BEDOK mommies club

hi hammy, think need to console myself that i m still young at heart! heehee!

i remember when i was 8mths pregnant, my hubby broke his ankle during a football match. i had to drive him to a&e and stayed till 2am! thank god his foot heal in time to drive me to the hospital!

Hi Anxylyn, Nemo10, Daphne, Hammy:
My daughter had gone down but she's still very fussy. Last night woke up many times crying, but don't wanna latch on. And i'm so engorged till i need to pump out.
My boss is understanding but my colleague is not. She keep complaining that i keep taking leave, why my girl keep falling sick (why is not true, this is the first time my girl fall sick). And when i'm back to work, she will give me black face the whole day, don't talk to me, leave all the work to me. She even left me alone at the reception (i'm admin cum receptionist) for the whole afternoon and i can't pump at all.. She must be understanding mah, it's not as if mummies will want their babies to fall sick right..

Iwg26, hammy

So 'sim tia' to hear about such incidents. I saw many many many children running around, up & down the staircases leh. Even if they didn't fall, they could accidentally bump into another child, so dangerous!

carrie,

she nt a specialist. bt she quite exprience. For my son case he had alot of decay altough I brush his teeth regular. (sigh!! cos he always eat sweet while I am wrking) bt the dentist mentioned tat he don coorporate she hv to refer him to the specialist. lucky my son is willing to coorporate.

Hi Daphne,
my bosses are those boh chap type one. our company's auditors report directly to their manager, while we admin kind of report to that colleague (she worked in our company for more than 10 yrs liao).. sometimes she's very nice, she even cooked for me when i'm pregnant. but sometimes she's very nasty to me, is it menopause(she's 60s something liao)..
By the way, how long can ebm last in the freezer? if i keep opening the freezer door, will the frozen ebm lifespan become shorter?

anyone tasted own ebm? Today i thaw 2 bottles of frozen ebm for my toddler son(3 yrs old), but before i let him drink, i tasted it and found that it got a fishy smell. Is this normal? I always thought my girl rejected ebm in the bottle is bcoz she would rather latch on, but now i wonder is it bcoz of the taste.. Please advise..

Hi Xueyi

Frozen EBM has another smell and true that some babies reject is because of its smell.

I may not be too accurate here, but it has something to do with the "fats" component of the EBM when it is frozen

Hi Lee Tai, thanks for replying me.. Huh, then how? I have to give formula milk instead of frozen ebm? I got around 11 bottles of ebm in the freezer, 6 bottles in the fridge, though not many, but still wasted if throw away leh.. I still thought of buying breastmilk storage bags to store my ebm, coz can save space in the freezer. Now dilemma liao..

Hi Xueyi, how long have u been trying to feed your baby with EBM? I suggest u try it out for a few days. Last time my son also rejected EBM initially but thereafter when he was hungry and we didn't give him anything else, in the end he also kwai kwai drank the milk.

Another suggestion mix some parts of the frozen EBM with the EDM from the fridge. This is to reduce the smell. Hopefully when the smell is not too strong, your baby will kwai kwai drink it

Oh no just saw on the papers that a 12 yr old boy living at Blk 2 Chai Chee Road went missing since last Wednesday.

Hopefully he can be found soon if not his parents will be very worried

For mommies still interested in enrolling their kids in Bedok Lutheran Church Kindergarten, registration has already started.

I have enrolled my son for the pre nursery class. The school fees per term is $600. The first term school fees will be payable either in late Sept or Oct. $30 is payable upon registration.

K1 & K2 will be cheaper: $510 per term

Xueyi,
How long did you store the frozen EBM? Altho it was recommended 1 mth, I try to restrict to 2 weeks cos I experienced frozen milk growing bad before. If > 2 weeks, I throw away and be more 'hardworking' to stock up again. Once, my dd also rejected direct BF after I drank cupicinno, maybe becos my milk tastes bitter ; D

Leetai,
So scary. Recently many youngsters committed suicide / died (NTU case and a young doc in Australia and some months ago, a ACS boy). Possibly due to study and work pressure? On one hand, we must give enough pressure for the kids to study hard. On the other hand, must balance and not over-stress them. Must manage delicately.

xue yi,

i don tink is menopause. she tink tat she is the senior in the comp so she can b nasty. If she nasty to u don take it too hard k.

