can be very volatile, use it if you can. If you have the chance, even if you know you have you own goals, still must ask!

Lyn,
Yes sister, I much better now..thanks..next time if got chance, we should watch such charity shows together (can do so at my house) than can share our thoughts immediately
Yeah, when I saw the story of the girl, on one hand while my heart goes out to her, on the other hand, I reminded myself to treasure what I have now because its not up to us when fortune or misfortune comes. Yeah, and can also share your sentiments about the what the lady with twins said :"never thought I will have a child one day". I believe it is only people with our experiences can feel for this statement. Even now, I kept reminding my hubby that we cannot assume we will have a child one day. Nothing can be assumed one loh…most important is to try our best, have a clear conscience and cherish what we have
Yes, yes, I know which doctor you saw liao..its that golden hair one right. You mean you ate her medicine and ended up not ovulating when you were ovulating on your own before..means the prescription totally not suitable for you liao. Sama sama as you, I saw Dr Tan for six months and cycle never improved, for my case, I think its due to my mc history. I think she did give me the right medicine though. I guess for the two of us, its "yuan2" with the doctors also. Maybe we must wait for the right "yuan" to come our way one day.

Lyn, I wonder if your SIL lives in the Ming Dynasty when the elder brother helps baby brother to raise money to marry. I really pity her. Going by the ming dynasty society rules, the younger SIL must also obey 100% your instructions and expectations of her. She is really pityful. By saying that, she is just insulting her own intelligence. Also, by buying branded stuff in Taiwan (unless at dutyfree at airport), she also insulting her own intelligence leh..a lot of Taiwanese and China tourist like to buy LV and branded stuff like watches in Singapore because down here is really cheaper being a tax free port. She really quite silly ;p

For helping them out, suggest you and your hb give a tangible gift for their new house, eg, fridge, washing machine and nowadays, very good japanese brand cost $1000 or around there. Don't give them hard cash or she will use it to buy bags in unapproriate countries again. At least if its tangible stuff, your PIL also know you all are sincere in helping to furnish their house. If give hard cash, no proof and your SIL/BIL will act blur in future.

Gan,
The extracts you wrote from the book are very profoundly intelligent esp "you can't let your expectation control you and you can't allow the expectations of others define yours". I truly believe that if we can master this in our lives, we would have reach "nirvana" like what Liz and Lyn and myself talked about when we met up last time. Its reaching that level of peace that is challenging and yet a worthy pursue.

Gan,
I forgot to mention, you eating brazilian nuts (can buy from cold storage at Bugis. Its at nuts section). The rich selenium in it will help for lining. Eat about 5 a day, chew well and drink more water as they are heaty. Ensure milk is selenium enriched too.

sunflower seed and babygalore, thanks so much for your encouragement and advice. I really felt down yesterday after the scan, because i was hopping the lining would have grown since last friday to at least 8mm, so that i can do ET on Friday. Moreover i have been going acu daily since last friday, so was hopping to hear some fantastic number. Anyway after reading all your posting, i sort of calm myself and will chiong the last leg like what Sunny said. Thanks girls.

Babygalore i have been eating brazilian nuts almost everyday since 2 weeks ago. Just ate 1 whole durain myself...will be drinking dr zou's med later. will be on leave from tomorrow onwards, so hopefully in a more relax mood, lining will also chiong the last leg.
Thanks for the offer for the heatpacks, i have just bot them at Daiso this evening after hearing Nnacy from ivf forum telling us daiso sells that

Gan,
Yeah yeah, rest rest rest and sleep sleep sleep and eat eat eat and I am sure your lining will grow grow grow..
And trust me, when mine was 5mm that time, I googled and saw that overseas, also got people BFP with even 6mm. So yours is already above that on top of that, time is still on your side for you to chiong last leg

hi bbgalore

welcome back!

