Breastfeeding Support Group

Cindy, u can still latch bb even if low ss.
Latch bb on and when both breasts are almost empty (ie. when u unlatch u can't manually squeeze any droplet), can always supplement with abit of FM if bb still hungry.
Have more latchings throughout ie. smaller feeds for bb, it will eventually catch up

Giggler, I am working in Raffles Place. Last time JP NTUC have nepia dunno why now dun have already. It is not out of stock but i think they just dun carry this brand at JP anymore.

Envy you and mini still got time to take Jap Class, i dun even have enough time to sleep

Mini, i felt that weight is not an accurate measure of what size to buy. For eg,mame poko size small say can use till 8Kg but became too small for Dana when she is only about 5 Kg 1 month ago...her thigh growing also...now i let her wear nepia M though still abit too big with 2 packs of MP size small unopened.

hi giggler,

You can get nepia from
NTUC LOT1, NTUC Bishan (not Junction8), NTUC TPY

Hi Mini,

Do u know if i still can get the $5 voucher if i buy the nepia @ promotion price ???
if yes, where should i send to ???

<font color="aa00aa">cindy,</font>
i can understand ur situation. me too, can't latch now cos bb doesn't want the breasts anymore! so i gotta TEBM, at 3 hourly interval

<font color="aa00aa">littleprince,</font>
i took nettle cos a fren pass it to me, so i din get fenugreek. but... so far oso like no effect leh. maybe start too late alr. now alr like wk 7/8.. think the ss alr fixed.

<font color="aa00aa">giggler,</font>
ya, init thot at least can stock up, but oso worried she dun take enuff. these couple of days, she is taking more, so it is like 1 feed-to-1 session now. dunno still can hang on giving TEBM for how long. was hoping to "tong" for 3 mths, but dun think it's possible w/o supp wif FM.

mummies on TBF, did u give ur bb gripe water or "pao sheng" when bb go for jabs? i very reluctant to introduce anything to bb except BM &amp; plain water cos read b4 that if introduce other stuff, 50% or more of the antibodies from BM will be "void"

giggler,
taking Jap class at bunka language sch. it is located in delfi orchard. can visit their website at www.bunkalang.com

QSG,
i also dun have much time to sleep but took jap course as it is my interest n MIL willing to help me take care when i m attending lesson. been attending it until just before gave birth. continue again when bb is 2mths old as dun wish to stop for too long. but sad thing is no time to study. most prob have to give the yr end exams a miss though have registered for it.

yar agreed weight not a good measure. but v afraid i buy liao then cannot fit well. mayb best to get L size since gurantee can fit in. though a bit lugi since will cost more per piece compared to M.

aloe,
not sure abt it. mayb can try sending it to Nepia office. dun have the address with me here. or mayb can call up Nepia to ask. think Masshiro also intending to send in the recipt?

angelia,
dun stress urself too much. sometimes with a more relax attitude can bring us further. just try ur best to "tong". who knows shortly already 3mths has passed.

angelia,
din give anything except BM n water before the jab. but my boy did have slight fever when take the 5-in-1 jabs n last max 2days. no worries. dun believe in pao sheng can prevent fever.

angelia
think yr ss will still increase if u persists on lah, my ss is still increasing slowly though my bb is almost 9wks .. how much is shanice drinking now?

Masshiro
6 months already! Wow!
Soon you'll be chasing him around the house...fun but very tiring... boys ah, let me warn you, dun like toys, like the real things like electronic stuff and gadgets... jesse will pick the dirtiest corner and sit there to play. He likes all the CD/DVD players, stereo, fan, the modem, pens, aiyoh..... chased him until hb/I are so tired....
Dinner? The gals and I just met for dinner at Marche...we are starting this Mummies Only makan session (quarterly) but next one is coming up fast, we intend to take half-day, go for buffet lunch. Interested?

QSG
O dear, can you ask one of them to meet you halfway to help carry bb or the stuff??

