Childless Not By Choice Group

Waiting in hope, when u dun come in here u will feel that this is a lonely path coz ppl that u meet face to face everyday wont tell u if they got fertility problem coz they r afraid to hear wat they dun wish to. If u r in forum u will find that alot of ppl faces challenges like us. Ladies here r encouraging and i feels thats very important to us

My cycle failed last mth and AF reports on 16th Jan...till now I dun c I O...Is tis normal? Kinda disheartening cos I do O every mth..sigh!

hi gals!!
long time no log in.... been busy, work, prep for trip, cny .... was so busy, i forgot about the pressures of ttc... i stopped taking my bbt altogether..... nonetheless i dutifully took the med to induce menses when it didnt come and did my D2 blood test.... looking forward to 2nd consultation with prof wong to review all the tests done.... i collected all my receipts from nuh and total my bills so far for the blood tests (including hb's)... whoa it adds up to an eye popping $900! ... guess i made a good choice switching to govt hospital for the govt subsidy for ivf later, at least offset a bit..... plus the money hb and i spent on tcm for close to a year (on off).... wow... unbelieveable! So much for the wish for becoming parents and most ppl (am i right so say that??) did it so easily, no money needed and wala, just pregnant.... boy what can i say more???

Tigi,
Are u previously wif pvt hospital? The 3k govt grant really can help us a lot wor...we can go holiday from tt 3k saved...
I tink everyone of us here really spent a lot of money while ttc...hope all will not be in vain and we will be proud parents soon....
Its good tt u keep yrself bz and stop tinking abt all these things ya...stay relax is the most impt...so when u starting yr cycle?

rostrum, i am waiting for prof wong to gimme the green light to start ivf... if ok, does it mean use this cycle? i am on D6 now.... or do i have to take a queue number??
Hahaha, that was what i told my hb too... take the 3k to cover holiday trip.... i use to be seeing a private gynae who is also specialise in fertility treatment like ivf.... i heard he do his ivf at mt E, opposite his clinic at paragon...

Yes keeping busy helps.... to sisters who are lost in ttc blues and find yourself depressed all the time... it really helps, try that,,,, at least for me la....

Tigi, ya when i did my BT in nuh for both me and DH also costs 500! If no money no need to do anything liao hor.....

Rostrum/tigi, ya 3k is instead quite helpful but no experience with kk is not a gd one... i felt they simply hack care...

wait in hope, just checked my bills, HCG in kk only $26.3 leh and in thomson medical $50. Maybe u should double confirm with ur gynae the cost of HCG jab.

Tigi, been soo busy with work...just came home and going to have dinner..waiting for my hubby. Wish i can go on a holiday like u!

Rostrum, think it could be due to the hormones from fresh cycle, that's why no O. Dun worry your body will adjust to normal soon. I don't think I O last mth too and my second menses only appear on D45

gan, re my hols plan, i got the heck care attitude now... just go if want to go... hahaha.... because of the one week away from office, i got to rush for an assignment due in march... chiam.... i see what i can do....

lyn, true .... what i read a thread asking about installment plan to pay for ivf, my heart goes out to the lady....i should count my blessings rather than my troubles....

Gan, i also waiting for DH to buy dinner back. Coz i was so tired, slept from 630-9pm.. Wow u worked so late must be tired, enjoy ur dinner later...

Lyn, in Spore no money cant do anything... Big social problem. When u gtg seoul, temp now is -15 leh, when i was at taiwan last mth 12 i already shaking. Make sure u take extra winter clothes

I must have made a mistake with the hcg cost haha.. ok I'll check with the gynae again. =) I agree that the costs of TTC is so high, I dun dare to start counting how much I've spent so far. But I believe everything will be worth it once the bb comes. Jia you everyone!

Waiting in hope, maybe 800 is for the entire iui procedure.. Whether can do iui this mth only juz try natural also who knows right..

Gan, yesterday ate satat boon hoon 2day no voice liao...

Lyn drink more water, better recover before CNY..take those Vit C that dissolve in water, helps too.

I'm going for my scan this afternoon. On monday I had a folicle size of about 10mm, and assuming an average growth of 2mm per day, I'm hoping it'll be abt 18mm by today.

If so, do you think I should request for a hcg jab tmr afternoon at abt 20mm and do iui on Monday morning, approx 40 hours later? Appreciate ur advice thanks!