Gan,
Jia you.. the last leg ler.. u have come so far.. be optimistic ok!

i jus started puregon tdy. the pen not as easy to use at gonal f pen leh.. ouch ouch ouch leh.

anyway.. now i jab lucrin and puregon in the morning.. no more alternate sites to jab ler.. every day both left n right also kena
hahaha.. so now i got bruises all ard. boo hoo..

tdy hubby finally saw me do the jab on myself.. he said i brave leh. hmmphh.. last cycle i also jab myself mah.. he nvr say last time.

hmm. hope i dun get too moody w all the jabs.. yday work was hectic.. non stop.. haiz. till i cant take it and went to the toilet to cry.

nowadays minor stuff will cause me to break down.. jia lat manz

and hor.. dunno cos of the meds or wat.. i got hot flushes....

anyway.. yday didnt manage to rush to Dr zou's cos i left office at 8.30..
this sunday i'm going to a run event.. so cannot go to her also..

oh. i woke up w a sore throat.. darnz.. just on the day i start 2nd stage right.. suay manz.

wah. i grumble a lot hor.. maybe it's the meds lah. hahaha..

ok.. i'll check back on this post later..

bye ladies~! and have a good friday.. and wkend!

Meow, you a VERY brave girl to jab yourself! I get my hubby to jab for me so that i can look away. Yes, after days of jabs, i also have blue blacks on my tummy, most probably hit a blood vessel during the jab.

The med will have some side effects, based on the book i am reading now
side effects for lucrin: headaches, hot flushes, sweats, breast tenderness, constipation, dizziness, fatigue, moodiness, vaginal dryness, irritation at injection site

So it's the side effects that why u have hot flushes and also break down at minor issues... no worries, you will be a happy person when u BFP! I remembered during my fresh cycle, i have headache everyday during the afternoon and will always knock out at around 11pm, when before jabs, i can tahan till 12am or 12.30am then sleep.

Drink lotsa water as these jabs are heaty i think. Also take Vit C to keep urself in tip top condition. When r u going for first scan?

JIA YOU!

Hi meow
According to the nurse, after u jab the area, u can use the swap to gently press on the area for a min, I helps for me too...
Dun stress by your work, take leave if possible if u r feeling tired n stress! Work is no ending...take warm honey early in the morning with a empty stomach will help your sore throat, also take alots of fruits rich in vit c (rem not directly from the refrig)..All the best n Jia You!

Hi Gan
When is your next scanning?? All the best to u too

Hi babyg, u r very right! In miu miu shop, the retail ppl say they r cheaper coz they do comparsion via the website and i commented that no leh i juz saw the same model in sg cheaper so i told my sil sg cheaper why buy here but she still buy leh... so maybe she wanted to show off infront of me loh.. crazy women. I think she know nuts abt making babies thats y she say such things silly! Lets see lor...

Gan, rest more and eat more nutritous food.

Meow, i find puregon is abit painful leh..

Meow, poor gal.. i understand the emotional swing that u having now then somemore with work stress it will be worst.. TGIF. go have more rest at home during the weekend and all the best...

hi Gan

my 1st scan will be on 23 apr.
i think i get the moodiness side effects a lot.. then sometimes headache lah.but last cycle in NUH.. i dun get so much bruises in my tummy leh.. maybe slimmed dn now.. hit blood vessels every where.. if only strike TOTO so easy hor. hahaa

lyn
yes.. puregon a bit painful.. yday 1st jab hor.. was depressing the pen dial.. wah.. can feel the meds going in leh.. and ouch ouch ouch!!!
i find lucrin also cause itch on the injection site.. nvm.. we jia you together!!

tdy i going to have dim sum lunch w my parents.. then tmr i going for a run/walk event. hahah.. got to occupy myself w stuff.. if not.. i will get moody der..

next wk shld be my last wk of work ler.. intend to take my leave earlier before the actual ER date cos dun wanna stress myself at work. my work currently very stressful leh.. grrr

hi noi
yah.. drinking honey now loh..hehehe.. but i got to make the drink myself.. boo hoo.. unfair!!!! hubby sore throat.. i make for him der wor..

Hi meow
never mind, make for him now and tell him he has to "fu si" u for the rest of his life...kekeke...
For your tmr run/walk event, take it slowly...jus take a walk k..dun drain yourself, weather not good, drink lots of warm water k...Take care!