Giggler
SO you have only a few more days ah? IF you are afraid Vane cannot take the follow-up immediately, then you buy small can of the infant one and mix. That brand has small tin?
FYI I used to lug the PIS one along too.
Jas is leaving for HKG tonite...hehe...

mini
I have not seen Pampers P M but I figure Nepia M is a bit smaller due to the cutting... but it's very comfortable. I'm still waiting for new stock of L to arrive at NTUC TPY.

littleprince
If you can continue, then go on lor, it's worth it at the end of the day.

aloe
Yas, you can get the $5 voucher even if you buy at promo price. But only for the first time.
You send to the Nepia office with the receipt.

MTMTMT.......I always try to latch my bb on but she will immedaitely turn away(i think she knows that the milk is low), cry her lung out if i force her. I feel so sad that i can't give her BM anymore and she's heaty now taking FM.

Hi Mini, Aloe,

Nepia addres is #B1-25 Hong Leong Building. May is on leave until 1st or 4th Dec I can't remember.

Hi Mini,
Are you taking the JLPT? Which level are you now. I used to take jap too, but now very very rusty already.

hi Masshiro,
yar registered for JLPT level 2 but dun think can make it as v v difficult n no time to study. completed level 3 n 4. so tot quite logical to try for level 2 this yr though not up to it. what level/s have u completed?

Masshiro
YOu can speak Japanese? I used to learn but never succeed cos cannot put the sentences together.. used to be able to read the hiragana ...

Hi stylobb
Just read abbout that you all had a great time at the gathering. Too bad I can't go cos by the time I knock off is too late to travel all the way to city area. But the lunch coming up? When? Do keep me inform/. Can sms me.I can't catch up with the thread at new moms. Very fast again.How is Jesse? My hb and I also so tired chasing him. My hb say more tired than working.

moon

Hi Masshiro / StyloBB

OK got the address... so all i need is to send in the receipt with my particular and i will get the voucher ... WOW .. this make my purchase even cheaper ...

<font color="aa00aa">littleprince,</font>
shanice is drinking 90~120ml.. am trying to increase amt vor every feed to 120ml, but when i increase, she cannot finish!! so heartpain to see 20~30ml wasted

yesterday got 2 sessions my ss drop to 80ml!!! worried.. luckily today back to normal.

<font color="0000ff">caps for glass bottles from nursery</font>
a fren told me a shop at upp cross st sells $0.80 per cap. got cheaper lobang?

angelia,
mayb try to give her 100ml each time first? if she can finish almost every time then increased to 120ml. like tat can reduce wastage. so now u r on fully expressing?

Hi Stylobb,
Thanks. Maybe will receive today.
Yup learnt Jap for many years.now all give back to teacher.

Hi Mini,
I completed JLPT 2. Tried JLPT 1 many years back but didn't make it. No time to study. err..or rather too lazy to study
Think next year go Japan will have problem communicating with my friends. so rusty now.

Good luck to you. Yah..level 2 not easy also. I tikam tikam so lucky to pass

Hi Moon,
so long never talk to you..ya so fast. My boy past 6 mths already..he learning to crawl lah, but not very successful. He always raise his bums so high and try to rock forward but cannot. So funny.

Hi Melody,
Jap learning is fun, but studying for exam is not. I used to love listening to jap songs and singing at karaoke.

stylobb,

My mum who helps to look after bb on thu and fri has offered to come over and help to carry her or the things. But my in laws not very helpful. Went to their place for dinner last Sun. Hubby told them about my back and his dad immediately interrupted to say it is due to lack of exercise...i was thinking pls lah..i pregnant and when on maternity leave no exercise also no problem why now...they din bother much about my condition and just brush it off. All along i know they dun like me and i also can tell they care about the grandchild only. Who cares whether my back hurts, think they probably think why i so problematic.

I ever suggested last time to hubby to ask his parents to come over to look after bb or bring her over but he said it is too much of ask of his parents. Every morning i have to wake up at 5.30am or even earlier when bb wakes up for milk.

