Childless Not By Choice Group

Gan/tigi/rostrum, i guess everyone have different path in life.. we may be fallen into those difficult to conceive type but we shld also keep reminding ourselve that we r already lucky to have a stable job and no need to worry abt 3 meals. There are families with many kids but cant even have 3 complete meals every day and my heart feels so sour for kids in such family. So if we want to have kids we must also plan for them ie educate them and give them wat we r capable of..

morning gals!

me scared leh.. tmr start lucrin liao... no problem if i inject in the morning hor? ard same time also right.

so funny right.. last cycle every day jab and extended suprefact jabs somemore.. not scared.. now after 6mths no injections on my own.. i suddenly very stressed leh.. cos i scared i dun dare to poke the needle in again.. cos the last time, the first time i did it myself also took me 5mins to talk to myself to "Just poke it in and get it over and done with". hahaha
dunno tmr will need 10 mins of self prep talk or not..

cos last time i use suprefact.. but shld be the same procedure right?

but lucrin only jab 10IU ar.. suprefact last time like jab 30/50 IU.. cant rembr.. but anyway.. nvm cos past info liao..

Lyn,
True...bt there is happiness for them too la...they dun hv ttc plms like us...bt sometimes I wonder whether their children will hv proper upbringing or not? Cos...erh last time they are Ah Beng and Ah Lian...I might sound sour grapes...bt tt is the oni thing tt makes me feel better la...

Tigi,
Yes, before preggie, our body must be strong to avoid any complications in pregnancy later on...Did he say yr body is weak? If not, I tink can go ahead ba...

Lyn/Tigi/Gan
Actually it depends on hw we want to raise our children...some ppl can go for lower living standards...bt mabbe some parents will go for the best for their children.

meow,
Wah! tts fast....u can do it de...if u cannot, still got yr dh ma...Jia you!
Suprefact is 50iu...lucrin is 10iu...duno wat is the difference...bt u jus go along wif nurses' instruction la...As for timing, +/- 1 hr is ok...rmb to do it on alternate sides..

Wanna ask u hor...cos I always brew a big pot of soup for both of us since I always use quite good ingredients...then turns out tt we cannot finish the whole pot and ends up left half pot. I tink its a waste to throw it away and so I always leave it at the stove there and reheat the next day to drink. Issit ok? Or the storage is not proper? Must I store it in the fridge and bring out to reheat the next day?

The reason y I cannot cook half pot is cos sometimes I use half a kampong chix, or a lot of spare ribs to make the soup tastier..so cooking 1/2 pot is v wasted leh...

Thanks in advance

Meow Jia you! yes lucrin only 10iu. i ask my hubby to jab for me so that i can look away when he poke the needle in.

Rostrum, what my mum did was she would heat the 1/2 pot of soup again to boil and then off the fire, with the cover on. and the next day just re heat for lunch. But if for next day dinner, my mum will usually put in fridge

hi gals..

wah.. suprefact is 50IU.. lucrin only 10IU.. more concentrated maybe. hhahaa.. i hope i dun get side effects..

Gan..
hubby jab me i will get bruise der. hahaa.. i did the injections myself last time der. hehee..

oh ladies.. i tot i can only start lucrin on D21.. how come they ask me to start injections on D17 ar?

If u take microgynon, u start lucrin on D16 or D17 (can't remember)
ur menses not regular? I took that too.
I think it is a form of birth control

Gan

my menses ok leh.. but dr sadh jus prescribed.. maybe cos this is 2nd cycle bah..
dr zou said to rest my ovaries wor. hahha

yah. i start D17 ..

u from kkh too?

yes, i am from kkh, under dr loh
i had microgynon because my hormone was found abit imbalance and my menses cycle not regular.

gan

but i find dr sadh didnt investigate much also leh. just prescribed to me lo
anyway.. already taking them.. so dun look back!!

thanks for clearing my doubts!!! i was really puzzled on why i start injectiosn on D17.

meow, no investigation was also done for me...
in fact the bt was a request by myself because my last bt was at tmc and was done in oct 08.