Jude,
I also agree with you loh
Somehow, I can tell you are enjoying life and that is an encouragement for all of us here.
For cleaning, I always coaxed my hubby to clean the windows and the floor, telling him it’s a good way for him to keep fit. Of course he will try to convince me the windows are very clean no need to clean but I will tell him, window very dusty..shame shame on the occupant of the house ;p

Waiting in Hope,
Hey, we totally understand the waves of hopelessness and despair and all the other "noises" in the background. Just remember that now you are no longer alone yah. Although we never met before for some, the sisters here have being the most amazing of all, supporting one another through trials and the various ups and downs. Tell you, we also come here and vent vent when we kena bullied and other sisters will share tips and naughty ideas..heeee..so if I kena bullied in future, I will tell you and vice versa yah..

And all the best for your appointment today…hope your follclie big big and bouncy bouncy…and yes, I also love fish essence..its yummy (my hubby always find me weird that I like such fishy stuff..)

For the hcg shot, I have not done iui before. But during ivf, I heard from gynae that even after hcg shot, the follicle can still continue to grow. So its probably good to take the shot when follicle is about 18mm to 19mm or before it reaches 20mm or beyond, so after the shot, it can grow up to about 20 to 21mm and when the sperm gets introduced, it’s a good size. Maybe tomorrow, the follicle could be 19mn as it grows on ave 1.5mm a day, sometimes not as fast as 2mm everyday. That is what I know. But maybe when Gan logs in, she can give you better advice..

Rostrum
Its normal, no worries yah..I did not even O the month after my AF arrives followed the failed cycle. Ok, its like this: AF No 1 (after the failed cycle) came. Then did not O at all subsequently. No O, so I did not get AF the following month. Then body felt very uncomfortable with serious water retention. Its only after some 50 days after the AF No 1 that I O. You get it? So after all the jabs, the body has kind of lost its "intelligence" to O on its own for a while but it will be sure to regain it back given time and patience. In the meantime, eat a healthy balanced diet, lots of fruits, fiber and vege, cut down on sugared stuff and overly saltish stuff, chew your food well, start regular mild exercises like brisk walking and yoga. Drink 2 litres of warm water a day, sleep regular hours, eat multi-vit, for me, I ate combination of royal jelly and bee pollen to adjust back and I believed that helped a lot. Now the cycles are still long but I can feel its adjusting back and I also look and feel better with no water retention. You might also want to eat yogurt to prevent yeast as I find that all the hormonal imbalance gave me yeast after the cycle. Also, tell yourself to be patient, keep stress under checked, maintained a positive mindset, divert your attention to things you enjoy doing, don't keep thinking about wanting the body to O and you will find your body regenerate itself very naturally on its own. Trust me

And good that spotting has stopped..don't worry k, you may think that its easy for me to say it for really, but I understand first hand and I find that the less I worry, the fewer negative surprises I get.

Tigi,
I second you…the bills are always so big that sometimes, after taking one look to make sure I am not overcharged, I will put them away. Its escaping from reality. For nuh, you must book a month with the CHR nurses to start. Typically, u indicate interest with prof and them and decide with menses to use. For instance, use Feb menses or March menses. There is capacity limit, so you have to in a way, "chop" a place if you intend to start that month.

Lyn,
You had satay bee hoon…you got add cockles? I love that too and I love to eat cockles too
Sama sama, I also buy wacoal bras in BK leh..it seems that wacoal has a factory there, that is why so cheap. Maybe one day when we retire and can coodinate time better, we can arrange to go BK together and shop shop shop there…heheeee…I like to imagine happy scenarios. I did go with my gfs to BK before but now, find it harder and harder to coordinate timing since one has a four year old daughter and very busy.

Can tell your hb really dotes on you..you are also very lucky you know... So you must treasure your happiness lor
Wah…if red bra, red clothes and red hair, what a powerful combination.

Lyn/Gan
Huh, in that case, I overpaid for the part-timer maid as it was about two years ago that we used her. If I ever want to use that service again, I will ask for your helpers' contacts k..

Gan,
Can tell you are quite a foodie
I totally agree with your hairdresser…what is better than red streaks on the hair during CNY..I can imagine it to be very nice and hip….I have very dry hair. Otherwise, I will also do the streak dye…very nice I find. So now, I keep my hair black..

Elle,
Just focus on resting well and don't worry about cleaning or buying new clothes..just remember that a determined mtb is already the most beautiful woman of all, no need external enhancement..heheeee…yes, for me its red here red there loh…so if you see a walking hongbao during CNY, it could be me!
Yes, I agree with you, part-timer is definitely better. With a full time maid, you have to consider how to manage an extra person in the house with her own habits and someone with emotionals and needs. But hor, your hb might think you need a full time helping when the baby arrives…so maybe that is why..you think about the costs and benefits and then can decide yah..