Iwg,

Update you the mind strecher learning ctr. My son enjoying the phnoics class. The teacher will also teach readin too. Now they also got KI Enlish & Math tution @ the same time. I had put him under waiting List.

Hi Xueyi, ignore your colleauge.
Breastmilk: I never taste before leh, but my elder daughter said not nice and my hb complained brfore saying that my bf milk smell fishy.I think because I take the fish oil causes the smell. heehee

Hi Lee Tai,

Thanks for informing on BLC. Does this mean we can enrol 1st and do not need to pay the school fees yet? What do we need to bring for the enrolment? Thanks!

This morning brought my boy for his class. During the class when the teacher was singing, out of the sudden, his tears started to roll down and he was weeping. Then he began to cry. Brought him out of the classroom to cool him down before bringing him back to the classroom. As we stood in front of the classroom door and I was about to open the door to go in, he said "bu yao" and refused to go in. I tried to few times and I even opened the door a bit to let him take a peep and he still wailed.

This was his 3rd lesson and he was ok during the last 2 lessons. Dunno what triggered him to behave him in such way. very difficult to make him sit thru today's lesson. Any mummies have similar experience to share? Very heart-pain to see him cry...

ringo,

For my son case he cry the 1st day to sch summore he is in K1. aiyo he cry every day and his classmate oreadi not crying anymore only he cry. During Jan, I bring him to sch til Feb than my sis take over he was ok then hb try to sent also ok than I go with my hb he cry like mad. From tat day onwards the pricipal advise me nt to sent cos she tink that my son miss me alot don wan me to go.

Bethesda Bedok Tampines Kindergarten also open for registration:
1. Registration for BBTC Church members on 31.3.09 (Tue)
2. Registration for siblings of present student 31.3.09 (Tue)
3. Registration for siblings of past students 1.4.09 (Wed)
Registration will from 8:30am to 11:30am for the above.

4. Public registration of new students : 3.4.09 (Fri) time:8:30am to 11:30am, allocation first come first serve.

Document required:
Present students - Original B.C. of both siblings
New students - Original B.C
Past students - Original B.C. of both siblings, progress book, graduation cert or receipt.

cdajun
ds1 (1999) ds2(2001) dd(2005)

Ebm:
i read from website that frozen ebm can last 3-6mths in the freezer, while ebm can last 3-8 days in the fridge(depending on the temperature). my husband also said it's fishy, i drink liao wanna vomit haha.. my son said it's spicy leh.. i've been feeding my girl ebm since i went back to work in mid december.

Colleague:
today she scolded me, said why i didn't pass the documents to 1 of my boss(that boss is located at 34th floor, i'm stationed at 25th floor). I'm very busy with alot of paperwork, somemore a client wants me to wait for her call. so i told her i will pass the document to the boss now, then she replied " pass your head ah, he left already, still wait for you meh?!" wah, i so angry leh.. i'm busy working, not idling mah. now times are bad, can't change job. now i so sian to go to work.

Hi Xueyi, u must be draggin yourself to work each day. Although times are bad, there are still companies who are hiring. For a start, guess you can flip thru the sat papers or browse the jobs website for vacancies avaliable.

Besides EBM, do you let your girl latch on? My style then was EBM for weekdays and latch on during weekend. I was staying in the west then so I didn't bring my children home until Fri night.

If your son says spicy, it might be that you have ate spicy food. You have to careful with your food intake during BF as it will affect the quality of the milk. I always try to eat as much fish and vegetables as possible.

And I did keep my frozen EBM for more than 3 months.

Btw did you try to force the air out before u freeze the milk?