remember to eat ur egg whites, drink ur milk!

so fast got to eat egg whites liao ar?
i tot puregon then need to start eating..
i eat egg whites till phobia last time

ros
if got veg in the soup, cannot keep. no good for the stomach. cause wind.

gan
lucrin need to take egg whites ah? i only started during gonal F stage leh.

liz i started taking egg whites and drink ensure milk from lucrin stage... Coz tot need more proteins. =) but maybe that is also the reason i balloon up in my fresh cycle....eat too much kekekeke
Honestly i am not sure whether it is the egg white i took, during soiui i had around 10 follicles with 50iu puregon and ivf i had 31 follicles with 375 gonal f... Was lucky didn't have OHSS too.

Sisters,
How are you all?? I have taken sick a few times over the past few weeks, first was a very bad sore throat that result in full "cold" outbreak from the haze earlier and then episodes of fever/flu, now feel weak like going to fall sick any time again. Think I could be going to visit Dr Zou soon to "tiao" yi "tiao" my body, cycles also long and still unpredictable so much so that I don't do charting anymore.

Ling,
If I am you, I will be outright too with those pain inflictors too including your senstive inlaws. Maybe we belong to the generation that we believe in speaking our minds as long as we think we are reasonable and right.

Same as you, after suffering from mcs, I also make it a point to be even more sensitive to people who are suffering emotional turmoils in whatever forms and not to throw any blessings into their faces. I believe a lot in karma loh, even if others do that do us, we also can do that to others its it all boils down to having a heart and basic humanity.

Liz,
You are as witty as ever..heheeheee....nowadays those kaypoh mothers ask me why I so anti-children such that like Ling said, hope to hear I am actually infertile. I will tell them "my life is complete with kids, don't need kids to complete them", which is actually my dogma that we cannot depend on other human being to complete our lives. But of course to those that I trust including you all, I will say, the truth: although my life is already complete, a kid will bring more joy and allow my hubby and myself a chance to see another side of life.

Wah…you have probably tried all the nice home-made soup ever possible. Envy you. ABC soup is my favourite..
it’s really a comfort food.

Hey, the wheatgerm extract can get in capulse from from pharmacies right?

Lyn,
Thanks for trying to organise outing for us over the past weeks

You are absolutely right, Dr Tan SB and her cols are not actually very very pro IVF as they believe the success rates are not so high vs using TCM over a one year period. Anyway for Dr Tan, she did tell her patient that for anyone that wants to do IVF with her, she would advice the person to start taking her medicine about 3 to 6 mths before the cycle. And she also does not believe in acu loh..

Agree with you, how much we think does not help, so lets just keep going forward and don't think too much about the result.

Elle,
Hihi…hope you get better and better everyday. Don't worry about the cramps, could be ligaments stretching to accommodate baby. For the spotting/bleeding, my cousin also had that experience before and her gynae diagnosed it as due to her placenta cover part of the opening of the cervix (such that when your daily activities increase, the friction also increase and that irritates the placenta)? For her, her placenta eventually moved away by the end of 2nd tri and she had a natural birth and not C-Section. So the in the meantime, minimise your activities, no exercise and also no intercourse until no more spotting/bleeding for a while. Actually, I am not sure if your gynae can tell you using his scan where your placenta is positioned. Some gynae machine can.

For your stupid boss, play taichi with him, if he asks you to do work, say ok ok and then do slowly. Singapore labour law forbids the employer from sacking any woman 6 months prior to due date. So you are well-protected. When time comes for you to leave, you then can have your sweet revenge

Thanks for your support and understanding you cannot keep coming here but you will always be on our mind and you have our blessings and support too k
And I am catching some of your babydust and safekeeping them well for the future…

Rostrum
Wei, have you heard of the saying that the number of lines on our neck shows roughly how old we are? True for me lah..I have three lines now as I am in my thirties…;p Sama sama as you, did not really take care of the neck until now regret.