Hi Gan
How is your scanning today? Hope your lining have grow to the ideal thickness! ~ Grow, Grow, Grow!~ Jia You!

Hi gals....I m so bz for the past whole week and din login...

Hi babygalore,
Go for TCM when u r more prepared...dun stress yrself since u r trying naturally now...For my body, I noe I suits TCM...without TCM, my face is pale pale de...like a ghost lidat...wif TCM, my cheeks more rosy...

Lyn & meow,
Is puregon more painful than Gonal F? The needle thicker? Anyway, please hang on there! Jia you! Meow, u r v brave to inject yrself...I dun even dare...my hands start to tremble when I hold it...lolx...

Hi Gan,
Hw is yr scan today? Did u drink more red bean soup? I m sure Dr Zou's medi will help de...Hv faith ok?

I m reading from the other thread abt Immunocal and COQ10...wonders anyone here taking? Any comments?
Someone posted its good to take 3 mths before starting on a cycle...do we need doc's clearance before taking all these? I m now taking TCM now leh...if add in these 2, I will be so bz drinking here and there...heee...

Hi girls my lining today is 7.8mm
the sonographer said she will write 8mm on the form to the doc...using her words, "very ke lian to keep taking medicine" Can see triple layer although not very clear. Quite thankful she did that because i think i will break down if they tell me the cycle is cancelled. Not sure if i am pushing it but will go through ET and pray for the best result. After the scan at kkivf, i went down to Dr Zou to buy the TCM for lining, no intention for acu, since i never booked but 2 girls were late so Dr Zou asked me go for acu.
My ET will be on Tuesday.
Hopefully these few days will grow more beyond 8mm.

Rostrum, i have been taking red bean quite often, this time not sure why the lining never grow. To be honest, i am disappointed because i tot i have gone for acu, take red bean frequently in the hope of better lining than last fresh cycle. But nvm, will now look forward to my ET on Tuesday and hope for the best.
I have never taken COQ10 and Immunocal but i think it's some protein drink, The gals with CARE are taking it. Not sure if need doc clearance, maybe check with Pandawife at IVF link?

Meow, hey i wish i can slim down, my tummy is like 3 mths preggy...ba ba one lor. kekeke but i still have patches of blue black around the tummy during injection leh. Even now i discover i have a patch of blue black below my belly button from acu!

Gan,
Bt yr lining did grow right? I understand yr disappointment...tt time when I was in stage 2 under NUH, and if my follicles din grow well initially...I will feel so stressed up and feel disappointed and feels like breaking down...it really will affect our mood...bt I learn to relax at tt time not tinking much and try to keep myself occupied...and guess wat? The follicles grow so fast in the next scan...I tink sometimes is due to stress lo...try to relax...and yr body will react well de...All the best for yr ET on Tuesday...dun tink too much...all will be well!

Gan,
I noe u dun like to drink chix essence...bt perhaps u cn try...tt time I drink chix essence and everything grows quite fast...just a suggestion...
By the way, the immunocal is too exp la...dun tink I will take...
I hv been drinking Low fat milk everyday now...the protein level might not be high enuff as compared to ensure milk...bt since I m not starting the cycle yet..so will just drink as per normal...perhaps when I m ready to start, then will start on ensure.

Rostrum, actually i have been drinking 1 bottle of chicken essence daily before my second scan...but the lining didn't grow at all during the second scan, so i stopped the chicken essence coz never like the taste. maybe it's work stress bah, my 2nd scan was last tuesday, i took off on thurs and fri and today shows the lining grew by 0.8mm. so i guess maybe tai tai life is better for me.

I drank Ensure everyday during my fresh cycle, stopped drinking after the BT. just bot 1 small can strawberry flavour to drink during the 2ww. AS for milk, as i normally eats cornflakes in the morning, so will have milk to go with that.

Gan

Chin up. I am sure you will get past 8mm by ET day. Some of the other gals on the ivf thread have very exaggerated linings and I think it's becos they are on the jabs and lining will grow faster becos their e2 levels are higher.