You store in bottle or bags?

xueyi
yur colleague is dam nasty. I have nasty colleague too but they still dare not overboard yet**cross finger**

i realise some married but no kids and unmarried ppl are really unreasonable. they dun understand we as parent.

lee tai
thanks for ur suggestion.. been ther last yr... quite a nice garden to play around.. u bringing
ur kids ther?

xueyi
i agree wif daphne, u mus try to let ur colleage noe tat u not good to bully.. try to "suah" her back loh... if she still unreasonable, thn only thing u can to do is either continue to endure or change job bah? hope things will be better soon for u...

carrie,
How about Hort Park? I love that place. Plenty of empty space to run and 3 nice playgrounds. Educational too. First time I saw the Pitcher plant there and canivorous venus flytrap plants. The kid was excited to later read about these plants in a book. And I saw the biggest cactus in my life. We wanted to walk to Fort Canning hill (3km walk) but now I can't walk too far. After I give birth, I will push the stroller and walk that 3km - help lose weight!

shirley
parking is super convinent... cos hortpark itself got its own carpark jus outside the park... opening hours think u got to check their website... wet programs-- if i din rem wrongly, think dun haf leh... got few playgrounds....

lee tai
can bring ur kids ther n walk walk loh.. good to get fresh air outdoor... good for the eyes too... jus tat the weather nowadays real funny.. sometime real sunny... sometimes it gets rainy... so jus pray for good weather whn we going outdoor....

lwg
i also like the environment ther at HOrtpark, nice greenery n can take many photos... keke... i wanted to walk the southern ridges also for a while liao... haben got the chance to try out also... n dun tink my gal got the stamina to walk tat long distance yet also... spore is so boring... not much places to go.. tink i shall bring my gal to the Zoo again.. since got membership.. thn dun haf to pay for entrance....free n educational.... ! keke...

hi xueyi,

I have the same experience with wendypooh. some women who are married without children or single would not be able to understand the difficulties of those with children. But think of it this way, at least u have kids that bring u the joy, unlike your colleague who doesn't. so dun let their opinions affect u. but like what daphne and carrie mentioned, u must fight back and dun let her "eat" u. jia you

hi wishes and daphne,

thanks for the sharing. actually for my boy's class, I can accompany him thruout the lesson, so there shouldn't be any separation anxiety. but dunno y he responded so negatively only on his 3rd lesson. I still cannot pinpoint what is the actual reason. hope he will be ok on his next lesson...

hi lee tai,

called up BLC this morning. the pax who answered the call (think is the principal) told me the enrolment for the pre-nursery has not commenced and asked me to call in in early apr. hence guess the enrolment now is only opened for children with elder siblings currently in BLC. so will wait till apr to call again.

daphne,
Not much in the east. Only East coast and Pasir Ris park. There is a huge playground in Pasir ris. But I prefer East coast cos nearer and parking free. The kids just play sand, walk along the beach, cycle / scooter. F&E, own time own target. I just get a mat and sleep there

<table border=1><tr><td>Mommy</TD><TD> Child 1</TD><TD> Year</TD><TD> Child 2</TD><TD> Year</TD><TD> Child 3</TD><TD> Year </TD></TR><TR><TD>shirley</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>1998</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>2001</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2005 </TD></TR><TR><TD>hammy</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>1999</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2002</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2008 </TD></TR><TR><TD>nicky05</TD><TD> boy</TD><TD>2000</TD><TD> boy</TD><TD> 2005</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2007 </TD></TR><TR><TD>lwg26</TD><TD> girl</TD><TD> 2002</TD><TD> boy</TD><TD> 2003</TD><TD> boy</TD><TD> 2009 </TD></TR><TR><TD>sleepy</TD><TD> girl</TD><TD> 2002</TD><TD> girl</TD><TD> 2004</TD><TD> - </TD><TD> - </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nemo10</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2003</TD><TD> girl</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>wendypooh</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2004</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2006</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>winniebear</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2004</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>2007</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>wishes</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2005</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>jayce</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>2005</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Daphne</TD><TD> Boy</TD><TD> 2004 </TD><TD> - </TD><TD> - </TD><TD> - </TD><TD> - </TD></TR><TR><TD>carrie</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2005</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>ringo</TD><TD>boy</TD><TD>2007</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jess</TD><TD> boy</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>kelcqi</TD><TD>girl</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</td></tr></table>

lee tai,
Usually when they go to beach, they build sandcastle. So quite safe, just 'half-sleep' near their sandcastle and can hear their voices ;D

Shirley,
You have any suggestion? I'm taking leave on Fri.