Sisters,
How are you all?? I have taken sick a few times over the past few weeks, first was a very bad sore throat that result in full "cold" outbreak from the haze earlier and then episodes of fever/flu, now feel weak like going to fall sick any time again. Think I could be going to visit Dr Zou soon to "tiao" yi "tiao" my body, cycles also long and still unpredictable so much so that I don't do charting anymore.
Ling,
If I am you, I will be outright too with those pain inflictors too including your senstive inlaws. Maybe we belong to the generation that we believe in speaking our minds as long as we think we are reasonable and right.
Same as you, after suffering from mcs, I also make it a point to be even more sensitive to people who are suffering emotional turmoils in whatever forms and not to throw any blessings into their faces. I believe a lot in karma loh, even if others do that do us, we also can do that to others its it all boils down to having a heart and basic humanity.
Liz,
You are as witty as ever..heheeheee....nowadays those kaypoh mothers ask me why I so anti-children such that like Ling said, hope to hear I am actually infertile. I will tell them "my life is complete with kids, don't need kids to complete them", which is actually my dogma that we cannot depend on other human being to complete our lives. But of course to those that I trust including you all, I will say, the truth: although my life is already complete, a kid will bring more joy and allow my hubby and myself a chance to see another side of life.
Wah…you have probably tried all the nice home-made soup ever possible. Envy you. ABC soup is my favourite..
it’s really a comfort food.
Hey, the wheatgerm extract can get in capulse from from pharmacies right?
Lyn,
Thanks for trying to organise outing for us over the past weeks
You are absolutely right, Dr Tan SB and her cols are not actually very very pro IVF as they believe the success rates are not so high vs using TCM over a one year period. Anyway for Dr Tan, she did tell her patient that for anyone that wants to do IVF with her, she would advice the person to start taking her medicine about 3 to 6 mths before the cycle. And she also does not believe in acu loh..
Agree with you, how much we think does not help, so lets just keep going forward and don't think too much about the result.
Elle,
Hihi…hope you get better and better everyday. Don't worry about the cramps, could be ligaments stretching to accommodate baby. For the spotting/bleeding, my cousin also had that experience before and her gynae diagnosed it as due to her placenta cover part of the opening of the cervix (such that when your daily activities increase, the friction also increase and that irritates the placenta)? For her, her placenta eventually moved away by the end of 2nd tri and she had a natural birth and not C-Section. So the in the meantime, minimise your activities, no exercise and also no intercourse until no more spotting/bleeding for a while. Actually, I am not sure if your gynae can tell you using his scan where your placenta is positioned. Some gynae machine can.
For your stupid boss, play taichi with him, if he asks you to do work, say ok ok and then do slowly. Singapore labour law forbids the employer from sacking any woman 6 months prior to due date. So you are well-protected. When time comes for you to leave, you then can have your sweet revenge
Thanks for your support and understanding you cannot keep coming here but you will always be on our mind and you have our blessings and support too k
And I am catching some of your babydust and safekeeping them well for the future…
Rostrum
Wei, have you heard of the saying that the number of lines on our neck shows roughly how old we are? True for me lah..I have three lines now as I am in my thirties…;p Sama sama as you, did not really take care of the neck until now regret.
Totally agree with those concerned friends making such sian remarks. The worst is that some of these concerned friends don't face fertility problems themselves right? I used to have a few friends who suffer from serious acne issues in school and I never give them unsolicted advice as I don't know anything about acne myself. They always confide that they are so so frustrated when they get unsolicited advice from people with good complexion such as "you wash your face more often loh", "you eat more fruits lah". I don't know what makes the smart alex with good complexion think that they know the solutions to solving acne problems! Probably because they think they have good complexion so can advice people. But acne problem is very similar to fertility issues, not one plus one equals to two. I think people with no fertility problem always look upon us as "naïve people who don't know who to make babies, don't know how to explore different channels, no common sense or cannot cope with the stresses in lifes that end up with this problem.". If they know we have explored so many channels so failed, they will say "wah, tried so hard still no babies, sure got some serious problems!" Well, just let your friends continue to be smart alex and leave like mountain tortoises themselves. ;p
Meow,
Wei, good to see your spread your cheerfulness over here
..and always remember, we sisters here will support during your current cycle. Do anything that makes your feel more relaxed (of course I know ivf can never be relaxed!) Meanwhile, always remember that there is a group of sisters there who knows what you are going through as we are fellow "classmates!"..heeeeeheee…
Yes, as the sisters said, can start taking egg white liao, maybe start slowly first (one a day and slow build up) so you won't have phobia. Remember you used to steam it and when you described it, I salivate ;p Remember your ensure too, it taste not so good, mix with milo also can
For soup, my its better to put in the fridge and they you reheat the next day. I have a friend who even store in the freezer if she cannot finish and she will take it out to reheat the next day. But like what Liz said, if contain vege, try to finish the vege first as reheated vege only has fiber and no other nutritional value.
Lyn, Gan, Liz and Rostrum and other sisters who are reading,
Jia you jia you for your cycles, do whatever it takes to be MORE relax (again, I know ivf can never be truly relaxing but hope our comradeship can share a bit of the stress)
Gan,
Actually when we met the first time after we got to know some of sisters from the ivf thread..the way we identity each other was that we each brought a book along at a specified meeting place and time. So instead of using roses to identify, we used a book…heheheee..and after that, we made one another guess who is who. And surprisingly, the guesses were all quite right. We retrained from using sms/phone to identify who is who. After meeting up, we identified using names outside of this forum
It was quite fun. So in future if we meet up with new sisters whom we have not met, it will be very fun to use do the guessing game again
Sisters,
For bananas, the ones that are good for us (got lots of iron and potassium and not liang) are called "pang1" jiao in dialect. It’s the smallest time that is almost oval in shape and quite stocky and cute looking. One bunch usually has at least twenty. And when its ripe, its much sweeter than the Del monte long long big big type (avoid that type, liang). Usually, you will find a lot of pang jiao at small fruit stalls and a few at ntuc. My mum said can eat those, she also let my nephew eat, say very nutritious and not cooling at all.
Noi,
The 2 Apr cancelled as Lyn got important commitment. So I will try to fix up something in the month of Apr again.