Totally agree with those concerned friends making such sian remarks. The worst is that some of these concerned friends don't face fertility problems themselves right? I used to have a few friends who suffer from serious acne issues in school and I never give them unsolicted advice as I don't know anything about acne myself. They always confide that they are so so frustrated when they get unsolicited advice from people with good complexion such as "you wash your face more often loh", "you eat more fruits lah". I don't know what makes the smart alex with good complexion think that they know the solutions to solving acne problems! Probably because they think they have good complexion so can advice people. But acne problem is very similar to fertility issues, not one plus one equals to two. I think people with no fertility problem always look upon us as "naïve people who don't know who to make babies, don't know how to explore different channels, no common sense or cannot cope with the stresses in lifes that end up with this problem.". If they know we have explored so many channels so failed, they will say "wah, tried so hard still no babies, sure got some serious problems!" Well, just let your friends continue to be smart alex and leave like mountain tortoises themselves. ;p

Meow,
Wei, good to see your spread your cheerfulness over here
..and always remember, we sisters here will support during your current cycle. Do anything that makes your feel more relaxed (of course I know ivf can never be relaxed!) Meanwhile, always remember that there is a group of sisters there who knows what you are going through as we are fellow "classmates!"..heeeeeheee…

Yes, as the sisters said, can start taking egg white liao, maybe start slowly first (one a day and slow build up) so you won't have phobia. Remember you used to steam it and when you described it, I salivate ;p Remember your ensure too, it taste not so good, mix with milo also can

For soup, my its better to put in the fridge and they you reheat the next day. I have a friend who even store in the freezer if she cannot finish and she will take it out to reheat the next day. But like what Liz said, if contain vege, try to finish the vege first as reheated vege only has fiber and no other nutritional value.

Lyn, Gan, Liz and Rostrum and other sisters who are reading,
Jia you jia you for your cycles, do whatever it takes to be MORE relax (again, I know ivf can never be truly relaxing but hope our comradeship can share a bit of the stress)

Gan,
Actually when we met the first time after we got to know some of sisters from the ivf thread..the way we identity each other was that we each brought a book along at a specified meeting place and time. So instead of using roses to identify, we used a book…heheheee..and after that, we made one another guess who is who. And surprisingly, the guesses were all quite right. We retrained from using sms/phone to identify who is who. After meeting up, we identified using names outside of this forum
It was quite fun. So in future if we meet up with new sisters whom we have not met, it will be very fun to use do the guessing game again

Sisters,
For bananas, the ones that are good for us (got lots of iron and potassium and not liang) are called "pang1" jiao in dialect. It’s the smallest time that is almost oval in shape and quite stocky and cute looking. One bunch usually has at least twenty. And when its ripe, its much sweeter than the Del monte long long big big type (avoid that type, liang). Usually, you will find a lot of pang jiao at small fruit stalls and a few at ntuc. My mum said can eat those, she also let my nephew eat, say very nutritious and not cooling at all.

Noi,
The 2 Apr cancelled as Lyn got important commitment. So I will try to fix up something in the month of Apr again.

Oic, Gan, ok...thanks! Tts wat I did...

Liz, if lotus root & carrots is ok right? I usually dun put other vegs in the soup...

babygalore,
Me also got 3 lines...somemore hor, v deep! Symbolise in my 30s! Hahahahaa...
Anyway I will ignore them la...On off at work still got koligs asking me whether got go Tong Ji or not? Canu believe it? Till now! Haiz..

Rostrum
Hehehee..by looking at the neck, we cannot hide our age lor ;p

I cannot believe the "overly concerness" of your colleague. I know I have just used broken english but really cannot think of a better word for them. They really think we got no common sense. While we cannot deny TongJi can do wonders sometimes, it cannot solve all problem. Otherwise, they will be no need for IVF drs in Singapore.

Anyway, just a side note on comedian Le*. As much as they publicised how much they do and wanted a child, I have seen him in person, he was smoking beside his wife who was then about 7 months pregnant at least. And prior to that, I heard about their fertility ordeal and I was like huh!! Smoking..So makes me wonder how much faith to put into what they claimed sometimes. Maybe he is unaware that passive smoking is no no for pregnant woman. But he is really that blur..well, I can only say that I salute his wife, if my hubby smokes when I pregnant, I will kick him to mars ;p

harlow, babyg.
so nice to hear from u again. How're u now? hope u're as strong and as cheerful as before. Yah, the weather has been quite drama also, sometimes so hot and sometimes rain continously.