Sometimes i think of my health, felt very sad, i had c-section almost 4 months ago and till then my wound still feels sore on and off, haven't heard from any of them here who had c-section had soreness months later.

Hi StyloBB, you used PIS too? Heard that it's very good but too ex for me.

Hi Jas, so you going to HK? Bring your boi along? Enjoy yourself!

Hi Masshiro, you also know Jap? I studied the basics for 3mths few yrs ago. Wow you are another expert leh, know how to sing Jap songs.

Hi mini, you quite expert since you already passed level 3 and 4.

Hi Serene, me still tbfg. But may got to stop soon cos quality get worse.

Hi QSG, I also had c-section but I didn't really feel pain at all leh. Did you check with your gynae abt it?

Giggler,

Mentioned to her during postnatal check up and she said probably due to over-exertion during confinement. Actually after the surgery, i felt pain only for 2-3 days then once my hubby returned to work after 1.5 weeks, the soreness came. I suspect i over exerted taking care of bb during confinement. Mum in law suppose to be helping but it seems she helps only with cooking so u can imagine me struggling with my 2 wounds, breastfeeding, carrying bb and changing diapers.

I didn't feel any soreness for past 1-2 months already but these few days came back again and is when i on leave taking care of bb myself....i clearing leave so took on the days when i am suppose to bring bb to in laws to escape the heavy load i need to carry, walk and climb when i go their place.

Envy u that your wound healed properly. You rested well during confinement too right?

Masshiro
So cute! You sing Japanese songs?? Which singer? The funky ones? Amie or something? I only like Akina Nakamori..dun know if you know her...years ago...hohoho...

QSG
I think if you dun have enuf rest, you won't have time to heal/recover and the problem won't go away. I feel sorry for you. Can they meet you to help? They don't help at all? For those days your hb is around, does he help with carrying the stuff and bb? Agree that being healthy is important, cos we need to work and look after bb as well. What about getting some multi-vitamins to boost health?
Pain - yah, as what Giggler said, maybe you should go for a check with your gynae if the pain is abnormal.

Giggler
I did not even know it was PIS cos it was on loan..yah, considered fortunate lah. Recently they have a newer and smaller model, like a knapsack, looks so cool but ex.
Jas has already gone to HKG, she went without her boy, back in a week's time, I think.

<font color="aa00aa">mini,</font>
actually giving her 110, but sometimes she like not enuff, so top another 20 and she finished them. then when i "officially" gave her 120, she dun finish the milk

today my ss drop by abt 20~30 ml per session for 3 sessions liao. dunno izzit i'm thinking "if not enuff, give FM lor" hiaz.....

Hi QSG, me too. Mil shd be helping but in the end she only helped to cook for me. But luckily, my wounds were ok.

Hi styloBB, just knew from my col that you can actually loan it from Medela. And the rental is very cheap.

Hi angelia, do u think that our thinking will affect ss? My ss also dropping these few days and I also keep thinking to give my gal fm soon.

angelia, giggler,
to some extend our thinking will affect ss since keep thinking abt it, then mind will react negatively n make us not as relax n end up affect ss. this is what i think. though my ss not say alot, i din think of fm since last wk n seem like ss increased a little. was rather stress up last 2wks as afraid can endure until 9mths or not. since last wk not so stress n ss seem abit more. just tell myself i m doing my best n dun stress myself too much.

Hi mini, guess I'm quite stress up as I'm determined to tbfg my gal till 6mths. These few days I didn't feel any letdown at all

giggler,
try not to be stress. a few more days to go only n u can make it. try to keep your mind occupied with other things when pumping. best is to think of how sweet Van has been. not easy really.

last time my MIL bf her children till abt 8mths old. she said her menses came at ard 7mths n then slowly milk just no more. so she think milk ss will drop drastically after 8mths. she was telling my boy ytr tat must not waste milk as quite soon he may not have bm to drink already. dunno how true. will just try my best to pump n see how. its beyond our control.

Giggler
Yep I know. But the loan from hb's friend was foc and I used it for so long. I only wished I had more bm so I could continue..