Hehehee..think your hubby is trying to tease u about the dust..I even heard from fengshui prespective the more dusty the bedroom is (esp under the bed), the higher the chance of striking.

Hey babygalore,

You are so funny, folicles big big bouncy bouncy, sounds like a balloon! Haha.. Just used an opk, both lines are about the same darkness so hopefully it's a natual lh surge Soon and I can still do iui tmr

The 'noises' in the background gonna get louder during cny, dread to meet all the relatives. Think I'll juz lepak at home and play my mahjong the whole day

I just saw dr Heng, thanks to all ur recommendation of eating fish essence, egg, milk, durians etc, my folicles measured abt 20mm. She gave me hcg jab at abt 3pm and iui scheduled for tmr morn at 9.30pm. I'm actually hesitant cos I read from websites that iui should be 36 hours after hcg shot, but this is only abt 18 hours leh.. Should I still go ahead or try naturally this round? Does the shot make the folicle rupture faster?

Thank you gals for being there..

Dear Waiting in Hope,

20mm is a good size. for me, I will go ahead with the IUI since it only cost about $150 (If I remember correctly). IUI will help to bring the treated sperm all the way into your Uterus so providing some assistance. You can BD on Sat night to boost your chance. To me, every month is a chance so must Treasure and do what you can....just my personal thoughts. Do discuss with your DH and decide.

hi waiting in hope, 20mm is good follicle size. after hcg, u will ovulate between 24 hrs to 48hrs, 36 hrs is just an average. If ur appt is at 930am, u won't do iui immediately, coz the lab would need to wash the sperms which will take an hour or more. and like jude said u can babydance on sat and sun to increase the chance, i.e. What my gynae at tmc tells me. All the best!

Tigi,
Did u get a book a slot for yr IVF from CHR at 4th floor? Or did Prof refer you to CHR?
Normally they will instruct u to call up on D2 when yr AF reports...

Gan,
V sian leh....I also worried my 2nd cycle will delay...today is already D21and my bbt still 36.3!!! Last time before my failed cycle, it wld hv climb up to at least 36.6 by now...
Dr Zou told me mabbe this cycle no O....kinda sian...

babygalore,
I m actually feeling lousy at work today...bt aft reading yr post, I managed to smile...tinking to myself, tis babygalore is back to make us feel better! Haha...
I hv been worrying abt my Ovulations, my AF, my spotting eva since the failed cycle...cos I used to hv "quite beautiful" AF cycle before it...
And now seeing it becomes "quite ugly", I kinda feel uneasy la...duno y....
Tts y v hesitant to start IVF soon....tink i m scared tt it will screw up my whole "system" again...but then age is not on my side...sigh!

Hi rostrum, gan and Jude,

Thks for all ur advice. I'm lying in bed and feeling all sorts of weird side effects of hcg trigger, back pain, bloating, cramping, headache, can't sleep etc.. Think I'm nervous ba

Gan,
Can I check wif u, do u go acu aft yr O?
Due to distance, I hv decided to go to Dr Zou oni on 1 weekend each week...
And I m also tinking whether to go acu aft O...

hi rostrum, can understand the feeling of no 'o', coz i was super sianz too that i stop taking bbt 1 week before my 2nd af as the temp is always almost flat at 36.2/36.3. but i guess we need to let our body rest, after all we have been poking our tummy with hormones for at least 1 mth. Dun worry, the body will adjust.. For now eat healthy, stay happy. I also used to have nice af cycle but i guess we r just going thru a stage of adjustment.
these 2 weeks i only go dr zou once a week, coz busy with work. I ask dr zou, she said ok to go acu after o but if we do ivf or fet, then shldnt travel after et rest more therefore no acu.

Waiting in hope, guess u r nervous abt tomorrow. After iui, go home and rest first ok. We hear your good news soon!

lyn, i bought a coat for my trip.... first time going to such a cold country to experience the coldness!!! V excited and anxious too... cos i am afraid of cold... hands n feet always get cold easily in air cold room....

babygalore, rostrum.... so i did need another cycle to start ivf? thought i can do immediately after the blood test review leh... i even plan my leave nicely to coincide with one of the public holiday for the 2ww.... aiya.... i too anxious le....

rostrum, my ex tcm (dr tan from clementi) don't do accu after O, as he is worried it will affect the embryo during implantation if that happens.....

Tigi,
Tink u better cal CHR tml to book a slot....cos also duno when is the next available slot?