Ya, i have low placenta and when i do my down syndrome test, it shows it covers my cervix partially, that's y i am so prone to bleeding. Hope it will move upwards. I am considered quite ok now as in my 17th weeks. Only the gastric starts and getting worse each day. I have started to feel my bb's movement and the occasional "dancing". The feeling is amazing.

For all ladies doing or will be doing ivf, jia you and all the best. Hope we can share the bb story and pics soon. So looking forward to it.

As for my boss, he just asked me when i'm taking maternity and saying will hire someone to take over my job in June. His last remark is think what u want to do after u finish ur leave. It's like his hinting me to leave. Anyway, I have planned maybe doing part time or freelance so I can have time to be with bb. It's far too precious to be missed.

Rostrum, your colleague is really jialat. I am one of the unsuccessful case from Tong Ji. I quit my job and rest for a year. During that one year, i diligently go to tong ji twice a week and brew its medicine. Each visit, i will be asked the same question again and again.I need to submit my bbt for each visit and the comment is always the same. You're not ovulating. But when i asked, wat might cause it? there is no definite answer. I was only asked to take the medicine and lose weight.i dun see any improvement at all in my one year treatment there and this is actually my second treatment with tong ji. My first treatment with them is only for a month because my working hour din allow me to join the long q. both din work for me.

babygalore,can kick my hub for me? hahaha. thou he promised me not to smoke once i preg, but till today no changes at all. Only he won't smoke near me.

babygalore,
I noe he is a smoker during J N's press conference for his affairs..I din noe he is a smoker when his wife is pregnant wor...And I do wonder whether he smokes while ttc? Haa...
And I noe he personally got infertility issues...doesn't smoking will harm his soldiers?
Anyway I hv went to many TCMs and tiao for a period of time...at the end of the day, wat did I get? Mabbe a stronger body, bt not a baby leh...
Some might be lucky while some might not be lo...

elle,
Ya, tts y like wat I say, some might strike lucky and some might not...They will not understand one...So I save my breath better...hahahaha...
Isn't is amazing to feel yr bb's movements? I will be thrilled to hv this feeling too

U must really take care wif low placenta...I got a fren whom got low placenta and she conceive via IVF. Nearing her delivery, I tink is 2 mths before, she cannot move at all and has to bedrest...and she too had bleeding during tt period. Bt she delivers a very handsome and cute boy 3 years back! Jus be careful ok?

Hallow Elle,
Glad to know you are nice and stable into mid pregnancy and can even feel (his or her) declaration of presence on this earth…heheheee.wei, you have not told us princess or prince wor, am so curious..
…its time to enjoy yourself in 2nd tri k, for your super pragmatic boss, keep reminding yourself that its just a job. No matter what must take your 4 months of maternity leave and yes, to work part-time at least during your little one's growing up years and hear all the firsts is what money cannot replace. If your profession permits part-time/freelance, you have my support.

About low lying placenta, my ex-gynae also told me before that 90% of time, it will move up as your uterus expands over the weeks. So have confidence in that. Even if it does not, like Rostrum said, take it as an excuse to rest more and just take MC if its your entitlement. Anyway your already see true side of your boss. For your gastric, your gynae got give u the "A" (can't remember the full spelling) to relief it? Otherwise, taking small meals (plain crackers/wholemeal bread to absorb the stomach acid) its probably the only DIY solution.

At least your hubby is "automatic" and considerate not to smoke near you. So I will let him off for now…heheeee..Otherwise, I not just have kicking tactics, can also help you to nag nag nag non-stop (via email to him? Heheee..) My hubby always say he is terrified of my non-stop nagging until he cannot tahan until he no choice but everything also can….*evil laughters*

I would say now, I am strong mentally but weak physically because have not done jogging or yoga for a few weeks from the outbreak. But I try to start basic stretching again or the old bones will crack..