Hi mini
Ya my boy is ten months already. Same as Jas and Stylobb boys. I also not sure when to stop bfing. Now my boy eat more solid food so I pump lesser.

one bf?

Hi giggler
How do u know that your bm quality not so good.

Hi stlyobb
Did you see my earlier posting? How is Jesse? Is he learning how to stand now?

Hi massshiro

Ya is so funny to see these actions of them, I really enjoy them. Now my boy learning how to stand without support.

moon

Hi! How's everyone? Hv not been following the thread for some time.

Moon
How are u? I am same as u, dunno when to stop bf. Still quite undecided. I am thinking whether I shd stop bf after one yr. But then, a little reluctant to give up bf, coz its the only time I can get my active boy to lie down quietly.

Mini
My boy is coming to 10 mths, and my menses still not back yet. Hmm...maybe if my menses rtn, I shd then consider to stop bf.

Moon
Oh, you 'disappeared' for so long leh...hehe... Jesse can stand without support, besides cruising along, he did take one/two steps without holding on to anything, but think still not confident yet. If he wanna to move from say low table to sofa, he may let go of two hands and 'plunge' at the sofa. Gotta watch out for him. Fortunately my parents' place is smaller and less 'dangerous'cos no plugs or wires for him to pull. At home, it's very tiring for us cos he does not wanna play with his toys, he only likes the electronic gadgets...
You express most of the time now?

Hi QSG,
I had c-section too. Like you I always experience pain once in a while at four mths. I checked with gynea but he says its ok. During c-section they cut into layers of our skin and muscles. The outer layer will heal faster cos of the stitching but the inner layer takes time to heal. Will be totally healed after 6mths. That's why he told me not to exercise before 6mths. I very vain one...want to exercise to trim down my tummy
but no choice lor...gottta wait.

stylobb, after a heated discussion with hubby yesterday, he finally agreed to ask his mum to at least come over to bring bb over on those days when he is on morning shift...but when it comes to bringing bb home at nite when he is on afternoon shifts i still have to do it myself. Hopefully it helps if not really have to rely entirely on his mum to help. Quite sian to talk about anything about his parents, it is always a sensitive topic, ever so defensive if i say anything to do with his folks.

mon-mon, my gynae mentioned before can do light exercise after 2 months and i read from internet can start around that time also. Why is it that our wound hurts but giggler is alright long time ago? How many months already since you gave birth?Does it hurt only when you over-exert?

Ladies, any of you who got your menses back, has it been regular? Dunno if regular menses will become irregular after child birth.I had for the past few months, this month late by 1 week already.

Hi Giggler, Stylobb,
I stayed in Japan for a couple of months back in school days, so every week would go to karaoke at least 3 times with my jap friends. They work there part-time and we knew the boss, cos everytime got extra snacks to eat. Boy, it was fun then. I put on so much weight then.

I used to listen to boy bands like Mr CHildren. I also like Namie Amuro, Kiroro as well as Speed then. Now seldom listen already.

Hi QSG,
I also experience some soreness at the wound once in a while but it's not serious. just some discomfort.
Good that your hubby gave in. Hope your back wil recover.

Wow Moon, you still bfg. I getting more and more lazy...yesterday went to Robinsons sale so missed one feed. Ever since he started taking solids, my son's shit harder, like adults kind. I scared he get constipation. Better feed him more water and fruits.

Masshiro,

Robinsons having sale? until when? How many % discounts are given to stuff in nursery dept?

Hi QSG,
There were 20% on some items..and additional $20 if you have the voucher. Min $100. It was a private sale for cardmembers. Think might have ended already..was on Tue and Wed.

QSG
O dear...hope things will settle down a bit. For all you know, it's only temporary help needed now,when you regain your health and strength and stop b/feeding, things will improve. I think it could be you did not get to rest enuf that's why now wound still hurts. Cheer up, ok?

Masshiro
So that explains your 'connection' with Japan.. sounds so interesting and fun..
Has your mil started to train bb to shit regularly?