How many embies do you have left? If u think you are pushing it this cycle, one thing you can consider is whether u want to keep the better embryos for your next cycle. Believe Sunny did that as well.

I am currently taking 3 progynova per day and this will continue post ET together with cyclogest and duphaston.

Hi miraclebaby, i have 9 embbies left, will be putting 3. Actually kkivf never asked me what grade of embbies i want to put in. my remaining embbies are a mix of grade 3 and 4 (5 being the best).
I have been very concern about my progesterone and emailed dr loh few days back, but strangely he said FET different, do not need such high level of progesterone. Still not convinced, i asked the nurse and doc on duty today, they said inserts enuff.
So i am only on cyclogest and 4 tablets (2mg each) progynova each day after ET.
Your ET is on Monday right? All the best to you! Do rest well and relax during the 2ww. Don't worry about work or anything. Jia You!

hi noi

ok ok. i will take it slow for the walk event tmr. actually i got a slight flu.. took panadol flu max tdy. now better ler.

hi rostrum
i poke better than he poke. puregon needle is as fine as gonal f lah.. but hubby poke hor.. i get bruises leh. yday when he press the dial in.. wah. i can feel the meds going in loh. pain. tdy i jab myself.. i didnt leave any bruise marks loh..... so better i jab than him lah. hahaha.. *he secretly wanna take revenge on me maybe hahaa*

Dear sisters, some Dos and Don'ts for your reference which i get from this book 'The Couple's Guide to In Vitro Fertilization" I bot from Amazon recently. Actually more useful for fresh cycle, so i just read on off like a bedtime book as i am doing FET now. Some of the things we know le, but still good reminder!

1. Do take a prenatal vitamin and folic acid
2. Do eat a balanced diet
3. Do drink lots of fluids
4. Do inform your doc if you are sick during the cycle
5. Do go to bed early
6. Do continue moderate exercise cu as walking or light workouts. Keeping your body active - but not overactive - will likely have a calming effect on your mind.
7. Do consider keeping a journal of your IVF journey
8. Do pamper yourself.
9. Do let your partner pamper you.

Don't
1. Don't eat "risky" food such as sushi, unpasteurised cheese
2. Don't diet
3. Don't more than one or two caffenated beverages a day.
4. Don't drink more than one alcoholic beverage a day
5. Don't smoke
6. Don't tak any medications without speaking to your doctor first. Certain prescription and over counter drugs - even ibuprofen, adult-dosage aspirin, or a flu shot can have an impact on sucess
7. Don't take any natural herbs
8. Don't run excessively or overdo the exercise
9. Don't indulge in saunas, jacuzzis, hot tubs or vert hot baths
10. Don't take on extra projects. Undergoing IVF is challenge enough
11. Don't make dates with difficult friends or family members. The last thing you need is more agitation.
12. Don't beat up on yourself during those moments you are feeling less than positive. Occasional negative vibes are normal and won't affect the outcome of a cycle.

meow, hmm...i am not sure abt panadol flu max...if i don't remember wrongly normal panadol ok for pregnant mummy but not sure abt panadol flu max.
Would u be able to email ur gynae to ask?

meow, take does soluable Vit C, it will help cure ur flu quickly, and if not feeling well, try not go to crowded places. Take good care

Gan, glad that u r gtg ahead with ET. No worries linning will still grow even after ET... gd luck.

Ladies, i have started to cycle liao...give me some time to update coz am feel quite stressed up now and plenty of mood swings coz the upcoming scans are unpredictable! 2day suddenly have the idea of stopping everything and go for adoption. I really need DH 100 percent of support...!

Gan,
I tink staying relaxed is better for u

miraclebaby,
U r right! During stimulation, our lining will grow v fast due to the jabs...and due to elevated e2 levels...

meow,
U r so funni....dh wans to take revenge on u...actually during my last cycle, when dh does the jabs for me, sometimes he wil joke tt if I dun listen to him, he will exact his revenge when administering the jabs for me...hohoho...