My ex TCM is also Dr Tan...he also dun do acu for me aft O...tts y I starts to wonder hw come Dr Zou will do acu for us aft O?

So which TCM are u visiting now?

rostrum, i was also surprise when dr zou says ok to acu, she told tickles that too. But i guess if we not comfie to do acu after o, dun go bah, else adding stress to ourselves. I see dr tan once but he is too far for me to go on regular basis,
Rostrum, ur hubby have been so supportive of u and love u so much, so he must be the most sexy man to u lah, how can u have no mood to bd? Dun worry abt the cycle, the more stress we r, it willl just get longer to regulate

Gan,
Ya...I tink I will monitor on my own and not go to her aft O....cos I dun feel comfortable...I hv been a patient of Dr Tan for nearly 1 year...In my opinion, I tink he is better wif male infetility rather than woman...
No...its not abt my dh.,.rather than myself la...duno y...ya...I noe I shd not be stressed abt it...I really hope to go on a short trip soon to relax myself...

Gan,
U going for yr FET soon hor? So envy....dun nd to start everything again...
The tort of hving to start everything all over again puts me off...

Rostrum, perhaps you should plan a short getaway after the new year? go somewhere where u can relax and do things u enjoy. I think it helps. Since i was back at work, i have been super busy as my manager resigned when i was on MC and I took over some of his projects. Last weekend i went KL to celebrate my dh's bday. Mainly a eating trip since i love to eat... though only 2 days, i felt totally relax and happy. In fact now i am hopping i can go for another short getaway before the FET. So i guess going for a holiday is good for us.
If u have no time to go for an overseas trip, can plan a hotel stay over the weekend or go massage, facial. i always take 1/2 day off every month to go facial to reward myself for working hard.

Yea, should be doing the FET with my next menses.

Rostrum, star cruises got this buy 1 get 1 free promo for the cruise to KL leh if you are worldcard holder. If not, if u have UOB also got a promotion.
actually i have been thinking if i should go for a cruise since we enjoyed ourselves when we went almost 4 years ago.

rostrum, i start seeing dr zou a few wk ago but stopped... want to wait till really start ivf then c her again... i hv same thoughts as you about dr tan... think he better with male inferility prob n my hb is seeing him... one thing i dun like is the long waiting despite having an appt to see him... it stresses me up to wait so long for him outside his room... dr zou has less waiting time since she has more beds....

Gan,
Ya...I m planning to go for a short trip after the CNY....and like u, my boss also resigned during my last cycle...so now work becomes busier...
I enjoyed cruises too....the last time I went is like 10 years back bt I still can rmb the enjoyment onboard...

Tigi,
My dh also seeing Dr Tan...bt not for acu...oni for his medi...cos his medi alone can increase my dh's count....so he has been taking tt for nearly 2 years le...
Yes, Dr Tan's waiting time is terrible as he oni has 2 beds....Dr Zou got 4 beds I tink...
I read from website tt its better to start acu at least 2 mths before yr cycle starts....

babygalore, my part time helper just told me, after CNY, she will charge $50 for every 4 hours of work.

Gan,
My part time helper already started charging me @ $12.50/hr since last year....She is v good...a filipino...

rostrum, ya dr zou has 4+1 beds... some time one bed which is inside the storeroom (with proper ventiliation) is used for accu too... furthermore, dr zou consultation is very fast.... a few minutes only, read pulse, see tongue, ask one two question... then accu,,, her accu also very fast.... poke poke poke in a swift.... these also contribute to the shorter waiting times ba.....

Gan and rostrum, mine charge $10 per hour all the while. She is from china, she is quite good and honest too.... I long time nvn go cruise liao, always plan to go cruise but will end up gtg BKK coz more worth to go BKK then cruise.

Tigi, enjoy ur trip. When flying?

Rostrum, u shld go for a short trip to forget abt everything for awhile as u feel stressed now.. Give urself timeline as to when then start to think which mth to start ivf again..

Tigi, i did acu once in the storeroom... but was very worried dr zou will forget me and left me laying there with needles all over. luckily she has an alarm clock that will go off when the time is up!

Lyn,my part time helper also from China.

Hi Lyn should be doing sometime in march bah. will be medicated as my menses cycle now not so good.
So Dr Loh recommend medicated when i see him the last time

Natural FET, you will go for scan and also check for ovulation.

Whereas medicated, u will be given med to take, no need to check ovulation, once lining thickness is more than 8mm, will do ET.

I have 9 embbies left

Lyn,
Ya...I really yearn for a short trip...will decide aft the CNY...hw abt yrself? when r u going to embark again?