Rostrum,
I believe smoking does harm soldiers if he ttcing but perhaps it’s the mentality of "knowing mountain got tigers, still venture into the mountains". Just could not reconcile what he said at the show with his real image leh. Anyway, I still think his wife has a great personality for appearing on the show to lend support, it takes courage to annouce to the world about own fertility challenge. So is the lady with the pair of twins. I think they got very "giving" personalities loh

Think like that, at least we got stronger body from tcm, maybe more beautiful skin also? Same as you, not a tcm beneficiary of tongji after taking for 6 months but hor, realised taking tcm that time really got good skin leh. But actually I still believe in the overall spirit of tongji in the free consultation and free medicine until I secretly cried (scared hubby see) when hear all the different patients' determination, esp the young girl who just had a simple wish of regaining mobility after accident..Anyway, now my skin no good, maybe I will go see dr zou soon. You seeing Dr Zou? Sorry, you might have said it before but I forgot.

babygalore,
I hv been seeing Dr Zou since Jan eva since my failed cycle till now. Go for acu once a week and take medi for everyday...
I tink I got stronger body now via TCM, bt for me, to conceive naturally is v low..I noe..haha...U can go to c Dr Zou to prepare for the next cycle or via natural also? No harm trying and she is not v exp...

I will be going off in a short while for my cruise trip. Chat wif u gals when I m back. Bye!

ros
not sure. but carrots and lotus root should be fine lah. Enjoy your cruise.

BabyG
glad to see you back here. Hope you are feeling better. How's that stupid colleague of yours? Hope things are better after u screamed at him.. hahaha

Rostrum, enjoy ur cruise and remember to eat lots!!

Elle, I don't like the way your boss talks. Hmmmm.... i guess boss are boss.like my boss who "complain" to me abt my colleague taking 4 mths maternity leave. he said why need so long leave? Anyway it is a just a job, do what you can but don't stress over the job.

BabyG, how are u feeling now? my menses cycle also go haywire. No menses at all in Feb and AF appears exactly 2 months later. Been seeing Dr Zou although menses cycle not improve but i still like to think the accu is helping my lining to improve for my FET.

Maybe you can go seeDr Zou, take the back accu as the weekly back massage.

hi bbgalore

welcome back. u are the sunshine one wo.. not me leh. i get moody easily.. think cos of the meds i take la

wah.. now i take cocktail of meds liddat wor.. morning eat the pill and jab.. then folic acid ... then sometimes i take joint pain meds (the glucausamine tablet ar).. then later in afternn i take dr zou's meds. i think i dun need food.. can just survive on meds. hahah

i just realised i've been drinking the wrong set of meds from dr zou.. think this was for the after ovulation meds ar.. which i think she nvr prescribe for me cos i started injections ler.. wah.. stressed leh.. heng only took wrongly for 1 day

tdy day 2 of injections.. talked to the needle for a whole 4 mins before dare to poke in. so funny hor... last time poke every day till like nobody's biz.. now i just re-started the jabs.. i feel the pain when i poke in.. and also hard to overcome the psychological barrier to poke in.. hahaa.. hope tmr jus need 3 mins to talk to the needle to 'persuade' it to go in. haha

just now my boss talked to me.. haiz.. he said wanna see how to help promo me wor. asked abt my career orientation.. sigh.. he asked me now.. i sure said i dun wan career advancement loh... hmm anyway.. my heart also not here liao.. see how la.. started cycle too.. cant leave just yet.

*yawns*.. i'm going to Zzz ler... nitez sistas.. thanks for all the advices!

I m back from nua-ing!!!! Muhahahahahahaha....everyday so tired tt I sure sleep by 1am....mabbe old liao..cannot stay late for long...
Enjoyed myself, bt not the food...dun like the food at all..luckily there is one day we go to KL...stuff ourselves there before heading back to the cruise.

Lyn,
I tink every hospital is against us taking TCM during IVF one...I tink finally decision still lies in us whether we are comfortable wif it or not?