Actually I feel so "xin ku" now...unable to sleep...Tink I tok my lunch v late today at 4+...and somemore tok Dim Sum...and duno issit oily or wat? Or I tok the lunch too late, too hungree liao, then aft tt no appetite.. Aft tt dun feel good...chest feel v tight and jus now I feel quite suffocated lidat and no appetite for anything...tok fishball soup for dinner...bt oni tok 1/2 bowl of soup wif 1 fishball, and bean sprouts...
Then I tok 2 panadols...and now wide awake...though dun feel so tight on my chest now...bt on and off still get it...sigh! Hopefully I still can crawl to Dr Zou later this morning for acu...if still feel unwell, tink will oni collect medi for the next one week....haiz...

Gan

Yes, my ET is tomorrow. I only have 4 embies left and will only know tomorrow before ET if they thaw well. So can't help but be a bit kan cheong. This is my last chance else have to go back to drawing board and start another round of jabs...

My dr does only medicated fet and gives a lot of progesterone support for fet but he doesn't believe in doing any BT for progesterone level.

I believe kk will use your embies from the best to worst. If u want anything different u must tell them. What is one your side is that u have so many embies left.

Yesterday was running around everywhere stocking up on food, books and other things to occupy myself during 2ww.

Let's Jia you together

Rostrum

maybe you have some sort of indigestion... Better let dr zou know.

Gan

are u taking herbs this cycle?

you are the closest in terms of fet timing as compared to me.

I do visit the ivf thread but I don't quite feeling like posting anything sometimes as the thread is so busy...

Lyn and meow

good luck cycling...

mircalebaby, not sure if TCM is natural herbs? Dr Loh is against taking TCM during cycling, so i didn't take any until my 2nd scan when i discover my lining never grew. So Dr Zou prescribe some med for me to take, I was desperate, so i took the med and time it such that it is 2 hrs after my progynova.
How abt u? Are u taking any natural herbs?
Yes, our ET is one day apart so starting the 2ww almost together.

Don't worry about your embbies, they are strong and will thaw well.
Tomorrow you will see them. I still remembered I was very happy during my ET for fresh cycle seeing the embbies on the screen, was telling my hubby "hey our babies" Jia you, sister!

Wld you have anyone to cook for you during ur 2ww? I went marketing this morning to buy the pork and chicken as my mum will be dropping by next week to cook my meals. Also bought a small can of ensure milk and some brazil nuts. Maybe will buy a few mag to read. Will be back to work week after next.
All the best!

miraclebaby,
I told Dr Zou this morning bt she din say anything and say I can still proceed for acu...and she also acu for my stiff neck also...feel a bit better...bt later I m going for a neck massage...cos quite pain lo...

Gan,
I drink lotsa water and tok Vit C jus now..feel much better now..bt appetite still nt so good...hopefully I dun feel sick cos I cannot afford to go on MC next week...

Lyn,
I not sure whether I posted before..I hv asked Dr Zou abt TCM during 2ww and she says it is up to me whether I m comfortable wif it or not? If I dun feel stressed in taking, then can consider...Most impt is to be relaxed...
I ask her whether there is any side effects or clashes wif the medication...she say no....

lyn

no stress..no stress.. think we are cycling together this time. hehee..
jia you together ok?

n dun feel compelled to post anything here lah..
if u wan to air ur frustrations or just grumble (due to meds side effects)... .. u can post here bah..
if u feel ok.. and wanna post.. also can post here..

Meow,rostrum and other ladies thks for understanding..

Meow, i juz feel so depressed and waiting to cry for no reason.. maybe thats the side effects of gonal f. Sigh.. and somemore more and more ppl ard me getting pregnant recently.. it makes feel myself even more incomplete.

Miraclebaby, goodluck for ur ET. Ur embies r frozen at d3 prev?

Rostrum, r u better already?

Lyn,
I rmb tt time when I was on suprefact, I also got the mood swings and pick on dh over every lil thing...I tink its the act of hormones...dun blame yrself...its normal...
Tel yrself u wil be next to get preggie...hv all the +ve vibes and things will come true real soon!

I m feeling better aft the neck massage...appetite also improves...now pray tt I can slp better later on...