Moon
Tired hor? That's why mon mon's hb rather do cooking/housework than look after bb...hehe..
Ok, I will sms you the details.. most probably it's dinner now. You having sch holidays?

Masshiro,

I am also card member, have been invited to those private sales in the past dunno why not this time. Was hoping to get some stuff for weaning during the sales.

mummies using Avent pump

anyone experience the round disc thingy (looks like a wheel) always popping out of the hole when u are pumping yr milk? i hv experienced this twice already, changed the disc to a new one when it happens and the problem was resolved but that disc lasted only 2-3wks and the same thing happened again .. i compared the discs (old and new) but no differences like broken or what leh ..

I juz gave birth 2 wks ago.. been trying hard for TBF, but as supply was low for the 1st wk, i hv supplement wif formula milk

been start pumping out since day 4 &amp; till now, my boy juz coudn't wait any longer the moment he is hungry, so i find it very difficult to latch on.. he seems so frantic &amp; tats make me panic too!

now tat my supply is better, i been pumping every 3 hrs.. is like juz enough for his next feeding.. no excess!

do you gals experience milk leaking fm ur breast? for me, i am used to not wearing bra during sleep, but now i cant.. my blouse &amp; bedsheet will be wet wif breast milk if i dun wear bra &amp; breast pads.

sharonkoh

think all mummies experience milk leakage, tts why must wear bras with breast pads to prevent our clothes fm getting wet .. will need to learn to get used to it leh ..

mini/stylobb/jas/serene
my gal is 8 MO, i still bfg, but can feel tat ss drop...when she latch-on, dun feel the let-down...and last nite, when she cranky, thot she hungry, tried to give her bottle..she dun wan...toss n turn n cry before willing to sleep

luckily now she onto 2 solids, else dun know how to keep up ss..i thot of bfg till she is 1, but heard fr fren, some of them ss just drop n stop...hopefully, i ll ve no prob

Hi Stylobb,
Yah..my link with Japan goes back to many many years ago...still in touch with my friends of more than 15 years...

I dun know leh..how to train to shit regularly? She has problem teaching him using the potty. My son very naughty..can't sit still one. He jumps up and down non stop when we hold him.

Hi Sharon,
Maybe you can give your son a bit of ebm first to ease his thirst or hunger, then try to latch him on? Just keep pumping to keep up your supply. Leaking milk is common so dun worry..just use the breast pads..I'm one who don't leak..dun feel full breasts also..maybe that's why supply bad. So maybe leaking is a good sign???

Hi Melody,
I also rely on solids and fm to keep up with baby's appetite. Thank god he's into cereals now. So you planning to bf till 1 year?

Hi Littleprince,
I use Avent. The thing shouldn't keep popping out. You won't be able to pump like tat. Did you put it the right way? The wheels face upwards? Maybe can bring to the supplier and ask them to check.

Hi QSG,
I think some card members get voucher for Tue some for Wed..dunno why you didn't get? Maybe can call and check? Anyway, there are a lot of sales coming up at various depts. you can top up your supplies there

masshiro
ya, i put the wheel facing upward (if put downward, the pump wun work) but it keeps popping out and so disruptive to my pumping ..
.. tts why want to ask u all if u are facing the same problem .. i am thinking it pops up coz the plastic gets "soft"? or my pumping is too hard?

moon,
can your boy take from bottle now? i m on tbf. ss dropped since menses back a mth ago. now my ss just nice for my boy since eating solid too.

desert,
y u want to stop bf when menses back?

QSG,
as for menses, i only have the first cycle, hard to see if regular or not. have to wait n see.
good tat ur MIL can go over to help up in some mornings so tat u can lessen the chance to carry heavy stuffs. hope she will keep her promise.

melody,
my MIL also say the same thing that ss will just drop n drop. we can only wait n see to know if it is true or not.

mommies whose bb on solid,
what did u give ur bb for breakfast? my boy has been on cereal but he has been getting more fussy n not so interested in cereal. think must be sick of cereal since eat 3.5mths already. dunno what should i give him.