Rostrum, i know docs are not very supportive against taking tcm med but some is ok with others stages but most are against it during situmlation stage.. but of course the final decision lies on us ..

BabyG, hope u r better liao. Nwadays weather too hot, many ppl sick. Rest more, take vitamin c and drink lots of water.
Ya for the tong ji show i also cried.. esp the young gal who had an accident. Such a gal with bright future life is totally destroyed by an accident and i also sympathize with the parents..have to work so hard still... As for the mum who had 2 mc before and have a twins now i feel so happy for her and i also teared when she spoke of her experience. The moment she said when she thinks that having a child could be impossible my heart feels so sour and teared, coz this is wat my heart feels now. Our fertilty journey is full of challenges and dun know wat we will get at the end of the tunnel. She is very lucky to BFP only 5mths of tcm under Dr tan but not all r lucky... I didnt see dr tan but i saw the other one dr loh, sitting in the same room as dr tan also fertility trained. Saw her 6mths, took her med becomes no ovulation and she can tell me its coz the med is to regulate my menses cycle. Wasted my time and effort even tough its charitable organisation but we still donate every visit coz they also need money to help others.. I also got a frd mc 3 times, went to dr tan 6mths med and successful conceived naturally and after 1st child mc another 3 times, went to her again and conceived another child... so i guess some ppl really benefit from that.

Gan, pls update whether universal is fun? I havent go yet coz nowdays weather unpredictable but lucky 2day quite ok...

Lyn,
To tell u the truth, I really regretted so much not taking TCM during & before my last try....this is my personal feeling la...I also much regretted not taking any chix essence during the 2ww as advised by the doc...
I not sure whether I will be taking TCM on my next try, bt most likely I will cos I believes it will somehow strengthen our body and maximise the chances...
Of cos, we must be comfortable wif it....

Rostrum,fyi i also took tcm diligently half a year before i start ivf and even take chicken essence everyday from lucrin stage but in the end result is not favourable so i think its indivdual body and not all will benefit from tcm vice versa. So do not blame urself abt it...

Meow, i thought dr zou will not encourage us to take tcm during sitmulation stage esp u r doing in kk coz she know dr loh very strong against tcm during puregon stage coz that the stage it involves the most hormonal changes in the body..

lyn

i'm still in lucrin stage leh..she said can leh.

my last cycle i also took tcm meds during the jabs leh.. ..

Lyn, today is a hot day! I enjoyed Universal Studios more than Disney Hong Kong. Took a few rides. The jurassic park rapid ride and revenge of the mummy is fun!
But must q at least 1 hr for the rides. Very crowded and we saw PM Lee! the RWS pple were showing him around.

Yes, i think Dr Loh is against taking TCM during simulation. When i ask if i can take TCM for FET, he said can take but stop taking when starting the progynova. Guess i won't take tcm now since started the progynova. Been having headache eversince i took the progynova.

Rostrum, how is the cruise?

Lyn,
Yes, I agree wif u on the TCM part. Not everyone will benefits from it..For me, I tink it will benefits me...Anyway, I need to look forward, if not I will stay put in the same spot..kekekeke...

Hmm, no medi during stimulation stage ah? I tink most docs will be against it la...Bt I noe some ladies also go ahead to take it and BFP in the end (of cos not all)...

Luck also plays a part!

Lyn,
Dr Zou will not advise us to take medi during stimulation stage? I tort she will leave the decision to us wor?

Gan,
I tink not oni Dr Loh, Prof also against me from taking any TCM when I start on the cycle...he told me not even chix essence during the 2ww!

I enjoyed the cruise trip...can nua...bt on the 2nd day we tok a taxi to KL - Mid Valley for shopping...quite short, oni a few hrs, so must rush! I dun enjoy the food though...dun like at all!
And I won the Bingo game of $493 and our trip is almost free...My fren won on the 1st day at $523...So lucky lo...oni 2 games played and we are the winners!

Wah...the rides at Universal Studio need to q for so long ah? Grrr....